Summer Unscripted
A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life. For fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers things aren't that simple. And she meets Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

Summer Unscripted Details

TitleSummer Unscripted
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherRandom House
ISBN1524700045
ISBN-139781524700041
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Summer Unscripted Review

  • Savanah Lowder
    June 4, 2017
    There is A LOT to love about this book (not the least of which being that now I know I’m not the only one to wonder about the logistics of a human woman having sex with a swan), but I’ll start with:The CharactersFor one, we have a Mexican-American male lead. I am all about interracial relationships and diversity without the story being about interracial relationships and diversity. We have those stories, and I love them, but I also love stories that just reflect life for the diverse masterpiece There is A LOT to love about this book (not the least of which being that now I know I’m not the only one to wonder about the logistics of a human woman having sex with a swan), but I’ll start with:The CharactersFor one, we have a Mexican-American male lead. I am all about interracial relationships and diversity without the story being about interracial relationships and diversity. We have those stories, and I love them, but I also love stories that just reflect life for the diverse masterpiece it is without making a big deal about it.I relate so much to Rainie, our narrator, who flits from one thing to another, seemingly with no focus or future. I also relate to meeting some beautiful person and way over-exaggerating the moment, determined to make that person your focus and future. Now I am much older and (theoretically) much wiser than Rainie, and I still do stuff like this. I, like her, am a dabbler. If you are, too, be ready to see yourself in a way that’s maybe not flattering, but still incredibly real and beautiful and refreshing.Milo is so fun. I really like Klein’s ability to have her male leads be solid, decent young men, who are still incredibly sexy. Because there is so much of the Good Girls Only Like Bad Boys stuff floating around, ESPECIALLY in YA stories. I cannot tell you how many YA books I read where girls fall for guys who treat them like shit, and we’re supposed to love that guy too. We need writers like Klein, so young girls who read can see that you can fall for a guy who is solid and decent, and dare I say nice, who is still sexy and not at all boring. (Just to really drive home this point, girls, guys who treat you like shit are not sexy. They’re garbage people. Feminism is sexy. Get on board.)The WritingIs adorable; hilarity often ensues.It makes me nostalgic for days of being a drama kid, obsessed with theater. It’s such a distinct dynamic. The hook-ups, competition, break-ups: all of it is captured splendidly. And it is fun to have our narrator be a non-drama kid, observing as an outsider.The fun story and quick pace make it easy to lose yourself in; it’s a book you can easily finish in an afternoon.I’d RecommendSummer Unscripted to any drama nerds, fans of YA romance who need a fun summer book, and anyone who likes to laugh at the weirder aspects of Greek Mythology.**Thanks to Jen Klein for providing me with advance access to this book in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Alexa
    June 11, 2017
    Cute story (and I definitely had a little crush on Milo). It's definitely fun to read about theater and a theater production, as well as seeing what happens to Raine over the course of her summer. But it's no Shuffle, Repeat, that's for sure!
  • Reenie1721
    June 19, 2017
    First, I love the concept of the girl not getting the guy that everyone loves but getting someone else. Second of all, I love how relatable Rainie is in the struggle she has finding her identity and the boy she really likes. Sure, at some points, she felt like a spoiled brat, but she redeemed herself with the chemistry between her and Milo and the ambition she has. Later, I wish Rainie sorted out her feelings between Tuck and Milo sooner so Milo wouldn't keep getting hurt by Rainie's indecisiven First, I love the concept of the girl not getting the guy that everyone loves but getting someone else. Second of all, I love how relatable Rainie is in the struggle she has finding her identity and the boy she really likes. Sure, at some points, she felt like a spoiled brat, but she redeemed herself with the chemistry between her and Milo and the ambition she has. Later, I wish Rainie sorted out her feelings between Tuck and Milo sooner so Milo wouldn't keep getting hurt by Rainie's indecisiveness because Milo is a pure and sweet and kind dreamboat. Can I just talk about the cover art? I think it does a fabulous job reflecting the plot of the story and it looks something straight out of tumblr and doubles the heart melting factor and the mushy feeling I get whenever I read a brilliant romance novel. Characters Review:Rainie. Where to begin with her? At some points, I'd like to slap her and shake her senseless, but I commend her for the independence and ambition she has in the face of hot boys like Milo and Tuck. She knows what she wants in life, mostly, and she gives an honest opinion. Her witty thoughts and commentary were half of what made this book amazing.Milo. Awwww. He is so pure and kind-hearted that my heart must have grew to fit the love I have for a fictional character. I have a thing for artistic guys close to their families. Milo, much? Taking the extra step and stepping out of the comfort zone for Rainie was too much for my heart. Tuck. I don't even know where to begin with him. I didn't like him because of the connection he had with Gretchen and the fall-back-on-a-girl-after-hooking-up-with-another-girl got old pretty darn fast. He's like a Golden Retriever; Happy-go-lucky and clueless. Ella. I loved her for the quirky traits and dedication she has to both Rainie and Annette. Having a BFF like Ella was so refreshing. At the end of the day, Ella is a girl similar to Rainie; someone figuring out what she wants in life and who she is. Previously, I adored Jen Klein's other book, Shuffle, Repeat because of the pure adorableness and heart melting factor. Summer Unscripted is a late night read one more page novel, perfect for summer nights.
    more
  • Barbara
    June 15, 2017
    Inspired by a monologue delivered by handsome Tuck Brady, Rainey Langdon decides to spend her summer working in a theater in the mountains. She's never entertained any interest in drama before, but suddenly, hanging out at the theater seems to offer the best way to get to know Tuck. Unfortunately, Rainey doesn't have the best track record when it comes to following up on the projects she starts. Instead, she typically quits when things get tough or she becomes bored. But she's motivated by her c Inspired by a monologue delivered by handsome Tuck Brady, Rainey Langdon decides to spend her summer working in a theater in the mountains. She's never entertained any interest in drama before, but suddenly, hanging out at the theater seems to offer the best way to get to know Tuck. Unfortunately, Rainey doesn't have the best track record when it comes to following up on the projects she starts. Instead, she typically quits when things get tough or she becomes bored. But she's motivated by her crush, and she persuades her former friend Ella to help her get accepted at the theater. To her dismay, it turns out that the object of her affections has already found a girlfriend, an actress who will be playing Helen of Troy to his Paris in the show. Still, he gives hints that there could be something in store for him and Rainey down the line. Meanwhile, Rainey has conflicting feelings about Milo Cabrera, a friendly actor who would much prefer to take photographs than act, but he's been coming to the camp for most of his life. But there are complications all over the place since Ella and Milo had a brief fling last summer, and Rainey isn't honest with Milo about her feelings about Tuck or even some of her decisions. Drama ensues on both the stage and in everyone's personal life, but eventually Rainey realizes that it's more important to figure out whom she is and what she wants than it is to go chasing after some guy who isn't worth the effort. I liked some of the self-deprecating comments she made about herself as she realized just how wrong she's been, and I hope teen readers will take her lesson and experience to heart. While it is important to follow your dream, make sure it is your dream you are following and not someone else's. This is a fast read with characters that will remind readers of themselves and their friends and the importance of relationships that mean something and are based on honesty. It's a good book for summer reading.
    more
  • Rosemarie Umbac
    June 11, 2017
    I'd like to thank our local bookstore for picking me as one of the winners to receive this ARC. I started reading this book with the thoughts that this book would be cliché and that it would be a fun and quick read. I love reading books with a summer vibes to it but this book didn't have one. And as much as the cover has the summer vibes, the story didn't. But it the book was fun to read though. It took me over a month to finish because I was out and about during the summer break. The entire sto I'd like to thank our local bookstore for picking me as one of the winners to receive this ARC. I started reading this book with the thoughts that this book would be cliché and that it would be a fun and quick read. I love reading books with a summer vibes to it but this book didn't have one. And as much as the cover has the summer vibes, the story didn't. But it the book was fun to read though. It took me over a month to finish because I was out and about during the summer break. The entire story is something new to me because it was my first time reading a book with a theater as the main setting of the entire story. It was also my first time reading about Greek mythology. (Shame on me for not reading the Percy Jackson yet!) I love the friendship between Ella and Rainie in this story. I somehow can relate to it because I used to have a friend that wasn't my friend for a long time. Then just recently we became friends. And that's how their friendship played out in the story.The romance part of the book was fun and was also complicated. I sometimes laugh at how oblivious and annoying Rainie was and how she's so dedicated to date this certain guy. Then this complication between Ella and the guy Rainie fancies. I believe the book is a roller coaster ride. Sometimes you get excited over the monologue of Tuck. Then you'll get annoyed because Rainie just befriend an old friend to take advantage of her. It just goes on and on and on. All the ups and downs of the story was worth the month of devouring it.So I recommend this book if you are up for a roller coaster ride during the summer break, in the comforts of your own home or bedroom. Pick it up now!
    more
  • Maria Christine
    June 25, 2017
    Well, I was and still in love with Shuffle, Repeat so........I have a thing about love triangles. I really don't like them therefore it is probably the reason why I wasn't completely sold with this book.The heroine's path to self-discovery wasn't really established. I mean, she is the go with the flow kind of girl...I really failed to see in the book the part where she get to conquer her fears...I mean not just relationship wise but in all aspects.The hero is much appreciated...a break from all Well, I was and still in love with Shuffle, Repeat so........I have a thing about love triangles. I really don't like them therefore it is probably the reason why I wasn't completely sold with this book.The heroine's path to self-discovery wasn't really established. I mean, she is the go with the flow kind of girl...I really failed to see in the book the part where she get to conquer her fears...I mean not just relationship wise but in all aspects.The hero is much appreciated...a break from all the bad-boy male heroes we read about in alot of YA books. And I like the fact that he finally did something about his passion which is photography.All in all, it is still a good read.
    more
  • Nath
    June 16, 2017
    2.5/5 (C-)
  • Teresa
    April 22, 2017
    ****3.75 stars****This book was adorable...it was fun, quick, and I fell in love with Milo. Rainie and I didn't quite get along until closer to the end of the book, thus the rating...but don't even get me started on Milo...sigh...Any fan of summer romance will fall in love with this book!Thanks to Random House for the ARC!
    more
  • Jen Klein
    November 28, 2016
Write a review