New York, Actually (From Manhattan with Love, #4)
Meet Molly New York’s most famous agony aunt, she considers herself an expert at relationships…as long as they’re other people’s. The only love of her life is her Dalmatian, Valentine. Meet Daniel A cynical divorce lawyer, he’s hardwired to think relationships are a bad idea. If you don’t get involved, no-one can get hurt. But then he finds himself borrowing a dog to meet the gorgeous woman he sees running in Central Park every morning… Molly and Daniel think they know everything there is to know about relationships…until they meet each other that is…

New York, Actually (From Manhattan with Love, #4) Details

TitleNew York, Actually (From Manhattan with Love, #4)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherHarlequin Books
ISBN0373804105
ISBN-139780373804108
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Fiction, Animals

New York, Actually (From Manhattan with Love, #4) Review

  • Paromjit
    January 13, 2017
    This is the second novel that I have read of Sarah Morgan, and it is full of charm. Set in New York, we have Daniel, a divorce lawyer, who is keen to become acquainted with this woman that he sees running in Central Park with her dog. He thinks the way to do it is to borrow a dog from his sisters, Fliss and Harriet, and so he runs with a German Alsation, a dog he struggles to control. Molly is a psychologist, who relocated to NYC after a disastrous set of events occurred. The only man in her lif This is the second novel that I have read of Sarah Morgan, and it is full of charm. Set in New York, we have Daniel, a divorce lawyer, who is keen to become acquainted with this woman that he sees running in Central Park with her dog. He thinks the way to do it is to borrow a dog from his sisters, Fliss and Harriet, and so he runs with a German Alsation, a dog he struggles to control. Molly is a psychologist, who relocated to NYC after a disastrous set of events occurred. The only man in her life, is Valentine, her beloved dalmation dog. Not interested in a relationship, Molly keeps busy with activities like cooking, salsa and spin classes. However, she has a successful blog and book under the pseudonym of Aggie, an agony aunt. She guards this secret with her life, the only ones who know are her gay friends, Mark and Gabe, and her publisher.The story runs like a humorous romcom film which I could picture in my head. Molly and Daniel have damaged family backgrounds and specific relationship issues. Their relationship is littered with obstacles and quandries. The author does wonderful friends and family members. There is the recurrence of characters from previous books like Lucas and Eva and Urban Genie, the company run by the three friends. If you like dogs, you will definitely like this novel. A seamless delight from beginning to end, I would recommend this for when life is getting you down or just because you fancy a well written feel good contemporary fairy tale read. Many thanks to Harlequin for an ARC.
    more
  • Nicola
    January 18, 2017
    3.5 stars. I was over the moon to discover that Sarah Morgan was continuing her From Manhattan with Love series, it was one of my favourites of 2016, but I was equally intrigued over who the new characters could possibly be. And she's done it seamlessly, introducing us to the Knight siblings; twins Harriet and Fliss and their older brother, Daniel. A divorce lawyer whose opinion on love is backed up by his career. A borrowed dog, a little white-lie and plenty perseverance leads to friendship and 3.5 stars. I was over the moon to discover that Sarah Morgan was continuing her From Manhattan with Love series, it was one of my favourites of 2016, but I was equally intrigued over who the new characters could possibly be. And she's done it seamlessly, introducing us to the Knight siblings; twins Harriet and Fliss and their older brother, Daniel. A divorce lawyer whose opinion on love is backed up by his career. A borrowed dog, a little white-lie and plenty perseverance leads to friendship and more with agony aunt, author and dog lover Molly and despite her protests it's evident that they have some chemistry bubbling away. "I would rather take a spin class than have sex with you.""Shouldn’t you have sex with me before you make that decision?" In comparison to its predecessors, I liked it but I didn't love it. I admit having read so many books by Sarah Morgan I do have high expectations as I know she has the capability to create fireworks between her couples--and I'm not just talking about between the sheets--but Molly and Daniel lacked that something uniquely special that I've grown accustomed to. This is New York City. There is no normal, that’s why I love it."...I want you. It’s that simple."But it's romantic, Molly and Daniel are endearing and it's by no means a difficult read: I enjoyed New York, Actually, it's simply a case that it's not my favourite in the series. And with plenty of scope for Fliss and Harry's stories I'm excited to see how they get their HEA's. Copy received courtesy of Harlequin (UK) via NetGalley for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    January 14, 2017
    4 - "You're not an easy woman to forget." Stars!ITs LIVE!Amazon UK - http://amzn.eu/3QGzexaI am so pleased that the From Manhattan with Love series continues into 2017, and Sarah Morgan has moved on from giving the Urban Genie girls their happily ever afters, by introducing us to the siblings behind The Bark Rangers, in the coming books.Although if we are being picky, Daniel isn’t part of Bark Rangers, it is run by his sisters Fliss and Harry, that-said he isn’t averse to borrowing the odd foste 4 - "You're not an easy woman to forget." Stars!ITs LIVE!Amazon UK - http://amzn.eu/3QGzexaI am so pleased that the From Manhattan with Love series continues into 2017, and Sarah Morgan has moved on from giving the Urban Genie girls their happily ever afters, by introducing us to the siblings behind The Bark Rangers, in the coming books.Although if we are being picky, Daniel isn’t part of Bark Rangers, it is run by his sisters Fliss and Harry, that-said he isn’t averse to borrowing the odd foster-dog as a part of his attempts to start a conversation with a fellow jogger, he sees in Central Park most mornings and finds exceedingly attractive. "This is New York City. There is no normal, that’s why I love it."Molly who spends most of her time working at home, uses her daily jog with her dog Valentine in the park as a way to decompress and get herself out of her flat, does she notice the guy running with his unruly dog most days? Yes… But for Molly relationships are a big no-no, so when Daniel starts making inroads on getting to know her, fall-back and regroup is her default setting after each meeting. It doesn’t take her long to realise, that there is something about the enigmatic lawyer and his dog Brutus that keeps her coming back to the same part of the park, and their same bench day after day."Do you ever take no for an answer…""Only when no is the answer I want."As their meetings move from the park into regular dating, Molly’s private life and reluctance to step away from their agreed friends-with-benefits type arrangement starts to pique Daniel’s interest more and more, especially as he is the one opening his heart (something he has never done with a woman previously) and letting her see everything he is and has too offer, it’s clear to him that Molly isn’t quite as willing to divulge all the details about herself as easily, but with his feelings growing he is prepared to take as much as she is willing to give."Who hurt you..?""What makes you think someone hurt me?""You live alone, your best friend is your dog and you avoid relationships. Those are the actions of someone who has been hurt. Badly hurt. And now you protect yourself. You do whatever it takes to make sure your heart doesn’t get broken again."New York, Actually would have been a five star read for me, but the one gripe I had was the massive double-standard when it came to telling untruths/withholding important aspects of yourself. This is something that I usually struggle with anyway, so it didn’t really detract from my enjoyment, I am just someone who prefers the truth to come out and the couple to deal with that as they build their relationship, rather than keep the truth withheld until everyone is emotionally invested and then wonder why it all went wrong. Sarah does a great job of teasing you with Fliss and Harry, I have a feeling both of their books are going to be winners, because in the process of this story being told you find out one of them has already been bruised by love, and the other showers her love on animals to reduce the risk of getting hurt by a human. You get a little interaction with some of the characters from the previous books as well which was nice, and I cannot wait to read Fliss’s book Holiday in the Hamptons, due for release June 17.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was my pleasure to provide the above honest review.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    January 28, 2017
    Be prepared to be swept off your feet in this wonderful romantic read. If you love romance and chicklit this book is defiantly a must buy must read for you. I simply love Sarah Morgan's books. She always has this amazing ability to wish me away. To submerge me in a book and have you greedily devouring it in one sitting. In this book we are whisked away to New York and the slender that is Central Park. A place that has a special place in my heart as we honeymooned last year all over New York and Be prepared to be swept off your feet in this wonderful romantic read. If you love romance and chicklit this book is defiantly a must buy must read for you. I simply love Sarah Morgan's books. She always has this amazing ability to wish me away. To submerge me in a book and have you greedily devouring it in one sitting. In this book we are whisked away to New York and the slender that is Central Park. A place that has a special place in my heart as we honeymooned last year all over New York and spent a lovely amount in the city and in Central Park. We mostly follow the love story of Molly and Dan. But there are a few other characters that we see quite a bit of too, and who are o feel just as important to the story. Mainly Floss and Harry Dans sisters who are fantastic characters in their own rights. Who I loved. I really loved all the characters in this book. They each had their own unique personalities and I think that's why that all stood out individually for me. Mainly in this boo we follow the love story of Dan and Molly. Dan is a successful divorce lawyer who takes on case where the people who are getting divorced have children involved. For Dan believes that it is better for a child to be brought up in a single parent home then to be brought up by parents who hate each other and who are just together because of the children. This is due to his own childhood and growing up with parents who hated each other and who argued all the time. Dan is a great character. He has bags of charm and charisma. He sounds like a really attractive man you you can help falling for him just a little bit while reading the book. Molly is fiercely independent she holds her own and takes no prisoners. She certainly has her own mind and is an independent woman. Due to her mother walking out on her when she was little and taking her. Eat friend the family dog with her. Molly has forever found it hard to commit to anyone and she has never ever fallen in love. Instead had left a string of broken hearts behind her. Dan has been seeing Molly run with her Dalmatian dog valentine in Central Park for the past few weeks and has been drawn to her with animal carnal instincts. However Molly had never noticed Dan when he runs past her. So Dan decides to take things into his own hands. He borrows one of the dog s his sisters fosters and decides to change its name to Brutus and to take it running with him to get the girl. What happens next is a series of sweet and romantic encounters. But is there love and a happy ever after on the cards for Molly and Dan well you'll just have to read it to find out. I simply loved reading this book. It is pure escapism. I greedily devoured it in a few hours. I wish for more from Dan and Molly as I really did love this book. Perhaps if you were to write another book it could show some romances for Floss and Harry because I simply loved them as characters too. Great read I would recommend to all Happy reading everyone
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    January 6, 2017
    New York, Actually is the start of a new three book series by Sarah Morgan, but it has connections to her New York series of books from 2016 too,. Not huge connections, but for fans of the author enough to smile in recognition and to be happy to see some familiar characters. It is though a completely standalone story that is great fun to read. In the opening few pages you get a real glimpse of Molly's personality and her thoughts on relationships, given her favourite man is Valentine. Valentine New York, Actually is the start of a new three book series by Sarah Morgan, but it has connections to her New York series of books from 2016 too,. Not huge connections, but for fans of the author enough to smile in recognition and to be happy to see some familiar characters. It is though a completely standalone story that is great fun to read. In the opening few pages you get a real glimpse of Molly's personality and her thoughts on relationships, given her favourite man is Valentine. Valentine is in fairness everything you would look for in a partner, gorgeous, completely loyal, loves exercise as much as Molly and is a fabulous listener, so of course he isn't human but a dashing dalmatian! Molly meets Daniel while they are jogging their dogs around Central Park, and to start with its just a slight exchange of banter, and then as they get to know each other a bit more, hot drinks, move onto to dinner invitations etc... Now you may think that will be nice an simple, but Molly doesn't believe she can fall in love, and according to Daniel's reputation he doesn't have a heart, so what you get is a book where as a reader, I could see things occurring between the two characters ahead of their own thoughts processes. In fact this is one of those books where I loved being the all seeing reader, as I could see things from both perspectives, and thus had a good understanding of both Molly and Daniel. I also loved Daniel's twin sisters who are animal lovers and will be featuring in the rest of the series, and I can't wait to get to know them better. Daniel and Molly both act in ways that my not be entirely honest, but both of them have good intentioned reasons for their actions, which made them really believable. I also loved Daniel's dog Brutus, and Brutus' friendship with Valentine. I thoroughly enjoyed both of their jobs too, Molly is a relationship expert with an alter ego, and Daniel is a divorce lawyer. The book is peppered with Dear Aggie letters, and her replies to them, while Daniel we see just how he advises in the case on one particular client. There was clear chemistry in this wonderful romance, and its written to the quality that I now expect from Sarah Morgan. An easy to read book, that had me grinning from the start. Thank you to Lucy Richardson at HQ for this copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    March 9, 2017
  • Abby Green
    February 22, 2017
    Another brilliant start to Sarah Morgan's latest New York trilogy. Loved everything about Daniel and Molly's story including the extended cast list with two of the *most* adorable dogs on the planet. Reading one of Sarah Morgan's books is like watching all your favourite romantic comedies at once - it's an intense ride that leaves you happy and satisfied and feeling eternally optimistic. The New York setting is the other main character in the book and she's just...gorgeous :). Can't wait for Fli Another brilliant start to Sarah Morgan's latest New York trilogy. Loved everything about Daniel and Molly's story including the extended cast list with two of the *most* adorable dogs on the planet. Reading one of Sarah Morgan's books is like watching all your favourite romantic comedies at once - it's an intense ride that leaves you happy and satisfied and feeling eternally optimistic. The New York setting is the other main character in the book and she's just...gorgeous :). Can't wait for Fliss and Harry's stories.
    more
  • Hannah (Hannah Plus Books)
    April 13, 2017
    This was as adorable and as light and fluffy as the other books, but also a nice break from the trio and delving into a few more characters that make appearances (also everyone in NYC is so well connected! And rich. And hot. But still).Molly and Daniel were a good fit, even though the psychologist who fixes other people's love lives but has a bad past isn't really my favourite (IDK, I feel like it's...misleading? Though I know work and private life are two separate things. Anyway). I loved that This was as adorable and as light and fluffy as the other books, but also a nice break from the trio and delving into a few more characters that make appearances (also everyone in NYC is so well connected! And rich. And hot. But still).Molly and Daniel were a good fit, even though the psychologist who fixes other people's love lives but has a bad past isn't really my favourite (IDK, I feel like it's...misleading? Though I know work and private life are two separate things. Anyway). I loved that they wanted a relationship purely based on mutual friendship and great sex. Sometimes automatic love becomes wary, so this was a nice change.And there were dogs. And kittens. And oooh hot vets.God, my reading tastes can be shallow.
    more
  • Julia Wilson
    April 10, 2017
    New York Actually by Sarah Morgan is a delightful and fun contemporary romantic read but with a serious message. I always love Sarah Morgan's writings as they put a smile on my face and leave my heart feeling warm.New York Actually is a wonderful read on so many levels. Characters from a previous novel were on the peripheral which made the read feel familiar from the start.The characters were drawn realistically and with warmth - they included two big bouncy dogs who took on their own personalit New York Actually by Sarah Morgan is a delightful and fun contemporary romantic read but with a serious message. I always love Sarah Morgan's writings as they put a smile on my face and leave my heart feeling warm.New York Actually is a wonderful read on so many levels. Characters from a previous novel were on the peripheral which made the read feel familiar from the start.The characters were drawn realistically and with warmth - they included two big bouncy dogs who took on their own personalities and were as much a part of the story as the humans.Within the novel Sarah Morgan explores how our past can affect our future if we let it. Everyone has a past. Everyone has a hurt. Everyone needs to deal with their past hurts before they are able to move forwards into their futures.Linking with this theme are those themes of hiding and secrets. Secrets are never good. Sooner or later they emerge with the power to destroy. Hiding prevents people from truly living life to the full. "Hiding has a downside... It means you live a small life." Erecting walls to protect can have the opposite effect and instead of keeping one safe, the walls keep others out. The walls need to come down. Good friends come in all shapes and sizes. Everyone needs good friends. Friends who know us intimately inside and out. "No one knew who I was underneath... it made me feel alone and isolated." Friends who will stick by us no matter what. Friends do not always have two legs, sometimes they have four. "No matter how bad your day is, it's pretty hard to be miserable when you have a dog." Four legged friends will love unconditionally and extravagantly. They will love us for who we are and not for what they can get out of it.New York Actually was such a fabulous fun read. As a pet lover, I adored getting to know the four legged friends. Sarah Morgan writes such wonderful warm and witty novels that just ping straight to my heart. Her stories make my world brighter and warmer. I love her writings.Pick up New York Actually today and put a smile on your face.I received this book for free. A favourable review was not required and all views expressed are my own.
    more
  • Samantha Tonge
    March 28, 2017
    New York, an animal rescue centre and one sexy lawyer - what more could a girl want?! Another gripping read from Sarah Morgan, I found it hard to put down. An intriguing plot and characters to care for. Fabulous!
  • Alison
    February 14, 2017
    DNF at 51%Molly is a psychologist who wrote a best-selling book and is now a famous online agony aunt. She has had a series of bad relationship break-ups, in each case the man fell madly in love with Molly but no matter how hard she tried.Daniel is a divorce lawyer, disillusioned about love and relationships he cares only about helping the helpless. When he spots Molly running in Central Park with her dog Valentine he decides the best way to get to know her would be as a fellow dog owner so he b DNF at 51%Molly is a psychologist who wrote a best-selling book and is now a famous online agony aunt. She has had a series of bad relationship break-ups, in each case the man fell madly in love with Molly but no matter how hard she tried.Daniel is a divorce lawyer, disillusioned about love and relationships he cares only about helping the helpless. When he spots Molly running in Central Park with her dog Valentine he decides the best way to get to know her would be as a fellow dog owner so he borrows a dog from his sisters who run a dog shelter/ dog day care service. Guess who looks after Valentine for Molly?How sad is it that I threw in the towel on Valentine's Day? Frankly I found Daniel to be borderline stalker and his insistence on coming round to Molly's and not taking no for an answer was creepy, not romantic. I thought that Molly's insistence that she was some kind of bad news for relationships, that falling in love is impossible for her because of her DNA was batshit crazy - she's supposed to be a psychologist? Talk about physician heal yourself. If that's the claptrap she believes about herself can you imagine the appalling advice she gives people online?Sorry, not for me.I received a free copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    February 22, 2017
    Review to come!
  • Simona
    January 23, 2017
    *Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*Another Sarah Morgan book set in New York as part of the Manhattan With Love series, all I need!This story follows Molly, a successful agony aunt, who is originally from the UK. She loves her dog Valentine and has basically started a new life in New York, leaving everything behind.Daniel is a divorce lawyer, who thinks relationships are a bad idea. You can’t get hurt, if you are not dating right?!Well, he borrows a dog *Book provided by the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*Another Sarah Morgan book set in New York as part of the Manhattan With Love series, all I need!This story follows Molly, a successful agony aunt, who is originally from the UK. She loves her dog Valentine and has basically started a new life in New York, leaving everything behind.Daniel is a divorce lawyer, who thinks relationships are a bad idea. You can’t get hurt, if you are not dating right?!Well, he borrows a dog to meet tis woman in Central Park. So they meet every morning and they start spending a lot of time together. There is an electric chemistry between them and the way their relationship develops is very interesting and intriguing.We also get to meet Molly’s best friends Gabe and Mark, as well as Daniel’s sisters Harriet and Fliss. These characters add a lot to the story and it’s great how they are always there for Molly or Daniel. Sarah included them in a wonderful way and it’s clear that these people are very important in their lives.What I really enjoyed was reading about Eva and Lucas again, they were in some of the scenes and it was great to see how their relationship developed and how their lives are.They both don’t want a real relationship, just fun, but of course things change. Both of them are suppressing their feelings though and then there is Molly’s secret, which is about to be revealed. Their story is full of ups and downs, obstacles, passion and love.Sarah Morgan’s stories are always full of sparks, romance, charm, passion and life . This time though the excitement didn’t get through as much, I needed some time to get into the story. After a while I was hooked, but the beginning didn’t flow for me.As always, I absolutely adored Sarah Morgan’s descriptions of New York, she really has a way of including these beautiful settings.And then there are these sexy, steamy and passionate scenes, which add something else to the story, Sarah Morgan is really talented when it comes these moments.Rating: 4.5/5
    more
  • Nellie Rivera
    April 13, 2017
    Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. Story of two people dead set against relationship. Molly relocates to New York, after having her life implode in public, and was humiliated professionally, and personally and was abandoned by her supposed friends. She starts over and does have friends now, but her most meaningful relationship is with her dog Valentine. Daniel is a divorce lawyer and since his childhood was not great due to parents relationship, stays away from them. He notices Mo Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. Story of two people dead set against relationship. Molly relocates to New York, after having her life implode in public, and was humiliated professionally, and personally and was abandoned by her supposed friends. She starts over and does have friends now, but her most meaningful relationship is with her dog Valentine. Daniel is a divorce lawyer and since his childhood was not great due to parents relationship, stays away from them. He notices Molly and wants to get to know her. She gives him the run around, but eventually they start dating, but each if holding firm that it will not go further. Eventually the secrets each of them have come to light. Daniel does fall in love, and so does Molly,. Need to read what happens to Fliss next. My only issue is that is took to long, for them to start having a relationship.
    more
  • MetLineReader
    March 27, 2017
    I❤Sarah Morgan and her Manhattan series. Another great book with insight into the love lives of Manhattanites. Sweet book that interlocks the lives of precious characters with new people to create yet more layers of romance and complexity!! I can't believe it took me so long to read this book - was gutted that I left my proof copy at a friend's and it took me 3 months to track it down!! Once I'd retrieved it, I finished it in a couple of hours...4* from me I❤️Sarah Morgan and her Manhattan series. Another great book with insight into the love lives of Manhattanites. Sweet book that interlocks the lives of precious characters with new people to create yet more layers of romance and complexity!! I can't believe it took me so long to read this book - was gutted that I left my proof copy at a friend's and it took me 3 months to track it down!! Once I'd retrieved it, I finished it in a couple of hours...4* from me
    more
  • Nicole
    January 29, 2017
    Well what can I say?It's a Sarah Morgan book...and all is said...:)
  • CL
    February 12, 2017
    ARC received from: NetgalleyRating: 3*Chemistry: Low BoilOne-Sentence Summary: "Must Love Dogs" with secretsReview: This was a bit of a schizophrenic read for me:+ I love dogs- I frown upon dogs being used as props+ Using a dog as a Meet Cute is cute- Using someone else’s dog to stalk a woman is frankly scary+ Dogs are cute- Molly have erotic thoughts whilst watching Daniel stroke a dog made me want to throw up Molly watched, transfixed, as those long, strong fingers caressed her dog. Her pulse ARC received from: NetgalleyRating: 3*Chemistry: Low BoilOne-Sentence Summary: "Must Love Dogs" with secretsReview: This was a bit of a schizophrenic read for me:+ I love dogs- I frown upon dogs being used as props+ Using a dog as a Meet Cute is cute- Using someone else’s dog to stalk a woman is frankly scary+ Dogs are cute- Molly have erotic thoughts whilst watching Daniel stroke a dog made me want to throw up Molly watched, transfixed, as those long, strong fingers caressed her dog. Her pulse sped forward. Her insides tumbled and turned. And still she stared at those hands, watching as he seduced her dog with easy, comfortable strokes+ I like New York- The first few chapters with the repetitious stalking in Central Park made me want to stop reading+ I loved it when Molly turned up at Daniel’s office to call him on his lie- There were just so many lies/hidden truths between them+ I LOVED Daniel's sisters and Molly's gay best friends- I liked Daniel/Molly+ I love Sarah Morgan- This book didn't completely win me overOverall, what I took away from this book was that it was a bridge to Fliss and Harriet's stories that I am really looking forward to, especially Seth/Fliss's.Originally posted @ Love's A State Of Mind
    more
  • Diane Cunningham
    February 11, 2017
    Although this is the start of a new trio of stories you do meet up with old friends from stories before. This is an unusual story in the fact that the main characters Molly and Daniel are actually against falling in love they are definitely not looking for love. Molly is British and moved to New York to escape her troubled past she is an agony aunt happy to help others with relationships but not happy to have one herself. Daniel is similar in the fact that he's a divorce lawyer who seeing the tr Although this is the start of a new trio of stories you do meet up with old friends from stories before. This is an unusual story in the fact that the main characters Molly and Daniel are actually against falling in love they are definitely not looking for love. Molly is British and moved to New York to escape her troubled past she is an agony aunt happy to help others with relationships but not happy to have one herself. Daniel is similar in the fact that he's a divorce lawyer who seeing the troubles of his clients is in no rush to get into a relationship either. This is a lovely story to follow the ups and downs as Molly and Daniel become friends with the help of Valentine and Brutus their furry friends.
    more
  • Kim
    February 8, 2017
    A new book from Sarah Morgan is always a huge treat. They have such wonderful characters and settings that leave you yearning to travel. You know you have got to put a couple of evenings aside and stock up on tea and biscuits!Molly is an agony aunt and Daniel is a divorce lawyer. Molly only has time for one love in her life- her gorgeous Dalmatian Valentine. She goes running in Central Park. Daniel wants to get to know her and borrows a dog join her in the park.The other characters in the book a A new book from Sarah Morgan is always a huge treat. They have such wonderful characters and settings that leave you yearning to travel. You know you have got to put a couple of evenings aside and stock up on tea and biscuits!Molly is an agony aunt and Daniel is a divorce lawyer. Molly only has time for one love in her life- her gorgeous Dalmatian Valentine. She goes running in Central Park. Daniel wants to get to know her and borrows a dog join her in the park.The other characters in the book add a great deal of depth and they are fascinating in their own right. Sarah has a wonderful talent creating characters that make you want to be friends and keep you turning the pages.I’m now desperate to read more!
    more
  • Alison
    February 2, 2017
    I received a copy of the book in return for an honest review via Netgalley.I enjoyed this latest volume set in New York by Sarah Morgan, but it wasn't my favourite. Molly, our heroine has relocated there to find a new life and Daniel the hero is a hot shot lawyer, but with a heart.They are good together, but stumble over lies and deceptions which makes their relationship stop and start. I was actually more intrigued by Daniel's twin sisters, who I assume will get their stories next. The addition I received a copy of the book in return for an honest review via Netgalley.I enjoyed this latest volume set in New York by Sarah Morgan, but it wasn't my favourite. Molly, our heroine has relocated there to find a new life and Daniel the hero is a hot shot lawyer, but with a heart.They are good together, but stumble over lies and deceptions which makes their relationship stop and start. I was actually more intrigued by Daniel's twin sisters, who I assume will get their stories next. The addition of Valentine and Brutus the dogs was a pleasure to read.The fact that the story only really moved between two apartments in NY I found a little dull, and would have liked to have had more colour added. Though it was good to find out about the law offices, vets etc.Not one of my favourites but still solidly well written, I look forward to catching up with the next story.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 31, 2017
    I've been a fan of Sarah Morgan's books for some time but this is the first time I've used the audio version. Finding it was read by Jennifer Woodward was a bonus for me as I'd previously listened to her narrate parts of Small Great Things and enjoyed listening. In this Jennifer narrated several characters and was still pleasant to listen to and she was able to adapt to the variety of people and accents well.Sarah Morgan's story was as always enjoyable and as a continuation of her Manhattan seri I've been a fan of Sarah Morgan's books for some time but this is the first time I've used the audio version. Finding it was read by Jennifer Woodward was a bonus for me as I'd previously listened to her narrate parts of Small Great Things and enjoyed listening. In this Jennifer narrated several characters and was still pleasant to listen to and she was able to adapt to the variety of people and accents well.Sarah Morgan's story was as always enjoyable and as a continuation of her Manhattan series it was nice to add new characters to others I already knew from previous books. This story would also work well as a stand alone novel as enough information was given for anyone stepping into these books at this point (though having enjoyed the previous three stories I'd recommend them anyway). Looking forward to future books to hear the stories that will be given to each of the twins.
    more
  • Adele
    January 30, 2017
    I’ve just finished reading this irresistible novel and had to put down my thoughts straight away. Sarah Morgan’s novels are a guaranteed page-turner and a delight and this latest one of hers; New York, Actually, is just simply wonderful. You will fall in love with the characters, fall in love with Valentine and Brutus and best of all you will fall in love with the story.New York, Actually is book 4 in The Manhattan with Love series. You don’t have to read the other stories in the series as New Y I’ve just finished reading this irresistible novel and had to put down my thoughts straight away. Sarah Morgan’s novels are a guaranteed page-turner and a delight and this latest one of hers; New York, Actually, is just simply wonderful. You will fall in love with the characters, fall in love with Valentine and Brutus and best of all you will fall in love with the story.New York, Actually is book 4 in The Manhattan with Love series. You don’t have to read the other stories in the series as New York, Actually can be thoroughly enjoyed as a stand alone but to fully gorge yourself in the wonderfulness of this series I would recommend reading all the books in the series, which are:•Sleepless in Manhattan•Sunset in Central Park•Miracle on 5th AvenueMolly has a secret persona, she is New York’s famous agony aunt and is owner of the relationship blog Ask a Girl. Molly moved to New York three years ago following a relationship break-up that was publicly slammed on social media sending repercussions to her professional and personal life. She never received any support from her so called friends back then and has continually blamed herself for what happened and believes she is a disaster in relationships. However, her professional expertise in relationships is flourishing. The only man in her life now is her dog Valentine. Valentine is a Dalmatian breed dog with a sweet heart shaped nose he loves nothing more than to go jogging with Molly in Central Park.Daniel is one of the top divorce lawyers in New York, he’s brilliant at his job and has a ‘love them and leave them’ attitude with women. He doesn’t want everlasting love as he doesn’t agree in love. Events in the past have hurt Daniel and his twin sisters badly and love is not on his agenda at all. However, Daniel can’t stop thinking about the girl in the park running with her Dalmatian dog. He normally has no problem with female attention but this girl seems to have ‘Daniel shaped blinkers’ against her eyes. Daniel seeks the help of his sisters to try and attract the girl’s attention. He decides to borrow one of the dogs from The Bark Rangers, the pet walking and fostering business, his twin sisters run. Daniel claims to not be a dog person but the Alsatian dog he has taken for a walk soon takes a shine to Daniel but when the unlikely pair do meet up with the girl and her dog in the park the Alsatian and the Dalmatian become an instant hit. Will this attraction spread to their unsuspecting humans? Will Molly and Daniel learn to let down the barriers they’ve built from past experiences and give love a chance?This story had it all! It was full of sexual chemistry, romance, emotion and warmth. Scenes to grip you and leave you fighting the pages to find out what happens next. A gorgeous story that I just didn’t want to end … 5/5*
    more
  • Betsy Newmark
    March 5, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book and read it all in one sitting. It’s the fourth book in Morgan’s “From Manhattan with Love series) but I don’t think you needed to have read the earlier books to enjoy this one. Some of the characters appear again, but they were rather minor. This book concerns Daniel, a divorce lawyer who is the brother of the twins who run a dog-care and walking business. They had made brief appearances in the earlier books. Daniel is really attracted to a woman he sees jogging in Ce I really enjoyed this book and read it all in one sitting. It’s the fourth book in Morgan’s “From Manhattan with Love series) but I don’t think you needed to have read the earlier books to enjoy this one. Some of the characters appear again, but they were rather minor. This book concerns Daniel, a divorce lawyer who is the brother of the twins who run a dog-care and walking business. They had made brief appearances in the earlier books. Daniel is really attracted to a woman he sees jogging in Central Park with her dalmation. He wants to meet her and decides to borrow a German shepherd from his sisters’ dog-fostering business in order to meet her.It works. The dogs become fast friends and keep pulling Daniel and the woman, Molly, together. Molly is a psychologist from London and she writes a blog giving relationship advice and has written a book of advice. There are hints that something catastrophic happened with the last relationship she was in that destroyed her personally and professionally. It takes about half the book to find out what it was and I have to say, it was not what I was suspecting. So cheers for not falling into some cliche story about past relationships that went bad that are so common in romance novels.Daniel also doesn’t fit the stereotype that I was expecting for a hunky guy who was a successful Manhattan divorce lawyer. He’s actually in this profession to right the worngs he felt his mother suffered in a terrible marriage with his father. He wants to help people not get destroyed by the collapse of their marriages.So both Daniel and Molly are very wary of anything smelling of romance. But they end up opening up to each other and sharing some, but not all, of their secrets. In the meantime, they’re falling for each other and having some hot sex. The moral of their romance is that it’s important to be completely honest with someone you’re getting into a relationship with. That leads to some complications once All is Revealed. But they resolve these things pretty much like adults and I enjoyed following their story. The only quibble I had was that I just can’t see anyone in the financial range Molly is supposed to be having an apartment big enough for a Dalmatian. And while I get that Daniel is a very successful Manhattan divorce attorney, I found it hard to believe that he could afford such a large two-floor apartment on Fifth Avenue. But those are minor quibbles. The rest of the book was fun and the dogs were very sweet.I was given a free ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, but I would have paid for the book - it was that enjoyable. I look forward to the sequels that are surely coming involving Daniel's twin sisters.
    more
  • Book Gannet
    January 25, 2017
    When I see the name Sarah Morgan I know I’m in for a treat, and this latest From Manhattan With Love book is no exception. Molly is a woman with a secret and a gorgeous Dalmatian, Daniel has his own secret when he meets her with Brutus, his borrowed German Shepherd, and much fun and romance follows. It’s enjoyable and easy and pure comfort reading throughout.I really liked Daniel. He’s a cynical, hard working divorce lawyer, but of course beneath his Rottweiler image he’s a complete sweetheart. When I see the name Sarah Morgan I know I’m in for a treat, and this latest From Manhattan With Love book is no exception. Molly is a woman with a secret and a gorgeous Dalmatian, Daniel has his own secret when he meets her with Brutus, his borrowed German Shepherd, and much fun and romance follows. It’s enjoyable and easy and pure comfort reading throughout.I really liked Daniel. He’s a cynical, hard working divorce lawyer, but of course beneath his Rottweiler image he’s a complete sweetheart. Especially where children are involved. Beneath his tough shell he’s a complete marshmallow and this is particularly obvious when it comes to Brutus, the borrowed dog. I adored this part of the story, almost more than Molly and Daniel. Man and dog are meant to be together and I loved how that slowly became obvious to everyone except Daniel.Then there’s Molly, the relationship expert who fled to another country and changed her name after her last relationship went horribly wrong. The only relationship she has time for is with Valentine, her gorgeous Dalmatian. Until along comes Daniel, with his charm and his flirting and his chemistry and his humour. Molly views him pretty objectively, but it’s also easy to see why she can’t help being drawn to him.The pair of them are great together. They’re both commitment-shy, have scars from their childhoods, have no interest in long term relationships and have a couple of dogs that adore each other. I loved how easy they were with each other, once Molly stopped thinking too deeply, and how naturally their relationship progressed.Of course, it’s not all plain sailing, but when things do start to go wrong – sometimes for exceedingly foolish reasons – the supporting cast were wonderful. Daniel’s sisters, Fliss and Harry of the Bark Rangers have been minor characters in the previous books, so it was great to get to know them a bit more. We also saw a bit of Eva from Urban Genie, but despite being the fourth book in this series it easily stands alone, with only small ties to the first three books. I also loved Molly’s upstairs neighbours, who were always on hand to provide comfort, advice and champagne.In all another enjoyable comfort read from this author, filled with dogs, friendship and romantic charm. I look forward to reading Fliss’ story next.(ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley.)
    more
  • Tara
    January 25, 2017
    There is an entertaining twist in the tale (or should that be tail) early in Sarah Morgan’s new book, New York, Actually – don’t worry, I won’t give any more away but it definitely made me chuckle.I’ll say right off the bat that I’m an avid reader of her novels and this is, in my opinion, her at her very best.The characters hook you from the start and it’s so well written that by the end you’re rooting for them both because they feel like friends.It’s fast-paced, emotional, funny, warm, romantic There is an entertaining twist in the tale (or should that be tail) early in Sarah Morgan’s new book, New York, Actually – don’t worry, I won’t give any more away but it definitely made me chuckle.I’ll say right off the bat that I’m an avid reader of her novels and this is, in my opinion, her at her very best.The characters hook you from the start and it’s so well written that by the end you’re rooting for them both because they feel like friends.It’s fast-paced, emotional, funny, warm, romantic and oh-so-sexy.The chemistry between Molly and Daniel is palpable from their first meeting and it just keeps building. It’s thrilling to witness because we also know that underneath it all there are secrets (so many secrets) on both sides that are, eventually, going to come out.As a dog person, I loved the added dimension of the two pooches – and especially learning more about the humans from the way they interacted with the animals.While this book follows two new characters and is a standalone, it is number four in the From Manhattan With Love series, which means we also catch up with some familiar faces – as well as try and work out who might feature in her next book (please let it be Fliss and Seth!).Sarah’s Twitter profile gives a warning: “My books contain optimism and scenes some readers may find uplifting.”That’s exactly how I felt when I finished. Do yourself a favour and buy it today.With thanks to Harlequin UK for the ARC (via NetGalley) in return for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Cheryl M-M
    February 9, 2017
    Let me start off by saying that in my opinion Valentine, and especially his buddy Brutus, are the unexpected stars of this book. They are the cherry on top of another literary ice cream sundae by Sarah Morgan.Molly makes her money by giving advice to others. An anonymous agony aunt with about as much experience at successful relationships and love, as a badger at sunbathing.This is actually a pet peeve of mine. People with zero practical experience giving advice based on theoretical knowledge.Of Let me start off by saying that in my opinion Valentine, and especially his buddy Brutus, are the unexpected stars of this book. They are the cherry on top of another literary ice cream sundae by Sarah Morgan.Molly makes her money by giving advice to others. An anonymous agony aunt with about as much experience at successful relationships and love, as a badger at sunbathing.This is actually a pet peeve of mine. People with zero practical experience giving advice based on theoretical knowledge.Of course Molly seems to be blissfully unaware of this contradiction or rather the fact her inexperience may be causing others pain and conflict. It’s easy to dole out advice and have an opinion on the lives of strangers, especially when they all remain anonymous. The problem is that the eager agony aunt only ever hears a one-sided conversation.Daniel meets Molly under what we shall call contrived circumstances. He tries to attract the attention of a beautiful woman in the most extraordinary way. Hmm so the problem is that both of them have buckets full of secrets, which means interactions based on misconceptions and half-truths.Once again Morgan manages to tug on the heartstrings with a strong and passionate story, and yet at the same time she makes sure the reader gets quite a few laughs.*I received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher.*
    more
  • Sally Coles
    February 6, 2017
    Molly is a psychologist who writes an agony blog under the name of Aggy giving relationship advice...even though her only relationship is with her dalmation dog Valentine, and we soon start to find out that Molly is not interested in a relationship herself because she is running away from a disastrous one in EnglandDaniel is a hotshot divorce lawyer, not interested in relationships - he has not even had a woman stay one night in his apartment - but he likes to play the field and his current inte Molly is a psychologist who writes an agony blog under the name of Aggy giving relationship advice...even though her only relationship is with her dalmation dog Valentine, and we soon start to find out that Molly is not interested in a relationship herself because she is running away from a disastrous one in EnglandDaniel is a hotshot divorce lawyer, not interested in relationships - he has not even had a woman stay one night in his apartment - but he likes to play the field and his current interest is woman who runs with her dog every morning in Central Park but does not even look at himDetermined to get her attention Daniel decides to "borrow" a dog from his twin sisters who run a dog walking business and also foster dogs from the rescue centre while they are looking for new homes, and so every morning starts walking a german shepherd in the park With both of them keeping secrets and not being entirely honest can this relationship ever go anywhere - especially when they are both determined that they do not want a relationship!I loved this booked - to me it was the best of the series so far but then I am a dog lover and the dogs added so much to the story - definitely one worth reading and lovely to catch up with the characters from the previous books - although absolutely fine to read as a stand alone
    more
  • Lisa
    March 8, 2017
    Have you ever not wanted a book to end? That’s how I felt about this one.The main two characters are Molly, a relationship expert and Daniel, a Divorce Lawyer. Neither have ever been in love, apart from Molly, who loves her dog Valentine. Daniel and Molly form a friendship through their dogs but agree never to fall in love.The depth that the author gave the main characters, and the background to their lives. It was well plotted out and quite plausible. Rather than being just a “light and fluffy” Have you ever not wanted a book to end? That’s how I felt about this one.The main two characters are Molly, a relationship expert and Daniel, a Divorce Lawyer. Neither have ever been in love, apart from Molly, who loves her dog Valentine. Daniel and Molly form a friendship through their dogs but agree never to fall in love.The depth that the author gave the main characters, and the background to their lives. It was well plotted out and quite plausible. Rather than being just a “light and fluffy” romance novel, this was a great story with dysfunctional and broken families; broken down relationships and dissolved friendships.The Author had made Molly and Daniel really likeable, and the way the storyline blended their lives, made it a really good read.It was a book I hated to put down and didn’t want it to end. I’ll certainly be adding more Sarah Morgan books to my list.Thank you to Anne Cater from the blog "Random Things Through My Letterbox" for giving me the chance to review a book from her collection. I am now giving the pre-loved copy away on my blog.
    more
  • Ann Cooper
    January 26, 2017
    What's not to love? NYC, gorgeous dogs, great characters and truths and deceptions.I absolutely adored this book and read it in two sittings! I've enjoyed Sarah's New York series and this is the first of a spin-off series focussing on the dog walking business and the people who run it. Nice references to the previous books, but this is easily read as a stand alone.I really enjoyed the way that Daniel and Molly reacted to bad news/discoveries. They reacted immediately but then went away and thoug What's not to love? NYC, gorgeous dogs, great characters and truths and deceptions.I absolutely adored this book and read it in two sittings! I've enjoyed Sarah's New York series and this is the first of a spin-off series focussing on the dog walking business and the people who run it. Nice references to the previous books, but this is easily read as a stand alone.I really enjoyed the way that Daniel and Molly reacted to bad news/discoveries. They reacted immediately but then went away and thought about it and changed their tunes. All too often in romance books the lead characters fall out and then simmer with anger for weeks/months/years. Human nature usually reconsiders after examining the facts in a sensible way and after talking to others.What was particularly charming was the way Molly's defences dropped without her realising. When all her friends turned up to support her I was crying!Can't wait for the next one - and since we've had hints regarding Fliss & Seth, I'm hoping it covers their relationship!!I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Geraldine Sadiku
    January 28, 2017
    New York Actually is part 4 of Sarah Morgan's Manhattan with Love series. This was a story that i was looking forward to as soon as i heard there were going to be further releases in the series.A heart warming romance that had me enthralled within the first few pages.The heroine is Molly who is protecting herself after suffering heartache in the past and having to reinvent herself (even though she is successful at given relationship advice to others). The hero is Daniel who is a divorce lawyer t New York Actually is part 4 of Sarah Morgan's Manhattan with Love series. This was a story that i was looking forward to as soon as i heard there were going to be further releases in the series.A heart warming romance that had me enthralled within the first few pages.The heroine is Molly who is protecting herself after suffering heartache in the past and having to reinvent herself (even though she is successful at given relationship advice to others). The hero is Daniel who is a divorce lawyer that is also protecting himself from past hurts.These two seem an unlikely match but throw in 2 dogs (who in my opinion steal the show) quirky characters makes for a contemporary romance that had me laughing, crying as well as some pure moments of cuteness involving the dogs makes this romance a keeper. Loved it.I received this in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review