The Cafe by the Sea
The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious... and hopelessly in love with her boss.But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers -- all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework -- and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking -- and find herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes -- and work out exactly where her future lies...Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.    

The Cafe by the Sea Details

TitleThe Cafe by the Sea
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN0062662988
ISBN-139780062662989
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Adult, Adult Fiction

The Cafe by the Sea Review

  • Kathryn
    May 26, 2017
    4.5 stars. Review to follow
  • Sascha
    May 27, 2017
    I had wanted to save The Cafe by the Sea for my upcoming vacation but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do to keep her sanity.First off, let me tell you that if you’re acquiring books for your beach reads, you might want to add The Cafe by the Sea. It’s well-written, funny, poignant, thoughtful, romantic, sweet, and it has a story.read more: https://saschadarlington.me/2017/05/2...
    more
  • Ellen
    May 19, 2017
    A lovely story, this novel will take you to the tiny island of Mure, in the northernmost part of Scotland. The descriptions of the setting lets you escape into the world Flora left for London, crowded, smoggy, but with hopes of furthering her career. When sent back to the island to help a rich client, Flora has to decide where she really belongs. Is it with her family of 3 brothers and her old father, or is it in the fast paced city. I enjoyed the story and the strong sense of place.
    more
  • Thelma Fountain
    May 26, 2017
    I won this book in a good reads giveaway. This book was just charming. I loved the characters and especially the unusual names like Hamish and Agot. The descriptions of scotland's islands were beautiful and makes you want to travel. This book keeps the reader guessing until the end about who Flora will end up with as far as romance. The family situation was very touching. This was a very enjoyable read.
    more
  • Heather
    May 24, 2017
    This is the fourth of Colgan's books that I've read, and I am beginning to see a plot pattern. Despite that nugget of predictability, I loved Cafe by the Sea. Colgan's characters are incredibly unique and well developed, the twists and turns are fun to read, and the descriptions make me feel as if I am right there. I highly recommend this one.
    more
  • Claudia (CJ)
    May 20, 2017
    Won this book in a giveaway here on Goodreads! Got to travel to Scotland in this great read. 2nd book by this author, that I have read, Happy to see she has written lots more books.
  • Karen
    May 14, 2017
    Charming and delightful.
  • Melissa
    April 17, 2017
    https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...This book has everything readers have come to expect from a Colgan novel: humor, heartfelt relationship issues and yummy food descriptions. The romantic storylines are well-developed and it isn't clear until the end who Flora is going to end up with. Flora's family situation is equally meaningful, with realistic issues that are handled in a lighthearted but touching way. Colgan knows the way into a reader's heart — through the stomach! Her delectably descr https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...This book has everything readers have come to expect from a Colgan novel: humor, heartfelt relationship issues and yummy food descriptions. The romantic storylines are well-developed and it isn't clear until the end who Flora is going to end up with. Flora's family situation is equally meaningful, with realistic issues that are handled in a lighthearted but touching way. Colgan knows the way into a reader's heart — through the stomach! Her delectably described food is made complete with recipes, so readers can try them too.Flora gave up the quiet island of Mure for a career and life in London. Now her boss at the law firm (whom Flora happens to have a desperate crush on) asks her to return to Mure in order to oversee a very wealthy client's building project. Flora has been slightly estranged from her father and brothers because she rarely returns to the island, but they begin to rebuild their relationships after she arrives and discovers that all of them are hiding things. She also finds out that her work task is not as easy as she would have imagined, because the town's residents are opposed to her client for various reasons. As Flora works to make amends with her family, she helps to open a cafe that just might smooth the way with the island folk as well. Just when everything is going well, Flora's boss arrives and everything is thrown into a tailspin again.
    more
  • Laura
    April 22, 2017
    I got the ARC from Edelweiss.This is my second Jenny Colgan book, and I can't wait to get the others.
  • Cricket
    May 9, 2017
    6/27/2017
  • Carol
    April 26, 2017
    Simply splendid.
  • Heidi
    April 20, 2017
    I adored every page of this read. As it isn't released for awhile I will try to remember to revisit with a more detailed review closer to release... I will say now though, if you haven't read Jenny Colgan and are scoping them out BUY THE BOOK! I started with "Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe" and have loved every book I've picked up. I especially like these last two Scotland/London based novels.
    more
  • Stephanie
    April 22, 2017
    Another sweet and delightful and perfect read from Colgan. The going-home trope is not always as interesting as the running-away one, but readers who loved THE BOOKSHOP ON THE CORNER will also very much enjoy CAFE.
Write a review