Boy
In the style of Blake Nelson’s cult favorite, Girl comes a brand-new story about the moments in life that change how you see everything and everyone you always thought you knew—including yourself.Every school has them: the cool kids. The insiders. Gavin Meeks is one of them. He lives an easy life of parties, girls, snowboarding adventures and whatever else comes his way.But when dark, dramatic Antoinette crash-lands at Evergreen High, the entire school feels the impact. Antoinette has seen things, been places, experienced deep tragedy first-hand. She’s not just a rebel, she’s a force of nature. Gavin, for one, is captivated and is soon pursuing interests he never knew he had. With a camera in hand, he finds a way to express his own truth, including his feelings for his favorite subject: Antoinette. It all leads to one passionate, life-altering night in this achingly authentic story from bestselling author Blake Nelson.

Boy Details

TitleBoy
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN1481488139
ISBN-139781481488136
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

Boy Review

  • Christian Cuabo
    June 18, 2017
    I enjoyed the lightness of this book. The Main Character, Gavin Meeks, was one of those that were well-developed. Very authentic, relatable and likeable.The book shows his and his experiences in high school. And Mr. Nelson delivered the feels on point of what high school is all about.The book, basically, tells the transformation that occurs in Gavin's life. It shows of how a thing or a person affects his decision and his personal view. Definitely a character-driven book. And I'm all about a grea I enjoyed the lightness of this book. The Main Character, Gavin Meeks, was one of those that were well-developed. Very authentic, relatable and likeable.The book shows his and his experiences in high school. And Mr. Nelson delivered the feels on point of what high school is all about.The book, basically, tells the transformation that occurs in Gavin's life. It shows of how a thing or a person affects his decision and his personal view. Definitely a character-driven book. And I'm all about a great character!
    more
  • Shannon Knight
    June 25, 2017
    This book is so good. Honestly you could just say it's an updated version of Nelson's early-90s classic, Girl, but that's not meant in a bad way. This time we follow a boy named Gavin through his sophomore, junior, and senior years of high school, and it's way better than the time Blake Nelson wrote a poorly realized follow up to Girl and published it in blog format. His writing hasn't been this good in a long time. Well worth the wait!
    more
  • Avery
    June 25, 2017
    I thought the book could be really inspiring. In it, it shows a popular boy going through high school, while dealing with family issues and uncovering one major question; who is he? When Antoinette, a girl who has just experienced the loss of somebody close, and has a knack for standing out- is just the person to help him out. With the help of his friends, old and new, protagonist Gavin Meeks discovers that there is more to a perfect life than being cool, and eventually discovers his true passio I thought the book could be really inspiring. In it, it shows a popular boy going through high school, while dealing with family issues and uncovering one major question; who is he? When Antoinette, a girl who has just experienced the loss of somebody close, and has a knack for standing out- is just the person to help him out. With the help of his friends, old and new, protagonist Gavin Meeks discovers that there is more to a perfect life than being cool, and eventually discovers his true passion. This book will intrigue it's readers from start to finish.
    more
  • Ann Valdez
    May 20, 2017
    Too much of high school students weed smoking, drinking, and having sex with multiple partners for me to want this in the high school library. Last 1/3 of book was much better than the first 2/3.A student read the ARC I had and liked it, and it will probably be popular with many students as it is good writing with a very likeable male protagonist.
    more
  • Jennifer
    March 10, 2017
    Read for professional review.
  • HNGC Library
    November 9, 2016
    In Boy readers experience high school along with Gavin Meeks. Gavin starts his sophomore as a tennis star who is a part of the popular crowd. But at this point in his life Gavin seems more of a sideline participant in his life than the instigator of action. His friends decide who he should date and he just goes along with the flow even though he’s not really sure why. By the time junior year rolls around, Gavin has dropped out of tennis and taken up photography. As Gavin gets more involved in ph In Boy readers experience high school along with Gavin Meeks. Gavin starts his sophomore as a tennis star who is a part of the popular crowd. But at this point in his life Gavin seems more of a sideline participant in his life than the instigator of action. His friends decide who he should date and he just goes along with the flow even though he’s not really sure why. By the time junior year rolls around, Gavin has dropped out of tennis and taken up photography. As Gavin gets more involved in photography, he begins to see his life through different eyes. During senior year, Gavin assists with photography jobs and makes friends that would have embarrassed his sophomore self.
    more
  • Book Sith
    December 31, 2016
    I'm wavering between a 4 and a 3.5. It was an enjoyable, light read, and you see the MC go through an interesting transformation. It was one of the books though that didn't have a clear plot line, just sort of following the character through life. There's nothing wrong with that, but the ending seemed to drag after a few climatic events and finished the book wondering what was the point? I did enjoy the characters and simple prose though!ARC provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Trish
    May 30, 2017
    5 stars - Loved! Loved! Loved everything about it. Perfect companion piece to Girl. A tiny bit slow in the middle, but the drag corresponded with Gavin's depressed period so it felt right. Still, very authentic, relatable characters. Loved following the changes they all went through and seeing them grow and mature. Closed the book with a sigh and sat with the story for a bit before opening it back up to the first page and started reading again, just like I did with Girl. I hope Blake continues G 5 stars - Loved! Loved! Loved everything about it. Perfect companion piece to Girl. A tiny bit slow in the middle, but the drag corresponded with Gavin's depressed period so it felt right. Still, very authentic, relatable characters. Loved following the changes they all went through and seeing them grow and mature. Closed the book with a sigh and sat with the story for a bit before opening it back up to the first page and started reading again, just like I did with Girl. I hope Blake continues Gavin's story the way he did with Andrea's. I kept hoping she'd make an appearance, like as someone's mom or a teacher or someone Gavin met through photography. Maybe in the next one. :-)
    more
  • Gill
    June 13, 2017
    One of the best YA books I've read in the last few years. I loved Nelson's Girl trilogy and I'm hoping the protagonist of Boy is likewise featured in another two books. Very much a character driven story. As in Girl, the narrator's voice is distinctive, believable and engaging and the supporting characters are all wonderful in their own ways. Broadly speaking, the book is about how the protagonist's education, pretty much entirely outside of high school classrooms. If you love YA, you'll probabl One of the best YA books I've read in the last few years. I loved Nelson's Girl trilogy and I'm hoping the protagonist of Boy is likewise featured in another two books. Very much a character driven story. As in Girl, the narrator's voice is distinctive, believable and engaging and the supporting characters are all wonderful in their own ways. Broadly speaking, the book is about how the protagonist's education, pretty much entirely outside of high school classrooms. If you love YA, you'll probably love this book.
    more
  • Blake Nelson
    June 7, 2017
  • C.I. DeMann
    June 28, 2017
    It's remarkable how powerful a story can be when you focus on every single detail -- good, bad, or indifferent -- over a high school kid's sophomore, junior, and senior years. The reader becomes attached to the character in such a deep way. And because the author's giving you the entire story -- not just some exciting, dramatic, finish line sort of conflict -- when you're done with the book, you're like 'wow, I'm not sure what the story was there, but damn, was it good, and wow, I feel very conf It's remarkable how powerful a story can be when you focus on every single detail -- good, bad, or indifferent -- over a high school kid's sophomore, junior, and senior years. The reader becomes attached to the character in such a deep way. And because the author's giving you the entire story -- not just some exciting, dramatic, finish line sort of conflict -- when you're done with the book, you're like 'wow, I'm not sure what the story was there, but damn, was it good, and wow, I feel very conflicted about all of it.' That's my reaction to Boy. I'm not sure what the story was, but I absolutely loved following our hero through it. With no obvious conflict and no obvious climax, arriving at the end is really quite poignant. You're not sure if there were winners or losers, but you're a little sad you can't follow the character further.
    more
Write a review