Lockdown
A classroom is held hostage by someone with a thirst for revenge in this stunningly intricate, ripped-from-the-headlines novel of rich psychological suspense from the New York Times bestselling author of the Mary Russell mysteries.Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School: a day given to innocent hopes and youthful dreams. A day no one in attendance will ever forget. New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King is an award-winning master of combining rich atmospheric detail with riveting, keen-edged mystery. Now, in her newest standalone novel of psychological suspense, King turns her sharp eye to a moment torn from the headlines and a school under threat. A year ago, Principal Linda McDonald arrived at Guadalupe determined to overturn the school's reputation for truancy, gang violence, and neglect. One of her initiatives is Career Day--bringing together children, teachers, and community presenters in a celebration of the future. But there are some in attendance who reject McDonald's bright vision.A principal with a secret. A husband with a murky past. A cop with too many questions. A kid under pressure to prove himself. A girl struggling to escape a mother's history. A young basketball player with an affection for guns. Even the school janitor has a story he dare not reveal. But no one at the gathering anticipates the shocking turn of events that will transform a day of possibilities into an expolsive confrontation. Tense, poignant, and brilliantly paced, Laurie R. King's novel charts compelling characters on a collision course--a chain of interactions that locks together hidden lives, troubling secrets, and the bravest impulses of the human heart. The award-winning novels of Laurie R. King are . . . "Sharp, inventive and rewarding."--The Seattle Times "Audacious." --Los Angeles Times "Rousing . . . riveting . . . suspenseful." --Chicago Sun-Times "Impossible to put down."--Romantic Times "Beguiling . . . tantalizing."--The Boston Globe "Stunning." --The Christian Science Monitor "Delightful."--Booklist (starred review)

Lockdown Details

TitleLockdown
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherBantam
ISBN0804177937
ISBN-139780804177931
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Thriller, Mystery, Crime, Novels, Contemporary, Suspense

Lockdown Review

  • Bonnie Brody
    May 19, 2017
    Imagine this: A middle school with a diverse ethnic and socio-economic population of students. It is career day and things are getting revved up but it feels like those in charge are preparing for a special ops operation. It might as well be Quantico but the question remains, 'Why"?There are several characters that make up this ensemble novel, each with their own history and secrets. Linda, the principal, has turned Guadalupe School into a viable educational institution. Gordon, Linda's husband, Imagine this: A middle school with a diverse ethnic and socio-economic population of students. It is career day and things are getting revved up but it feels like those in charge are preparing for a special ops operation. It might as well be Quantico but the question remains, 'Why"?There are several characters that make up this ensemble novel, each with their own history and secrets. Linda, the principal, has turned Guadalupe School into a viable educational institution. Gordon, Linda's husband, has some secrets that, if unveiled, will cause havoc in his life. Tio, the janitor, appears to be more than what he is on the surface. He has a close connection to many students and is a man of all trades. Ben, a student basketball star, lives with his very wealthy step-father who he hates. Mina, an Iraqi refugee, must text her mother several times a day to let her know she is safe. Sofia is Mina's best friend and they are very much into their looks and the boys in the school. Nick, an ephemeral young man, is grieving the disappearance of a schoolmate last year and, as he talks to the school psychologist, it becomes obvious that he believes she's entered another dimension of time. Olivia is the police officer responsible for the school. She takes her job seriously and wants career day to proceed without a glitch.Several prominent people are scheduled to speak at career day and the students have signed up for the sessions that most interest them. We know from the first sentence of this book that something untoward will happen. As this sentence states, the notes of Dr. Cassandra Henry, are turned over to the San Felipe Police Department following the Guadalupe Middle School incident. From the beginning, I had to ask myself what this incident would be, why it would occur, and who would be responsible for it. Dr. Henry provides a cast of characters, each with a potential reason for raising havoc or worse.The novel is too choppy. The book is told from various points of view and somehow the ingredients don't meld. I knew what the author was trying to achieve but she fell short. Each character is damaged, but then, what middle school student is not? At that age, students are filled with existential angst. The adults try to read them but they are unreadable. What are the adults' secrets and why do they portend danger for Guadalupe Middle School Career Day?This stand alone novel fails in its attempt to pull together a large group of people. As the principal says, they are all connected by a tapestry of lives and everyone's history is woven together to create a thing of beauty. "Or ugliness sometimes." This book has a good theme at its center but it fails to deliver.
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 17, 2017
    Career Day at Guadalupe Middle SchoolThis story started out kind of slow for me. It took me a while to untangle the characters and figure out their relationships to each other. The story is told from many points of view, which didn't help the bit of a chaotic start.Another reason the book was hard to get into is a formatting style I'm seeing more and more. There was no line spacing between paragraphs and only a one space indent at the start of each new paragraph. This is a difficult style to rea Career Day at Guadalupe Middle SchoolThis story started out kind of slow for me. It took me a while to untangle the characters and figure out their relationships to each other. The story is told from many points of view, which didn't help the bit of a chaotic start.Another reason the book was hard to get into is a formatting style I'm seeing more and more. There was no line spacing between paragraphs and only a one space indent at the start of each new paragraph. This is a difficult style to read. The short chapters with changes in POV actually helped break up what otherwise looks like one solid block of narrative.But I persevered because the story interested me enough to keep going and about 25% in everything started falling in place and I ended up really enjoying the tale.I enjoyed many of the characters and the ending actually surprised me. It went a different direction than I thought it was going to.I received this book from Random House through Net Galley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Charlotte Miller
    May 14, 2017
    New York Times bestselling Laurie R. King never disappoints, and she is at the top of her game with her outstanding standalone psychological thriller Lockdown. It is Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School, a day that starts with students’ dreams of the future and that threatens to end in violent confrontation. There are secrets here, myriad stories woven together of students and staff, people you come to know and care about in a breathtaking read that will keep you up turning pages late into the New York Times bestselling Laurie R. King never disappoints, and she is at the top of her game with her outstanding standalone psychological thriller Lockdown. It is Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School, a day that starts with students’ dreams of the future and that threatens to end in violent confrontation. There are secrets here, myriad stories woven together of students and staff, people you come to know and care about in a breathtaking read that will keep you up turning pages late into the night. For a tightly written, suspense-filled read, this is one that should not be missed. (Advance Reading Copy obtained by request from NetGalley.)
    more
  • Tonstant Weader
    May 22, 2017
    A troubled middle school in a poor urban neighborhood is experiencing a rebirth thanks to a decimated and gifted principal named Linda along with the subtle wisdom of Tío the janitor. Of course, there are others, teachers, parents, students who all contribute to the school coming together in spite of the odds and the odds are tough. A beloved little young girl named Bea has disappeared, nearly breaking her friends, particularly young Nick. Then there was the murder of one student’s babysitter by A troubled middle school in a poor urban neighborhood is experiencing a rebirth thanks to a decimated and gifted principal named Linda along with the subtle wisdom of Tío the janitor. Of course, there are others, teachers, parents, students who all contribute to the school coming together in spite of the odds and the odds are tough. A beloved little young girl named Bea has disappeared, nearly breaking her friends, particularly young Nick. Then there was the murder of one student’s babysitter by another student’s brother and the divided loyalties that created as one student is now testifying against the killer. But it’s Career Day, a special day exploring hopes and dreams as well as the challenges and realities of their futures.The story progresses in several short, short chapters, a tick tock of their lives from midnight to just after noon. There are a few interstitial chapters that give background and context. There are some case notes from Nick’s school counselor. Students are preparing for the day, some with anger and some with fear. Some feel as though today is the day for drastic action. You know something is about to happen, the tension builds inexorably. We follow several students and staff and even a local police officer there to talk about her job for Career Day….and yet I was still surprised. It was always fair, but so surprising.Laurie R. King has created some memorable series characters during her long, impressive writing career. There’s Mary Russell, Sherlock Holme’s fearless and peerless wife. Then there is Kate Martinelli, the San Francisco police detective. She mines the era between the wars with Stuyvesant & Grey. She’s recently moved away from series and Lockdown stands on its own. I will say, though, it was a pleasure to encounter a favorite character from the Kate Martinellis series who pops up to give a little bit of help to the cop.I enjoyed Lockdown very much. The pace kept getting faster and faster and faster. It is an ambitious story and suggests another novel that must be written, the story of Bea. But then I want a sequel with Gordon and Linda, too. So I am greedy. And that brings up the one flaw in Lockdown. It is not one story, it is many stories. There is the school tragedy thriller, the mercenaries and revenge thriller, the haunted house and multiverse adventure, and surely Tío has more stories in him, too. There’s an incomplete quality. We rush headlong to the crisis, then the denouement is wrapped up in a few paragraphs…with a short coda. I think King fell in love with these characters and overloaded this book with too many who are too interesting. I know that’s an odd criticism, I know, but it made the book feel unfinished for me. Which means King needs to get busy and give us more of these endearing people.Lockdown will be released June 13th. I received an e-galley in advance from the publisher through NetGalley.★★★http://tonstantweaderreviews.wordpres...
    more
  • Judy
    May 26, 2017
    First, a thank you to Goodreads Life of a Book Addict for a complimentary copy of "Lockdown. Set aside some time when you start reading this book, because if you are like me you won't get much else done! Tension builds as the book begins in an unusual format. Characters are introduced and the scene set with short (sometimes a page or less) segments. I'm sure some will not like this, but I think it is an effective tool. As I read through the segments, it seemed like short visual scenes rapidly oc First, a thank you to Goodreads Life of a Book Addict for a complimentary copy of "Lockdown. Set aside some time when you start reading this book, because if you are like me you won't get much else done! Tension builds as the book begins in an unusual format. Characters are introduced and the scene set with short (sometimes a page or less) segments. I'm sure some will not like this, but I think it is an effective tool. As I read through the segments, it seemed like short visual scenes rapidly occurring to set the stage for what we believe is coming. From the title and recent experiences in the U.S. on school campuses, we anticipate the future. We learn more about the main character, Principal Linda McDonald, and how she is working to build a community of diverse elements at Guadalupe Middle school. Each character has secrets, problems, and it seems is capable of disrupting the activities of Career Day at Guadalupe. I really enjoyed this stand-alone novel by Laurie King. I think (and hope) I see the possibility of a future novel with these characters. I've not been a fan of King's books with the Sherlock Holmes connection, but have read her earlier crime novels, which incidentally have characters referred to in this book. King's writing is compelling and easy at the same time. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • John
    April 22, 2017
    I have long been a fan of Ms. King and all of her books, series and standalones alike. I am especially fond of her standalone novels, with their richly developed characters and relationships, and a compelling story concomitant. Her latest novel, Lockdown, is another fine example of her storytelling chops and wonderful characters. The narrative format flows in mini-POV chapters, flowing among the characters on a single day, Career Day at a rural middle school, interspersed with requisite back sto I have long been a fan of Ms. King and all of her books, series and standalones alike. I am especially fond of her standalone novels, with their richly developed characters and relationships, and a compelling story concomitant. Her latest novel, Lockdown, is another fine example of her storytelling chops and wonderful characters. The narrative format flows in mini-POV chapters, flowing among the characters on a single day, Career Day at a rural middle school, interspersed with requisite back story vignettes. The narrative format keeps the story unfolding with breathtaking speed, engages and captivates the reader's attention, and concludes aptly. Another winner from a master storyteller, imho!
    more
  • Wendy
    June 1, 2017
    WooHoo! I won a GR Giveaway copy of this book. I enjoyed King's Mary Russell novel (I've only read one so far), so am excited to read this new stand-alone book!
  • Stephanie
    May 14, 2017
    I live on the Central Coast of California, where it’s borderline heresy to be anything less than a huge fan of beloved local author Laurie King. True confession time: I admit it, I tried a couple of her books and they just didn’t grab me. But seeing that her latest book, Lockdown, was subtitled “A Novel of Suspense,” and that it was set in a middle school in a small rural town on the central coast (that sounded eerily like the one where my husband worked for many years) made me LEAP at the oppor I live on the Central Coast of California, where it’s borderline heresy to be anything less than a huge fan of beloved local author Laurie King. True confession time: I admit it, I tried a couple of her books and they just didn’t grab me. But seeing that her latest book, Lockdown, was subtitled “A Novel of Suspense,” and that it was set in a middle school in a small rural town on the central coast (that sounded eerily like the one where my husband worked for many years) made me LEAP at the opportunity to read an advance copy! (Thanks to NetGalley and Random House – Ballantine.)The setting is Guadalupe Middle School, where Principal Linda McDonald (who has been in charge for the past year) has been working tirelessly to change the culture from that of a gang-ridden, crime infested school to…something else. The story takes place on a single day, with flashback chapters interspersed to present the backstories for some of the characters (including Linda and her husband Gordon, who routinely helps out and supports his wife in her professional endeavor). Another main character is local cop Olivia, who intuits that Gordon has a mystery that might be revealed if she were to use her law enforcement resources to do some sleuthing. As Linda gets to school, it is the morning of her long-awaited undertaking: Career Day, when she hopes to present students with ideas and options that might inspire them to escape their environment. “They gym would be packed to the rafters with seven hundred-plus adolescents, on the brink of boiling over, into impatience, mockery, even the violence that was never far away.” The students are “ages eleven to fourteen. Half child, half adult, all hormones and passion…” One of the invited speakers, Thomas Atcheson, who plans to speak about the tech industry, has a different perspective: “”Career Day.” What an exercise in futility! Urging ill-trained children to become entrepreneurs was like telling finger-painters to aim for the Sistine Chapel: those with drive required no encouragement.”Other important characters include the Coach and several students: the basketball star, the cousin of the gang member on trial for murdering a beautiful young girl, and the victim’s sister. Then there is the janitor, an immigrant who has a secret and takes a huge interest in the community. Told from alternating perspectives, the story of Guadalupe’s Career Day its effect on several people’s lives, is filled with tension, mystery and outstanding character development. I love the way Ms. King presented the school in a way that anyone who has worked with students in middle or high school will recognize: ”…even the oldest, most sneering of these adolescents harbored secret pockets of hope, a hidden belief that the world might still hold out an outstretched hand in place of a fist.”Impossible to say more without spoiling, which I NEVER do! But it’s well written, a relatively quick read with memorable characters. Five stars.
    more
  • Jennifer Shanahan
    May 16, 2017
    I got an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my review. I did not love this book as apparently every other person who reviewed it on GR did. There were many different points of view involved and for the most part, each chapter was from a different character's perspective. It was really confusing at first and it took me a LONG time to get into it. I thought there was way too much backstory about how Linda and Gordon met, and what Gordon's history held (although that part was pretty va I got an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my review. I did not love this book as apparently every other person who reviewed it on GR did. There were many different points of view involved and for the most part, each chapter was from a different character's perspective. It was really confusing at first and it took me a LONG time to get into it. I thought there was way too much backstory about how Linda and Gordon met, and what Gordon's history held (although that part was pretty vague even though it figured prominently in the unfolding present day story). Also, the whole secondary story line about the disappearance of Bea Cuomo really muddled the rest of the story and seemed to have little to do with the current situation, except that she had joined some of the kids in friendship and strengthened their personalities at school, in her absence. I felt like I didn't get enough info on the characters in the present day especially Brandon who figured largely in the end of the story. I knew more about Olivia, Linda and Gordon and while it was interesting, it didn't really matter in the current situation that much. I was actually annoyed when the writer flashbacked to Tom Atcheson's history during the most exciting action scene in the book. I read it because it told me more about him, but at that point I just wanted to finish the book. I was completely unsatisfied with the ending except that the kids were all ok for the most part and had moved on with their lives. Not sure if I will read another by Ms. King, but she has so many positive reviews that I am guessing another book of her might be better for me to read. I am really surprised at home many people loved this book and gave it 5 stars. It barely got 3 from me. And I read A LOT, like a book a day.
    more
  • Darcia Helle
    May 18, 2017
    I wish I could join in the praise for this book. Laurie King has an engaging writing style that I truly enjoyed reading. She has the ability to put me right in the moment with the characters, so I feel their emotions and the turmoil of the situation. Unfortunately, this story just didn't work for me stylistically.Virtually every character in this book has a narrating part, and there are a lot of characters. We shift narrator every few pages. The switch is clear, as the chapter heading gives us t I wish I could join in the praise for this book. Laurie King has an engaging writing style that I truly enjoyed reading. She has the ability to put me right in the moment with the characters, so I feel their emotions and the turmoil of the situation. Unfortunately, this story just didn't work for me stylistically.Virtually every character in this book has a narrating part, and there are a lot of characters. We shift narrator every few pages. The switch is clear, as the chapter heading gives us the narrator's name, but for me these short vignettes lacked the coherent feel of a solid story. Most of the characters don't start intersecting paths until halfway through the book. Each section on its own is a compelling read, but there are too many things going on. It's a bit of sensory overload.To further hinder the story's flow, we also have quite a few flashbacks. We go back thirty years, in several different chapters, to see how a particular couple met. While some of that information eventually plays into the present timeline, it detracted too much from the immediacy of the story. Then we also go back eleven months for another character's memories. The interruptions in the present timeline, combined with the ever-revolving cast of characters feels too disjointed, making it difficult for me to focus and stay connected. I respect the author's approach here. Individually, each character fascinated me. But, as a whole, the story didn't move me as it otherwise could have.*I received an advance review copy from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Merrily
    May 15, 2017
    “Lockdown” is not the book you expect it to be – in a good way. When I started reading it, I thought I’d be reading a suspense story set in the midst of a situation with which we’ve all become too familiar: an armed intruder in a school. There is suspense, all right, but it’s more like the slow onset of a deadly fever, a serious of interlocking stories all leading up to an explosion – but not, perhaps, the one you’re expecting. The teachers, students and citizens around the Guadalupe Middle Scho “Lockdown” is not the book you expect it to be – in a good way. When I started reading it, I thought I’d be reading a suspense story set in the midst of a situation with which we’ve all become too familiar: an armed intruder in a school. There is suspense, all right, but it’s more like the slow onset of a deadly fever, a serious of interlocking stories all leading up to an explosion – but not, perhaps, the one you’re expecting. The teachers, students and citizens around the Guadalupe Middle School on Career Day are all ordinary people, but like most ordinary people they have secrets, large and small, sinister and loving, surprising - and suspected. The question is which of these secrets will drive someone to kill? And who is the hero, who the villain? “Lockdown” keeps you guessing all the way through, and at the same time leads you to care deeply about the people you meet, from the principal with the colorful and widely travelled past to the student who may (or may not) have had a paranormal encounter. I want to read “Lockdown” again, because it’s so rich a book that I suspect I missed a number of good tidbits! I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Sharon Siepel
    May 20, 2017
    The suspense was killing me. There is going to be a shooting at Guadalupe Middle School, but who is responsible? Is it the traumatized child? Gang payback? International mercenaries? A disgruntled employee? The rebellious teen? You really don't know close to the end of the book. The story follows several people the day of the incident, starting early in the morning. Flashbacks help you piece together character's background.I found the characters unusual and interesting. The suspense of the day k The suspense was killing me. There is going to be a shooting at Guadalupe Middle School, but who is responsible? Is it the traumatized child? Gang payback? International mercenaries? A disgruntled employee? The rebellious teen? You really don't know close to the end of the book. The story follows several people the day of the incident, starting early in the morning. Flashbacks help you piece together character's background.I found the characters unusual and interesting. The suspense of the day kept me reading, although some of the flashbacks really slowed the pace down. There were some lose or hastily tied together strings at the end that were a bit frustrating, but I was okay with the overall resolution. Being both a mother of teens and a substitute teacher, I find the subject of school violence terrifying. Ms. King handles the subject well, without being overly graphic or romanticising .If you are a fan of her Mary Russell novels, you will find the style of this book to be completely different. Not just in context, but in pace and structure.
    more
  • Milli (MiracleMilliReads)
    May 16, 2017
    GET THIS BOOK AND READ IT NOW!!!!Linda McDonald was the new principal who tries her hardest to turn the school around from gangs and drugs. Linda was married to Gordon who was really creepy and hid a lot of secrets. Sergeant Olivia Mendez arrived at the school for career day at Guadalupe Middle School when it was forced to be on lock down. As the story unravels, we see the secrets and precise personalities of all the different perspectives this story was told in. This story was well written and GET THIS BOOK AND READ IT NOW!!!!Linda McDonald was the new principal who tries her hardest to turn the school around from gangs and drugs. Linda was married to Gordon who was really creepy and hid a lot of secrets. Sergeant Olivia Mendez arrived at the school for career day at Guadalupe Middle School when it was forced to be on lock down. As the story unravels, we see the secrets and precise personalities of all the different perspectives this story was told in. This story was well written and amazingly executed! The suspense and psychological thrill of each character had me going nuts. I could not put this book down and it was just so exciting. It was a little fast paced, but well put together. We learned a lot of back stories on the different characters and ow there story unravels throughout this book.https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCADH...
    more
  • Brooke
    May 14, 2017
    When they say "a novel of suspense," they mean it! I've long been a devotee of the Mary Russell series but was never able to get into King's other books so I thought I'd try again with this latest offering. In the hands of a lesser writer, the multiple points of view and array of backstories would have quickly gone wrong, but King immediately draws the reader in with a solidly crafted web of characters and secrets. I did guess the main whodunit and was a bit disappointed that a few of the backst When they say "a novel of suspense," they mean it! I've long been a devotee of the Mary Russell series but was never able to get into King's other books so I thought I'd try again with this latest offering. In the hands of a lesser writer, the multiple points of view and array of backstories would have quickly gone wrong, but King immediately draws the reader in with a solidly crafted web of characters and secrets. I did guess the main whodunit and was a bit disappointed that a few of the backstories and current situations were left with no further explanation while another was very neatly tied up, but overall this was a thrilling read and one of those books I couldn't wait to get back to whenever I had to set it aside.
    more
  • Wright
    June 1, 2017
    I had some trepidation about a book centered around a middle school and some catastrophic event. What I wasn't prepared for was the chapter by chapter change of voice and at times, timeline. That was difficult for me to read and absorb. It took me almost 60% of the book to sort everyone out and know how they all tied together.The theme of the Guadalupe Middle School career day was how in a tapestry each tiny thread was an integral part of the whole. This book has a smashing last 100 pages, leadi I had some trepidation about a book centered around a middle school and some catastrophic event. What I wasn't prepared for was the chapter by chapter change of voice and at times, timeline. That was difficult for me to read and absorb. It took me almost 60% of the book to sort everyone out and know how they all tied together.The theme of the Guadalupe Middle School career day was how in a tapestry each tiny thread was an integral part of the whole. This book has a smashing last 100 pages, leading the reader to a conclusion with filled with horror, hope, and the strength individuals can gain from caring for each other. Well worth the read as the ending left me feeling uplifted. What could have been a tragedy was rather a rebirth for many at that school at that moment in time.
    more
  • Jo Ann
    May 31, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley.I have read many of Laurie R. King's other books and have really enjoyed them. Unfortunately, this one fell short. Not much happens for the first 3/4 of the book. The story is told in snippets from each character separated by longer flashbacks. There were too many characters and they really were not developed. Although the final attack on the school is foreshadowed throughout the story, the actual perpetrator is somewhat of a surprise.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 11, 2017
    Lockdown: A Novel of SuspenseBy:Laurie R. KingWhat's it's about:Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School: a day given to innocent hopes and youthful dreams. A day no one in attendance will ever forget. New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King is an award-winning master of combining rich atmospheric detail with riveting, keen-edged mystery. Now, in her newest standalone novel of psychological suspense, King turns her sharp eye to a moment torn from the headlines and a school under threat. A Lockdown: A Novel of SuspenseBy:Laurie R. KingWhat's it's about:Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School: a day given to innocent hopes and youthful dreams. A day no one in attendance will ever forget. New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King is an award-winning master of combining rich atmospheric detail with riveting, keen-edged mystery. Now, in her newest standalone novel of psychological suspense, King turns her sharp eye to a moment torn from the headlines and a school under threat. A year ago, Principal Linda McDonald arrived at Guadalupe determined to overturn the school's reputation for truancy, gang violence, and neglect. One of her initiatives is Career Day--bringing together children, teachers, and community presenters in a celebration of the future. But there are some in attendance who reject McDonald's bright vision.A principal with a secret. A husband with a murky past. A cop with too many questions. A kid under pressure to prove himself. A girl struggling to escape a mother's history. A young basketball player with an affection for guns. Even the school janitor has a story he dare not reveal. But no one at the gathering anticipates the shocking turn of events that will transform a day of possibilities into an expolsive confrontation. My thoughts:3.5 starsIt was a little confusing and left some unanswered questions . With that said I would like to think NetGalley for giving me the chance to read it in a change for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Donna Davis
    May 6, 2017
    When a book is this outstanding, I get to shift gears and rather than reviewing in the strictest sense--the good parts, the bad parts--I can just focus on promotion. Get the book, get the book, get the book. Those of you that love DRCs may still be able to score one of these at Net Galley. My full promotional review will be up a little closer to the pub date.
    more
  • Jay
    May 19, 2017
    I really liked this book. I can't go into too much detail since I got this as an advance copy and I'm doing a review of it for a magazine. I'll be sure to update this once I have a link to the actual review.
  • CynnieRose
    March 31, 2017
    This book...this book! I think many good books are suspenseful but Lockdown?!? Could hardly catch my breath.
  • Karyn Niedert
    March 31, 2017
    Laurie R. King’s books are always a favorite of mine, and the opportunity to read “Lockdown” came just as a bought of bad weather was hitting my little area in Kentucky. This book, a nasty storm rolling through, and a quiet afternoon was very soothing to my soul. Once again, King didn’t disappoint.Principal Linda McDonald has been in charge of Guadalupe Middle School for the past year, working tirelessly to transform it from a gang-ridden, crime infested school. Her husband, the charming but mys Laurie R. King’s books are always a favorite of mine, and the opportunity to read “Lockdown” came just as a bought of bad weather was hitting my little area in Kentucky. This book, a nasty storm rolling through, and a quiet afternoon was very soothing to my soul. Once again, King didn’t disappoint.Principal Linda McDonald has been in charge of Guadalupe Middle School for the past year, working tirelessly to transform it from a gang-ridden, crime infested school. Her husband, the charming but mysterious Gordon, helps out and supports his wife in her endeavor. Unfortunately, this may ultimately cause the unravelling of their four year marriage. Nosy and astute cop Olivia knows that there’s more to Gordon than meets the eye, but nothing prepares her for what’s about to happen at Guadalupe.Told from alternating perspectives, the story of Guadalupe’s Career Day and how it changes people’s lives forever, was told in tantalizing bits and pieces. Backstories abounded, and the explosive conclusion took me by surprise. Few writers can bamboozle me, but King’s writing did it in a way that I didn’t feel cheated or bamboozled. Each character was developed to lead readers right along the story. There was a bit of a mystery within this mystery that was hauntingly left open to reader’s interpretation/expectation. The expected publication date for this latest book from King, June 13 of 2017, makes this a perfect book to take to the beach. I encourage all my mystery loving friends to read this book the first chance they get.
    more
  • Melissa Rothman
    May 14, 2017
    I received this book in a giveaway and was very excited about it however it let me down. I tried very hard to even make it half way and still couldn't make it all the way. I have read books before with different character point of views but this one took it to far for my liking. every other page was a different person and made it overkill. had it not switched off so much I think I could have got in to the book so much better. I like the plot line but that was a bout it even the cover was pretty I received this book in a giveaway and was very excited about it however it let me down. I tried very hard to even make it half way and still couldn't make it all the way. I have read books before with different character point of views but this one took it to far for my liking. every other page was a different person and made it overkill. had it not switched off so much I think I could have got in to the book so much better. I like the plot line but that was a bout it even the cover was pretty dry to me this was definitely not my cup of tea!
    more
  • Savanah Rae
    April 18, 2017
    I received this book for from Netgalley in return for my honest opinion.I didn't think I would like this book because I couldn't get into it at first, I had to walk away and then come back to the book but I am glad I did!!! So glad. It's so good!!!This is a standalone book from Laurie R. King book that is worth the read.The principal has a secret, a husband has a shady past, A cop with too many questions, a kid under pressure to prove himself. Everyone has secrets. Who's secret is most dangerous I received this book for from Netgalley in return for my honest opinion.I didn't think I would like this book because I couldn't get into it at first, I had to walk away and then come back to the book but I am glad I did!!! So glad. It's so good!!!This is a standalone book from Laurie R. King book that is worth the read.The principal has a secret, a husband has a shady past, A cop with too many questions, a kid under pressure to prove himself. Everyone has secrets. Who's secret is most dangerous...No one expects the shocking turn of events when it comes down to the explosive conformation.You won't be able to put this book down once you get started. Read about the gangs, the violence and why everyone has such big secrets.
    more
Write a review