Want (Want, #1)
From critically acclaimed author Cindy Pon comes an edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller, set in a near-future Taipei plagued by pollution, about a group of teens who risk everything to save their city.Jason Zhou survives in a divided society where the elite use their wealth to buy longer lives. The rich wear special suits, protecting them from the pollution and viruses that plague the city, while those without suffer illness and early deaths. Frustrated by his city’s corruption and still grieving the loss of his mother who died as a result of it, Zhou is determined to change things, no matter the cost.With the help of his friends, Zhou infiltrates the lives of the wealthy in hopes of destroying the international Jin Corporation from within. Jin Corp not only manufactures the special suits the rich rely on, but they may also be manufacturing the pollution that makes them necessary.Yet the deeper Zhou delves into this new world of excess and wealth, the more muddled his plans become. And against his better judgment, Zhou finds himself falling for Daiyu, the daughter of Jin Corp’s CEO. Can Zhou save his city without compromising who he is, or destroying his own heart?

Want (Want, #1) Details

TitleWant (Want, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN1481489224
ISBN-139781481489225
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction

Want (Want, #1) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    April 26, 2017
    Release date: June 13, 2017You know how some books just read like a movie that you can see so clearly in your head? This NEEDS to be made into a movie. (And that doesn't mean this book isn't complete on its own in any way - just that it was that intense). It kind of felt like a futuristic dystopian heist story, yet was technically none of those things at the same time. "I knew that the Taiwanese people's will was strong - that we endured. But we needed at least a fighting chance." The story's se Release date: June 13, 2017You know how some books just read like a movie that you can see so clearly in your head? This NEEDS to be made into a movie. (And that doesn't mean this book isn't complete on its own in any way - just that it was that intense). It kind of felt like a futuristic dystopian heist story, yet was technically none of those things at the same time. "I knew that the Taiwanese people's will was strong - that we endured. But we needed at least a fighting chance." The story's set in an alternate near-future Taipei where the world is horribly polluted.Society is split into two sides: the impoverished mei who have short life expectancies and die easily preventable deaths because they can't afford access to good healthcare or clean food & water, and then the small percentage of super wealthy you who wear suits with clean oxygen. The sky used to be blue... "back when some thought we could still salvage our planet by 'going green.' We might have, if enough people had cared. But they hadn't. The rich were too rich, the poor were too poor... now that the majority of us didn't live past our forties, we cared even less." Jason is a mei who kidnaps a you girl for some money and later finds out she's the daughter of the man who runs Jin Corp, the company who makes the suits that the wealthy wear. There's evidence that same company is also making people sick, blocking environmental legislation, bribing politicians, and involved in some murders. Jason and his group of badass friends (who are ALL so wonderful) form a plan to take down Jin Corp, which involves him posing as a you boy and getting close to Daiyu... the girl he kidnapped. I really loved Daiyu's character and was surprised by the role she ended up taking. She was definitely not any sort of helpless love interest. Every character was pretty complex, actually. I really connected with them and could totally feel the hopelessness and injustice in the struggles they faced to just live. It was honestly kind of scary how possible this whole story seemed!The worldbuilding was really strong and so well done because it included a ton of relevant issues without ever trivializing or simplifying them. The writing was great, too... the story was fast-paced and kept my attention the whole way through. I'm normally not that into futuristic stories, but really couldn't put this down!Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC. The quote above was taken from an ARC and is subject to change upon publication.
    more
  • Ben Alderson
    January 19, 2017
    Cindy Pon's Want is an incredible insight into a future rocked by pollution and corruption. Dripping in Diversity and delicious romance.A FANTASTIC SciFi novel.YOU WILL 'WANT' THIS!
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    October 9, 2016
    okay guys, after the disappointment of Love Interest we can ALL GET ON BOARD WITH WANT NOW. It's gonna be fucking good okay guys I know itONLY FOUR MONTHS TO GO IM SO EXCITEDNo but, for real I am so excited for this to come out. It's like, one of my MOST anticipated 2017 releasesThis book sounds so fucking good. Like a future society in which large corporations may possibly be polluting the world for wealth (*cough* what do you mean future) and also the cover is literally so stunning save me I c okay guys, after the disappointment of Love Interest we can ALL GET ON BOARD WITH WANT NOW. It's gonna be fucking good okay guys I know itONLY FOUR MONTHS TO GO IM SO EXCITEDNo but, for real I am so excited for this to come out. It's like, one of my MOST anticipated 2017 releasesThis book sounds so fucking good. Like a future society in which large corporations may possibly be polluting the world for wealth (*cough* what do you mean future) and also the cover is literally so stunning save me I can't wait for this to come out
    more
  • Ameriie
    March 5, 2017
    Cindy Pon's novels always make me hungry, both for the food and for sequels. This story is fast-paced, but not so much that its futuristic Taipei setting is sacrificed. I was fully immersed in the setting, and loved feeling as if this story couldn't have taken place anywhere else. I need more of this crafty crew. Sequel or companion novel pretty please?
    more
  • Eric Smith
    October 3, 2016
    This book was everything I WANTed it to be. Seriously.Full review soon, but my goodness. Get this book.
  • Cookie
    April 24, 2017
    What a fabulous story.
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    April 19, 2017
    My very first book by Cindy Pon and Want is definitely one to look out for. You should all add it to your TBR. It's a SFF YA about a young Taiwanese boy named Zhou and his band of friends/misfits create this plan to take down this big bad guy and in order to do so Zhou needs to infiltrate this society he hates so much and befriend the daughter of the bad guy. It's such an interesting theme and I love love the plot + storyline so very much. Cindy's writing, I believe, is my kind of writing. I thi My very first book by Cindy Pon and Want is definitely one to look out for. You should all add it to your TBR. It's a SFF YA about a young Taiwanese boy named Zhou and his band of friends/misfits create this plan to take down this big bad guy and in order to do so Zhou needs to infiltrate this society he hates so much and befriend the daughter of the bad guy. It's such an interesting theme and I love love the plot + storyline so very much. Cindy's writing, I believe, is my kind of writing. I think she has me for life. It's soothing and sexy at the same time ~wow~ I am still shook and so emotional after this wild ride. There are glamorous parties and high risk missions, rock climbing and bike riding. This book is filled with all sort of amazing scenes and dangerous ones and action-y ones. It's such a superb book. My heart goes to this band of misfits = WITH NO WHITE CHARACTERS. I love that we see a Filipino boy that loves to dress in suits and $$ clothes. We have an Indian boy who is a genius. We have a Chinese girl who is the "boss". We have a girl that is like a shadow. And we have Zhou, a boy who wants to take care of his friends and will do anything to do so.
    more
  • Allison
    March 19, 2017
    I am going to go OFF ABOUT HOW MUCH I LOVED THIS BOOK WHEN I HAVE TIME THIS WEEK. Buy it buy it buy it.
  • Keiko
    April 23, 2017
    Kind of heist-y with Asians it was great
  • Evie
    May 17, 2017
    We are all creatures of this earth, of this shared ecosystem. Welcome to near-future Taipei, the world divided between yous (the ones who have) and meis (the ones who don't). The world, in which the air is so polluted and filled with viruses, the sky is no longer blue and people who can't afford luxurious and incredibly expensive suits designed and sold exclusively by a dirty international corporation based in Taipei. This was what it meant to be a you, to have. To be genetically cultivated as a We are all creatures of this earth, of this shared ecosystem. Welcome to near-future Taipei, the world divided between yous (the ones who have) and meis (the ones who don't). The world, in which the air is so polluted and filled with viruses, the sky is no longer blue and people who can't afford luxurious and incredibly expensive suits designed and sold exclusively by a dirty international corporation based in Taipei. This was what it meant to be a you, to have. To be genetically cultivated as a perfect human specimen before birth - vaccinated and fortified, calibrated and optimized. To have an endless database of information instantly retrievable within a second of thinking the query and displayed in helmet. To have the best air, food, and water, ensuring the longest possible life spans as the world went to rot around them. Jin Corporation isn't only responsible for the invention and manufacturing of the protective, ultra-advanced suits that keep the polluted air away, ensuring a healthy, comfortable life for the rich of the world. The company also makes sure that the suits are in high demand in the first place. They are powerful, merciless and won't stop at anything to get their way. And that includes corruption, threats, murder and endangering lives of thousands of people. If I had learned anything growing up, it was that there were no guarantees in life. But that didn't mean you simply sat back and never tried.A group of young environmental activists has come up with a wild and extremely dangerous plan to stop the Jin Corporation. They're clever, resourceful, unafraid to take the risks and willing to sacrifice for the cause. All they want to do, is make a difference. We follow this story through the eyes of Zhou, a teenage boy who lost his mom to the sickness caused by the city's pollution and viruses. He's the one charged with infiltrating the corporation, in order to destroy it. To do that, he needs to pretend to be one of the rich yous and befriend the Jin Corp CEO's daughter, Daiyu. This near-impossible task gets even more complicated when Zhou begins to develop feelings for Daiyu... Want is a powerful, intelligent, and very deftly plotted Sci Fi novel with environmental undertones that feel all too familiar and real for comfort. Deadly smog, corruption, social divides - it's all stuff we are faced with presently, all around the world. It really isn't too hard to believe/connect with the plot of this book, as the ideas explored by Cindy Pon aren't some far-fetched, vague, fantastic schemes pulled out of a magical hat. These are all issues that surround us. As someone who was recently diagnosed with asthma and went through days upon days of not being able to breathe, I feel like I was able to get into the mindset of the meis in this book more than I usually would. And even though Cindy Pon didn't include any gruesome details in her descriptions of the people suffering as a result of the low social status and inability to afford air purifiers and suits, the idea of people suffering such horrible fates got deep under my skin. Want isn't only about environment, activism and trying to stop an evil corporation from destroying the world completely. The story is much more than just that. It's about friendship, sacrifice, and unlikely allies. It's also about love and how we shouldn't judge people based on their appearance, social status, or family roots. And it's written in a very captivating, fast-paced style that keeps you flipping pages till you hit the back cover. I breezed through this book, it was so good! And I really enjoyed getting to know the diverse cast of characters and cheering them on their mission. I definitely recommend reading it, especially if you enjoy action-packed plot lines, drool-worthy food descriptions and books set in Asia.
    more
  • nick
    May 28, 2017
    Really enjoyed this one. The characters, especially, were fantastic.RTC
  • Janni
    September 19, 2016
    So looking forward to this one!
  • Gemma Foo
    January 4, 2017
    Update: Jan 5, 2017Finally an ASIAN main character!! #ProudtoBeAsian
  • Mia
    April 3, 2017
    First off, I would love to thank Cindy and her lovely publicist for giving me an ARC to this! I honestly didn't expect to read this as soon as I have. It was everything I expected and more!!Set in a futuristic Taiwan, society is heavily divided and the people are under polluted air inimical to their health. Jason Zhou and his group of friends work together to uncover the secrets behind the distinguished Jin Corporation known to manufacture suits that provide the rich (who can afford them) with c First off, I would love to thank Cindy and her lovely publicist for giving me an ARC to this! I honestly didn't expect to read this as soon as I have. It was everything I expected and more!!Set in a futuristic Taiwan, society is heavily divided and the people are under polluted air inimical to their health. Jason Zhou and his group of friends work together to uncover the secrets behind the distinguished Jin Corporation known to manufacture suits that provide the rich (who can afford them) with clean air and protect them from outside diseases. I can't remember, and it's probably due to the fact that I just finished this a couple minutes ago and it's almost 4am, but I don't think I've read a book this diverse, if not in so long, then, ever. Especially one that's so diverse in Asian cultures! Woot!And that's the first thing I noticed when I started reading it and it's honestly one of the things I loved about this book. I can't tell who my favorite character was: Jason or Iris. I hope we get to know more about Iris later on because I was so intrigued by her from the get-go! Plus, I have a weakness for badass characters, so of course it was a toss up between Iris and Jason lolI can't get over Jason and the rock climbing. I just can't. *fans self* It's probably a thing I've come to love since Ryke Meadows lmao welp~Jason and Daiyu had a few cute moments, but I don't think I was fully convinced with their relationship. It seemed too fast and too trusting given the circumstances, lol. I don't know, it'll probably change when I read it again later. It could have been the fact that I was too focused on the free soloing... lmao there I go again.Despite that, I loved how well paced everything else was. Scenes weren't too rushed and if they were, they were necessary. It sometimes takes me a few moments to get into stories like these because there's lots of tech talk and such, but I didn't have trouble with this book at all! It was well-informed and easy to comprehend.I don't want say anymore and give away too much, but this book is so worth the read and I'm excited for when it comes out in June!!! I could not put it down, but at the same time I didn't want it to end. That's how much I enjoyed reading this! Lol
    more
  • Aila
    May 8, 2017
    Absolutely stunning. Truth: I should be studying for a calculus and history exam tomorrow. Another truth: Instead, I read Want in one sitting, and it left me WANTING more. Filled with relevant discussion on issues happening now, a diverse range of misfits who come together to fight against the system, and a forbidden-love romance that is as light as it is deceptive, Want is one of THE Young Adult science fiction stories of the year. I absolutely adored all the cultural references as well! Scalli Absolutely stunning. Truth: I should be studying for a calculus and history exam tomorrow. Another truth: Instead, I read Want in one sitting, and it left me WANTING more. Filled with relevant discussion on issues happening now, a diverse range of misfits who come together to fight against the system, and a forbidden-love romance that is as light as it is deceptive, Want is one of THE Young Adult science fiction stories of the year. I absolutely adored all the cultural references as well! Scallion pancakes, raosong bao, comparisons to the Monkey King, Jay Chou's songs in the background... The world of Want was so extremely vivid and immersive. The setting of pollution and dirt is absolutely important to address as well; I know the other day a sandstorm happened in Beijing because of the massive air pollution there. Full review to come. Let's just say I adored this one, and highly urge readers to look out for it.
    more
  • Shenwei
    March 11, 2017
    Saving up my review for later, but it will appear on my blog closer to the release date. :)
  • Daisy
    September 19, 2016
    I'M SCREAMING
  • Lexie
    May 15, 2017
    (Read as a buddy read with Samantha of Forest of Words and Pages)First things first - THIS COVER THOUGH. I mean, I can't possibly love it more if I tried, but I'll try pretty damn hard to because THIS COVER THOUGH.And can we talk about how awesome Daiyu is? Actually let me talk about how awesome she is, but beneath a cut since learning about some of her awesome actions could change your reading(view spoiler)[ Daiyu spends her kidnapping refusing to bow to damsel in distress tropes. She isn't hap (Read as a buddy read with Samantha of Forest of Words and Pages)First things first - THIS COVER THOUGH. I mean, I can't possibly love it more if I tried, but I'll try pretty damn hard to because THIS COVER THOUGH.And can we talk about how awesome Daiyu is? Actually let me talk about how awesome she is, but beneath a cut since learning about some of her awesome actions could change your reading(view spoiler)[ Daiyu spends her kidnapping refusing to bow to damsel in distress tropes. She isn't happy, but she quickly realizes that Zhou is a lot of show, but not bite. She uses her time to learn about the mountains and experience a part of life that she's never had a chance to before. She's whip-smart; like any child she doesn't want to believe the worst of her father, but once her eyes are opened she doesn't turn away again. She makes it possible (both directly and indirectly) for Zhou and his team to infiltrate Jin Corp's offsite location. She doesn't judge Zhou for what he did (kidnapping her), but she does strive to understand. Actually the entirety of their relationship is built on the two of them realizing "wait a second, the world isn't so easily cut and dry".She genuinely wants to build a better future and is willing to BURN HER WORLD to ashes if that's what it takes. (hide spoiler)]I had a couple questions at the end - namely when all was said and done what happened with Joseph? (view spoiler)[He contracts the flu, his family is whisked away from their home, and I'm guessing he survived since Daiyu never mentioned a funeral...? (hide spoiler)] What is Daiyu's mother like? Who would I have play Zhou, Daiyu and everyone else if a live action drama was ever produced?I had some qualms with Zhou at times; Vic is right, he's a bit too tender hearted for the mission and he spends a lot of time angsting over what to do about Daiyu. I wish we could have spent a bit more time with the group, or with each individual member. You get a good read on Lingyi and Arun, but other than some observations by Zhou about Iris and Victor, we have very little time with them as individuals outside of the group. Much is made of Victor's ability to wheel and deal based on his charming personality and suaveness, but we see very little of that as he keeps a different kind of "front" up around the group. Iris...the vulnerable moment we see of Iris late in the book is a beautiful moment. I wish we could see more.The opening jumped around for a bit and the group's plan takes a few chapters to even get off the ground as they tried to get all their ducks in a row after a slight set back. While Zhou is an engaging protagonist, I really wanted Daiyu to show back up and be part of the action again. Or for Iris to run around spooking the living daylights out of Zhou constantly. Maybe both. The setting is a very visceral part of this book. I've never been to Taipei or Taiwan, but Pon's descriptions of the night markets, of the lights and the mountains, of the way things seem to be both diminished because of the pollution, but also desperately trying to carve out an existence still, the beauty that once was and the beauty it could be once more...its almost its own character. Zhou's love of Taiwan is what drives his actions, what drives all their actions in the end. Pon brings that love to life and into focus, even as things seem really bleak at times.
    more
  • Lauren
    May 31, 2017
    This was great! The future Taipei in this story was richly drawn in an incredible way. Although I wouldn't want to live in this version of the world, I felt like I was experiencing Zhou's home with all of my senses - from the brown smog skies (yuck) to the chaotic city life to the delicious food. Speaking of Zhou, I loved the characters in this story. He is the narrator and has a close group of friends trying to take down Jin Corp. I love a good squad story! Zhou also gets to know Daiyu the daug This was great! The future Taipei in this story was richly drawn in an incredible way. Although I wouldn't want to live in this version of the world, I felt like I was experiencing Zhou's home with all of my senses - from the brown smog skies (yuck) to the chaotic city life to the delicious food. Speaking of Zhou, I loved the characters in this story. He is the narrator and has a close group of friends trying to take down Jin Corp. I love a good squad story! Zhou also gets to know Daiyu the daughter of Jin Corp and, like him, I ended up liking her better than I thought I would. Of course there's a bit of a romance too. I'm not sure if there is to be a sequel, but the end of this wraps nicely with some loose ends that could be explored further in the future. Love Triangle Factor: NoneCliffhanger Scale: Low - unclear if this is a standalone
    more
  • Jessie (Ageless Pages Reviews)
    May 27, 2017
    High-stakes futuristic sci-fi thriller that ties in climate change. Fantastic cast, fast-moving, Jason the main character is a bit distant but thoroughly capable and interesting.RTC.
  • Rachel Strolle
    February 24, 2017
    The best future-set books are the ones that feel the most timely, and let me tell you--this fulfills that criteria. In a world where there is so much pollution that the wealthy live in specialized suits that keep them in their own little clean bubbles, and the poor just have to deal with it. At one point it even is like "WHY NOT JUST TRY TO KEEP THE WORLD CLEAN THO" and it's met with a "pshha" so it def feels realistic to now. Also I'm very in love with Daiyu, she is mine.
    more
  • Kathy Martin
    May 30, 2017
    It starts as a simple plan - very dangerous, but simple; kidnap a rich young woman to gain the funds needed to bring down the Jin Corporation which is selling suits to the wealthy to protect them from the terrible pollution in Taipei. Of course, the corporation isn't above bribing politicians to keep legislation which would help fight the pollution from being passed.Jason Zhou has grown up as a poor street kid in Taipei. He watched his mother die of an illness that could have been cured had they It starts as a simple plan - very dangerous, but simple; kidnap a rich young woman to gain the funds needed to bring down the Jin Corporation which is selling suits to the wealthy to protect them from the terrible pollution in Taipei. Of course, the corporation isn't above bribing politicians to keep legislation which would help fight the pollution from being passed.Jason Zhou has grown up as a poor street kid in Taipei. He watched his mother die of an illness that could have been cured had they they money to access healthcare. He sees the sharp divide between the rich and the poor and wants to make life better for the poor of the city. Jason handles the kidnapping on his own. He didn't expect to see his victim as more than the means to an end. When he infiltrates the rich to get information needed to bring down the Jin Corporation, he never expects to find that the girl he kidnapped is the daughter of the head of the Jin Corporation. Daiyu shouldn't remember their first meeting because of the drug he used on her. However, something about him intrigues her and they form a friendship. She becomes his guide to the Jin Corporation.This was a great story with wonderful world building. I liked the descriptions both of the lives of the poor and of the rich. I found the description of the environmental suits interesting. I liked the way Jason becomes conflicted about the goal he and his friends are working for when he gets to know Daiyu better. This is exciting science fiction set in an interesting part of the world.
    more
  • Kim Baccellia
    February 17, 2017
    Jason Zhou lives in a futuristic society in Taipei, Taiwan, where pollution is everywhere. This affects not only the air but the food. The 'meis', or the people without money, die young while the 'yous', or the wealthy people, are able to benefit from their wealth. One way the yous benefit is by being able to afford special suits that protect them from the hazardous polluted air. When Zhou has a chance to infiltrate and destroy the international Jin Corporation, he goes for it. Not only does the Jason Zhou lives in a futuristic society in Taipei, Taiwan, where pollution is everywhere. This affects not only the air but the food. The 'meis', or the people without money, die young while the 'yous', or the wealthy people, are able to benefit from their wealth. One way the yous benefit is by being able to afford special suits that protect them from the hazardous polluted air. When Zhou has a chance to infiltrate and destroy the international Jin Corporation, he goes for it. Not only does the Jin Corporation make the suits but might be behind the very reason why the suits are needed in the first place. Problems arise the deeper he gets inside. One of which is his relationship with Daiyu, the daughter of the CEO of Jin Corps. What worked: I love Pon's writing which uses diverse characters in lush, vivid surroundings. In this case it's a futuristic Taipei. The writing is dynamic and readers feel as if they're actually in this dystopian world. The horrors of pollution, along with the portrayal of the division between wealthy and poor, is shown in such a way that it leaves you gasping. There's more than a few scenes that are graphic and very intense. Even though I've never been to Taipei, I could envision this futurist city, with not only the darkness but the beauty. Yes, Pon, nails the whole setting as a character!Zhou's character is one that is multi-layered as a survivor who witnessed the death of his mother because they couldn't afford the medicine. He directs this anger toward a greedy corporation that makes money off the suffering of thousands. Zhou though also has nicks in his anger whenever he gets around Daiyu. He knows he shouldn't have any feelings toward the 'enemy', but that doesn't stop him from wanting to be around her.A huge plus is this novel is filled with diverse characters including a strong Asian protagonist. His own gang of friends who help him with his mission are also not the stereotypical 'side-kicks'. **Loved the relationship between cyber hack Lingyi and dare devil Iris.Daiyu, isn't the heroine in distress. She shows her own hidden strengths. Zhou and her relationship is complicated at first. There are some twists and turns throughout the story, including what will happen with these two. Their friendship would be considered 'forbidden' or not realistic if they did meet each other before Zhou infiltrated her world. In a way, both help each other arc toward the end of the story.Fast-paced, engaging, dystopia set in the futuristic world of Taipei where one survivor's strength is put to tAmazing! YA Books Central review: http://www.yabookscentral.com/yaficti...
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 17, 2017
    Pon conjured a futuristic world where class divisions threaten the livelihood of more than half the population. Jason Zhou lives in Taipei, a city engulfed in pollution. His poor station in life and his meager upbringing shape him into an altruistic, down to earth person who desperately wants breathable air to be accessible for the mass of people suffering at the hand of a selfish corporation who does not care at all for the health of the poor. The deprivation of fresh air forces the poor to end Pon conjured a futuristic world where class divisions threaten the livelihood of more than half the population. Jason Zhou lives in Taipei, a city engulfed in pollution. His poor station in life and his meager upbringing shape him into an altruistic, down to earth person who desperately wants breathable air to be accessible for the mass of people suffering at the hand of a selfish corporation who does not care at all for the health of the poor. The deprivation of fresh air forces the poor to endure a shortened lifespan. Jason plainly sees the problem and sees first hand the tragedy and destruction that befalls the people he cares most about and seeks to remedy this injustice. He quickly realizes that he must do illegal things to stop these injustices and destroy the corporation from within. In this way he will be on the same playing field as those who have wronged him along with the entirety of the Taipei people who don’t have enough money for the luxuries that the upper class can easily afford. While the poor struggle to survive, the lives of the rich are extended because they have access to clean air.
    more
  • Cambear
    May 15, 2017
    This is everything you want in a futuristic sci-fI thriller.There lots of cool world-building with new technologies and a deep social divide. Despite the dire environment, this book is a love letter to Taipei and captures it's vibrancy, energy and, of course, the food. There's a lot of heart in this story since Jason and his friends are motivated by tragedy and a need to fight for the underprivileged. There's a strong social message about caring for the environment and for fellow human beings.Th This is everything you want in a futuristic sci-fI thriller.There lots of cool world-building with new technologies and a deep social divide. Despite the dire environment, this book is a love letter to Taipei and captures it's vibrancy, energy and, of course, the food. There's a lot of heart in this story since Jason and his friends are motivated by tragedy and a need to fight for the underprivileged. There's a strong social message about caring for the environment and for fellow human beings.There are also some terrific characters, Jason is insecure and confident and loyal and guilty-ridden and so many things as he goes undercover. His Scooby gang are all clearly drawn with their own motivations for fighting back. Daiyu may be the pampered daughter of Jin Corp, but she clearly has her own thoughts. The relationship between Jason and Daiyu is wonderfully restrained.This is such a great thriller with heart and let's also add in the bonus fact that it's a rare book to take place in Taipei and have an Asian guy on the cover. Grab a copy and devour this adventure!Thanks to Simon & Schuster for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Bridgette
    May 27, 2017
    It's only a four star instead of a five because I didn't care for the romance. The writing is solid, the pace is good, and the world building is superb. There are flying motorcycles, MacBooks that fold up (!) and tons of other goodies I won't spoil for you. Taipei is covered in pollution so thick people have to wear masks and the ultra wealthy (the you) have custom made suits that regular and filter air to protect from the affects of pollution and disease running rampant through the city. This n It's only a four star instead of a five because I didn't care for the romance. The writing is solid, the pace is good, and the world building is superb. There are flying motorcycles, MacBooks that fold up (!) and tons of other goodies I won't spoil for you. Taipei is covered in pollution so thick people have to wear masks and the ultra wealthy (the you) have custom made suits that regular and filter air to protect from the affects of pollution and disease running rampant through the city. This near future feels every more applicable with the EPA under threat of immense budget cuts from Trump's administration. Jason, our protagonist, watched his mom die because they didn't have money to get her treatment, and now, years later, he and his group of friends are ready to take down the company that makes the suits for the wealthy (Jin Corp), and it seems Jin Corp has been blocking legislation that would help curb the pollution and disease ravaging the city and its lower classes. There is a romance (and it's a good romance), but I'm personally getting over romances being such a huge subplot/plot of books that have so many other amazing things going for them. And because this romance put a wedge in his friendships (along with another major plot point at the end), but I'm over characters choosing romantic love over friendships and/or letting romantic love hurt their friendships. Overall, this is a fast-paced enjoyable read perfect for sci-fi lovers.
    more
  • Cherise
    May 17, 2017
    I found it all in all exciting. I wasn't bored during the times Zhou was 'Jason'. When one thing fell, another thing picked up and you're too distracted to realize part of the plot was done and had moved to the next. The last 10% of this book I couldn't put down that I went to bed reading it and woke up and continued to read because I needed to know what happened after falling asleep reading it. Not only does this book speak of environmental issues, which isn't an issue that is heavily relied on I found it all in all exciting. I wasn't bored during the times Zhou was 'Jason'. When one thing fell, another thing picked up and you're too distracted to realize part of the plot was done and had moved to the next. The last 10% of this book I couldn't put down that I went to bed reading it and woke up and continued to read because I needed to know what happened after falling asleep reading it. Not only does this book speak of environmental issues, which isn't an issue that is heavily relied on for these books, but it deals also with the growing divide of the rich and poor populations, to how big the divide becomes, and the treatment of these people in epidemics.(Full Review on my Blog)
    more
  • Sylvie Bower
    May 4, 2017
    I absolutely loved how I came into this book expecting one thing, which I got, while also continuing to change as I read, becoming something entirely different, that I loved even more. Seriously, PICK THIS ONE UP. It's science-fiction written spectacularly, with loads of diversity, which is much needed in this genre. And!! Can we talk about the cover? SO FREAKING BEAUTIFUL. Needless to say, as soon as I'm done with my current stack of books, I'll be picking up more of Cindy Pon's work, as I LOVE I absolutely loved how I came into this book expecting one thing, which I got, while also continuing to change as I read, becoming something entirely different, that I loved even more. Seriously, PICK THIS ONE UP. It's science-fiction written spectacularly, with loads of diversity, which is much needed in this genre. And!! Can we talk about the cover? SO FREAKING BEAUTIFUL. Needless to say, as soon as I'm done with my current stack of books, I'll be picking up more of Cindy Pon's work, as I LOVED this one.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    May 17, 2017
    More for high school libraries because of language choices. Nicely done. Reminded me of mix of Meyer's Cinder, Price's Starters, and Aguirre's Enclave. Liked the role pollution played, liked the setting, just wasn't keen on language.
  • Anna
    May 12, 2017
    4.5 stars!Fast paced and action packed. I want this book to be optioned for a movie!
Write a review