Worth the Wait (Guthrie Brothers #2)
Ready or not…love will find a way Single dad Hogan Guthrie is getting his life back on track, and working as the "barbecue master" at a local diner is just a temporary detour. He and restaurant owner Violet Shaw constantly butt heads…until one night they end up mingling other parts instead. Hogan thought he had the recipe for happiness all figured out. But loyal, carefree Violet is daring him to trust his impulses…and see just how sweet small-town living—and loving—can be. Nathan Hawley traded his SWAT team credentials for a sheriff's badge, but a gorgeous new neighbor is shaking up his orderly life. Nathan has a hunch there's more to Brooklin Sweet than meets the eye—but given her caution about getting involved, he has his work cut out for him. Still, there's something about the elusive beauty Nathan can't walk away from—and helping her come to terms with her past might pave the way to the future they both secretly long for.

Worth the Wait (Guthrie Brothers #2) Details

TitleWorth the Wait (Guthrie Brothers #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherHarlequin Books
ISBN037378967X
ISBN-139780373789672
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Category Romance, Harlequin, Contemporary

Worth the Wait (Guthrie Brothers #2) Review

  • The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    April 4, 2017
    I received a digital ARC of this novel courtesy of NetGalley and Harlequin Books in exchange for a honest and voluntary review. Will post full review closer to publication date of July 25, 2017.
  • Tina Christopher
    April 9, 2017
    ** spoiler alert ** Another fab bookSeeing the chemistry between Hogan and Violet was a lot of fun, great journey for them to come together, seeing how Colt fit into the equation or rather how Violet fit in with the boys was lovelyNathan and Brooklin were also a great coupleMy only hesitation was that having two couples story within one book meant the second didn't get all the attention they deserved, everything felt just a touch rushed, I didn't connect with the characters as strongly as I did ** spoiler alert ** Another fab bookSeeing the chemistry between Hogan and Violet was a lot of fun, great journey for them to come together, seeing how Colt fit into the equation or rather how Violet fit in with the boys was lovelyNathan and Brooklin were also a great coupleMy only hesitation was that having two couples story within one book meant the second didn't get all the attention they deserved, everything felt just a touch rushed, I didn't connect with the characters as strongly as I did in book 1, but it's still a fab read (less)
    more
  • Flo Grugel
    April 15, 2017
    Enjoyable characters, sweet read. I received an arc copy of this book via NetGalley.
  • Sarah Lehman
    April 13, 2017
    I loved this story, it was a great follow up to Don't Tempt Me.I enjoyed Hogan Guthrie & Violet Shaw. Hogan is working as an accountant but also as the bbq master at Violet's diner. They work together, thinking of new ideas for the diner, even though Violet likes to be in charge. At times they butt heads, but it's fun to watch. Hogan also deals with the feelings he needed to confront after what his ex did to him.We also see the town sheriff Nathan Hawley fall for his new neighbor Brooklin Sw I loved this story, it was a great follow up to Don't Tempt Me.I enjoyed Hogan Guthrie & Violet Shaw. Hogan is working as an accountant but also as the bbq master at Violet's diner. They work together, thinking of new ideas for the diner, even though Violet likes to be in charge. At times they butt heads, but it's fun to watch. Hogan also deals with the feelings he needed to confront after what his ex did to him.We also see the town sheriff Nathan Hawley fall for his new neighbor Brooklin Sweet. She's beautiful but quiet, cautious & preferring to be alone. Nathan definitely had his work cut out for him to get to know Brooklin. She develops a great friendship with Violet & gets along with the others in the neighborhood.We also get to see more of Hogan's son Colt, he's a great son & teenager. Very responsible. He's a great student & hard worker as he mows lawns, works at Violet's diner & works some with his uncle Jason. He also finds a great girl as well.It was also fun to see Jason & Honor, Sullivan & Lexie too.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Whispers From
    April 15, 2017
    Violet owns a little diner in town. She's beautiful, smart, and bossy. Hogan is an accountant with a boy who's a senior in high school and works at the diner making ribs. He was hurt by his ex wife and when he first moved to town was a complete manwhore. But he's settling down but doesn't want to ever get married again. When he gets fired, Violet convinces him to work for her full time. With his son Colt starting college soon, he'll need all the extra money he can get.Nathan is sheriff and was f Violet owns a little diner in town. She's beautiful, smart, and bossy. Hogan is an accountant with a boy who's a senior in high school and works at the diner making ribs. He was hurt by his ex wife and when he first moved to town was a complete manwhore. But he's settling down but doesn't want to ever get married again. When he gets fired, Violet convinces him to work for her full time. With his son Colt starting college soon, he'll need all the extra money he can get.Nathan is sheriff and was former SWAT team. Brooklin moved in next door but she's hiding something. He chases her until he finally wears her down. When Brooklin and Violet are run down by someone in a van, all their protective instincts come to the front. Now Nathan must figure out how to get Brooklin to trust him with her secrets.Excellent story. Suspense thrown in. And mixed with some sexy guys and beautiful women. I love reading a story where I can get lost in it and feel like I'm right there with them. *Voluntarily reviewed this for Netgalley *
    more
  • Christiana Lawson-Bloom
    April 13, 2017
    I received this book in exchange for a honest review. Now that's said, this book was very sweet. Hogan and violet are just perfect for each other! Nathan and Brooklin also were a fun couple to read about and I think maybe book 3 will be colts book? He seems to have found himself a nice girl, so we will see. So 3 couples, find their happiness in a very sweet, moderately paced book. You have the heat, the humor, the feels and action, all in this book. Now I don't like to leave spoilers, so I won't I received this book in exchange for a honest review. Now that's said, this book was very sweet. Hogan and violet are just perfect for each other! Nathan and Brooklin also were a fun couple to read about and I think maybe book 3 will be colts book? He seems to have found himself a nice girl, so we will see. So 3 couples, find their happiness in a very sweet, moderately paced book. You have the heat, the humor, the feels and action, all in this book. Now I don't like to leave spoilers, so I won't but I will say if you liked "Don't tempt me" you will love "worth the wait" it was definitely worth it!
    more
  • Heather andrews
    March 28, 2017
    Hogan doesn't mind oversharing information, “true enough.” Slanting her a look, he added, “Hairy thighs, too. And on my stomach, there’s this line of—” Hogan's mind tends to wander in one direction, “how nice it feels when you wrap them around the small of my back. Or when they’re over my shoulders and I’m—” I really enjoyed thos book, loved the characters and loved Hogan.
    more
  • Stephanie
    April 14, 2017
    Love, love, love Violet's fiery personality. She's funny and sarcastic and gives Hogan hell. I love their playful banter. I don't think Lori Foster is capable of writing a bad book!!!
  • Denise
    April 13, 2017
    Worth the WaitI received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I'm not sure I liked Hogan's character in Don't Tempt Me. But I've got to say Lori changed my mind in Worth the Wait. It was fun to see Hogan and Violet get together. I loved the bond between Hogan and his son, Colt. I enjoyed the returning characters, the side romances and the twist of suspense. Great read.
    more
  • Anita
    April 5, 2017
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.
  • Melinda Hennies
    April 14, 2017
    I was provided an ARC for an honest review.. Lori Foster wrote another great book. Hogan has dealt with loss and trust does not come easy for him. He works part time for Violet as her grill master... Violet has feelings but Hogan is not able to commit...After an altercation with his boss Hogan is out of a job and works with Violet full time...Feeling happen as as they grow closer Hogan is able to put the past behind.... Violet is caught in danger and shows Hogan we must listen to our heart..
    more
  • Karen
    April 13, 2017
    Hogan Gutherie is a single dad trying to start over and find his way again after his wife cheated on him and then passed away. He is trying his best for his 17 year old son Colt but is he doing what is best for himself? Hogan is an accountant who is now working for a small firm, however on the weekends he is the Grill Master as Violet's diner. When Hogan's female boss at the accounting firm fires him, he has no choice but now to go full time grilling at Violet's diner. Violet is a very independe Hogan Gutherie is a single dad trying to start over and find his way again after his wife cheated on him and then passed away. He is trying his best for his 17 year old son Colt but is he doing what is best for himself? Hogan is an accountant who is now working for a small firm, however on the weekends he is the Grill Master as Violet's diner. When Hogan's female boss at the accounting firm fires him, he has no choice but now to go full time grilling at Violet's diner. Violet is a very independent, strong, woman who is not used to having someone help her. She has had the hots for Hogan since she met him and once she convinces him to try being the grill master full time, the two come up with some amazing ideas for the diner. But Violet thinks that Hogan is trying to push his own agenda and Violet does not know how she feels about it all.Violet and Hogan end up having a relationship, but they both said with no feelings getting involved, well that didn't last too long. Violet fell hard and fast for Hogan and for his amazing son Colt. Nathan Hawley is a sheriff, former SWAT member who got hurt on the job and moved to a small town, where he found his happy place. He gets a new neighbor whom has caught his interest big time, Brooklin Sweet. But she wants nothing to do with him or anyone really. Brooklin is hiding from her past and trying to move on. She feels like she found her new place but a pesky Sheriff won't leave her alone. Not that she is complaining at all. Brooklin seems to have someone after her. She hears someone trying to break into her house, someone tried to run her over. Nathan makes sure she is well protected and moves her in with him. The two of them can't stop their attraction towards each other and are inseperabable until one evening in the diner. Brookin's past comes back to seek revenge. Violet is with her and becomes collateral damage. This story was one of the best I have read in a long time. There was drama, a mystery, falling in love, three romances developing, and some great humor.
    more
  • Sue
    April 14, 2017
    4.5 StarsWitty, sexy, sassy romp, with a bit of suspenseful drama thrown in. "Worth The Wait" was just that and more.We got a chance to get a feel for Hogan Guthrie in Don't Temp Me the first book about the Guthries'. Hogan and his son Colt went through a rough time, both are working part time at Screwy Louie's, Hogan being the Master of his BBQ ribs. What is in that secret sauce? Then we have Violet the owner of Screwy Louie's, and the star of Hogan's lustful thoughts. These two dance around ea 4.5 StarsWitty, sexy, sassy romp, with a bit of suspenseful drama thrown in. "Worth The Wait" was just that and more.We got a chance to get a feel for Hogan Guthrie in Don't Temp Me the first book about the Guthries'. Hogan and his son Colt went through a rough time, both are working part time at Screwy Louie's, Hogan being the Master of his BBQ ribs. What is in that secret sauce? Then we have Violet the owner of Screwy Louie's, and the star of Hogan's lustful thoughts. These two dance around each other, but when they get on the same page, it's like the 4th of July. Colt melted my heart too!So many favorite scenes like...........nope, no spoilers here, you'll have to read it yourself.There is a secondary story with Nathan the ex-SWAT turned small town Sheriff and Brooklin his mysterious next door neighbor. It takes a special talent to weave two great stories and not get lost with all the characters from the present and previous book. Ms. Foster does a fantastic job making the story flow seamlessly. Another winner! Save a Horse Ride A Cowboy....love it!I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Nikki
    April 15, 2017
    Definitely worth the wait!!!! I love the double story line and getting to see two couples find their HEA, I don't think I've seen that before reading this series. Hogan has a lot of trust issues revolving around women after his now deceased wife betrayed him. He tried burying his anger and grief with meaningless flings and has finally realized that those flings were not only hurting him but also his 17 year old son Colt. Hogan works for Violet Shaw, a red headed temptress and diner owner, as her Definitely worth the wait!!!! I love the double story line and getting to see two couples find their HEA, I don't think I've seen that before reading this series. Hogan has a lot of trust issues revolving around women after his now deceased wife betrayed him. He tried burying his anger and grief with meaningless flings and has finally realized that those flings were not only hurting him but also his 17 year old son Colt. Hogan works for Violet Shaw, a red headed temptress and diner owner, as her new barbecue master grilling his awesome ribs with his secret sauce. The chemistry between them is off the charts but Hogan doesn't think he can give Violet anything but a temporary relationship. Violet wants and respects Hogan but is married to her diner and isn't used to depending on anyone but herself. She knows loving him would be a mistake because he won't let himself love again. With the diner's business booming more then ever thanks to Hogan, their relationship also starts blooming as they decide to give in to their chemistry and see where it takes them. Hogan is a wonderful character, he lost everything when his wife betrayed him but he picked himself and his son up and moved on. Violet is awesome, a red headed firecracker with a temper to match. She is independent and in charge, she speaks her mind and truly cares about the people around her. I think Colt is my favorite character, he is everything I think a person should be, courteous, respectful, fun, brave and caring, he definitely deserves his own story. The second storyline was about Nathan, who is the sheriff, lead singer of the Drunken Monkeys and friend to Hogan, Jason and Sullivan. A new neighbor moves in next door to Nathan and he is attracted to her from the first time he sees her. She is very private and avoids him the best she can but Nathan is persistent and finally learns that her name is Brooklyn and she creates jewelry. Nathan continues to pursue Brooklyn and she finally lets him in enough to start a tentative relationship. When she become friends with Violet and together the pair is almost ran down by a van, Brooklyn will have to entrust Nathan with her secrets so they can find who wants to hurt Brooklyn and now Violet by association. The second storyline isn't as detailed since its in the background to the main storyline but still fun to read, it isn't a distraction as it is seamlessly interwoven with the main storyline. Nathan is a protector through and through and Brooklyn definitely need a protector. It was awesome to learn some of Nathan's history to give him more depth as a character, Brooklyn was a perfect match for him. *I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader copy of this book.*
    more
  • Christa
    April 4, 2017
    I loved this latest by Lori Foster. It was a great followup to the first book in the series, and I enjoyed seeing all of the characters again and meeting a few new ones. I am enjoying the small town setting of this series. Although I think that all of the characters are great, I have to say that Colt is the best! What a fantastic young man Foster has made of this character!Hogan Guthrie has been through a very tough time and the good life he once knew is over. He and his son, Colt, are trying to I loved this latest by Lori Foster. It was a great followup to the first book in the series, and I enjoyed seeing all of the characters again and meeting a few new ones. I am enjoying the small town setting of this series. Although I think that all of the characters are great, I have to say that Colt is the best! What a fantastic young man Foster has made of this character!Hogan Guthrie has been through a very tough time and the good life he once knew is over. He and his son, Colt, are trying to pick up the pieces. Hogan has had a rough start in their new life, but is now settling down and trying to be the man he knows he should be. Violet, his boss at the diner where he cooks ribs part time, has caught his interest. When he finally convinces her that his player days are over, they give in to attraction. As the relationship between them begins to deepen, a newcomer to town inadvertently brings danger that soon envelops Violet. Hogan must protect those he cares about while trying to decide what he wants in his life.This was a great book! I'm already looking forward to Foster's next one. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing a copy of the book in return for an honest review.
    more
Write a review