Two Truths and a Lie
Two Truths and a Lie is the first book in a fascinating new series that presents some of the most crazy-but-true stories about the living world as well as a handful of stories that are too crazy to be true—and asks readers to separate facts from the fakes!Did you know that there is a fungus that can control the mind of an ant and make it do its bidding? Would you believe there is such a thing as a corpse flower—a ten-foot-tall plant with a blossom that smells like a zombie? How about a species of octopus that doesn’t live in water but rather lurks in trees in the Pacific Northwest?Every story in this book is strange and astounding. But not all of them are real. Just like the old game in this book’s title, two out of every three stories are completely true and one is an outright lie. Can you guess which? It’s not going to be easy. Some false stories are based on truth, and some of the true stories are just plain unbelievable. And they’re all accompanied by dozens of photos, maps, and illustrations. Amaze yourself and trick your friends as you sort out the fakes from the facts!Acclaimed authors Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson have teamed up to create a series of sneaky stories about the natural world designed to amaze, disgust, and occasionally bamboozle you.

Two Truths and a Lie Details

TitleTwo Truths and a Lie
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherWalden Pond Press
ISBN0062418823
ISBN-139780062418821
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Childrens, Middle Grade

Two Truths and a Lie Review

  • Tara
    March 13, 2017
    Such a great idea, and so perfectly executed. My family loved reading this book aloud and debating which stories we thought were true or false. The pictures are terrific, too--they really make you think about the nature of evidence and authority and how fake stories can be made to look quite real.I'm so glad this is going to be a series--can't wait for the next volume!
    more
  • Lesley Burnap
    January 14, 2017
    Fantastic format! Kids in grade 4 and up will enjoy picking which story of 3 is false! 9 phenomenal chapters and 3 stories in each one! The only thing that made me sad was when I reached the end! Educators can use this book as a mentor text for student writing their own informational texts!
    more
  • Michele Knott
    April 7, 2017
    Fascinating facts, and wait, false facts? Yet those un-truths are hard to figure out in this book! This book is sure to amaze readers and will be a fantastic mentor text for teachers when discussing how to sift through research and fact check what is written.
    more
  • Heidi
    June 10, 2017
    Two Truths and a Lie takes an interesting approach to presenting information. The book is divided into three parts: plants, animals, and humans. Each part is then divided into chapters which are further divided into three sections. Each section describes something related to the topic. But there's a catch, one of the three sections in each chapter is false (a lie) while the other two are true. To make things even trickier, the section that's a lie may still contain elements that are true. (I'm n Two Truths and a Lie takes an interesting approach to presenting information. The book is divided into three parts: plants, animals, and humans. Each part is then divided into chapters which are further divided into three sections. Each section describes something related to the topic. But there's a catch, one of the three sections in each chapter is false (a lie) while the other two are true. To make things even trickier, the section that's a lie may still contain elements that are true. (I'm not going to give specific examples because I don't want to spoil the fun.) Not only are the pieces of information fascinating but it's very engaging to try to figure out what is true and what is not. And while the end of the book contains the answers as well as references and an index, it feels like cheating to peak before making an educated guess. And the authors actively encourage readers to look for the answers themselves. Not only is this a great book for pure entertainment, it's also a great resource for librarians/teachers/parents who want to help their children learn to verify information before accepting everything they see/hear/read as truth.
    more
  • Sarah Albee
    May 5, 2017
    This is a delightful read--middle schoolers are going to love it! (Managed to snag an Advance Reader Copy.)
  • Chelsea
    June 8, 2017
    Review To Be Posted
  • Kirsti Call
    February 28, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.What I liked: This book is so MUCH fun to read. Filled with completely ridiculous, yet true stories, this book will teach you about miraculous plants and animals. At least most of the stories are true. For every three stories, there is one fabrication. As we read we have to think about and research the stories to find out the read truth. This book encourages research and figuring out the difference between fact and fiction on the in I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.What I liked: This book is so MUCH fun to read. Filled with completely ridiculous, yet true stories, this book will teach you about miraculous plants and animals. At least most of the stories are true. For every three stories, there is one fabrication. As we read we have to think about and research the stories to find out the read truth. This book encourages research and figuring out the difference between fact and fiction on the internet. I think kids will find it engaging and incredibly fun to read. The book is well written. I highly recommend it for any curious human being. What I didn't like: The only thing that worries me? That I won't remember what's real and what's not. I may say to myself: "I remember reading about that...it must be true." Of course that's always a problem when we read anything on the internet that may be fallacious.
    more
  • Maria Marshall
    June 27, 2017
    The introduction sets the stage for an entertaining read. Laurie and Joan have written the three segments in each of the nine chapters so convincingly that it is at times difficult to determine the falsehood. This book is a fun hybrid of fiction and nonfiction.In addition to the three cleverly written stories per chapter, Laurie and Joan expanded the fun by including lists of plant facts, plant names, animal group names, under sea creatures, animal facts, dinosaur names, strange and mysterious m The introduction sets the stage for an entertaining read. Laurie and Joan have written the three segments in each of the nine chapters so convincingly that it is at times difficult to determine the falsehood. This book is a fun hybrid of fiction and nonfiction.In addition to the three cleverly written stories per chapter, Laurie and Joan expanded the fun by including lists of plant facts, plant names, animal group names, under sea creatures, animal facts, dinosaur names, strange and mysterious medical procedures, and illnesses - all which contain one falsehood. Is a cucumber a fruit? Is it a gulp of magpies? Do vampire squids exist? Can you catch monkey pox? Is truth stranger fiction? You'll have to do some research to find out (or look in the Answer Guide provided). Especially useful to parents and teachers are the "Try This!" and "Take Action" and "Talk It Out" sections (offering ways to expand on the information), the colorful sidebar definition flags, the index, and the Research Guide. This guide offers suggested research options and the challenge to make your first reaction - Show me your source. All very valuable tools for student research and generally surviving in todays "fake news" and internet scam environment.Although full of photographs, Lisa Weber's added illustrations, especially the lab-coated monkey and his investigative assistant are endearing and captivating. Kids of all ages will enjoy this book, and learn a lot about our strange and wacky world.
    more
  • Margie
    June 10, 2017
    One technique for enhancing the connectedness of a group of people is to have them participate in icebreakers, activities designed to reveal information about each individual. One of these games is called Two Truths and a Lie. Participants sit in a circle with each one making three assertions about themselves. The others need to figure out which one of the three statements is false.When engaged in this contest of wits, we are able to assess body language and facial expression along with the spok One technique for enhancing the connectedness of a group of people is to have them participate in icebreakers, activities designed to reveal information about each individual. One of these games is called Two Truths and a Lie. Participants sit in a circle with each one making three assertions about themselves. The others need to figure out which one of the three statements is false.When engaged in this contest of wits, we are able to assess body language and facial expression along with the spoken words. In a new title, Two Truths And A Lie: It's Alive! (Walden Pond Press, June 27, 2017) written by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson, arranged using a similar format, it's much trickier to sort what is real from what is fabricated. As we read it's all about separating the possible from the impossible and reaching credible conclusions.My full recommendation: http://librariansquest.blogspot.com/2...
    more
  • Nanci
    May 22, 2017
    I loved this book and am so excited there will be more. My kids are grown now, but if they were younger, this would be the book on the kitchen table, by the bed, in the car, on the coffee table. It's fun and interesting and not at all predictable. Plus, it jump starts curiosity about more than just what is in front of us. I've ordered some copies for kids I know, and one for my 30 year old son who will love it regardless of his age. I was honored to have been offered an advance reader copy of th I loved this book and am so excited there will be more. My kids are grown now, but if they were younger, this would be the book on the kitchen table, by the bed, in the car, on the coffee table. It's fun and interesting and not at all predictable. Plus, it jump starts curiosity about more than just what is in front of us. I've ordered some copies for kids I know, and one for my 30 year old son who will love it regardless of his age. I was honored to have been offered an advance reader copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Hope
    June 13, 2017
    This book is such a great idea. It's really important to have kids realize that they can't believe everything that they read and that a person should fact check before just believing any story (flashback to the 'you eat a spider every time you sleep' story). Since fact checking is a critical skill to have in life I definitely support this book. Good job.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 28, 2017
    This is a unique format for nonfiction that students will like, especially given today's climate of "fake news". I particularly appreciated the author's notes about research and factfinding.
  • Edward Sullivan
    February 20, 2017
    Reviewed for professional publication.
  • Andréa
    January 6, 2017
    Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  • Shauna Yusko
    June 14, 2017
    Perfect for the classroom and browsing alike. (Much needed lessons here in spotting fake news and alternative facts).
  • Stephanie
    July 1, 2017
    Two Truths and A Lie: It's Alive! presents nine chapters of three stories each about plants, animals and humans where each story seems a little crazy but only one is a lie! Each story is backed up with sources and pictures and might even be sprinkled with some truths making some stories very difficult to see through. This was a very fun book to read with middle school aged children. After learning about certain topics, we would read the three stories in a corresponding chapter and have a great d Two Truths and A Lie: It's Alive! presents nine chapters of three stories each about plants, animals and humans where each story seems a little crazy but only one is a lie! Each story is backed up with sources and pictures and might even be sprinkled with some truths making some stories very difficult to see through. This was a very fun book to read with middle school aged children. After learning about certain topics, we would read the three stories in a corresponding chapter and have a great discussion in trying to decipher which story was the lie. Our favorite group of stories was the very first one which contained stories of a human-shaped root, an entire forest made up of only one tree and plant communication. The only thing that I would have prefered is if the answers were directly after each section instead of all together at the end of the book, since this made it easy to see the false story for the next section. These stories were a fun way to engage kids and have them do some critical thinking, can't wait for the next one!This book was received for free in return for an honest review.
    more
Write a review