My Sister's Wedding
For better or worse, two families are about to become one . . .The Ashworth sisters couldn't be more different. Becky is focused, driven and about to marry her lovely fiance, Daniel Balfour. Lizzie, on the other hand, bounces from one temp job to another, keeps falling for the wrong man and is a whirlwind of chaos in Becky's otherwise well-ordered life. But they love each other fiercely and the Ashworth way has always been family comes first.As preparations for Becky and Daniel's wedding get underway, it soon becomes clear that the Ashworth way is not the Balfour way. Daniel's family have never thought Becky was good enough for him but he loves her and that's always been enough for the happy couple. But when Lizzie gets caught in the crossfire between Becky and the Balfours, Becky and Lizzie find themselves drifting apart at a time when they need each other the most. Will they be able to repair the damage before Becky walks down the aisle?Warm-hearted, fun, witty and romantic, My Sister's Wedding will have you crying with laughter one second, and then crying with emotion the next. It's Vicky Pattison at her very best!

My Sister's Wedding Details

TitleMy Sister's Wedding
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherSphere
ISBN0751565504
ISBN-139780751565508
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Contemporary

My Sister's Wedding Review

  • Dash fan
    June 15, 2017
    4☆ Fun Read with plenty of Sisterly dramaThis is my first book by Vicky, and I'm pleased to say it will not be my last.She has really surprised me.This book is fun, a light hearted read, story of families coming together, sisterly drama, plenty of humour and a few twists and fireworks to make up the perfect wedding.What could possibly go wrong!! Becky and Lizzie are sisters. Becky is the oldest and it comes across as though she is the 'mum' figure. She looks out for Lizzie.Becky had to grow up v 4☆ Fun Read with plenty of Sisterly dramaThis is my first book by Vicky, and I'm pleased to say it will not be my last.She has really surprised me.This book is fun, a light hearted read, story of families coming together, sisterly drama, plenty of humour and a few twists and fireworks to make up the perfect wedding.What could possibly go wrong!! Becky and Lizzie are sisters. Becky is the oldest and it comes across as though she is the 'mum' figure. She looks out for Lizzie.Becky had to grow up very quickly as their mother left them.They have a beautiful bond, although they are very different.Becky is more organised and calm, where Lizzie comes across as scatter brain and disorganised, living in the moment.Becky is engaged to Daniel and they are about to get married.Only trouble is neither of the in-laws have met and they couldn't be more different!I mean how hard can it be to get on and be cival for the sake of the happy couple?!During the wedding preparations we see Becky and Lizzie's relationship start to become strained.Becky feels she is caught in the middle of wanting to please her new family and fit in, whilst trying to stay loyal to her sister.But this just makes them drift apart.I love my younger sister to pieces but I can see this story being one to Definetly relate too. Where families become strained due to choices in partnerships/ families.I really did enjoy reading this book and feel that readers will Definetly be able to relate to the characters and story.There is a lot of references to social media, fashion etc which will most definitely appeal/ relate to the YA readers.I'm 35 and I enjoyed it. Overall a great feel good read. Perfect summer read.Great for readers who love YA, Rom Com's, weddings, sister family bonds and summer reads.I received this book from the Publisher in exchange for a honest and fair review via Netgalley.
    more
  • Melindam
    June 7, 2017
    Netgalley arc received from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.A perfect summer read: full of sunshine and light breezes with occasional thunderstorms that clear up with rainbows at the end.Sisters Becky and Lizzie, though complete opposites, have always been there for each other through thick and thin, ever since their mum up and left them and their dad without word or explanation. Becky, the elder sister, -practical, reliable, considerate and diplomatic- works as an editor for a publis Netgalley arc received from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.A perfect summer read: full of sunshine and light breezes with occasional thunderstorms that clear up with rainbows at the end.Sisters Becky and Lizzie, though complete opposites, have always been there for each other through thick and thin, ever since their mum up and left them and their dad without word or explanation. Becky, the elder sister, -practical, reliable, considerate and diplomatic- works as an editor for a publishing house and is about to marry her long-standing boyfriend. Daniel is a dreamboat: handsome, kind-hearted & generous. The only "problem" with him is that he is stone rich, heir to a multi-million-pound company and his parents have expectations. Expectations that do not include him marrying a "social nobody" of a girl up from the North. In this opinion they are strongly and very actively supported by Daniel's sister. Nicole is an ambitious, ruthless socialite, who does everything short of murder for fame. She has definite plans how best to break up the relationship between Becky and her brother. To Nicole's outrage, the media loves Becky as potential Cinderella-material and she quickly rises to "stardom" status with women wanting to dress like her, magazines wanting to interview her and paparazzis following her every move.Meanwhile Lizzie -slapdash, fun-loving, loyal, wild, yet insecure- who is without a job, a flat or a boyfriend, feels left out in the cold. Becky fails to take her sister's side after she -rather the worse for drink - picks a quarrel with Nicole during the engagement party and Lizzie gets bad media coverage, courtesy of Nicole. Needless to say, Lizzie feels even more betrayed and alone. Subsequent events drive a wedge between the sisters and they are drifting further apart.We are offered the alternating POVs of Becky, Lizzie & an occasional third-person narrator showing Nicole's scheming, which goes very well with this story overall. It is a very easy, engaging read with characters you will like and characters you'll love to hate (yes, Nicole, we are all looking at you), with plenty of intrigue and double-dealing.I was fond of both sisters. I felt closer to Becky and a little bit irritated with Lizzie at the beginning, but she grew on me pretty quickly. Their dad & best friends (Lauren for Becky and Jay for Lizzie) were lovely characters as well.Becky and Daniel's relationship had a definite Kate-Wills-vibe, but it was toned down and I totally bought it.Very much recommended for fans of chick-lit and beach-read.
    more
  • Agi
    June 13, 2017
    My Sister's Wedding is the first story that I've read by Vicky Pattison, even though I have two of her other fiction books on my TBR pile. To be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect but nevertheless I had high hopes for this novel and in the end the book pleasantly surprised me. It was light - hearted, with some great characters and brilliant, quick writing and I was immediately immersed into the characters' world. The story is told from Becky and Lizzie's points of view, occasionally also showi My Sister's Wedding is the first story that I've read by Vicky Pattison, even though I have two of her other fiction books on my TBR pile. To be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect but nevertheless I had high hopes for this novel and in the end the book pleasantly surprised me. It was light - hearted, with some great characters and brilliant, quick writing and I was immediately immersed into the characters' world. The story is told from Becky and Lizzie's points of view, occasionally also showing Nicole's scheming. The characters really quickly grow on you and you feel as if you've known them for ages. Becky and Lizzie are sisters, extremely close, and it has a reason - their mother left the family when they were very young and Becky somehow adopted mum's role, helping their father to bring the girl up. But now they are both adult and they couldn't be more different - Becky is oasis of calm to Lizzie's hurricane, Becky is the most responsible one, with a job and fiancé while Lizzie can't stop moving around, keep one job and is sleeping at her best friend's Jay. Becky is also about to get married - her long-time boyfriend Daniel has popped the question. Even though they are together nine long years, their families haven't met yet - and there is also a reason to it, because they also couldn't be more different. While Becky and Lizzie's family consist of them and their lovely, down - to - earth father, Daniel's is a very wealthy and snobbish one. Is the first meeting going to run smoothly?Even though they were so different, I liked both of them: Lizzie and her free spirit and big mouth, and Becky's calmness. Sure, they both were sometimes annoying and they had flaws, but who isn't and who hasn't them, right, so it all made them even more likeable. Lizzie may seem irresponsible but there are things she loves above all and she would do anything for her family. The girls balanced each other very well and I really liked this strong bond between them - even though this bong can be easily destroyed by a misunderstanding. Both of them struggled with the sense of belonging, as it seemed they lost it for a moment, and it was sad to see how they are drifting apart. I hated to see how they jump to conclusions, how they read (false) between the lines and how their perfect relationship suffers as a result.The storyline was great and it was so fast paced. It was not plain sailing for the characters, there were some smaller storylines easily and effortlessly interspersed with the main one and the end result was a lovely, humorous story about family and changing dynamics. Yes, there were moments where the author focused so much on the clothes, labels, designer names, brands, cosmetics that I could do without but oh my, this is Vicky Pattison we are talking about, right, and I think we can turn the blind eye this time. It was also full of references for very modern and present social medias, and the language it was written with was totally realistic. With all this I had a feeling that the book is aimed to a rather younger audience than moi but still I did enjoy it and I spent some uncomplicated, relaxed hours following the story of Becky and Lizzie. There was warmth to the writing and I felt comfortable in their company, so what should I still wish for?You know, the book was not the most complex one but there was such a great feeling to it. It was funny, dynamic, sharp and there was something in it that you didn't want to put it down. It was an easy and engaging read, with many humorous and some poignant moments, and you felt immediately at home with the characters: you either loved them or loved to hate them. There was enough intrigue and a little drama and even though it was predictable it didn't spoiled the book at all. It was fast paced and I didn't have a feeling that it is dragging on. The Nicole's subplot was needed for this story to make it more complicated and even though this part was a little too far - fetched for my liking, overall it added some needed action and fireworks to the storyline. So yes, maybe don't expect anything life - changing in this book but still it made for a great, entertaining read with some ups and downs, with tons of funny moments but brilliantly mixed with some of the more poignant ones - and hey, does the book always have to be life changing? Thought so. I was fully glad with the twists and turns, with the way the author has complicated things for Lizzie and Becky and even with the tad predictable characters from Daniel's family - this all was written in effortless, engaging way and I bought it as it was: fun and light - hearted, and I'll be shamelessly recommending it to all of my friends!Copy provided by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    May 25, 2017
    I downloaded this book for review as the cover appealed, as I was looking for an easy-going chick lit. I read the description, and thought this sounded right up my street. It wasn't until I downloaded the book and saw that it was written by Vicky Pattison of Geordie Shore fame, that I was put off reading the book, but decided to persevere. As they always say, you shouldn't judge a book by its cover (or author in this case!) and that rings very true here. Having read several books by reality show I downloaded this book for review as the cover appealed, as I was looking for an easy-going chick lit. I read the description, and thought this sounded right up my street. It wasn't until I downloaded the book and saw that it was written by Vicky Pattison of Geordie Shore fame, that I was put off reading the book, but decided to persevere. As they always say, you shouldn't judge a book by its cover (or author in this case!) and that rings very true here. Having read several books by reality show stars that are clearly ghost-written, it puts me off wanting to read more. However, I'm a closet Geordie Shore fan and have also read Pattison's autobiography which I really enjoyed, so I gave this a go.I was really pleased that I stuck with this, as the storyline was great. A main romantic plot running throughout the story, interspersed with a few smaller storylines which intermingled to give a good well-rounded plot. All of the chapters had relevance, as opposed to some chick lit fiction I have read where there is a lot of 'padding' and unnecessary detail. I loved the romance of this, and the fact that it wasn't all plain-sailing.Now, this book is completely filled with colloquial words and phrases, which initially I found very endearing. However, just a few chapters in I found this really made me cringe! I loved it in the sense that it really seemed like it was Pattison writing the book, as it was littered with her phrases and ways of speaking, however some of the references just made me cringe inwardly. There were a lot of references also to modern popular culture, such as Instagram, and bloggers, and I feel that this could get outdated quite quickly. Given these references and the colloquial phrases, I can't imagine anyone older than me, at 29, would be interested in reading this book. Certainly at times I did feel that this book was a little 'young for me', so I'd say the market for this is late teens to early twenties.On the whole though, whether Pattison wrote this book single-handedly or employed the services of a ghost-writer, I thought this was a really great read, and I'm looking forward to reading more of her fiction work. * I received this ARC from Net Galley *
    more
  • Kim
    June 16, 2017
    This was a nice, light enjoyable read. Written alternative chapters by Becky and Lizzie as the wedding draws closer. There are the usual fraught tensions surrounding a wedding where the families haven't been previously introduced.Daniels proposal was the dream any girl wishes for and Becky is in love. But they know that the families are going to make things difficult to join together.Daniel's family don't approve of the engagement and his sister is actively seeking to split them up. It must be d This was a nice, light enjoyable read. Written alternative chapters by Becky and Lizzie as the wedding draws closer. There are the usual fraught tensions surrounding a wedding where the families haven't been previously introduced.Daniels proposal was the dream any girl wishes for and Becky is in love. But they know that the families are going to make things difficult to join together.Daniel's family don't approve of the engagement and his sister is actively seeking to split them up. It must be difficult going into marriage knowing that the one set of parents aren't supportive.The characters were believable and you could hear Vicky's 'voice' throughout.It explores love, the parents from hell and sisterly bonds tested to their limits.It's the first book by Vicky Pattinson that I've read and think it is based at younger readers, more the age of the characters. I will give her books another try. This was probably a 3.5 read for me- but I've rounded it up- as I can't resist a wedding story!
    more
  • NovelMomma
    May 6, 2017
    My Sister’s Wedding focuses on the changing relationship between sisters, Becky and Lizzie as Becky’s wedding day approaches. Becky and Lizzie have always been extremely close since Becky stepped in to fill the role of both mother and sister to Lizzie at a young age. However, things are about to change as Becky embarks on a major life change by marrying her longtime boyfriend, Daniel. While Becky and Daniel have been together for nine years, their families are yet to meet. Daniel’s family is ext My Sister’s Wedding focuses on the changing relationship between sisters, Becky and Lizzie as Becky’s wedding day approaches. Becky and Lizzie have always been extremely close since Becky stepped in to fill the role of both mother and sister to Lizzie at a young age. However, things are about to change as Becky embarks on a major life change by marrying her longtime boyfriend, Daniel. While Becky and Daniel have been together for nine years, their families are yet to meet. Daniel’s family is extremely wealthy and more than a bit snobbish while Becky comes from a working class family. Unfortunately, when their meeting is less than a success, the trouble truly begins and Lizzie seems to be caught in the middle. Both sisters begin to struggle with a sense of who they are and what truly matters. Becky begins to try to fit in better with Daniel’s family and seems to loose her priorities while Lizzie struggles to measure up and attempts to fill the gap Becky has left.I have to say, I really enjoyed most of this story. It is a British story (which I enjoy) so you get some British lingo and phrasing, but it is still very easy to follow and get caught up in. I liked both of the main characters most of the time. I liked Lizzie and her free spirit. While she is irresponsible in some areas of her life, she loves hard and is loyal to a fault. As a younger sister who has, at times, felt like I wasn’t good enough to compete with my older sister (who is also my best friend) I think I could identify with some of the things she was going through. Becky definitely got on my nerves for a bit, but I think that was intentional. While she lost her head for a bit, she was, in my opinion, able to redeem herself in the end. Most of the secondary characters were likable as well. I liked Daniel for the most part and wanted his relationship with Becky to work out. I think they balanced each other well when they were both in the right frame of mind, but when they worked at pleasing others, their relationship definitely suffered. I definitely was annoyed by their lack of communication, but I choose to believe they have learned from their mistakes. I hated Daniel’s family and loved Becky’s family, which I am pretty sure was the point, so job well done, Ms. Pattison. I also have to say everyone should have a friend like Jay.My only real complaint is that the middle seemed to drag for me. I felt like I got the point as to what was happening with the character transformations, the plots against them, and I didn’t need so much time focused on the Nicole saga. I wanted to skip ahead and see how things turned out and ended up skimming several chapters. I felt like it went too far away from the changing relationships and too far with the Nicole/ enjoying the finer things in life drama. I was happy when it wrapped up and went back to the character relationships I actually cared about and how they were breaking down and evolving. Overall, I liked this book but think the middle could be cut much shorter. If you like family drama and people who need a reality check, this just might be the book for you.Thank you, NetGalley, for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Marie
    May 8, 2017
    “My Sister’s Wedding” is a fun and light-hearted read which I really enjoyed.It focuses mainly on the relationship between two sisters, Becky and Lizzie, and how their once very close relationship starts to come apart with a number of horrible misunderstandings.Becky seems like the sensible one who is always steady, steady boyfriend, steady job and doesn’t get her head turned - or does she!Lizzie is the one who is unable to hold down a job or boyfriend and is just floating through life with no r “My Sister’s Wedding” is a fun and light-hearted read which I really enjoyed.It focuses mainly on the relationship between two sisters, Becky and Lizzie, and how their once very close relationship starts to come apart with a number of horrible misunderstandings.Becky seems like the sensible one who is always steady, steady boyfriend, steady job and doesn’t get her head turned - or does she!Lizzie is the one who is unable to hold down a job or boyfriend and is just floating through life with no real responsibilities.Although I identified more with Becky, I’ve known people like Lizzie and I think these two characters were very well written and believable. I was keen to read about them and find out what happened.Where the book lost me a bit was on some of the minor characters like Nicole who I just could not identify with at all. She just seemed far too fake and over the top for me - are people really like that? I hope not.Most of the book I enjoyed very much but it lost me a bit with some of the minor or secondary characters who I did not like nor believe in. The sisters themselves were a great duo.Possibly this would suit someone younger than my age group who is more in to all things celeb. The way it is written suggests a younger readership and I suspect I was not really in the right decade to suit the style of the book. But it was a fun read nevertheless and I would recommend it to someone a bit younger.I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book and have given my honest opinion of it.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    April 27, 2017
    I Recommend This BookYesReviewLast updated on 27 Apr 2017I throughly enjoyed this book. It is the first book I have read by Vicky Pattison but it certainly won't be the last. This is full of wondeful romantic moments, horrific inlaws, wedding plans, family and friends, love and most importantly being yourself and not changing for anyone. Funny, lighthearted and a book guaranteed to make you smile. Highly recommend loved it. Thank you to Netgalley, publishers and Vicky Patterson for the opportuni I Recommend This BookYesReviewLast updated on 27 Apr 2017I throughly enjoyed this book. It is the first book I have read by Vicky Pattison but it certainly won't be the last. This is full of wondeful romantic moments, horrific inlaws, wedding plans, family and friends, love and most importantly being yourself and not changing for anyone. Funny, lighthearted and a book guaranteed to make you smile. Highly recommend loved it. Thank you to Netgalley, publishers and Vicky Patterson for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon from publication date.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    May 9, 2017
    I have a soft spot for stories based in the UK so expect British phrases, settings and culture woven throughout the story which examines the dynamics between sisters, how it evolves when big life changes occur especially when one sister had to take the mom role as well in raising the other.Pattison does a great job in how she created two very different personalities while capturing that oh so fun “Big Sister – Little Sister” dynamic. At times Becky came off annoying but it seemed that was intent I have a soft spot for stories based in the UK so expect British phrases, settings and culture woven throughout the story which examines the dynamics between sisters, how it evolves when big life changes occur especially when one sister had to take the mom role as well in raising the other.Pattison does a great job in how she created two very different personalities while capturing that oh so fun “Big Sister – Little Sister” dynamic. At times Becky came off annoying but it seemed that was intentional on the part of the author as she worked through her character development because Becky’s rough edges smoothed out by the end and played a great part in the plot design. They balanced each other very well and showed how important the bond between family, and more importantly sisters can be, but also how easy that bond can shatter due to emotionally charged misunderstandings.The minor characters definitely added some fun bit of drama and were a great entertaining addition to keep the story flowing. The relationship between Becky and her fiancée felt realistic including the communication snafus because that’s one of those skills which gets honed over time. Pattison wrote that part well as she made their relationship more believable considering the various bits of chaos that kept getting thrown their way thanks to two extremely different backgrounds.The only part I didn’t like was when the story started to veer away from the main plot and got bogged down around the middle by focusing on the minor characters like Nicole. I just had no interest in her drama but when Pattison finally brought the story back around to the sisters it got better.
    more
  • Katie
    May 30, 2017
    I received an ARC from Netgalley in return for a honest review. My Sister's Wedding is the first book I've read by Vicky Pattison and I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed Vicky's writing style, it was easy to read and funny. Throughout the book it is told by the viewpoints of Lizzie and Bex Ashworth who are sisters. I loved the alternate viewpoints and it felt like I really got to know the characters more rather than it just being one sided. There are also the occasional chapters told from the I received an ARC from Netgalley in return for a honest review. My Sister's Wedding is the first book I've read by Vicky Pattison and I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed Vicky's writing style, it was easy to read and funny. Throughout the book it is told by the viewpoints of Lizzie and Bex Ashworth who are sisters. I loved the alternate viewpoints and it felt like I really got to know the characters more rather than it just being one sided. There are also the occasional chapters told from the viewpoint of Nicole Balfour, I also felt they added to the story however I wish we learnt more about Nicole. I enjoyed the other characters but I felt we didn't get to know them as well as we should have, such as Jay and Lauren. It would have been good to have discovered more about them especially since they were the best friends of the sisters. I wasn't particularly blown away by the men of the story, they both did their fair share of lying to the girls but overall they were perfectly nice. I felt the ending was a little bit rushed, it could have possibly done with one more chapter however I liked the ending so it might just be me nit-picking!This book is perfect to read this summer sitting by the beach with a cocktail or wine in hand! I'd love to read more from Vicky in the future.
    more
  • Catherine
    May 6, 2017
    I received this an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Very easy to read and impossible to put down; hence I read it in 15 hours (8 of which I was sleeping, then others spent cleaning house, preparing a family breakfast and the joy of Saturday swimming lessons at the local pool).Alternate chapters told from the perspective of Lizzie or Becky Ashworth, who have an incredibly close bond but are very different. Lizzie is fabulous fun, a bit flaky and finds it hard to keep a job. Bec I received this an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Very easy to read and impossible to put down; hence I read it in 15 hours (8 of which I was sleeping, then others spent cleaning house, preparing a family breakfast and the joy of Saturday swimming lessons at the local pool).Alternate chapters told from the perspective of Lizzie or Becky Ashworth, who have an incredibly close bond but are very different. Lizzie is fabulous fun, a bit flaky and finds it hard to keep a job. Becky is responsible, with an enjoyable challenging job as editor at a publishing house and lives with her long term boyfriend Daniel Balfour, who has just proposed.The Ashworth's are a down to earth Yorkshire family, who tell it like it is. The Balfour are snobby and hoped that Daniel was just getting something out of his system when he took up with Becky.Sparks fly at the engagement party and life for Becky starts to drift; she and Lizzie drift apart, she and Daniel drift apart (helped by Nicole, Daniels scheming manipulative sister), Becky is trailed by paparazzi until things come to a head and the Ashworth family decamp to their family home inYorkshire, surrounded by flashing cameras and inquisitive paparazzi.I loved this book and will be reading other works by the author.
    more
  • Charlotte Williams-greywolf
    May 12, 2017
    I Recommend This Book Having not read anything by Vicky Patterson I was not sure what to expect. To begin with I found the book a bit slow and unnecessarily harsh and coarse to read but as the book progressed the writing style eased out to a pleasant read. I found Lizzie the easiest character to like, she was well written and fun to join along the story. The story as a whole was good with many different problems for the girls to over come in the run up to Bex's wedding. Nicole was a good protag I Recommend This Book Having not read anything by Vicky Patterson I was not sure what to expect. To begin with I found the book a bit slow and unnecessarily harsh and coarse to read but as the book progressed the writing style eased out to a pleasant read. I found Lizzie the easiest character to like, she was well written and fun to join along the story. The story as a whole was good with many different problems for the girls to over come in the run up to Bex's wedding. Nicole was a good protagonist and made the story really fun in places as she has her tantrums. The story leaves you wanting just that little bit more which is a good thing. What ever did happen between Lizzie and Justin in the end?
    more
  • Chessela Helm
    May 16, 2017
    Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I loved this book - the characters are interesting and all very human. It alternates perspectives between the two sisters, so we get a chance to see both of their stories. That keeps things balanced and ensures there's always the right amount of conflict going on. There are some seriously manipulative people in the book, but it's easy to understand why the nicer characters would get duped. Their naivete feels true to the story, not f Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I loved this book - the characters are interesting and all very human. It alternates perspectives between the two sisters, so we get a chance to see both of their stories. That keeps things balanced and ensures there's always the right amount of conflict going on. There are some seriously manipulative people in the book, but it's easy to understand why the nicer characters would get duped. Their naivete feels true to the story, not forced. The entire novel is hilarious, with Lizzie's perspective being the funniest. But there are also more serious emotional issues happening. Overall, a great read, I couldn't put it down.
    more
  • Gail Wylde
    May 24, 2017
    I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This was a very easy book to read, full of many laugh out loud moments, characters that were very likeable and some not so likeable. I really liked the idea of following each sister in alternate chapters. This is the first book I have read by Vicky Pattison and it will not be the last. I will be recommending this book to friends and family. Thank you Netgalley
    more
  • Mia Whittemore
    June 1, 2017
    This book had a Sophie Kinsella feel to it, I could feel myself cheering on both sisters all the way through. There's enough to keep your interest and make the characters relate-able whilst keeping the story-line flowing. definitely one for the beach / holiday reading list this year, but all in all its just a brilliant escape from reality for a couple of hours no matter where you are.
    more
  • Mo Heath
    June 9, 2017
    I read this book on holiday and as just as I expected an easy read. It focuses on two sisters Lizzie & Becky and their relationship with each other and Beckys upcoming wedding to Daniel Balfour who is upper class. It's fairly predictable but it is witty and warm hearted and perfect for a holiday
    more
  • Saskia
    May 22, 2017
    This book is about two sisters. One has it all a job, nice men and is about to get married. The other is jobless, no boyfriend and everything is her life turns out in a mess. Both sisters have their own problems. A really nice book about love, family and how to solve problems. I really enjoyed reading this one. It was very easy to read.
    more
  • Caitlin Gibson
    June 5, 2017
    This novel exemplified family over everything. It features the Ashworth sisters, who are completely different yet fiercely connected. The two are in for a whirlwind when Becky gets engaged and has to deal with her soon-to-be in-laws. This is a cute, can't put down story!
    more
  • Katrina Galligan
    June 30, 2017
    Read several of Vicky Ps book which I loved. This was awful boring and loads of useless details.
  • Clara
    May 26, 2017
    I've read all of Vicky's books and I have enjoyed all of them but this one was quite possibly my favourite of them all such a fun light hearted read. Perfect for reading on holidays.The problems the characters come across are so true to life and i'm sure most of us can relate in some ways to what they are going through.I highly recommend this bookThanks to netgalley and publishers for a chance to read this book.
    more
  • Paris
    May 20, 2017
    Easy to read and down to earth book, with many laugh-out-loud moments. The storyline had a few surprises which is always good - as I tend to usually guess a plot of a book within the first few chapters. I enjoyed reading each chapter from a different perspective and felt that the changes in character were well placed to leave you hanging and needing to read more. As a result I finished this book within the space of a few hours! Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a fast, light-heart Easy to read and down to earth book, with many laugh-out-loud moments. The storyline had a few surprises which is always good - as I tend to usually guess a plot of a book within the first few chapters. I enjoyed reading each chapter from a different perspective and felt that the changes in character were well placed to leave you hanging and needing to read more. As a result I finished this book within the space of a few hours! Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a fast, light-hearted rom-com style book.
    more
  • Kathryn West
    May 4, 2017
    ARC from Netgalley
Write a review