Coming Up for Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships—she’s training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic try out, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of the “typical” high school experience she’s missed by being in the pool.Not one to shy away from a challenge, Maggie decides to squeeze the most out of her senior year. First up? Making out with a guy. And Levi could be the perfect candidate. After all, they already spend a lot of time together. But as Maggie slowly starts to uncover new feelings for Levi, how much is she willing to lose to win?

Coming Up for Air Details

TitleComing Up for Air
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 1st, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Fire
ISBN149263011X
ISBN-139781492630111
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Sports and Games, Sports

Coming Up for Air Review

  • Ginger at GReadsBooks.com
    May 31, 2016
    I'm honored to have read an early copy of this & so grateful to Miranda for sharing her words with me. As someone who adores swimming, I really enjoyed reading this novel set amongst the swimmer's world. It's the perfect balance of real life issues that I know teens can identify with, accompanied with a super competitive sport that intensifies the story that much more.
    more
  • Angela
    September 4, 2014
    ohmygod yes please. I'll read anything Miranda Kenneally writes.
  • Ariana
    January 26, 2017
    I loved Catching Jordan and Breathe, Annie, Breathe, but this one here.. oh, it is definitely my top favourite. 5 shiny stars.I loved EVERYTHING about it: the writing, the humor, the characters (one of the best main characters in a contemporary, I absolutely adore her), the storyline, the ending. It is pretty much drama free, even though there is personal or relationship struggle, the characters are mature for their age, there is comunication (even though sometimes they have no idea what they a I loved Catching Jordan and Breathe, Annie, Breathe, but this one here.. oh, it is definitely my top favourite. 5 shiny stars.I loved EVERYTHING about it: the writing, the humor, the characters (one of the best main characters in a contemporary, I absolutely adore her), the storyline, the ending. It is pretty much drama free, even though there is personal or relationship struggle, the characters are mature for their age, there is comunication (even though sometimes they have no idea what they actually want), this is also a book I would also recommend to teens that feel pressured both socially and "professionally ".. there is so much I loved about this book, I am immensely happy and thankful to be given the chance to read it now.And the epilogue, it's all back to the beginning and it is beautiful!If you enjoyed the other companion novels you will adore this one.If you are new to the series I advise you to start with Catching Jordan, the first one in the ‘series’, even though this book can work very well as a standalone. I didn’t read all the books either and I still loved Coming Up for Air to pieces!Full review here.
    more
  • Evelyn Swift (Featherbrained Books)
    February 9, 2017
    Guys, this was so good.Like really, adorably, amazingly good!I wasn’t a huge fan of Catching Jordan, Miranda Kenneally’s first novel in the Hundred Oaks series. When I received this from Netgalley I wasn’t sure what to expect. As someone who absolutely loves swimming, I was hoping this would entice more than football does and I just could not put it down! I seriously read this in one sitting! Although the romance was perfect (who else loves the “best friends to something more” trope?), I was a Guys, this was so good.Like really, adorably, amazingly good!I wasn’t a huge fan of Catching Jordan, Miranda Kenneally’s first novel in the Hundred Oaks series. When I received this from Netgalley I wasn’t sure what to expect. As someone who absolutely loves swimming, I was hoping this would entice more than football does and I just could not put it down! I seriously read this in one sitting! Although the romance was perfect (who else loves the “best friends to something more” trope?), I was absolutely enthralled with Maggie’s competitive swimming world. Maggie is trying to qualify for the Olympics. Her entire life is eating and swimming. Her only free time involves hanging out at the local burger place on Friday night with her three closest friends, Georgia, Hunter and Levi. Levi is her best friend and the most understanding of her schedule as he is a competitive swimmer as well. As Maggie lives vicariously through her friend's lives she realises that she may be missing out of the quintessential high school “experience”. After a disastrous hook-up Maggie decides to ask Levi to help her gain some experience before heading off to college. After he hesitantly agrees the line between friendship and something more becomes blurry.The healthy sex attitude in the novel blew me away. The way the characters, and especially one of the teachers, approached sex was really well done. It wasn’t something to be ashamed of. It wasn’t this crazy secretive thing. No one pretended that teenagers don’t want to experiment and have sex. It was realistic and healthy and just normal. A real breath of fresh air in the YA world and I have to applaud Kenneally for that.Even if you didn’t love Kenneally’s other novels, I would still recommend this. Kenneally does an amazing job of showing us Maggie’s intense routine and it was hard not to admire Maggie’s passion and determination. It really does amaze me that there are people out there this dedicated to their sport. Now I am going to have to go back and read the rest of the Hundred Oak series!|Featherbrained Books Blog | Twitter |
    more
  • Lisa
    March 23, 2017
    Hundred Oaks is back at it with a new sports story! I love how Kenneally always manages to capture an authentic look into the minds of teens.This one lacked a certain depth the others had, but I was hooked until the end, per usual.
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    January 13, 2017
    Miranda Kennealy is one of the most feminist and sex-positive writers out there right now. I love how she explores the decisions girls make and how they feel about relationships while grounding her stories in the athletics world.
  • Arielle ⭐ Cursebreaker ⭐
    February 5, 2017
    I was lucky enough to have started this series last year when I read a really great review of Breathe, Annie, Breathe . While you don't necessarily have to start with book one in this series, the characters in each book do tend to show up in later books. I started in the middle and kind of pinged around, reading the other books as they were available in my library. Some of them I really liked, some of them I liked a little less. Either way, I think this is a really great contemporary YA series. I was lucky enough to have started this series last year when I read a really great review of Breathe, Annie, Breathe . While you don't necessarily have to start with book one in this series, the characters in each book do tend to show up in later books. I started in the middle and kind of pinged around, reading the other books as they were available in my library. Some of them I really liked, some of them I liked a little less. Either way, I think this is a really great contemporary YA series.Coming Up for Air is probably my second favorite book in this series. I liked the main characters, and as my school was small enough to not offer swimming, it was interesting to see how time consuming life as a high schooler can be while being a part of that sport. Actually, pretty much all of these books have something to do with teens balancing school and sports. I appreciated the realism of these books. All of them feature young people with real life relationships, real life intimacy issues, and things that readers could actually relate with and benefit from. All of these are quick and fun reads but books that could actually make a difference in young peoples lives. I'd recommend to nearly anyone who loves contemporaries :)Finally, huge thanks to Sourcebooks Fire and NetGalley for allowing me to read an eARC copy of this book!!
    more
  • Sinead
    January 10, 2017
    Less Reality More Books I have said this about every review of a book in this series, but I don’t care. I love when a new book comes out and I can sit down and binge-read for hours, getting lost in the fantastic, sporty world that Miranda Kenneally has created. I also love that each book features a different girl who’s obsessed with a sport. I’m not a sporty girl at all, so it’s great to get a sense of how dedicated and strong you have to be to swim, play soccer, football, play softball or trai Less Reality More Books I have said this about every review of a book in this series, but I don’t care. I love when a new book comes out and I can sit down and binge-read for hours, getting lost in the fantastic, sporty world that Miranda Kenneally has created. I also love that each book features a different girl who’s obsessed with a sport. I’m not a sporty girl at all, so it’s great to get a sense of how dedicated and strong you have to be to swim, play soccer, football, play softball or train horses.In this book, our main character is Maggie, who is a swimmer. It is her entire life. She breathes, eats, sleeps swimming, because she one day wants to get into the Olympics and that is not done by doing something in halves. I loved seeing how much she adored swimming and didn’t mind waking up at four am to train before school, and just how passionate she was about it. I have a new sense of respect for people competing in the Olympics, competing in any sport, after this book.This whole novel was light and funny and so cute. Maggie has four great friends, who all have sports that they love more than life itself. Levi is her best friend, and he swims with her. They were both such great characters, and had such a great romance. They’re best friends first and foremost, and they won’t let anything stand in the way of that. But when Maggie feels she needs experience in certain areas before she heads off to college, Levi is the one person she feels most comfortable asking for help.This causes their once stable and steady friendship to get a little awkward and a lot emotional, and they both begin to see the other in a new way, and to start feeling emotions neither ever expected to feel in the other. But Miranda handles this new direction in their friendship in such a great way and it felt so real. There was no magic recovery, but their strong bond and friendship was more important than anything else, and that was the one thing they wanted to save.This book was such a worthy edition to the Hundred Oaks series. I also loved that Jordan Woods got a bigger speaking role as Maggie’s school coach, and there was even a special epilogue that I wasn’t expected but adored. Until next time, Hundred Oaks. *special thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Fire for an ARC copy of this book to review*
    more
  • Marieke
    February 12, 2017
    Thanks to the publisher/Netgalley for providing me an eARC. This in no way influenced my oppinion.This story is so cute! Totally what I needed right now. I love fluffy books and this was definitely a fluffy read :) (view spoiler)[ I love the friendship/relationship of Maggie and Levi, it reminded me of my own boyfriend^^ (hide spoiler)]This book is also a bit predictable, but that didn't bother me at all. But that's the reason that this book gets 4 stars. If you love contemporaries, I would sugg Thanks to the publisher/Netgalley for providing me an eARC. This in no way influenced my oppinion.This story is so cute! Totally what I needed right now. I love fluffy books and this was definitely a fluffy read :) (view spoiler)[ I love the friendship/relationship of Maggie and Levi, it reminded me of my own boyfriend^^ (hide spoiler)]This book is also a bit predictable, but that didn't bother me at all. But that's the reason that this book gets 4 stars. If you love contemporaries, I would suggest to read this book!
    more
  • Tifany
    December 31, 2016
    I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review: BOOK: Coming up for Air by Miranda KenneallyRATING: 3.5/5I liked this book, but it wasn't anything special in my opinion. I could definitely relate with Maggie's thoughts and emotions. She was a relatable character. However, I wanted to know more about the other character's backstory. I wanted to know more about Levi, Georgia, and Hunter. I feel like all we knew about them were about their relationships. I didn't feel like they I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review: BOOK: Coming up for Air by Miranda KenneallyRATING: 3.5/5I liked this book, but it wasn't anything special in my opinion. I could definitely relate with Maggie's thoughts and emotions. She was a relatable character. However, I wanted to know more about the other character's backstory. I wanted to know more about Levi, Georgia, and Hunter. I feel like all we knew about them were about their relationships. I didn't feel like they were a tight group even though they meet up every Friday. Although the central focus was on swimming and relationships, I wish there was more to the characters.With all this, I still enjoyed the book. It made me laugh a lot and even cringe (that scene at the supermarket HAHA). It was a fun read that kept me hooked till the end of the novel. Even though there were parts that felt unfulfilling to me in the book, I would still recommend it to others to read.
    more
  • Patricia Riley
    January 5, 2017
    Amazing. Every time I finish one of Miranda's books I'm convinced it is my favorite...and COMING UP FOR AIR keeps the tradition alive. The Hundred Oaks series is in a league of its own. ♡
  • Scrill
    February 3, 2017
    ARC provided by Netgalley for honest review.This was my first Miranda Kenneally book, but I have been eying her work for some a while. Just hadn't had the chance to pick something of hers up. With that being said, I plan on reading more of her work. As a contemporary YA I did enjoy this book. Is it the best next thing? Not really, but it delivers what is to be expected.At the start of this I thought our character was going to be a flawless dedicated swimmer, on her way to the Olympics. What I go ARC provided by Netgalley for honest review.This was my first Miranda Kenneally book, but I have been eying her work for some a while. Just hadn't had the chance to pick something of hers up. With that being said, I plan on reading more of her work. As a contemporary YA I did enjoy this book. Is it the best next thing? Not really, but it delivers what is to be expected.At the start of this I thought our character was going to be a flawless dedicated swimmer, on her way to the Olympics. What I got was an uncomplicated girl except for two things: she was obsessed with besting her rival rather than herself and she had few teenage experiences. Aside from that her life consisted of swim, eat, school, wash, rinse, and repeat. In the meantime, as she's growing up her three best friends somehow manage to balance their athlete life with the experiences we all know shape and mold us from inexperienced kids to adults. So one day, Maggie decides that before she goes to college (which is creeping ever so quickly), that she's got to get a little experience. The only problem is she underestimates the consequences of who she ends up fooling around with and how it will affect her three best friends.The simple writing style of this book made for a very fast, easy read. The content of the book was never too heavy that left you in a pensive mood. A few laugh out loud moments left me grinning well past the embarrassment that Maggie endured as I recalled over and over the awkwardness of her situations. Maturity level seemed a little wishy washy with the characters as theyare 17/18 year olds old enough to mess around and worry about not having any real relationships. Maybe it's because I am an early millennial that I think that the way they handle their sexual conduct and relationships to be more of the level of a college student (granted they are about to graduate and head off to college). I don't mean that I don't think that teens don't explore and mess around, it's just that Kenneally made it sound like it was totally normal for these teens to just hook up with other random athletes at swim meets, etc. Maybe I'm too old fashioned.What I loved about the book was the respect that the athletes had towards their sport. It was sad, yes, that Maggie knew she didn't have any of the normal teenage experiences. However, she knew what she had to do to meet her lifetime goals. "Sacrifice sucks, but sometimes it's necessary to get what you truly need." As the story progresses Maggie has to decided what sort of distractions are healthy for her lifestyle and which are not. Balance in life is essential and she can't just keep having these urges (her words, not mine) distracting her.Anyway, the book was cute. With themes of knowing your boundaries and communicating with your friends/partner about what you are actually feeling/needing along with the one-that-was-there-all-along trope it makes for a great book for any young adult to read.
    more
  • Jess (Cozy Corner Reader)
    January 8, 2017
    Big thanks to Sourcebooks Fire and NetGalley for an ARC copy for reviewI cannot express enough how much I absolutely adore Miranda Kenneally's' Hundred Oaks series! They are seriously my go to books whenever I need cheering up. So when I saw Coming Up For Air on NetGalley, I immediately pushed that request button. This novel was light, funny, charming, and with an adorable romance that Miranda creates everytime, along with a great sports background of swimming. I absoutely love to swim!Both Magg Big thanks to Sourcebooks Fire and NetGalley for an ARC copy for reviewI cannot express enough how much I absolutely adore Miranda Kenneally's' Hundred Oaks series! They are seriously my go to books whenever I need cheering up. So when I saw Coming Up For Air on NetGalley, I immediately pushed that request button. This novel was light, funny, charming, and with an adorable romance that Miranda creates everytime, along with a great sports background of swimming. I absoutely love to swim!Both Maggie and Levi were genuine and likeable characters. I loved the close friendship they had, and it definitely makes me want my very own Levi for myself.  Their connection reminded me of Sam and Jordan (my favorite couple) from the series and it made me smile. But now Maggie needs Levi's help and it involves going beyond friend levels. Things get awkward, sensitive, and emotional for these two. Sometimes I shook my head at their little antics, but then I remember what it's like to be at that age again. Oh the memories..Not to mention Hunter and Georgia, who awesome friends to Levi and Maggie. There were definitely push and pull moments between the characters, but you can't ignore matters of the heart, and it makes the ending well worth it. Plus with that special little epilogue that Miranda added in that made me absolutely ecstatic with joy! Until the next Hundred Oaks adventure.
    more
  • Rowena
    January 24, 2017
    I seriously think that Kenneally should write Hundred Oaks books forever. This was another cute addition to the series and I've got my fingers that Hunter and Georgia will...get their own book. This was fast, fun and too freaking cute.
  • Mayela
    January 22, 2017
    Miranda Kenneally is a must-read YA contemporary author for me, I've read all of her books and thoroughly enjoyed every single one of them because they all have protagonists who are complex, smart, funny women. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to review an ARC of 'Coming Up for Air', for which I thank NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire. In 'Coming Up for Air' Kenneally continues the tradition of having sports be part of the plot and protagonist Maggie King is a dedicated swimmer training to go to t Miranda Kenneally is a must-read YA contemporary author for me, I've read all of her books and thoroughly enjoyed every single one of them because they all have protagonists who are complex, smart, funny women. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to review an ARC of 'Coming Up for Air', for which I thank NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire. In 'Coming Up for Air' Kenneally continues the tradition of having sports be part of the plot and protagonist Maggie King is a dedicated swimmer training to go to the Olympics. I loved seeing an ambitious, focused girl with goals and dreams that she worked hard for and for which she sacrificed traditional teenage experiences. Kenneally does a great job of portraying Maggie's questioning of what she's been missing and whether she can achieve a balance in her life that still lets her get everything she wants. Basically, I loved that this book's message was that "yes, women/girls can have it all-whatever all means for them- if they work hard for it and are flexible and find solutions", something quite different from the constant "no" we get from media. I think it's an important message that should be said more often. As with other Kenneally books, the friends and family of the main character are a constant presence. Maggie's parents, event planners, were funny and supportive and exactly the sort of parents you'd like to have when growing up. Her three friends, all athletes, all brought comic relief and friendship to the story and one of them,Levi, was even the main romantic interest. As for Maggie's and Levi's relationship, I know many people don't like the best friend get together trope but it really worked here and Levi was a great male lead, funny and kind and willing to own up to his mistakes. Maggie's journey is essentially also one of self-esteem, she starts out being very focused on competition, on bettering her rival, on how the outside perceives her and at the end she has a stronger hold of who she is, why she swims, and what it means to compete with yourself and not with others. Another solid YA contemporary from Kenneally, with great characters, and an inspiring plot.
    more
  • Julie
    February 20, 2017
    I really don't know anything about this author or this series. And I'm assuming it's in a series and I'm pretty sure this isn't the first book but I don't know. It's not labeled on Goodreads and since that's basically my Book Reviewer Bible, that's what I go by. If you've ever read any of my reviews, I make it very clear that I don't usually pick up a book in the middle of the series. For the most part, I end up hating myself because I didn't read those first books because even on the self procl I really don't know anything about this author or this series. And I'm assuming it's in a series and I'm pretty sure this isn't the first book but I don't know. It's not labeled on Goodreads and since that's basically my Book Reviewer Bible, that's what I go by. If you've ever read any of my reviews, I make it very clear that I don't usually pick up a book in the middle of the series. For the most part, I end up hating myself because I didn't read those first books because even on the self proclaimed "stand-alone" novels, you do miss out on stuff and your reading experience is so much more rich when you get those first novels under your belt. Now, on very rare occasions, I do break that unwritten rule. Kinda like I did this time. But this time it was not intentional. And I'm kicking myself because I'm wondering if there was another book that came before this one. Am I missing out on important info? Pivotal plot points that would have changed my rating for this book? I have no clue. And I'm not going to search for that info either. It is what it is at this point and I can't unring the 'already read' bell. The story really skipped around and at times was in a super hurry to go where, I don't know. That's why I was wondering if I had missed something that was within the pages of a previous book. The characters were okay but I really know absolutely nothing about swimming except that Michael Phelps is super fast. FYI, that bit of info does not help you in this book. I played sports growing up, so I understood the dedication and how that impacted their character and was the driving force behind who the characters are within these pages. I kind of enjoyed the chemistry between Maggie and Levi but it wasn't anything that really stuck out to me. I didn't really see this as a romance novel as others have classified it. I saw it more as a coming of age story. You experience a big turning point in the lives of these young people and get to watch as they make choices that will impact their future. So from that aspect, it was pretty interesting. Just when I have overcome the skipping around and rushing of the plot, the epilogue comes around. And I didn't understand that AT ALL. It was about characters that I didn't even know! Sure, they mentioned Maggie and Levi but it was nothing like what I love about epilogues. I like getting a peek into the future of the characters that I've fallen in love with. I didn't get that kind of satisfaction and it just cemented my initial feelings on this book. Not for me. * I received this novel in exchange for an honest review *Check out more of my reviews at Little Miss Bookmark!
    more
  • Estelle
    March 9, 2017
    So, so cute.
  • Sharon
    January 4, 2017
    Review: 4.5 out of 5 starsI am such a huge fan of Miranda Kenneally, her books are full of fun, depth, amazingly fabulous characters and storylines that I truly connect with; I was hooked on this book from the very first page and devoured it in one sitting.Coming Up for Air has one of my all-time favourite tropes, best friends to more and I adored how this played out despite the sometimes awkward, cringe worthy and also upsetting moments.Our MC is Maggie who has been training to qualify for the Review: 4.5 out of 5 starsI am such a huge fan of Miranda Kenneally, her books are full of fun, depth, amazingly fabulous characters and storylines that I truly connect with; I was hooked on this book from the very first page and devoured it in one sitting.Coming Up for Air has one of my all-time favourite tropes, best friends to more and I adored how this played out despite the sometimes awkward, cringe worthy and also upsetting moments.Our MC is Maggie who has been training to qualify for the Olympics for as long as she can remember, her best friend is Levi who has already earned his tryout. When Maggie propositions Levi to help her gain experience before heading off to college he hesitantly agrees and this is where things become complicated.Maggie was a fabulous character, passionate and dedicated; she has a select few friends and has devoted her life to swimming but in the process has forgotten to experience fun, daily life because of her strict schedule; Levi was a great friend and support to Maggie and didn’t handle the change in their friendship as much as Maggie did, he was more conflicted but I loved how it all played out.The side characters were all great, the swimming information was engaging and detailed without being too much, I enjoyed the routine and competing parts most; there were also many sweet and funny moments; it all flowed well and came together nicely.One thing that did baffle me a little was the rivalry between Maggie and Roxy; nothing really came of this situation when it was highly focussed on throughout the book, I would have liked a little more closure on this. Coming up for Air is beautifully written and is a wonderful addition to the Hundred Oaks series, I am excited for the next book! The epilogue at the end was also truly special.Thank you to Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy; it is greatly appreciated.
    more
  • Charnell (Reviews from a Bookworm)
    February 6, 2017
    Cutesy contemporary romance. It was okay. Not sure I will review it as I have very little to say about it -maybe a mini review at a later date.
  • Gabrielle
    December 5, 2016
    12/5/16 ooh covers looks real nice. ok, but i would really love to see more POC (MC too!!!) in her series though....like. unless i overlooked and there are...
  • Mary H
    December 5, 2016
    I NEED THIS ON MY BOOKSHELF LIKE YESTERDAY.
  • Trish at Between My Lines
    January 8, 2017
    Review to come but this one is highly recommended if you like books with a sports theme.
  • Maggie
    February 1, 2017
    Thank you to Source Books and NetGalley for this arc copy. I've loved Miranda and her Hundred Oaks series since I picked up the first two a few years ago. There's just something about her writing which makes her an author whose works I'll read no matter what. I slammed down the request button when I saw this book was available, and I screamed with joy when I was approved.Maggie is a dedicated swimmer who has aspirations to become an Olympic team swimmer. She's spent a lot of time swimming and ne Thank you to Source Books and NetGalley for this arc copy. I've loved Miranda and her Hundred Oaks series since I picked up the first two a few years ago. There's just something about her writing which makes her an author whose works I'll read no matter what. I slammed down the request button when I saw this book was available, and I screamed with joy when I was approved.Maggie is a dedicated swimmer who has aspirations to become an Olympic team swimmer. She's spent a lot of time swimming and never really having much of a life outside of the pool. Her best friend Levi also has similar swimming dreams, but he's managed to forge a slight life outside of swimming by hooking up with random girls at swim meets. When Maggie realizes she's missed out on hooking up, she asks Levi to provide with her lessons. I mean, potentially hooking up with your best friend couldn't possibly end badly, right?!I liked how this book deals with teen sexuality realistically. Teens are having sex, and they shouldn't be shamed. They should be given proper sex education and tools for safe sex. This book deals with the topic really well. I wish there'd been more books like this when I was a teenager because I didn't really learn how to be comfortable and unashamed about my own sexual experiences until I was older.This was an adorable story, and I love seeing when other characters pop up in the books. Miranda will definitely remain one of my favorite authors for contemporary YA books as long as she writes them. Also, major kudos for the references to Harry Potter and The Raven Boys! Anyone looking for a book to kick your butt back into reading, look no further than a Miranda Keneally book.
    more
  • Karen
    March 9, 2017
    It so interesting to read how some kids find themselves involved in something at so young that is intense like Levi and Maggie with their swimming. We don't truly understand the sacrifices they make in their childhood experiences and so few really make it as far as Levi and Maggie.I do enjoy this book because Maggie is a great girl with exceptional parents. Her relationship with Levi (& the gang) is pure. There is some amazing humor in this book and sometimes it's quick...Jason swings a padd It so interesting to read how some kids find themselves involved in something at so young that is intense like Levi and Maggie with their swimming. We don't truly understand the sacrifices they make in their childhood experiences and so few really make it as far as Levi and Maggie.I do enjoy this book because Maggie is a great girl with exceptional parents. Her relationship with Levi (& the gang) is pure. There is some amazing humor in this book and sometimes it's quick...Jason swings a paddle board across Maggie's butt almost every chance in a swimming practice scene. Funny. This book reads like an amazing story and is hard to put down. You'll learn about swimming for Olympics trials and how to be OK with yourself but maybe improve a little...ARC NetGalley
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    March 22, 2017
    That was exactly what I expect form Kenneally, and if this is the last Hundred Oak book, I am grateful for that beautiful ending! Full review closer to publication. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
  • Leigh Collazo
    January 28, 2017
    Read in one sitting, and loved it! Full review to come closer to pub date.
  • D.M.
    February 20, 2017
    I was so excited to gain an ARC of this book, and it didn't disappoint. I couldn't put it down.Maggie's life revolves around swim. Eat, sleep, swim and swim some more. She wants to be one of the best, and that means practice, practice and more practice. She hasn't had time to enjoy the normal high school experience. She decides she needs help from her best friend, so Maggie isn't a complete novice by the time she goes to college. Her best friend is also a swimming champion and doesn't have time I was so excited to gain an ARC of this book, and it didn't disappoint. I couldn't put it down.Maggie's life revolves around swim. Eat, sleep, swim and swim some more. She wants to be one of the best, and that means practice, practice and more practice. She hasn't had time to enjoy the normal high school experience. She decides she needs help from her best friend, so Maggie isn't a complete novice by the time she goes to college. Her best friend is also a swimming champion and doesn't have time for a girlfriend, but he likes to hook up. She gets him to give her a few pointers, but the lines become blurred. Her best friend becomes more, and they become unstable. Can they go back? Is there even a forward solution?This book has a lot of swimming in it obviously and shows the dedication needed.I really enjoyed this book. Highly recommended. Thanks, NetGalley. 5 stars out of 5. One to add to the must read pile.
    more
  • salmahsbookshelf
    February 24, 2017
    This was so cute.
  • Shadow Bori
    February 23, 2017
    3.5 starsRtc soon
  • Lannie Dasal
    January 6, 2017
    Maggie struggles with a major competitive complex where she’s constantly comparing herself to others. It was so severe that at a point, I was feeling her self-conscious tendencies and I’m not even in this book. Mainly focusing on coming to terms with herself and her relationship with her best friend, I just wasn’t feeling any of this novel. I personally don’t relate to Maggie’s competitive side or her random “urges” for… uh yeah you get my point.At the same time, I admire Maggie immensely for he Maggie struggles with a major competitive complex where she’s constantly comparing herself to others. It was so severe that at a point, I was feeling her self-conscious tendencies and I’m not even in this book. Mainly focusing on coming to terms with herself and her relationship with her best friend, I just wasn’t feeling any of this novel. I personally don’t relate to Maggie’s competitive side or her random “urges” for… uh yeah you get my point.At the same time, I admire Maggie immensely for her passion and self-determination. While she is competitive, she’s also eager to get better and works immensely hard to do so. She’s very upfront about her feelings and literally lets no BS slide by. She deals with matters in an honest and blunt way, to a point where it may even feel a little awkward.Arc provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Full review to come June 24, 2017.Youtube | Blog | Tumblr | Goodreads
    more
Write a review