Little Monsters
For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Little Monsters Details

TitleLittle Monsters
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherDelacorte Press
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Little Monsters Review

  • Dannii Elle
    June 9, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, Kara Thomas, and the publisher, Delacorte Press, for this opportunity.Superficial me was sold by the cover of this and read nothing more of the synopsis than, 'For fans of Pretty Little Liars'. Those two things were enough to intrigue me and I am so glad this book lived up to my early excitement!Kacey is the new girl in town with a mysterious past. Her new step-family are wholly accepting of their newest ad I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, Kara Thomas, and the publisher, Delacorte Press, for this opportunity.Superficial me was sold by the cover of this and read nothing more of the synopsis than, 'For fans of Pretty Little Liars'. Those two things were enough to intrigue me and I am so glad this book lived up to my early excitement!Kacey is the new girl in town with a mysterious past. Her new step-family are wholly accepting of their newest addition and so are her new friendship group - Bailey and Jade. But when Bailey disappears one night, fingers start to point and a few of them are turned her way. I adore books that encroach on the dark, secret lives of teenage girls and this book did so in an exciting yet unpredictable way. From sneaking out at midnight to parties, to holding seances in haunted and remote buildings - this book was a series of exhilarating scenes tied together with the dark undertone of both the reader and the characters second-guessing everyone's motives. No emotion was spared and I spent much of my time reading this breathless with either suspense or terror.There were so many layers to this dark and disturbing thriller and my mind was constantly attempting to assume and presume where the plot would take the reader. I did ultimately guess who the perpetrator was... but not before also guessing every other character the book alongside them!
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 29, 2017
    I loved Darkest Corners and actually I thought that "Little Monsters" went one better with a twisted and evocative tale of teenage friendships, obsession and family dynamics all wrapped up in a mystery that is as compelling as it is dark. Loved it.More on this one nearer publication.
    more
  • Mary
    January 31, 2017
    what is my lifeeverything is a lieFull review to come closer to release date :)
  • Allison
    October 29, 2016
    ANOTHER AMAZING MYSTERY-THRILLER FROM KARA THOMAS! This isn't out until /JULY 2017/ so I'm holding off on a full review right now...but..... buy THE DARKEST CORNERS and then pre-order this! Thanks so much to Random House for the review copy!
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    April 14, 2017
    Just when I thought Kara Thomas could not outdo herself after The Darkest Corners, she delivers this powerhouse. Not sure I'll trust anyone ever again.-----Kara Thomas did it again. I was blown away by her first book, The Darkest Corners, so that made me even more excited to read her second book. I was nervous because I had no idea if this would fall into the second book slump but I'm happy to report that this was just as amazing as I hoped it would be.Short recap: Kacey is new to Broken Falls a Just when I thought Kara Thomas could not outdo herself after The Darkest Corners, she delivers this powerhouse. Not sure I'll trust anyone ever again.-----Kara Thomas did it again. I was blown away by her first book, The Darkest Corners, so that made me even more excited to read her second book. I was nervous because I had no idea if this would fall into the second book slump but I'm happy to report that this was just as amazing as I hoped it would be.Short recap: Kacey is new to Broken Falls and is constantly trying to figure out how she fits in. One night she goes with Bailey and Jade, her two best friends, to visit the old barn that is supposed to be haunted. The next day Bailey is missing and the hunt is on to find her before something awful happens to her. At the center of the investigation is the Kacey. Did she cause Bailey's disappearance? All clues do point to her...I liked Kasey's character from the start. This girl came from such a broken background that it made it hard for me to not like her. She moved in with her Dad and his new wife, changed schools, and trying to just overall fit in. Or at least find out where and how she fits in. Kasey just came across as a headstrong protagonist that was not going to be messed with. She wasn't overly tough but she could handle herself. Kasey's "best friends", Bailey and Jade, were complete pieces of work. They are the type of girls you were always warned to stay away from, but how can Kasey say no when she just wants to have friends that accept her? Hard to argue with logic like that. I was hooked from the first chapter. Kara Thomas just has a way to weave a wonderful mystery thriller full of twists and turns. This was evidence that she is gifted when it comes to the written word. She made these characters and events believable. I felt like I was right alongside Kasey for this entire crazy mystery. This was such a fast paced "whodunit" that I was finished before I knew it. I don't know how else to say I was completely involved as the mystery raced towards the conclusion. I won't ruin anything so don't think I'm going to give away the ending! What I will tell you is that it stays true to Thomas' first book's ending where you just do not see it coming. But once you read it, close the book, sit back and think... it will hit you like a ton of bricks and you kick yourself for not seeing it sooner. If there was a way I could carry Kara Thomas around with me just so I could have her nearby, that would be swell. She has proved herself to me as an author. She has now become an instabuy author for me and I will forever be her devoted reader. I want everyone to give this a chance so they can experience the thrills and chills that are waiting in her new novel.
    more
  • Stephanie (Reading is Better With Cupcakes)
    March 12, 2017
    Absolutely amazing!
  • Cora ☕ Tea Party Princess
    February 3, 2017
    When Kara Thomas has a new book, you just know I'm going to be all over it.
  • Inah (The Bibliophile Confessions)
    November 7, 2016
    If you think The Darkest Corners is full of suspense and plot twists, wait until you read this book.
  • Nia
    May 25, 2017
    You can read this review and others on my blog http://www.shades0fpaper.wordpress.com Evil isn’t a spirit or a monster or a ghost. It lives inside regular people, and it doesn’t kno the difference between night and day.” I honestly don’t know where to start with this book! It was one of my most anticipated reads of this year and I was lucky enough to get an ARC. And oh God, it was really dark. I didn’t expect it to turn out the way it did.I was so scared when I started this book because my bril You can read this review and others on my blog http://www.shades0fpaper.wordpress.com Evil isn’t a spirit or a monster or a ghost. It lives inside regular people, and it doesn’t kno the difference between night and day.” I honestly don’t know where to start with this book! It was one of my most anticipated reads of this year and I was lucky enough to get an ARC. And oh God, it was really dark. I didn’t expect it to turn out the way it did.I was so scared when I started this book because my brilliant mind decided to forget the synopsis, and so when I decided to finally pick it up I though “Oh shit this is going to be a horror novel”. I’m a chicken guys. I’d love to read horror at some point in my life but not right now, and specially not at night. So I was glad when I saw it was only a mystery/thriller. And you’d probably be asking: “why just didn’t you look at the genre before picking it up?”, and you’d be SO right. “People disappear all the time.” Andrew shrugged. “Most of the time the’re dead. Sad but true.” Now something I really love about this type of book is that once you get into the story, you devour it! I love mysteries because of that. And this case was no different: even though at the beginning I was a little confused about the characters and everything, it was so freaking addicting I wanted to keep reading it to know what would happen next.It was overall a very fast, quick and enjoyable read. And I’m telling you I was in a mayor reading slump where it took me forever to finish a book. And I read this in one sitting. “What kind of girl doesn’t cry when their friend goes missing?” Now let’s talk about the characters, shall we? Because I had my ups and downs with most of them. At the beginning I wasn’t so fond of any of them, and I have no explanation why. I was reading it and the characters were okay but they didn’t surprise me of made me love them like in some other stories. I found Kacey a very unreliable reader, despite not having a reason to think that. But the things she though, did.. made me think that. It is true that once the story was more set she grew on me a bit more.Who I found quite interesting and it was odd but good to read from was Bailey. Even though the main POV in this story is Kacey, we know a bit more about Bailey because of her journal entries (I believe there were four chapters but STILL). I got to know more about her and everything and I really loved… her mind. That’s all I’m going to say because I want to keep this review spoiler free but OH HOLY AVOCADO she was a character!One thing I actually loved is that there is no romance in the book. Like, at all. And I hardly ever see that in YA. And I think she did a right thing because otherwise it would be like any other YA mystery/romance. So extra kudos to that. “But that’s the problem with letting someone slowly chip away at your walls- when you let too much of yourself out, there’s no way to get it back.” My main problem was with the ending. I had two main theories about what happened and everything and I turned out to be right (I’m not saying it was predictable by any means but if you’ve read my reviews you’ll know that I ALWAYS guess who the murdered is before it actually happens). The thing I didn’t like was that the explanation was so rushed that I felt I needed a little bit more. It didn’t give much details on why the murdered kill Bailey and I kinda wanted to know??? And also the epilogue was unnecessary in my opinion. It didn’t add more to the story (just one important thing) and I would have loved to read a chapter from other POV.Thanks to the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book. This, however, doesn’t change my thoughts or opinion about it.Actual ranting: 3.5⭐️
    more
  • Lauren Watts
    June 4, 2017
    Just read a sneak peak of this and I LOVE IT. It's so mysterious and compelling. I just need to know whay happens next.
  • Stacy Fetters
    May 18, 2017
    "A chill passed through me as I imagined her trapped in the barn. Her screams as she heard gunshots from inside the house. That was when I decided that all the ghost stories got it wrong: evil isn't a spirit or a monster or a ghost. It lives inside regular people, and it doesn't know the difference between night and day." I received an arc copy of this book from First in Line, thanks!!There is a quote in the front of this book by the Executive Editor of this book. That quote will stand the test "A chill passed through me as I imagined her trapped in the barn. Her screams as she heard gunshots from inside the house. That was when I decided that all the ghost stories got it wrong: evil isn't a spirit or a monster or a ghost. It lives inside regular people, and it doesn't know the difference between night and day." I received an arc copy of this book from First in Line, thanks!!There is a quote in the front of this book by the Executive Editor of this book. That quote will stand the test of time and it stays with you. It makes you think back to when you were in school. How girls or your classmates, in general, treated you. That quote was: "Anyone who doesn't believe that a teenage girl is one of the world's most dangerous creatures is a fool." Who can you trust? Who are your real friends? Or who is just stringing you along to get what they want? I guess mysteries for all ages is the new "it" thing. And of course, I jumped on that bandwagon with certain titles. I found this book good, but not as great as the hype lead me to believe. I need something that will scare me, shock me and have me leaving all my faith in humanity out in the cold. The first part of the book left little room for me to be excited. but those last hundred pages rip through you like a hurricane. In the end, it was obvious who was involved in this whole entire mess. And that disappoints me. Kacey is the new girl in town. She left her abusive and crazy life back in New York with her just as insane mom. Moving into a new house with her estranged dad, his new wife, and their two kids. Things are bound to be strange and highly different. She doesn't feel normal until she makes two new friends, Jade and Bailey. They start doing everything together. Even sneaking out of the house, but Kacey feels indifferent about what they are doing. She starts to come up with excuses not to go out. But this last time might ruin things at her new house. Jade, Bailey, Kacey and her younger step-sister Lauren all go out to Sparrow Hill. A long time ago a family was murdered on that plot of land and the legend has it that a lady covered in blood haunts those grounds. They decide to hold a seance to see if they can make that spirit come alive. Things get out of hand and they all go running back the car with a frightened Lauren who won't stop screaming and crying. Then Bailey goes missing without a trace. Little clues here and there lead them to some of her friends. They seem to believe that Kacey knows more than what she is saying. With a lot of hope lost and a search party that might lead them to answers. This leaves a very small town terrified and unhopeful of things to come. Will they find Bailey in time? Or will it be too late? Can teen girls ever be trusted? I thought this was a good starter book for teens wanting to get into a deep mystery. It has everything a teen book offers but with a bit more intrigue. It really makes your mind work and think who could have done something like this. They would be shocked to learn what actually happened. Me on the other hand seen this coming. It was obvious from the clues the author throws your way. It was still a good read that kept my mind occupied. I am now curious to try her first book.
    more
  • Kara
    May 3, 2017
    My taste for genres come and go, and come again, but I never get tired of a good thriller, especially a YA thriller. I like to be scared and creeped out, and I like the tension and urgency a well written thriller can put you through. Little Monsters had all the elements of a thriller I should love, and yet there was something missing that ultimately kept me from loving it as much as I should have.The biggest problem is that the storytelling seemed uneven. There were flashbacks and journal entrie My taste for genres come and go, and come again, but I never get tired of a good thriller, especially a YA thriller. I like to be scared and creeped out, and I like the tension and urgency a well written thriller can put you through. Little Monsters had all the elements of a thriller I should love, and yet there was something missing that ultimately kept me from loving it as much as I should have.The biggest problem is that the storytelling seemed uneven. There were flashbacks and journal entries, and there seemed to be no rhyme or reason to when they would appear. The totally could have been the formatting for my eARC, but it still affected my reading experience, and made the story sort of read as if it was all over the place. The story still had really good bones and it was compelling, but I prefer more structure to my books.The other issue was the characters. They weren't as well developed as they could be and I never felt like I really knew any of them. Kacey had issues in her past that were never fully fleshed out, and so did Bailey, and it actually got to the point that I was confused about who I had read about earlier in the book. There is a fair amount of girl hate in this book, but I've often stated that I don't mind it if there's a good reason for it, an the girl hate in Little Monsters has a large place in the plot and motivations of the characters. That said, if it bothers you no matter what, you may want to skip this book.All the critical stuff aside, I can honestly say I did enjoy reading this book quite a bit. I don't want you to see the three star rating as negative, because the last third of this book really caught be by surprise. It's true that I didn't feel as emotionally involved as I could have, but I still really loved the twist. I did not see it coming; in fact it was something I had never even contemplated until about 83% through the book and I was like, "Wait a second here." And THEN I figured out who the killer was. So technically I did know the twist before it was revealed, but it was RIGHT before the reveal and I still really enjoyed figuring it out.I really liked Little Monsters. I just wish more time was spent on fleshing out the characters' backgrounds, because it would have made all the difference. That said, this book was loaded with atmosphere and suspense so I am giving it 3.5 stars
    more
  • Paige Fickbohm
    May 25, 2017
    I received an advanced copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my review. I absolutely loved this book. Kara Thomas does a great job of keeping you on your toes the entire time. I had no idea what was going to happen. If you liked the Darkest Corners by this author, you will enjoy this book as well.
    more
  • M
    June 5, 2017
    Little Monsters by Kara ThomasKacey is a character you can relate to, Broken Falls, WI is a town most of us grew up in, and the story of the Red Woman is every small town's token lore--it's a story chalk full of connections and suspense for the reader. YA readers will love nodding their head every time the author comments on life in a small town & the mystery and mayhem that descends on Broken Falls will NOT allow you to put this one down! A must purchase for YA collections where readers of Little Monsters by Kara ThomasKacey is a character you can relate to, Broken Falls, WI is a town most of us grew up in, and the story of the Red Woman is every small town's token lore--it's a story chalk full of connections and suspense for the reader. YA readers will love nodding their head every time the author comments on life in a small town & the mystery and mayhem that descends on Broken Falls will NOT allow you to put this one down! A must purchase for YA collections where readers of April Henry, Ashley Elston, and Sara Shepard are frequent patrons. A perfect book club choice for rural public libraries looking to increase circulation & dissect a sensational mystery. I received a digital ARC copy from NetGalley, all opinions are my own!
    more
  • thelovelyshelf
    December 31, 2016
    Really fun read! I found myself flying through chapters and wondering, WHO DID IT?! It was super fast paced, and it kept me on my toes. The only thing I didn't like about this novel is that I had some major issues with some characters, sadly. Full review to come on the blog!
    more
  • Katie
    May 10, 2017
    Spoiler-free review: This book is incredible. The characters are strong, and the mystery is so intriguing, with just enough local myth to add some spooky vibes to the mood. I was kept guessing until the end, and my heart was pounding with excitement (and probably some fear!) as everything came together. I read this book in two sittings-- once I started the second time, at about a third of the way through, I couldn't stop until I'd finished. As they say, it "grips you tight and doesn't let go".
    more
  • Harper705 Prentice
    December 22, 2016
    Little Monsters by Kara Thomas would be by far on the top of my list and definite to-read for anyone in need of a good book. Little Monsters, about the new girl who just moved to Broken Falls and her name is Kacey. Kacey soon quickly makes friends with two girls, Bailey and Jade. The three of them do almost everything together, almost. But, sometimes a group of three doesn’t work out. And when Bailey disappears one night the whole town starts looking for answers, desperate for the Bailey to come Little Monsters by Kara Thomas would be by far on the top of my list and definite to-read for anyone in need of a good book. Little Monsters, about the new girl who just moved to Broken Falls and her name is Kacey. Kacey soon quickly makes friends with two girls, Bailey and Jade. The three of them do almost everything together, almost. But, sometimes a group of three doesn’t work out. And when Bailey disappears one night the whole town starts looking for answers, desperate for the Bailey to come back. But when Detective Burke’s question start getting aimed at Kacey, but she doesn’t have the answers they’re looking for. And suddenly everyones fighting for themselves, and you can’t turn your back on anyone. Because in a small town like Broken Falls, eventually you’ll run out of people to question. And Kacey soon starts to realize that when you’re the new girl you should trust no one, and maybe that you should never trust anyone. Little Monsters is a great book, one reason I really enjoyed it was because of the complexities in characters relationship. Because no one relationship goes one way, they’re not black or white and Thomas does a great job of expressing this. The plot line was always twisting and never ending. When you think that she’s leading you in one direction and then you go another. Even though I really liked this book, there were a few issues that I had with it. I feel like the ending of the book came out of nowhere, yes you need red-herrings in a book to throw off the reader. But you still also need hints towards the ending so the reader will have mixed feelings on what the ending was. I think that it’s cool to have a plot twisting ending, but it has to make sense. To have a good book you want to come away extremely satisfied at the turn of the last page, that’s not how I felt after reading this. As well as all the plot line is doing is going straight straight and straight. I think that to have a real journey through the story and book you can’t always being going straight. Sometimes you have to being going back and side. Overall I think that the book was great, it did have a few flaws though. I believe that a good book is simply made up of balance, sadly this book didn’t have enough of that.
    more
  • kerrycat
    April 16, 2017
    (I gave this four and half stars, TOP PICK, in the July edition of Romantic Times Book Reviews: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)This intense thriller is full of suspense and heightened by the vicious psychological drama that teenage girls can perpetuate. Obsession, possession, control — just your average high-school relationships, stepped up with ghost stories, jealousy and a disappearance that is central to the unraveling of friendships that seem stable to adult observers. Fans of E. L (I gave this four and half stars, TOP PICK, in the July edition of Romantic Times Book Reviews: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)This intense thriller is full of suspense and heightened by the vicious psychological drama that teenage girls can perpetuate. Obsession, possession, control — just your average high-school relationships, stepped up with ghost stories, jealousy and a disappearance that is central to the unraveling of friendships that seem stable to adult observers. Fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars will savor this frightening journey into adolescent minds gone awry.When her friend Bailey goes missing under mysterious circumstances, Kacey knows that there is more to tell about Bailey’s disappearance than she can ever explain to her parents or the police. Her relationship with Bailey and Jade has been awkward, and Jade’s behavior strange, but her own background as a runaway is questionable as well. Kacey begins to investigate on her own, but when her little sister Lauren insists that supernatural elements are involved, her discoveries take a sinister turn. Can Kacey trust anyone with what she knows, while protecting Lauren and her stepbrother Andrew, or will she incriminate herself through her efforts?
    more
  • Julianna
    December 27, 2016
    I received a copy of this at the ALAN 2016 conference. I have read so many great reviews and tweets about this book and was super excited to get a chance to read it before publication. Unfortunately, I'm not so excited now that I have. The book really wasn't horrible, poorly written, or anything that I can truly put my finger on. Instead, I'm just not as ecstatic as I hoped to be. I really enjoy realistic crime mystery fiction, and the twists and turns that led to the end really had me going. Th I received a copy of this at the ALAN 2016 conference. I have read so many great reviews and tweets about this book and was super excited to get a chance to read it before publication. Unfortunately, I'm not so excited now that I have. The book really wasn't horrible, poorly written, or anything that I can truly put my finger on. Instead, I'm just not as ecstatic as I hoped to be. I really enjoy realistic crime mystery fiction, and the twists and turns that led to the end really had me going. The characters just weren't developed enough to help me understand their motivations, and certain details remained under-utilized or unexplored. I found myself with more questions than answers at the end, unfortunately.
    more
  • Leah
    November 19, 2016
    This book completely F'd me up. I was so sure I had it figured out and knew exactly what was happening. I was even, dare I say, feeling a little bored because I thought it was so painfully obvious on who did it. NOPE. I did not see that twist coming and the ending left me staring slack-jawed. I just... wow. Well done.
    more
  • Jeremae
    December 21, 2016
    First off, let me just say how immensely I enjoyed this book. It was well-written, well-paced, and wow, the twist and turns. Sadly, I get rattled so easily that I didn't get to sleep after reading this, and I might be a little paranoid of my friends now HAHAHA.
    more
  • Rachel Lightwood
    October 14, 2016
    I wasn't the biggest fan of The Darkest Corners, but I mean, that cover. How can I resist?
  • Tessa Jordan
    December 11, 2016
    A thrilling page turner. Add Little Monsters to your TBR list right now!
  • Genie
    June 30, 2017
    I received an ARC from a First In Line event so thank you Randomhouse and First in Line for sharing a copy of this book with me. I am reviewing this on my own volition and was not asked to provide a review of it when I received my copy, but since I read it and very much enjoyed it I thought I would share my thoughts. When I first received this book I was actually given a choice between this one and another, but it was the synopsis that got me to pick this one. Yes, I was given the spiel that it I received an ARC from a First In Line event so thank you Randomhouse and First in Line for sharing a copy of this book with me. I am reviewing this on my own volition and was not asked to provide a review of it when I received my copy, but since I read it and very much enjoyed it I thought I would share my thoughts. When I first received this book I was actually given a choice between this one and another, but it was the synopsis that got me to pick this one. Yes, I was given the spiel that it was for fans of Pretty Little Liars, but to be honest I’m not a fan of that series, book or show so I didn’t really care much for that aspect. What got me was that it was just a YA murder mystery thriller. I’m a fan of murder mysteries (cozy mystery or more James Patterson type), it’s the genre I generally tend to gravitate to more when it comes to my reading preference, but for YA I tend to lean towards fantasy. Now this was a change and I have never read a YA thriller before and this was a great first time!The story follows a new girl in town, Kacey who just left a pretty turbulent life before coming to Broken Falls to live with her father and stepfamily. Everything is almost idyllic and charming in this town where she is readily accepted not only by her stepfamily, but also by the other residents in the town including Kacey’s new BFFs, Bailey and Jade. Everything seems to be going well until one night her friends don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year and if that wasn’t just it, Bailey ends up missing. Following the initial events that lead to Baily’s disappearance, blame and deceit follow Kacey everywhere and she finds out that there’s more to the town’s people and even her own family that aren’t so ideal after all. This book gripped me from start to finish. In fact I read it in one sitting, as it was that engaging and fast paced. I’ve never read Kara Thomas’s other book The Darkest Corners and have no idea about what that one is about, but Thomas can definitely write a YA thriller that was on par with any other “adult” thriller. There was no romance in it, which was very appropriate for this type of book and the characters were pretty standard for a thriller. Bits and pieces of who all the characters are and their role in this little town are slowly revealed as the mystery gets unraveled and you even get a glimpse into Bailey’s own thoughts through passages of her diary inserted before appropriate chapters. In fact book reminded me a bit of Gone Girl so I think fans of that novel or Gillian Flynn's works would enjoy this. The epilogue though was one part I didn’t really enjoy and left me a little unsatisfied. (view spoiler)[ Kacey ends up going back to her “turbulent past”, which despite all what happens in the town I still felt she was better off there than her “original” home (hide spoiler)]. For the most part endings for mysteries and thrillers tend to be pretty short and “all is well now”, but I could have used a longer epilogue to wrap things up more. Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to more YA mysteries like this!
    more
  • Michele
    May 21, 2017
    well that was a surprisingly great book. i received an advance reader copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. i was honestly not planning to read it today, i was just checking on my e-reader to see about how long it would take me to read it but then i got sucked in from page 1 and finished it in 3 hours. the main character of kacey has some severe emotional/psychological problems and PTSD from a toxic relationship with her mother. she's living with her father and h well that was a surprisingly great book. i received an advance reader copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. i was honestly not planning to read it today, i was just checking on my e-reader to see about how long it would take me to read it but then i got sucked in from page 1 and finished it in 3 hours. the main character of kacey has some severe emotional/psychological problems and PTSD from a toxic relationship with her mother. she's living with her father and his family at the beginning of the book so we learn that from small reveals. she's moved to town relatively recently and made some friends with girls who seem a little messed up in their own right from the very beginning. and then one of them disappears and there's a lot of questions and suspicion that falls on kacey. as she struggles to figure out what happened without losing her mind we watch other characters of the town/family come unhinged too. new details on the case are released sporadically throughout and each one makes you rethink everything and question what will happen next. generally with mysteries, i cannot handle the slow reveal and will fully go and read the end out of curiosity. or i'll manage to figure it out by myself because i find a lot of mysteries to be painfully obvious (including the one in the mystery novel i myself wrote). but in this one i neither figured it out OR went to cheat read it. i was basically enthralled by the slightly crazy kacey from the very beginning and just read and discovered things with her. there are some parts which start to intersperse in the latter half of the books - diary chapters from the missing girl - which i liked because they gave me more information and were interesting but which i also didn't like because it didn't feel like we as the reader should get to know more than kacey did.overall though, it was an interesting and compelling read with good plotting and follow through on the mystery. i'd recommend it to teenage girls and boys from about 13-18.
    more
  • Mandy Peterson
    June 23, 2017
    Let me preface this by saying I've read many books that compared themselves to PLL, and it all ended badly. I have been burned so badly before that I almost didn't request this book just because of the PLL reference. That would have been so sad though because it's so good, you guys!Dark? Sure, it's dark. Aren't all missing persons cases inherently dark? Every bit of grit and 'darkness' was 100% necessary. No gratuitous violence or gore here. Sometimes, little monsters live inside those we hold n Let me preface this by saying I've read many books that compared themselves to PLL, and it all ended badly. I have been burned so badly before that I almost didn't request this book just because of the PLL reference. That would have been so sad though because it's so good, you guys!Dark? Sure, it's dark. Aren't all missing persons cases inherently dark? Every bit of grit and 'darkness' was 100% necessary. No gratuitous violence or gore here. Sometimes, little monsters live inside those we hold nearest and dearest. This is one such tale. Getting into the story for me was slow going at first. I didn't care for the main character, Kasey, all that much, but she does make a fantastic narrator. Once I got into the main story, I was all in, constantly trying to predict the end and 100% certain that I had it figured out...when I totally didn't. The ending was particularly brilliant. Had me kicking myself for hours. How did I not see that coming?!? While deemed a 'twist', it is completely foreseeable if you are more astute than I was. One of my favorite things about Little Monsters is that this author did not rely on any tropes, folks! No teen romance to speak of. No shying away from real issues. No "oh my", old ladies covering their mouths in shock scenes. It was just good storytelling by a master mystery author. I'm definitely looking up her other works now.
    more
  • Natalie (Natflix&Books)
    June 30, 2017
    I really enjoyed this mystery about a teen named Kacey who is trying to figure out what happened to her missing friend. The story was compelling. I liked the complex dynamics of both her friendships and her "new family" (for the past year or so she has been living with her father, his wife, their daughter and her son). The family dynamics are also my biggest issue with the book, however. There are hints about what happened between Kacey and her mother, but I really wanted to know more about thei I really enjoyed this mystery about a teen named Kacey who is trying to figure out what happened to her missing friend. The story was compelling. I liked the complex dynamics of both her friendships and her "new family" (for the past year or so she has been living with her father, his wife, their daughter and her son). The family dynamics are also my biggest issue with the book, however. There are hints about what happened between Kacey and her mother, but I really wanted to know more about their relationship and why she moved in with her father so late in her educational career. It's a small complaint, though. While I eventually figured out what was happening, it was late in the game, so it held my attention throughout. I still haven't read The Darkest Corners from last year (or finished it, at least), but I'm definitely more interested in it now. Definitely recommend.
    more
  • Kristin Runyon
    June 14, 2017
    It's important to first note that I don't usually like YA lit; even as a high school English teacher, I leave those books to my students for their choice reading. So a 5-star rating from me is a big deal. This book is a YA version for students who liked watching Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train. It's a thriller with a lot of twists. Thomas also constructed parallel 1st person narratives and did so effectively. Yes, the ending is still a little too tidy (one of my complaints with YA lit), but m It's important to first note that I don't usually like YA lit; even as a high school English teacher, I leave those books to my students for their choice reading. So a 5-star rating from me is a big deal. This book is a YA version for students who liked watching Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train. It's a thriller with a lot of twists. Thomas also constructed parallel 1st person narratives and did so effectively. Yes, the ending is still a little too tidy (one of my complaints with YA lit), but more so because it was quick not because it wasn't plausible.I'm looking forward to the new school year and being able to recommend this book to my students.Thank you to Random House for this ARC that I received at NCTE17.
    more
  • Sarah Anne
    March 25, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book recently and I liked it. I wouldn't say that I loved it, but the author didn't make the killer obvious, which I liked. I also liked how the ending gave me chills. It was SO CREEPY I LOVED IT. But, there were some things that I didn't love, such as:1. They didn't describe the characters that well. I wasn't sure if who they really were. 2. The backstory of the main character was a bit fuzzy and unclear. I got most of it, but Im still a bit confused about some parts. I received an ARC of this book recently and I liked it. I wouldn't say that I loved it, but the author didn't make the killer obvious, which I liked. I also liked how the ending gave me chills. It was SO CREEPY I LOVED IT. But, there were some things that I didn't love, such as:1. They didn't describe the characters that well. I wasn't sure if who they really were. 2. The backstory of the main character was a bit fuzzy and unclear. I got most of it, but Im still a bit confused about some parts. 3. The ending was a bit confusing too. I liked it but I wasn't sure what the final line meant?? Overall, a good book. Would recommend.
    more
  • Holly Brumback
    May 20, 2017
    Little Monsters is a fast-paced read! I liked that it kept me on my toes the whole time, but I didn't like that I didn't feel like I knew too much about the characters. While the author does throw some clues out that you can try to solve the mystery, it is not super obvious what happens to Bailey. Overall, it is a quick and interesting read.Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for a copy of the book!
    more
Write a review