A New Leash on Love (Rescue Me, #1)
When Craig Williams draws the short straw and has to take his daughter’s adorable new puppy to a shelter after the holidays, it’s just another painful episode in the fall-out of a miserable divorce. He needs to pick up the pieces of his life, and, after a fiery confrontation with Megan Anderson, the young woman running the shelter, he wants to put the whole episode behind him. However, when he keeps finding new ways to reconnect with her, he realizes Megan’s compassionate and caring nature just might be the perfect salve for his broken heart.

A New Leash on Love (Rescue Me, #1) Details

TitleA New Leash on Love (Rescue Me, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN1492650838
ISBN-139781492650836
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Animals

A New Leash on Love (Rescue Me, #1) Review

  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    June 24, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this book. I was pleasantly surprised very early in the book when I realized that the story was set in St. Louis. It is always a lot of fun to find some familiar places worked into this kind of story. I really liked how much of a role the shelter played in the story. The animals and the shelter are a big part of this one. This was a really well told romance that had a very realistic feeling.Megan and Craig meet in a This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this book. I was pleasantly surprised very early in the book when I realized that the story was set in St. Louis. It is always a lot of fun to find some familiar places worked into this kind of story. I really liked how much of a role the shelter played in the story. The animals and the shelter are a big part of this one. This was a really well told romance that had a very realistic feeling.Megan and Craig meet in a rather difficult situation for both of them. Let's just say things don't go too well for either of them at their first meeting. They both really show how mature they are and their second meeting is definitely improved. They find themselves really being drawn to each other as they spend more time together. Their relationship really moved at a natural pace.Megan works at a no-kill animal shelter. She is actually the one who is running the place on a day to day basis. She has a lot of responsibility to deal with and her job can be really tough at times. I loved all of the staff at the shelter and the animals really were wonderful. I thought it was a whole lot of fun having so many animals play an important role in the story.Craig has had more than his fair share of heartbreak. He really was such a good man. He is very focused on being a good dad to his children. He wants to do whatever is in his power to make their lives better. He isn't really looking for a relationship when he meets Megan but knows he needs to take a chance.I really liked the characters in this book. Megan and Craig were both incredibly likeable and they seemed so perfect together. I could totally see this pair together for the long haul. There are a few dramatic moments and I liked how everything worked out in the end. Nothing in the book was overly drawn out and the pacing of the story was very well done.I would recommend this story to fans of contemporary romance. This was a really heartfelt romance with characters that have been through a lot. This is a debut novel from Debbie Burns and I am really looking forward to getting my hands on the next book in this series.I received an advance reader edition of this book from Sourcebooks Casablanca via NetGalley.Initial ThoughtsI liked this one. I was really surprised that it was set in St. Louis and I had a lot of fun seeing some familiar places mentioned in the story. I really enjoyed how much of a role the animals played in this story. Craig and Megan made a great pair.
    more
  • Dianne
    June 9, 2017
    Who couldn’t love a tale with animals in need of love and a safe place to land that mimics the same predicament two souls find themselves in? What happens when a passionate young woman running an animal shelter deals less than graciously with a wealthy and handsome man seemingly dumping off a now unwanted puppy without a care? Sparks will fly, right, and maybe a little fur, but who knew those sparks of anger could become smoldering flames of passion between two people who have so little in commo Who couldn’t love a tale with animals in need of love and a safe place to land that mimics the same predicament two souls find themselves in? What happens when a passionate young woman running an animal shelter deals less than graciously with a wealthy and handsome man seemingly dumping off a now unwanted puppy without a care? Sparks will fly, right, and maybe a little fur, but who knew those sparks of anger could become smoldering flames of passion between two people who have so little in common? Sometimes need is enough to build a foundation, well, that a few puppy licks.A NEW LEASH ON LOVE by Debbie Burns has more than its share of twists, some cute and adorable, some not so much. There are moment s of tension, situations that leave one raising the eyebrows and thinking, “awkward,” and there are moments of humor that will melt your heart.Will the wealthy guy get the passionate girl? Will the unwanted puppy find a new home? What about the big German Shepherd? Will the pain of the past become a foundation for a happier future?Debbie Burns has created a story of love that reads quick, with low heavy drama and lots of "tale" wagging.I received an ARC edition from Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for my honest review.Series: Rescue Me - Book 1Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (July 4, 2017)Publication Date: July 4, 2017Genre: Contemporary Romantic ComedyPrint Length: 352 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Susan
    July 2, 2017
    A New Leash on LoveDebbie BurnsA NEW LEASH ON LOVE by Debbie Burns is the first book in the Rescue Me series. It is filled with relatable and very likable people. It all centers around the no kill shelter that Megan Anderson works at and has been running since the director got sick. There she meets Craig Williams, who has come in with a puppy surrender. He seems well to do, nice clothes, nice car, and she is aggravated that he seems to be dumping the puppy without any guilt at all. To say that f A New Leash on LoveDebbie BurnsA NEW LEASH ON LOVE by Debbie Burns is the first book in the Rescue Me series. It is filled with relatable and very likable people. It all centers around the no kill shelter that Megan Anderson works at and has been running since the director got sick. There she meets Craig Williams, who has come in with a puppy surrender. He seems well to do, nice clothes, nice car, and she is aggravated that he seems to be dumping the puppy without any guilt at all. To say that fur flies during their first meeting is an understatement.Craig has had his share of heartache. He has only been divorced for less than a year which came after a family tragedy that no one can move past. He has been trying to make his kids happy and make their lives less stressful, and surrendering the puppy seems like the right thing to do. A NEW LEASH ON LOVE will have you holding back tears at the emotional roller coaster Debbie Burns puts her readers on. The characters have all been through so much and before long, you will find yourself cheering them on and hoping they find their happily ever after. Megan has had her share of heartache as well. She lost her father when she was a teenager and has always resented her mother for moving on without her dad. She also broke up wth her fiancé not too long ago. Neither Megan or Craig is looking for any kid of relationship, but it seems that's all they can think about. A NEW LEASH ON LOVE is the perfect way to spend the afternoon, on your couch with your favorite beverage. Soon, you will be falling in love with all the animals and people in this heart warming and sweet story. Will Megan and Craig ever be able to heal their broken hearts and move on from their painful pasts? Read this wonderful contemporary to find out! I can't wait to continue this fun and sweet series!
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    June 26, 2017
    It is always a pleasure to come across a new author and be delighted by their debut story. A New Leash on Love by Debbie Burns was a wonderful story that has the many attributes I look for in a romance. It had believable and likeable characters, a supporting cast of cats and dogs and a second chance trope. Megan Anderson and Craig Williams are both recovering from a broken heart and are very wary of giving it a second chance. I guess when you aren’t looking for love it comes to you unexpectedly. It is always a pleasure to come across a new author and be delighted by their debut story. A New Leash on Love by Debbie Burns was a wonderful story that has the many attributes I look for in a romance. It had believable and likeable characters, a supporting cast of cats and dogs and a second chance trope. Megan Anderson and Craig Williams are both recovering from a broken heart and are very wary of giving it a second chance. I guess when you aren’t looking for love it comes to you unexpectedly.Megan works at an animal shelter and her temper flares when a man surrenders the puppy his daughter received over the holidays. Craig is feeling bad enough about returning the dog but he doesn’t need this woman giving him grief as well. Things were said but there was also some vulnerability shown when things weren’t said in that exchanged. Things aren’t always black and white and both Craig and Megan are feeling something going on between them when they see each other again and again. I understood reluctance on Craig’s part considering his situation with his ex-wife and children. Still he hadn’t felt this in a very long time and just couldn’t deny it when it could be a game changer. Megan has been so wrapped up with her work at the shelter she never expected to get those feelings again for a man, especially one whose life is in such flux. But no matter what life deals you, both Megan and Craig took small steps towards each other and make the best of this chance on love. It wasn’t an easy road for either of them because it meant reconciling feelings of the past and dealing better with grief.Debbie Burns has written a wonderful story about a couple who have a chance to heal their broken hearts and find love again. The sex is tame but you can still feel the attraction and heat they feel for one another. Each time Craig and Megan were in scenes with one another you can see them working out in their minds how they want to be together but have so much to deal with. The addition of the supporting characters of Craig’s children, Megan’s mom and friends, developed the story and emphasized the worlds they have built around them. It just made the whole story fully develops and give a better understand where they are both coming from. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and look forward to more stories. There is a new voice in contemporary romance and I hope this is a great beginning for her writing career.Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • Ami
    June 12, 2017
    2.75 stars rounded upAt first meeting, I thought Megan and Craig had sparks. Craig comes to the no-kill shelter where Megan works to surrender a Christmas puppy that has become too much to handle with his current family situation. Megan thinks that he is just another dumper and sort of lashed out at him. So I was expecting sizzle and a lot of banter between the two, once Megan learns that it isn’t the case.Unfortunately, the spark diminishes, and Megan became more passive, meek, and lost her con 2.75 stars rounded upAt first meeting, I thought Megan and Craig had sparks. Craig comes to the no-kill shelter where Megan works to surrender a Christmas puppy that has become too much to handle with his current family situation. Megan thinks that he is just another dumper and sort of lashed out at him. So I was expecting sizzle and a lot of banter between the two, once Megan learns that it isn’t the case.Unfortunately, the spark diminishes, and Megan became more passive, meek, and lost her confidence. Craig also has too much baggage with the tragedy in his family and the divorce. I didn’t feel the chemistry between these two and I can’t find myself believing in them in the long run.I’m not very fond of the way the story goes as well. I genuinely think the situation with Craig’s family is still a bit of a mess… and adding the (view spoiler)[pregnancy (hide spoiler)] storyline didn’t won me over.On the plus side, there are a LOT of animals, and it was impossible not to feel the pulls at my heart string with at least one of them. Most probably Sledge, the German shepherd, the first animal to make an appearance in this book. My heart just felt for this dog and I am so happy that Megan and him bonded throughout. I am rounding up the star rating for the animals.A Guest Review for The Blogger GirlsThe ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 17, 2017
    3.5 Stars (Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review)This was a very sweet story and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The characters of both Megan and Clint were flawed and had interesting back stories, but worked so well together.As an animal lover, I adored that the main setting was a no kill shelter. I also really enjoyed that the character of Patrick had Aspergers and it was nice to see a character dealing with that condition.I had one tiny issue and that was Cl 3.5 Stars (Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review)This was a very sweet story and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The characters of both Megan and Clint were flawed and had interesting back stories, but worked so well together.As an animal lover, I adored that the main setting was a no kill shelter. I also really enjoyed that the character of Patrick had Aspergers and it was nice to see a character dealing with that condition.I had one tiny issue and that was Clint's son Reese using words like 'retarded' and 'gay' when he didn't want to do something or thought something was stupid. He's a nine year old boy, so it wouldn't have bothered me that he said it, what bothered me was the adults around him didn't correct him.Outside of that small issue, I really loved this and am looking forward to the rest of the series!
    more
  • Mandi Schreiner
    July 9, 2017
    This was cute - heavy on the rescue dogs, a little light on the actual physical romanceReview to come
  • Isha Coleman
    June 20, 2017
    I am enamored of Debbie Burns. With outstretched arms and an open heart, she welcomes readers into her world of cuddly creatures, tempting humans and incredibly moving storytelling. A New Leash on Love comes from the heart, speaks to the heart and feeds the soul. Ms. Burns understands that humans aren't the only ones in need of love and hope. Whether human or animal we all need some TLC and a second chance.
    more
  • Barb Lie
    July 4, 2017
    A New Leash on Love by Debbie Burns is the first book in her new Rescue Me series. This was a wonderful sweet romance, with a family and animals as a major part of the story. Having never read anything before by Burns, I loved every moment of A New Leash on Love, and I plan on reading more of her books; especially the rest of this series. Megan Anderson, our heroine, who runs an animal shelter, loves her job and her dog/cats. When Craig Williams, our hero, stops at the shelter to drop off a pupp A New Leash on Love by Debbie Burns is the first book in her new Rescue Me series. This was a wonderful sweet romance, with a family and animals as a major part of the story. Having never read anything before by Burns, I loved every moment of A New Leash on Love, and I plan on reading more of her books; especially the rest of this series. Megan Anderson, our heroine, who runs an animal shelter, loves her job and her dog/cats. When Craig Williams, our hero, stops at the shelter to drop off a puppy that was a Christmas gift to his children, he meets Megan. Both Megan and Craig are both in bad moods when they come face to face. He is sad to have to bring the puppy back, since his house was going to be sold, his divorce finalized and they were not prepared to handle the puppy. Megan, who is very passionate about her work, was already upset that the shelter is at the max of animals, and she had to rescue a German shepherd, Sledge. At that moment Craig and the cute puppy arrive, which was all Megan needed to be curt and sarcastic to Craig. The two of them went at each other in a fiery confrontation, with Craig slamming the door on the way out. Both of them felt bad after they calmed down, and couldn’t forget about it. When the following day, Craig goes back to the shelter with his daughter to get the puppy back, but unfortunately Megan had already placed the puppy at a home of someone local who recently lost their dog. Despite this, Craig and Megan start apologizing, and they both can feel the attraction, which neither will act on at this time. Megan will get Craig’s daughter to help become a volunteer at the shelter, which will keep them running into each other, often.What follows is a wonderful sweet slow build romance between Megan and Craig. The setting with the animal shelter, the wonderful dogs and cats, and Craig’s daughter Sophie & son Reese becoming involved in the shelter and close to Megan made this story even more delightful. There is also the background story of Craig s amicable divorce caused by the death of Reese’s twin brother, which affected his ex and children; as well as Megan also had her own insecurities about trusting love.Craig, despite his not wanting another relationship, turned out to be such a great guy, and was so supportive and sweet to Megan. Megan was a great heroine, who cared about her animals and friends, and watching her bond with Sophie was wonderful. I also fell in love with Sledge, Megan’s rescue dog.This was a wonderful delightful, heartwarming read, with some great characters, sweet dogs and cats, and wonderful romance. There was also a nice twist near the end. What more can you ask for? A New Leash on Life was written so well by Debbie Burns. I wholly recommend that you read this book.BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
  • Evelyn
    July 3, 2017
    Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com A NEW LEASH ON LOVE, the first contemporary romance by Debbie Burns, is also the kick-off novel for a new series, Rescue Me. This delightful five star read takes us inside the world of an animal shelter, and while I think anyone will be hooked on this well written story, it will especially appeal to animal lovers. Megan Anderson, the hard-working director of a non-profit animal shelter, rejoices when she finds new forever homes for any of the ma Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com A NEW LEASH ON LOVE, the first contemporary romance by Debbie Burns, is also the kick-off novel for a new series, Rescue Me. This delightful five star read takes us inside the world of an animal shelter, and while I think anyone will be hooked on this well written story, it will especially appeal to animal lovers. Megan Anderson, the hard-working director of a non-profit animal shelter, rejoices when she finds new forever homes for any of the many animals than come through her shelter. It’s a far more difficult for her when she has to rescue animals from horrible situations, but she does it all with a great deal of love and compassion. Very successful business owner Craig Williams has been watching his once ideal life come apart at the seams. Recently divorced, he finds himself with the unpleasant task of taking his family’s purebred lab puppy to the shelter because he no longer fits into their lives. The initial meeting between Craig and Megan becomes very confrontational, but as their paths continue to cross, there is no denying that there is a special connection between them. Can they overcome the age difference and all the hidden baggage they are both carrying? The characters in A NEW LEASH ON LOVE are well-written and complex. Megan’s passion for animals immediately endears her to readers, and as her painful past is slowly revealed, she becomes very real. Craig is almost too perfect to be real. It was hard, at first, to show much sympathy for this wealthy, good looking man. I found myself in tears many times, however, as we learn more about him. It would be hard not to fall in love with him as he struggles to help his kids put their lives back together after an unspeakable tragedy, something he hasn’t even been able to do for himself. His children, especially young teen Sophie, are very believable and loveable. I wanted to give them all a hug and tell them that everything was going to be all right. The story is fast paced, and has many unique twists that I wasn’t expecting. I especially love that the animal shelter and it’s many residents play such an important part of this story. Our home has been the forever home for countless adoptees, and I can’t help but feel that there will be many more homeless animals finding their forever homes as readers find themselves drawn to their local shelters after reading this book. At least I hope so! This is a great first novel for a new author, and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!I voluntarily read an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews
    June 30, 2017
    I have said this before but I am a sucker for any book that has dogs in it and this one has not one but MANY dogs since Megan runs an animal shelter. The biggest plus is how much it brings shelters to the front and gives the reader a look into how shelters operate and that it is not easy or cheap to run them and perhaps donations will be made after reading this book!Megan and Craig are destined to be together but they don't know it at first....Craig has baggage from his first marriage and he has I have said this before but I am a sucker for any book that has dogs in it and this one has not one but MANY dogs since Megan runs an animal shelter. The biggest plus is how much it brings shelters to the front and gives the reader a look into how shelters operate and that it is not easy or cheap to run them and perhaps donations will be made after reading this book!Megan and Craig are destined to be together but they don't know it at first....Craig has baggage from his first marriage and he has 2 children. Megan was engaged before and his some issues after watching her parent's marriage and her mother's subsequent remarriage when her father dies. This leaves her with a lot of questions that she has let sit and fester somewhat instead of addressing them head on until she finds herself in a situation and has to have that talk with her mom. So as you can imagine there will be miscommunication between Craig and Megan and mostly because they don't know they can be honest with each other.I thought that many parts of this story was sweet with a little spice from Craig and Megan's intimate relationship. There may be a 10 year age difference but when it comes to matters of the heart that really doesn't matter much, we love who we love despite all. Megan develops good relationships with Sophie and Reese (Craig's children) but they don't know she is dating their dad which is ok because it doesn't put any pressure on any of them to like each other for any reason other than liking each other for who they are and not because they might "have" to like each other.Overall very enjoyable and a fun read.
    more
  • Bea
    May 23, 2017
    Received for tour review; July 7, 2017
  • Angela Evans
    July 4, 2017
    Debbie Burns will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions with A New Leash On Love! With the backdrop set in an animal shelter, there's little chance you'll escape dry-eyed but Burns takes it above and beyond with this multi-layered love story you won't soon forget!One for the Keeper Shelf!
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    June 3, 2017
    Megan Anderson is passionate about her work running a shelter, so when Craig Williams comes in needing to drop off a new puppy, she can't help but unleash her fury to the situation on him, especially since the shelter is already filled to capacity with animals. Luckily, Craig will never have to see her again, so her attitude shouldn't bother him. Still, her fiery passion sparked something inside of him; something that makes him want to get to know her. Will Craig be able to convince Megan to giv Megan Anderson is passionate about her work running a shelter, so when Craig Williams comes in needing to drop off a new puppy, she can't help but unleash her fury to the situation on him, especially since the shelter is already filled to capacity with animals. Luckily, Craig will never have to see her again, so her attitude shouldn't bother him. Still, her fiery passion sparked something inside of him; something that makes him want to get to know her. Will Craig be able to convince Megan to give him a chance, so they can both have a second chance at love?What a charismatic and delightful read Ms. Burns has penned in this first book of her Rescue Me series, which enthralled me with its fast-paced storyline, fascinating main and secondary characters, and a gratifying ending that illustrated how everyone deserves a second chance at love, most especially Craig as Megan worked wonders with her kind and compassionate nature to get him to start living again. The way this story started had me sympathizing with the hero, as the decision he's made isn't an easy one, but it's one that had to be made. As for the dialogue, it was well-written and a wonderful combination of teasing banter and intense moments due to the main characters back stories with the hero suffering a terrible loss that cost him his marriage and the heroine resenting her mother for personal reasons relating to her father. Will they both be able to overcome the hurts of their past to be together? Will Megan be able to help the hero find a way to reconnect with his children? Since both his kids, but most especially his son has been lost and unreachable in his grief. Furthermore, both the main characters were riveting and I loved their growing relationship. Craig isn't ready to move on, but he can't deny the strong chemistry between them, no matter how hard he tries. I also liked how the hero was determined to help his son move past his grief, and that he allowed Megan to help with the use of the animals at the shelter and the fun that can be had when interacting with dogs. While Megan, she's so passionate when it comes to her work and I loved how she helps Craig's children with everything they're going through after the loss the family suffered. I also liked the growing bond she shares with a dog she rescues. It was adorable, as the dog needed someone like Megan that could give it the love and attention the dog deserved. Overall, Ms. Burns has penned a remarkable and heartwarming read in this book where the chemistry was off-the-charts and just kept getting more intense every time the hero and heroine interacted; and where secrets have a way of coming out that can make or break a relationship. The way this story ended was completely satisfying, as Craig is lucky to get a second chance at love, especially when he learns of the heroine's surprise. How could he not want to make their relationship permanent? I would recommend A New Leash on Love by Debbie Burns, if you enjoy the second chance romance trope or books by authors Roxanne St. Claire, Debbie Mason, Susan Mallery or Donna Alward.
    more
  • Cheryl
    June 19, 2017
    There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face. - Bernard WilliamsI was in the mood for a romance and I'm glad I picked this one to read. Sizzling hot chemistry and needy pets - what's not to love?Megan Anderson is managing the High Grove Animal Shelter while Wes, the founder of the no-kill shelter, is recovering from heart surgery. She's passionate about the animals at the shelter, which is filled to capacity and always looking for grant money or donations so they can keep There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face. - Bernard WilliamsI was in the mood for a romance and I'm glad I picked this one to read. Sizzling hot chemistry and needy pets - what's not to love?Megan Anderson is managing the High Grove Animal Shelter while Wes, the founder of the no-kill shelter, is recovering from heart surgery. She's passionate about the animals at the shelter, which is filled to capacity and always looking for grant money or donations so they can keep their doors open.When wealthy Craig Williams, owner of a large marketing company, comes into the shelter to drop off his daughter's new puppy, Megan doesn't take into account that there might be extenuating circumstances but lashes out at him. Craig's divorce is almost finalized and he and his ex-wife and two young children have been through a death in the family, are selling the family home, and have decided the puppy is just too much for right now.I like how author Burns packed a lot of good information about animal shelters and abandoned pets into this story and still was able to make it an entertaining, romantic tale.I like that there was substance to the story and some tough issues were written about - divorce, children of divorce, family dynamics, and more, along with a lot about pet adoptions.This was a funny, yet serious, heartwarming and touching romance - just the book I was hoping for.I received this book from Sourcebooks Casablanca through Edelweiss in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Jan
    July 9, 2017
    I was fully prepared for this book to be terminally cute, from the topic (pet rescue) to the title. I was surprised and very pleased that my expectations were completely wrong…except the title is a bit ‘cute.’ This is a substantial story with romance, but with real, relatable characters.Megan Anderson works for a chronically underfunded no kill animal shelter. The story begins when she is called out by an animal control officer to rescue a dog that would be put down if it got into the system, bu I was fully prepared for this book to be terminally cute, from the topic (pet rescue) to the title. I was surprised and very pleased that my expectations were completely wrong…except the title is a bit ‘cute.’ This is a substantial story with romance, but with real, relatable characters.Megan Anderson works for a chronically underfunded no kill animal shelter. The story begins when she is called out by an animal control officer to rescue a dog that would be put down if it got into the system, but that Bernie hope that Megan will save. She brings the large, stinky, neglected, starving German shepherd back to the shelter as an ice storm makes care for the animals and getting home safely a real challenge.The hero of the story is a dad in the middle of a divorce following the loss of a child. He surrenders his daughter’s dog, the first of the season’s ‘Christmas puppies,’ in the middle of an ice storm when Megan is having a particularly rough day. Craig is the epitome of all the wealthy, negligent, pet owners in Megan’s view, and they get off to a terrible start.The animal shelter could be a gimmick, but is not. Readers meet some of the animals, the employees, and the volunteers who work and live there. The animals, their issues, and their care are integrated into the story smoothly and consistently. The plotting is also clear and sensible. The characters, particularly the pain of Craig’s family, are revealed and developed very well. The pets have personalities and help the humans grow in compassion without speaking parts.This is an enjoyable, readable, and very good story. Recommended. Readalikes:Jill Shalvis – Animal Attraction; Rachel Lacey’s Love to the Rescue series; Catherine Mann – Shelter Me; Nora Roberts’ Chesapeake Bay series; Robyn Carr’s Virgin River novels; Susan Wiggs’ Lakeshore Chronicles.Disclosure: Reading copy provided by the publisher.Pace: fastCharacters: Flawed, believable, very likeable, admirable, relatableStory: character-drivenLanguage: engaging; banter filledTone: Heartwarming; sensual; upbeat; realistic sense of placeFrame: St. Louis, contemporarySocial issues: Pet rescueRed flag: loss of a child; it’s in the background, but it is the cause of the family’s pain.
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 13, 2017
    Megan Anderson is dedicated to giving the animals in her shelter a safe and loving home and is quite passionate about what she does, so, when Craig Williams, a single father, comes into the shelter wanting to drop off their family pet she becomes a little perturbed with him. They took the dog promising to give it a home to thrive in, and now because things are tough for them they want to abandoned it, no way can she let this one go without saying her peace. Before she realizes what she's doing s Megan Anderson is dedicated to giving the animals in her shelter a safe and loving home and is quite passionate about what she does, so, when Craig Williams, a single father, comes into the shelter wanting to drop off their family pet she becomes a little perturbed with him. They took the dog promising to give it a home to thrive in, and now because things are tough for them they want to abandoned it, no way can she let this one go without saying her peace. Before she realizes what she's doing she unleashes her frustration on him, and he simply walks out the door. But not before stirring up something in her that she hasn't felt in a long while, there is something about him that has her stomach full of butterflies and her head full of curiosity. Craig Williams is going through a painful divorce, and now because of said divorce he finds himself at a local shelter dropping off the family pet, not because he wants to, but because he doesn't really have choice. And the woman he finds on the other side of the shelter door isn't too happy about his decision either, he can tell instantly that she is passionate about the animals in her care, and adding another to an already full house frustrates her, and she unleashes those frustrations on him. He isn't in the mood for a lecture, so he says his peace and walks out the door, thankful he won't have to see her again. But the problem is there is a part of him that wants to, seeing someone care so deeply lights a fire in him, and he knows he won't be able to extinguish it until he wanders back through her door... question is will she be happy about seeing him again?This was my introduction to this author, and I must admit that it left a really good first impression, so much so, I plan to read the book that follows it, and revisit these charming, well crafted characters. Her writing style was very easy to fall into and just enjoy, the story line was easy to follow, very engaging, and it turned out to be quite pleasurable read! Highly recommend this one, it is sure to keep you captivated from start to finish!!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Gaele
    July 7, 2017
    All anyone really wants, animal or human, is to find love and that safety and security that comes with it. I don’t know about you, but when there are animals in need of safe homes where they find love and hope, I go all melty inside. Playing on those emotions, Debbie Burns brings us animals and people who need love and security that comes with it. Craig gets the unhappy task of taking his daughter’s puppy to the shelter after the ‘newness’ has worn off. In the midst of an acrimonious divorce, th All anyone really wants, animal or human, is to find love and that safety and security that comes with it. I don’t know about you, but when there are animals in need of safe homes where they find love and hope, I go all melty inside. Playing on those emotions, Debbie Burns brings us animals and people who need love and security that comes with it. Craig gets the unhappy task of taking his daughter’s puppy to the shelter after the ‘newness’ has worn off. In the midst of an acrimonious divorce, this is one more in the long list of detestable tasks that have become his life since the breakup. Megan spends her life trying to provide good homes and love to the many dogs in her care at the shelter: and when Craig arrives, obviously callously dropping the pup, she’s at the end of her rope. She lights into him with very well-placed and targeted jibes, and tempers and words fire off – not a strong moment for either of them. But, despite the harsh words and not knowing him, Craig knows that Megan was at least partially right in her assessment. And that flicker of honesty with his interest in her choices to work at a stressful and often outwardly thankless job makes him curious. Perhaps seeing things through her eyes will bring him some healing, and some hope. Slowly Burns uses the burgeoning friendship between Megan and Craig to share their stories of heartbreak and relationship difficulties. Cleanly paced and carefully revealed, the two are brought together in a way that feels natural and plausible, with plenty of doggie antics and tail wags to go around. Character driven with few moments of real drama that are successfully and quickly resolved, the story has plenty of moments that readers will enjoy. A wonderful debut and introduction to a series that will be a favorite of many. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Sharon
    May 20, 2017
    Pun intended, this book will be catnip to animal lovers & romance junkies alike. A divorced dad and a woman running an animal shelter clash at first sight, but find that they can't stop thinking about each other...Between the heart-tugging scenes with rescue animals, the charming characters, and the promise of a happily-ever-after, this romance is hard to resist. So why try?Thank you to Sourcebooks Casablanca for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.Minor point- the only negat Pun intended, this book will be catnip to animal lovers & romance junkies alike. A divorced dad and a woman running an animal shelter clash at first sight, but find that they can't stop thinking about each other...Between the heart-tugging scenes with rescue animals, the charming characters, and the promise of a happily-ever-after, this romance is hard to resist. So why try?Thank you to Sourcebooks Casablanca for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.Minor point- the only negative I saw with this book was the inclusion of the words "retarded" and "gay" used as insults by a middle school character with very little to no feedback/reprimand from the adult characters. I just did not see the necessity for this, and I found it quite jarring considering the charm of the rest of the story. I realize that the character was supposed to be shown as angry and lashing out due to the circumstances of his parents marriage, but still...no.
    more
  • Linda
    July 12, 2017
    I really liked Debbie Burns' book, A New Leash on Love. It centers around a no-kill shelter and the woman who works there--Megan Anderson. Since I like animals and appreciate the work that n0-kill shelters do, I enjoyed reading this story and watching the different characters interact with Megan. I liked the addition of Megan's co-worker, Patrick, who displays the characteristics of Aspberger's Syndrome, the three legged cat and the blind dog. They aren't treated differently but instead are appr I really liked Debbie Burns' book, A New Leash on Love. It centers around a no-kill shelter and the woman who works there--Megan Anderson. Since I like animals and appreciate the work that n0-kill shelters do, I enjoyed reading this story and watching the different characters interact with Megan. I liked the addition of Megan's co-worker, Patrick, who displays the characteristics of Aspberger's Syndrome, the three legged cat and the blind dog. They aren't treated differently but instead are appreciated and loved for their unique qualities. Other topics that are dealt with are divorce, family dynamics, loss, the teenage years, and adopting and taking care of a pet. I enjoyed this book because the characters were likable and dealt with real challenges. I look forward to reading future books in this series.
    more
  • Julie
    July 25, 2017
    This is a new to me author and I really enjoyed the story. This is a sweet, contemporary romance, centered around a no kill animal shelter in St. Louis.There are a variety of characters, 2-, 3- and 4-legged. One of the shelter employees has autism, which is presented wonderfully. He has skills and challenges, just like the rest of us.There is no insta-love, between the humans anyway. Both main characters are still healing from some very deep hurts, Craig especially. There is quite a bit of jumpi This is a new to me author and I really enjoyed the story. This is a sweet, contemporary romance, centered around a no kill animal shelter in St. Louis.There are a variety of characters, 2-, 3- and 4-legged. One of the shelter employees has autism, which is presented wonderfully. He has skills and challenges, just like the rest of us.There is no insta-love, between the humans anyway. Both main characters are still healing from some very deep hurts, Craig especially. There is quite a bit of jumping to conclusions and assumptions, which eventually get talked about, but there are consequences.I'll be on the look out for the next in series.
    more
  • Jo (Mixed Book Bag)
    July 14, 2017
    This deals with some very serious issues that help drive the plot while still keeping the characters real and trying to live and love. The shelter at the heart of the story lets the characters tell some interesting and sometimes funny stories that help lighten the serious issue of what happens after the death of a child. Some of the issues facing shelters also work into the plot. This is a very good story with great characters and issues. First of a new series I will be looking for books two.I r This deals with some very serious issues that help drive the plot while still keeping the characters real and trying to live and love. The shelter at the heart of the story lets the characters tell some interesting and sometimes funny stories that help lighten the serious issue of what happens after the death of a child. Some of the issues facing shelters also work into the plot. This is a very good story with great characters and issues. First of a new series I will be looking for books two.I received a free copy of the book from the publisher.
    more
  • Jas
    July 9, 2017
    I was so pleasantly surprised by this book. I stayed up past my bedtime to finish it. Very sweet and I loved the focus on the animal shelter. Some of the dialogue was pretty hokey (there was a lot of the hero telling the heroine that she is a delight etc) but that is a minor complaint. I will absolutely be looking be out for book two.
    more
  • Tina Christopher
    July 1, 2017
    Cute and lovely story with and unexpected addition of seriousnessLoved the characters and the way author wove the both Craug and Megan had suffered Loved the animals and so glad Sledge ended up where he did
  • Mia Silverton
    July 21, 2017
    A first release from the author and very well done. Dog rescues always pull at my heartstrings and this was wonderfully laid out and a good depth to the story. Starts out with a great punch to draw you in. I'm glad it's part of a series so to be released. I received a copy of this book as an ARC.
    more
  • Misty
    May 4, 2017
    Review to come..
  • Marty Mayberry
    May 11, 2017
    What a sweet, fun, sexy story. Highly recommended.
  • Kate
    May 1, 2017
    This review was copied from my romance novel review blog: romanticallyinclinedreviews.blogspot.com There’s a lot of things I loved about A New Leash on Love and a few things that made me sort of roll my eyes. Not necessarily in a bad way, after all, it’s impossible to write a romance novel without a few cliches, but I do prefer to roll my eyes as little as possible while reading. I’ll let you make up your own mind.A New Leash on Love is a contemporary romance novel filled with innocence and pupp This review was copied from my romance novel review blog: romanticallyinclinedreviews.blogspot.com There’s a lot of things I loved about A New Leash on Love and a few things that made me sort of roll my eyes. Not necessarily in a bad way, after all, it’s impossible to write a romance novel without a few cliches, but I do prefer to roll my eyes as little as possible while reading. I’ll let you make up your own mind.A New Leash on Love is a contemporary romance novel filled with innocence and puppies. The passion in this novel burns light pink, not red hot, so if you’re looking for something to make you blush and sweat while you read this isn’t going to be the sort of novel for you. It’s the sort of book you wouldn’t think twice about reading curled up next to your mom. Sweet, and warm, and just a little bit frustrating. The perfect combo for a relaxing afternoon read.Craig and Megan meet with a whirlwind of sparks. I love sparks. However, those sparks taper out into a soft glow throughout the novel with a few attempts to relight, but never fully reigniting. Some people love their books explosive and other people don’t want something that makes their heart explode, they just want something that will make their heart do a delightful pitter patter. That’s this book.These characters, and their stories, are believable. Megan could be the girl at the supermarket. Craig could be the guy at the gym. I find something pleasing about that. So many novels build characters that are above and beyond the people we see every day that you start wondering if these characters could even exist. Debbie Burns’ story lets you know that they do.Who could dislike a book with such a large focus on animal welfare? If you’ve ever owned a pet you’ll love Megan’s devotion to her animal shelter. Learning about all her adorable charges made me want to go out and snatch up a couple more cats and some dogs to boot. If only my landlords allowed more than two pets…One of the portions of the book that had me going ‘hmmm’ was that everything seemed to work out in the character’s favor. Okay, not everything, but it’s like Ms. Burns couldn’t give us more than a couple pages of suspense before she felt obligated to fix the problem. I personally prefer a little more “will it work out?” in my books, but someone who doesn’t want their heart palpitating dangerously will be the perfect candidate. I, also, tend to have a problem with characters meeting, falling in love, and living happily ever after in a short time span. I either want my characters to have known each other previously or for the passion to be that over the top that they decide they have to be together forever or they’ll simply die. I need to believe that they couldn’t find what they have anywhere else. Megan and Craig’s relationship was sweet, but I don’t know that I’m believing it’s the end all-be all relationship that a romance novel should have. It felt a teeny bit rushed. Maybe I’m being picky though because I have no qualms about someone jumping into bed with a stranger… Who knows.
    more
  • Diane Saul
    June 21, 2017
    Megan runs an animal shelter and is very passionate about her work. Craig is going thru a divorce. He and his wife lost a son and the marriage doesn't survive the tragedy. Craigs soon to be ex is dealing with her grief, a divorce and their 2 surviving children. She can't handle their children's puppy so Craig is the one who has to turn the dog into the shelter. Megan sees him as a rich guy who can't accept the responsibility of a dog. She has no idea what Craig and his family have gone thru. Nev Megan runs an animal shelter and is very passionate about her work. Craig is going thru a divorce. He and his wife lost a son and the marriage doesn't survive the tragedy. Craigs soon to be ex is dealing with her grief, a divorce and their 2 surviving children. She can't handle their children's puppy so Craig is the one who has to turn the dog into the shelter. Megan sees him as a rich guy who can't accept the responsibility of a dog. She has no idea what Craig and his family have gone thru. Nevertheless, sparks fly between Craig and Megan from the first meeting. Craig's daughter ends up volunteering at the shelter so Megan and Craig are put together often. This is a story about family, love, loss and moving on from a tragedy. Megan has scars from her past and Craig isn't ready to move on with his life. Neither of them can resist the strong chemistry they have. I liked all the characters in the book. Their were some very poignant moments, along with a bit of humor. This is a heartwarming story that I recommend to readers. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy.
    more
  • Melissa
    June 28, 2017
    This is #1 in the Rescue Me series.  I love reading books with dogs in it.  It has become a favorite of my.Megan Anderson is running a shelter and is very compassionate in what she does.  Craig Williams drops off their Christmas puppy because of things that changed in his family's life.  This book made me think that not everything is as they seem.  Take Craig for an example.  Megan thought he did not want to deal with a puppy because they are a lot of work.  She did not know the entire story unt This is #1 in the Rescue Me series.  I love reading books with dogs in it.  It has become a favorite of my.Megan Anderson is running a shelter and is very compassionate in what she does.  Craig Williams drops off their Christmas puppy because of things that changed in his family's life.  This book made me think that not everything is as they seem.  Take Craig for an example.  Megan thought he did not want to deal with a puppy because they are a lot of work.  She did not know the entire story until later. This book also had me sad, happy, and everything in between.  What Craig and his family have been through is a lot to handle.  I think Craig needed Megan as much as she needed him.Great book with lots of emotions!!  Believeable characters!☆☆☆☆☆I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!Read more from this author? Yes!Happy Reading!Melissa 
    more
  • Lynn Stevens
    June 30, 2017
    If you're looking for a sweet romance with a ton of heart, look no further. A New Leash on Love will pull at multiple heartstrings and leave you begging (pun intented) for more. Pick it up. You won't regret it.
  • Tammy Stephens
    June 11, 2017
    really enjoyed it.
Write a review