Run to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit, #1)
He lost his mentor.He lost his K9 partner.He almost lost his will to live.But when a ruthless killer targets a woman on the run, Theo and his new K9 companion will do whatever it takes to survive—and save the woman neither can live without.Grieving the death of his partner, Theo Bosco has no room in his life for distractions. Though his instincts scream that he should avoid Juliet 'Jules' Jackson, he can't seem to stay away. It doesn't help that Theo's new K9 companion has fallen head over paws with Jules's rambunctious family.Or that when he's with her, Theo finally knows peace.When Jules rescued her siblings, whisking them away to the safety of the beautifully rugged Colorado Rockies, she never expected to catch the eye—or the heart—of a cop. Yet as Jules struggles to fight her growing attraction to the brooding K9 officer, another threat lurks much closer to home...And this time, there's no escape.Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit: Run to Ground (Book 1)On the Chase (Book 2)

Run to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit, #1) Details

TitleRun to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Suspense

Run to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit, #1) Review

  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    June 3, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really liked this book. I have been wanting to read Katie Ruggle for a while and since this was the beginning of a new series, I thought that this would be a good place to start. The fact that this is a series about a K9 unit also really appealed to me since I am a huge dog lover. I was hooked to the story pretty much right away and was really wondering how everything would work out. This was a really exciting read that kept me gue This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really liked this book. I have been wanting to read Katie Ruggle for a while and since this was the beginning of a new series, I thought that this would be a good place to start. The fact that this is a series about a K9 unit also really appealed to me since I am a huge dog lover. I was hooked to the story pretty much right away and was really wondering how everything would work out. This was a really exciting read that kept me guessing until the very end.Theo was hard to figure out at first. He really seemed to come across as closed off and almost rude. He has been through a lot recently. His K9 partner died of cancer and his fellow officer also died. He has a new K9 partner, Viggy, who had previously worked with the officer that died. Both Viggy and Theo are having a very hard time adjusting to the change and they are both deep in grief.Jules whisked her 4 siblings off to safety and needs to stay under the radar. She has moved into a local home in need of a lot of repairs and has taken a job at the local diner. She really just wants to keep her younger brothers and sister safe and will do whatever it takes to make that happen. She does live with the constant fear that they will be discovered.I liked Jules and Theo together a lot. They really seemed to compliment each other perfectly. This is a very slow moving romance and I thought that they relationship built at a realistic pace. The build up between the pair was wonderfully done and I was so happy when they finally came together. Theo just fit in with Jules and her siblings perfectly even with all of his grumpiness.There were a few issues that I felt like Jules and Theo really needed to work out and I kept waiting for them to get around to it. It never did happen so I feel like there are a few issues that were not completely resolved at the end of the story. I would have also like to learn a bit more about the history of all of the siblings. A little bit more of a backstory would have been very welcome.I would recommend this book to other fans of contemporary romance. I really enjoyed Katie Ruggle's style of writing and found this to be an exciting and fast paced novel. I can't wait to see what happens next in this great series!I received an advance reader edition of this book from Sourcebooks Casablanca via NetGalley.Initial ThoughtsI really liked this one. There was a lot going on probably so much that it wasn't realistic at all but I didn't care because it was so much fun to read. Jules and Theo were perfect together and I loved the slow build up of their relationship. The ending seemed a bit too easy but it was overall an exciting read.
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    June 4, 2017
    I loved Katie Ruggle’s Search and Rescue series so I was happy to hear she was writing a new series based in a town not too far from Simpson, Colorado. Jules Jackson has just moved to Monroe Colorado with her four younger siblings. She actually kidnapped them to save them from her horrible stepmother, (seriously horrible!). With new identities and a guarantee from a shifty character that her stepmother wouldn’t be looking for them “or else” she’s sets off hoping to start their lives anew. When y I loved Katie Ruggle’s Search and Rescue series so I was happy to hear she was writing a new series based in a town not too far from Simpson, Colorado. Jules Jackson has just moved to Monroe Colorado with her four younger siblings. She actually kidnapped them to save them from her horrible stepmother, (seriously horrible!). With new identities and a guarantee from a shifty character that her stepmother wouldn’t be looking for them “or else” she’s sets off hoping to start their lives anew. When you’re trying to be stealthy and not draw attention, cops are the last people you want to notice you, yet the diner she works at is the stomping ground of the Monroe Police. Officer Theo Boscoe quickly notices Jules when her behavior screams “I’m on the run” yet that’s not the only thing that captures his attention. Jules is gorgeous and sweet, and any idiot can see she needs help and protection. And even though Jules knows she shouldn’t let Theo close she can’t help but let him in when she feels his desire to shield her, and feels his vulnerability. And hey, Theo has a super cute dog that just happens to love her family! Theo isn’t without his own demons. He lost his partner and blames himself for not catching any signs of depression that ultimately led to his partner’s suicide. Add to that is his partner’s dog, Viggy, is depressed too after losing his handler, and it doesn’t seem like anything Theo does helps, except his visits to the skittish waitresses’ house. That’s okay, it was just another excuse to visit Jules! Viggy with Dee definitely tugged at my heart strings. Theo and Jules were a cute couple, and I was thrilled these two got some happiness in amongst all the troubles in their lives. As the story progresses it quickly becomes clear that the danger of discovery is not the only thing Jules has to worry about in Monroe. This story was packed with action, thrills, and danger! I love Katie Ruggle’s romantic suspense novels. Her characters are usually quirky in some way; different enough to be interesting. The beautiful, small mountain Colorado towns she sets her stories in are a draw for me, too. I do love the mountains with their sweeping views, pines, and clean air. The idea of a small town where everyone knows everyone appeals to me, fictionally at least. Not sure how that would actually be in real life, but I wouldn’t mind giving it a try someday. Can’t wait for On the Chase, Hugh’s story next! A copy was kindly provided by Casablanca Book in exchange for an honest review. This review is also posted at The Readers Den.
    more
  • CD {Boulder Blvd}
    May 27, 2017
    I was really looking forward to this new series by Ms. Ruggle. The premise of it seemed right up my alley with K9 officers and their human partners, a woman and her siblings on the run and hiding out in Colorado and a not so nice group of individuals with bombs and weapons. All the elements of a good series was there and the preview provided in After the End was very intriguing.However, it took me a while to get through the book and for the most part I was disappointed. So what went wrong? I nee I was really looking forward to this new series by Ms. Ruggle. The premise of it seemed right up my alley with K9 officers and their human partners, a woman and her siblings on the run and hiding out in Colorado and a not so nice group of individuals with bombs and weapons. All the elements of a good series was there and the preview provided in After the End was very intriguing.However, it took me a while to get through the book and for the most part I was disappointed. So what went wrong? I needed more character development, fewer open threads at the end of the story (and sometimes at the end of a scene) and the dialogue often seemed off and unnatural. I had a lot of highlights in this book followed by some of my snarky commentary - way too many snarky comments. And none of my highlights were positive - that's a telling statement as well.First off, I wasn't enamored with the flashbacks in this story. Give me a solid prologue and I'm much happier. And this story would have worked really well with a prologue so the interruptive flashbacks weren't needed. And in addition to the flashbacks, the scene changes seemed to end abruptly and the transitions between scenes weren't always smooth. Now I did read an ARC, so some of the jumpiness could be resolved in the final edit.The character development seemed to come in bits and pieces and some of the key characters didn't feel fully fleshed out. The whys of their back stories were pretty sketchy. I would have definitely liked more development of the bad guys. They had a way of appearing and disappearing but we never see much development of them. Theo has lost not only his K9 partner, but his fellow "human" partner committed suicide. The why of the suicide is an open thread that you have to wonder if it's going to be picked up later in the series. Theo has been gutted by the suicide and feels guilty for not seeing the signs so he could have prevented his partner's death. Having lost his K9, he inherits his partner's K9, Viggy. He has internalized a lot of emotions and developed a really surly disposition which is really unappealing and it's hard to get vested in him. Maybe he needed to see a shrink? Plus his attitude and dealing with Viggy is downright off putting in parts of the book. Viggy is an excellent part of the story and seems to be every readers' favorite character.Jules has "rescued/kidnapped" her younger siblings from her father and stepmother. The stepmother is an unknown quantity and the thread of Jules taking her siblings and hiding out in Colorado is one of the open threads that looks to continue through the rest of the series. The family unit is interesting, but I really think we needed more of their back story. What really went on with the kids? We get some glimpses into their past life, but I need more. Jules is supposed to be a professional accountant in her former life, but her thought processes come off more like a teenage version of herself.Mentally Theo keeps using the term "squirrelly waitress" to describe Jules which I got tired of really quickly. Personally when I think of a squirrelly personality I generally think of a twitchy nerd, or an addict looking for drugs. The term didn't work for me and I cringed whenever it was written. A lot of time is spent on Theo and Jules, but for whatever reason, I never became vested in their relationship.It felt like there were multiple plot points and subplot points and open threads are left all over the place. I had identified a number of scenes where elements of the scene were either left hanging or I didn't think all the elements were believable. I had major issues with the final suspense scene from doubting Theo's capabilities to asking why the back door of a crime scene was left unchecked. Standard operating procedures would have been to secure the crime scene including the front and back of the building.I think if you took only the suspense plot scenes from the book and pieced them together without the romance development, you would find there isn't much cohesion or development. It's more like a loose, fractured plot. The suspense is started but then disappears with a relationship scene. I think it may be because you never see the investigation at work - just stand alone scenes. There is a fine balance in romantic suspense to make sure both the romance arc works and the suspense arc works. For me the suspense arc didn't work and left too much open and not enough closure.The only thread that's tied in this book is the happily for now with Theo and Jules. And as this is a romantic suspense I don't consider my comment a spoiler - it's kind of a given from the very beginning. Everything else in the plot felt like an open thread waiting for the next book or even the next book after that. I get that this is a series. One major open thread is good, too many open threads - maybe not so good.Although the series has solid potential, for me, it wasn't a stellar start. Thanks to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    May 16, 2017
    This is one of those books that started out a little rough for me but the more I read, the more I got invested in the characters and their plight. By the end, I was hooked. It helps that there are 4 adorable children that you can't help but fall for and one K9 dog who needed a bit of healing. Jules is risking everything for her 4 siblings and all she needs to do is keep a low profile. It's kind of laughable how she catches the attention of a cop her first day at work. Theo is immediately suspici This is one of those books that started out a little rough for me but the more I read, the more I got invested in the characters and their plight. By the end, I was hooked. It helps that there are 4 adorable children that you can't help but fall for and one K9 dog who needed a bit of healing. Jules is risking everything for her 4 siblings and all she needs to do is keep a low profile. It's kind of laughable how she catches the attention of a cop her first day at work. Theo is immediately suspicious of Jules and knows she's hiding something. His instincts tells him that she is on the run but the more he's around her and her siblings, the less he cares. You do have to suspend belief in a few places, but I liked these characters enough that I didn't really care that it wasn't realistic for Theo to ignore his cop instincts with Jules. It was heartwarming what Jules was doing for her brothers and sisters and I melted every time Theo interacted with these kids. The fact that he was grumpy and very standoffish made his tender care more sigh worthy.This is a slow burn romance with a suspenseful plot. Some violence but not graphic. The kids suffered abuse and you learn enough to know why Jules steps up to help them. ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Marta Cox
    May 25, 2017
    Three and a halfHaving thoroughly enjoyed this authors Search and Rescue series I really looked forward to getting my hands on this book. Still set in beautiful Colorado but this time it's the K-9 unit that the author tries to capture. The story really begins with Jules a young woman who is desperate to get her younger siblings away from her stepmothers abusuve control. When I say desperate I don't use the word needlessly because Jules has been working for very shady characters indeed , the sort Three and a halfHaving thoroughly enjoyed this authors Search and Rescue series I really looked forward to getting my hands on this book. Still set in beautiful Colorado but this time it's the K-9 unit that the author tries to capture. The story really begins with Jules a young woman who is desperate to get her younger siblings away from her stepmothers abusuve control. When I say desperate I don't use the word needlessly because Jules has been working for very shady characters indeed , the sort that get your pulse racing , your palms turning clammy and make you start to think about concrete boots! Yes she's at her wits end but help comes from the most unlikely source and it means Jules breaks the law and 'kidnaps' her brothers and sister!Theo is in a bad place mentally . He's not quite got over the death of his canine partner but even more draining is the fact that his best friend took his own life. Theo exists in a hardened fog, just going through the motions really and the last thing he needs is the knowledge that he's letting down Viggy his new K-9 partner. So what will he do when a new waitress shows up who is obviously on the run and hiding something ? Has she been hurt, is she still in danger? Theo might not realise it but the hot , secretive waitress is about to wake up his emotions but it turns out that Jules really is in danger!Theres quite a few flashbacks initially as this story begins which slightly irritated me as I wanted the plot to move along. That being said the characters here are very easy to like and there's a huge appeal to be had from Jules and her charming family. As if that wasn't enough of a cute factor the author also throws in fellow police officers who feel like Theo's family as they tease and generally wind him up. Then of course there's Viggy with his fears and sadness and he was just such a lovely touch. This is fiction so most things are allowed but the big reveal at the end just didn't quite convince me. Plus I know Theo is a hero but what he does here didn't feel realistic. Oh and there's the little matter of just who helped Jules initially and how that arc will play out in future books. I really liked seeing this couple get their happy ending but unfortunately it's not my favourite book from this author . However as I've enjoyed her other books I will continue to read her stories but hope I don't have to suspend belief quite so much next time
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    February 7, 2017
    Another I wanted to love this book, I really did. I like the idea of a series about a K9 unit, and I enjoyed Ruggle's "Search and Rescue" series quite a bit. I simply never got completely invested in the story or the characters enough to care enough what happened in the storyline or with them. I especially disliked the flashbacks the first few chapters of the book. I'm not a huge fan of flashbacks; and it was only a few weeks, couldn't the author have put it in a prologue and go from there in pr Another I wanted to love this book, I really did. I like the idea of a series about a K9 unit, and I enjoyed Ruggle's "Search and Rescue" series quite a bit. I simply never got completely invested in the story or the characters enough to care enough what happened in the storyline or with them. I especially disliked the flashbacks the first few chapters of the book. I'm not a huge fan of flashbacks; and it was only a few weeks, couldn't the author have put it in a prologue and go from there in present time? Also, Jules never told Theo the truth about her and the kids; even after starting a committed relationship with him. That lack of trust bugged me.Still, I feel this to be a satisfactory read, and a small bump in the road. I will read the next book. I did love Viggy, and look forward to more K9 partners like him, as well as the other characters the reader is introduced to.
    more
  • Miranda (MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It)
    May 26, 2017
    After enjoying Katie's Search & Rescue series, I was more than excited to start a new romantic suspense series by her! This book had all the thrills and romance that fans can expect when it comes to a book by Katie. I will admit that I didn't like this book AS much as the books in her previous series, but still was an exhilarating read. The main male character, Theo, was a little hard for me to warm up to at first. He was very demanding and moody. I understood why he was acting that way, but After enjoying Katie's Search & Rescue series, I was more than excited to start a new romantic suspense series by her! This book had all the thrills and romance that fans can expect when it comes to a book by Katie. I will admit that I didn't like this book AS much as the books in her previous series, but still was an exhilarating read. The main male character, Theo, was a little hard for me to warm up to at first. He was very demanding and moody. I understood why he was acting that way, but it was still hard to really like him. However, as the book went on, I saw how caring, dedicated, romantic, and determined he was. Julie, the other main character, was a delight. I really admired how much she cared about her siblings and how she was willing to do anything to keep them safe. I thought the plot of this book was interesting, but I wasn't a huge fan of the flashbacks. The flashbacks felt a bit out of place and they kept taking me out of the story. I wish they all would have been condensed into a prologue or shorter. However, the plot as a whole was intriguing and fast-paced, which I really enjoyed! The romance was as steamy and delicious as I was hoping it would be! Once I warmed up to Theo, I started shipping him with Julie SO HARD. I thought they made an adorable pair, and I would love to have more stories about them! Overall, this was a heart racing and sexy read. Fans of Katie's other books and fans of romantic suspense will definitely enjoy this new story! I am excited to see what this series has in store for us next! 3 / 5 Fangs *This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * MrsLeif's Two Fangs About ItFacebookTwitter
    more
  • Kimberly
    June 11, 2017
    Really enjoyed this one and cannot wait for the next. RTC
  • Sophia
    May 28, 2017
    Running from trouble to a small Colorado mountain town with frightened siblings in tow and encounters an irascible K-9 cop with a few suspicions and a whole lot more interest in the present than the past. Trouble finds them all in this exciting new romantic suspense series.Run to Ground is the first book in the Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit series and is part of the same world as the author's earlier Search & Rescue series. I was all set to get comfortable and fall in love with a new series by the Running from trouble to a small Colorado mountain town with frightened siblings in tow and encounters an irascible K-9 cop with a few suspicions and a whole lot more interest in the present than the past. Trouble finds them all in this exciting new romantic suspense series.Run to Ground is the first book in the Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit series and is part of the same world as the author's earlier Search & Rescue series. I was all set to get comfortable and fall in love with a new series by the author and I did.I was practically a whole cheerleading squad to see Jules and her younger siblings who escaped a deplorable home life get their chance along with grieving and self-blaming Officer Theo Bosco who lost a canine partner to cancer and then his human partner to depression. Secrets abound and it was a nice level of tension to see how things worked out with Jules hiding big stuff and Theo being a cop. In this instance, the secrets are justified because its one of those sad situations where the law can't help the victims here at least for now when they are most vulnerable to a crime that can't be proven.The secrets of Jules and her relations were only part of the suspense element. I enjoyed the action suspense element of a shooter and a night prowler.But most of all, I enjoyed this sweet and spicy slow burn romance. It was fun how it awkwardly started. He might have called her 'squirrelly' and she might have found his sour face and disposition a bit off-putting, but they got beyond that and it was all for the good. I also was excited to meet all the players in small town Monroe who I can look forward to seeing more of as the series progresses. It was a great start and I'm rarin' to go for Rocky Mountain K-9 book two. You don't need to have read the earlier series to jump into this one so you're getting in at a good time if you're interested in a solid new romantic suspense series.My thanks to Sourcebooks Casablanca for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dísir
    February 28, 2017
    Jumpy waitress Juliet Young first meets K9 Unit’s Theo Bosco at the breakfast bar, carrying the weight of her legal troubles on her shoulders as she sort of tries to make a new life for herself in Colorado. But clearly she is hiding something (and this falls on the wrong side of law enforcement), raising Theo's internal alarm and setting them on a course where they’re on opposing sides. Meanwhile, Theo is dealing with his own grief about his partner and dog, while having a hard time bonding with Jumpy waitress Juliet Young first meets K9 Unit’s Theo Bosco at the breakfast bar, carrying the weight of her legal troubles on her shoulders as she sort of tries to make a new life for herself in Colorado. But clearly she is hiding something (and this falls on the wrong side of law enforcement), raising Theo's internal alarm and setting them on a course where they’re on opposing sides. Meanwhile, Theo is dealing with his own grief about his partner and dog, while having a hard time bonding with Viggy the Malinois, so we do witness his frustrations alongside Jules’s own problems. Having enjoyed Katie Ruggle’s Search and Rescue series, this new K9 one looked as though it would be just as promising. But I couldn’t quite get engaged in ‘Run to Ground’ unfortunately; neither the characters nor the plot captured me from the very beginning. The constant flashbacks broke the narrative and the developing story somewhat, so I found myself disoriented from time to time this happened. In fact, I found myself more invested in Theo’s story than Jules’s however, wanting to know how his newfound partnership with Viggy was going to go but wasn’t too thrilled when there were still some secrets between Jules and Theo by the time the book ended. Still, I liked how Ruggle wrote about the struggles that law enforcement officers faced with their own K9 team and their partners, which made me still look forward to what would happen in later books. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Julie (Manga Maniac Cafe)
    June 12, 2017
    3.25 starsIt seems like there are so many loose plot threads that did not get wrapped up, so Run to Ground gets a knock for that. full review to follow
  • Book Him Danno
    February 10, 2017
    I will start off that I have reviews so far all of Katie Ruggle's books and each one has it own story and experiences that tie them all together. With that said you can read each one as a stand alone.What I enjoy about Katie Ruggle is her ability to create a story using the knowledge she has gained over the years. Each story is place in a world readers are able to wonder could that happen?With all romantic suspense readers will have to suspend some belief and this story isn't any different. Theo I will start off that I have reviews so far all of Katie Ruggle's books and each one has it own story and experiences that tie them all together. With that said you can read each one as a stand alone.What I enjoy about Katie Ruggle is her ability to create a story using the knowledge she has gained over the years. Each story is place in a world readers are able to wonder could that happen?With all romantic suspense readers will have to suspend some belief and this story isn't any different. Theodore Bosco is a little too moody, a little to lost but he is a cop who lost his partner so that is expected but where I had to suspend belief is when he decided to accept Jules even though his gut is telling him something is wrong. Katie makes a point that Theo is tried of people keeping secrets and yet he willing walks away from Julies very obvious secret. I get loved is blind but its not that blind but not to someone who is all about right and wrong.Julie is trying hard to right the wrongs her siblings have gone though and some she doesn't know about yet. She is strong female character who isn't damaged but trying to make things right.The kids in the story are present and many times Julie will ask where everyone is which is great knowing she didn't decide to make the kids disappear because sex doesn't work with kids around.The author gives you just enough back story of Julie and how she was able to escape as well as a cliff changer that will keep readers excited for the next in the series.Thank you to the Publisher, Netgalley and the author for the advance Copy.
    more
  • Dawn
    February 21, 2017
    Katie Ruggle is an always read author of mine. Doesn't matter what she writes, I will always read it. I don't even have to read the synopsis. This book is no different and is just as wonderful as the others that I have read that have been written by her. Jules has had a rough streak lately but not as rough as her siblings and she has been fighting for them for a while now. Finally enough is enough and she has decided becoming a criminal to save them won't be so bad. Theo is miserable. He lost hi Katie Ruggle is an always read author of mine. Doesn't matter what she writes, I will always read it. I don't even have to read the synopsis. This book is no different and is just as wonderful as the others that I have read that have been written by her. Jules has had a rough streak lately but not as rough as her siblings and she has been fighting for them for a while now. Finally enough is enough and she has decided becoming a criminal to save them won't be so bad. Theo is miserable. He lost his k9 partner to cancer last year, then his human partner and now his human's k9 seems to have lost the desire to work and bond as much as Theo himself. He's grumpy and surly and doesn't smile anymore because he blames his partner's death on himself. Then Theo and Jules meet each other at the local diner and he scares her to death. But as each new day comes it brings new challenges and new ways for them to find a delicate balance. When things get dangerous what will win out, curiosity or fear? I received this ARC in the exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monique
    May 30, 2017
    Review written: May 30, 2017Star Rating: ★★★☆ Heat Rating: ☀☼☼☼☼ An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review. I liked Ruggle's Search and Rescue series so it made sense to try out her new series. I was certainly rewarded for my curiosity. Jules and Theo are a sweet combination laced with pain and fear and a whole lot of family drama.It's no spoiler to say that Jules kidnaps her siblings and runs away to protect them from abuse. How she is abl Review written: May 30, 2017Star Rating: ★★★½☆ Heat Rating: ☀☼☼☼☼ An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review. I liked Ruggle's Search and Rescue series so it made sense to try out her new series. I was certainly rewarded for my curiosity. Jules and Theo are a sweet combination laced with pain and fear and a whole lot of family drama.It's no spoiler to say that Jules kidnaps her siblings and runs away to protect them from abuse. How she is able to do this is interesting and puts her on a short list of "good" people who do "bad" things to protect others, especially in Romancelandia. I really liked her backbone and her ingenuity, even as I hated who she got help from. I liked that she stood up for what was right even as she understood she was going to get nowhere through the legal system. So to find herself falling for a local cop in their new home was quite the unwelcome jolt. Theo is a raging mass of pain and anger and his volatility is duly noted by the rest of the K9 group and others on the police force. They treat him with the kind of careful words and actions that often drive grieving people round the bend. He has lost his K9 partner and his human partner and his guilt and pain are a rather toxic mix. It is exacerbated by the the fact that his Lieutenant wants him to bond with Viggy, his former partner's dog. Viggy is a Malinois (and serious kudos to Ruggle for that choice!) and is as confused and hurt as Theo.Theo isn't the only one who is curious about newcomer Jules and someone dangerous seems to have taken an interest in her as well. There's always one! And here in this quite backwater, it's the local gun and explosives nut who is attracting the eyes of the law. But he is also attracting others, like Jules' creepy guy. Jules and Theo are on a collision course and when shots are fired at them, that collision becomes imminent. Viggy, for his part is enamored of Jules' family and is happiest when playing with the kids. It's a healing bond for both. The suspense ratchets up, friendships are firmed up, a devastated Malinois begins to heal, Theo hides his head in the sand, and someone wants someone else to suffer. The final cataclysm is surprising and horribly sad. I really liked the characterization in Run to Ground. It was often my biggest complaint in Ruggle's previous series so seeing it here and now shows me that she is honing her craft. Theo and Jules are excellently drawn characters. But on top of that, secondary characters are well done too. I also like that she continues to develop her antagonists. As an aside, I got a kick out of seeing Steve (single father, firefighter from Simpson) show up here. I'm hoping that means the widower and father of two might be getting a story out of it. I'd love to see him find love again. I really liked Run to Ground and am eager to try out the next in the series. This review is ©May 2017 by Monique N. and has been posted to Netgalley.
    more
  • Cathy Geha
    June 4, 2017
    Run to Ground by Katie RuggleRocky Mountain K-9 Unit #1Never having read a book by this author but liking books with dogs, especially K-9 dogs that seem to work with great men and women, I was very interested in reading what seems to be the first book in what will be a trilogy of the stories of three K-9 partners located in small town Monroe, Colorado. This is a story of siblings on the run. As the story unfolds an inkling of what their past must have been like is leaked a bit at a time…and they Run to Ground by Katie RuggleRocky Mountain K-9 Unit #1Never having read a book by this author but liking books with dogs, especially K-9 dogs that seem to work with great men and women, I was very interested in reading what seems to be the first book in what will be a trilogy of the stories of three K-9 partners located in small town Monroe, Colorado. This is a story of siblings on the run. As the story unfolds an inkling of what their past must have been like is leaked a bit at a time…and they really did need to get away. How they managed to flee is part of the story as is their fear of being found. Anyway, the eldest is Jules and she has brought her three brothers and sister to Monroe where she is working as a waitress. One of her most intriguing customers is curmudgeonly Theodore Basco. Theo picks up early on that Jules has secrets and that abuse is part and parcel of her past but he does not push. As the story progresses there are bomb threats, a shooting on/near a school, a militia that is anti-government and on the wrong side of the law, a romance, a depressed dog and someone out to kill and create havoc. The romance is interesting and worked for me. The siblings are close and care deeply about one another. The issues to be faced are not small potatoes and are not all dealt with by the end of the book – things are wrapped up BUT there are still problems that may rear their ugly heads in future books. And, from what I read about book two, there will be more action, another person in need of escape and another romance to enjoy. I do believe I am looking forward to reading book two and wonder how long I will have to wait. Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4 Stars
    more
  • Book Lover
    June 6, 2017
    I am a fan of this author’s SAR series so I was really looking forward to this new series. I am not a fan of flashbacks. At. All. And this book does this a lot. Juliet (Jules) Young/Jackson is on the run with her 4 half siblings. They’ve all been abused in some way, including Jules. She moves them from Florida to a small town in Colorado. She takes a job as a waitress in the only diner in town, which also happens to be the local K9 cop hang out. Theo Bosco is a grumpy, angry, emotionally flatlin I am a fan of this author’s SAR series so I was really looking forward to this new series. I am not a fan of flashbacks. At. All. And this book does this a lot. Juliet (Jules) Young/Jackson is on the run with her 4 half siblings. They’ve all been abused in some way, including Jules. She moves them from Florida to a small town in Colorado. She takes a job as a waitress in the only diner in town, which also happens to be the local K9 cop hang out. Theo Bosco is a grumpy, angry, emotionally flatlined K9 cop just going through the motions. He lost his K9 partner a year ago to cancer and his human partner 2 months ago to suicide. Because of these two things, he inherits his partner’s dog, Viggy, and it’s not going well.When Theo spots Jules, the new waitress, interest sparks even though he knows she’s hiding something. The squirrelly waitress connotation was just irritating after awhile. Jules is drawn to Theo because he makes her feel safe and protected. How is that possible? He’s a cop who could arrest her for kidnapping and send her siblings back. I did enjoy the family interaction between Jules and her siblings. You could feel her dedication to them. I especially wanted to hug Sam. It took me too much time to finish this book because I just wasn’t invested. I found it difficult to believe a cop, or his cop friends, would allow Jules her secrets. Too many questions left unanswered. I’m hoping the next book fills in some of the gaps left by this book. My favorite character was Hugh, Theo’s current partner. Hugh is the hero in the next book and I’m hoping it smoothes out some of the rough edges in this one.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  •  Reading In Pajamas
    June 8, 2017
    Review: RUN TO GROUND (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit Book 1) by Katie Ruggle http://bit.ly/2sXcrzlPublication Date: June 6, 2017Genre: Romantic Suspense/ Contemporary RomanceReviewed by: Reading in Pajamas/ DonnaRated: 5 StarsI loved this first installment of her new series. It has all the thrills and goosebumps that we expect from Katie Ruggle. The beginning had a little back-and-forth timeline thing, that I couldn’t decide if I liked or not. Gladly, I quickly got over that and sunk deep in the story. Review: RUN TO GROUND (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit Book 1) by Katie Ruggle http://bit.ly/2sXcrzlPublication Date: June 6, 2017Genre: Romantic Suspense/ Contemporary RomanceReviewed by: Reading in Pajamas/ DonnaRated: 5 StarsI loved this first installment of her new series. It has all the thrills and goosebumps that we expect from Katie Ruggle. The beginning had a little back-and-forth timeline thing, that I couldn’t decide if I liked or not. Gladly, I quickly got over that and sunk deep in the story. Jules acted so realistically to everything going on around her, while brooding Theo found himself pulled into her life. Although realists would insist that more needs to be done for her siblings, it is a work of fiction and fun to read. I cannot wait for the next book!*Review copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.~*~*~*~Kindle http://amzn.to/2r9lAnc ~*~*~*~Also check out Katie Ruggle’s Search and Rescue series! Search and Rescue Series – Amazon Series Link: http://amzn.to/1QUqjBrOn His Watch (novella) ➢ http://amzn.to/1n61qckHold Your Breath ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-4Am | http://amzn.to/1P4yEFaFan the Flames ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-5or | http://amzn.to/1SH25hRGone too Deep ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-5Nb | http://amzn.to/1LiJlm3In Safe Hands ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-6Ni | http://amzn.to/29HSXWW
    more
  • Avid Reader
    May 31, 2017
    Run to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit #1) by Katie Ruggle4.5 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Child abuse, suicide, attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Theo is a great cop. He has been sort of surly, but overall, he is well liked and knows when something is amiss. Because he lost his partner to a suicide, he is kind of floundering. Viggy is his fallen partner’s K-9 police dog and both of them are having a difficult time. Theo needs to find a way to get Viggy to co Run to Ground (Rocky Mountain K9 Unit #1) by Katie Ruggle4.5 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Child abuse, suicide, attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Theo is a great cop. He has been sort of surly, but overall, he is well liked and knows when something is amiss. Because he lost his partner to a suicide, he is kind of floundering. Viggy is his fallen partner’s K-9 police dog and both of them are having a difficult time. Theo needs to find a way to get Viggy to come out of his own depression, but with Theo struggling too, it’s not an easy request. When he’s hanging out at the local diner, he notices a new waitress. He is instantly drawn to her, but he is also suspicious of her too. Jules is on the run. She’s running with her siblings, but she’s on the run and so scared that they will be found out that she’s very jittery. Because cops frequent the diner that she works at she just has to get over her fear and try to behave like everything is normal.When things begin to happen around town, Jules and Theo form a unique bond. Theo is able to help Jules with her siblings and gain her trust. The kids who are staying with Jules are able to help Viggy come out of his depression and help Theo create a new bond with him.Overall this was a great mystery and budding romance. There are still a lot of questions left unanswered at the conclusion of this story, but I can’t wait to see what happens next.
    more
  • Mary Mooney
    May 29, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review. Theo Bosco lost his K9 partner, his mentor and now is working with Viggy, his mentor's K9 who doesn't want to work with anyone. Viggy knows his partner is gone and can Theo help him survive?Jules takes off with her siblings to save their lives. They end up in Colorado and Jules catches the eye of a local cop. Just what they don't need. When things start happening, like Jules seeing something or someone I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review. Theo Bosco lost his K9 partner, his mentor and now is working with Viggy, his mentor's K9 who doesn't want to work with anyone. Viggy knows his partner is gone and can Theo help him survive?Jules takes off with her siblings to save their lives. They end up in Colorado and Jules catches the eye of a local cop. Just what they don't need. When things start happening, like Jules seeing something or someone outside her house, Norman showing up at her house and other strange things, she has to wonder if they have been found. But Theo is always there to save them.Can Jules tell Theo what she is running from? Will Theo finally let someone in and be happy? Will Viggy finally become the happy and confident dog he once was?I loved Katie Ruggle's search and rescue series and couldn't wait to see how this series would begin. It was interesting but I would have liked to have had more from Jules past to get to where she was. It seemed to be missing some parts. And Theo's past was heartbreaking and poor Viggy. Altogether though I liked the story and can't wait for more in this series.
    more
  • Nalla Reads
    May 22, 2017
    Action packed and ready for duty!Originally posted on NallaReads.com Katie Ruggle is BACK! Just when you thought the Rocky Mountain'\s couldn't get any sexier. Say hello to the K9 Unit.After suffering the great loss of his partner, Theo has to find a way to move forward with Viggy, his partner's K9 unit. Neither of them have been the same since the unexpected suicide of their closest companion and can't seem to find a common ground.Enter Jules; Theo is taken back by the new stranger come to town Action packed and ready for duty!Originally posted on NallaReads.com Katie Ruggle is BACK! Just when you thought the Rocky Mountain'\s couldn't get any sexier. Say hello to the K9 Unit.After suffering the great loss of his partner, Theo has to find a way to move forward with Viggy, his partner's K9 unit. Neither of them have been the same since the unexpected suicide of their closest companion and can't seem to find a common ground.Enter Jules; Theo is taken back by the new stranger come to town. Who she is and why she chose this town remains a mystery Theo has the strong compulsion to investigate. Not to mention that once he starts to get close to her and her siblings, especially Viggy with her youngest sister, he can't seem to ignore the pull they have towards one another.Jules hasn't always had the best life but she's done what she can to protect her four siblings from horrible nightmares that no child should have to endure. When the opportunity arises for her to escape with them and go on the run: she goes without a second thought. But a cop in their new "hometown" seems to have an eye for her, and she's not too keen to shy away from Theo.Though the fear of Theo finding out the truth and her past lurking past every corner seems to be her biggest threat...sometimes running into unknown territory lands you in hot water.Can't wait for more of this Rocky Mountain team!
    more
  • Rachael Orman
    May 24, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.This is my first book by this author, but the blurb was too interesting for me to pass up. What can I say, a K9 story gets me every time. While I will say that I absolutely adored the storyline with the dog and Theo and how the kids help, I do have to say that I wasn't as invested in the love story or how Jules got to where she was. I felt like the whole thing with Jules and her siblings and her past employer was all too has I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.This is my first book by this author, but the blurb was too interesting for me to pass up. What can I say, a K9 story gets me every time. While I will say that I absolutely adored the storyline with the dog and Theo and how the kids help, I do have to say that I wasn't as invested in the love story or how Jules got to where she was. I felt like the whole thing with Jules and her siblings and her past employer was all too hastily thrown together because I never really understood how all of it came together except for the small mentions in tiny passing comments the characters made or thoughts that were shared. I would've really liked to see that part of the story expanded upon so that we could really connect with Jules more. Theo was... interesting. I can see how he let his attraction and curiosity for Jules lead him toward her when he feels like he should be running the other way. I really don't ever get how he could simply say what he does at the end. It really didn't fit for me, not with his profession and who I came to think of him as. However, when it came to the drama and the kids, I did enjoy it. It was different and interesting and well written and for that, I have to ultimately come to the conclusion that it was a good book.
    more
  • Hannah
    June 4, 2017
    ARC REVIEW TO COME
  • Alison
    February 21, 2017
    Can I just say I dislike the cover? But the novel? Phew four woof woof stars baby.Theodore 'Theo' Bosco is a cop. His last K9 partner died of cancer and his human partner recently committed suicide leaving his own K9 partner Viggy deeply sad and traumatised. Theo is looking after Viggy but the dog seems incapable of doing its job and wakes Theo up in the night howling for his master. Theo himself is not doing well with Don's death, he is surly and aggressive and has lost all hint of compassion.J Can I just say I dislike the cover? But the novel? Phew four woof woof stars baby.Theodore 'Theo' Bosco is a cop. His last K9 partner died of cancer and his human partner recently committed suicide leaving his own K9 partner Viggy deeply sad and traumatised. Theo is looking after Viggy but the dog seems incapable of doing its job and wakes Theo up in the night howling for his master. Theo himself is not doing well with Don's death, he is surly and aggressive and has lost all hint of compassion.Julie 'Jules' Jackson is the new waitress at the diner where Theo and his fellow cops Otto and Hugh have breakfast every morning. Theo notices that she seems squirrely and is determined to find out exactly what she is hiding and why she has ended up in Monroe, Colorado.Jules has a secret, formerly the book-keeper for a man currently being questioned by the FBI, she has kidnapped her brothers and sisters and brought them away from an abusive step-mother and alcoholic father. Her former employer's brother has helped her with fake IDs and a ramshackle rental property and she is desperate to stay under the radar. Although the mysterious and frankly scary Mr Espina has promised that he has enough evidence on her step-mother to stop her from pursuing them, Jules is still looking over her shoulder for a PI.Theo and Jules' romances unfolds slowly. He knows she is hiding something and probably running from someone, the question is, does he want to know why? At the same time, Theo is dealing with a scary group stockpiling weapons and a mysterious shooter.I really liked this book, Theo starts to thaw as he interacts with Jules and her adorable siblings and Viggy falls in love with Jules' younger sister. Soon Theo is doing odd jobs round the house and eating meals with the family, but the spectre of Jules' step-mother looms large. When the creepy Norman Rounds starts obsessing about Jules she worries that he might be a spy for her step-mother but the truth is far more sinister.I am a fan (with some reservations) of D.D. Ayres' K-9 Rescue Series and whilst Viggy isn't front and centre in this novel I thought that this was just as good (and better than some). I liked Theo and I thought his relationship with Jules was really well-written.Recommended if you like small town romantic suspense, cute kids, dogs and grumpy cops.I received a free copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Bree
    October 5, 2016
    Update June 7th, 2017:This story was everything I love about Katie Ruggle's writing. Suspense, mystery, action, romance, sweetness, and humor all rolled into an unputdownable book. Even though I kinda knew who the bad guy was, the story itself was interesting and I adored the characters. Jules and Theo are such a great couple and their relationship with each other, as well as with the kids and Viggy, just made my heart happy. These kids (especially Sam**) have been through some truly horrible th Update June 7th, 2017:This story was everything I love about Katie Ruggle's writing. Suspense, mystery, action, romance, sweetness, and humor all rolled into an unputdownable book. Even though I kinda knew who the bad guy was, the story itself was interesting and I adored the characters. Jules and Theo are such a great couple and their relationship with each other, as well as with the kids and Viggy, just made my heart happy. These kids (especially Sam**) have been through some truly horrible things, but Ruggle really made me feel their hope of a better life and had me celebrating every small victory. I'm so glad they will be featured throughout the series, because I can't wait to see them grow and heal even more in the future books. The bonus/deleted scenes were a very welcome addition, and once again Katie has me jonesing for the next book because of her sneak peak/sample chapters at the end... *tries to convince self that September isn't too far away* **Possible Trigger?: (view spoiler)[ All of the children (and even Jules) have experience awful things at Courtney's hands (at one point in the book Jules has a panic attack while flashing back to her teenage years of being locked in small closets as a form of punishment), but during a discussion between Jules and Sam we discover that Sam was sexually abused by Courtney (though they do not go into detail). We also discover in a later conversation that Courtney had begun to show interest in abusing one of the twins in that manner. (hide spoiler)]October 5th, 2016:I am DYING to get my hands on this book! I keep reading the sample (at the end of In Safe Hands) over and over again because 1. I can't get enough and 2. I think some part of my brain is hoping that the sample will turn into the full book instead of ending on the sentence "Someone was shooting at them ." <<<<<< it's just cruel!!!!
    more
  • Kelly
    February 20, 2017
    Good gravy, I love Katie Ruggle's books. A lot. A LOT. Like, I can't put them down once I pick them up a lot. And, let's face it, grumpy, scowly heroes are one of my (many) literary weaknesses.In other words, Theo gets a thumbs up from me. Not just because he's grumpy and scowly, either. He also has depth. His mentor's death haunts him and he's caught in a vicious cycle of trying to figure out how he could have stopped what happened. It isn't until Jules catches his eye that things begin smoothi Good gravy, I love Katie Ruggle's books. A lot. A LOT. Like, I can't put them down once I pick them up a lot. And, let's face it, grumpy, scowly heroes are one of my (many) literary weaknesses.In other words, Theo gets a thumbs up from me. Not just because he's grumpy and scowly, either. He also has depth. His mentor's death haunts him and he's caught in a vicious cycle of trying to figure out how he could have stopped what happened. It isn't until Jules catches his eye that things begin smoothing out in that broody head of his.The thing is...Jules has her own set of issues, Four of them, to be exact. Four kids who are depending on her to keep them safe from the bad things out there. Getting involved with a cop when they're on the run is dangerous and stupid and oh, so right. Because just like she brings Theo back to life, he makes her feel safe. Well, he does once she gets past the knee-jerk terror of being on the run and having a cop interested in her.There's danger and a very sad dog who needs his own reason to be excited to get up in the morning. There are steamy kisses and long looks. I'm already itching to see the rest of Theo's friends find the lady of their dreams while thwarting bad guys.-Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal
    more
  • Amanda
    February 18, 2017
    I didn't think Katie Ruggle could get any better. I was wrong.After Ruggle's Search and Rescue series, I was eagerly anticipating her next. The Colorado mountains, sexy police officers, dogs, and danger? Sign. Me. Up. Run to Ground is the start of a series that promises to be heart-stopping, for its suspense and romance. Theo and Viggy, recovering from the death of their partner, are in rough shape, at least until Jules shows up. Jules is packing a whole lot of secrets with her and her siblings, I didn't think Katie Ruggle could get any better. I was wrong.After Ruggle's Search and Rescue series, I was eagerly anticipating her next. The Colorado mountains, sexy police officers, dogs, and danger? Sign. Me. Up. Run to Ground is the start of a series that promises to be heart-stopping, for its suspense and romance. Theo and Viggy, recovering from the death of their partner, are in rough shape, at least until Jules shows up. Jules is packing a whole lot of secrets with her and her siblings, and that colors her interactions with Theo. But the two are drawn to each other, and sparks fly. In some cases, literally.Despite a resolution and expected HEA, there's enough left unresolved that I wouldn't be surprised if complications from Jules's past pop up in future books. In fact, I'm counting on it.
    more
  • Sheryl
    January 26, 2017
    *ARC courtesy of Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca*
  • Alex
    June 4, 2017
    Series: Rocky Mountain K9 Unit #1Hero: Theo Bosco -- Police Officer. K9 Partner. Depressed. Grumpy.Heroine: Jules Jackson -- Waitress. Dedicated. Paranoid. "Squirrely". " 'I actually like you.'Despite her growing impatience, his words made her smile, especially the bemused exasperation in his tone that made what he was saying sound so sincere.'You know what else?''What?''My dog likes you, too.' " Trigger Warning: Child Abuse, Suicide (view spoiler)[Child Abuse: Jules stepmother is abusing her c Series: Rocky Mountain K9 Unit #1Hero: Theo Bosco -- Police Officer. K9 Partner. Depressed. Grumpy.Heroine: Jules Jackson -- Waitress. Dedicated. Paranoid. "Squirrely". " 'I actually like you.'Despite her growing impatience, his words made her smile, especially the bemused exasperation in his tone that made what he was saying sound so sincere.'You know what else?''What?''My dog likes you, too.' " Trigger Warning: Child Abuse, Suicide (view spoiler)[Child Abuse: Jules stepmother is abusing her children - Jules's younger stepsiblings. Not much is revealed about the abuse, but the end of the books strongly hints that the teenage brother was sexually abused.Suicide: Theo's partner/mentor kills himself by "eating his gun" which is referred to several times and is the reason for Theo's current numb and depressed state. The reason behind his suicide is never revealed. (hide spoiler)]--What’s Going On--Jules has "kidnapped" her younger siblings in order to rescue them from her stepmother who is abusing them but managing to keep it hidden. Jules has tried the custody route, but when her boss's finances are investigated by the FBI and she loses her license and job she's desperate. Jules knows she can't trust anyone but she just can't stay away from Theo, even though he's a cop and he puts her and her family's safety at risk. Theo has been struggling ever since his partner and mentor killed himself. Theo has been put in charge of his old partner's K9, Viggy, but the dog is also depressed over the loss of his human. Theo hasn't really felt anything in a long time but there's something about Jules that brings out all his emotions.--What I Liked and Didn’t Liked--The Writing and Plot -- I've only read a novella by Katie Ruggle, so I consider this to be a new author for me and I enjoyed the writing. The plot moves at a good pace and there's a nice combination of action and slower parts where the characters are able to connect. I liked the idea behind the plot and there were just a few little things that didn't work for me. The beginning starts out with flashbacks to how Jules "kidnaps" her siblings. I felt that the flashbacks weren't really necessary and a little jarring and instead they could have just been written alongside the intro to Theo and Viggy during the scene at Gordon's house. That being said, this was only in the beginning so it didn't bother me too much. The book only spans maybe a week (?) but it still feels really full and Ruggle does a good job of really filling out all parts of the story. One other part I'll mention is the abuse that is the reason for Jules's daring rescue. I felt like the beginning it's unclear just how bad the abuse is to warrant Jules's extreme actions. We're inclined to trust our heroine so we can assume it's bad, but it takes a while to really understand the gravity of the situation. On one hand, I felt like Ruggle was being respectful to not use trauma merely as a plot element but I also needed a stronger understanding of why Jules's actions were justified.The Characters and Romance -- I liked Jules, especially her dedication to her family and her unwavering love and sacrifice to making sure they were safe. Jules was taking a really big risk, a felony sized risk, to help her siblings who were in a bad situation. She was willing to do anything to help keep her siblings safe and it's hard to dislike to someone so self-sacrificing. Theo was gruff, grumbly, and terribly socially awkward when he first meets Jules. I have to admit that I cringed a little during their first interaction because Theo was pretty much interrogating her. Theo was going through a really tough time though and this strongly affected his mood. He comes around but still maintains just enough gruff to stay within character. There romance was more cautious and slow because Jules was at first trying to resist. She knew getting involved with a cop was a bad idea but she couldn't stay away. I found the ending very interesting because it takes a step outside of the normal expectation for a romance novel (view spoiler)[Jules and Theo admit that they love each other but Jules tells Theo that she can't share her secrets because she has to protect her siblings. She never reveals to Theo where they come from, what their real names are, or that her siblings were abused and this is why she kidnapped them (hide spoiler)]. I also really loved the side characters, especially Hugh who acts so protective of Theo and is really dedicated to making sure he's ok after losing his partner. --Final Thoughts--There were a few holes or annoyances but overall this was a solid story and a great introduction to a new series. I liked Jules and Theo eventually grew on me plus there was a cute dog that I just wanted to hug and make feel better. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.I received an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Julie
    May 8, 2017
    3.5 starsReceived an ARC via NetGalleyJules has tried everything to get her half siblings away from her stepmother (4th marriage for her dad) and her dad with Alzheimer’s. Her stepmom has been treating the kids horribly. Jules can’t get her siblings legally and so decides to take them away from a very bad situation. The kids are at the end of their ropes and are in on the plan to get away from the evil woman. Jules gets help from her former boss’s brother who is probably involved in many illegal 3.5 starsReceived an ARC via NetGalleyJules has tried everything to get her half siblings away from her stepmother (4th marriage for her dad) and her dad with Alzheimer’s. Her stepmom has been treating the kids horribly. Jules can’t get her siblings legally and so decides to take them away from a very bad situation. The kids are at the end of their ropes and are in on the plan to get away from the evil woman. Jules gets help from her former boss’s brother who is probably involved in many illegal things. She gets the documents she needs and heads across the country to a small town in Colorado. They don’t have a lot of money, the house that they have to live in is in poor repair, but they are together and the kids are happier.Theo Bosco is a K9 officer and has had a really bad time for the last several months. His human partner died 2 months ago and Theo now has his former partner’s K9 Viggy. Both Theo and Viggy are extremely stressed and depressed. Viggy won’t search for explosives or people and tries to hide whenever they try to get him to work. Theo is constantly scowling, angry, and can’t sleep.Jules meets Theo at her new job as a server in a diner. Theo flusters Jules because she doesn’t want to wait on cops who could cause her family a lot of trouble. He makes her so nervous because of his job and his good looks that she is all jittery and stumbles over her words. Theo knows she is not telling the truth, but he is drawn to her nonetheless. He asks her a lot of questions and is very nosy. He even stops by her house, that is very remote, to check on her. This causes the family a lot of worry. Viggy gets out of the car and comes running to Jules and her family. Viggy absolutely loves the kids and Jules and acts like his old self. He doesn’t want to leave them. Theo surprisingly likes hanging out with the family as well. Jules, family, and Theo have a lot of problems to get through beyond what they already have to deal with. Jules comes to trust Theo and he is so much more relaxed around her and her wild siblings.Overall I think this was a good story with a lot of suspense, action, and heart. I do have some questions/problems with the story and think it would be even better if they had been answered. 1. Why does Theo’s boss not make him speak to a therapist/counselor because of his issues? 2. Why does Theo not realize the cause of some of Viggy’s anxiety? 3. Is evil stepmom the biological mom of just the youngest kid or everyone except Jules? She is the 4th wife of Jules’ dad. 4. What did stepmom do that made them have to get away from her? There is some mention of what bad things she did to the oldest boy, but not what was done to the youngest three. I don’t want a lot of details, but some would give me an idea how evil she truly was.
    more
  • Barb Lie
    June 2, 2017
    Run to Ground by Katie Ruggle is the 1st book in her new Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit series. We meet Jules, our heroine, at the start working in the local diner. Jules has run away with her siblings from a nasty step mother and has settled in the Colorado Rockies, with new identities. We do get flashbacks about Jules, showing us their escape, and how she received her new identities from her former employer. I was not a fan of the flashbacks, but that fortunately they did not last long.We also meet T Run to Ground by Katie Ruggle is the 1st book in her new Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit series. We meet Jules, our heroine, at the start working in the local diner. Jules has run away with her siblings from a nasty step mother and has settled in the Colorado Rockies, with new identities. We do get flashbacks about Jules, showing us their escape, and how she received her new identities from her former employer. I was not a fan of the flashbacks, but that fortunately they did not last long.We also meet Theo, our hero, who is a cop on the K-9 squad. While Theo is having breakfast with his cop buddies, he notices the new waitress, and decides to quiz her. At the start, and through at least half of the book, Theo was very grumpy and moody, causing me not to like him too much. He recently lost his partner to a suicide, and Viggy, the K-9 dog, who is now with Theo, was also badly affected by that suicide. Theo constantly badgered Jules to find out more information, suspecting she might be running from something. That begins to change when Theo becomes attracted to the sweet Jules, and meets her wonderful siblings. Theo takes it upon himself to help fix up the cabin they are living in, giving him the chance to spend more time with them. What follows is a slow build romance that grows over time, and also lightens Theo into a more likeable character. Viggy, the trained dog for explosives, is now gun shy and Theo cannot get him to do the work of a K-9 dog; but he becomes such a cute and happy dog when he meets Dee and Jules other siblings. I loved how he was with the kids. In the midst of the romance, the sweet family & Viggy, the suspense and action within the story was exciting and very well done. Besides worrying that she will be discovered, Jules life also becomes more dangerous when her life is threatened by an unknown villain. The last 1/3 of the book was filled with action and suspense, as well as the heating up of Theo and Jules relationship.There was a couple of things I felt should have been better handled. Though this is a series, and Ruggle usually continues the flow into the next book, I did feel that Jules should have told Theo the truth about her having run away from her abusive stepmother. I also felt the Theo was too unlikeable for a bit too long early on, even if he did become better later. Besides that,overall the story was good, and I did love Jules, her siblings and Viggy. The epilogue opens things up for more adventure to look for in the next book of this series.BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
Write a review