Such a Good Girl
Pretty Little Liars meets Luckiest Girl Alive in this riveting novel about a practically perfect girl who is willing to do anything to make sure it stays that way. Absolutely anything.Things to know about Riley Stone:Riley Stone is just about perfect. (Ask anyone.) She has a crush on her French teacher, Alex Belrose. (And she suspects he likes her, too.) Riley has her entire life planned out. (The plan is nonnegotiable.) She’s never had a secret she couldn’t keep. (Not ever.) Riley is sure that her life is on the right track. (And nothing will change that.) She’s nothing like a regular teenager. (But she doesn’t have any problem admitting that.) Riley doesn’t usually play games. (But when she does, she always wins.)She thinks a game is about to start… But Riley always has a plan… And she always wins.

Such a Good Girl Details

TitleSuch a Good Girl
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN1481449575
ISBN-139781481449571
Number of pages281 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, High School

Such a Good Girl Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    May 11, 2017
    This was going to be a 2 star read for me, but the book was just so dang readable that I couldn't put it down; therefore the extra star. While I was hoping for something just as twisty and mysterious as Pretty Little Liars, this felt more like something trying to hard to be too many things. While it made for excellent drama and compulsive reading, I couldn't shake the fact that everything fell into place a little TOO perfectly. This was one of those stories where everything is wielded to fit int This was going to be a 2 star read for me, but the book was just so dang readable that I couldn't put it down; therefore the extra star. While I was hoping for something just as twisty and mysterious as Pretty Little Liars, this felt more like something trying to hard to be too many things. While it made for excellent drama and compulsive reading, I couldn't shake the fact that everything fell into place a little TOO perfectly. This was one of those stories where everything is wielded to fit into a specific space and there is no wiggle room for raising realistic questions. Overall, a highly entertaining read, but one that felt a little too "matchy matchy perfect" in the end. Full review to come.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    April 8, 2017
    About: Such A Good Girl is a fiction novel written by Amanda K. Morgan. It will be published on 6/20/17 by Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, paperback, 288 pages. This book is intended for readers ages 14 and up, grades 9 and up. The genres are young adult fiction and contemporary.My Experience: I started reading Such A Good Girl on 4/6/17 and finished it on 4/8/17. This book is so twisted I didn’t even see it coming! I enjoy reading this book and I just couldn’t put it down. I li About: Such A Good Girl is a fiction novel written by Amanda K. Morgan. It will be published on 6/20/17 by Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, paperback, 288 pages. This book is intended for readers ages 14 and up, grades 9 and up. The genres are young adult fiction and contemporary.My Experience: I started reading Such A Good Girl on 4/6/17 and finished it on 4/8/17. This book is so twisted I didn’t even see it coming! I enjoy reading this book and I just couldn’t put it down. I like the suspense and the twists. I like reading about Riley and her friends, even though their perfection seems unrealistic. I like the organization of this book with some pages that talks about Riley and her accomplishments. I even like the hot French teacher. I like that old bookstore and definitely would want to shop there.“It’s not like I’m stupid. It means he didn’t ask. It means he lied. It means nothing has changed and I’m just a fool who is wasting her time. And I am not a girl to be made a fool of.” p.197In this book, readers will follow the point of views of Riley Elizabeth Stone, the good girl & the overachiever. She volunteered & made a difference in her community at many stages in her life. I like how careful she is when she goes to a forbidden place. I like that she is not easy and in control. There was an awkward to how the love started and maybe Riley only started to take notice of him because her friends told her to do something outside of her comfort zone. Another weird area is Riley throwing up as a reaction to him. How much of it is her strategy? I wish Riley discuss her strategies during this time. At the end, it seems to be in favor, but it’s unrealistic how all the guys throw themselves away for Riley, especially him. It would have been easier to understand if this book has his POV too.“You just need to practice not giving a shit for once in your entire life.” p.53Two things I like reading about in this book: suspense & forbidden love. This book is an easy read and a page turner. I like Riley’s brother, Ethan, and his views on life. He’s so easy going and doesn’t take things too seriously. I like his talks about a giant set of dominoes. This book has some diversity. I can tell Kolbie’s bf is Indian because his name is Jamal and the friend is Sandeep. I didn’t expect the ending to be that way. Overall, this book is a good read and at times addicting. I prefer being in on the strategies discussions more than being left in the dark and getting the surprise in the end, but at the same time, it’s good to get the unexpected surprise. I do recommend everyone to read this book!Pro: smart characters, twists, suspense, humor, friendship, forbidden love, secret, fast paced, page turner, couldn’t put downCon: awkward getting into the crush and little to no info on Riley’s plansI rate it 4.5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Simon Pulse for the opportunity to read and review. Please assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com
    more
  • Stacee
    June 10, 2017
    I am not sure how to feel about this book. To be clear, I am 100% on board with mindfuckery and unreliable narrators and the synopsis gave off that vibe. Riley was an interesting MC. She's smart and driven and I liked that she was more focused on school and getting into college. There were several times Riley wondered why it was important and expected for her to have a boyfriend and that really stood out to me. Plot wise, I sort of don't have words. It was pretty clear from the start that someth I am not sure how to feel about this book. To be clear, I am 100% on board with mindfuckery and unreliable narrators and the synopsis gave off that vibe. Riley was an interesting MC. She's smart and driven and I liked that she was more focused on school and getting into college. There were several times Riley wondered why it was important and expected for her to have a boyfriend and that really stood out to me. Plot wise, I sort of don't have words. It was pretty clear from the start that something was off. There was a weird, creepy feeling and I kept trying to guess what was going to happen. There are a few revelations and some things I definitely didn't see coming, but I had my WTF face on through pretty much the entire book. For several reasons. {And yes, I'm being vague on purpose. There were a lot of WTF moments I liked and a lot I didn't. I don't have the ambition to clarify.}Overall, it was a quick read with some interesting threads. I would have liked just a little bit more explanation at the ending, but it all worked. **Huge thanks to Simon Pulse for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Katerina Kondrenko
    June 7, 2017
    4 out of 10 Yet another book I had to read for work. Not bad, guys, not bad (there were curious twists and stuff), but definitely not my cup of tea. I just can't feel it. The author made up interesting things, but couldn't bake them in the right way.
    more
  • Amy's Book Reviews
    June 20, 2017
    GRADE: A-4.5 STARS (rated down from 5 to 4 stars as it didn't hold up in the rereading)Riley Stone is perfect. Just ask her. Shoo-in for valedictorian, cheerleader captain, volunteer. She's even kind to her classmates. Not wanting to lose focus, she's never been on a date, by choice, although she has a crush on her Alex Belrose, her French teacher. When her older brother suggests Riley let loose, she embarks on a dangerous game of cat and mouse. Riley plays to win. And when she doesn't win, bad GRADE: A-4.5 STARS (rated down from 5 to 4 stars as it didn't hold up in the rereading)Riley Stone is perfect. Just ask her. Shoo-in for valedictorian, cheerleader captain, volunteer. She's even kind to her classmates. Not wanting to lose focus, she's never been on a date, by choice, although she has a crush on her Alex Belrose, her French teacher. When her older brother suggests Riley let loose, she embarks on a dangerous game of cat and mouse. Riley plays to win. And when she doesn't win, bad things happen.Riley is SUCH A GOOD GIRL. Or is she? My opinion about her shifted throughout the book. As narrator, she initially seemed like the annoying perfect girl in high school bordering between confident and cocky. She had a sense she of entitlement or maybe she just worked hard and wanted what she earned. My thoughts changed.Amanda K Morgan built the character and plot with expert precision. Every few chapters was a page Facts on Riley Stone, interesting omniscient tidbits about Riley she hadn't mentioned and subtle clues. Saying anything more would be spoilerish.I had an inkling of the twist and enjoyed the execution. I will have to reread to see all the clues I missed!
    more
  • Stephanie Ward
    June 22, 2017
    'Such a Good Girl' is a thrilling YA contemporary that will have readers on the edge of their seats and devouring each page. This is going to be kind of hard for me to review because I don't want to give anything away - and that's tricky for this book. The description gives you a little taste of Riley - the main character - but doesn't really tell you much about the plot. It's twisty, dark, and full of suspense. I got sucked in immediately and couldn't quit reading until I finished - which only 'Such a Good Girl' is a thrilling YA contemporary that will have readers on the edge of their seats and devouring each page. This is going to be kind of hard for me to review because I don't want to give anything away - and that's tricky for this book. The description gives you a little taste of Riley - the main character - but doesn't really tell you much about the plot. It's twisty, dark, and full of suspense. I got sucked in immediately and couldn't quit reading until I finished - which only took a few hours. I honestly haven't been drawn into a book that way in awhile, so that's how I know it's a good one. Riley is a fascinating and unique main character. She's a "good girl" - she has been as perfect as possible from a young age. She gets perfect grades, is valedictorian, captain of the cheer squad, tries to be humble and nice to everyone, doesn't drink or even attend parties, does tons of charity work and fundraisers - including running several - and so on. She must be perfect and won't accept anything else. She has flaws - everyone does - and one of these (in her mind) is crushing on her French teacher. I'm not going into detail here because I don't want to ruin anything, but let's just say we get to know Riley a lot better and we see some of her other qualities that she doesn't show anyone else. She was incredibly realistic and easy for me to connect with right away. Mostly because she reminded me of myself, especially when I was in high school. I could identify with a lot of her "rules" that she has for herself. Perfect grades. No partying. Always be seen in a good light. Make your parents proud. Be a star student. And so on. I got her and fell into her thoughts easily. Didn't quite prepare me for what was to come though - that's all I'm saying about that. One other mention is about the writing style. The book is done in the first person, from Riley's perspective. I'm SO happy the author chose to write it this way! It was the perfect fit for the story and it definitely wouldn't have had the same impact if written in another way. Riley's point of view was exactly how this should've been told - and it allowed the story to flow effortlessly but with tons of suspense and tension building.The plot was awesome. I didn't know what to expect going in because of the vague-ish description, but I wanted to give it a shot. Needless to say, I lost myself in the story and I'm still kind of reeling (and somewhat confused) about what happens. There are lots of twists you don't see coming at all. I thought I knew where things were going and what was really happening, but I was always wrong. I love thrillers and it takes a lot to impress me after reading so many, but this managed to do it. Towards the end, I had figured most of it out, but I couldn't stop reading. The story just kept getting more suspenseful and I just had to see what was going to happen next. That's about all I can say without spoilers, but I loved it. I very highly recommend this one for fans of YA thrillers, mysteries, suspense, and contemporary!Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristyn - Reading to Unwind
    June 28, 2017
    This is the second book of Amanda K. Morgan I have read and loved this one even more then the first one.This book follows Riley Stone who is a perfect model student. She presents evidence on why she is perfect and why she is the best student in the school. Riley has never gotten in trouble in her life. Riley is a logical character and really thinks things through.The author does an amazing job really leading you down one path, while still giving you some suspicion the path might not be fully cor This is the second book of Amanda K. Morgan I have read and loved this one even more then the first one.This book follows Riley Stone who is a perfect model student. She presents evidence on why she is perfect and why she is the best student in the school. Riley has never gotten in trouble in her life. Riley is a logical character and really thinks things through.The author does an amazing job really leading you down one path, while still giving you some suspicion the path might not be fully correct. There are so many twists in the book that I just didn’t see them all coming. The ending left me going wow Amanda you totally got me I didn’t see that coming at all. I love when I finish a book and just can’t let the ending go.I liked Riley as the main character. I felt right off the bat she had something to hide because it felt like she was pouring on the perfect too much. Riley really does open up during the book and show more of her personality. At parts I felt like we could see the beginning of almost a split personality coming out. Riley is trying to make the most of her high school life and trying to start to live it up while also maintaining her perfect student mode. I also loved that we got a look at Riley’s family life and that it wasn’t as perfect as she wanted it to be. It felt like Riley was working hard to keep up her appearances the entire book. The book is told entirely through Riley’s point of view and I think this works perfectly for this book since her personality isn’t that stable. The author does a great job making you think is Riley a reliable narrator.The author creates one relationship in this book that is very interesting. I enjoyed that we kind of got a look back into where the relationship started and it didn’t 100% come out of the blue so for me it worked. I loved the lengths that Riley was willing to go for this relationship.I can’t think of any complaints about the book that really stick out to me. I am only giving it 4 stars because I can’t think of a reason I would want to reread this book. The book was great and really kept my attention, but I don’t think I would sit down and read it again any time soon.I would suggest this as a beach or weekend read when you have more time to fully digest what is going on. I had trouble putting the book down because I wanted to know what was going to happen next.I received a copy of this book from The Fantastic Flying Book Club to provide an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of this book.
    more
  • Daniela Zekotic
    June 1, 2017
    At first I was a bit hesitant starting this book, I'm usually not into reading about high school stories. But this book caught my attention right from the first page on. Amanda knows how to use her words and manages to describe everyone pretty great. The main character Riley is an over-achiever an A student. Basically perfect, except when it comes to boys. A teacher, seriously Riley? I was a tad annoyed by her character now and then, she came off as arrogant a few times. But then again, she does At first I was a bit hesitant starting this book, I'm usually not into reading about high school stories. But this book caught my attention right from the first page on. Amanda knows how to use her words and manages to describe everyone pretty great. The main character Riley is an over-achiever an A student. Basically perfect, except when it comes to boys. A teacher, seriously Riley? I was a tad annoyed by her character now and then, she came off as arrogant a few times. But then again, she does get good grades and knows how to handle her stuff. And not getting any attention from your parents, while watching your brother soak it all up must be pretty annoying. I also liked how Amanda gave us some bullet points with information about Riley. The reader gets to know her better without it interupting the storyline. Alex.. Well Alex seemeed quite sweet at first, but he became more creepy as the story proceeded. I never expected him to get to such lenght to be with Riley, this twist caught me off guard. All in all it was a great and exciting story, leaving me wondering what's going to happen next throughout the whole story. And no sight of any sappy romance which I appreciate greatly.
    more
  • Portia Lynn (itsportiasbooks)
    June 10, 2017
    I'm having a hard time deciding how I feel about this book. This has been compared to Pretty Little Liars, which i can see in some aspects. It is told from perfect, "good girl" Riley Stones perspective. Right from the beginning there is a weird ominous tone, and that feeling that you are constantly on the verge of something crazy happening. So to me, she presented as an unreliable narrator. Hard to trust. She seems to have a great group of friends, even if they constantly seem to be encouraging I'm having a hard time deciding how I feel about this book. This has been compared to Pretty Little Liars, which i can see in some aspects. It is told from perfect, "good girl" Riley Stones perspective. Right from the beginning there is a weird ominous tone, and that feeling that you are constantly on the verge of something crazy happening. So to me, she presented as an unreliable narrator. Hard to trust. She seems to have a great group of friends, even if they constantly seem to be encouraging her to get a boyfriend. As if there aren't more important things in life. This aggravates me a little. There are just things that don't add up for me, even with the little "explanations" provided via the "Things You Should Know About Riley Stone" list randomly thrown throughout the book. I really don't want to get into detail on the big THING happening in this book, so I will spoiler tag some stuff, so there is your warning. Do not click if you want to be surprised at all by this book! The stuff inside this link will spoil basically everything. This will be long and ranty inside this tag, so be prepared: (view spoiler)[ First of all, the fact that she set basically everything in this book up to perfectly play into her plan I find pretty hard to believe. Also, why did they make Alex seem so sketchy? I mean, what he was doing in general was bad, but then also made him seem crazy? Riley was just lucky enough to find someone just crazy enough to fit the role needed to drive the plot? Alex disappearing, kidnapping, murdering... lucky for Riley, eh? I see no point to all of that. None. The only time it really worked was in regards to Rob being her competition for Valedictorian. But even then, they made it seem like she set all that up to happen perfectly, the fire, Alex, Alex being jealous and crazy enough to kill Rob.... it just doesn't make sense. Like I get. She is manipulative and is perfect and will win at all costs or whatever... but things just don't add up. They don't come together well. And it aggravates me. (hide spoiler)]So if you like any pf the relationship drama of PPL, and the manipulative characters, and the completely far fetched and improbable plots, then yes, I can easily see the comparisons to this book and I think you will like it a lot! As for me, I am left slightly underwhelmed. I can't say that I didn't like this book, I just didn't love it. It was missing some things for me, like better reasoning for actions. I need things to add up more. I don't mind a vague ending to a book, but this just wasn't done well enough to sit right with me. **ARC provided via Netgalley and Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing in exchange for an honest review!**
    more
  • Emily
    June 26, 2017
    Riley is perfect – awesome grades, stellar resume, great friends. She’s one of the It Girls at school and could have any boy she wants. But she likes the attractive French teacher, not one of the silly teens at her high school. Too bad he’s off limits. She is, after all, a good girl.Wow. There’s not much I can say about this book without giving everything away. I’m still blown away by the ending. It throws everything off to where I’m wondering what actually happened. Riley is one seriously unrel Riley is perfect – awesome grades, stellar resume, great friends. She’s one of the It Girls at school and could have any boy she wants. But she likes the attractive French teacher, not one of the silly teens at her high school. Too bad he’s off limits. She is, after all, a good girl.Wow. There’s not much I can say about this book without giving everything away. I’m still blown away by the ending. It throws everything off to where I’m wondering what actually happened. Riley is one seriously unreliable narrator. And here I thought she was just seriously uppity and proud. Should have seen that coming.Then again, some of the foreshadowing that would make the ending make more sense was … missing. I put the story together with clues that were never fully fleshed out. The how’s and when’s don’t completely add up. But then, the narrator is unreliable. The whole book was told from her perspective, which means what we read is diluted by her perception of how things occurred. Is this her explanation of events? Or what she really believes happened? Or … ?On the one hand, Such a Good Girl is beautifully crafted to keep readers intrigued and guessing. It reminds me of Edgar Allen Poe’s works and left me seriously creeped out. So many unanswered questions that lead me to create conjectures, like a great piece of literature should. On the other hand, there are way too many holes. I still don’t know what actually happened. The book has potential, but there needs to be a little something more in order to make me satisfied with it.On a completely different note, I was a bit uncomfortable with the romantic relationship between the married teacher and the underage student. I don’t like reading books in which the characters go against the regular ethical codes. I couldn’t cheer on the romance at the beginning, and certainly not at the end. The intrigue and mystery made up for it, but it still isn’t going to make it to my favorites list.I did enjoy Such a Good Girl. It kept me reading to the end and surprised me. I recommend it to fans of Pretty Little Liars.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Net Galley. I received no compensation. And all my thoughts are entirely my own.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    June 3, 2017
    Being a huge fan of Pretty Little Liars of course I had to check a book that is being compared to it.I can see why they are making the comparison because there is a very similar level in how the author created a storyline and characters that are so provoking the answers will leave you feeling dumbfounded for a bit as everything sinks in.Morgan seems pretty adept at writing a decent novel with enough suspense to get you hooked and keep you there til the end. She knows how to throw in enough twist Being a huge fan of Pretty Little Liars of course I had to check a book that is being compared to it.I can see why they are making the comparison because there is a very similar level in how the author created a storyline and characters that are so provoking the answers will leave you feeling dumbfounded for a bit as everything sinks in.Morgan seems pretty adept at writing a decent novel with enough suspense to get you hooked and keep you there til the end. She knows how to throw in enough twists and when to keep the pace on point and your attention from wandering.The characters are exactly what you’d expect for this age level so it would’ve been nice to have a more balanced view than just following the main character after all that is what makes stuff like PLL so awesome is you get to see how things work from various points of view.
    more
  • Pragati Chaudhari
    June 25, 2017
    For full review - Such A Good Girl on The Inked In Book Blof*ARC received as part of a blog tour. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*This book is an interesting look into the life of Riley Stone, the perfect, do gooder, it girl at her high school. Riley has it all - the perfect grades, the perfect friends, the popularity at her high school campus. She's got it all and isn't afraid to flaunt it. Though she's egotistic about what she is and has, she's not mean to others and I l For full review - Such A Good Girl on The Inked In Book Blof*ARC received as part of a blog tour. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*This book is an interesting look into the life of Riley Stone, the perfect, do gooder, it girl at her high school. Riley has it all - the perfect grades, the perfect friends, the popularity at her high school campus. She's got it all and isn't afraid to flaunt it. Though she's egotistic about what she is and has, she's not mean to others and I like that. I also like how she focuses more on school than boys. It's a nice change from it girls who only want to have perfect boyfriends and who're always bitching.But, she wasn't a reliable narrator. I LOVE THAT. I haven't read many stories with unreliable narrators so it was a welcome change. I was always wondering what was the truth and what wasn't and it was glorious! But, that is all that I liked about it. I hate how Riley just comes off as too perfect in the narrative. I mean, I know she thinks she's perfect, but maybe she acknowledges any issues she may have had? It seems just too improbable. I mean, how is she the most self assured person in the world? I have never met anyone like her, ever. So, I couldn't relate to her at all. Plus, she was so annoying at times, all self righteous and behaving like she's so much better than those around her. I hated that about her. Plus, everything just wrapped up a little too neatly for my liking. How is it that everything went perfectly for Riley, even though it wasn't a really well thought out plan or anything? Seems like she was just a little too lucky that she wasn't caught in the repercussions of any of her actions. I get that that's the point of the story but it irked me so much!And, then, I didn't like how nothing was explained in the story. We're left guessing as to what exactly happened in the end and I know that that's the way the author wanted it to be, for us to be guessing about it like the rest of the people in the story, but it didn't give me the closure that I wanted. So, I don't like that. When, I read, I want to know the entire story. I do not want to guess about what might have happened. If the book can't give me this well deserved closure, what is the point of reading the story anyway?All in all, it was an okay read and there were good things and bad things, but overall, it was a nice story that I wasn't really able to put down till I'd read it even though I didn't really relate to anyone in the story.
    more
  • Rozy Tuttle
    June 23, 2017
    Loved the ending! Did not see that coming...........If your teenager is not reading books anymore, get this book for them and they will start reading again. Really enjoyed this book!
  • Alexis Stankewitz
    June 28, 2017
    The majority of this book was unbearable, but then ~Plot Twist~ so that bumped it up a star.
  • Krystianna
    June 3, 2017
    I enjoyed this book but I wish it was longer!! Review to come.
  • Elizabeth Smith
    June 17, 2017
    Such A Good Girl is a YA contemporary thriller about a girl named Riley. Riley lives a seemingly perfect life and everyone loves her. However, her crush on her French teacher might change everything.This was a very interesting read. The story kept me engaged and wanting to continue reading the entire time. In fact, I read it in only one sitting. It started out feeling like other YA contemporary stories, about a girl and her friends in high school. But as I kept reading I could feel there was mor Such A Good Girl is a YA contemporary thriller about a girl named Riley. Riley lives a seemingly perfect life and everyone loves her. However, her crush on her French teacher might change everything.This was a very interesting read. The story kept me engaged and wanting to continue reading the entire time. In fact, I read it in only one sitting. It started out feeling like other YA contemporary stories, about a girl and her friends in high school. But as I kept reading I could feel there was more to the story that was brewing beneath the surface. There were lots of twists and the ending left me with my jaw on the floor.The blurb calls this book Pretty Little Liars meets Luckiest Girl Alive. While I have never read Luckiest Girl Alive, I can absolutely see the Pretty Little Liars similarities. Overall I thought this was a fun read. I enjoyed the little facts about Riley between chapters and the writing made it completely un-put-downable.**Thank you to Simon Pulse for providing me a copy of the book via NetGalley and The Review Chain in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Meg I.
    June 27, 2017
    This book reminded me of Gone Girl because of the psycho heroine. It has potential, unfortunately, it fell short with the abrupt and confusing ending. Also, I wouldn't have minded additional chapters for other character's POV, especially Alex's.
Write a review