After the Game (The Field Party, #3)
The third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Field Party series—a southern soap opera with football, cute boys, and pick-up trucks—from USA TODAY bestselling author Abbi Glines.Two years ago, Riley Young fled from Lawton, Alabama. After accusing the oldest Lawton son, Rhett, of rape, everyone called her a liar and she had no option but to leave. Now she’s back, but she’s not at Lawton High finishing up her senior year. She’s at home raising the little girl that no one believed was Rhett’s.Rhett is off at college living the life he was afraid he’d lose with Riley’s accusation, so Riley agrees to move back to Lawton so she and her parents could take care of her grandmother, who is suffering from Alzheimer’s. But the town still hasn’t forgotten their hate for her, and she hasn’t forgotten the way they turned on her when she needed them most.When town golden boy Brady Higgens finds Riley and her daughter, Bryony, stranded on the side of the road in a storm, he pulls over and gives them a ride. Not because he cares about Riley, of course, but because of the kid.But after the simple car ride, he begins to question everything he thought he knew. Could Brady believe Riley and risk losing everything?

After the Game (The Field Party, #3) Details

TitleAfter the Game (The Field Party, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 22nd, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN148143893X
ISBN-139781481438933
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult

After the Game (The Field Party, #3) Review

  • Krystal
    September 30, 2016
    AFTER THE GAMETwo years ago, Riley Young fled from Lawton, Alabama. When Riley accused Rhett, the son of the town’s prominent founding family, of rape, everyone called her a liar and said she had no option but to leave. Now she’s back, but she’s not at Lawton High finishing up her senior year. She’s at home raising the little girl who no one believed was Rhett’s.Rhett is off at college living the life he worried he might lose when Riley accused him when she returns to Lawton to help her parents AFTER THE GAMETwo years ago, Riley Young fled from Lawton, Alabama. When Riley accused Rhett, the son of the town’s prominent founding family, of rape, everyone called her a liar and said she had no option but to leave. Now she’s back, but she’s not at Lawton High finishing up her senior year. She’s at home raising the little girl who no one believed was Rhett’s.Rhett is off at college living the life he worried he might lose when Riley accused him when she returns to Lawton to help her parents take care of her grandmother, who is suffering from Alzheimer’s. But the town still hasn’t forgotten their hate for Riley, and she hasn’t forgotten the way they turned on her when she needed them most.When golden boy Brady Higgens finds Riley and her daughter Bryony stranded on the side of the road in a storm, he pulls over and gives them a ride. Not because he cares about Riley, of course, but because of the kid.But after that simple car ride, he begins to question everything he thought he knew.Could Brady believe Riley and risk losing everything?*courtesy of justinemagazine.com*
    more
  • AleJandra
    November 5, 2016
    Todas las portadas de esta serie son hermosas, y esta no es la excepción. Pero Brandy y Riley juntos, en serio Abbi?.
  • Angy Potter - Collector of Book Boyfriends
    October 2, 2016
    UPDATEI have what I needed:The cover The SynopsisThe third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Field Party series—a southern soap opera with football, cute boys, and pick-up trucks—from USA TODAY bestselling author Abbi Glines.Two years ago, Riley Young fled from Lawton, Alabama. After accusing the oldest Lawton son, Rhett, of rape, everyone called her a liar and she had no option but to leave. Now she’s back, but she’s not at Lawton High finishing up her senior year. She’s at home raising UPDATEI have what I needed:The cover The SynopsisThe third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Field Party series—a southern soap opera with football, cute boys, and pick-up trucks—from USA TODAY bestselling author Abbi Glines.Two years ago, Riley Young fled from Lawton, Alabama. After accusing the oldest Lawton son, Rhett, of rape, everyone called her a liar and she had no option but to leave. Now she’s back, but she’s not at Lawton High finishing up her senior year. She’s at home raising the little girl that no one believed was Rhett’s.Rhett is off at college living the life he was afraid he’d lose with Riley’s accusation, so Riley agrees to move back to Lawton so she and her parents could take care of her grandmother, who is suffering from Alzheimer’s. But the town still hasn’t forgotten their hate for her, and she hasn’t forgotten the way they turned on her when she needed them most.When town golden boy Brady Higgens finds Riley and her daughter, Bryony, stranded on the side of the road in a storm, he pulls over and gives them a ride. Not because he cares about Riley, of course, but because of the kid.But after the simple car ride, he begins to question everything he thought he knew. Could Brady believe Riley and risk losing everything?And the Publication date: August 22, 2017 Now I have to wait ----I need a synopsis, a cover and a publication date!No wait, what I need is this BOOK!!
    more
  • Jess
    October 16, 2016
    THAT COVER THOUGH
  • Jeraca
    December 23, 2016
    I received this free eARC from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review. I was a bit leery going into this book of the series after finding out who the characters were. Mainly about Brady because I really didn't like him in the second novel. He was so naive and whinny and annoying. It was all about him and no one else's problems seemed to matter to him. And the way he used and strung Ivy around because it was convienant and he didn't want to hurt her feelings was a pile of crap and I just want I received this free eARC from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review. I was a bit leery going into this book of the series after finding out who the characters were. Mainly about Brady because I really didn't like him in the second novel. He was so naive and whinny and annoying. It was all about him and no one else's problems seemed to matter to him. And the way he used and strung Ivy around because it was convienant and he didn't want to hurt her feelings was a pile of crap and I just wanted to bash his head in. Suffice to say, I really didn't like Brady after "Under the Lights".But I did like Riley. When she picked up Willa and took her home with no questions, no pressure, no nothing except to make sure she got home safe, I admired her for that. She seemed like a no nonsense type of girl and I respect that a lot - especially for a teenage girl. So I was absolutely excited to read it because of Riley, and I do have to say that the book was actually really decent by the time it finished. Riley was still a bad ass as she was for those brief pages, but now I know how much of an amazing mother she is to her sweet little girl Bryony. I admire Riley so much because what she went through was a nightmare come to life. But for her to not only live past that pain and torture and be able to look at her daughter with only love and not hatred for what she represented? That is the strongest person I know - fictional or otherwise. And Brady actually redeemed himself a lot in this novel. He stepped up and realized a lot of his mistakes that he made when he made rash decisions about Riley. And he finally had a glitch in his perfect life to make him understand what his close friends had gone through in the past months. Not that I'm saying everyone needs to have a bad event happen, but Brady wasn't able to fully understand and help his friends because he had never experienced anything like what they were going through. Being able to go through a bad time and come out of it with optimism and still find the rainbow in the sky is something that everyone should go through - otherwise they take a lot of things for granted. Bryony was the best part of this novel and I loved her so much. Grandmamma was, on the one hand, pretty hysterical with her funny statements, but it is so sad seeing a loved one with Alzheimer's and forgetting everything about their life. Abbi Glines was able to talk about a lot of tough subjects in this novel with grace and complete understand of what each character would go through as if the event was really happening. Rape is a subject that I do not read about - ever - period. It's the one subject I don't touch on, but I thought I would give this novel a try. I'm so glad I did because Abbi was able to talk about it in a way that didn't make me fear going outside and living my life. She actually inspires people to keep living after a brutal event like that and how to go about doing it, just by writing a story where Riley kept going. In my book, that is the best writing someone could ever do. I'm so glad that I received a copy of this and I will definitely be remembering it for years to come. Can't wait to see with other masterpiece she comes up with next!
    more
  • Meghan
    November 2, 2016
    WTF kind of name is Bryony?!? That is all.
  • Danielle Lagasse
    March 11, 2017
    So, I honestly didn't think I could ever love a book more than I did Until Friday Night. But, I'm going go on record right now and say that this book is my new favorite. I mean, I'm going to read a lot more books this year. Some of them will be good, some of them will be great... none of them will be After The Game. I love this series so much. Each book just gets better and better. It still blows my mind how Abbi has possessed the ability to create a time machine in paperback form. These aren't So, I honestly didn't think I could ever love a book more than I did Until Friday Night. But, I'm going go on record right now and say that this book is my new favorite. I mean, I'm going to read a lot more books this year. Some of them will be good, some of them will be great... none of them will be After The Game. I love this series so much. Each book just gets better and better. It still blows my mind how Abbi has possessed the ability to create a time machine in paperback form. These aren't my stories. These aren't my friends. Lawton High wasn't my high school. And, yet every time I open to the first page of a Field Party book, I'm sitting on Memory Lane, feeling nostalgic. Riley, Maggie and Willa are the trifecta of perfect teenage heroines. I love how strong they are, separately and as you'll see, together. Brady Higgens.... we all knew I had a soft spot for the star QB from day one. But, nothing prepared me for how much I would truly adore his character as much as I do. And, though this is so far from being their stories, Coralee Higgens and Lyla Young are by far my favorite book moms, too. If you're a fan of the Field Party series, get ready to fall in love with this story come August. If you haven't read Until Friday Night and Under The Lights, you have until August to catch up. I promise you, these books will steal your heart. Like I tell everyone, it's like reading Friday Night Lights meets One Tree Hill. (And who doesn't love both FNL & OTH?! I mean, seriously?!!!) I can't wait to see what happens in Lawton next!
    more
  • Leigh Collazo
    January 29, 2017
    Meh. It was entertaining, but it had some of the same problems I had with the other two books in this series. I'll read the next one anyway, but only for the entertainment factor. Full review to come closer to pub date in August. Thank you to Edelweiss and SimonPulse for giving me the opportunity to review!
    more
  • Heidi Rikard
    December 22, 2016
    Rhett getting away "scot free" didn't sit well with me. I understand Riley's forgiveness, but what he did was a crime. Not sure that sends the right message to victims. This is an ARC, though, so maybe that can be revised. Here's hoping.
  • HNGC Library
    December 20, 2016
    These Field Party novels will give readers just what they are looking for in terms of small town drama and romance. This installment focuses on Riley and Brady. Riley is back in town with her toddler daughter. Her backstory is that she was rapped, no in her social circle believed her and she's been an outcast for the past few years. Brady is the football superstar and doesn't want to rock the boat. But Brady finds a soft spot for Riley and her daughter and decides it's worth upsetting his team t These Field Party novels will give readers just what they are looking for in terms of small town drama and romance. This installment focuses on Riley and Brady. Riley is back in town with her toddler daughter. Her backstory is that she was rapped, no in her social circle believed her and she's been an outcast for the past few years. Brady is the football superstar and doesn't want to rock the boat. But Brady finds a soft spot for Riley and her daughter and decides it's worth upsetting his team to try a relationship with Riley. These are fun reads for teens. I just wish there wasn't so long in between books in the series. After The Game won't be released until August 2017. If Glines is planning a 9 book series and continues to allow a year between each book, the readership for this series will age out quickly.
    more
  • AllyGC
    November 30, 2016
    A STORY ABOUT RILEY!! I'm so pumped for this!
  • Emma-Michelle
    November 7, 2016
    I CANT WAIT I HAVE BEEN DYING SINCE READING THE FIRST BOOK TO KNOW THE STORY OF RILEY
  • Ana M. Camila
    November 5, 2016
    BRADYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY YES YES YES YES YES!!!!
  • Shannon
    March 21, 2017
    I love this series. I would've given this one 5 stars but it ending seemed very unfinished.
  • Jasmine Marie
    January 6, 2017
    Yea!!! I've been waiting for a story on Riley since the first book, I'm so excited!!
  • CerysAnne
    February 15, 2017
    I need this book already. Do I really have to wait until August to read it?
  • Mrs.Heather Lassley
    January 12, 2017
    We have gotten to know Brady through the last two books, and this one takes a hard look at his life. Of the three in The Field Party series, this one was by far my favorite. Riley took a terrible situation and has created this amazing life for her little girl. She has let go of the anger she could have had. I felt that this one focused more on the real life situation instead of just the romance side to things. Great book!
    more
  • Sarah
    January 17, 2017
    I loved the plot line and the strong characters. It is not often I read books with such a strong feminine character that has been through so much. Teen moms are not often portrayed in young adult books in a positive way. Abbi Glines manages to create a beautiful story of courage and love of a teen mom. Fantastic addition to the Field Party series.
    more
  • Natalie
    December 20, 2016
    I received an ARC courtesy of Edelweiss. What could have been a cliched story is elevated thanks to Abbi Glines writing. The stories of the initial group of friends seems to be wrapped up although a few younger football players were mentioned so it is possible there will be more books featuring the field parties.
    more
  • Miranda Louise
    January 28, 2017
    I cannot wait until August!!!!!!!! this is going to be good
  • Alie
    October 12, 2016
    SQUEE!!! I can't WAIT!!! ^_^
Write a review