Wolf Hunt (SWAT #6)
A STORM IS BREWING...Remy Boudreaux is back in his hometown, New Orleans. He's there with three of his fellow Dallas SWAT officers for a week of training with the NOLA PD. On the eve of a tropical storm, Remy and his buddies prowl the French Quarter. One tantalizing scent captures Remy's senses, forcing him to follow until he is face to face with Triana Bellamy—his beautiful high school crush.After reconnecting, Remy and Triana are close—very. Remy struggles to keep things casual. Ever since his partner—and first love—was killed on the job, he's kept women at a distance.But when a mysterious wolf pendant ropes them both into danger, Remy's protective instincts kick in. He may have to reveal his true self...and hope Triana accepts him.

Wolf Hunt (SWAT #6) Details

TitleWolf Hunt (SWAT #6)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN1492642347
ISBN-139781492642343
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Shapeshifters

Wolf Hunt (SWAT #6) Review

  • Tami
    March 17, 2017
    This review is based on an ARC received from the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest opinion.It definitely is not a standalone. There was a lot of a reunion feel, like it may have read better if you read the entire series in order.
    more
  • Tina Christopher
    February 19, 2017
    Great read!Fast-paced and filled with great characters, loved the chemistry between Remy and Triana, twisty story, intriguing background insights, more information on Hunters
  • Dísir
    March 15, 2017
    I started out with high hopes for Paige Tyler’s SWAT series, liking the idea of a police SWAT team comprising alpha wolves and the surprising levity that came with Tyler’s storytelling. The idea has sunk in no…few books later and when it comes to setting up action and suspense, I’d be the first to say that ‘Wolf Hunt’ does well. I liked the New Orleans setting for one—the mystical bits especially seemed to gel quite well with the whole werewolf mythology and the unsolved case of Triana’s father’ I started out with high hopes for Paige Tyler’s SWAT series, liking the idea of a police SWAT team comprising alpha wolves and the surprising levity that came with Tyler’s storytelling. The idea has sunk in no…few books later and when it comes to setting up action and suspense, I’d be the first to say that ‘Wolf Hunt’ does well. I liked the New Orleans setting for one—the mystical bits especially seemed to gel quite well with the whole werewolf mythology and the unsolved case of Triana’s father’s murder that fell in line along with it. The bigger plot here is that there is an ongoing drug war that SWAT is facing as they fight to keep it off the streets. The cases are peripherally linked in some ways and Triana’s werewolf father adds a twist to the mix. There are pitfalls though with this series—which is clearly something that affects just me. I think the problem is that the idea of the werewolf’s soulmate—at least in Paige Tyler’s mythology—conveniently permits ‘destined’ couples to hook up early and without much of a period where even the possibility of being together is considered. But the insertion of paranormal elements, while exciting, reduces the impact of the romance itself because these elements seem to justify the existence of stereotypical character behaviour in this SWAT series and compromising character depth in favour of plot and action.Tyler's SWAT men are macho and testosterone filled—more so because they’re wolves—with a sexual appetite to boot (and therefore can tomcat around because their ‘primal sides’ need it), yet fall prey to the One woman (instant love) who can and will tame them after they’ve sampled all that other women have to offer, succumbing to several of the biggest clichés in romance in one fell swoop. It’s all attributed to fate rather than deliberate thought or action on the part of the characters, which just feels like a rehash of the romance trope of the free-swinging manwhore who is downed by one woman in the end. In the opening chapters, after a brief explanation of being each other’s high school crushes that ultimately went nowhere, Remy and Triana dance, kiss and already plan for a hookup, effectively cancelling the sexual tension or at least some kind of build-up that could have had the readers on tenterhooks. Much of it is explained as though this hookup is merely a way of seizing the opportunity when they’d missed it so long ago and the chemistry that somehow instantly fizzled between them wasn’t entirely believable, especially not after a huge period of separation and losing touch. Yet it’s as though the years have disappeared and suddenly, physical attraction is king when Triana is no longer the awkward, gangly girl that Remy can find himself ‘safely’ attracted to. Their background is pretty much angst-free, but I had the feeling that getting Remy and Triana together quickly was something get over with (coupled with typical descriptions that no other woman felt like her despite having slept with plenty), rather than it being the main part of the story, considering the action and the werewolf revelation to come, which made their underdeveloped, straight-to-sex relationship sort of trite. Remy’s confession that he’d loved her since high school however, ruined the romance for me as it seemed not only to cheapen his previous relationship with Jess (whom he’d first claimed was the love of his life) but also the ‘one true pairing’ with Triana which he didn’t do a thing about back then. Again, these are clearly my own issues with the SWAT team; ‘Wolf Hunt’ disappointed me in several ways but my fondness for this series means I can't quite let it go…just yet.*ARC by netgalley(still grateful, mind)
    more
  • Katherine Yearwood
    March 28, 2017
    Second chance at love, and renewing old friendships. Wolf Hunt tells the story of Remy Boudreaux another Alpha of the Dallas SWAT team. Remy and his fellow SWAT team are in New Orleans on assistance training assignment. One tantalizing scent latter Remy is on a spiral like none other. But after a mission went wrong and his lover was killed, Remy wanted nothing to do with love. But, Remy has no choice when he found “The One” person who would make his life complete. Wolf Hunt was okay, right on pa Second chance at love, and renewing old friendships. Wolf Hunt tells the story of Remy Boudreaux another Alpha of the Dallas SWAT team. Remy and his fellow SWAT team are in New Orleans on assistance training assignment. One tantalizing scent latter Remy is on a spiral like none other. But after a mission went wrong and his lover was killed, Remy wanted nothing to do with love. But, Remy has no choice when he found “The One” person who would make his life complete. Wolf Hunt was okay, right on par with all the other titles in this series. Only a slight difference there are some people who know that werewolves exist and will stop at nothing to become one. Wolf Hunt is a good action adventure/Paranormal romance. This was a very mild romance compare to her other titles in this series. So, I guess that is another slight difference. But all in all, a great sixth book.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    March 29, 2017
    I liked Remy, especially when he teases his girl, " he chuckled. “Wooing? Is that what I’m doing? I thought I was taking you out for dinner.” Remy seems real upset about his girl not wearing any panties, “I guess that means you’ll just have to go out tonight without any panties,” he said with a deep chuckle. “What a shame.” Remy is not a shy man when it comes to his nakedness, “this is New Orleans, darlin’.” Remy’s mouth twitched. “I doubt anyone will even notice. Besides, it’s dark out.” I love I liked Remy, especially when he teases his girl, " he chuckled. “Wooing? Is that what I’m doing? I thought I was taking you out for dinner.” Remy seems real upset about his girl not wearing any panties, “I guess that means you’ll just have to go out tonight without any panties,” he said with a deep chuckle. “What a shame.” Remy is not a shy man when it comes to his nakedness, “this is New Orleans, darlin’.” Remy’s mouth twitched. “I doubt anyone will even notice. Besides, it’s dark out.” I loved this book, I love the men in this series, I love their animalistic instincts amd behaviors.
    more
  • Beth
    March 14, 2017
    I received this ARC copy of Wolf Hunt from SOURCEBOOKS Casablanca. This is my honest and voluntary review. Wolf Hunt is set for publication June 6, 2017.
  • Dawn
    March 21, 2017
    Rating 3.5This is a great story and I cannot wait to go back and catch up on this series. While I feel like it's important to read a series from the beginning, this book has enough background that it didn't feel like I was missing too much for the story to make sense. Remy and other members of the DPD SWAT team have been sent to New Orleans to help with training. On day one of arriving he scents an smell that leads him on a trail straight to a club where he finds the source of that delicious sme Rating 3.5This is a great story and I cannot wait to go back and catch up on this series. While I feel like it's important to read a series from the beginning, this book has enough background that it didn't feel like I was missing too much for the story to make sense. Remy and other members of the DPD SWAT team have been sent to New Orleans to help with training. On day one of arriving he scents an smell that leads him on a trail straight to a club where he finds the source of that delicious smell, Tiana. Remy and Triana went to school together and their parents were friends but they haven't seen each other since high school. So meeting on his first night visiting for a week was a nice surprise. Triana is back in Louisiana visiting her mom for a week and helping her bestie, Kim, get over a break up. They, along with a few friends, are dancing in a club when all of a sudden her friends stop dancing and are looking over her shoulder. She turns around to find Remy, her friend and the guy she had a crush on throughout high school, right behind her. When he tells her he's there for a week they decide to dance the night away and have some fun catching up. At the same time they have both grown into adult versions of themselves and aren't shy about letting the other know they are interested in more than friends. Things get dicey while helping out NOPD with training and the guys get stuck going after a major figure in the drug world. Triana is trying to find the man who murdered her father a while back and she has hired a private detective to help her. She needs to know the answer to this question and wants someone punished. While she is in New Orleans with her mom, Gemma, someone is trying to force her mom into selling a necklace her dad always wore. She refuses to do so. This leads to threats and violence against her mom. Things are hot and crazy in New Orleans and things are only going to get hotter and crazier before this book is done. I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    April 1, 2017
    A storm is brewing for more than just Louisiana, which is the location of the latest book in the SWAT series. The hunters who have been killing Beta and Omega werewolves all over the US seem to have a reason for their madness that is going to lead to one heck of a showdown in future books. For Wolf Hunt the story is taken out of Texas and moved to New Orleans where Remy Boudreaux is from and where he and a couple of his Dallas SWAT team go for a week of training. They are not in town long before A storm is brewing for more than just Louisiana, which is the location of the latest book in the SWAT series. The hunters who have been killing Beta and Omega werewolves all over the US seem to have a reason for their madness that is going to lead to one heck of a showdown in future books. For Wolf Hunt the story is taken out of Texas and moved to New Orleans where Remy Boudreaux is from and where he and a couple of his Dallas SWAT team go for a week of training. They are not in town long before he picks up a familiar sent a woman, Triana Bellamy, he went to school with. The two never acted on their feelings as teenagers but now the attraction is so strong neither can ignore. Remy and team get embroiled in helping the local PD they are training with in the take down a crime boss. As this is ongoing Triana whose father was brutally killed years ago is searching for answers on who did it. What neither know is there a connection between those two things along with some surprise revelations for Triana. I've always like stories that are in Louisiana which is so culturally diverse. Mixing the voodoo culture with a pack of werewolves makes for a great story. Each of these books seem to be leading up to something big between the Alpha pack and the Hunters. Cant wait to see what's coming next.
    more
  • C bond
    March 18, 2017
    netgalleyan ok read.
  • Kim O'Daniel
    April 6, 2017
    Holly hell what a book! This book is so well written it just flows. And the story is so intriguing. It had me locked in its pages to the end.This story is about Triana and Remy. Remy has been in love before and he never intends to do so again. For to him love means loss. Even when he finds an intriguing scent leads him to his old high school friend and crush. Possibly the mythical One meant for him. Triana is something else smart witty and just perfect for Remy. But she is in danger. She is look Holly hell what a book! This book is so well written it just flows. And the story is so intriguing. It had me locked in its pages to the end.This story is about Triana and Remy. Remy has been in love before and he never intends to do so again. For to him love means loss. Even when he finds an intriguing scent leads him to his old high school friend and crush. Possibly the mythical One meant for him. Triana is something else smart witty and just perfect for Remy. But she is in danger. She is looking for the man responsible for her father’s death and that may be the worst thing she has ever done. She is a CSI in a sense and thinks she can figure it out. But some things are not what they seem and when she finds out her mom’s secret she is truly floored. Then there is her mom, this woman is amazing she runs a voodoo shop in New Orleans. And she seems to know more than the average person. But when Triana gets herself in trouble will Remy be able to save her in time? Now before I ruin this for you I will leave off here. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. If you do like this book, please consider leaving a review. The Authors really like it when you do; they value your opinions too.
    more
  • E Tool
    March 29, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book, another great addition to the series. I loved the setting of new Orleans and it worked well as a setting for Remy the wolf who doesn't want to find love because of a past experience to find his 'one' in Triana.The book has a good mix of romance and a great story. The writing style of Paige Tyler does not disappoint and makes the words flow, causing you to live the story.This story falls in the second chance love genre, and it delivers on plenty of angst as they find t I really enjoyed this book, another great addition to the series. I loved the setting of new Orleans and it worked well as a setting for Remy the wolf who doesn't want to find love because of a past experience to find his 'one' in Triana.The book has a good mix of romance and a great story. The writing style of Paige Tyler does not disappoint and makes the words flow, causing you to live the story.This story falls in the second chance love genre, and it delivers on plenty of angst as they find their way. I also enjoyed the overall story arc over the series and am intrigued as to what is going to happen in the coming stories.Another winner for me, I have no doubts in recommending this series for people to read
    more
  • Margaret
    April 1, 2017
    3-3.5 starsThis is one of those books I would like more if I weren't trying to review it. Enjoyed reading it, but when I think too much I start to find flaws.Full review soon.
  • ~♥Minnie♥~
    March 27, 2017
    *Review coming soon*
  • Ariella
    April 7, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGalley.Review to come soon.
Write a review