The Fallen Kingdom (The Falconer, #3)
The long-awaited final book in the Falconer trilogy is an imaginative tour-de-force that will thrill fans of the series. Aileana Kameron, resurrected by ancient fae magic, returns to the world she once knew with no memory of her past and with dangerous powers she struggles to control. Desperate to break the curse that pits two factions of the fae against each other in a struggle that will decide the fate of the human and fae worlds, her only hope is hidden in an ancient book guarded by the legendary Morrigan, a faery of immense power and cruelty. To save the world and the people she loves, Aileana must learn to harness her dark new powers even as they are slowly destroying her. Packed with immersive detail, action, romance, and fae lore, and publishing simultaneously in the UK, The Fallen Kingdom brings the Falconer's story to an epic and unforgettable conclusion.

The Fallen Kingdom (The Falconer, #3) Details

TitleThe Fallen Kingdom (The Falconer, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherChronicle Books
ISBN1452128839
ISBN-139781452128832
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal, Fairies, Magic, Urban Fantasy, Fae

The Fallen Kingdom (The Falconer, #3) Review

  • Elizabeth May
    May 21, 2016
    My editor tells me this is her favourite book in the series. I think it's my favourite, too.
  • Brittney ~ Her Bookish Things
    December 26, 2016
    2.5 stars? I'm still not sure how I feel about this. I think I liked it more in theory than the actual execution.The first book was honestly a ton of fun, and the ending will ensure you'll go grab book two the moment you sit it down. But before I get ahead of myself- here's what I loved and craved more of after book two... I LOVED the mystery aspect of Kiaran (and trying to guess what his deal was), I loved loved loved the Scottish setting and looking up the locations that made for big events in 2.5 stars? I'm still not sure how I feel about this. I think I liked it more in theory than the actual execution.The first book was honestly a ton of fun, and the ending will ensure you'll go grab book two the moment you sit it down. But before I get ahead of myself- here's what I loved and craved more of after book two... I LOVED the mystery aspect of Kiaran (and trying to guess what his deal was), I loved loved loved the Scottish setting and looking up the locations that made for big events in the story. Also, the whole Seelie / Unseelie courts thing is just way cool for me - why is there not more of this in YA literature? (Yes, I'm well aware of the Fever series but it just wasn't for me.) Also hell yes to anything steampunk! (But that's pretty non existent after book one.)Book two wasn't bad either, I loved the introduction of Athinine (is that how you spell it?) and some of the new magical elements. But I started disconnecting in some of the descriptions. I had a hard time following the abstract faerie realms (again, I loved the idea of them, but the way they were described.. I was a big lost. Same with Derrick's kingdom.)This brought back some of the good parts- and honestly the ending of book two was a legit set up for this one. Still some cool elements here, but I was a bit disappointed at how everything played out. I honestly think most people that were super into book two will really enjoy this third installment.**SPOILERS BELOW**I was STOKED to find out that Kiaran was the Unseelie King, like i'd suspected all along. And when he returned to his kingdom in this? I was so ready for a devious Kiaran, but instead, he was still a softie who lacked the sass and wittiness of Kiaran and book one. I was so ready for a struggle between Kam and Kiaran at that point- but instead, she finds him, he's practically himself, and bleh. Secondly, I loved the ending and all... with ONE major exception... which really ruined the entire story for me. What the flipping heck WHY DERRICK???? WHY????? He was easily my favorite character and yeah yeah I get that everything shouldn't be a perfect happily after but that just ticked me off. He had the most personality and was just a ball of cuteness and I can't... I can't...Also, my last complaint.. The whole repeated thoughts in Kam's head was like... agh. Really? We get it.. don't need to see it 10 billion times in each book.Anyway, I really think I"ll be in the minority on this one. This IS a really fun series with a cool concept and I think I just had different expectations in my head for this third installment.My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
    more
  • Wendy Higgins
    May 12, 2016
    And she's done it again. This is fantasy writing at its best, and a hot romance to match! Elizabeth May ranks up there with the best of the best writers in the genre. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey books NEED to check out this trilogy! <3
    more
  • Stacee
    November 25, 2016
    Oh man. I don't have words. With one exception, this was an amazing ending. Review to come.
  • Candace Robinson
    November 14, 2016
    This book was everything!!!! This was the best book in the series! My emotions are flying all over the place! Full review on my blog https://literarydust.wordpress.com/20...
  • Cookie
    January 26, 2016
    this was a perfect finale. i can't wait for everyone to read it! review will be out closer to release date :)---tiTLE TITLE TITLE TITLE OMG.WAITING AN ENTIRE YEAR FOR THIS WILL KILL ME.---I forgot this releases in 2017. Um, rude?
  • Alyssa
    April 10, 2016
    EDIT (June 11th): OMG IT HAS A TITLE!!!!! THE FALLEN KINGDOM -- AHHHH!!!!!!AHHHHHHHH I NEED THIS BOOK ASAP. *cries* As much as I loved The Vanishing Throne... I need some reassurance and nice things. Pleaseeeeeeee, Elizabeth May!
  • Beatrice (beatriceinbookland)
    November 20, 2016
    Expected publication: June 13th 2017.
  • Nastassja
    January 26, 2016
    Elizabeth May is slowly taunting us with Aithinne and Aileana scene in The Fallen KingdomI just need this book ASAP!
  • Abby (Winterian at Heart) ❄️☾
    June 30, 2016
    5 STARS CAUSE I KNOW ALREADY THAT ITS GOING TO BE INCREDIBLEPLEASE GIVE ME THIS BOOKI may be a little demanding and I'm sorryKiaran
  • Sophie
    July 30, 2014
    Ok, I need this like yesterday!
  • Katerina Kondrenko
    May 5, 2015
    Look at this cover. The model looks like Elizabeth May herself))) The Falconer (Охотницы):— The Falconer (Охотницы) #1/3— The Vanishing Throne (Исчезающий трон) #2/3— The Fallen Kingdom (Павшее королевство) #3/3
    more
  • Monique V
    January 6, 2016
    THAT COVER!! ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! SQUEAL!!! A TITLE AND A DESCRIPTION!!! YES!!!!!!!!!!
  • Ashley (Bound to Love YA)
    February 12, 2017
    Speechless. Just speechless.The Fallen Kingdom is the best of the series and a perfect finale.How does May serve up such delicious, breathtaking romance again and again? Not to mention a riveting plot that will have you in a frenzy by the final pages...You will shudder, scream, cry, groan, and basically be up until the break of dawn finishing this crazy amazing series. Good luck, my friend...this book will do terrible things to your heart.
    more
  • Natalie Monroe
    June 30, 2016
    My predictions for the ending:(view spoiler)[A) Kiaran's sister dies and Kam becomes the Seelie queen. She and Kiaran break their various curses and live in blissful harmony for the rest of their immortal lives. B) She remains the Calli-thing and merges the kingdoms. Peace reigns and Kam lives happily ever after with Kiarian, but has to leave the human world and friends behind. Don't you dare go Ensnared on me. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Lizzy (Bent Bookworm)
    December 5, 2016
    OMG I was just approved for a review copy of this and I'm just -
  • Nicola
    January 25, 2016
    2017?!?!?! Just crush my soul why don't you. Time to hibernate for a year methinks.
  • Deepika
    June 23, 2016
    Ahh,JUNE seems so far away!!But..I WILL.Hope it will be my birthday gift.*winks*
  • Cassie James
    March 22, 2016
    Thanks to the publisher for giving me an ARC in exchange for an honest review, this doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. After that massive cliffhanger in The Vanishing Throne I was pretty excited to start this. The Fallen Kingdom began with a shocker, our badass heroine Aileana has lost her memories but has very powerful magic that doesn't want to be controlled. That's obviously a recipe for disaster. It's been months since she died and now she's back, she's not the same Thanks to the publisher for giving me an ARC in exchange for an honest review, this doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. After that massive cliffhanger in The Vanishing Throne I was pretty excited to start this. The Fallen Kingdom began with a shocker, our badass heroine Aileana has lost her memories but has very powerful magic that doesn't want to be controlled. That's obviously a recipe for disaster. It's been months since she died and now she's back, she's not the same girl we know though that's expected of someone who died and came back to life. The world she left behind is also not the same, It's .....disintegrating. When Kiaran and Aileana reunited it was HOT!!, Sparks were flying. Though he was still battling the darkness now that he is the Unseelie King, I am glad there is still a part of him that's always Kiaran MacKay. The story took no time to draw me in, I eagerly read through Aileana getting her memories back, learning about the state of her world, crazy awesome action scenes, hot romantic scenes, verbal sparring with Sorcha, battling the Morrigan (Evil powerful Fae hag) etc. The Fallen Kingdom is filled with action, adventure, monsters, romance, despicable villains, comedy, friendship, sacrifice and pointy-toothed hags (Don't ask, you'll find out). This is the best ending this amazing series could possibly get, it does justice to the magnificence of it's predecessors. One thing I can never get tired of from this series is the interaction between the characters, it's always engaging, funny, deep and meaningful. There are parts of The Fallen Kingdom that are emotionally wrecking, some will make you laugh so hard and some will keep you on the edge of your seat with excitement. Old enemies resurfaced, new powerful foes emerged and antagonists turned to allies. With vivid scenes, well crafted words and thrilling action, this is one book that will vastly entertain.The ending is beautiful and perfect. Despite some losses here and there, I still respect the way it was handled. This is definitely my favorite book in the series though I desperately love the others. The Fallen Kingdom is one book that's hard to put down, the fast pace made it easy to follow. With this epic ending to the amazing Falconer series, I can happily declare Elizabeth May one of my favorite authors.P.S. That cover is eye popping, I applaud the designer.Quotes: “I kill with the speed of a brush fire through a forest. Nothing can stop me. They never even have the chance to scream. The darkness inside me grows. Each thrust of my sword makes it roar in response, makes it scream. The Cailleach’s power is a battle cry in my blood, in my bones. My heart is singing. I have the last faery in my sight, the blade at her throat...”“Right. Just battle four dozen soldiers to get the attention of my lover, who may or may not be evil depending on what mood he’s in.”“My sword sings. I battle as if I’m in a dance”“Derrick peeks through my hair. “What’s that murderous arsehole doing here?”. Sorcha blinks at him. “What did you just call me?” “You heard me, pointy-toothed hag.”” “We come to a sudden stop on the banks of a river, where a massive waterfall drops off a cliff into the forest below. Sorcha smiles grimly. “Now we jump.” I jerk my head toward her. “Are you joking?”. “Do I look like the type to joke about this?”. Aithinne rubs her hands together. “Oh, thank god. I love jumping off high things. I hope I don’t die.”.
    more
  • Chia
    December 30, 2016
    Be still my heart. I just love it. Ahh, everything about this. So the ending was not what I expected, I found it kind of odd. But whatever, I love it. I will post a review when the release date gets closer. The Fallen Kingdom won't be releasing until June, so get started with this series now!
    more
  • Barbara
    June 24, 2016
    When is this book coming out? I can't wait for the cover! Can you just release it and take my money already?!
  • Laura Lam
    November 28, 2016
    An excellent end to an incredible trilogy.
  • Nicole
    December 24, 2016
    This series is so amazing, and the final book is no different! I'm so sad to see these characters go, but I'm honestly not sure my heart can take much more of Kam and Kiaran, and all the death and destruction that follows them. I mean, I would NOT complain about an epilogue that I won't divulge the details of, but I'll remember these characters and their story for a very long time. If you're reading this review and haven't started this series, let me reassure you: it's more than worth the hearta This series is so amazing, and the final book is no different! I'm so sad to see these characters go, but I'm honestly not sure my heart can take much more of Kam and Kiaran, and all the death and destruction that follows them. I mean, I would NOT complain about an epilogue that I won't divulge the details of, but I'll remember these characters and their story for a very long time. If you're reading this review and haven't started this series, let me reassure you: it's more than worth the heartache.
    more
  • Hala
    June 14, 2016
    I NEED THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW PLEAAAASSSEEEEE-----------------------------------------------------Just saw the cover and it's A MAZING
  • Zareena (The Slanted Bookshelf)
    December 15, 2015
    I'm sorry, 2017?!?!?!?!?!?!
  • rin
    December 4, 2016
    Expected publication: June 13th 2017
  • Claire
    November 4, 2016
    Ahhhh god I'm dead
  • Brittany
    January 11, 2017
    *Quotes are from an ARC so may appear differently in the final version. As a result, they will be shown as a spoiler. Thank you Netgalley for providing a free copy of this novel.*The Fallen Kingdom is the final installment in The Falconer trilogy. This is not a novel that can be read as a stand alone, so make sure you go back and read the other novels in the series (like I did). If you are wanting a happy novel, this is not the book for you. The novel opens with Aileana crawling out of the grou *Quotes are from an ARC so may appear differently in the final version. As a result, they will be shown as a spoiler. Thank you Netgalley for providing a free copy of this novel.*The Fallen Kingdom is the final installment in The Falconer trilogy. This is not a novel that can be read as a stand alone, so make sure you go back and read the other novels in the series (like I did). If you are wanting a happy novel, this is not the book for you. The novel opens with Aileana crawling out of the ground with no memory (if you remember, she died at the end of the last novel). It becomes apparent rather quickly that this is not the same Kam from the previous novels. She is much more...primal. Her eyes are different, as are her powers. Luck has it that she runs into a friend, Derrick, rather quickly. Certain events happen, and thankfully Kam's memory is restored fully. Following her memory restoration, she is reunited with Kiaran again. Love happens, of course, but there is a shadow over it. Soon after the reunions, the surviving group of humans and fae realize that they must go on a quest if they would like to save the world...again. The group this time consists of Aithinne, Aileana, Kiaran, and Sorcha. Yes, Sorcha that killed killed Aileana in the last novel Sorcha. Tensions are high as a result within the group. The novel continues with a breath taking climax and a very satisfying conclusion to the series.Thoughts (Light spoilers in this section) I really enjoyed this final installment of the Falconer series. As a reader, it has enough action with a satisfying conclusion to be happy. Thankfully it did not fizzle out like so many other series. It actually wrapped up the majority of loose ends. While parts of the ending were illogical, (Sorcha, I am looking at you) it created enough of the warm fuzzy feelings to justify the crazy. Despite a warm and fuzzy ending, I did spend half of the novel in tears. There comes a point where you just get down, and then the plot keeps kicking you repetitively. I actually had to put it down at one point to take a deep breath. There was so much death and destruction. One of the deaths, in particular, fully breaks your heart. It was devastating. The story was masterfully woven and well done. In general, there are two major issues that bothered me (besides a couple of smaller ones that will be discussed in the spoiler section). First, the amount of time it takes Aileana to get her memory back (it happens so close to the beginning of the novel, it is not really a spoiler). The amount of plot devoted to her missing memory was minimal. From the plot description, it seems like it would be a major issue throughout the novel. It is not. In fact, so little was devoted that it turned from an interesting facet of the plot to a device to try to draw readers in. Aileana lamented her memory loss briefly, then boom all was well. I wanted more agony from her, and truly wanted more interaction with other character's without her memory. I wanted it to have a direction, for there to be character development as well as conflict, and Kam to really work for it to return. The second issue was peoples reaction's to her no longer being dead. While happiness is definitely an emotion that would follow once verifying it truly was my friend, that is the sole emotion the character's experienced. They just blindly accepted it. If the reaction was honest and natural, there should have been shock, fear, skepticism. Someone they believed was dead suddenly is not. I know I would be shocked at the minimum. It just did not feel genuine as a result. That surprised me since May is excellent at conveying emotions. Those two issues aside, the story ran smoothly. I particularly appreciate Kam's struggle with her mental health after everything that has happened to her. It is refreshing and realistic to have lingering damage after all she has experienced. CharactersAileana (Kam)She showed immense character growth this novel. Aileana appeared mature and driven. She also had to cope with the decline of her mental health throughout the novel. Her previous torture, death, and guilt over not saving the world took a toll. It was an interesting internal conflict to see written out. One thing I disliked, though, it that Kam seems to be dumber in this novel. She was more impulsive. When in the past she thought about her moves and calculated her next steps, this one she just reacted. It was like character devolution in that aspect. The way the character was written in combination with the characterization created a believable, realistic character.(view spoiler)["I'm a creature of chaos and death and maybe this is how I'm meant to die. In a battle. At the end of a long war." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]Kiaran (McKay)My love for this character has not died. He will forever be one of my favorite love interests in a young adult novel. While still having a "bad boy" persona, he had none of the negative characteristics that typically accompany the trope. He is protective, but not overbearing. Respects her as a person and also believes she can fight her own battles. He is caring and playful with her. Above all, he loves her unconditionally. It is lovely. That being said, Kiaran is still dark and broody, even more so since he is now back to being his full Unseelie king self. So much so, that people begin to believe he is fully evil since he is drinking human blood again by necessity. Of course, he is not truly evil and his personality has not really changed. However, he definitely does not fall into the category of good either. He is a nice middle ground of morally ambiguous, although definitely leans towards good. Lonely and despondent are the primary personality traits this time around when Kam was dead and he was competing with his sister. He is a dynamic and multidimensional character.(view spoiler)["The girl helps the king keep his darkness at bay." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]Aithinne Oh crazy, amazing Aithinne. She was on rare form in this novel. Kind, strong, loving, and a bit kooky, he wit is definitely what shine through. She is multidimensional and dynamic. Throughout the novel, there is definite character growth as she progresses towards being the Seelie queen. Even though she is slightly broken, she is still a capable leader. She is my favorite character in this series.(view spoiler)["Don't. My patience with you is very thin and I'm ready to stick you with the pointy end of my blade." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]Sorcha After killing Aileana, I was surprised that Sorcha would be a main character in this novel. However, May continually surprises her readers and did just that. She also took her from a one dimensional villain, to a complex, somewhat more sympathetic villain. I will not say that May convinced me Sorcha is good. She is not. Sorcha's done plenty of evil, but her motivations are explained a bit more. What I did hate, though, was that one of her more despicable acts (murdering the MC) took place primarily due to jealousy. A magnificently complex character, as well as a bad ass female's most defining moment took place all because she wanted the MC's man. Him being the Unseelie king again was just a bonus, as would be the power she would gain from being his consort. For all of the great female friendships in this series, as well as massive amounts of girl power, I hate that one of the villains is reduced to being catty. That being said, this novel allowed Sorcha excellent character growth and prevented her from being a caricature of a mean girl.(view spoiler)["Someone give this human a bauble for her detective skills. You're truly a wonder, Falconer." The Fallen Kingdom"Forgiveness isn't something given. It's something earned." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]Antagonist Analysis (Light spoilers in this section) This novel introduced the reader to the Morrigan. Anyone familiar with Celtic mythology recognizes her as ne of the major deities. In this novel, she is one of the oldest and original fae. This is a great premise to create a major villain, but it lacked execution. The character fell flat to the point where she felt generic. She was portrayed as the ultimate evil, even having various flashbacks showing all the cruelty she partook in. However, that is basically as far of a backstory goes. A few other things were briefly mention, but not enough to make her complex. I detest one dimensional villains. It feels a bit like Disney, where they are evil just because they can be. I prefer villains to be dynamic characters, to garner a hint of sympathy, even if they are beyond repair. Writing The writing as a whole is excellent. The prose flows and is highly descriptive. There are not any glaring grammatical errors, however, there are a few minor errors. Hopefully they will be caught in the final edit before publishing, since the copy I received was an ARC.Romance As usual, Kiaran and Aileana are amazing together. They have a great relationship. Even when angry with each other, they talk it out and make up. I have no complaints, and enjoy the major feels it produces.(view spoiler)["I don't like overbearing men." His mouth quirks into a sly smile. "And yet I love assertive, stubborn women." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]*Major Spoilers Ahead!*(view spoiler)[Derrick's death. Oh man, it just broke me. It was wholly unexpected and just cruel. It reminded me a lot of Dobby's death, dying protecting the one he loved. "I don't like to see you cry. You're my favorite." The Fallen KingdomI cried like a baby. It just felt so incredibly unfair, although I guess most death's feel that way. Having Kiaran do it, even inadvertently, just makes it worse. I do feel as if the after effects of his death were well done. Everyone mourned, and Kam/Kiaran were filled with guilt for their involvement with his death. The funeral scene was just tragic and beautiful. My heart absolutely ached for the characters.Ending The ending definitely had plausibility issues to me. Kiaran sacrificing himself but Sorcha surviving due to an "old magic" override, okay. Reversing time but the important characters being able to keep their memories, a stretch but I can believe it. At least, for Aileana I can. The rest of the group that had to be resurrected with the time reversal it was a little harder to stomach. What I struggled the most with was Sorcha's sacrifice to bring Kiaran back to life. Dying just so he can live again does not fit her personality. Yes, she loved him and owed him a lot. Yes, she does have a slight record of sacrificing herself for someone else (her mother). However, she hated Aileana enough to kill her once and later bind Kiaran to her for eternity out of spite. No matter how close she and Kam became during their quest, it would not have been enough to do something of that magnitude. She is selfish, and I truly cannot see that sacrifice happening. All of that aside, I love that Kiaran became human to be able to share one lifetime with Aileana. It was beautiful, and my inner romantic swooned. Since I am selfish, I wished there was an epilogue. I wanted them to have children. They come across as amazing parent's, particularly Kiaran. Aithinne would also be hilarious as an aunt. However, I really cannot complain about the ending. It was incredibly satisfying."I kiss him back with everything I'm feeling. I make promise with that kiss. I give messages. I tell him secrets. I believe in wishes now. Our kiss is filled with the thousand possibilities of a futures entirely chosen by us. Him and me. Together." The Fallen Kingdom (hide spoiler)]Original ReviewThe Fallen Kingdom is the final installment in The Falconer trilogy. This is not a novel that can be read as a stand alone, so make sure you go back and read the other novels in the series (like I did). If you are wanting a happy novel, this is not the book for you. However, this was a completely satisfying conclusion to the series and I absolutely devoured it. Elizabeth May, I bow to you because this novel was spectacular! There are so many amazing moments and quotes in this novel. But here are just a few of my favorite. If you want to know nothing about this novel, the following could be considered slightly spoiler-y. "Wherever she goes, death follows." "Why love a butterfly when it starts to die the moment it gets its wings?" "I wished for you. I spent two and a half months wishing for you. To see you one last time." *Full review to come closer to publication*
    more
  • Teresa O'Neill-Little
    February 10, 2017
    This is easily my favorite book in the series, and that's saying a lot because the entire series was amazing from start to finish.Our main character is one of my favorite YA heroines ever. She's fierce and relies on her own strength to save herself, her friends, and the world. I grew, unexpectedly, to love and respect an old character that seemed to always be at the center of things, but really took a spotlight during this last book. I won't say much more about that since the book isn't out yet, This is easily my favorite book in the series, and that's saying a lot because the entire series was amazing from start to finish.Our main character is one of my favorite YA heroines ever. She's fierce and relies on her own strength to save herself, her friends, and the world. I grew, unexpectedly, to love and respect an old character that seemed to always be at the center of things, but really took a spotlight during this last book. I won't say much more about that since the book isn't out yet, but it was a humbling reminder that even the most terrible people in the world have their own backstory and things aren't as black and white as they seem. The dialog, as usual, was such a fun experience for me and I really enjoyed every second of it. The fight scenes and destruction of the previous world building was amazing. And the ending was truly well deserved (and a bit devestating for me even if I understand why!). Read this book series, yall! You won't regret it! :)
    more
  • Emma
    January 28, 2017
    So this is a review for an ARC (Thanks, NetGalley!), and as it's the last book in the trilogy (and doesn't come out until June 2017), pretty much anything will be spoilers, but I can say that as a whole, I loved this series. Steampunk Scotland with fae and other realms and action and romance and darkly handsome Fae warrior love interest, with a pretty badass main character who at first wanted revenge, then was catapulted into an even crazier save-the-world- storyline. Great side characters (Derr So this is a review for an ARC (Thanks, NetGalley!), and as it's the last book in the trilogy (and doesn't come out until June 2017), pretty much anything will be spoilers, but I can say that as a whole, I loved this series. Steampunk Scotland with fae and other realms and action and romance and darkly handsome Fae warrior love interest, with a pretty badass main character who at first wanted revenge, then was catapulted into an even crazier save-the-world- storyline. Great side characters (Derrick. You need to read this series for him, if for anything. He is the best.), interesting story, magic--If any of those things sound good to you, JUST READ IT, OK?This book in particular, being the ultimate denouement and do-or-die scenario, felt like it was happening very quickly, but I still really enjoyed it. Things happened that I really liked, one thing happened that I REALLY HATED, and the ending was super bittersweet. I admit that I cried multiple times during the last bit of the book (BECAUSE THEY KEPT BRINGING A CERTAIN SOMETHING UP), and there were feels and some heartache, but overall I did really like the story.4.5 stars.
    more
Write a review