Just the Thing (The Donnigans, #2)
A FLING MIGHT BE JUST THE THING... Gavin Donnigan left the Marine Corps a shell of a man, hounded by guilt for deaths he couldn't prevent. But teaching a self-defense class at the local gym brings some stability to his life--along with a gorgeous leggy blonde who won't give him the time of day.Zoe York lost her twin sister to a freak car accident a few months ago. She's been struggling to bury her grief, but it isn't until she signs up for a self-defense class with its distractingly hot instructor that she begins to come out of her shell again. With the memory of her sister telling her to live a little, Zoe decides a fling with buns-of-steel Gavin Donnigan might be just the thing.Soon they're sparring both in and out of the gym. And for the first time in a long time, each is looking forward to tomorrow.The Donnigans series: A Sure Thing (Book 1) Just the Thing (Book 2)The Only Thing (Book 3--coming Fall 2017)Praise for Marie Harte: "A blazing hot, emotionally intense love story...from an author on the rise."--Kirkus for A Sure Thing "This is truly a must read!"--Night Owl Reviews, 5 Stars, Top Pick! for Roadside Assistance "Readers will swoon at the romantic gestures... in this easy-to-read tale of self love, trust and taking chances."--RT Book Reviews for Roadside Assistance

Just the Thing (The Donnigans, #2) Details

TitleJust the Thing (The Donnigans, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN1492631884
ISBN-139781492631880
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, War, Military

Just the Thing (The Donnigans, #2) Review

  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    April 22, 2017
    review to come
  • Cherbourg
    April 3, 2017
    I just can’t finish this one. Between the not so witty dialogue and the wrong kind of sex scene, Just the Thing can be pretty annoying. First of all, the relationship between the main characters, Zoe and Gavin, is not believable. Yes, Gavin is extraordinarily muscled and good looking, “hung like a moose”, but he’s thirty two and acts like he’s ten years younger. I think his one-liners are supposed to be goofy and endearing, but they just remind me of juvenile guys I dated in my twenties. They me I just can’t finish this one. Between the not so witty dialogue and the wrong kind of sex scene, Just the Thing can be pretty annoying. First of all, the relationship between the main characters, Zoe and Gavin, is not believable. Yes, Gavin is extraordinarily muscled and good looking, “hung like a moose”, but he’s thirty two and acts like he’s ten years younger. I think his one-liners are supposed to be goofy and endearing, but they just remind me of juvenile guys I dated in my twenties. They meet in a gym class that Gavin is teaching, and during one of their first moments together he talks about his biceps as Guns of Steel, and names them Sexy and As hell. Yuck. Zoe is a gardener, so Gavin gives her a gardening date in an attempt to be more serious with her, which is great. Not so great? When she gives him a plant he names it Leon because “My plant might smell girlie, and he’s a little purple, but he’s a very masculine flower. You know. ‘Cause he’s mine, and I’m very manly.” Oops, now he sounds ten instead of twenty. Gavin isn’t any more mature in dealing with emotional issues: when he figures out that her twin has died, he thinks to himself “That seriously sucked.” Forgive me if I’m having a difficult time believing that a professional woman in her thirties would be interested any longer than a month in a dude like Gavin.Gavin’s whole frat boy vibe is enhanced by a waaaay too long scene in which his underage brother shows up drunk and puking in the middle of the night.We are told that Gavin and Zoe are both depressed and grieving, but I don’t see much evidence of it beyond a token mention here and there. Gavin, just out of the military, is struggling with PTSD and guilt over surviving when others in his unit did not. Zoe is supposedly heartbroken by the death of her twin sister a mere 2 months ago. Pain and emotional back and forth has kept many romance plots moving along but not this one. Just the Thing goes like this: I’m tormented, you? Yes, me too, now let’s have sex. You still grieving? Yep still grieving, let’s go have sex. I’m still struggling over here, how about you? I’m a mess too, let’s have more sex. At 2/3 of the book, I’m waiting to get any actual angst out of Gavin and Zoe. So the book was just dull, but then there was a sex scene that was so irritating that I gave up completely. Really, we can all admit that this book is written primarily for a female audience. So why in the hell am I treated to such a porn cliché of what men think is sexy? The whole description is generic Porn Scene Number One, and I can see it like a bad video from the disembodied penis point of view. First, Zoe ties up Gavin and seduces him with (no!) a red silk bustier with black garters. After some teasing and oral for her, he comes instantly while she says, “Oh, baby. You’re so big inside me.” Then, after a few reenergizing minutes, she gives him head while staring into his eyes and wearing bright red lipstick. Somewhere in there he mentions her “breasts pleading with me to suck some plump nipplage.” Shudder and recycle.
    more
  • Sheryl
    April 18, 2017
    *4.5 stars**ARC courtesy of Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca*
  • Tina Christopher
    March 30, 2017
    PTSD, family, griefFun, great chemistry, strong supporting characters and crossover between seriesEasy and engaging read, but could put down
  • Heather andrews
    April 23, 2017
    I really liked Gavin he was an amusing man, "she kept trying not to look back at his groin. “Oh, sorry. I don’t mean my ***k. It just does that when you’re around. Kind of like an affectionate salute. I was in the Marine Corps, you know.” There are times Zoe just blows her man's mind, "je opened his eyes to check out her outfit again. “And what you’re wearing? Never, ever get rid of it. I’m thinking of framing it, minus those nipple covers of course. It’ll go on my wall. Right above my bed.” I r I really liked Gavin he was an amusing man, "she kept trying not to look back at his groin. “Oh, sorry. I don’t mean my ***k. It just does that when you’re around. Kind of like an affectionate salute. I was in the Marine Corps, you know.” There are times Zoe just blows her man's mind, "je opened his eyes to check out her outfit again. “And what you’re wearing? Never, ever get rid of it. I’m thinking of framing it, minus those nipple covers of course. It’ll go on my wall. Right above my bed.” I really liked this book, I loved the characters.
    more
  • Becky Burciaga
    April 22, 2017
    The Donnigan family is one of my favorites not only for the storyline and characters themselves, but for the absolutely brilliant writing. So very infrequently do you find a writer who can carry the reader through a myriad of emotions in just a few pages as Ms Harte can. Laughing hysterically one moment, then shedding emotional tears of empathy the next, then back to hilarity in the span of just a few pages is a true gift. Gavin's story is heart wrenching yet filled with humor and passion, Zoe w The Donnigan family is one of my favorites not only for the storyline and characters themselves, but for the absolutely brilliant writing. So very infrequently do you find a writer who can carry the reader through a myriad of emotions in just a few pages as Ms Harte can. Laughing hysterically one moment, then shedding emotional tears of empathy the next, then back to hilarity in the span of just a few pages is a true gift. Gavin's story is heart wrenching yet filled with humor and passion, Zoe was his balm towards healing. Between them there was an electricity that emanated throughout their story. Gavin with his giant heart and playful nature, was the perfect foil to Zoe's seriousness and outrageously blunt demeanor, both of them hiding deep pain. I haven't laugh so hard as I did during Gavin and Zoe's contribution to the prank wars...the pranks are one of the highlights of the Donnigan family...they are over the top hilarious and creative. In the Donnigan family, Ms Harte has created individuals that any reader can relate to and perhaps see a piece of themselves. I look for to the next installment in the series, the ending in this story tee'd up Hope's story perfectly. This advanced reader copy was provided by the Publisher and Netgally, I am voluntarily providing my honest review.
    more
Write a review