Here and Gone
Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.. It begins with a woman fleeing through Arizona with her kids in tow, trying to escape an abusive marriage. When she's pulled over by an unsettling local sheriff, things soon go awry and she is taken into custody. Only when she gets to the station, her kids are gone. And then the cops start saying they never saw any kids with her, that if they're gone than she must have done something with them... Meanwhile, halfway across the country a man hears the frenzied news reports about the missing kids, which are eerily similar to events in his own past. As the clock ticks down on the search for the lost children, he too is drawn into the desperate fight for their return.

Here and Gone Details

TitleHere and Gone
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherCrown Publishing Group (NY)
ISBN0451499573
ISBN-139780451499578
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Suspense, Mystery Thriller, Crime, Psychological Thriller, Adult, Contemporary

Here and Gone Review

  • Deanna
    May 8, 2017
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...4.5 StarsAfter reading just a few sentences of the description for "Here and Gone", I knew it was a book I wanted to read. The plot sounded intriguing and I was pretty sure I was going to enjoy it.I was right. After reading only a few pages I was totally engrossed in this story. It was INTENSE.The book opens as Audra Kinney and her two children are driving through Arizona on their way to California. The land is so beautiful My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...4.5 StarsAfter reading just a few sentences of the description for "Here and Gone", I knew it was a book I wanted to read. The plot sounded intriguing and I was pretty sure I was going to enjoy it.I was right. After reading only a few pages I was totally engrossed in this story. It was INTENSE.The book opens as Audra Kinney and her two children are driving through Arizona on their way to California. The land is so beautiful that she can almost pretend they're sightseeing. But this is no pleasure trip. The farther away she gets from New York and her abusive husband the better. Traveling with her eleven-year-old son, Sean and three-year-old daughter, Louise. She's keeping an eye out for any law-enforcement vehicles. Audra's not sure if they are looking for her yet but she doesn't want to take chances.If only she hadn't had to run.Technically she hadn't had to run....yet. Waiting to see what the courts decided in regards to custody of her children. But in the end she just couldn't wait. She packed up and headed for safety in California.It's only five more miles to a motel where they can stop for the night. A good night sleep and a shower is all Audra wants. But when she looks in her rear-view mirror her heart jumps into her throat. A police cruiser is behind her. She hopes he just wants to pass her but those hopes are dashed when he flashes his lights and indicates that she should pull over. It's the local sheriff. What starts as a routine stop ends up with Audra being taken into custody.The Sheriff calls a female officer to come and take care of the children. I could feel Audra's panic, the children's panic.....what is going on? As Audra was trying to calm herself by taking deep breaths, I found myself doing the same.The story is told from multiple points of view. We hear from Audra's son, Sean. This kid was impressive. Sean is eleven years old but wise beyond his years. When the Sheriff puts his mom in the back of the cop car, Sean tries to keep it together for his little sister. But when the Sheriff tells him everything is going to be alright....Sean just doesn't believe him. He sees something in the sheriff's eyes when he looks at him and Louise, something that terrifies him.There are also emails and reports in between chapters. These add more to the story and give readers an idea of where things are heading.Audra feels helpless and alone, but she knows she has to be strong for her children. We learn more about her past and just how diabolical her husband is. But she may not be as alone as she thinks. Across the country someone sees the TV coverage about Audra and her missing children. Something similar happened in their own past which makes them want to reach out to help.I really liked the authors writing style and the plot kept me in suspense the entire time. The characters were very well written and I liked the pace of the book. Some of the content can be very difficult to read. It's dark and disturbing, but I felt that the author handled it well and didn't overdo it with too much detail.Here and Gone was the kind of book that had me thinking about it even when I wasn't reading it. A thrilling and compelling read, that I highly recommend. I look forward to reading more from Haylen Beck. Thank you NetGalley and Crown publishing, for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Fran
    January 18, 2017
    Audra Kinney with her children in tow; son Sean, eleven and daughter Louise,six, clutching stuffed bunny Gogo are on the run. Travelling from New York en route to new beginnings, the family stops at a roadside shop in the Arizona desert for drinks and snacks. Eighteen months ago, Audra had fled from abusive husband Patrick and is constantly looking over her shoulder. Patrick has now enlisted the help of Child Services in an attempt to obtain custody of both Sean and Louise. It is understandable Audra Kinney with her children in tow; son Sean, eleven and daughter Louise,six, clutching stuffed bunny Gogo are on the run. Travelling from New York en route to new beginnings, the family stops at a roadside shop in the Arizona desert for drinks and snacks. Eighteen months ago, Audra had fled from abusive husband Patrick and is constantly looking over her shoulder. Patrick has now enlisted the help of Child Services in an attempt to obtain custody of both Sean and Louise. It is understandable that Audra is nervous when she notices a police vehicle parked at the roadside shop.On the desolate Arizona road, Audra is followed and pulled over by Sheriff Robert Whiteside. He states that her car is overloaded, possibly causing it to veer out of control on the bumpy road. He insists upon carrying some of her possessions in his cruiser to the nearby town of Silver Water. While transferring boxes, Whiteside finds excessive amounts of marijuana in her vehicle and arrests her for possession. Deputy Collins will be called in to watch Sean and Louise while things are sorted out. He assures Audra that, "Everything will be alright". After being booked Audra asks the sheriff, "Where are my children?" His answer, "What children?" Audra's nightmare has begun.Author Haylen Beck has created a tense, fast-paced thriller. From the get-go, the reader sympathizes with Audra, fearing for the safety of the children. Her uphill battle is wrought with continual accusations by her ex-husband, child services and law enforcement. "Here and Gone" is a gem of a thriller.It would play well on the big screen!Thank you Crown Publishing and Net Galley for the opportunity to read and review "Here and Gone".
    more
  • Dem
    May 5, 2017
    Here and Gone by author Hayley Beck is what I would describe as a really good back to basics thriller that manages create suspense without the any gimmicks which for me is how a good thriller should read.Audra has taken the plunge and finally made a decision that she thinks is best for her and her children after years of turmoil in her life she makes a long car journey to find a safe haven and to create a fresh start for her and her children, but stopped by a police car on an empty road in Arizo Here and Gone by author Hayley Beck is what I would describe as a really good back to basics thriller that manages create suspense without the any gimmicks which for me is how a good thriller should read.Audra has taken the plunge and finally made a decision that she thinks is best for her and her children after years of turmoil in her life she makes a long car journey to find a safe haven and to create a fresh start for her and her children, but stopped by a police car on an empty road in Arizona her worst nightmare is about to begin.I loved the shocking opening scene in this novel, well written and plotted and while we learn quite bit in the first few chapters the author very cleverly still creates quite a bit of suspense in the story and I found myself totally caught up in the dark secrets and nightmare scenario. A well written and enjoyable thriller which I think many will enjoy as it doesn't rely on gimmicks or graphic detail or sto grab the readers attention.This is my second novel by this author and I look forward to reading more of his books.My thanks to Penguin books for an advanced copy in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Maureen
    March 26, 2017
    Law enforcement officers wouldn't have anything to do with your children going missing would they? Well the corrupt officers in 'Here And Gone' would, as Audra Kinney is about to find out!Audra is stopped by the local sherriff whilst travelling through Arizona. She and her two children are fleeing an abusive marriage, but she's about to face what can only be described as a mother's worst nightmare.The sherriff takes her into custody on a flimsy jumped up charge and calls for another officer to t Law enforcement officers wouldn't have anything to do with your children going missing would they? Well the corrupt officers in 'Here And Gone' would, as Audra Kinney is about to find out!Audra is stopped by the local sherriff whilst travelling through Arizona. She and her two children are fleeing an abusive marriage, but she's about to face what can only be described as a mother's worst nightmare.The sherriff takes her into custody on a flimsy jumped up charge and calls for another officer to take the children somewhere safe while he deals with Audra. When they get to the station Audra demands to know where her children are, and that's when it all starts to go terribly wrong.Oh boy, this was edge of the seat stuff as the race begins to find out what happened to Audra's children, and it takes us to some very dark places along the way. It was a cracking thriller where the pace never let up. It's not difficult to experience the gut wrenching fear that Audra has to endure, not least that the finger of suspicion points to her, the consensus being that she's harmed her own children. The author has created a nerve jangling storyline and by the time I'd finished, I felt like I'd been through the washing machine and thrown out on full spin!Very dark and scary theme but very good!*Thank you to Random House UK, Vintage Publishing for my ARC in exchange for an unbiased review*
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    February 19, 2017
    Oh I LOVED this one. Well, you know, I use the word loved to mean it destroyed me and stole a few hours of my life then spat me out ragged the other side. One sitting, totally immersive, bang on the money thriller with heart. Just load up on the sugar and dive right in (the slight sugar rush might be running this review too)So Here and Gone has a hugely emotional core, missing children, now in danger – of course its going to get you right by the throat. What helps that along and makes it so darn Oh I LOVED this one. Well, you know, I use the word loved to mean it destroyed me and stole a few hours of my life then spat me out ragged the other side. One sitting, totally immersive, bang on the money thriller with heart. Just load up on the sugar and dive right in (the slight sugar rush might be running this review too)So Here and Gone has a hugely emotional core, missing children, now in danger – of course its going to get you right by the throat. What helps that along and makes it so darned addictive is the near perfect pacing, the highly intriguing and resonant characters and that indefinable something that means you just CANNOT put it down.I always think its clever when an author manages to make a book fairly rock along, but still keeps the heart and soul in it. Here and Gone is a book that you feel – from the opening pages when Audra is making her tentative but determined escape from an abusive marriage you just get enveloped right into it. Then the heart stopping moment when she loses sight of her kids stays with you from that moment and as events unfold you spend half the time wanting to clap your hands over your eyes, wondering what fresh hell Audra will face next. The plotting is tight, intense and utterly riveting, the final few chapters I barely drew breath for and in the end you let out a huge sigh of…well you’ll have to read it to find out but the whole thing was completely traumatic – reading trauma. Its what I live for.Oh that Sheriff, I wanted to poke him with red hot pokers. Danny I adored. Audra was a particularly strong character because her flaws were on display for the world to see but she had that tough inner core that just resonates so you are with her all the way. And she wasn’t stupid. You know? Sometimes in thrillers like this the main protagonist is so stupid you want to throttle them, but Here and Gone has a healthy dose of reality that just feeds into the wider drama.Things I wish would happen now.Danny would get his own book series.I could see what Audra does next.Patrick’s mother falls down a well and Lassie never comes. (remember the whole sugar rush thing)Seriously though, Here and Gone is a very clever, very emotive, highly charged read that will mess with your head and keep you up at night. The themes running underneath the thrill ride are hard hitting and distressing. None of it is impossible. All of it is compelling. Overall Here and Gone is a purely dazzling read.I thought I would probably like it, this being the pseudonym of an author I’m already a fan of – but you can never be quite sure when these authors go rogue and write something different whether they really should be doing that or not. In this case the answer is a hugely resounding YES. So do it again please.An edge of the seat full on emotional blast of a novel.Highly Recommended.
    more
  • Louise Wilson
    February 18, 2017
    Audra Kenney has escaped the abusive marriage she was in and is now trying to build her relationship with her children. En route to a friends house, while crossing Arizona, Audra is pulled over by Sheriff Whiteside. When searching her car he finds a bag of marijuana. He radios his colleague, Deputy Collins to come pick up her kids while Audra is taken into police custody, and her car is taken away for forensics. But when Audra asks later to see her children......We explore a very serious subject Audra Kenney has escaped the abusive marriage she was in and is now trying to build her relationship with her children. En route to a friends house, while crossing Arizona, Audra is pulled over by Sheriff Whiteside. When searching her car he finds a bag of marijuana. He radios his colleague, Deputy Collins to come pick up her kids while Audra is taken into police custody, and her car is taken away for forensics. But when Audra asks later to see her children......We explore a very serious subject matter in this story. With its fast pace set from the beginning it quickly had me caught up in it. It's characters are believable. I found this gritty, well written book hard to put down, and the ending did not disappoint. Highly recommend.I would like to thank NetGalley, Random House UK, Vintage Publishing and the author Haylen Beck for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karen
    May 24, 2017
    HERE AND GONE BY HAYLEN BECKI LOVED HERE AND GONE BY HAYLEN BECK!!!!!! I have read a ton of psychological thrillers and I can count on one hand the most memorable and stunning ones. This is one of them that is a pure joy to read throughout the whole book. The suspense starts out in the beginning and doesn't let go until the end of the book. Although its subject matter is disturbing the author manages to not over do it in any way. This is one book that once you pick it up you had better clear you HERE AND GONE BY HAYLEN BECKI LOVED HERE AND GONE BY HAYLEN BECK!!!!!! I have read a ton of psychological thrillers and I can count on one hand the most memorable and stunning ones. This is one of them that is a pure joy to read throughout the whole book. The suspense starts out in the beginning and doesn't let go until the end of the book. Although its subject matter is disturbing the author manages to not over do it in any way. This is one book that once you pick it up you had better clear your schedule because you won't be able to put this one down.It is totally realistic and scary that this type of situation exists in reality. We might not always hear about it but child trafficking does happen and it does occur on the dark web. Law enforcement has it's exceptions where like the sheriff Whiteside in this story and his deputy there is a small percentage who don't always use their badge honestly. Most of the men and women who serve in law enforcement are honest and ethical but there are also those who out of greed or for whatever reason get mixed up with bad people.This is the story of a mother named Audra Kinney who is traveling from New York to San diego to escape her extremely abusive husband and Child Protective Services. Child Protective Services are misled by Audra's husband and his rich mother. Her husband Patrick has convinced Child Protective Services that Audra was a drug addict and an alcoholic. Audra turns to her only friend looking for a place to stay and flee before the court hands down it's decision. Audra has been driving all day and is five minutes away from an exit where she plans to rent a motel room for the night. She stops at a little store and goes in and buys three waters and a coke. Audra sees a cruiser in the parking lot and hopes he is not looking for her in Arizona.When Audra drives out of the parking lot the Sheriff car is following her. She hopes he isn't going to get pulled over but she does. Sheriff Whiteside is a corrupt officer and he pulls Audra over for having her car too weighed down with items they are taking with them to start a new life. He arrests Audra and she is worried about what is going to happen to her kids while she is taken in custody. The Sheriff assures her that they will be taken to a safe place. His deputy picks up the kids, a tow truck is called and Audra is falsely accused with possession of marijuana with intent to sell. The sheriff never asked her if she gave her consent to search the car so the judge dismisses the case and tells Audra she is free to go. Audra asks the sheriff about retrieving her children and he says to her "what children?"The sheriff and the deputy insist there were never any children in the car when he stopped and arrested her. The FBI and the state police get involved and accuse her of killing her children. Audra is a very loving mother and her nightmare is just beginning. I highly recommend this thriller as it is captivating and full of suspense and very authentic feeling. Audra is a likeable character and of course you will hate the sheriff and his deputy and her ex-husband Patrick. Audra thinks her ex-husband is behind this nightmare but her worst nightmares are only just beginning.Thank you to Net Galley, Haylen Beck and Harvill Secker Publishing for providing me with this outstanding thriller in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • RoseMary Achey
    March 1, 2017
    You will absolutely not be able to put this book down. This thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. A young mother is arrested on a remote highway on a trumped up charge. The arresting officer radios his deputy for assistance taking her two young children to child protective services. Upon arriving at the jail the distraught mother continues to ask about the safety and location of her children. When the arresting officer replied "What children?" I felt a chill r You will absolutely not be able to put this book down. This thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. A young mother is arrested on a remote highway on a trumped up charge. The arresting officer radios his deputy for assistance taking her two young children to child protective services. Upon arriving at the jail the distraught mother continues to ask about the safety and location of her children. When the arresting officer replied "What children?" I felt a chill run down my spine and knew we were in for a wild ride. Scheduled to be published in June 2017 you will want to get this on your reading list. It's a good great read.
    more
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    February 13, 2017
    I had seen a good bit of chatter on Twitter about Haylen Beck, and upon reading the synopsis for Here and Gone I was instantly intrigued. Haylen Beck is a pseudonym for another well known author whose (story of my life) books I have on my shelves to be read so I figured I'd give this one a go.I really wanted to love this one, I did but for some reason I wasn't completely sold on it. Now, that's not to say it isn't a good book! IT IS!!! However, I read a ton of these crime thriller books, and it I had seen a good bit of chatter on Twitter about Haylen Beck, and upon reading the synopsis for Here and Gone I was instantly intrigued. Haylen Beck is a pseudonym for another well known author whose (story of my life) books I have on my shelves to be read so I figured I'd give this one a go.I really wanted to love this one, I did but for some reason I wasn't completely sold on it. Now, that's not to say it isn't a good book! IT IS!!! However, I read a ton of these crime thriller books, and it takes a lot for them to stand out for me these days.Here and Gone has so much going for it though. It has a really interesting premise. The blurb above doesn't do it justice. There is so much more going on with this book than meets the eye. I found myself really rooting for Audra as she went on her journey, and willed her to just keep going. I don't want to give anything away about the plot. I will say that I put this book down at 25% because it made me feel uncomfortable. More than once. So I walked away from it because it left me feeling a bit, I don't know, anxious maybe? For the characters. And due to the situation. Which is a reaction, for sure. Here and Gone evoked some pretty strong feelings in me early on, but I found that it just didn't keep me feeling like that. All in all though, Here and Gone is a solid US- based thriller. Definitely one to pick up if you enjoy thrillers that make you think!Recommended for sure!
    more
  • Marjorie
    March 27, 2017
    Audra has taken her two children and is desperately trying to escape from her abusive husband. When she’s stopped by a Sheriff for having an overburdened car, her true nightmare begins. She’s arrested and her children disappear. Danny Lee hears about her predicament on the news and sees similarities to what had happened to his wife and daughter in the past and he decides to help Audra.I found the beginning of this book truly shocking and had great empathy for Audra and her children. However, the Audra has taken her two children and is desperately trying to escape from her abusive husband. When she’s stopped by a Sheriff for having an overburdened car, her true nightmare begins. She’s arrested and her children disappear. Danny Lee hears about her predicament on the news and sees similarities to what had happened to his wife and daughter in the past and he decides to help Audra.I found the beginning of this book truly shocking and had great empathy for Audra and her children. However, there is no mystery here. You know from the start what has happened to the children and who is at fault. It quickly turns into a search mission for the missing children, which I did not find very suspenseful and felt was too predictable. The book did keep my interest and the main premise is most definitely a troubling one. It was interesting to see Audra’s strength as she faced her battles. And there is suspense involved in whether the children will be rescued in time. But the “incredibly tense and compelling thrill ride” promised did not materialize for me.This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review
    more
  • Denise
    April 1, 2017
    Impossible to put down, a pulse-pounding suspense thriller. Audra is on the run with her two children -- away from an abusive ex -- when she is stopped on a desert road by a local sheriff. Hours later at the jail when Audra asks about her children, the sheriff tells her that she was alone in the car when he arrested her.Audra is hysterical with fear and frustration when the FBI and the press get to town to interview her. They think she has killed her children! Meanwhile, the reader knows a littl Impossible to put down, a pulse-pounding suspense thriller. Audra is on the run with her two children -- away from an abusive ex -- when she is stopped on a desert road by a local sheriff. Hours later at the jail when Audra asks about her children, the sheriff tells her that she was alone in the car when he arrested her.Audra is hysterical with fear and frustration when the FBI and the press get to town to interview her. They think she has killed her children! Meanwhile, the reader knows a little about what has happened and is turning the pages like crazy to find out what comes next!Enjoyed the tension and the story line - Audra is a very strong woman and she is helped by the few people who believe her story. I'd definitely read another by this author and I recommend it.Thank you to LibraryThing, NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Cindy
    April 5, 2017
    Any story that involves missing children makes me nervous and anxious. So getting through the first third of the book was a real mental struggle. Audra leaves her abusive husband taking her two children with her across country. Along the way she is stopped by a corrupt sheriff who arrests her on a trumped up charge. Her children are removed from her vehicle and she is told they are being taken to a safe place. Audra is suspicious and worried especially when the sheriff says "what children?" I wa Any story that involves missing children makes me nervous and anxious. So getting through the first third of the book was a real mental struggle. Audra leaves her abusive husband taking her two children with her across country. Along the way she is stopped by a corrupt sheriff who arrests her on a trumped up charge. Her children are removed from her vehicle and she is told they are being taken to a safe place. Audra is suspicious and worried especially when the sheriff says "what children?" I was on the edge of my seat while reading this gut wrenching thriller. Action packed and tense with, thank goodness, a satisfying ending.
    more
  • Marsha
    January 23, 2017
    A perfect thriller. An abused wife hastily packs up her two kids and flees her home, making a cross-country trek in a desperate search for safety. Along the way she stops for water and soda. A cop follows her out and arrests her on a drummed up charge. Another officer arrives to take her children to safety until she's out of jail, but as soon as the jail door is locked, the officers deny any knowledge of her children. It gets worse, she is then framed for harming them. The premise is out of a pa A perfect thriller. An abused wife hastily packs up her two kids and flees her home, making a cross-country trek in a desperate search for safety. Along the way she stops for water and soda. A cop follows her out and arrests her on a drummed up charge. Another officer arrives to take her children to safety until she's out of jail, but as soon as the jail door is locked, the officers deny any knowledge of her children. It gets worse, she is then framed for harming them. The premise is out of a parent's worst nightmare and the way that Beck carefully unwraps and reveals makes this book utterly un-put-downable. Well done.Thank you, Netgalley, for the e-review copy.
    more
  • Paul
    May 24, 2017
    Here and Gone – A Trip into the Dark SideThis is a tense, and at times heart breaking thriller that would terrify any parent especially if they were at the centre of it, through no fault of their own. A mixture of police enabling child trafficking while playing everything out in the public gaze, as the mother is convicted by the power of the press in something she is completely innocent of. A wonderful example of when the system is against you and that you have no voice, or skills to fight that Here and Gone – A Trip into the Dark SideThis is a tense, and at times heart breaking thriller that would terrify any parent especially if they were at the centre of it, through no fault of their own. A mixture of police enabling child trafficking while playing everything out in the public gaze, as the mother is convicted by the power of the press in something she is completely innocent of. A wonderful example of when the system is against you and that you have no voice, or skills to fight that system.Audra has managed to escape her controlling husband in New York and is driving across country to get to her friend San Diego and is keeping to the back roads. She is doing fine and the kids, Sean and Louise are just about coping with being in the car on this long car journey. It is when she spots a police car in her review mirror that her nightmare really begins, when she is pulled over, for being overloaded, and then a bag of drugs is found. She is placed in the police car under arrest as another police car turns up to drive her children to safety while she is being dealt with.Taken back to the station her children are not there, she wants to know where they are but she is told she will never see them again, they were not in the car. The FBI come out to investigate demanding that Audra tells them what she has done to the children, but she sticks to her story and nobody believes her. It gives her ex-husband the opportunity to make sure she is the guilty party and all the sympathy will be with him.It is only then she realises the only way she can find her children she will have to do it herself, and accept any help that might come her way. It is a good job her kids are strong, and will fight every inch of the way, or so she hopes.It is hard to believe that this is a debut thriller from Haylen Beck, it is so well written, draws you in and then delivers twist and killer blows at every turn. This is a breathless completely unrelenting rollercoaster of a ride, once you step on you will not want to get off. This is a thriller with great characters, memorable and well thought out, people will be talking about this book for ages to come.
    more
  • Dianna
    April 6, 2017
    This thriller keeps you on the edge of your seat and I could not put it down. Audra is running across the country from an abusive husband with 11-year old Sean and 6-year old Louise. From the east coast she is almost to California when she is stopped by Sheriff Whiteside in small town Arizona on the pretense that her load is too heavy. She is flustered being stopped and thinks her husband has tracked her down. Things go from bad to worse to horribly unthinkable! She's put in jail, her children a This thriller keeps you on the edge of your seat and I could not put it down. Audra is running across the country from an abusive husband with 11-year old Sean and 6-year old Louise. From the east coast she is almost to California when she is stopped by Sheriff Whiteside in small town Arizona on the pretense that her load is too heavy. She is flustered being stopped and thinks her husband has tracked her down. Things go from bad to worse to horribly unthinkable! She's put in jail, her children are nowhere to be found, she has no money or friends to turn to.But this mother has chutzpah and a new found friend in stranger, Danny Lee, who learns of her predicament on the national news.This is an emotional roller coaster about missing children, face paced with believable characters that you get caught up in from beginning to end. A very well written book and I highly recommend! I won this from Bookstr - thank you!
    more
  • Michelle Lindo-Rice
    January 17, 2017
    I finished this read in hours. Excellent storytelling. Audra, a recovering addict seems an unlikely heroine but she is a dangerous mama bear. I loved how the author brings her strength to light. Danny also drew me in with his cunning and wit. But the hero, Sean, Audra's young son showed a grit and tenacity that made this story great. What a tale filled with twists and intrigue. I loved how the author tied everything up and gave a thrilling conclusion. Definitely kept me glued until the end.
    more
  • Melanie Johnson
    January 17, 2017
    A woman is traveling alone with her two children. She stops at a gas station and sees a Sheriff car and gets nervous. After she leaves the station, the police follows her and pulls her over. After that, this novel takes off at a steady pace, and I don't like to give too much away in a review. I enjoyed this one as gut wrenching as it was in several places. Thanks for the advanced copy, Net Galley!
    more
  • Lydia
    January 7, 2017
    Crazy book! Every car I saw pulled over today made me wonder...
  • Claire - The Coffeeholic Bookworm
    May 26, 2017
    This was devastatingly heart breaking and heart pounding. The kind of thriller and mystery and suspense that would grip your heart, make you sweat out of fear and tremble during sleepless nights, be shocked how something as trivial as missing kids could wreak havoc to your way of thinking. That was everything I felt while reading Here and Gone. I thought I wouldn't wake up from a nightmare.One moment I was here with my Kindle, sipping coffee and tipping my eyeglasses up on my nose and before I k This was devastatingly heart breaking and heart pounding. The kind of thriller and mystery and suspense that would grip your heart, make you sweat out of fear and tremble during sleepless nights, be shocked how something as trivial as missing kids could wreak havoc to your way of thinking. That was everything I felt while reading Here and Gone. I thought I wouldn't wake up from a nightmare.One moment I was here with my Kindle, sipping coffee and tipping my eyeglasses up on my nose and before I knew it, my mind had gone astray and my heart stopped for this woman who only wanted nothing more than finding her kids who were stolen from her after a car arrest.The characters, distraught mother Audra Kinney who escaped New York with her children, Sean and Louise, had captivated my heart. They'd been tangled up in a web of conspiracy and sick people who would do unimaginable evil. When she was arrested for possible drug possession, her kids were taken from her and were deemed missing the moment she was "jailed" by Officer Whiteside. And so began her long insufferable journey to finding Sean and Louise and proving to everybody that she was perfectly sane and harmless. Something that only Danny the Knife Boy believed.The story had been a roller-coaster one, gripping, terrifying, eye-popping. I couldn't stop until it was finished. And when I got hold of my sane self, I almost choked out of breath and never wished to experience those moments again. My eyes cried out for Audra and my heart bled for her kids. That's how emotional and intense this story had been.All hail Haylen Beck for a remarkable first novel! A definite heart-stopping one from beginning to end!This was devastatingly heart breaking and heart pounding. The kind of thriller and mystery and suspense that would grip your heart our, make you sweat out of fear and tremble during sleepless nights, shocked how something as trivial as missing kids could wreak havoc to your way of thinking. That was all I felt while reading Here and Gone. I thought I wouldn’t wake up from a nightmare.One moment I was here with my Kindle, sipping coffee and tipping my eyeglasses up on my nose and before I knew it, my mind had gone astray and my heart stopped for this woman who only wanted nothing more than finding her kids who were stolen from her after a car arrest.The characters, distraught mother Audra Kinney who escaped New York with her children, Sean and Louise, had captivated my heart. They’d been tangled up in a web of conspiracy and sick people who would do unimaginable evil. When she was arrested for possible drug possession, her kids were taken from her and were deemed missing the moment she was “jailed” by Officer Whiteside. And so began her long insufferable journey to finding Sean and Louise and proving to everybody that she was perfectly sane and harmless. Something that only Danny the Knife Boy believed.The story had been a roller-coaster one, gripping, terrifying, eye-popping. I couldn’t stop until it was finished. And when I got hold of my sane self, I almost choked out of breath and never wished to experience those moments again. My eyes cried out for Audra and my heart bled for her kids. That’s how emotional and intense this story had been.All hail Haylen Beck for a remarkable first novel! A definite heart-stopping one from beginning to end!NOTE: I received this ARC courtesy of Crown Publishing through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lisa
    March 22, 2017
    SUMMARYAudra Kinney is on the run from an abusive husband. She is driving cross country with her two children Sean, 11 and Louise, 6. She and the kids are tired. They been driving for days and are ready to stop for the night. But she is being followed. Sheriff Whiteside stops Audra saying her car was overloaded and was therefore unsafe. He opens her trunk and ends up placing her under arrest for a small bag of marijuana. She says it's not hers. Whiteside calls Deputy Collins for back-up. He need SUMMARYAudra Kinney is on the run from an abusive husband. She is driving cross country with her two children Sean, 11 and Louise, 6. She and the kids are tired. They been driving for days and are ready to stop for the night. But she is being followed. Sheriff Whiteside stops Audra saying her car was overloaded and was therefore unsafe. He opens her trunk and ends up placing her under arrest for a small bag of marijuana. She says it's not hers. Whiteside calls Deputy Collins for back-up. He needs Collins to watch the kids while Audra goes to jail.Once Audra get to the small-town jail in Silver Water Arizona, she continually ask Whiteside where her kids were taken. Whiteside replies "What kids?" He says he never saw any kids. If her kids are missing she must have done something to them. Whiteside calls in the FBI. No one believes her and no one will listen to her. Danny Lee lives in San Francisco. Watching the news one night he hears the story about the missing kids. It sounds just like what had happened to his wife and daughter, five years earlier. Maybe this case would lead Danny to the men that took his daughter.REVIEWGut wrenching! This book is absolutely gut wrenching. My fear is that this story is something that's really happening today. Missing children is a parents worst nightmare.I started reading this book several days ago but had to stop. The "What kids?" statement was so horrendous I had to put the book down. I was to scared of what would happen next. But never one to quit on a book, I picked it up again yesterday and finished it at 2 AM. I couldn't put it down. I'm still thinking about it today. This woman had a bad reputation, no money, and no support. There was no one she could call for help. What would you do to get your kids back? Audra is a wonderfully realistic character. She is weak and vulnerable and yet very strong in the face of adversity. There were so many great scenes in this book exhibiting these characteristics. Here and Gone is a fast-paced page turner with action, suspense and intrigue. The story has so many branches, all of which culminate to make this book interesting and complex. It's a book that will make you think. Love it. The book is going to be a bestseller, maybe even a movie! If you love suspense thrillers you will love Here and Gone. It will be published in June 2017.Thanks to Net Galley, Crown Publishing and Haylen Beck for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Thebooktrail
    May 30, 2017
    The opening of this was sensational. The setting - a road trip or rather an escape cross country where the kids in the car seem to vanish into thin air - what a landscape! The thrill of the plot weaved and meandered like the Arizona roads but it was quite clear from the outset what was going to happen.They say it's not the destination but the journey that counts and this is true here but it's still a great read. Character led and horror upon horror unleashed on a woman fleeing her abusive husban The opening of this was sensational. The setting - a road trip or rather an escape cross country where the kids in the car seem to vanish into thin air - what a landscape! The thrill of the plot weaved and meandered like the Arizona roads but it was quite clear from the outset what was going to happen.They say it's not the destination but the journey that counts and this is true here but it's still a great read. Character led and horror upon horror unleashed on a woman fleeing her abusive husband. She goes to extreme lengths to save them, and has some horrendous experiences until....well that's for you to find out of course.This is also very dark and uncomfortable reading at times. Themes I wasn't expecting to be as graphic as they were. I can never really 'enjoy' books of this nature but as a cracking premise and opening chapter...yup the thrill factor and road trip from hell are definately there!
    more
  • Sue McQuaide Kitt
    May 27, 2017
    I just loved this fast paced, gripping, and tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.I found Audra Kinney, the main character to be strong and interesting and couldn’t believe how she kept herself in one piece after going through such a traumatic experience. After fleeing with her two children from an abusive and destructive marriage, she is pulled over by a corrupt sheriff and her children removed from her. When asking wher I just loved this fast paced, gripping, and tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.I found Audra Kinney, the main character to be strong and interesting and couldn’t believe how she kept herself in one piece after going through such a traumatic experience. After fleeing with her two children from an abusive and destructive marriage, she is pulled over by a corrupt sheriff and her children removed from her. When asking where her children have been placed, she was told that they were not in the car when she was arrested.Audra’s children have been stolen!!! The FBI are called in to investigate and no one will believe her.A fantastic and intense thriller that kept me turning the pages and I absolutely LOVED Here and Gone.A massive 5*
    more
  • Jeanette
    May 17, 2017
    This novel had me gripped from start to finish! It isn't often whereby I am so engrossed in a book that some household chores were forgotten about until I was ready. The story is one that will stay in my mind for a while to come. A story about a mother and her stolen children. I am not going to write what happens, as I do not wish to spoil for others. It is a story that I feel would make a good movie. I cannot recall reading any other novels by Haylen Beck in the past, but am now eager to read m This novel had me gripped from start to finish! It isn't often whereby I am so engrossed in a book that some household chores were forgotten about until I was ready. The story is one that will stay in my mind for a while to come. A story about a mother and her stolen children. I am not going to write what happens, as I do not wish to spoil for others. It is a story that I feel would make a good movie. I cannot recall reading any other novels by Haylen Beck in the past, but am now eager to read more books by this author. Highly recommended.So pleased to have received this e-copy via Netgalley and this is my honest review.
    more
  • Todd Simpson
    May 16, 2017
    Thoroughly entertaining. If you enjoy Thrillers, then you will love this book. Haylen Beck has done a fabulous job putting together this tense and gripping plot. I couldn’t believe what the main character Audra has been put through, and it really held my attention all the way through to the end. A great piece of writing. Audra Kinney wanted to take her two children, and get well away from her current life and husband. Especially as he was trying to take them away from her. She was very surprised Thoroughly entertaining. If you enjoy Thrillers, then you will love this book. Haylen Beck has done a fabulous job putting together this tense and gripping plot. I couldn’t believe what the main character Audra has been put through, and it really held my attention all the way through to the end. A great piece of writing. Audra Kinney wanted to take her two children, and get well away from her current life and husband. Especially as he was trying to take them away from her. She was very surprised to be pulled over by sheriff, especially after being so careful to follow all of the road rules. Surprise turned into utter shock when the sheriff Whiteside found something in the boot of her car that she didn’t know about, and suddenly her whole world changed. Now Audra’s children have disappeared, and the FBI don’t believe that she didn’t have anything to do with it. Danny Lee was still living in his own hell. After the loss of his wife and the disappearance of his daughter, he was still living in limbo. He couldn’t bring himself to believe that his daughter was dead, and he was sick of sitting around and doing nothing. Especially after he see Audra on TV and what she’s going through. One thing that really adds to this book is the detail the Author has gone into with the character’s personal lives. This story is definitely worth a read.
    more
  • Alan Taylor
    May 15, 2017
    Haylen Beck's debut reads like the work of a much more experienced writer. Which of course it is, actually being the 8th novel by Northern Ireland writer, Stuart Neville. But neither the author nor the publisher have made any attempt to keep this a secret, and it makes perfect sense being a real departure from Neville's excellent Ulster-set police procedurals.'Here and Gone' will appeal to readers of Harlen Coben and Linwood Barclay. Like those authors, the story concerns ordinary people caught Haylen Beck's debut reads like the work of a much more experienced writer. Which of course it is, actually being the 8th novel by Northern Ireland writer, Stuart Neville. But neither the author nor the publisher have made any attempt to keep this a secret, and it makes perfect sense being a real departure from Neville's excellent Ulster-set police procedurals.'Here and Gone' will appeal to readers of Harlen Coben and Linwood Barclay. Like those authors, the story concerns ordinary people caught up in extraordinary events. In "Here and Gone', a mother fleeing an abusive husband with her son and daughter is pulled over by police as she drives from New York to the west coast. Arrested for possession of drugs, she is separated from her children and, when she asks about them, the arresting officer answers, "What children?"It is a great premise for a psychological thriller and the author handles the tension well as the woman's anxiety grows, with the local police, the FBI, the residents of the small town in which she is held and, of course, the media firmly convinced of her guilt in the disappearance of her children.An almost unbearably suspenseful novel which deserves huge success. Thanks to NetGalley and Harvill Secker/Vintage for the advance review copy. 'Here and Gone' is published July 13. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Eadie
    March 12, 2017
    I was sent an ARC of this book for an honest review. This book is a parent's worst nightmare. Audra lives in New York and has packed her children in the car and is leaving her abusive husband. While driving to California, she is stopped by the sheriff in the Arizona desert and is taken into custody for having an illegal substance (which was planted by the sheriff). He tells a woman officer to take care of her two children and take them some place safe. When Audra later asks about her children, t I was sent an ARC of this book for an honest review. This book is a parent's worst nightmare. Audra lives in New York and has packed her children in the car and is leaving her abusive husband. While driving to California, she is stopped by the sheriff in the Arizona desert and is taken into custody for having an illegal substance (which was planted by the sheriff). He tells a woman officer to take care of her two children and take them some place safe. When Audra later asks about her children, the reply is "What children?" I could feel my blood run cold and I could imagine how Audra felt. I found this book to be a very riveting, edge of your seat thriller with very believable characters. The plot was intense and caused the book to be hard to put down. It is very well written with twists that keep you emotionally involved. The ending had an exciting conclusion and all the loose ends were tied up neatly. I highly recommend this book to those who love action-packed thrillers.
    more
  • jendlo
    May 5, 2017
    Another terrific thriller written under a pseudonym! (Stuart Neville)A mother whose young kids are stolen from her, a corrupt sheriff and his deputy, a gang member turned vigilante, and traffickers on the dark web make this tense, action-packed nail-biter a one-sitting read, but it just as easily can be read in spurts without forgetting a thing. (Love that, because oftentimes that thing called life interferes. ;))Readers seeking a highly suspenseful thrill ride should grab this book that is plan Another terrific thriller written under a pseudonym! (Stuart Neville)A mother whose young kids are stolen from her, a corrupt sheriff and his deputy, a gang member turned vigilante, and traffickers on the dark web make this tense, action-packed nail-biter a one-sitting read, but it just as easily can be read in spurts without forgetting a thing. (Love that, because oftentimes that thing called life interferes. ;))Readers seeking a highly suspenseful thrill ride should grab this book that is planned to become a feature film.Great thanks to NetGalley and Crown for the advance reader copy.
    more
  • Jay Dwight
    March 11, 2017
    Genuine page turner that hooks you early and grips you to the end. Andrea is on the run from an abusive husband in a beat-up stationwagon, with here to children in tow. Stopping in small town Arizona, she is pulled over by the local Sheriff, and her nightmare begins. A horrible scenario as we follow a lone woman's battle to get the authorities to listen and get her life back.
    more
  • Valerie
    January 3, 2017
    Here and Gone, due out for publication in July 2017, is the first book I've read by author Haylen Beck. Audra Kinney is four days into a cross country driving trip from New York to California with her two children -- ten year old Sean and seven year old Louise --when she is stopped by the local sheriff just outside a small Arizona desert town. She has left a bad marriage 18 months before and is trying to stay one step ahead of her wealthy and abusive husband. When the sheriff unlawfully searches Here and Gone, due out for publication in July 2017, is the first book I've read by author Haylen Beck. Audra Kinney is four days into a cross country driving trip from New York to California with her two children -- ten year old Sean and seven year old Louise --when she is stopped by the local sheriff just outside a small Arizona desert town. She has left a bad marriage 18 months before and is trying to stay one step ahead of her wealthy and abusive husband. When the sheriff unlawfully searches her trunk and "finds" marijuana (a set up), she is arrested. The sheriff coordinates with his deputy to take her children to a safe place. Audra objects right from the beginning and her instincts are borne out when shortly after she is processed and jailed, the sheriff makes the unthinkable statement that there were no children in the car. She is later accused of harming the children and being responsible for their disappearance. It is like the worse nightmare imaginable. I enjoyed every minute of this book. The characters were convincingly drawn, the plot completely engrossing. I hated the villains, rooted for the victims, and turned the pages faster and faster as the story raced to its conclusion. My only comment, although it is minor, is that I would have liked to know a little more about what happened to the secondary character Danny and his search for his own daughter at the end of the book. Haylen Beck is apparently a pseudonym for the Edger-nominated author Stuart Neville. I will certainly be seeking out more of this author's books, under whatever name they are published, and definitely recommend this novel without reservation. Thank you to NetGalley and Crown Publishing for providing me with an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Moe's Book Blog
    December 26, 2016
    Here and Gone by Haylen Beck is about an abused woman on the run with her two small children who encounters trouble when she's pulled over by a local sheriff of an Arizona town she's passing through on her way to safety in California. Locked in a cell, she has no idea where her children are or if she'll ever get to see them again. Across the country, the news catches the attention of a man, who uncannily has suffered the same fate and hopes to find out what happened to his own daughter. This sus Here and Gone by Haylen Beck is about an abused woman on the run with her two small children who encounters trouble when she's pulled over by a local sheriff of an Arizona town she's passing through on her way to safety in California. Locked in a cell, she has no idea where her children are or if she'll ever get to see them again. Across the country, the news catches the attention of a man, who uncannily has suffered the same fate and hopes to find out what happened to his own daughter. This suspense thriller is slow to start but does become quite interesting as the novel progresses. It is a quick and easy read. I rate it 4 stars out of 5 stars. I received this ebook free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Review posted at https://moesbookblog.wordpress.com/ and Goodreads.comReviewed: December 26, 2016. Novel Publish Date: June 20, 2017.
    more
Write a review