High As the Heavens
In 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle's café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She's a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service. When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.

High As the Heavens Details

TitleHigh As the Heavens
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBethany House
ISBN076421781X
ISBN-139780764217814
Number of pages393 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Christian Fiction, Christian, Romance, Historical Romance, Fiction

High As the Heavens Review

  • Hannah
    June 2, 2017
    Oh, this was like a warm blanket and a fire on a chilly, rainy day...or like eating gourmet mac and cheese when you've had a bad day. This type of story hits all my cozy spots and makes me want to climb into the story and hug all the characters, maybe even jump up and down with them for their joy and cry with them in their pain.I knew from a few of the advance reviews that it was going to be exactly my sort of story. The plot is one of my personal favorites, partly because it isn't done often an Oh, this was like a warm blanket and a fire on a chilly, rainy day...or like eating gourmet mac and cheese when you've had a bad day. This type of story hits all my cozy spots and makes me want to climb into the story and hug all the characters, maybe even jump up and down with them for their joy and cry with them in their pain.I knew from a few of the advance reviews that it was going to be exactly my sort of story. The plot is one of my personal favorites, partly because it isn't done often and done well even less often. A widow, still thinking longingly of the husband she'd had too little of to begin with, having him drop into her life, alive? Add spies and danger to it, and Evelyn can't even begin to tell him everything that happened to her after she heard word he died in a plane crash and went to her mother's side in Belgium. (You think the Nazis are bad...well, these were their daddies, and we'll just say blood shows, sometimes.)Then of course there's the deadly double agent, the mysterious leak in the Resistance, where Eve is doing all she can to get the Huns defeated and out of Belgium before she loses her mother and remaining aunt and uncle. (I especially loved her frail mother's brave help of the cause by pricking codes into her lace patterns...genius!)The pages almost turned themselves...if you like WW1, spies, and romance, you must read this book!Content: Eve is Catholic, so there's confession and an image of the Madonna and child in her room. She is fond of saying "Dear Lord" when in distress, but it seems to be said as a prayer because of the context. There is some married flirting between her and her husband, and a description of attempted rape, but nothing too graphic.
    more
  • Rachel McMillan
    May 3, 2017
    Evelyn Marche is a nurse currently working for the resistance while playing nice with the Germans in war-occupied Brussels. Her life is a barrage of secrets propelled by a haunted past. While she works at her aunt and uncle’s café and saves lives from both sides of the war, you know that she is just going through the motions. She’ll stay alive for her mother, for the Resistance that needs her, and to retrieve her siblings, lost in France.But underneath Eve’s complicated and complex world of intr Evelyn Marche is a nurse currently working for the resistance while playing nice with the Germans in war-occupied Brussels. Her life is a barrage of secrets propelled by a haunted past. While she works at her aunt and uncle’s café and saves lives from both sides of the war, you know that she is just going through the motions. She’ll stay alive for her mother, for the Resistance that needs her, and to retrieve her siblings, lost in France.But underneath Eve’s complicated and complex world of intrigue and her highly skilled spy work, she goes through the motions, rendered an automaton by the death of her pilot husband years before.A tragic sequence of circumstances thereafter pricks at her constantly and she is but a shell of a person with really nothing to lose after life and love were ripped from her. When detoured from a night time assignment by a plane crash in Brussels Park, Eve never expects she will find herself face-to-face with her supposedly dead husband, Simon Forrester. Now, caught playing a dangerous game of roulette, she’ll have to risk his trust to save his life ---even as she keeps the darkest secrets from the person who should know and love her best.GUYSSSSSSS what we have here is one of Rachel’s FAVOURITE ROMANTIC TROPES: something I like to call The Pimpernel. For those of you familiar with Orczy’s classic ( and if you aren’t what have you been doing with your life?), it features a married couple who due to secrets and mistrust are torn apart even as they STILL LOVE EACH OTHER DEEPLY FOREVER AND EVER and WANT TO SHARE KISSES AND TOUCHES AND EACH OTHER FOREVER AND I CANNOT EVEN DEAL.Here, like Sir Percy, Simon is rattled by the fact that his beloved and rediscovered wife may indeed be a traitor while Eve is confronted with the treacherous fact that the return of her husband means finally spilling a secret that has ruined her at core.AND I JUST WANT THEM TO TAKE EACH OTHER IN ARMS AND TALK IT OUTWHAT WE HAVE HERE IS A FAILURE TO COMMUNICATE and oh is it ever achingly, seethingly , bone-tinglingly delicious as time is meted out in slow, languorous romantic breaths and you are all: OH PLEASE END THIS INSANITY AND KISS FOREVERIt’s really lovely and done so well: especially when embroidered with sweet tantalizing scenes from the past. We see Simon and Eve fall in love and must reconcile the sepia-tinted light of these remembrances with the hardened, challenged and war-torn people they are at present.OF COURSE THEY STILL LOVE EACH OTHER and would die for each other a thousand times over but THEY CANNOT TELL EACH OTHER without risking their respective causes and Eve is near rendered mute by a secret that clogs her throat and catches her breath and she wonders if Simon could ever truly love the woman who, out of desperation, was forced to make a lethal choice.And what is AWESOME about this, reader friends, is that the longer the game goes on, the more confusingly intricate the web becomes. You think that everything is smoothed out like a crease in your favourite pencil skirt, but NO, she throws another wrench into things because she takes DELIGHT IN TORTURING US. To add to the torture, she has a lovely and poetic way of painting a physical connection between our two leads that is whisper light and passionate and alluring—while reminding us that their true connection is strung together with a deeper knot. The more we see Simon and Eve in their respective roles for the cause, the more we are met with the commonalities that surge between them and can truly buy into their connection and story on an inherently intelligent level.Breslin also does well at painting both sides of the conflict in sympathetic light. Eve’s ability to understand the plight of the German enemies she waits on ( and whose lives she saves as a skilled nurse) even as she aids the allied effort are human and as rooted in an impossible situation as she is. Breslin also (of course, its Breslin) impresses an impressive understanding of culture and verisimilitude as is trademark in her historical fiction.But, mostly, and above all, she makes you love. She makes you love the ginger-haired Scotch pilot with the calloused hands and roguish burr and his Eve--- a stroke of genius in the name--- the woman who could be his saviour or the downfall of his life and his heart…. Again.A series of games, clues, breathless escapes, creaks and snippets of war on the European front, you will have to navigate a world of double-agents and betrayals. But rest safe in the hands of Breslin’s competent pen, her fully realized characters and … of course… an “OMG YOU DIDN’T THIS IS THE BEST EVER PIMPERNEL ROMANCE AND I CANNOT EVEN”Thanks to Bethany House and Netgalley and Kate Breslin for ruining me for the real world
    more
  • Rachael
    June 4, 2017
    I really enjoyed this read for three main reasons.First, it was set in WWI. Most historical fiction reads are WWII. I'm not sure why, but the facts and history of the Second World War are much more popular among writers. Secondly, the setting was in Brussels. The setting lends itself to more of what it was like to live in a country occupied by Germany. Concentration camps, Germany itself, and many other places are frequently used as the settings for books. I really enjoyed this one as it was a b I really enjoyed this read for three main reasons.First, it was set in WWI. Most historical fiction reads are WWII. I'm not sure why, but the facts and history of the Second World War are much more popular among writers. Secondly, the setting was in Brussels. The setting lends itself to more of what it was like to live in a country occupied by Germany. Concentration camps, Germany itself, and many other places are frequently used as the settings for books. I really enjoyed this one as it was a bit different.Third,the book continues past a wedding! This is something that I wish more writers would do! Romance doesn't end at the wedding, and life in some ways is just beginning.Even if it isn't a long part of the novel, I always enjoy reading books that show married life...just a hint to any writer. :) I love books too, that go back and forth in time. My only teensy problem was that at a certain part in the book it seemed to drag...at least for me. Though that very well could have been just because I wanted the mystery solved. Perhaps it was a brilliant ploy by the author to hold that off a bit. Either way, I really did enjoy this novel. The characters seem realistic ( though Eve needed a good shake a few times), the plot was well done, and it keeps you engaged to the very end. Some other things I enjoyed about the book the most will have to be left out as I don't want to put in anything considered a spoiler. If you love historical fiction...just read it!" She fell to her knees, pride and anger forgotten. Lord, please let my family live."I received this book from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Shantelle
    June 25, 2017
    Kate Breslin fashions an intriguing, harsh, heart-rending, and ultimately beautifully redemptive tale set during World War I. I loved this author's Not By Sight, and was very eager to pick up High As the Heavens! What a fantastic read.Following the life of a nurse in war-torn Belgium, invaded and ruled by the enemy Germans, we encounter downed Allie planes, spies, dark secrets, and daring escapades.I really liked our main character, Eve. Despite the horrible things she has endured/seen/been a pa Kate Breslin fashions an intriguing, harsh, heart-rending, and ultimately beautifully redemptive tale set during World War I. I loved this author's Not By Sight, and was very eager to pick up High As the Heavens! What a fantastic read.Following the life of a nurse in war-torn Belgium, invaded and ruled by the enemy Germans, we encounter downed Allie planes, spies, dark secrets, and daring escapades.I really liked our main character, Eve. Despite the horrible things she has endured/seen/been a part of, she remains a lovely, though broken, woman whom you can't help but root for. I was delighted, intrigued, and frightened by turn by all the things going on in her life. And always hoping she would run back to God and find peace and healing in His presence.Loved Simon too. *sigh* Just ... go pick up this book and read about him.There were a lot of other characters I liked as well, but I won't give away any possible spoilers by naming them! But truly, there was a great cast of characters in High As the Heavens, and I wouldn't mind a sequel at all! *winks*The flashbacks in the beginning of the book were very well done, and I found them so beautiful, though tinged by a bittersweet air. The story definitely had a heaviness to it, but was truly infused with hope as well. Despite some dark moments, I felt High As the Heavens overall, was a fairly fast-paced, exciting, and lovely story.There was a theme of faith and redemption, and an utterly beautiful romance. Though there was a little bit of "adult content" concerning a married couple, and felt, for the most part, that the romance scenes were tastefully done - and Kate Breslin really showed glimpses of what a godly, committed, beautiful marriage and tender husband look like. A few moments nearly took my breath away, so poignant and deep they were. *smiles*A lot of interesting insight into World War I. This author did such a good job, and I feel like I learned quite a bit! Wow. What a time of turmoil and need and strangeness and craziness. Some of it is mind-blowing, and it makes one thankful for the soldiers who fought so bravely on our behalf.All in all, another wonderful read by Kate Breslin! I look forward to reading by her again!I received a copy of High As the Heavens from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Elodie (Readable Mélange)
    June 1, 2017
    High as the Heavens is a WWI-era kinda romance, kinda thriller. It’s heavy on factual tidbits about the resistance in Belgium, sometimes to the point of too much. For intsance, in the first chapter, there’s a ton going on. We’re introduced to all Eve’s resistance friends, some of whom barely reappear. There’s a cast of probably ten or fifteen different characters in just the first chapter. This was a little off-putting, but it wasn’t so info-dumpy that I wanted to put the book (read: my iPod) do High as the Heavens is a WWI-era kinda romance, kinda thriller. It’s heavy on factual tidbits about the resistance in Belgium, sometimes to the point of too much. For intsance, in the first chapter, there’s a ton going on. We’re introduced to all Eve’s resistance friends, some of whom barely reappear. There’s a cast of probably ten or fifteen different characters in just the first chapter. This was a little off-putting, but it wasn’t so info-dumpy that I wanted to put the book (read: my iPod) down.Eve’s character arc was superb. Probably one of my favourite ones that I’ve read. Although she kept Simon at an arm’s length much of the time – which I usually hate in books – I didn’t hate it in this case. Based on Eve’s backstory, I never rolled my eyes or thought “Trust him already;” it was perfectly understandable why she couldn’t let him back into her life without a struggle. So kudos to Ms Breslin for accomplishing something no author has ever done for me before. 🙂Regarding that backstory, though… the story kept jumping around from the present to Eve’s past. Some of that was fine, like her meeting Simon and all that, but once she gets to Brussels, I was just bored for a number of pages during the buildup to the bombing. Quite a bit of that was unnecessary; there just didn’t seem to be any reason why I should care until I reached the assault part, at which point I gained interest again. I think the period from Eve’s arrival in Belgium until the bombing should’ve been glossed over more.I kept unconsciously getting the time period mixed up with WWII. I don’t know if more careful worldbuilding would’ve helped with that. Maybe it’s just me – I definitely read more about WWII than WWI.One thing I have to mention is how cool it was that Eve’s mother helped the resistance by weaving secret messages into her lace patterns. I loved that!Despite the book being from Bethany House, it’s not an overwhelmingly Christian story. While Eve is Catholic, and a priest has a big role, the main Christian theme is Eve finding peace with and accepting God’s forgiveness for some past incidents. As a result, people who don’t usually go for Christian fiction may enjoy the book.If you can get past some slow/info-dumpy parts, High as the Heavens is a super intriguing story with fantastic characters. I give it 4 of 5 stars.content warningPart of Eve’s backstory includes an attempted rape and the killing of a child. There’s a lot of sexual tension between a married couple. Recommended for ages 15+.This list is not exhaustive and concerned parents should read the book for themselves if in doubt.
    more
  • Katie
    June 3, 2017
    There is a lack of fiction based on and around the First World War. Its a problem in both general fiction and Christian fiction. Downton Abbey helped bring that time period to literary life, but there is still a lack of WW1 specific fiction. With her previous novel, Not by Sight and now this novel, Breslin does her part to bring WW1 to life. In this novel, Breslin brings Belgium and parts of Frnace to the forefront as they bore the brunt of the German offense. The history came to life but it There is a lack of fiction based on and around the First World War. Its a problem in both general fiction and Christian fiction. Downton Abbey helped bring that time period to literary life, but there is still a lack of WW1 specific fiction. With her previous novel, Not by Sight and now this novel, Breslin does her part to bring WW1 to life. In this novel, Breslin brings Belgium and parts of Frnace to the forefront as they bore the brunt of the German offense. The history came to life but it was the characters who shone. From Eve and Simon and their untraditional love story (which never outshines the plot) to the minor characters-Maddie, Dom, the Priest and a couple villains- all bring different arcs and depth to the story. The brutality of war is also shown, but it fits into the story. I tried to read this in one setting and when forced to put it down, I anticipated finishing it. This is Breslin's best novel to date.
    more
  • Melissa
    March 26, 2017
    https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...What a thrill ride! Breslin's latest has non-stop action and intrigue set in the fascinating time period of World War I. The characters are detailed and realistic, reflecting emotions that speak to a broad audience in any era. The storyline is intricately plotted and filled with incredible detail that will keep readers engaged and desperate to know what will happen. The romance is tender and the historical events are captivating, making this a book that is https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...What a thrill ride! Breslin's latest has non-stop action and intrigue set in the fascinating time period of World War I. The characters are detailed and realistic, reflecting emotions that speak to a broad audience in any era. The storyline is intricately plotted and filled with incredible detail that will keep readers engaged and desperate to know what will happen. The romance is tender and the historical events are captivating, making this a book that is not to be missed.Evelyn Marche is a nurse serving in German occupied Brussels in 1917. She acts as though she is loyal to the Germans, but she is secretly working for the resistance. Widowed early in the war, Evelyn puts her head down and does what she can to help the allies. One night, a British plane crashes into the park, and Evelyn recognizes Simon Forrester — her husband. She risks everything to hide him and his mission from the Germans, but the danger grows worse by the day and they do not know who they can trust.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    June 6, 2017
    Set in Belgium and (briefly) France against the backdrop of World War I, this novel is absolutely riveting! British nurse Evelyn Marche spends her days at the hospital and her nights working at her uncle and aunt's café...so it seems. Eve's most carefully guarded secret is that she also spends her nights carrying out dangerous missions as a spy for a Belgian resistance group. When a plane crashes as she's en route to a rendezvous, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to reco Set in Belgium and (briefly) France against the backdrop of World War I, this novel is absolutely riveting! British nurse Evelyn Marche spends her days at the hospital and her nights working at her uncle and aunt's café...so it seems. Eve's most carefully guarded secret is that she also spends her nights carrying out dangerous missions as a spy for a Belgian resistance group. When a plane crashes as she's en route to a rendezvous, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to recognize the badly injured pilot as British RFC Captain Simon Forrester. She risks her life to conceal him from the Germans, but as the secrets between them grow and the danger mounts alarmingly high, can they still hope to make it out of Belgium alive?Kate Breslin works this novel amazingly well. She pulls the reader into the drama seamlessly and weaves it all together so very well. The intrigue and danger of that time in history is played out and played well indeed. Her research is impeccable and her dramatization of the era is spot on. Every move Eve makes, she is watched, everything she does is watched. She must be so incredibly careful in everything, even tiny details, to avoid being shot as a spy. Breslin makes this time in history come alive for the reader and I was on pins and needles through the last half of the book! I enjoyed it tremendously. Highly recommended.*I was given a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher. My opinions are my own and honest.
    more
  • Brittany
    June 19, 2017
    What a captivating story! There were so many things I loved about this book. One of my favorite things about High as the Heavens was the way the author slowly revealed important pieces of information as the story unfolded. This technique kept me enthralled and made the espionage storyline in the novel feel very real. I also enjoyed getting glimpses of events from the past that helped me understand Evelyn’s history.I loved the fact that this was a WWI spy novel. It was such a unique setting and f What a captivating story! There were so many things I loved about this book. One of my favorite things about High as the Heavens was the way the author slowly revealed important pieces of information as the story unfolded. This technique kept me enthralled and made the espionage storyline in the novel feel very real. I also enjoyed getting glimpses of events from the past that helped me understand Evelyn’s history.I loved the fact that this was a WWI spy novel. It was such a unique setting and full of intrigue and danger. I could feel the uncertainty regarding who could be trusted in such perilous times. The author kept me guessing from beginning to end as to how everything and everyone was connected. I enjoyed this book so much!I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.You can read this review on my blog:https://brittreadsfiction.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Rebecca
    June 13, 2017
    "Perhaps God had been silent only because He waited on her to put her faith forward and trust in Him . . . . . . . "Repeatedly crushed by sorrowful circumstances, Red Cross nurse Evelyn Marche attempts to create a life for herself in German occupied Belgium. British by heritage, she fled to Belgium to be with her mother and younger siblings after the sudden death of her newly wedded husband, a pilot shot down almost immediately after the beginning of the war. Heavily weighted with guilt over act "Perhaps God had been silent only because He waited on her to put her faith forward and trust in Him . . . . . . . "Repeatedly crushed by sorrowful circumstances, Red Cross nurse Evelyn Marche attempts to create a life for herself in German occupied Belgium. British by heritage, she fled to Belgium to be with her mother and younger siblings after the sudden death of her newly wedded husband, a pilot shot down almost immediately after the beginning of the war. Heavily weighted with guilt over actions she took to survive, Evelyn walks a very fine line between "truth and dare" when she involves herself in the Belgian resistance movement, working as a nurse by day and a spy by night. On one seemingly ordinary evening everything changes once again, when she rescues a downed pilot and risks her own life repeatedly in order to save his. Just how high is "his love for those who fear Him"? An incredibly romantic story on many levels; also suspenseful and intriguing as the author reveals just how dangerous it was to carry foreign intelligence in a German occupied country, but the strength of this story is embedded in the words of Jesus Himself, when he asked Peter, "Simon, son of John, do you love me?" I received a copy of this book from the author, the opinions stated are entirely my own.
    more
  • Amanda Geaney (Christian Shelf-Esteem)
    June 10, 2017
    Beneath the nurse's apron Eve Marche wears while tending to German and Allied troops beats the heart of a spy. Pinned to it is the Iron Cross she was awarded for saving Major Otto Reinhardt. While the cross provides an element of protection from the Bosch, it also invites scornful glares from fellow Belgians. She can't tell them the truth, no one must know—no one outside her family—of her involvement in the La Dame Blanch network. In her third novel, Kate Breslin dials up the danger and intrigue Beneath the nurse's apron Eve Marche wears while tending to German and Allied troops beats the heart of a spy. Pinned to it is the Iron Cross she was awarded for saving Major Otto Reinhardt. While the cross provides an element of protection from the Bosch, it also invites scornful glares from fellow Belgians. She can't tell them the truth, no one must know—no one outside her family—of her involvement in the La Dame Blanch network. In her third novel, Kate Breslin dials up the danger and intrigue for a story I could not put down!Breslin's interplay between the greater European conflict (WWI), local resistance, and one woman's remarkable stand against evil is brilliant. She accomplishes the first by using Belgium as her primary setting.  Then, through a series of flashbacks, transports readers to Britain, Scotland, and France. In doing so, we catch glimpses of the war from different vantage points. As for the citizens of Brussels, who doesn't enjoy the spirited efforts of the underdog? I cheered for the resistance workers who engaged in both small as well as grand acts of subterfuge against their German occupiers. Many of whose nail-biting escapades were inspired by actual people (see the Author's Note). Overall, my favorite aspect of the story was Eve. She's a daughter, sister, widow, nurse, and spy, all rolled into one dynamic character. The secrets she keeps would overwhelm me, yet through prayer and a keen intellect she perseveres to save many lives.I received a complimentary copy of this novel. This review is my honest opinion, and I was not required to write a positive review.
    more
  • Marisa
    June 26, 2017
    I was immersed in High as the Heavens as Breslin brought me into a plot in which every time I thought I had figured out what was going to happen, I was wrong. I was drawn into into High as the Heavens as I yearned for Eve and Simon to overcome their personal challenges and find their way back to love. And I was captivated by High as the Heavens as I followed them both through the dangers of spies and secrets and bravery of wartime Belgium and France.With her third novel, Breslin has confirmed he I was immersed in High as the Heavens as Breslin brought me into a plot in which every time I thought I had figured out what was going to happen, I was wrong. I was drawn into into High as the Heavens as I yearned for Eve and Simon to overcome their personal challenges and find their way back to love. And I was captivated by High as the Heavens as I followed them both through the dangers of spies and secrets and bravery of wartime Belgium and France.With her third novel, Breslin has confirmed her talent for writing deeply moving historical fiction that plunge the depths of human behavior. I cannot recommend High as the Heavens enough and am once again looking forward to reading more from this author.RATING: 4.5 stars
    more
  • Amy
    June 3, 2017
    Once I started reading this book, I could hardly put it down. Evelyn Marche has spent 3 years just trying to survive. After losing her husband and her siblings at the beginning of the war, she does whatever she can to protect her mother (and aunt and uncle) while also doing what she can to fight the Germans even as she works along side them. Then the miraculous happens! Her husband Simon is in fact NOT dead... but he's about to be if she doesn't act fast and risk everything. You would think that Once I started reading this book, I could hardly put it down. Evelyn Marche has spent 3 years just trying to survive. After losing her husband and her siblings at the beginning of the war, she does whatever she can to protect her mother (and aunt and uncle) while also doing what she can to fight the Germans even as she works along side them. Then the miraculous happens! Her husband Simon is in fact NOT dead... but he's about to be if she doesn't act fast and risk everything. You would think that a husband and wife's reunion after 3 years thinking the other was dead would be nothing but happy... But for 2 people who have suffered unmentionable horrors and loss, people who are keeping secrets from each other, going back to the beginning is impossible. If their marriage is to stand a chance, they have to figure out how to move forward.. and how to survive in a war where one misstep could destroy them all. This book had everything! Mystery, intrigue, spies, drama, romance, and a heartbreakingly real look at life for those who lived in occupied countries during wartime. I HIGHLY recommend this book.I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Kristine Morgan
    June 11, 2017
    Kate Breslin has again created a fantastic read! High As The Heavens tells the story of Eve and Simon. They are married the week before he leaves for duty during World War One. Their story is told in flashbacks as Eve struggles to survive as a nurse behind enemy lines. I loved their story and the historical detail made me feel as though I was there. I loved the way Breslin examines how you can love someone but struggle to trust them. This book will definitely end up on my keeper shelf!From Amazo Kate Breslin has again created a fantastic read! High As The Heavens tells the story of Eve and Simon. They are married the week before he leaves for duty during World War One. Their story is told in flashbacks as Eve struggles to survive as a nurse behind enemy lines. I loved their story and the historical detail made me feel as though I was there. I loved the way Breslin examines how you can love someone but struggle to trust them. This book will definitely end up on my keeper shelf!From Amazon:Page-Turning Intrigue and Romance from an Up-and-Coming Historical Romance TalentIn 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle's café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She's a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service. When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.About the author:BiographyFormer bookseller-turned-author Kate Breslin enjoys life in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and family. A writer of travel articles and award-winning poetry, Kate received Christian Retailing's 2015 Best Award for First Time Author and her debut novel, For Such A Time, was shortlisted for both the Christy and RITA Awards and received the American Christian Fiction Writer's 2015 Carol Award for Debut Novel. Kate's third novel, High As The Heavens, will release June 2017. When she's not writing inspirational fiction, Kate enjoys reading or taking long walks in Washington's beautiful woodlands. She also likes traveling to new places, both within the U.S. and abroad, having toured Greece, Rome, and much of Western Europe. New destinations make for fresh story ideas.I was given this book by NetGalley.com for review purposes. All thoughts are my own.https://www.amazon.com/High-as-Heaven...
    more
  • Denise Hershberger (100 Pages per Hour)
    June 6, 2017
    Loved this book because it was so much more than just a historical romance. All I really expected was a mixture of history and romance and instead also got suspense and intrigue as well!There are so many books based in WWII that it thrills me when an author picks a less written about time like WWI. I sadly haven't studies WWI as much as WWII but I love reading Breslin's books because they are so well researched and I actually learn a lot without feeling like I'm studying history. I love how she Loved this book because it was so much more than just a historical romance. All I really expected was a mixture of history and romance and instead also got suspense and intrigue as well!There are so many books based in WWII that it thrills me when an author picks a less written about time like WWI. I sadly haven't studies WWI as much as WWII but I love reading Breslin's books because they are so well researched and I actually learn a lot without feeling like I'm studying history. I love how she bases her story on real life events and also people or a combination thereof. I was hooked from the very first page and loved the different facets of the story involving Eve and her family and also her work as a nurse. My mom is a nurse so I really liked reading about a historical nurse that helped so many people in so many ways.In a historical romance based during wartime I am always impressed when an author finds the perfect balance between realistic details and too much gore. High as the Heavens does have a few scenes that are fairly gruesome but they are written very well with only enough detail to make a point without being over the top. She achieved her goal of making me feel the pain of the situation without making me wish I could go back in time and unread what I'd read. Plus the inclusion of difficult passages honestly made the book much more realistic since terrible things happen in wartime.In the end I think the biggest reason I loved this book was because there were so many moments of suspense and I never once figured out who the bad guys were. Since the book also focused on different members of the world of espionage it was a constant concern of who was working for the good guys and definitely gave me moments of heart-stopping action.Normally I don't care for books that are written in dual times. But Breslin did it so well that I found myself drawn into the story in both times. Usually I find myself skimming to get back to my favorite time period of the story and this time I found myself doing the opposite and savoring every page of the story. I truly cannot recommend this book enough. It is the best book I've read by Breslin and I've read all of her works.People who loved Not by Sight are going to love this book because she really takes her writing up another level with this book.The publisher through NetGalley provided me an advanced copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kelly Bridgewater
    June 5, 2017
    Kate Breslin came onto the scene with For Such A Time. It was a great book that sparked a lot of national discussions. While I enjoyed her novel and didn't see anything wrong with the novel, I couldn't wait for more stories from Breslin. When she finished Not by Sight, I enjoyed that novel just as much. When I saw she was writing another novel, High as the Heavens, I couldn't wait to read this novel too. Luckily, Breslin knew what is expected from the genre and gives it to her readers.The writin Kate Breslin came onto the scene with For Such A Time. It was a great book that sparked a lot of national discussions. While I enjoyed her novel and didn't see anything wrong with the novel, I couldn't wait for more stories from Breslin. When she finished Not by Sight, I enjoyed that novel just as much. When I saw she was writing another novel, High as the Heavens, I couldn't wait to read this novel too. Luckily, Breslin knew what is expected from the genre and gives it to her readers.The writing is clear and concise. I jumped back and forth from Eve and Simon's perspective a number of times, but Breslin allows there to be a break in the chapter or go to another chapter. As for the setting, I could imagine that I was in Brussels during the late 1917's. I could feel the hatred run through the characters as they dealt with the demons from their past.The characters of Eve and Simon jumped off the page. Eve is a brave woman who tries to forget the horrors of what happened to her in her home town and tries to sneakily pass on secret messages to the allies. I admire her ability to work with and under the Germans while trying to betray them on a daily basis. Then enters Simon, Eve does everything she can to bring him back to health and then sneak out of the country without going back to Germany. As for Simon, he is a man who is injured and spends most of his time healing in a bed. I really can't say that much about him. Yes, he loves Eve, and he did do brave things before he became injured, but nothing changed in him. Both of them had a goal and they worked really hard to solve that goal. The plot started from the first chapter and kept moving. There were many moments in the hospital, trying to get Simon better. Majority of the plot focused on Eve and Simon connecting with each other. I enjoyed the original and unpredictable concept that Breslin wove into the story. It fascinated me, and I hadn't seen it done before. She kept me on my toes the whole time. The plot is an original one with enough action to keep me focused on the the occurrences around Eve and Simon. Fans of historical romances would be delighted to find another story to fit the World War I genre with a bit of spying to round out the plot. Fans of Myra Johnson's Till We Meet Again series might enjoy this new book by Breslin. Highly recommended.I receive a complimentary copy of High as the Heavens by Kate Breslin from Bethany House Publishers and the opinions state are all my own.
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    June 29, 2017
    Once you turn the first page will you be hooked on this story including time and place, and will be walking in our heroine’s shoes, this is WWI.We meet Evelyn, Eve, as a teenage, and even then she has an attraction for her father’s student Simon, and we follow her whirlwind romance and wedding. So little time, and yet so much love, you will ache that they had to say goodbye.A woman that does all she can to help her parent’s homeland, Belgium, with heart in hand she goes above and beyond. She is Once you turn the first page will you be hooked on this story including time and place, and will be walking in our heroine’s shoes, this is WWI.We meet Evelyn, Eve, as a teenage, and even then she has an attraction for her father’s student Simon, and we follow her whirlwind romance and wedding. So little time, and yet so much love, you will ache that they had to say goodbye.A woman that does all she can to help her parent’s homeland, Belgium, with heart in hand she goes above and beyond. She is a nurse and a good one; she uses this to help in fighting the enemy in ingenious ways. You will feel the sense of loss, and then found, and loss again, a roller coaster ride, and all the while a feeling that you are being led by God. There are so many beloved characters here, and yet you are waiting for the other shoe to drop and find that one who is not what they seem, and yet hoping for the best.As the last page is turned there was a sense of loss as I wanted to continue in their lives, and yet you want the evil that was in Europe at that time defeated. What a great read!I received this book through Bethany House Blogging Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
    more
  • Michelle Castaneda
    May 28, 2017
    High As the Heavens by Kate Breslin tells the story of Evelyn Marche, a widowed nurse serving in Nazi-occupied Brussels. She lives a difficult life, supporting the Allies but working for the Nazi hospital administrators. At night, she works for an underground resistance group. She soon puts her life in even greater danger as she attempts to rescue an Allied POW that she nurses back to health. I have read many disappointing historical fiction novels lately, but this was not one of them! I was imp High As the Heavens by Kate Breslin tells the story of Evelyn Marche, a widowed nurse serving in Nazi-occupied Brussels. She lives a difficult life, supporting the Allies but working for the Nazi hospital administrators. At night, she works for an underground resistance group. She soon puts her life in even greater danger as she attempts to rescue an Allied POW that she nurses back to health. I have read many disappointing historical fiction novels lately, but this was not one of them! I was impressed by the author’s ability to make the book’s time and place so real and vivid and relatable at the same time. I look forward to reading more books by this author. I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Mystica
    June 19, 2017
    Another classic from a well loved era WWI. Eve is just another widow in this horrible war. Living in Belgium working for the Red Cross in occupied Belgium, she works for the hated Germans but is living a double life. Her work in the Red Cross and her having won an Iron Cross for services to the Germans gives her access to information and people which are useful for the allies. Underneath the facade she is heart broken with the loss of not just her husband but her sister and brother who would be Another classic from a well loved era WWI. Eve is just another widow in this horrible war. Living in Belgium working for the Red Cross in occupied Belgium, she works for the hated Germans but is living a double life. Her work in the Red Cross and her having won an Iron Cross for services to the Germans gives her access to information and people which are useful for the allies. Underneath the facade she is heart broken with the loss of not just her husband but her sister and brother who would be eighteen and fourteen were they alive.Taken on a train to the deadly camps, she has little hope for their survival.Unexpectedly things change and the tension and progress of the story ramps up. Her husband is alive, parachuted into Belgium, injured but alive. No one knows his identity and it is upto her to prevent it getting known. She has also got to know that her siblings had jumped off the train and are alive in France. Getting them out is going to be formidable. Occupied France like Belgium has strict border controls. The enterprise, strength of mind and courage of this woman is loosely based on a factual story and is just another angle from which we know about this war. The occupation of a country must be a horrible existence for the survivors and this is descriptively detailed in the story. I found it very difficult but at the same time engrossing what means people will find to somehow betray the occupiers of their land, sabotage them and generally be a pain in their side. The occupiers themselves have to feel that they are disliked, hated and just tolerated because there is no choice. It cannot be easy to live in those circumstances, always on guard because you do not know from where the next attack would come.
    more
  • Renee
    June 21, 2017
    Reading Kate Breslin's latest novel reminded me once again why I include her books in my classroom library & why my students love them! This well-researched page-turner, set in Belgium during WWI, is chock full of admirable yet realistically flawed & relatable characters, tightly drawn plot points, great historical details, plus close-calls & are-they-going-to-make-it-moments, can-she-trust-again-romance, family love that never gives up, surprise betrayals, falls from grace & ult Reading Kate Breslin's latest novel reminded me once again why I include her books in my classroom library & why my students love them! This well-researched page-turner, set in Belgium during WWI, is chock full of admirable yet realistically flawed & relatable characters, tightly drawn plot points, great historical details, plus close-calls & are-they-going-to-make-it-moments, can-she-trust-again-romance, family love that never gives up, surprise betrayals, falls from grace & ultimately redemption. Whew! What a ride! :) Also, every potentially disturbing subject is handled delicately. So this book is great for any age teen on up to your sweet grandma. And the cover is just so pretty! (Which makes this great gift material.)The main character is based on 3 real-life WWI heroines, British nurse Edith Cavell, British Intelligence worker Gabrielle Petit, and Belgian nurse & spy Marthe McKenna, which adds depth & believability to the story. ***Highly recommend. Here are a few of my favorite quotes: "She had railed at God’s silence; yet now she thought about the prayers He had answered for her.""Jesus was love, and love was all of those things: gentleness, patience, and understanding.""God had offered her forgiveness. But she had continued to allow the tyrant guilt to keep her locked in the past, blinding her to the future, to hope.""Perhaps God had only been silent only because He waited on her to put her faith forward and trust Him instead of sliding backward into fear and regret."
    more
  • Rachael
    June 11, 2017
    While there are many novels that take place during WWII, there are a lot fewer about WWI, so it was a pleasure to read about the Great War for a change, and in occupied Belgium, no less. There are definitely similarities between the wars, so it was nice that the author included hints of period detail, such as corsets (which went out of fashion not long after the war) to keep the reader grounded.I love it when the author includes a historical note to let the reader know what was real, and it was While there are many novels that take place during WWII, there are a lot fewer about WWI, so it was a pleasure to read about the Great War for a change, and in occupied Belgium, no less. There are definitely similarities between the wars, so it was nice that the author included hints of period detail, such as corsets (which went out of fashion not long after the war) to keep the reader grounded.I love it when the author includes a historical note to let the reader know what was real, and it was gratifying to learn that both Eve and Simon's experiences were based off those of several historical figures. I can't imagine the terror of crossing borders, with the fences and trenches strung up all over, checkpoints on all the roads, and people always watching and spying. I appreciated that the author didn't paint all Allies as good and all Central Powers figures as bad, but that they were all human--with the choice to do good or bad, regardless of their side of the war. Eve may have been staunchly on the side of the Allies, but her desire to save every soldier that comes into her hospital is a fine example for others around her, painting all soldiers as people and not enemies.I really liked the romance and thoroughly enjoyed the surprise of the first meeting. I can't imagine the pain that either Eve or Simon went through thinking the other one dead, not to mention the fear of not knowing what happened to family.Thank you Bethany House and NetGalley for providing a free e-book; I was not required to write a positive review, and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amy
    June 16, 2017
    High As the Heavens is the third and newest release by Kate Breslin. It is 1917 in German occupied Brussels, where Evelyn Marche works as a nurse, waitress and a spy! When she tends to the injured of a British plane crash, she recognizes the pilot, Simon Forrester. She discovers he, too, is a spy and now a German Prisoner of War. She puts herself in danger and decides to hide him from the enemy. What happens next is more than they are both prepared for. Will their secrets be revealed? Can they s High As the Heavens is the third and newest release by Kate Breslin. It is 1917 in German occupied Brussels, where Evelyn Marche works as a nurse, waitress and a spy! When she tends to the injured of a British plane crash, she recognizes the pilot, Simon Forrester. She discovers he, too, is a spy and now a German Prisoner of War. She puts herself in danger and decides to hide him from the enemy. What happens next is more than they are both prepared for. Will their secrets be revealed? Can they survive? I really liked High As the Heavens . I enjoyed that it is actually set during World War One, which I do not find that many good reads during that time. I felt a connection to Evelyn from the start and found her to be a great heroine. There were a few scenes that seem to slow down a bit but it quickly picked back up. The danger Evelyn and Simon endured kept me on the edge of my seat and I wanted to keep turning the pages just to see what would happen next.I give this book four and a half stars and would most definitely recommend it.I received this book from the author, but was not required to write a review. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 6, 2017
    As the First World War rages, British Red Cross nurse Eve Marche keeps herself busy at a hospital in Brussels, Belgium during the day while helping out at her aunt and uncle’s café during the evenings, trying to put the heartbreak and guilt of the past behind her. The German occupation has thrust the country into chaos, and Eve helps to fight back by clandestinely serving in the underground resistance effort. The danger increases, however, when a downed British pilot ends up on her ward, topplin As the First World War rages, British Red Cross nurse Eve Marche keeps herself busy at a hospital in Brussels, Belgium during the day while helping out at her aunt and uncle’s café during the evenings, trying to put the heartbreak and guilt of the past behind her. The German occupation has thrust the country into chaos, and Eve helps to fight back by clandestinely serving in the underground resistance effort. The danger increases, however, when a downed British pilot ends up on her ward, toppling what little stability she’s built and forever changing her life.Kate’s historical fiction never disappoints, and “High as the Heavens” is no exception. Meticulously researched, it plunges readers headfirst into the brutality and heartbreak of WWI while still offering hope and resilience. With an overarching theme of forgiveness, “High as the Heavens” probes the guilt and dilemmas facing German resisters, and the romance is poignant and unique. The characters rise from the pages and entwine themselves into the reader’s heart so that each alliance and each betrayal truly resonates. Prepare for an electrifying ride through this gritty but graceful novel, as the plot never relents but rather pushes ever forward toward a stunning climax.
    more
  • Suzie
    June 6, 2017
    It is rare that a story—whether a TV show, movie, or a book—takes me by surprise. I can usually guess the twists before they are revealed. Yet, occasionally, someone manages it and I enjoy the ride even more because of it.In High as the Heavens, Kate Breslin managed to surprise me more than once. As Eve Marche navigates her job as a nurse, her duties to her family, and her secret missions for her country, she leads a full life. The first surprise comes quickly, when a face from her past appears It is rare that a story—whether a TV show, movie, or a book—takes me by surprise. I can usually guess the twists before they are revealed. Yet, occasionally, someone manages it and I enjoy the ride even more because of it.In High as the Heavens, Kate Breslin managed to surprise me more than once. As Eve Marche navigates her job as a nurse, her duties to her family, and her secret missions for her country, she leads a full life. The first surprise comes quickly, when a face from her past appears in Brussels (sorry, no spoilers but I can say I liked this twist to the story).As the story unfolds, you get a sense of the horror and heartache that Eve (and others immersed in a war they wanted no part of) have endured. Events that changed them, that broke them. Yet Eve is determined to continue to aide her country in every way she can.The tension and intrigue mount as Eve attempts to save the pilot and get him to safety while tasked with completing his mission.High as the Heavens is an excellent WWI story of spies, lovers, family, and hope.Disclosure statement:I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
    more
  • Regina
    May 23, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Just Commonly
    June 29, 2017
    "She raised a finger to her lips, where he'd kissed her. A slow warmth of assurance spread through her limbs, and she smiled, not a little awestruck. Her birthday wish had come true." (43)I had the pleasure of having author Kate Breslin on the blog a few weeks ago in a little interview to chat about her and her latest release, High as the Heavens. The interview was conducted before I received the book and obviously before I read it. There were quite a few little tidbits about High as the Heavens "She raised a finger to her lips, where he'd kissed her. A slow warmth of assurance spread through her limbs, and she smiled, not a little awestruck. Her birthday wish had come true." (43)I had the pleasure of having author Kate Breslin on the blog a few weeks ago in a little interview to chat about her and her latest release, High as the Heavens. The interview was conducted before I received the book and obviously before I read it. There were quite a few little tidbits about High as the Heavens that I was looking forward to. So I jumped at the open chance I had to read this, and boy am I glad I did. Let's start from the beginning.Ever since the author's sophomore release, Not By Sight, I've been patiently (*cough cough) waiting for her next one. During the waiting period, I also picked up her debut, For Such A Time and loved it as well. So as you can see, by the time High as the Heavens made its way to my hands, I was in big Kate Breslin withdrawal. I'm happy to say, this one was definitely worth the wait. As you can tell from the opening quote, High as the Heavens have a "melt your heart" type of romance, but it also contains the emotional angst one feels with a very good novel.From the get go, our main heroine, Evelyn Marche is truly a hero. She spends her days as a nurse, helping people, and at night, a skilled spy for a Belgian resistance group. Her life and those she love are in constant danger, yet her courage and endurance are admirable, even if it was fueled by heartbreak."She was caught between two worlds: the one her desperation had forced upon her, and the other a world she'd once dreamed of sharing with him." (69)Soul rendering, heart pounding, and mind riveting, High as the Heavens is a perfect combination of romance, history and suspense. The spy aspect comes with danger of a double agent lurking closely. Eve and Simon may have more than what Eve's been hiding in her heart to overcome."I'm terrified that once you know the truth. . . you'll never look at me again with those same loving eyes, that smile." (203)Yet, within all the danger, the disappointments, the mis-communications and the uncertainty of the future, there's a message of truth, of love and ultimately of mercy that flies out of the pages and takes hold. Beautifully written and exquisitely told through time jumps, High as the Heavens is one to not miss at all, no matter your genre preference. This review first appeared on Just Commonly blog.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • English
    June 14, 2017
    I read Kate Breslin’s last book set during the First World War Not by Sight, and though it was good on some level I just wasn’t keen on it. I think this latest one was a considerable improvement, with stronger characters and just a better plot. The other one was about spying, and this one about espionage and an Underground resistance movement, but it was just more credible and not so predictable. I didn’t guess who the double agent was at all, which is always a good thing. It was also great that I read Kate Breslin’s last book set during the First World War Not by Sight, and though it was good on some level I just wasn’t keen on it. I think this latest one was a considerable improvement, with stronger characters and just a better plot. The other one was about spying, and this one about espionage and an Underground resistance movement, but it was just more credible and not so predictable. I didn’t guess who the double agent was at all, which is always a good thing. It was also great that this was a non-traditional Romance, with flawed but sympathetic characters who had a genuine connection and motive behind their actions. I also liked the way this novel ‘wore’ the historical details well. They didn’t overtake the story on the one side or seem contrived on the other. Rather, it evoked the period and world in which the characters were operating, a harsh and war-torn one which changed people forever. The world in which they had to bend the normal rules to survive. In that context, it would be easy to vilify all Germans, but I appreciated the more nuanced depiction of some of them My only complaints were that towards the Middle it did drag a bit, and some parts became a little repetitive, with Eve constantly going over something that had happened to her before and its impact. I don’t feel the reader needs to be constantly reminded of event manner mentioned above, they’ll usually get it quite quickly. The characterization and climax were strong enough to make up for that, however. Except for one part, which although typical in Christian Fiction might come over as a little corny and contrived to those who are not used to the genre. Also, there were the inevitable Americanisms used by the supposedly Belgian and British characters ‘closet’ (Brits would say cupboard), ‘apartment’ instead of flat, ‘fall’ instead of Autumn, and Eve talking about what she wanted to do after ‘College’, which is what Brits call University. This did make some passages rather jarring, and one towards the beginning annoyingly vague, where the characters referred to ‘Oxford High School’ and Eve training as a nurse at ‘The London Hospital. Yeah, which London Hospital? I mean, there are quite a lot of Hospitals in London, and there are a lot of girl’s schools in Oxford. The names were so obviously made up, which was a shame when other such details were much more precise. I don’t feel there were as many Americanisms as there were in the author’s last book, and the attention to detail was greater, but there was still some room for improvement. Overall though, this was a wonderful book, full of excitement, action, and high emotion (it even jerked a tear from me a couple of times) but interwoven with a satisfying message about finding grace and peace. I requested an e-book edition of this title for review and purchased the audiobook of my own volition. I was not required to write a positive review, and all opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 28, 2017
    I have always been drawn to historical fiction stories that take place during the WWII era and the heroics of amazing people in such a horrific period. Rarely have I found WWI novels, either written or able to capture my reading interests aside from the works of Brock and Bodie Thoene. Enter Kate Breslin.Her sophomore novel which surrounded this era, Not By Sight, quickly became one of my favorites showing Kate’s talent for weaving history and fiction in a way that you could swear these characte I have always been drawn to historical fiction stories that take place during the WWII era and the heroics of amazing people in such a horrific period. Rarely have I found WWI novels, either written or able to capture my reading interests aside from the works of Brock and Bodie Thoene. Enter Kate Breslin.Her sophomore novel which surrounded this era, Not By Sight, quickly became one of my favorites showing Kate’s talent for weaving history and fiction in a way that you could swear these characters existed. So when the cover for High As The Heavens was debuted and I read what the story would be, I could not wait to get my hands on Breslin’s third novel. I don’t know the history of WWI like I do WWII, but one of my favorite discoveries with Breslin’s writings is she has amazing detail and research which feels almost like you’re reading a captivating history book rather than a fictional story. The key year throughout the books is 1917 in German-occupied Brussels, but in the first part of the novel we get the background of Eve and Simon’s romance through flashback chapters right on the cusp of the war. I loved that instead of the typical route of a couple meeting, falling in love and ending the book being married, “Heavens” shows the main characters courtship and marriage at the beginning and then builds the story of a young woman widowed early in the fight and then shocked to discover that a plane which crashes in Brussels Park one evening contains her husband who has survived three years as a prisoner of war. Evelyn now works as a nurse using her position surrounded by German soldiers to feed intel into the resistance. I’m always amazed at ways people communicated and hid messages during these periods and loved the part of how Eve’s mom used her lacemaking skills to weave in messages to get past the Germans who were destroying any correspondence trying to leave occupied Brussels.History, romance, spies and intrigue..Kate weaves it all throughout this beautiful story and throws in a few shocking twists and turns as well. There was a few chapters where the story dragged just a little for me, but it did pick up the pace and was a captivating read. I fell in love with the story even more when I read Kate’s author note that despite the fictional book, the characters were based on real people who accomplished heroic feats. Bravo Kate on another worthy addition to your well-told stories. I can’t wait to read additional stories from your writing skills. :)
    more
  • Erin
    June 5, 2017
    "She was caught between two worlds: the one her desperation had forced upon her, and the other a world she's once dreamed of sharing with him. "If you loved Not By Sight than you'll love this book to!"She was doing far more than simply helping her mother's people; she was playing a dangerous game with high stakes."Eve is a young woman, who lost her husband very early on in WWI. After losing him she went to live with her mother and young siblings in Belgium. Where tragedy ended up striking once a "She was caught between two worlds: the one her desperation had forced upon her, and the other a world she's once dreamed of sharing with him. "If you loved Not By Sight than you'll love this book to!"She was doing far more than simply helping her mother's people; she was playing a dangerous game with high stakes."Eve is a young woman, who lost her husband very early on in WWI. After losing him she went to live with her mother and young siblings in Belgium. Where tragedy ended up striking once again. This lead to another move with her mother to live with a different Aunt and Uncle. After what happened in both of these major life events, Eve is rattled and heartbroken. She is going through the motions of being a Red Cross nurse and a spy. That is until one night on a mission a plane crashes and she rushes to help thinking it could be the persons he was supposed to meet. But who it really is will not only give her the surprise of her life, but also make her start taking even more risks."Now her decisions struck him as tactical. Her mind weighed options with cool reason, making life-and-death decisions and taking incredible risks."Overall I really loved this book. I ended up caring so much for not only Eve, but her family and friends. While we mainly see things from her perspective we occasionally see things from others point of view as well. For me this always make it so much more enjoyable because we get to see more of what is happening the place that we are, and to see how others are dealing with the same type of struggles. The romance was a side part of the story once again and I love that in books so much! Instead the focus was on Eve's work as a nurse and a spy and trying to find her younger siblings all while keeping herself and her family out of harms way. When it came to finding out who was making things difficult for those in the spy group, I was surprised by who it was and was pretty upset that they would do such a thing. For those worried about the religious parts of this book, I hardly noticed any mention of God or religion, until we got to the end and even then it was brief. This is more of a story about the struggles faced during WWI and how some people might have survived."I couldn't let another boy lose his life because of me. I have been lost for a long time, husband. I had to find my way back. Today, God gave me that change."While this story is a work of fiction Eve was based off of three incredible woman in WWI: Edith Cavell, Gabrielle Petit, and Martha Mckenna who I will be trying to learn more about now.WWI books are hard to find in the fiction world for the most part until recently. This is something that I'm really enjoying, while we know a lot about WWII, what I know about WWI is minimal and it is slowly changing with the help of books like this. This time in with the fact that nurses would sneak out allied patients in order to keep them from becoming POW. Also flashlights/torches were also starting to be used at this time. (They got the name flashlights because the battery life wasn't the best meaning they would turn them on and off quickly in order to make them last longer.)I'm so happy to see that Breslin learned from her book For Such A Time (I'll be posting a review for this on the June 12), to not make a romance happen between certain people.Thank you to Netgalley and Bethany House for an e-arc in exchange for my honest review. Blog Twitter Instagram
    more
  • Fizzy
    June 16, 2017
    I could not wait to read this book. I was so torn with the choices from Bethany House last month that I sorta drew straws and then immediately requested everything else on the list from NetGalley. I mean, sometimes I girl's gotta do whatever it takes for amazingly awesome sounding books. And I gotta tell ya, was not disappointed. Intrigue? Check. Romance? Check. Embraceable characters? Check. Story line that draws you in and keeps you engaged? Mostly check. I know, I know I'm too picky 'they say I could not wait to read this book. I was so torn with the choices from Bethany House last month that I sorta drew straws and then immediately requested everything else on the list from NetGalley. I mean, sometimes I girl's gotta do whatever it takes for amazingly awesome sounding books. And I gotta tell ya, was not disappointed. Intrigue? Check. Romance? Check. Embraceable characters? Check. Story line that draws you in and keeps you engaged? Mostly check. I know, I know I'm too picky 'they say'. Pmerhaps I am, but then again I've read a few books in my lifetime and I know what I love, what I like, and what doesn't do it for me. This book did it for me and I liked it but I spent the first but of the book trying to find my way and a little overwhelmed. Probably much like the characters did as they were engulfed in a war zone they didn't ask for and didn't want surrounded by German soldiers that didn't respect them or really even themselves. Not really a place anyone wants to be.It's painful for me to have to say the only reason this book was at a 4 star review is that first perhaps quarter of the book. I felt like I was missing something. It took a bit of time for the pieces to make sense and the momentum to grow. I don't expect a spy to hang a shingle and adverse. I don't expect a spy to really trust anyone. It took me a while to fall into the mindset with the trust and withhold and what the heck did that German/French/What language was that again phrase mean? It just didn't come together for me to begin with. By the time I found my grove it was a runaway train and I was strapped in ready to roll.This book seriously hit all the marks for me. Even the good guy turn bad guy but wait what is he oh there's his true colors theme kept me engaged. I loved that the book was set in a real historical time period based off real historical people and real historical groups. I loved that the characters that were drawn together were real and fresh and I wanted to comfort them and yell at them and all the things. I also respect, and appreciate, the inner struggle that Eve had to go through with her own place in all the different experiences she had. The realization that forgiveness is more than just a prayer. The idea that life is not black and white. And the knowledge that even bad situations can lead to good results when you Trust. The faith was so seamlessly integrated and so well developed that it felt so true and natural yet not 'in your face' so much that someone how doesn't care for christian books would still enjoy it. Seriously, I am so glad I fell in love with this book from the description and 'had' to read it.I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by NetGalley. I was not compensated for this review and all thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.Originally published at https://fizzypopcollection.blogspot.c....
    more
Write a review