Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too
The illustrated story of a lonely alien sent to observe Earth, where he meets all sorts of creatures with all sorts of perspectives on life, love, and happiness, while learning to feel a little better about himself—based on the enormously popular Twitter account.Here is the unforgettable story of Jomny, an alien sent to study Earth. Always feeling apart, even among his species, Jomny feels at home for the first time among the earthlings he meets. There is a bear tired of other creatures running in fear, an egg struggling to decide what to hatch into, a turtle hiding itself by learning camouflage, a puppy struggling to express its true feelings, and many more.The characters are unique and inventive—bees think long and hard about what love means, birds try to eat the sun, nothingness questions its own existence, a ghost comes to terms with dying, and an introverted hedgehog slowly lets Jomny see its artistic insecurities. At the same time, Jomny’s curious presence allows these characters to open up to him in ways they were never able to before, revealing the power of somebody who is just there to listen.Everyone’s a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too is also the story behind the widely-shared and typo-filled @jonnysun twitter account. Since the beginning, Sun intentionally tweeted from an outsider’s perspective, creating a truly distinct voice. Now, that outsider has taken shape in the character of Jomny, who observes Earth with the same intelligent, empathetic, and charmingly naïve voice that won over his fans on social media. New fans will find it organic, and old fans will delight at seeing the clever words that made them fans in the first place.Through this story of a lost, lonely and confused Alien finding friendship, acceptance, and love among the animals and plants of Earth, we will all learn how to be a little more human. And for all the earth-bound creatures here on this planet, we will all learn how sometimes, it takes an outsider to help us see ourselves for who we truly are.    

Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too Details

TitleEveryone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherHarper Perennial
ISBN006256904X
ISBN-139780062569042
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Fiction, Science Fiction

Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too Review

  • Jonathan Sun
    March 15, 2017
    it,s good
  • Chihoe Ho
    March 24, 2017
    I live under a rock and had never heard of Jonny Sun's Twitter account. After checking it out, I'm a fan of the intellectual wit and the succinctness of what he packs into a tweet. That as a long-form comic, however, slightly loses it's appeal.There are some very tender moments and illuminating ideas, but I occasionally found it jumbled and half-baked. It's very much the aliebn version of "The Little Prince" - our protagonist observes and remarks upon the life beyond his and along the way, learn I live under a rock and had never heard of Jonny Sun's Twitter account. After checking it out, I'm a fan of the intellectual wit and the succinctness of what he packs into a tweet. That as a long-form comic, however, slightly loses it's appeal.There are some very tender moments and illuminating ideas, but I occasionally found it jumbled and half-baked. It's very much the aliebn version of "The Little Prince" - our protagonist observes and remarks upon the life beyond his and along the way, learns more about himself and the universe. It's a big idea book told very simplistically and innocently, one that you would either relate to or be confused by.As a whole, this did strike a chord with me. I can't help but be a little disappointed by the promise of some big (and funny) revelation that I don't know why I thought I was going to find here. Regardless, I'll always remember Jomny and the wisdom he imparts. Hopefully, we get to see this aliebn starring in his own animated short film someday... I'd like that.
    more
  • Shari (colourmeread)
    June 30, 2017
    Adorable, funny, heartwarming, sad, and thought provoking all at once. This book is precious.
  • Lizz
    June 28, 2017
    beautifull and quiebt and hapy an sad.
  • Kelly
    April 1, 2017
    So much more than "a book"; a new way of looking at the world.(Full disclosure: I received a physical ARC for review through Goodreads and an electronic galley through Edelweiss.)Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book fell into my life just when I needed it. I recently lost someone very close to me, and Jomny Sun's adorable illustrations, juxtaposed with his insightful AF observations, brought me not just momentary distraction from my grief, but also a much-needed laugh (or two or twen So much more than "a book"; a new way of looking at the world.(Full disclosure: I received a physical ARC for review through Goodreads and an electronic galley through Edelweiss.)Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book fell into my life just when I needed it. I recently lost someone very close to me, and Jomny Sun's adorable illustrations, juxtaposed with his insightful AF observations, brought me not just momentary distraction from my grief, but also a much-needed laugh (or two or twenty) and, best of all, a small but very palpable sense of hope for the future. I've read it at least half a dozen times in the past six weeks, and find something new to hold tight and cherish each time. Is Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too silly? You betcha. From the moment Jomny's alien shipmates abandon him on earth, you just know that the story is going to be weird and irreverent and not a little preposterous. But things escalate quickly, and we go from goofy to trenchant in the space of just four pages (I feel you, little snail). In his travels, Jomny meets and befriends a wide range of earthlings - lonely trees, lovestruck bees, industrious beavers (but no humans, who Jomny was really sent to study) - who teach him all sorts of Very Important Life Lessons. About self identity and reinvention; prejudice; work and leisure; the fleetingness of life - and love; acceptance and friendship; and, of course, the nature of nothing. For a book wherein a talking bear pairs off with what looks to be an alien yeti, this is one existential and angst-filled narrative. Another Goodreads reviewer said simply, "reading Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Ablien Too made me a better person." That just about sums it up. I could quote the book for days on end, but here are just seven of my favorite scenes. (This was so hard to narrow down, you guys. YOU HAVE NO IDEA.)(Click on the image to embiggen.)                http://www.easyvegan.info/2017/06/27/...
    more
  • David Edmonds
    May 8, 2017
    I have never heard of Jomny Sun, nor his twitter feed, @jonnysun, and after having read everyone's a aliebn when ur a aliebn too, I feel like I've been missing out on something fairly amazing. everyone's a aliebn opens with the alien Jomny being dropped off on Earth, to study the planet and what it means to be an earthling. Never feeling like a part of his people, Jomny at first feels lost on Earth, but as he learns what it means to be an earthling thru his encounters with a varied cast of chara I have never heard of Jomny Sun, nor his twitter feed, @jonnysun, and after having read everyone's a aliebn when ur a aliebn too, I feel like I've been missing out on something fairly amazing. everyone's a aliebn opens with the alien Jomny being dropped off on Earth, to study the planet and what it means to be an earthling. Never feeling like a part of his people, Jomny at first feels lost on Earth, but as he learns what it means to be an earthling thru his encounters with a varied cast of characters, he actually discovers what it means to be human instead, and begins to finally feel like he has found his place in the universe.This is one of those rare treats of a book for me that reminds me how you can be fooled by a book, and in a beautiful way. Remarkably told thru the sparsest of illustrations and text, everyone's a aliebn when ur a aliebn too has an emotional impact I was not expecting. The illustrations and text are so basic, I initially thought I was just reading a cute little story about an alien on Earth and his misadventures, but what Jonathan Sun provides is actually a guide to the ups and downs of all human emotion, and it is surprisingly powerful. I enjoyed it so much, that I immediately flipped back to the beginning as soon as I finished it and read the whole thing again. I think this would be a perfect book for anyone who is having a hard time finding their place in the world; if Jomny can do it, any of us can.
    more
  • Aude Odeh
    June 28, 2017
    If you haven't followed @jonnysun on his socials, go right now and do it. I promise you won't regret this. This book... Is just good. It is filled with so much good. It tells a story of an alien coming to earth to learn about humans. But it is a journey into the human psyche. What it means to be happy. And what is life all about. Just read it. Love it. Cherish it.
    more
  • Maxine
    June 7, 2017
    Pretty much everyone feels like an alien at some time in their life, like they just don’t quite fit in and that’s the premise of this charming little illustrated book by author Jomny Sun based on his twitter account. Jomny, a lonely little alien, one who is just a little different from others on his planet, has been left on earth to observe the inhabitants of the planet. Although he never finds the humans he was expected to observe, he soon begins to make friends with the other creatures he meet Pretty much everyone feels like an alien at some time in their life, like they just don’t quite fit in and that’s the premise of this charming little illustrated book by author Jomny Sun based on his twitter account. Jomny, a lonely little alien, one who is just a little different from others on his planet, has been left on earth to observe the inhabitants of the planet. Although he never finds the humans he was expected to observe, he soon begins to make friends with the other creatures he meets including a bear who wishes others weren’t so afraid of him, an egg who doesn’t yet know what he’s going to be so he can be anything he wants, a lonely tree who feels stuck in one spot, even nothing who wants everyone to understand that nothing is really something too. In the process, as they really listen to each other’s stories, Jomny and the creatures discover friendship and acceptance, imagination, love, and celebration of their differences. A perfect panacea when it seems like love, life, and the universe are letting you down.4.5Thanks to Edelweiss and Harper Perennial for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Alison M
    June 28, 2017
    Short, but insightful.
  • Patty
    June 27, 2017
    "everything hapens for a raisin" Beautiful simplicity and hilariously thought provoking.
  • Wendy
    June 28, 2017
    Best use of mispelled words ever. If you're not a little bit better at being human after you read this, then you did it wrong. Try again.
  • Kelsey Manning
    May 15, 2017
    it did feels
  • Samantha Epstein
    February 16, 2017
    reading Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Ablien Too made me a better person. everyone should read this!
  • Kaz
    June 28, 2017
    A beautiful story of loneliness and self-discovery framed as a scientific expedition by a small little extraterrestrial who shares a name with the author. Jomny is sent by his pretentious peers to observe humanity, but he ends up interacting instead with the local wildlife. However, the author seems to project human archetypes onto the creatures, every species exemplifying a certain one, so that in fact Jomny is studying humanity without knowing it (or perhaps in a more abstract way). The book i A beautiful story of loneliness and self-discovery framed as a scientific expedition by a small little extraterrestrial who shares a name with the author. Jomny is sent by his pretentious peers to observe humanity, but he ends up interacting instead with the local wildlife. However, the author seems to project human archetypes onto the creatures, every species exemplifying a certain one, so that in fact Jomny is studying humanity without knowing it (or perhaps in a more abstract way). The book is moving for finding a way to present profundity through simplicity, and at times even calls back to its roots on Weird Twitter with unexpected but masterful wordplay (some might say that the orthographic conventions displayed are also a Weird Twitter trait, here appropriated as a sort of accent employed by both aliens and wildlife, neither to whom is English a hereditary language). Likewise, the almost childlike style of art in this graphic novel is meant to create an atmosphere of wonder and playfulness so that they reader may consider the mediations without any interference from preconceived notions. If this book were a tweet, I would fav and retweet the hell out of it.
    more
  • Samantha
    June 29, 2017
    I preordered this book on a whim, probably two days after the option for a preorder came up. Then I toyed with the idea of cancelling because maybe it was just a twitter fad and what if it's not good. But the need to support authors, and the consistent flow of content from Johnny kept me intrigued, and next thing I knew, there was a package on my front porch with a sweet lil alien on a grand mission to learn about humabns.I brought it with me to work to read during downtime, and found that the p I preordered this book on a whim, probably two days after the option for a preorder came up. Then I toyed with the idea of cancelling because maybe it was just a twitter fad and what if it's not good. But the need to support authors, and the consistent flow of content from Johnny kept me intrigued, and next thing I knew, there was a package on my front porch with a sweet lil alien on a grand mission to learn about humabns.I brought it with me to work to read during downtime, and found that the pages flew and the tears fell. I can't count how many times Jomny and his friends spoke words that I had always thought but never was able to articulate. This is a simple book, but that's why it's special. Johnny (and Jomny) are evidence that revelations don't have to be big, grand gestures. Sometimes the most meaningful life lessons are under 10 words. I can't wait to reread this book, and I've already started a list of people I want to share it with. This book deserves a million stars, but I guess 5 will do.
    more
  • Josh Hereth
    June 30, 2017
    WHAT DID I JUST READ?! Wow what a perfect little creation!If you have a quick moment to sit down and read this book it will only take you 30 minutes and it will be one of the best 30 minutes you've ever spent. Blunt, honest, fair, pithy, and beautifully bittersweet, everyone's a aliebn when ur a aliebn too is the story of a lonely alien coming to Earth to learn the ways of "humabns." Jomny meets all kinds of friends during his journey and is learns what it's like to be a human and experience hum WHAT DID I JUST READ?! Wow what a perfect little creation!If you have a quick moment to sit down and read this book it will only take you 30 minutes and it will be one of the best 30 minutes you've ever spent. Blunt, honest, fair, pithy, and beautifully bittersweet, everyone's a aliebn when ur a aliebn too is the story of a lonely alien coming to Earth to learn the ways of "humabns." Jomny meets all kinds of friends during his journey and is learns what it's like to be a human and experience humanity. Much like the power behind The Little Prince, this is a book that you will continue to learn something new about yourself and to remember to find love, acceptance, and friendship in everything around us.
    more
  • Anjali
    June 30, 2017
    It's cute. There are some lines that particularly resonated with me as I was reading the book. But the entire time I couldn't help but feel confused. Why wasn't I crying, as other reviewers did? Why wasn't I chuckling, feeling an intense pain in my heart, cheering on the characters? I don't think I'm completely apathetic, or I probably wouldn't have bothered to even read Everyone's a Aliebn in the first place. The typos, the juvenile conversations--they all seemed so immature. This book is kind It's cute. There are some lines that particularly resonated with me as I was reading the book. But the entire time I couldn't help but feel confused. Why wasn't I crying, as other reviewers did? Why wasn't I chuckling, feeling an intense pain in my heart, cheering on the characters? I don't think I'm completely apathetic, or I probably wouldn't have bothered to even read Everyone's a Aliebn in the first place. The typos, the juvenile conversations--they all seemed so immature. This book is kind of like viral Tumblr poetry, in my opinion--both use simplistic language, replete with cutesy characters/topics, and you, the reader, are not quite sure whether what you're reading is profound or just unsophisticated.
    more
  • Sam
    June 28, 2017
    Oh my gosh, where do I even begin? I got into this thinking it'd just be cute, but it was so much more! Grammar jokes! Puns! Cute hilarious moments! Deep and insightful commentary! Sadness and loneliness! Tender and warm moments! UGH, I loved this so much, and I'm just mad that it took me literally half the book to realize that the bee was spelling out things BECAUSE IT'S A SPELLING BEE. A quick read that I highly recommend. Note: Got this at a books signing, got to tell Jonny he's great, got to Oh my gosh, where do I even begin? I got into this thinking it'd just be cute, but it was so much more! Grammar jokes! Puns! Cute hilarious moments! Deep and insightful commentary! Sadness and loneliness! Tender and warm moments! UGH, I loved this so much, and I'm just mad that it took me literally half the book to realize that the bee was spelling out things BECAUSE IT'S A SPELLING BEE. A quick read that I highly recommend. Note: Got this at a books signing, got to tell Jonny he's great, got to see my favorite poet (Sarah Kay) and got to see LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA if only for a few seconds. It was a memorable night and this book will officially always be close to my heart.
    more
  • Mel Staten
    June 29, 2017
    Strange, cute book. Like a children's book gone slightly awry, somewhere. An alien encounters our planet, his mission to learn all he can about the humans. He meets a lot of humans, like a lovely tree, a porcupine, an egg. The story gets weird and existential and dark. It's bright and funny and talks about all kinds of fears and concerns. It's not what I was expecting after following him on Twitter. But it's good.
    more
  • Robyn
    June 29, 2017
    This book was incredibly entertaining. It was just downright adorable and full of cute characters and interesting interactions. I loved the beaver, but I think my favourite conversation was with the onion, though he really only made the one appearance, it was amazing. It was an easy and short read and well done.
    more
  • Ferrell
    June 28, 2017
    Aside from Bill Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes, I don’t know of anyone else who’s able to capture what it’s like to see the world through the eyes of a child (or in this case an aliebn) in a way that’s profoundly insightful and often forgotten as we grow up. (And Jomny Sun is hilarious). As someone else said about him, “he’s like jane goodall, and we’re the apes.”
    more
  • Roxana
    June 27, 2017
    Reminiscent of The Little Prince, Twitter philosophe Jomny Sun's aliebn tale explores the meaning of life through delicately simple drawings, carefully crafted misspellings, and wholehearted acceptance that sometimes life is sad and everyone's gonna die but, you know, also there are things like bouncy castles and eggs and love. Touching, radiant, and completely human.
    more
  • Colleen Palladino
    June 28, 2017
    I did not expect to cry as much as I did while reading this book. Jomny Sun is a powerful storyteller that can make you feel all the emotions in a single page. The inside covers or "activity log" had some of the best quotes. I will recommend this book to everyone, and I am sure I will be rereading it soon.
    more
  • Malia
    June 30, 2017
    This is a sweet book, and strings a narrative out some of jomny's best tweets. I feel like this book would have been a great lifeline for me as a sad teenager, but I feel a little too old and/or fully formed for it now.
  • Mindy Rose
    June 27, 2017
    a small pure hearted aliebn lands on earth to study the humabns and makes some pure hearted friemds. reader, i wept. this is so lovely and sweet and A Lot and i was steadily verklempt the whole way through. @jomnysun hit me right in the feels. 5/5.
  • Audrey (holes In My brain)
    May 18, 2017
    I met Jonny Sun at TCAF and freaked out a little and was so lucky to get a copy of an ARC.This book is brilliant and funny and thoughtful and speaks volumes about friendship and happiness and loneliness. love love loveplease check it out. it is strange and funny and human
    more
  • Kaila
    June 28, 2017
    I read this book all at once and smiled all the way through. Precious and perfect!
  • Beth Bissmeyer
    June 28, 2017
    This book by is so delightful and smart. It's like a new book friend that I'll be revisiting a lot. ❤ This book by is so delightful and smart. It's like a new book friend that I'll be revisiting a lot. ❤️
  • rachel
    June 27, 2017
    :')
  • Nivea Serrao
    June 17, 2017
    This book broke my heart, put it back together and lit a candle in it. Jomny Sun's work addresses the wealth of human experience and how lucky we are that it does.
Write a review