Love Like Blood (Tom Thorne, #14)
Internationally bestselling author Mark Billingham’s riveting new novel Love Like Blood marks the return of series character Tom Thorne, “the next superstar detective” (Lee Child), as he pairs up with perfectionist detective inspector Nicola Tanner of Die of Shame on an investigation that ventures into politically sensitive territory.DI Nicola Tanner needs Tom Thorne’s help. Her partner, Susan, has been brutally murdered and Tanner is convinced that it was a case of mistaken identity—that she was the real target. The murderer’s motive might have something to do with Tanner’s recent work on a string of cold-case honor killings she believes to be related. Tanner is now on compassionate leave but insists on pursuing the case off the books and knows Thorne is just the man to jump into the fire with her. He agrees but quickly finds that working in such controversial territory is dangerous in more ways than one. And when a young couple goes missing, they have a chance to investigate a case that is anything but cold.Racing towards a twist-filled ending, Love Like Blood is another feat of masterful plotting from one of Britain’s top crime novelists.

Love Like Blood (Tom Thorne, #14) Details

TitleLove Like Blood (Tom Thorne, #14)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherAtlantic Monthly Press
ISBN0802126537
ISBN-139780802126535
Number of pages432 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense

Love Like Blood (Tom Thorne, #14) Review

  • Sandy
    May 13, 2017
    Book #14 in the Tom Thorne series gives us a proper twisty police procedural that deals with a delicate issue. DI Nicola Tanner is convinced her partner’s murder was a case of mistaken identity & she was the real target. Tanner has a theory about some recent honour killings in London. It’s a sensitive subject & she hasn’t exactly endeared herself to members of the religious communities involved.When she’s put on compassionate leave, some of her colleagues are hoping a little time away wi Book #14 in the Tom Thorne series gives us a proper twisty police procedural that deals with a delicate issue. DI Nicola Tanner is convinced her partner’s murder was a case of mistaken identity & she was the real target. Tanner has a theory about some recent honour killings in London. It’s a sensitive subject & she hasn’t exactly endeared herself to members of the religious communities involved.When she’s put on compassionate leave, some of her colleagues are hoping a little time away will help ease tension between the victim’s families & police. But Nicola has other plans. She figures her partner was killed because she was getting too close. All she needs is another cop willing to help, someone with a fluid regard for the rules who won’t mind colouring outside the lines if necessary. Someone like….oooh, I don’t know….Tom Thorne, maybe. They met on a previous case (“Die of Shame”) & although Tom is initially reluctant, Nicola isn’t above playing the sympathy card to get him on board. Besides, there’s a good chance one of his old unsolved homicides is related. “Nuff said about the main plot line. There are plenty of zigs & zags to keep you guessing, especially when you throw in several characters with questionable loyalties. But what really grips you is the subject matter. People of all religions find the concept of honour killings difficult to understand. Here, we are privy to the domestic situations of young men & women who are caught between parents’ traditional expectations & the freer lifestyle that a big city like London has to offer. The book also looks at the challenges faced by police when they attempt to investigate the crimes. Finding someone from the community willing to break the code of silence is difficult. If they press too hard, they may be accused of cultural insensitivity or racial prejudice. It’s a political hot potato that leaves both sides frustrated & many of the cases end up unsolved (see author’s comments at the end for a sobering dose of reality). But this is not a sermon about who’s right & who’s wrong. Instead, Billingham personalizes the issue by giving us relatable characters of all stripes who are just trying to live their lives. There are some nice twists along the way & he reserves a couple of whoppers for the final pages. One in particular, I gotta say….man, I did NOT see that coming. As usual, we get to enjoy Tom trading insults with ME Phil Hendricks over a few pints. I love Phil. If Lisbeth Salander & Quincy had a child (ok, a much younger Quincy) Phil might be the result. More time is given to Tom’s personal life & we get a closer look at his relationship with Helen as well as the challenges faced by 2 cops living under one roof. It’s an intricately plotted & pacey story that keeps you turning the pages to see how it all shakes out. Picking up one of these books is like running into old friends & I look forward to #15.
    more
  • Gary
    April 16, 2017
    This is the 14th book in the Tom Thorne series by author Mark Billingham. I have read and enjoyed all the previous books in this series so it was a pleasure to read this one. As always the plot was excellent, the characters continue to develop and the overall story well paced.I am so familiar with these characters that the books are so easy to read that I look forward to each new book in the series.In this book DI Nicola Tanner needs Tom Thorne’s help. Her partner, Susan, has been brutally murde This is the 14th book in the Tom Thorne series by author Mark Billingham. I have read and enjoyed all the previous books in this series so it was a pleasure to read this one. As always the plot was excellent, the characters continue to develop and the overall story well paced.I am so familiar with these characters that the books are so easy to read that I look forward to each new book in the series.In this book DI Nicola Tanner needs Tom Thorne’s help. Her partner, Susan, has been brutally murdered and Tanner is convinced that it was a case of mistaken identity and that she was the real target. The murderer’s motive might have something to do with Tanner’s recent work on a string of cold-case honour killings she believes to be related. Tanner is now on compassionate leave but insists on pursuing the case off the books and knows Thorne is just the man to jump into the fire with her. He agrees but quickly finds that working in such controversial territory is dangerous in more ways than one. And when a young couple goes missing, they have a chance to investigate a case that is anything but cold.This is an excellent addition to the series and I would not only recommend this book but the series itself to any lover of Thrillers.I would like to thank Net Galley and Grove Atlantic for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    June 21, 2017
    Always a joy to spend some time with Tom Thorne, definitively for me one of the best fictional detectives on the scene currently, with Love Like Blood Mark Billingham tackles a sensitive and I think very important subject with a healthy dose of reality and genuine consideration. That plus giving us a banging great read as always.Much less a whodunnit and much more a twisted tale to the full truth of the matter, Tom is pulled into a contrary situation by Nicola Tanner (see Die Of Shame ) who havi Always a joy to spend some time with Tom Thorne, definitively for me one of the best fictional detectives on the scene currently, with Love Like Blood Mark Billingham tackles a sensitive and I think very important subject with a healthy dose of reality and genuine consideration. That plus giving us a banging great read as always.Much less a whodunnit and much more a twisted tale to the full truth of the matter, Tom is pulled into a contrary situation by Nicola Tanner (see Die Of Shame ) who having suffered a horrific personal lost is determined to bring those responsible to justice. Convinced it is tied into a theory she was investigating she hopes Thorne will show his usual disregard for procedure and follow the leads unconsidered in the main investigation. So there we begin..What I love generally speaking is the way this author brings a strong emotional core to the centre of all the stories he writes – the ongoing interpersonal relationships (I’m the biggest fan of Phil you will find) are always layered beautifully into each individual plot, whilst the supporting cast are given just as much depth. The writing is always immersive and completely addictive – as a reader you genuinely live with these people for a while. No different with Love Like Blood which I read fast, often angrily, the best reads are the ones that grip you by the heartstrings, not letting go and send you through a gamut of emotions as you head towards the finale. And this finale had me clutching my hair.Honor Killings are very real, difficult to talk about, difficult to pin down, Love Like Blood is obviously researched and there is a huge authenticity to it that sends you on that emotional journey. I’d like to point out that when I read the Authors Note after finishing the book I had actual tears in my eyes, it made me look back on what I had just read with slightly different eyes.Overall a really excellent, entertaining yet hugely thought provoking read that I would actually like to throw at everybody. Read it. Even if you are new to the series I see no reason you couldn’t start here.There is no life…Highly Recommended.
    more
  • ireadnovels.wordpress.com
    May 22, 2017
    I am a great fan of Mark Billingham novels. I have read Sleepyhead, Scaredy Cat, Lazybones, Time of Death. Love Like Blood is painful, frightening and quite disturbing in equal measure. Somewhere in the police files there was a reference to two men. It is believed that two hit men were paid to murder. Their methods of killing were always different and the locations. They were contracted out to honour killings all over the world. Two men were waiting for DI Nicola Tanner to come home. They had wa I am a great fan of Mark Billingham novels. I have read Sleepyhead, Scaredy Cat, Lazybones, Time of Death. Love Like Blood is painful, frightening and quite disturbing in equal measure. Somewhere in the police files there was a reference to two men. It is believed that two hit men were paid to murder. Their methods of killing were always different and the locations. They were contracted out to honour killings all over the world. Two men were waiting for DI Nicola Tanner to come home. They had water pistols the two hit men sprayed jets of bleach and blinded their lady. The bleach burned her eyes and mouth the bleach ran down her throat. The woman froze when one of the men produced a knife. The hit men thought they had killed DI Nicola Tanner, but they had killed her partner Susan Best in their home. Obviously DI Tanner is not allowed to be part of the investigation in any way. But DI Nicola Tanner needs to catch the people who killed her girlfriend. DI Nicola can't imagine life without Susan the woman she loved. Still loved.Love Like Blood I Very highly recommend the hardback. All readers can rely on Mark Billingham, he is one author who cares passionately about his characters.
    more
  • Trev Twinem
    March 25, 2017
    It's a great big welcome back to that Merle Haggard, country lovin' detective, Tom Thorne. In one particular chapter there is a great and memorable moment when D I Tom Thorne is driving down the road singing at the top of his voice..."The late great Merle Haggard provided the accompaniment on the drive to a retail park in Wembley and Thorne sang along to Silver Wings with rather more gusto than he managed in the school hall the day before....." After the rather poor "Die of Shame" where we were It's a great big welcome back to that Merle Haggard, country lovin' detective, Tom Thorne. In one particular chapter there is a great and memorable moment when D I Tom Thorne is driving down the road singing at the top of his voice..."The late great Merle Haggard provided the accompaniment on the drive to a retail park in Wembley and Thorne sang along to Silver Wings with rather more gusto than he managed in the school hall the day before....." After the rather poor "Die of Shame" where we were first introduced to DI Nicola Tanner, and Thorne had a very minor cameo role in the final chapter, (the only good part of that book) it's a day of rejoicing to have TT back to his investigating best...we forgive him that he enjoys the company of country music and reluctantly accepts the approach of middle age...here he is back doing what he does best solving crime and crime does not come more topical that Mark Billingham's Love like Blood.DI Nicola Tanner has been investigating a series of what appear to be honour killings when her partner Susan is murdered. Turning to her good friend Tom Thorne she persuades him to help her uncover the truth behind the killings within the Muslim community, contracted out to hired assassins. Reading this book it is a pleasure to catch up on the old familiar faces especially the heavily tattooed Phil Hendricks, police pathologist, who is arguably Thorne's only real friend and together they enjoy good beer and watching football. He is in a relationship with social worker Helen and her young son Alfie but I can't help feeling that there is little future between them. The sex they share is passable...."Neither of them, had they been inclined to talk honestly about it, would have claimed it was the best sex they ever had.." and Helen still misses Paul, her previous partner, who was tragically killed and in one poignant moment she reveals her true feelings towards Thorne....."I'm happy really. You need to know that. But I want to be honest with you, and if I could go back and stop him being killed, I would. I'd do anything to have Paul alive again"....So for fans of Mark Billingham, "Love Like Blood" will not disappoint, it's like putting on a well worn pair of comfy shoes! The subject matter is very well chosen and of the moment, the police investigation of the finest, the characterization and familiarity of the "cast" most welcome, and the perpetrators Muldoon and Riaz evil and well suited to the task of hired assassins. I only hope that when we next encounter DI Thorne that he has resolved his differences with the lovely Helen, but sadly I fear this relationship is doomed! Many thanks to the publishers Little Brown for supply me with a gratis copy in return for an honest review and that is what I have written.
    more
  • Trina
    June 23, 2017
    I received this arc from Netgalley. A pretty good read with lots of action. Held my attention throughout.
  • Debbie Krenzer
    June 21, 2017
    This was a great read with an extra bonus. I had no idea there was such a thing as honour killings. The act of killing a family member in certain religions because they are not "respectful". Such as women who want to wear makeup, go out to bars, etc. That was very enlightening and jaw dropping for me. The book went at a pretty fast pace and was very enjoyable. I really liked the characters, Tanner and Thorne. Tanner was a very hell bent woman and she was bound and determined to find the killers This was a great read with an extra bonus. I had no idea there was such a thing as honour killings. The act of killing a family member in certain religions because they are not "respectful". Such as women who want to wear makeup, go out to bars, etc. That was very enlightening and jaw dropping for me. The book went at a pretty fast pace and was very enjoyable. I really liked the characters, Tanner and Thorne. Tanner was a very hell bent woman and she was bound and determined to find the killers of her partner. Thorne was a likable character and I would definitely read another book wherein he is the main character.Thanks to Grove Atlantic and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
    more
  • Linda
    June 14, 2017
    This is the first ebook that I have read and I would like to thank NetGalley for the proof.As always I cannot fault a Mark Billingham book. His characters are old friends and the places Tom Thorne and his cohorts frequent are as known to me as if I had actually been therePrior to this book, I had no idea that honour killings existed outside countries like India or Pakistan. So I was horrified upon reading Marks notes at the end of the story, to find that this is a growing problem in The UK.In Lo This is the first ebook that I have read and I would like to thank NetGalley for the proof.As always I cannot fault a Mark Billingham book. His characters are old friends and the places Tom Thorne and his cohorts frequent are as known to me as if I had actually been therePrior to this book, I had no idea that honour killings existed outside countries like India or Pakistan. So I was horrified upon reading Marks notes at the end of the story, to find that this is a growing problem in The UK.In Love like Blood, two young teens disappear and Thorne is sure it is connected to one of his unsolved cases from 4 years ago, where a young Indian woman disappeared. He is brought into the case unofficially by DI NicolaTanner, whose own partner was murdered in their home by what she assumes was a case of mistaken identity. Nicola is on bereavement leave so is carrying on her investigation under the radar. She knows from Tom Thornes reputation for not playing by the rules, that he is the one she needs to help her with her ongoing investigation. As before, her relentless enquiries into who could be behind what they are sure are honour killings, leads them both into danger. Excellent stuff.
    more
  • Cleo Bannister
    June 11, 2017
    There is something doubly appealing about crime fiction with a strong contemporary feel and Mark Billingham has chosen this, his fourteenth book in the Tom Thorne series to highlight honour killings. The fact that he does this within a brilliantly constructed mystery certainly makes for compelling reading.DI Nicola Tanner is on compassionate leave after the death of her partner who was murdered inside their shared home. Having worked with Thorne when he makes a brief appearance  in Die of Shame, There is something doubly appealing about crime fiction with a strong contemporary feel and Mark Billingham has chosen this, his fourteenth book in the Tom Thorne series to highlight honour killings. The fact that he does this within a brilliantly constructed mystery certainly makes for compelling reading.DI Nicola Tanner is on compassionate leave after the death of her partner who was murdered inside their shared home. Having worked with Thorne when he makes a brief appearance  in Die of Shame, she seeks him out convinced that those in charge of the investigation into Susan’s death are not interested in her belief that her murder was a case of mistaken identity, and it is actually her own life they meant to take.The relationship between Tanner and Thorne is brilliantly handled as they work off the grid to find out the truth. When a couple of teenagers go missing Thorne and Tanner fear their own families know more than they are letting on but are they reading too much into the case?I was delighted that Hendricks, the gay pierced and hugely sarcastic doctor who carries out the post mortems on any of the stray bodies that are sent in his direction, was back to lighten the plotline when it all becomes a bit too dark. Black humour is infinitely better than no humour at all and in all honesty, whilst she might have had ample reason to be so, Tanner is the most entertaining of detectives.Thorne is in the form of the fictional detective is more than happy to bend the rules to suit himself although with the normally rule-abiding Tanner pushing him to do more, he has the occasional doubt about whether this is the right thing to do in this instance.You might fear from the earlier paragraphs that this is a worthy piece of crime fiction that is tackling a sensitive subject with little knowledge of the issues. Not so. Mark Billingham has clearly researched his subject matter speaking to those who have been part of those families where the younger generation are resistant to following the rules their parents are keen to uphold for fear of becoming outcasts in their own community. The idea that murdering your own child to protect the family’s reputation is rightly abhorrent to many even within these communities, but sadly not to all. Whilst Mark Billingham more than nods his head at the former, this is not a book that preaches, he lets his characters display the emotions that echoed in my own mind but managing to steer clear of a commentary that didn’t fit the natural direction of the investigation being undertaken.As has been the case with each of the Mark Billingham books I have read the pace is fairly furious, if you are anything like me, you will not want to put this book aside even though you are in much need of a breather from the latest piece of action. The plot is complex and involved with enough facts to underpin the occasional surprise the author springs on his reader. Just the way I like my crime fiction.
    more
  • Trev Twinem
    March 25, 2017
    A welcome return for an old friend It's a great big welcome back to that Merle Haggard, country lovin' detective, Tom Thorne. In one particular chapter there is a great and memorable moment when D I Tom Thorne is driving down the road singing at the top of his voice..."The late great Merle Haggard provided the accompaniment on the drive to a retail park in Wembley and Thorne sang along to Silver Wings with rather more gusto than he managed in the school hall the day before....." After the rather A welcome return for an old friend It's a great big welcome back to that Merle Haggard, country lovin' detective, Tom Thorne. In one particular chapter there is a great and memorable moment when D I Tom Thorne is driving down the road singing at the top of his voice..."The late great Merle Haggard provided the accompaniment on the drive to a retail park in Wembley and Thorne sang along to Silver Wings with rather more gusto than he managed in the school hall the day before....." After the rather poor "Die of Shame" where we were first introduced to DI Nicola Tanner, and Thorne had a very minor cameo role in the final chapter, (the only good part of that book) it's a day of rejoicing to have TT back to his investigating best...we forgive him that he enjoys the company of country music and reluctantly accepts the approach of middle age...here he is back doing what he does best solving crime and crime does not come more topical that Mark Billingham's  Love like Blood. DI Nicola Tanner has been investigating a series of what appear to be honour killings when her partner Susan is murdered. Turning to her good friend Tom Thorne she persuades him to help her uncover the truth behind the killings within the Muslim community, contracted out to hired assassins. Reading this book it is a pleasure to catch up on the old familiar faces especially the heavily tattooed  Phil Hendricks, police pathologist,  who is arguably Thorne's only real friend and together they enjoy good beer and watching football. He is in a relationship with social worker Helen and her young son Alfie but I can't help feeling that there is little future between them. The sex they share is passable...."Neither of them, had they been inclined to talk honestly about it, would have claimed it was the best sex they ever had.." and Helen still misses Paul, her previous partner, who was tragically killed and in one poignant moment she reveals her true feelings towards Thorne....."I'm happy really. You need to know that. But I want to be honest with you, and if I could go back and stop him being killed, I would. I'd do anything to have Paul alive again".... So for fans of Mark Billingham, "Love Like Blood" will not disappoint, it's like putting on a well worn pair of comfy shoes! The subject matter is very well chosen and of the moment, the police investigation of the finest, the characterization and familiarity of the "cast" most welcome, and the perpetrators Muldoon and Riaz evil and well suited to the task of hired assassins. I only hope that when we next encounter DI Thorne that he has resolved his differences with the lovely Helen, but sadly I fear this relationship is doomed! Many thanks to the publishers Little Brown for supply me with a gratis copy in return for an honest review and that is what I have written.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    March 30, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Grove Atlantic for an advance copy of Love Like Blood, the 14th police procedural to feature DI Tom Thorne.The novel opens with Tom Thorne bumping into DI Nicola Tanner whom he worked with in Die Of Shame. Nicola is grieving for her partner, Susan, who was murdered a couple of weeks earlier and is on compassionate leave. She is obviously excluded from the investigation which she believes was a case of mistaken identity linked to her investigation into contract I would like to thank Netgalley and Grove Atlantic for an advance copy of Love Like Blood, the 14th police procedural to feature DI Tom Thorne.The novel opens with Tom Thorne bumping into DI Nicola Tanner whom he worked with in Die Of Shame. Nicola is grieving for her partner, Susan, who was murdered a couple of weeks earlier and is on compassionate leave. She is obviously excluded from the investigation which she believes was a case of mistaken identity linked to her investigation into contract honour killers and she wants Tom to help her in an unofficial investigation.I thoroughly enjoyed Love Like Blood and was glued to the pages. The plot has some amazing twists and turns and I was reading furiously to find out what was coming next. It is well paced with information coming, initially, in dribs and drabs but speeding up as the novel progresses. Tom reckons that misdirection is required to cover up Nicola's participation but the whole novel is cleverly full of it and it fooled me.The subject matter, honour killings, is not something I know much about as it is necessarily secretive and a political hot potato, as is made abundantly clear in the novel. Mr Billingham, however, is informative on both the mindset and the politics and does an excellent job of presenting all sides of the argument although some of it is quite distressing.Throughout the novel Tom and his sidekick, pathologist Phil Hendricks, leaven the read with their childish bickering and banter although, listening to my husband and his friends, it is extremely authentic. They have become old friends as the series progresses. The characterisation is great. Tom has lost some of his bolshiness but not all - there is a great scene involving t-shirts which had me laughing out loud - and seems to be settling down with Helen. Again their banter seems very realistic. Even Phil has found love. Nicola is a work in progress but she starts to unbutton as the novel progresses and I would like to see more of her in future novels.Love Like Blood is an accomplished, complete novel with a serious subject matter which deserves more publicity, set in a genre which is typically regarded as entertainment rather than literature and Mr Billingham carries it off extremely well. I have no hesitation in recommending it as an excellent read.
    more
  • Dan
    June 18, 2017
    Tom Thorne returns for a new case. DI Nicola Tanner's partner has been murdered and Tanner is convinced it's connected to a series of honour killings committed by a pair of assasins. Her superiors aren't convinced so she seeks the help of someone who doesn't always follow the rules: Thorne. There were lots of cultural sensitivities wrapped up in this book but Billingham handles it superbly. Neither the author not Thorne ever come across as racist and clearly Billingham has done his research to m Tom Thorne returns for a new case. DI Nicola Tanner's partner has been murdered and Tanner is convinced it's connected to a series of honour killings committed by a pair of assasins. Her superiors aren't convinced so she seeks the help of someone who doesn't always follow the rules: Thorne. There were lots of cultural sensitivities wrapped up in this book but Billingham handles it superbly. Neither the author not Thorne ever come across as racist and clearly Billingham has done his research to make it feel convincing. It's also heavily but not clumsily stated that only a minority of the community feel this is right. The story is one where you know who the murderers are which gives us a chance to spend some time with some typically brilliant and disturbing murderers. There's still a mystery in who is setting up the murders thougn. There's a twist in how Thorne catches the murderers but to me it was pretty obvious it was heading in that direction. We also get another twist at the end which I had mixed feelings about. I liked the idea but it felt out of place with the theme of the novel. Billingham is still at the top of his game and his books remain a joy to read. He has great characters, a whole community of them now rather than just a lead, sinister villians and a well researched background. An enjoyable book as always.
    more
  • Scott
    June 26, 2017
    I love Billingham's writing, and this is no exception. A great plot, well-created characters, and a nice big twist to surprise your socks enough. Crime writing at its best! Don't miss out.
  • Deborah
    June 28, 2017
    I should start by mentioning that it’s not a problem if this is your first Tom Thorne. There’s really no detailed backstory required and anything we need to know Billingham provides quickly and simply. In fact, it wasn’t until I added the book into Goodreads that I remembered I’d read no. 13 in the series and vaguely recalled the context. I didn’t even remember DI Tanner (as lead investigator) from Die of Shame, so this can easily be read as a standalone. I was surprisingly riveted by the plot a I should start by mentioning that it’s not a problem if this is your first Tom Thorne. There’s really no detailed backstory required and anything we need to know Billingham provides quickly and simply. In fact, it wasn’t until I added the book into Goodreads that I remembered I’d read no. 13 in the series and vaguely recalled the context. I didn’t even remember DI Tanner (as lead investigator) from Die of Shame, so this can easily be read as a standalone. I was surprisingly riveted by the plot and the characters. It’s interesting as I’m not usually tempted by books involving cultural / religious grievances or those touching on terrorism and the like. I should mention this doesn’t do the latter, but obviously in a world where people of some religions and cultural backgrounds are being targeted and labelled, it’s hard to avoid the subject completely.That aside, although the fraught subject of ‘honour’ killings is very much the theme of this novel it’s ultimately about bringing culprits of crimes to justice… no matter what their motivation OR involvement. And interestingly in our two contract killers (oops, sorry #spoileralert – though the involvement of killers for hire is something we learn quite early) Billingham offers up two very different characters… one who’s in it for the money and who (unfortunately) enjoys the pain they inflict a little too much; and the other believing they have a higher purpose.Thorne’s initially a bit reticent to be brought into this case, wondering if Tanner’s overreaching in her suppositions and blinded by her grief. She’s known for playing by the rules though so there’s something about her conviction that draws him into the investigation. And… as it happens, there’s an opportunity to seek justice for an unsolved homicide on his books years earlier.Thorne and Tanner are both great characters and complement each other well so I wonder if Billingham will give Tanner her own series, or pair them up on a regular basis. I also enjoy the fact Billingham gives us insight into a range of suspects (and victims – sadly) so we’re given a real opportunity to work out whodunnit for ourselves and (dare I say it) get a vague understanding of the motivation of those involved.Read the full review on my site: http://www.debbish.com/books-literatu...
    more
  • Liz Mistry
    June 4, 2017
    In my opinion Mark Billingham's Love Like Blood is this years must read novel. It is superb!Love Like Blood is a tense read about honour killings inspired by the horrific murder of 19 year old Banaz Mahmood in 2006. Banaz was murdered by hit men paid for by her uncle and father because she fell in love with the wrong man. A man who ten years later, grief stricken killed himself. The sad thing is this tragedy is not an isolated event and the CPS suspects many more incidences of 'honour' related c In my opinion Mark Billingham's Love Like Blood is this years must read novel. It is superb!Love Like Blood is a tense read about honour killings inspired by the horrific murder of 19 year old Banaz Mahmood in 2006. Banaz was murdered by hit men paid for by her uncle and father because she fell in love with the wrong man. A man who ten years later, grief stricken killed himself. The sad thing is this tragedy is not an isolated event and the CPS suspects many more incidences of 'honour' related crimes occur, than are reported.For me, this cut to the heart. Being in a mixed race marriage myself and living and working in inner city Bradford for over 30 years, this book spoke to me. Billingham says it like it is. His rage against these atrocious crimes, which include female genital mutilation, forced marriage and murder, is palpable. However, his respect and sensitivity to the religions is faultless. No blame is attached to the religions purportedly practiced by the murderers. Instead, Billingham places the blame firmly at the feet of the monsters who pay for these acts to be committed under the banner of their faith. I have the utmost respect for any author who takes on a difficult, controversial subject... but, that is our job as writers. Crime fiction writers are notorious for exploring the less palatable happenings in our society and I hope that Billingham's book will contribute to an increased awareness of these horrific acts without laying blame en masse on those who peaceably follow their faith.As Billingham himself says '...The crime fiction novel is uniquely placed to look at the world and to reflect it through the crimes people commit. We tell you a good story, yes, but we also shine a light into some of the darker corners of society and comment on their contemporary political and social issues.'In his previous book Die of Shame their was a slight crossover between detectives Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner and I am delighted to say that in Love Like Blood the pair are reunited. Tanner, grief-stricken after the murder of her partner and under threat herself, convinces Thorne to help her investigate honour killings. I found Love Like Blood immensely readable, compelling and gut wrenching. A superior read from one of our best loved crime writers. Bloody Well Done Mark!!!!!!
    more
  • Trish Nankivell
    June 24, 2017
    An okay DI Thorne novel.Honour killing is the theme. Made me think of a woman policewoman friend of mine in the UK and what she sees in the job - and how much of what we read in these crime novels is accurate. I'm guessing a reasonable amount of it.Currently, we are all over the place about racial tension, refugees, keeping our culture, allowing new immigrants to keep theirs - while they still try to assimilate to our culture.I'm a great supporter of genuine refugees. I still believe though that An okay DI Thorne novel.Honour killing is the theme. Made me think of a woman policewoman friend of mine in the UK and what she sees in the job - and how much of what we read in these crime novels is accurate. I'm guessing a reasonable amount of it.Currently, we are all over the place about racial tension, refugees, keeping our culture, allowing new immigrants to keep theirs - while they still try to assimilate to our culture.I'm a great supporter of genuine refugees. I still believe though that it is important they adapt to our laws and culture - while I still want them to be able to celebrate and retain their own historically rich religions and culture.But not if that culture supports honour killing. That in order to not bring shame to the good name of a family, and the family becoming blighted in their community, killing of your family members is acceptable - it is NOT ACCEPTABLE. If we take race and religion out of it - so that people can't cry intolerance - if I and/or my parents thought that a sibling was a shameless hussy and bringing disrespect and embarrassment to our family, we wouldn't expect to get way witha) physically punishing her b) maiming or killing her, or c) paying somebody else to do so. We would be in jail!!!If we want to continue welcoming different cultures into our countries - to reach a hand out to people with nowhere else to go - they need to accept that they have to live by our laws. And in our laws - murder and abuse are not acceptable. Is what the book is about! :)
    more
  • Karen
    June 8, 2017
    When DI Nicola Tanner’s partner is killed at her own home, she enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to catch the culprits. Convinced that the murder has occurred as the result of a case Tanner has been working on, Thorne soon finds himself drawn into the disturbing world of honour killings as he embarks on a hunt for a pair of contract killers who he suspects have killed before.Love Like Blood is the fourteenth of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne books, a series that is showing no sign of losing its to When DI Nicola Tanner’s partner is killed at her own home, she enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to catch the culprits. Convinced that the murder has occurred as the result of a case Tanner has been working on, Thorne soon finds himself drawn into the disturbing world of honour killings as he embarks on a hunt for a pair of contract killers who he suspects have killed before.Love Like Blood is the fourteenth of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne books, a series that is showing no sign of losing its touch. Never one to shy away from emotive issues, Billingham deals with probably the most controversial to date with the subject of honour killings. We find out quite early on in the story that the perpetrators are mercenaries who, with the aid of a go-between, are killing and disposing of people whose families feel have brought shame upon them. This potentially explosive topic is dealt with in a sensitive manner and the author has obviously done extensive research on the subject, drawing his inspiration from the real-life murder of Banaz Mahmod in 2006.In Nicola Tanner, we have a worthy accomplice for Thorne – a woman who, despite threats on her life, will stop at nothing to bring the perpetrators to justice. I had to admire her tenacity, even if at times I feared for her safety! For me, though, the best relationship throughout the Thorne series is the one he shares with the tattooed, pierced pathologist, Phil Hendricks – two men who, on the surface, appear to have nothing in common but who are the best of friends. It was interesting to see how well Tanner and Hendricks got on and hope that we get to see more of Nicola Tanner in future books.There are several twists in the story that make you cast doubt on some of the characters, keeping you interested right until the end, making this a highly recommended book.With thanks to Net Galley and Grove Atlantic for the ARC.
    more
  • Gary Dowden
    June 23, 2017
    Tom Thorne is, without a doubt, one of my favourite crime fiction characters and whilst his 14th outing isnt his best, it's still a page-turner as I've come to expect from Mark Billingham. Slower paced than usual, Love Like Blood dips into racial territory as Thorne, having been unofficially enlisted by DI Nicola Tanner, entering the world of "Honour Killings" after Tanner's partner (personal rather than professional) is killed in a case of mistaken identity. Thorne feels there are links with an Tom Thorne is, without a doubt, one of my favourite crime fiction characters and whilst his 14th outing isnt his best, it's still a page-turner as I've come to expect from Mark Billingham. Slower paced than usual, Love Like Blood dips into racial territory as Thorne, having been unofficially enlisted by DI Nicola Tanner, entering the world of "Honour Killings" after Tanner's partner (personal rather than professional) is killed in a case of mistaken identity. Thorne feels there are links with an old - unsolved - case and the pair delve deep in the Muslim and Sikh community to try and unearth how and who is involved in Honour Killings. When a young Bangladeshi couple go missing and their unofficial investigation continues, with Tanner arguably a bigger thorn than Thorne himself, it becomes apparent that all isnt what it seems with their own lives potentially at risk.The pairing of Tanner and Thorne is frosty at times but I actually liked the professional relationship they build up as tension builds between them and the Muslim community they are looking into.This is yet another worthy addition to one of the best series' in the genre and Billingham continues to surprise with neat little twists and sub-stories. Phil Hendriks remains a great little occasional side-kick and I'll even forgive the subtle jibes and digs at Coldplay which make appearance on a couple of occasions!
    more
  • Kathy
    June 1, 2017
    4.5 stars.In Love Like Blood, DI Nicola Marsh turns to Tom Thorne for help following the murder of her girlfriend Susan Best.  The investigation focuses on honour killings in this fourteenth installment of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne series.Having ruffled quite a few feathers while working for the Honour Crimes Unit, Nicola is certain she, not Susan, was killer’s intended target.  Currently on compassionate leave following Susan’s death, she enlists Tom’s help in an off the books investigation 4.5 stars.In Love Like Blood, DI Nicola Marsh turns to Tom Thorne for help following the murder of her girlfriend Susan Best.  The investigation focuses on honour killings in this fourteenth installment of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne series.Having ruffled quite a few feathers while working for the Honour Crimes Unit, Nicola is certain she, not Susan, was killer’s intended target.  Currently on compassionate leave following Susan’s death, she enlists Tom’s help in an off the books investigation that might be linked to the four year old unsolved murder of Meena Athwal. Nicola’s theory that parents in the Muslim, Hindu, and Sikh communities are hiring hitmen to kill their daughters whose behavior brings shame to their families is plausible but it has made her some powerful enemies. Eager to solve his cold case, Thorne agrees to investigate Susan’s death but will they uncover the truth before it is too late?Tom is never afraid to step on toes, but he is uncharacteristically diplomatic as he tries to convince his boss DCI Brigstocke to let him investigate the current case of a missing young couple, Amaya Shah and Kamal Azim.  He is also surprisingly honest about the fact that he is looking into Susan’s murder but he is careful to downplay Nicola’s involvement in the investigation. Now he has Brigstocke’s blessing to look into the disappearance of Shah and Azim, Tom is deeply troubled after his interviews with the victims’ families. Fortunately CCTV footage gives Thorne and Marsh a strong lead that supports the hitman theory.  When Amaya’s body is discovered, Tom is frustrated when his boss insists he concentrate on locating her boyfriend Kamal after strong evidence leads everyone to believe he is most likely her killer.The various investigations unfold at a rather slow pace but Tom and Nicola have many intriguing leads to pursue. Nicola has uncovered a possible link to three leaders in the Muslim, Hindu, and Sikh communities who are working together to combat the hate crimes directed toward them. Arman Bannerjee is the most charismatic of the three leaders and at the urging of his son, Ravi, he previously lodged a complaint against Nicola. Needless to say, Bannerjee is less than enthused to see her and Thorne at their meetings. Tom and Nicola cannot help but wonder if Arman's animosity is an indication he is involved in the honour killings.  When an attempt is made on Nicola’s life, Tom is certain they are the right track, but will he locate the suspected hitmen before they strike again?Love Like Blood is a leisurely paced mystery with an refreshingly unique storyline.  Nicola and Tom are a formidable team as they tenaciously pursue numerous leads in the investigation into the honour killings and Susan’s murder.  Mark Billingham brings the novel to a jaw-dropping conclusion with a shocking plot twist that is impossible to predict.  This latest release is another brilliant addition to the Tom Thorne series that old and new fans are going to love.
    more
  • Diane Dickson
    June 26, 2017
    At first I didn't think that I would be able to stick with this one because it is a very upsetting subject. Mainly I think that it is somehow more real than a sort of 'random' murder as we are all aware of the truth behind the premise. Anyway, I hung on and all the good elements were there, Tom and his relationships and his taciturn and slightly disrespectful attitude to authority. His love for the little boy and his complicated feelings for Helen and their life together. I was very drawn to Tan At first I didn't think that I would be able to stick with this one because it is a very upsetting subject. Mainly I think that it is somehow more real than a sort of 'random' murder as we are all aware of the truth behind the premise. Anyway, I hung on and all the good elements were there, Tom and his relationships and his taciturn and slightly disrespectful attitude to authority. His love for the little boy and his complicated feelings for Helen and their life together. I was very drawn to Tanner and hope that she is in further books. I did have one teeny 'question' and that was about the diary LOOK AWAY NOW AS THIS COULD BE A TINY SPOILERETTE. ************Who was actually reading the diaries, I see that they were a device to demonstrate the feelings of young women caught up in these difficult situations but I don't think (and it could be me) that it was adequately explained who actually read them and how they helped towards the ultimate trapping of the 'baddies' and thereafter the solving of the whole case. If I'm wrong about this then I apologise. Anyway - All in all a good read, not one of the best I don't think but still deserving of 4 star spangles.
    more
  • Hannelore Cheney
    June 21, 2017
    Tom Thorne is back! Having read and loved all 13 previous books in the series I couldn't wait to get stuck into this one. It's like getting together with old friends.The subject is the painful and important one of honour killings and handled with sensitivity and dignity.DI Nicola Tanner's partner Susan has been brutally murdered in what Nicola believes is a case of mistaken identity, because of her involvement in investigating honour killings. She's been put on compassionate leave and asks Thorn Tom Thorne is back! Having read and loved all 13 previous books in the series I couldn't wait to get stuck into this one. It's like getting together with old friends.The subject is the painful and important one of honour killings and handled with sensitivity and dignity.DI Nicola Tanner's partner Susan has been brutally murdered in what Nicola believes is a case of mistaken identity, because of her involvement in investigating honour killings. She's been put on compassionate leave and asks Thorne for help in finding the killers. She can't be seen to be involved, but believes Thorne, being a tenacious detective who doesn't mind bending the rules a bit, is just the person to investigate and solve the murder of the woman she loved and lost.When 2 young people mysteriously disappear, they fear the worst and the deadly pursuit of the killers is long and arduous, ending with explosive results. Wow, this was a heck of a read, highly recommended. And I suggest all other books in the series, you won't be sorry!Thank you Netgalley and Grove Atlantic for the eARC.
    more
  • Diane Poppleton-brown
    June 13, 2017
    For the 14th in the Tom Thorne series Billingham has produced an enthralling crime novel, with honour killings at its crux. Made even more poignant by the Author's Note at the back of the book outlining scary statistics surrounding honour based crimes Love Like Blood is loosely based on the death of Banaz Mahmoud who was killed in 2006 when she was just 19 years old. A fast paced and gripping novel, DI Thorne once again teams up with Nicola Tanner (first introduced in Die of Shame) when her part For the 14th in the Tom Thorne series Billingham has produced an enthralling crime novel, with honour killings at its crux. Made even more poignant by the Author's Note at the back of the book outlining scary statistics surrounding honour based crimes Love Like Blood is loosely based on the death of Banaz Mahmoud who was killed in 2006 when she was just 19 years old. A fast paced and gripping novel, DI Thorne once again teams up with Nicola Tanner (first introduced in Die of Shame) when her partner is brutally murdered. Love like blood has all the hallmarks of a great read, snappy dialogue, well developed characters and an engaging plot line, but on top of that add the weightiness of Banaz Mahmoud to the mix and you have a whole new layer to think about. Oh, and when you think 'it's in the bag', wait for the twist - I really didn't see that one coming!Thanks to Netgalley for providing an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Julie Garner
    May 13, 2017
    I have discovered a new crime writer that I have not picked up before. I like it.The content in this book is hard to read at times as it is all about honour killing and how far some people will go to protect their families honour.DI Nicola Tanner goes to DI Tom Thorne with a case. One that she has already been removed from but is determined to follow through, with or without his help, even if it puts her in the ground.There were twists and turns throughout the book just to keep you on your toes. I have discovered a new crime writer that I have not picked up before. I like it.The content in this book is hard to read at times as it is all about honour killing and how far some people will go to protect their families honour.DI Nicola Tanner goes to DI Tom Thorne with a case. One that she has already been removed from but is determined to follow through, with or without his help, even if it puts her in the ground.There were twists and turns throughout the book just to keep you on your toes. The characters are well developed within and you can tell that Billingham likes to bring them out to play.I look forward to reading my next Billingham and I can only assume that I will enjoy it as much as I did this one.
    more
  • Pat Simpson
    May 8, 2017
    I am a massive Mark Billingham/Tom Thorne fan. Having read all his books, the main characters are all like long lost friends and I can never wait to 'catch up' with them. This book didn't disappoint. It combined the characters of Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner, who was introduced to the readers in his last book, Die of Shame.I found the storyline very gripping and certainly didn't anticipate the twist at the end. This book is an excellent crime novel and another one by Mark Billingham that I could I am a massive Mark Billingham/Tom Thorne fan. Having read all his books, the main characters are all like long lost friends and I can never wait to 'catch up' with them. This book didn't disappoint. It combined the characters of Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner, who was introduced to the readers in his last book, Die of Shame.I found the storyline very gripping and certainly didn't anticipate the twist at the end. This book is an excellent crime novel and another one by Mark Billingham that I couldn't put down! Can't wait for the next.I would like to thank Net Galley for the advanced copy of this book.
    more
  • Fiona Mccormick
    May 12, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and to the publisher for the arc of this book.I have only recently started reading Mark Billingham books but I am a huge fan already! Have read a couple of Tom Thornes and all of his most recent stand alone books, this is a follow up to Die of Shame which was brilliant! Tom Thorne hooks up with Nicola Tanner from Die of Shame to solve the murder of her partner Susan which Nicola believes is connected to her recent investigations of honour killings. Plenty of preconceptions Thank you to Netgalley and to the publisher for the arc of this book.I have only recently started reading Mark Billingham books but I am a huge fan already! Have read a couple of Tom Thornes and all of his most recent stand alone books, this is a follow up to Die of Shame which was brilliant! Tom Thorne hooks up with Nicola Tanner from Die of Shame to solve the murder of her partner Susan which Nicola believes is connected to her recent investigations of honour killings. Plenty of preconceptions challenged in this book, and a great storyline with plenty of twists and unexpected turns throughout. Great read, would thoroughly recommend.
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    June 21, 2017
    This is a very clever and intelligent procedural/thriller with the topical story line of honor killings. I haven't read all of the series and it wasn't a problem as both Tom and Nicola are complete characters in this latest installment. While both of them could be perceived as cliche (rebels/quirks, etc), they are actually more real than you might expect- and highly sympathetic. I rooted for Nicola in particular (she's a great addition to the series). There are enough twists to keep you guessing This is a very clever and intelligent procedural/thriller with the topical story line of honor killings. I haven't read all of the series and it wasn't a problem as both Tom and Nicola are complete characters in this latest installment. While both of them could be perceived as cliche (rebels/quirks, etc), they are actually more real than you might expect- and highly sympathetic. I rooted for Nicola in particular (she's a great addition to the series). There are enough twists to keep you guessing but this never gets too complicated. Perfect plot driven book for travel. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.
    more
  • Gavin Simms
    June 27, 2017
    This book suffered in comparison to Attica Locke's Pleasantville. It somehow felt less authentic dealing with a weighty topic (honor killings) when the author hasn't a deep connection to the community and history, in the way that Attica has in Pleasantville. Same with the last Peter Robinson book (on grooming). You feel they felt they both had to make at least one protagonist white. Maybe I'm being unfair. And the resolution of the initial murder felt spliced on to give Thorne's partner more tha This book suffered in comparison to Attica Locke's Pleasantville. It somehow felt less authentic dealing with a weighty topic (honor killings) when the author hasn't a deep connection to the community and history, in the way that Attica has in Pleasantville. Same with the last Peter Robinson book (on grooming). You feel they felt they both had to make at least one protagonist white. Maybe I'm being unfair. And the resolution of the initial murder felt spliced on to give Thorne's partner more than just a few lines.
    more
  • Anthony Dalton
    June 16, 2017
    Apparently this is the fourteenth instalment in this series, however as the first I have read, I didn't feel I had to fill in any back story, and I quickly became absorbed in what was ultimately a nicely paced and intriguing plot. The writing style was very was impressive and I connected well with the main protagonists. Certainly as a fan of crime thrillers, I can say this novel is well above average and I will be reading this author in the future.
    more
  • Áine
    June 14, 2017
    There aren't many authors that can get to book fourteen of a series and keep the characters relevant and fresh birt Billingham had nailed it. There's more focus on the crime and less on Thorne self destructing which is welcome as I've become quite fond of him (note to self don't get so attached to fictional characters). I wonder is DI Tanner going to be a return character? Excellent well researched story as always..
    more
  • Charlie Sharpe
    June 5, 2017
    As always, a fantastic story from Mark Billingham as Tom Thorne returns alongside Nicola Tanner. This time the plot is around honour based killings, a very real subject which Billingham has clearly researched and wants to make more people aware of the hideous crimes. The main plot line was fairly easy to work out but there was a little twist at the end involving a side story which linked in with the main plot - very clever.
    more
Write a review