Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back, #1)
Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn… Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back, #1) Details

TitleFollow Me Back (Follow Me Back, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Fire
ISBN1492645230
ISBN-139781492645238
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back, #1) Review

  • Morgannah
    January 1, 2017
    3.5 StarsI was clearly not the intended demographic for this book but I still found it heartfelt and I could relate to our main characters Tessa and Eric.If you intend to read this book I recommend you know a lot about how Twitter works (I had a rudimentary concept) and you should know what the term "Catfish" means. Eric is a pop star who is clearly modeled after Justin Bieber. I hope the author intended the similarity to be crystal clear because if not she would be insulting the intelligence of 3.5 StarsI was clearly not the intended demographic for this book but I still found it heartfelt and I could relate to our main characters Tessa and Eric.If you intend to read this book I recommend you know a lot about how Twitter works (I had a rudimentary concept) and you should know what the term "Catfish" means. Eric is a pop star who is clearly modeled after Justin Bieber. I hope the author intended the similarity to be crystal clear because if not she would be insulting the intelligence of all the fan girls out there. Eric doesn't like his stardom, he feels like he has no control over his life and his career, he feels as though he is just a marketing tool and his hot body and handsome face matter more than his music and his talent.Tessa is agoraphobic, she does not leave her room because of a tragic past and spends her time obsessing over Eric's every move.At it's heart this book is about loneliness and how we each need sincere, intimate, and genuine human connections. It is also about control and how anxiety, fear, and worthiness can spring from not having control over your own life and emotions. Without giving too much away, Tessa and Eric get to know one another via the direct messaging feature on Twitter. Can you genuinely care for someone you have never met? As the reader we get to spy on their message exchanges and watch their relationship develop. I found it both sweet and sad. Early in this review I said I was not the intended demographic for this story. If I had to give an educated guess I would say that the target for this book would be females between 13-29 years old or somewhere in that area. Tessa should have been more fleshed out because she is the female protagonist and should have been the character the reader most identified and sympathized with. While Eric felt like a living breathing person I never felt that way about Tessa. Finally, parts of this story are told in an epistolary fashion. Epistolary novels tell the story through letters, journals and other forms of personal communication. In this case we get to read Twitter feeds, direct messaging and interrogation notes. Having recently read Illuminae and Gemina I was spoiled and had high expectations for the epistolary approach and felt like there could have been more substance in that regard.Overall I enjoyed this book. Is it a literary masterpiece? No. Is it some fun fluff about a girl and a boy connecting and needing one another and helping one another through difficult parts in their lives? Yes. Many thanks to Netgalley for my review copy.
    more
  • Madi (TheBookNerdDiaries)
    January 13, 2017
    HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HOLY. FREAKIN'. CRAP. I. CANNOT. EVEN. WHAT. WAS. THAT. ENDING. EVEN. I. JUST. CANNOT. EVEN. THIS BOOK WAS SO FREAKIN' GOOD AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.OKay... I have calmed myself down a little... jUST KIDDING THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING.Okay, seriously. I'm calm now.I first saw this one on NetGalley and was drawn to it because of the cover. And then I read the blurb. If you've been following my reviews for a while, you probably know that I love books with romance HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HOLY. FREAKIN'. CRAP. I. CANNOT. EVEN. WHAT. WAS. THAT. ENDING. EVEN. I. JUST. CANNOT. EVEN. THIS BOOK WAS SO FREAKIN' GOOD AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.OKay... I have calmed myself down a little... jUST KIDDING THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING.Okay, seriously. I'm calm now.I first saw this one on NetGalley and was drawn to it because of the cover. And then I read the blurb. If you've been following my reviews for a while, you probably know that I love books with romance that occur in the Hollywood/celebrity environment.I will be posting my review on/around the release date in June and you can look out for it here.
    more
  • Kira's NetGalley Book Blog
    January 26, 2017
    Why you should read it: HOLY CRAP! Such an awesome plot!The ending?Mind = BlownI literally cannot right now. What a crazy twist! OK OK. I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this story toward the beginning because I kept wanting to know what happened to Tessa that made her agoraphobic but as the story progressed, it became less about Tessa’s problem and more about Eric “Taylor” and Tessa sharing their experiences and being able to understand the other person, offering a safe place to expre Why you should read it: HOLY CRAP! Such an awesome plot!The ending?Mind = BlownI literally cannot right now. What a crazy twist! OK OK. I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this story toward the beginning because I kept wanting to know what happened to Tessa that made her agoraphobic but as the story progressed, it became less about Tessa’s problem and more about Eric “Taylor” and Tessa sharing their experiences and being able to understand the other person, offering a safe place to express themselves and sharing thoughts and feelings they’ve never shared with anyone else. Their connection developed so beautifully. I literally fell in love right alongside both of them. Throughout the entire novel, I was holding on by the seat of my pants. The police transcripts were super intense. I didn’t know what the hell was happening and what an AWESOME suspense it was. Major props to A.V. Geiger for getting the suspense factor Just. Right. The back and forth DM’s and tweets between Eric and Tessa were the perfect amount to build their relationship and show their character growth. I never got bored by their tweets and DM’s. I wanted to inhale every post they sent to each other! The thing that made me fall in absolute love with this story is that Tessa and Eric never wrote each other’s feelings off as being silly or stupid. They didn’t disregard the other person’s ideas or thoughts. Instead, they helped each other by talking and working through their problems, giving the other a solid support system, someone with whom they could fully rely on. This is one of the most interesting and heartwarming YA books I’ve read in quite awhile and I can’t wait for the next book to be released!Rating: 5+ Stars!ARC received courtesy of NetGalley, Sourcebooks Fire, and A.V. Geiger in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • The Bookavid
    September 28, 2016
    In FOLLOW ME BACK, pop star Eric Thorn sets up a fake twitter account and falls in love with one of his fans. What intrigued me: Mixed format books are always a treat. Romance-heavy page turner FOLLOW ME BACK is an absolute page-turner. There is just something about this story that's captivating, especially through the mixed format with police interviews and tweets, it keeps you on your toes at all times. Even when the story gets a little too repetitive for my taste, I couldn't quit simply beca In FOLLOW ME BACK, pop star Eric Thorn sets up a fake twitter account and falls in love with one of his fans. What intrigued me: Mixed format books are always a treat. Romance-heavy page turner FOLLOW ME BACK is an absolute page-turner. There is just something about this story that's captivating, especially through the mixed format with police interviews and tweets, it keeps you on your toes at all times. Even when the story gets a little too repetitive for my taste, I couldn't quit simply because I needed to find out how it all gets resolved. The thing is, FOLLOW ME BACK needs you to like these characters. A huge chunk of this book is spent watching protagonists Eric and Tessa fall in love through flirty DMs. I think in some way this really takes away from the premise. I would've loved a more thriller-centric story instead of a flat out romance with a side of a looming secret (that's not even that hard to guess early really)At the end of the day, FOLLOW ME BACK has it going for it that this is every teenage girl's fantasy: the book. Your favorite celebrity is talking to you through a fake account and you'll fall in love. But FOLLOW ME BACK got a dark twist going on that really makes this story one of a kind. Fan fiction tropes galore FOLLOW ME BACK's biggest problem is that the story isn't very strong. It reads like the mixed format has been slapped on (especially the police reports) after the whole thing was written to increase the lack of tension within this narrative. There is one mystery at the center of it that I don't find is explored as cleverly as you'd expect from a social media thriller. It reads like a cheap plot twist to set up the next sequel to this romance. It's a typical fan fiction trope. In general, this reads absolutely like fan fiction, which I assumed it used to be, since the author is well-known on Wattpad for her Maroon 5 fan fiction. This isn't a bad thing whatsoever. I like fan fiction every now and then and am familiar and quite a bit fond of these tropes and types of stories. But I think the average reader of traditionally published YA will probably be a little put off by this story. It's really a niche thing but I'd sincerely hope that it takes off. FOLLOW ME BACK is an addicting story of love and obsession that probably everyone can identify a little with. Rating:★★★½☆☆ Overall: Do I Recommend? If you're a fan fiction reader or have a celebrity crush that's a musician, you'll probably love FOLLOW ME BACK. It's fresh, it's fun, it's different. The mixed media format really makes this one stand out and quite interesting. [If you have agoraphobia and have reviewed this, please link your review. I'd love to feature it.]
    more
  • Aneta Bak
    February 18, 2017
    THAT ENDING THO!!I loved this book so much. I want the next one, like right now.The characters and the plot were absolutely perfect.It doesn't have a lot of cliches, and the twists will keep you on your toes.FULL REVIEW CLOSER TO PUBLICATION DATE.
  • Laurie Flynn
    January 12, 2017
    Wow! I just finished reading this last night, so my brain is still grappling with all the twists and turns and processing the events of this story. And when I say twists and turns, I really mean it. This one was jaw-droppingly twisty and continually surprising, two qualities I love and admire in a book. One of my favorite things about FOLLOW ME BACK is A.V. Geiger's ability to create and sustain suspense and heighten the stakes in a complex, nuanced way. The story is told from two perspectives-- Wow! I just finished reading this last night, so my brain is still grappling with all the twists and turns and processing the events of this story. And when I say twists and turns, I really mean it. This one was jaw-droppingly twisty and continually surprising, two qualities I love and admire in a book. One of my favorite things about FOLLOW ME BACK is A.V. Geiger's ability to create and sustain suspense and heighten the stakes in a complex, nuanced way. The story is told from two perspectives-- Tessa, an agoraphobic teen girl in recovery from a traumatic event (no spoilers!), and Eric, a pop star who feels trapped in the image his record label cultivated for him-- not to mention, haunted by the recent murder of another musician by an unhinged fangirl. Creating a second Twitter account gives him the ability to forget his fame and connect on a human level, but he isn't expecting to develop actual feelings for one of his devoted fans.I don't want to say too much about how the story unspools, but let's just say I may never look at Twitter the same way again. And I'll also say that FOLLOW ME BACK has one of the most shocking endings I've ever read in a book. This whole book totally played with my mind, and I loved every minute of it. A.V. Geiger is a debut author to watch, and I cannot wait to read more of her writing!
    more
  • tally youngblood
    March 11, 2017
    This book was so much fun!!! It was kind of ridiculous but in a good way. It worked. The author clearly understands fandom culture. The plot twists will leave you shook. Stan twitter—particularly Bieber or One Direction stans—will love and relate to this!Quick update: I forgot to mention that I didn't love the way this book dealt with agoraphobia :/
    more
  • Kayla (Kdrewkthebookworm)
    December 28, 2016
    I have always had a fetish for reading books about social media, so needless to say, I was very intrigued by the concept of this book, and thus I decided to request it on Netgalley. And just like I was expecting, out of it came a riveting plot, great character development, and a fabulous story!To quickly summarize, Follow Me Back revolves around Tessa, who has agoraphobia, and Eric, who is a pop star. Eric has a lot of Twitter fans, but he doesn't love that type of limelight. Tessa is one of tho I have always had a fetish for reading books about social media, so needless to say, I was very intrigued by the concept of this book, and thus I decided to request it on Netgalley. And just like I was expecting, out of it came a riveting plot, great character development, and a fabulous story!To quickly summarize, Follow Me Back revolves around Tessa, who has agoraphobia, and Eric, who is a pop star. Eric has a lot of Twitter fans, but he doesn't love that type of limelight. Tessa is one of those huge fans, so huge that Eric is intimidated by her. So when another pop star is killed by one of his fans, Eric just can't take it anymore, so he creates a hate account for himself in the hopes that it will go viral, and so Tessa will realize that he isn't really so special. In the disguise of Taylor, Eric bonds with Tessa over direct message and the two fall in love. When they decide to actually meet, things aren't exactly what they seem to be...Even though they both made their bad decisions at times, I did really like both characters. No book character should be perfect, and Eric and Tessa are the perfect representations of that. Despite all the weak choices they made, I feel like they definitely learned great lessons from their actions and used them to help cope with other things that came their way throughout the book, which I admire. I felt really bad for Tessa in that she suffered with anxiety, but I believe that Eric/Taylor helped her through it quite well. He did not magically cure her like some characters do in these types of books, but instead, he started to bring her out of her shell and made her realize many of the joys of life. I do think they were an amazing couple, too! <3I also really loved the super fascinating, roller-coaster-like plot of this story. I love a book with lots and lots of plot twists, and Follow Me Back for sure hit the jackpot on that one! This story kept me on my toes guessing, and I just couldn't put it down! And by the end (not to spoil anything), the mystery takes a HUGE turn and becomes something I would have never thought of! If you're wondering what I mean, then there's a great indication that you need to pick up this book. ;)Overall, this book was a fantastic, riveting portrayal of teens and social media, and I enjoyed it immensely. Are you an avid social media user who fangirls over cute celebrities, and as well are looking for a super cool mystery and awesome characters? If so, then I think this book would be perfect for you- so mark your calendars for June 1st!*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • mindy
    February 3, 2017
    OK. OK. OK. OK. OK. WAIT. My mind is reeling right now. That ending might be one of my top 5 favorite twists of all time. I reread the last few pages just to be sure I let it all sink in.We meet Tessa, who is afraid to leave her house, and has a crazy obsession with singer Eric Thorn. Eric is a world famous singer that hates fame and is afraid of obsessive fans. (Pop star was a great career choice). Eric creates a fake twitter page to.... well I'm not really sure.. something about he hopes to ex OK. OK. OK. OK. OK. WAIT. My mind is reeling right now. That ending might be one of my top 5 favorite twists of all time. I reread the last few pages just to be sure I let it all sink in.We meet Tessa, who is afraid to leave her house, and has a crazy obsession with singer Eric Thorn. Eric is a world famous singer that hates fame and is afraid of obsessive fans. (Pop star was a great career choice). Eric creates a fake twitter page to.... well I'm not really sure.. something about he hopes to expose himself as a douche and lose some fans? Anyway.He ends up DMing Tessa and they form a relationship.... and things go from there. The only unanswered question is who exactly was MET? And why do we care about her?Anyway this was very kill the boy band meets gone girl. Literal applause at that ending
    more
  • Olivia Wildenstein
    March 14, 2017
    Ok... so this was one of those totally addictive reads which I LOVED! But what happened at the very end? What the f@&$ happened??? Seriously, can someone tell me?Full for review, follow this link: http://www.theyashelf.com/follow-me-b...
  • Jordan Lynde
    January 11, 2017
    All I can say is.... *SCREAMS*I received an ARC of this book and the day it arrived in the mail, I devoured it. Like from 9:15PM until 1:30AM devoured it. It's kind of like an episode of Catfish... but way better and with way more anticipation. But before I get too excited, let me point out a few details in case you are a reviewer who is unsure about reading this book.1. READ IT.At first glance it looks like a cute heart-warming story about an ordinary girl falling in love with a super star over All I can say is.... *SCREAMS*I received an ARC of this book and the day it arrived in the mail, I devoured it. Like from 9:15PM until 1:30AM devoured it. It's kind of like an episode of Catfish... but way better and with way more anticipation. But before I get too excited, let me point out a few details in case you are a reviewer who is unsure about reading this book.1. READ IT.At first glance it looks like a cute heart-warming story about an ordinary girl falling in love with a super star over the internet. Well, bzzzt. Wrong. It's way more than that. It's a complex thriller that will leave you guessing about everything and everyone. Every time I thought I had it figured out, I was wrong. Speculation will get you nowhere.I had so much fun reading through the police transcripts (and if you thought those might be hard to read, it's not like that. Imagine how dialogue is written in a play. That's how it works. No weird fancy terms, really,) through DMs, and regular prose. It's very 21st century and different. The writing style is smooth and addicting, not clogged with descriptions every five seconds, and not barren with no details. Reading it really feels like someone is telling you a story, as if they're standing in front of you.Now if you're over the certain age of the demo, maybe all the social media might be too much for you. You'll have to know what they're talking about to catch the references. But it makes sense since it's a YA book. But if you love YA, even if you're 70 you'll love this book. As long as the end doesn't give you a heart attack...This image shows my exact reaction after finishing the book.CLICKJust remember this: It's a thriller. And for a dang good reason.
    more
  • Maddy Russell
    December 30, 2016
    *I received this as an e-arc from netgalley. This did not impact my review.*So, when I finished this book, I was just: meh. It didn't meet my expectations, but it wasn't terrible to read. That's why I gave it two stars: it was just okay.The good:Extra chapters on Wattpad- after finishing this book on my kindle, I headed over to wattpad. It turns out that there are extra chapters. Those extra chapters provided closure and new perspective on the ending of the book.Addictive quality- I couldn't put *I received this as an e-arc from netgalley. This did not impact my review.*So, when I finished this book, I was just: meh. It didn't meet my expectations, but it wasn't terrible to read. That's why I gave it two stars: it was just okay.The good:Extra chapters on Wattpad- after finishing this book on my kindle, I headed over to wattpad. It turns out that there are extra chapters. Those extra chapters provided closure and new perspective on the ending of the book.Addictive quality- I couldn't put this book down, even if it was mediocre. I have no idea how the author did this. If you want an addictive book, pick up this one.The bad:Extra chapters on wattpad- I listed this as a positive, but I'm not sure that I was supposed to read these. Also, they really confused me! Then again, I probably shouldn't have read the extra chapters. This negative was my fault.Not connected with the characters- I felt that I couldn't connect with the characters in this book. I thought that Tessa was only two things (her phobia and her Eric thorn addiction) and not an actual person. She didn't seem to have a personality outside of those two things. I think it's obvious why I didn't connect with Eric and their romance in general.Interviews- I think that the interviews and such were a rip off of the illuminae series. I don't think that they were the best way to tell the story. Really liked the tweets though!Ending- I know it was supposed to be ambiguous, but anyone could've figure out what happened. Anyone.All in all, I think this book could work for a lot of people looking for a thriller. I think that it's a little too predictable and bland for my taste; however, I can see many people enjoying this book.Thanks to sourcefire publishing for the e-arc!
    more
  • Christina
    January 18, 2017
    My jaw is on the floor at that ending! Excellent tension and interesting characters. Definitely a unique story worth checking out!
  • Betsy Aldredge
    December 29, 2016
    I devoured this book and I'm already thinking about reading it again. Without giving anything away, the pacing and characterization is terrific. Like "Kill the Boy Band," this book explores how teen age girls view celebrity crushes, how the music industry manufactures celebrity, and the sometimes toxic nature of social media narratives. Add some dark, twisty turns, a severe and relatable phobia, and fully fleshed out characters and you have what may be the next best thing in YA thrillers. I'd pu I devoured this book and I'm already thinking about reading it again. Without giving anything away, the pacing and characterization is terrific. Like "Kill the Boy Band," this book explores how teen age girls view celebrity crushes, how the music industry manufactures celebrity, and the sometimes toxic nature of social media narratives. Add some dark, twisty turns, a severe and relatable phobia, and fully fleshed out characters and you have what may be the next best thing in YA thrillers. I'd put it in the same category as "Luckiest Girl Alive," or "Dangerous Girls," for sure. A must read!
    more
  • Lauren
    February 18, 2017
    Note: I received an ARC copy of this book through Netgalley. This in no way influences my opinion.Well, excuse me whilst I try and go and sort out my life! This book blew my mind out of the water and I still cannot even begin to get over that ending!! I constantly felt compelled to read on because I just needed to know what had happened... in a sense, and what was going to happen. I had a hunch what was going to happen, and I was right... but not entirely right and I love that! I think on of my Note: I received an ARC copy of this book through Netgalley. This in no way influences my opinion.Well, excuse me whilst I try and go and sort out my life! This book blew my mind out of the water and I still cannot even begin to get over that ending!! I constantly felt compelled to read on because I just needed to know what had happened... in a sense, and what was going to happen. I had a hunch what was going to happen, and I was right... but not entirely right and I love that! I think on of my favourite things about this book (apart from the ending which we will get to in a minute) was the way in which the story was told! It was told through Tweets, DMs and police transcripts. I think the police transcripts definitely helped to keep an air of mystery surrounding the whole book and it kept me reading on! I also loved the way it used Twitter as a source because of how heavily Twitter is used by the celebs - which is what this book is all about! I will admit, Twitter has officially creeped me out just a little bit! I love the way it focused on the fans of a major celebrity and the celebrity himself. It definitely gave an insight into just how crazy some fans can actually be and just how far they will go to get what they want from a certain celeb. I think it was also a good idea to show it from the other side of the coin in the sense that, we all assume that celebs are exactly where they want to be. What of that isn't entirely true, but we're too busy fangirling to notice? I'm kind of glad that I'm not a celeb considering the things that happened in this book! I also really liked the fact that there was no insta love in this book. It followed the development of the relationship between Eric and Tessa and how it grew into what it became. I think the book definitely focused on quite a few important issues - Catfishing being one of them - which I think is definitely unique because there is not a lot of focus on that in YA books. Ok, I can't go any further without mentioning THAT FRICKIN' ENDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean... I'm still reeling! The plot twist is on the same level as Dangerous Girls and it literally came on the very last page! I re read it more than once just to check that I wasn't reading wrong or something! I can't say too much because I absolutely do not want to give the game away - but I don't think that what we read is entirely what happened... even if thats the way the author wants to lead us! I have other theories about what has happened... but I obviously can't go into that! I do think that the focus could have been less on the romance and more on the issue with the murder at the hands of the fan! I would definitely have loved to know more about the case and everything that happened! Also, I want to know more about @MET, because I have a hunch where that twitter user is concerned! All in all, I absolutely loved this film and I don't know how I am going to wait until next year for the sequel! This is definitely a must read and I gave this book 4/5 stars.
    more
  • Krysti
    February 4, 2017
    Follow Me Back is the YA Psychological Thriller You've Been Waiting ForFirst of all, I have to admit I'm a LITTLE nervous to hop on Twitter after reading this book! It is such a dark, gripping tale that will keep you turning those pages well into the night. I could not put this down until it reached it's MIND-BLOWING conclusion. This is one psychological thriller that is anything but predictable.My Review: FOUR STARSThis book was so fascinating! I was glued to it from the moment I started readin Follow Me Back is the YA Psychological Thriller You've Been Waiting ForFirst of all, I have to admit I'm a LITTLE nervous to hop on Twitter after reading this book! It is such a dark, gripping tale that will keep you turning those pages well into the night. I could not put this down until it reached it's MIND-BLOWING conclusion. This is one psychological thriller that is anything but predictable.My Review: FOUR STARSThis book was so fascinating! I was glued to it from the moment I started reading it and couldn't stop thinking about it when I did have to put it down. This is probably the best YA Psychological Thriller that I've read, because you think it's going to be predictable and that you totally know what's going to happen next, and then nothing, NOTHING ends up turning out the way you expected.Both Tessa and Eric have experienced some trauma and are coping with varying degrees of anxiety, Tessa to the point that she has, understandably, become agoraphobic. The way A.V. Geiger describes their anxiety and panic is so well done and makes you absolutely ache for these characters. You'll be rooting for both of them from page one.The mystery that overlies everything is absolutely engrossing, and the way that Geiger has incorporated Twitter DMs and police reports throughout the book is just so COOL! It makes the book feel more authentic and also adds to that feeling of mystery. It also make you more confident that you know what happened, which only makes the twists at the end that much more shocking.I cannot wait to see what Geiger has in store for us next!Cover Rating: FOUR STARSThis is a really COOL cover. The way the face is partially obscured is a nod to Tessa's agoraphobia and how she hides herself from the world as well as to the fact that though Eric and Tessa have a relationship online, they don't actually know what the other looks like. They're a mystery even to one another. And it's SPARKLY. I do love me some sparkly book covers.Swoon Worthiness:If you didn't know, Eric is a teenage, hunky, rock god. So, yes, he's incredibly swoon-worthy. Seeing him struggle with his celebrity status and all his mental anxiety makes him a much more complex and interesting character, and the way that he tries to help Tessa through her anxieties is very endearing and swoon-inducing.
    more
  • Paula Stokes
    February 10, 2017
    Official blurb: "Timely, twisty, and totally thrilling. Follow Me Back will have readers wondering about the identity of every online friend and follower they've got. A riveting read that will keep you up late and keep you guessing!"This is a great one for fans of Kill the Boy Band, Girl Last Seen, or my own books Liars, Inc. and Vicarious :) NOTE: There is a second book. Good to know when you get to the so-many-twists-you're-dizzy ending :) Thank you to Sourcebooks for sending me an ARC to read Official blurb: "Timely, twisty, and totally thrilling. Follow Me Back will have readers wondering about the identity of every online friend and follower they've got. A riveting read that will keep you up late and keep you guessing!"This is a great one for fans of Kill the Boy Band, Girl Last Seen, or my own books Liars, Inc. and Vicarious :) NOTE: There is a second book. Good to know when you get to the so-many-twists-you're-dizzy ending :) Thank you to Sourcebooks for sending me an ARC to read.
    more
  • Kayla
    January 8, 2017
    Just finished reading this book, and—just—wow. I couldn't read this one fast enough: it kept me up (very) late into the night (twice), and I just did. not. want. to. put. it. down. FOLLOW ME BACK was full of twists and turns, and basically, the ending left me with chills upon chills. I'll be biting my nails waiting to read what A.V. Geiger writes next!!
    more
  • Smilingreader
    January 7, 2016
    I loved this entire book, the suspense.. the mystery, it was all amazing. I highly recommend you read it.
  • Lindsay
    March 23, 2017
    Be careful what you wish for. That is the motto of this story.Eric Thorn is the latest teen celebrity crush. He once dreamt of his fame when he was younger, posting videos of song covers on YouTube until someone finally took notice of him. Then his career skyrocketed and he was signed with a record company and producing albums. Now he has millions of followers on Twitter who are obsessed with him, always announcing their undying love and retweeting his pictures.Tessa is an agoraphobic. An incide Be careful what you wish for. That is the motto of this story.Eric Thorn is the latest teen celebrity crush. He once dreamt of his fame when he was younger, posting videos of song covers on YouTube until someone finally took notice of him. Then his career skyrocketed and he was signed with a record company and producing albums. Now he has millions of followers on Twitter who are obsessed with him, always announcing their undying love and retweeting his pictures.Tessa is an agoraphobic. An incident happened when she was at a creative writing workshop in New Orleans over the summer that left her terrified and so she refuses to leave her room. She can’t even go much further than the doorframe without triggering a panic attack. Her only contact with the outside world is her psychologist (whom visits her) and her Twitter profile dedicated to Eric Thorn and her fan fictions of him. She wishes for a normal life and someone to connect to.Both wishes are granted. Despite the rising fame, Eric is tired of his stardom. He is paranoid of being attacked and killed by a crazy fan, since it happened to another singer and he’s sick of all the attention of Twitterverse. His fans only care about his looks and not about his music which irritates him. Meanwhile in Texas, Tessa finds that person to connect to—a secret account that Eric makes to initially take out his frustrations—and they soon develop a friendship. All the while, Tessa thinks she is talking with a girl named Taylor when it’s really her celebrity crush.This story hooked my attention at the beginning, but as it dragged in I lost motivation to finish it. Tessa’s boyfriend, her mom, and psychologist are poorly constructed and possess unbelievable characteristics imitating those of a teenager. Both Tessa and Eric make stupid decisions throughout the story which later come back to haunt them. They also react rashly to certain things. For instance, once Eric explains he is a guy named Taylor—shocked since he thought Tessa knew he was male—Tessa shuts down and blocks him for what reason exactly? It was a simple misunderstanding and she blew it out of proportion and effectively had a tantrum like a child who doesn’t want to hear specific things.There was also the factor of instant attraction/love. Eric falls in love with Tessa without knowing what she looks like or meeting her in person. Tessa feels something towards Taylor (Eric), but it was an obsession. They messaged each other every single night and talked for hours, telling one other about their problems and gathering support—mostly Eric is the one consoling Tessa. She relied on him to make her happy and bring brightness to her dreary days of staying locked in her room. Of course, Eric invents a persona and plays along with it, knowing that he must tell Tessa his identity soon. This repeats until the end of the novel with him expecting Tessa is scream like a fangirl over the reveal and jump into his waiting arms.A lot of telling instead of showing made up the story. Like in a movie when a montage plays with pretty music to speed up time, this book shifted months in advance after a few chapters to increase the timeline. On second its August and suddenly its December and we’re told that Tessa and Eric have been chatting every single night and are now dependent on one another.This novel had a lot of potential, but it didn’t suit my taste.I was provided an ARC of Follow Me Back by NetGalley in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Gwen Stevens
    February 12, 2017
    A Promising Start – But Disappointing FinishTessa Hart. Tessa Hart is a girl with a problem. Although a teenager, a severe trauma has brought on a case of agoraphobia. She can’t leave her room and can’t talk about what caused things to change so drastically—not even to her therapist. Now? Now she makes due by mad crushing on Eric Thorn via Twitter. Eric Thorn. Eric Thorn is a superstar with a problem. Locked into a recording contract that dictates his every move, he might as well be in prison. H A Promising Start – But Disappointing FinishTessa Hart. Tessa Hart is a girl with a problem. Although a teenager, a severe trauma has brought on a case of agoraphobia. She can’t leave her room and can’t talk about what caused things to change so drastically—not even to her therapist. Now? Now she makes due by mad crushing on Eric Thorn via Twitter. Eric Thorn. Eric Thorn is a superstar with a problem. Locked into a recording contract that dictates his every move, he might as well be in prison. He yearns for something that’s his to control and begins to resent fans like @TessaHeartsEric. She doesn’t even know him and yet she wrote fan fiction and started hashtag #EricThornObsessed. He just wishes he could talk to her and find out what’s really going on in that mind of hers to imagine she’s in love with someone she’s never met. I’ll state at the outset that at 20% done, 40% done, 70% done, and at 90% done, I was prepared to give this book five stars. I mean, there wasn’t a doubt in my mind that I would. I was #tearingthrupages and assimilating data faster than if caught up in the Matrix. But then I had to go #ruinitall by reading #thefinalpages. Silly me! If I’d only known! But let me start with the #goodstuff. There’s really so much to love about FOLLOW ME BACK by A.V. Geiger. The story is so well-written and the characters—the characters are likable and intriguing. The structure of this novel is divine. It’s divided up so that a police transcript tells you what happened in real time. You’re then taken back via Tess and Eric to find out how everything got to that point. Of course, the mystery of why the police report was necessitated isn’t revealed. It’s yet another mystery, but there’s a lot of that intentional withholding of pertinent info and the technique works beautifully. Another big plus plus plus is A.V. Geiger’s knowledge of Twitter and social media. The conversations going back and forth accurately portray what takes place. She even nailed down that primal urge to check on messages. No one can resist! All those details add to the genuineness of one that has been there and done that. The fleshing out of Tessa, Eric, and the other main players is another area where the author excels. She does an excellent job of letting us in on what’s ticking in pretty unstable, dysfunctional heads. But applying the microscope to Tessa and Eric allows the relationship to build organically rather than forcing it in any one direction … which brings me to the ending … yeah, #thatending … Have no idea what the author was thinking, #none, but that ending did not fit the story. We’re talking at all … in no way …. None! Yes, there was some suspense sprinkled throughout the story, but would you expect the ending of Pride and Prejudice to be Elizabeth Bennett stabbing Mr. Darcy through the heart because she decided that remark he made really was unforgivable? Or how about, Jane Eyre? Would you expect Edward Rochester to go at her with a meat cleaver because she’s turning into that wife he just got rid of and women are all alike? Yeah, no, I wouldn’t either. I wouldn’t appreciate either.Put bluntly, the ending A.V. Geiger offers us just doesn’t work. Would it ever? Yes, if she changed the genre to something else and added #tonsofsuspense. Right now, the dialogue reads “romantic suspense” and what she would need is to dirty the conversations up and add some paranoia by not having such a light-hearted approach. If that kind of rewrite took place, she could have a solid thriller rather than the oh, so readable YA fluffernutter she has now. The banter just doesn’t fit with the drive off the cliff—the one that is destined to take the reader with it. As for the climactic scene that precedes this big plot twist? Yeah, that lost me, too. It was too long and I didn’t think Tessa was that much of an idiot, but apparently …. #shewas!!! I’d really tighten up that whole encounter and make it taut and #creepychilling. In summation, my score for the first 90% is five stars. However, my score for that ending earns 1 star. This averages out to three stars which is a shame. I think A.V. Geiger is immensely talented and I really do look forward to reading more of her stories. If the ending were different, this would be a slam dunk five star winner. #nodoubt For intents and purposes of fair disclosure, I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Winter
    March 12, 2017
    average book....
  • Arousa
    March 24, 2017
    5 stars.This book was AMAZING. A page-turner full of action right from the beginning. It's full of mystery and suspense that it had my heart in a tight grip and then the ending !!!!! I need the next because I MUST know what the hell just happened!-Oh my God. WHAT? WHAT?
    more
  • Chessa
    March 15, 2017
    This reads like very underdeveloped, sophomoroic, wish-fulfillment fanfiction by a very, very young person.If you need a high calorie/no nutrient snack, this book is your bag of greasy potato chips. Quickly consumed, promptly forgotten.Longer review coming closer to date of publication here at and http://leveledupreading.wordpress.com
    more
  • Tansie G.
    February 2, 2016
    This was really good. It's not that often that I find an awesome book on Wattpad, either-- and this is the first draft. The unedited version. Which means it's going to get even better. *flails*First of all, this is a mystery/thriller novel. It focuses on Tessa, a girl who dropped out of college in her freshman year due to reasons and is now terrified of being touched/watched/etc., and Eric... a celebrity in a downward spiral of paranoia after a fellow celebrity/popstar is murdered by a psychotic This was really good. It's not that often that I find an awesome book on Wattpad, either-- and this is the first draft. The unedited version. Which means it's going to get even better. *flails*First of all, this is a mystery/thriller novel. It focuses on Tessa, a girl who dropped out of college in her freshman year due to reasons and is now terrified of being touched/watched/etc., and Eric... a celebrity in a downward spiral of paranoia after a fellow celebrity/popstar is murdered by a psychotic fan. This is told sort of like Dangerous Girls-- you're given information from after everything happens, and then, in between these snippets of tantalizing clues of what the heck is actually going on, you get a few chapters filled with what happened a few weeks, hours, or months ago. It jumps around some, but that never felt like an issue as I was reading it.Is it super intense? Yep. It is. But not in the don't-forget-to-dodge-the-bullets way. More in the... don't-turn-around-someone-is-watching sort of way. I was right at the most creepy part when I went to bed, and I actually did not want to close my eyes because of the creepery (that's a word) I had just read. Like... no. I felt pretty exposed and vulnerable, and I'm guessing that's what the author wants you to feel... (view spoiler)[...so you get a glimpse of how Tessa felt. Can I just say that thanks to Blair I am never sleeping 100% comfortably again? I can't imagine how horrified Tessa must have felt to see all those pictures of herself and realize that someone had always been watching her... and she'd sort of known, too, but not really. She hadn't known that it would be that bad. (hide spoiler)]When it comes to trusting people... HA. No such thing exists. You can't trust anyone. Not Tessa, not Eric, not any of the secondary characters, because EVERYONE is hiding something. I felt so stressed while reading this, and it would be a severe understatement to say that I rushed. I did not simply rush. I did some amazingly epic Flash level of speed-reading that is deserving of a trophy and multiple pieces of chocolate. The only things that I found iffy were A) the romance and B) some of the most important parts of the story happen in the POV of the character who wasn't there to witness it. For A, I liked the romance until nearing the end-- Eric was being a little bit of a prick. And he was jumping around with tactics. And it felt like he was being super inconsiderate. For B, I'm not sure if this was because the author didn't know how to write the intense scenes so she skipped to the other person, or if it's because she wants you to completely flip out with the lack of knowing happening. If it's the second, I salute her. I was so impatient to find out what happened that I think I sprained my thumb trying to scroll down the page at hyperspeed. There was a lot of "WHAT DO YOU MEAN"'s and "NOPE *throws phone" involved. Each of the police transcripts scattered throughout show a different part of the story. Parts that completely contradict each other at first glance but, after you read the whole story, make complete sense.Also... the ending. I need all of my friends to read this so that we can trade ideas about what that ending meant. (view spoiler)[The way it was put makes it seem like Tessa just traded one stalker for another one. Blair to Eric. Both convinced they love her and want to be around her 24/7. Is it showing how Eric became his worst fear??? I HAVE NO IDEA SOMEONE TALK TO ME ABOUT THIS. (hide spoiler)]In conclusion: This was very tense and very twisty and I have ALL the theories and observations so someone needs to read this so I can talk to them about it.Also: This book has ruined the name "Blair" for me. Like 100% RUINED. Apologies to any future Blair's I meet. You know who to blame.
    more
  • Tracy Thomas
    February 25, 2017
    * I received a free copy of this book, via Netgalley and SourcebooksFire*What I was expecting was teeny bopper fluff. Stuff I could read in any other YA book. However this book, was nothing like I expected. It was simply fantastic. It pulled me in from the start, and didn't let go until I got to the very end, and holy smokes, that ending!!!! I can't honestly put in to words, how clever and sharp this book is. And I am totally digging the mixed media in books lately. Follow Me Back, did a fantast * I received a free copy of this book, via Netgalley and SourcebooksFire*What I was expecting was teeny bopper fluff. Stuff I could read in any other YA book. However this book, was nothing like I expected. It was simply fantastic. It pulled me in from the start, and didn't let go until I got to the very end, and holy smokes, that ending!!!! I can't honestly put in to words, how clever and sharp this book is. And I am totally digging the mixed media in books lately. Follow Me Back, did a fantastic job with it! Do yourself and favor, and read this one guys! Releases on June 6th, 2017. Add it to your TBR, right now!
    more
  • Gwen Cole
    February 24, 2017
    I couldn't get enough of this book! I read it all in a day and now I'm eagerly waiting for the sequel. Both me and A.V. Geiger started on Wattpad, and there's no question why this book became as popular as it did. It sucks you in and won't let you go, constantly taking turns you only think you're expecting. I can't recommend this one enough!
    more
  • Angelina
    February 26, 2017
    I might change it later because I'm really mad at that ending xD
  • Samantha
    January 4, 2017
    Hmm... this is one of those books where I scratch my head a bit and I still can't figure out what I think. It's not in a bad way, I just have some very mixed opinions and feelings on things. I like the format - it's told through texts, tweets, and whatnot (like Illuminae), but at the same time, the format felt clunky and like an afterthought. Follow Me Back illustrates the frightening power and grip of social media, and that online fantasy of the perfect dream person. Just imagine your favorite Hmm... this is one of those books where I scratch my head a bit and I still can't figure out what I think. It's not in a bad way, I just have some very mixed opinions and feelings on things. I like the format - it's told through texts, tweets, and whatnot (like Illuminae), but at the same time, the format felt clunky and like an afterthought. Follow Me Back illustrates the frightening power and grip of social media, and that online fantasy of the perfect dream person. Just imagine your favorite artist, pop star, author, actor/actress giving you the time of day. Think about those fans that take things just a bit too far some times. Follow Me Back delves into that world with a tense mystery, surprising care, and tantalizing clues that draw you in even further. The highlights of Follow Me Back are simple: the suspense. This book is intense. It's everything a thriller of this type needed to be. Is someone watching you? Can you trust your friends? Are your friends your friends? This book's companion is doubt and uncertainty. The feelings that Geiger evokes through the careful writing will not leave your mind till hours, maybe even days, after completion. You can't trust a single soul in this book, and it is a masterpiece. You think you know Tessa? You're wrong. You think you have a grip on anything that's going on? Oh, you are so, so wrong. It was brilliantly laid out.My problem is this, and it's not a problem really, but I think the story should have focused more on the thriller mystery aspect rather than the romance. The romance between Tessa and Eric just... didn't work for me. He was too pushy - in a way that bordered on creepy. It was fine at the start, but by the end I kind of wanted to hit him in the head with a frying pan just to knock some sense into him. Tessa wasn't much better, but I mostly wanted to give her a hug and shield her from the world. Overall, Follow Me Back is a fantastically entertaining book that tries too hard on its romance and was better of scaring the sleep right out of you. It could have been even better with an even tighter focus. I do highly recommend this book, I really do. It might not be perfect, but it is certainly one hell of a read.
    more
  • Max Baker
    December 29, 2016
    Thank you Netgalley for providing me a free review copy in exchange for an honest reviewI have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand it is very well written, it's tense and suspenseful when it's suppose to be and just carries this air of mystery around it, but on the other hand both the characters, Tessa especially, and the plot seemed to drag to the point where I just lost interest.The plot centers around Tessa Hart, an agoraphobic teenager, and a pop star named Eric Thorn, who's grow Thank you Netgalley for providing me a free review copy in exchange for an honest reviewI have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand it is very well written, it's tense and suspenseful when it's suppose to be and just carries this air of mystery around it, but on the other hand both the characters, Tessa especially, and the plot seemed to drag to the point where I just lost interest.The plot centers around Tessa Hart, an agoraphobic teenager, and a pop star named Eric Thorn, who's grown paranoid after a member of a boyband was killed by a deranged fan. My issue with Tessa is that, she's suppose to be a main character and we know almost nothing about her. All we really know about her is that she has an anxiety disorder and is, I guess, a good writer. We never see it, but were told she's good so she must be. Tessa is defined by her disorder, and while I appreciate the way the book treats her disorder as something that's very serious, it doesn't make her a fully rounded character.However, Eric's character development is a lot better, because it felt like Geiger actually had an arc planned for him. With Tessa it seemed like she existed for the sole purpose to have things happen to her while Eric was meant to spiral out into this paranoid obsession with someone. If Geiger had just made Eric the main character, I probably would have given this a higher rating.I looked though Geiger's Wattpad and she seems to create these meta stories about people who are on Wattpad. And that seems to be where she thrives, writing characters who do the thing she does. It's still tense, but the characters and their development just weren't enough for me.
    more
Write a review