Cormorant Run
Aliens meets Under the Dome in this new post-apocalyptic novel from New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow.It could have been aliens, it could have been a trans-dimensional rift, nobody knows for sure. What's known is that there was an Event, the Rifts opened up, and everyone caught inside died.Since the Event certain people have gone into the drift... and come back, bearing priceless technology that's almost magical in its advancement. When Ashe -- the best Rifter of her generation -- dies, the authorities offer her student, Svinga, a choice: go in and bring out the thing that killed her, or rot in jail.But Svin, of course, has other plans...How far would you go and what would you risk to win the ultimate prize?

Cormorant Run Details

TitleCormorant Run
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherOrbit
ISBN0316277967
ISBN-139780316277969
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fiction

Cormorant Run Review

  • Salima
    May 23, 2017
    Lilith Saintcrow’s explosive novel is a modern sci-fi and post-apocalyptic thriller about a young woman named Svinga who is a prisoner in the near future. After the death of a fellow Rifter, “Svin” is pressured into crossing through a Rift to find answers, or spend the rest of her life in prison. Svin reluctantly complies and journeys into a danger, unknown territory with a small group of other soldiers. What follows is a descent into chaos within an unfamiliar world where stepping forward seems Lilith Saintcrow’s explosive novel is a modern sci-fi and post-apocalyptic thriller about a young woman named Svinga who is a prisoner in the near future. After the death of a fellow Rifter, “Svin” is pressured into crossing through a Rift to find answers, or spend the rest of her life in prison. Svin reluctantly complies and journeys into a danger, unknown territory with a small group of other soldiers. What follows is a descent into chaos within an unfamiliar world where stepping forward seems to only put the group ten steps back as the path behind them literally changes as they go.The strongest element of the novel is the way in which setting is incorporated in the novel with brilliant world-building. From the prison to outside facilities and into the Rift itself, there are some fantastic descriptions and great writing to truly encapsulate the growing confusion and terror at being thrown into a dangerous situation where there appears to be no way out.Unfortunately what felt flat for me were the characters themselves. While our female protagonist Svin began as an independent young woman who could easily fight back against the others, her character wasn’t well developed. My interest in her weakened over the course of the novel and by the end, there was minimal connection felt towards her at all. Although backstory and intrigue were present, Svin’s personality was lacking, and therefore it was difficult to feel sympathy or fear for her character’s plot.There also seemed to be a numerous amount of side characters and it appeared as if every other chapter introduced a new perspective. While this was initially tiresome and contributed to not understanding our protagonist well, the switch in narratives grew quickly interesting and some were satisfyingly emotional and provided further insight into the world Lilith Saintcrow has brilliantly created. Despite this, there was little development for many of these characters and very few of them would interact with one another which meant very few relationships were created.Even though the plot started off as a gritty adventure-thriller of sorts with Svin being offered her freedom in exchange for undertaking a dangerous mission, it very quickly turns into a darker and more chaotic journey. Some scenes showed terrifying dangers which will more than likely keep any read on their toes. However, the underdevelopment of some of the characters meant the stakes were not as thrilling or intense as I wanted them to be.Overall, Cormorant Run reads more as the first instalment to a lengthy series, as opposed to a novel that conclusively ties up every thread introduced. Though the writing style and world-building are very good, they fail to compensate for the lack of a conclusive story and underdevelopment of major characters.Kindly received in return for an honest review.Originally posted on: The Nerd Daily.
    more
  • Amy A
    June 1, 2017
    3.5Originally posted at Vampire Book ClubNo one really knows what precipitated The Event. Aliens? Trans-dimensional rift? All that is clear is one day The Event happened, and it opened up Rifts in various parts of the world. Anyone or anything unlucky enough to get caught in a Rift perished.Years later, scientists and the government are still trying to figure out what exactly happened. There are certain people, known as Rifters, who are able to enter and navigate the Rifts. They’ve come back wit 3.5Originally posted at Vampire Book ClubNo one really knows what precipitated The Event. Aliens? Trans-dimensional rift? All that is clear is one day The Event happened, and it opened up Rifts in various parts of the world. Anyone or anything unlucky enough to get caught in a Rift perished.Years later, scientists and the government are still trying to figure out what exactly happened. There are certain people, known as Rifters, who are able to enter and navigate the Rifts. They’ve come back with valuable pieces of technology and scientific discoveries not without great personal danger to themselves, of course. When Ashe the Rat—one of the greatest Rifters of her generation—is killed after a run, the government brings in Svin, her protégé, to pick up where Ashe left off.Newly released from prison on the condition that she help find whatever mysterious object Ashe was sent into the Rift to retrieve, Svin has her own agenda once she gets in the Rift. That is, if she can actually make it to the end.Cormorant Run reads just like Aliens. There’s the highly underestimated Rifter Svin (aka Ripley), a various group of untrustworthy militant men who would rather shoot first and ask questions later (complete with various colorful uses of the F-word), and the scientists who’s inquisitiveness almost doom them from the beginning.I actually liked that I could equate this story with something familiar because there’s a lot of twisting and turning that goes on within the pages of this book. I would go so far as to say there’s too much going on within the pages of this book that, as far as I’m aware, is setup as a standalone story.Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of very interesting ideas. This post-apocalyptic world is dirty and gritty and has its own slang and terminology. There are no “pretty” people found within the pages of this story, and your survival is based on your own skills, forming relationships and relying on some else should be avoided at all costs. Inside the Rift, places look the same as when The Event occurred (buildings, houses, cars, businesses etc), but overrun by nature. Lilith Saintcrow really capitalizes on the mystery behind The Event and what creatures now lurk within the Rifts. I really loved all the ways she showed us the different dangers to be found.For all these very interesting aspects of the story, the fact that it’s full of so much, kind of forces you to keep the characters at arm’s length. Almost every chapter has a different point of view, with Svin of course being the main character. I liked seeing her from others’ perspectives and getting their thoughts about the Rifter, but I wanted to know more about Svin from Svin herself, and I felt like we didn’t get enough. Saintcrow teases us with little snippets of informational depth on each character, but I felt like it didn’t really build up to anything that would actually make me care whether or not these people survived. And I wanted to care.The big mystery of what is worth risking life and limb inside this particular Rift drives the story pretty much right up until the end. But I’m not sure the payoff is equivalent with everything that comes about before we get to the end. Regardless, if you’re in the mood for a heavy sci-fi read with interesting concepts, I think you’d enjoy Cormorant Run.
    more
  • The Nerd Daily
    June 16, 2017
    Published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Salima BensalahLilith Saintcrow’s explosive novel is a modern sci-fi and post-apocalyptic thriller about a young woman named Svinga who is a prisoner in the near future. After the death of a fellow Rifter, “Svin” is pressured into crossing through a Rift to find answers, or spend the rest of her life in prison. Svin reluctantly complies and journeys into a danger, unknown territory with a small group of other soldiers. What follows is a descent into chaos Published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Salima BensalahLilith Saintcrow’s explosive novel is a modern sci-fi and post-apocalyptic thriller about a young woman named Svinga who is a prisoner in the near future. After the death of a fellow Rifter, “Svin” is pressured into crossing through a Rift to find answers, or spend the rest of her life in prison. Svin reluctantly complies and journeys into a danger, unknown territory with a small group of other soldiers. What follows is a descent into chaos within an unfamiliar world where stepping forward seems to only put the group ten steps back as the path behind them literally changes as they go.The strongest element of the novel is the way in which setting is incorporated in the novel with brilliant world-building. From the prison to outside facilities and into the Rift itself, there are some fantastic descriptions and great writing to truly encapsulate the growing confusion and terror at being thrown into a dangerous situation where there appears to be no way out.Unfortunately what felt flat for me were the characters themselves. While our female protagonist Svin began as an independent young woman who could easily fight back against the others, her character wasn’t well developed. My interest in her weakened over the course of the novel and by the end, there was minimal connection felt towards her at all. Although backstory and intrigue were present, Svin’s personality was lacking, and therefore it was difficult to feel sympathy or fear for her character’s plot.There also seemed to be a numerous amount of side characters and it appeared as if every other chapter introduced a new perspective. While this was initially tiresome and contributed to not understanding our protagonist well, the switch in narratives grew quickly interesting and some were satisfyingly emotional and provided further insight into the world Lilith Saintcrow has brilliantly created. Despite this, there was little development for many of these characters and very few of them would interact with one another which meant very few relationships were created.Even though the plot started off as a gritty adventure-thriller of sorts with Svin being offered her freedom in exchange for undertaking a dangerous mission, it very quickly turns into a darker and more chaotic journey. Some scenes showed terrifying dangers which will more than likely keep any read on their toes. However, the underdevelopment of some of the characters meant the stakes were not as thrilling or intense as I wanted them to be.Overall, Cormorant Run reads more as the first instalment to a lengthy series, as opposed to a novel that conclusively ties up every thread introduced. Though the writing style and world-building are very good, they fail to compensate for the lack of a conclusive story and underdevelopment of major characters.
    more
  • Barb in Maryland
    June 23, 2017
    3.5 stars for what had better be the start of a new series from this author. Otherwise, this rates as 'thrown against the wall'.I have a up and down relationship with Ms Saintcrow's books. I made it halfway through her Dante Valentine series before I threw in the towel. I loved(!!!) the Jill Kismet series, which was grimdark, to say the least. Somehow I didn't read any of the 'Trailer Park Fae' series. (I may have to remedy that...)So I was all on board for this book, which is basically a McGuff 3.5 stars for what had better be the start of a new series from this author. Otherwise, this rates as 'thrown against the wall'.I have a up and down relationship with Ms Saintcrow's books. I made it halfway through her Dante Valentine series before I threw in the towel. I loved(!!!) the Jill Kismet series, which was grimdark, to say the least. Somehow I didn't read any of the 'Trailer Park Fae' series. (I may have to remedy that...)So I was all on board for this book, which is basically a McGuffin quest story, all jazzed up by being set in a post weird-event future. The author's world building is superb (complete with footnotes!); the characters, at least in this book, were types, rather than individuals. I really didn't care what happened to any of them for most of the story. (BTW, this is not a good sign for me.) I spent a lot of time betting on who would be killed next. Yeah, it is that kind of quest. (FYI, the charming lady on the cover looks very little like our heroine.)If there is a second book I will be right there--I need to know just where this very inventive author is going with this story. For now, I will be staying away from white winged butterflies.
    more
  • William Howe
    June 15, 2017
    Well, that happenedI don't know what that was. Surrealist SF? Existentialist, maybe? This was a weird ride. Vicious and impersonal. I don't know how to match it up with anything else.If you are looking for predictable story, look elsewhere.If you like world building an amazing, horrifying, post-something, insanity of a world...read this.
    more
  • Beth
    June 17, 2017
    More of window into a flawed world - and the rifts that toppled it? Maybe a character study? There really wasn't a result at the end. All pain & trials of the characters were the stone thrown in the pond never to be seen again & small alterations from the fading ripple.
    more
  • Hmr28
    June 29, 2017
    This isn't just bad it is awful! Poor worldbuilding, characterizations and writing. It was boring and a good example of all tell no show. I usually love her books but this one is a stinker of royal proportions.
  • Janet
    June 18, 2017
    I was not in the right mood for this book. Read up to chapter 2 and stopped.Will pick up again when the mood strikes me
  • Anya
    May 4, 2017
    Very cool hard sci-fi but not what I'm in the mood for.
  • Leona
    March 24, 2017
    Reviewed for RT Book Reviews
Write a review