Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1)
From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.They say life can change in an instant…After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1) Details

TitleLost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN0062448129
ISBN-139780062448125
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Family, Did Not Finish

Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    April 22, 2017
    Lost and Found Sisters is book one in the brand new series, Wildstone, by Jill Shalvis. I admit, I am an ardent fan of Jill Shalvis’s books. Every single one just makes the day better. But this book, this book is special. It feels a little different somehow, than some of her previous books. I re-read the blurb and it really says it all. I don’t want to give anything away but will try to give you a few more reasons why you should read this book.Quinn Wellers is thirty years old, is a sous chef fo Lost and Found Sisters is book one in the brand new series, Wildstone, by Jill Shalvis. I admit, I am an ardent fan of Jill Shalvis’s books. Every single one just makes the day better. But this book, this book is special. It feels a little different somehow, than some of her previous books. I re-read the blurb and it really says it all. I don’t want to give anything away but will try to give you a few more reasons why you should read this book.Quinn Wellers is thirty years old, is a sous chef for a trendy restaurant in Los Angeles and has a wonderful life. But inside, she just feels empty. Two years ago she lost her sister, Beth. Ever since then, she just sort of gets through the days. She doesn’t really feel anything. She has loving parents who were so much fun to read about. Her parents made a few mistakes, but they loved Quinn like crazy. She had been dating Brock, but they went from a relationship to just friends after Beth’s death. Brock wants to move back to the way they were before but Quinn just can’t. Her job at the restaurant is stressful, but being a chef is what she has always wanted. Then one day, while waiting in line at the coffee shop, her world is literally thrown off it’s axis. A lawyer approaches her with shocking news, news that makes her question her entire life. So she packed a suitcase and hit the road for Wildstone, CA, to get some answers, and try to sort out her life.Mick Hennessey couldn’t leave the small town he grew up in, Wildstone, fast enough when he left for college. He wanted to get as far away from his controlling father as he could. Now he has a successful career in San Francisco but his father has passed away so he is traveling back and forth to try to make repairs on his mom’s house and help her to clean things out. Mick has an adorable senior golden retriever, Cooper, that is by his side constantly. Was Mick looking for love, no, especially in Wildstone. But when he saw the woman at the beach seemingly having a panic attack, something in his heart opened up, just enough to let a little bit of her slip inside. Quinn has inherited part ownership of both a house and diner. But there is more that ties her to Wildstone, something so much more. The longer she stays and gets to know the people of the town, the more she questions whether she really wants to leave or not. Something is happening to her inside, she is feeling again. “She was so used to not feeling a single thing. And now here she was feeling…everything. All the time.” Mick and Quinn can’t fight the attraction to one another. But Quinn still considers herself broken. Her home is in Los Angeles, Mick’s in San Francisco. This is just a temporary thing, having fun. Or is it? “If Wildstone and everything in it is my storm cloud, you’re the silver lining.” From the first page I fell in love with this book. Mick stole my heart from the beginning. This man…he was sexy, kind, smart, patient, loving, and did I say sexy? And don’t even get me started on his dog, Cooper. As Mick and Quinn each deal with their own ghosts, there is plenty else going on to deal with, such as Mick’s high school sweetheart deciding she wanted Mick back, a city manager who doesn’t seem to be operating above the law, and a town that seems to be slowly dying. This book is silly, sweet, sexy, and just plain lovely. I sighed, swooned, smiled (a lot) and fell in love, with both Quinn, Mick and everyone else in Wildstone.If you pick one book to read this summer, make sure it’s this one. You won’t soon forget the characters within these pages. I know I won’t. Thank you again, Jill Shalvis, for making my day just a little bit brighter. I can’t wait to visit Wildstone again.
    more
  • Julie
    June 4, 2017
    Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis is a 2017 William Morrow Paperbacks publication. Unforgettable characters, whimsical and enchanting! Shalvis out did herself with this one. I’ve sampled several of Shalvis’ series, and I always enjoy any book she writes, but sometimes a book comes along that just hits the spot..Quinn loves L.A., her job as a chef, has loving supportive parents, and a kind of -sort of – boyfriend. But, over the past couple of years, she has only been going through the motion Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis is a 2017 William Morrow Paperbacks publication. Unforgettable characters, whimsical and enchanting! Shalvis out did herself with this one. I’ve sampled several of Shalvis’ series, and I always enjoy any book she writes, but sometimes a book comes along that just hits the spot..Quinn loves L.A., her job as a chef, has loving supportive parents, and a kind of -sort of – boyfriend. But, over the past couple of years, she has only been going through the motions of life, unable to feel anything but a numbed grief. But, a stunning revelation sends her away from big city life, to settle down for a while in the small town of Wildstone. Here, she meets Mick, another temporary transplant, and Tilly, a teenager in need of love and guidance, who has also suffered a deep loss. Could the tiny, offbeat, and slightly supernatural, Wildstone, holds the key to awakening Quinn's long dormant zeal for life?“If it’s got tires or testicles, it’s gonna give you trouble. Wasn’t that the truth…I loved this story right from the beginning. The tone is a little different in this book, which has a paranormal element, and a quirky, almost whimsical quality to it. The trademark humor Shalvis is known for, was at its peak in this book, especially the hilarious musings from Tilly’s journal that precedes each chapter. But, how Shalvis manages to deal with the subject of death with such delicacy, I don’t know. The story could have easily turned maudlin- but Shalvis never let it get too heavy, keeping everything light, with just the right emotional grabs, at just the right moments, for optimal effect, and believe me, it is effective!! The emotional connections between sisters, family, and friends, combined with a sizzling romance, was outstanding!! While JS has combined friendship and family situations into her novels, usually the main focus in on the romance. In this case, the range is broader, and boy does it really pack a punch! Quinn is so depressed after losing her sister, that her pain is a living, breathing thing. It was an amazing and powerful thing to watch her regain her footing, slowly come to life again, with gusto!! Quinn is funny, loyal, and so easy to like. Mick, is also going through things that has him waffling about his role in Wildstone, and the romance often has a question mark at the end, but it is a very fun, tender and sweet relationship. Lena, Mick’s former girlfriend, was also a real pill, but despite everything I liked her and liked the way Quinn handled the situation. Maybe someday she’ll get her own story. Tilly- well, she almost stole the show a few times and it was obvious, she and Quinn is cut from the same cloth. There was another character present, whose loving spirit chimed in on occasion, which was very funny at times, but sweet and touching, as well. To add the icing on the cake, there are also a couple of adorable pets featured, making this story darned near perfect. Jill Shalvis always writes lovely romantic stories, tinged with humor and heartfelt emotions, but this story really melted my troubled heart and reminded me of why these stories are so important, why we need them, and the positive way they influence, uplift and enrich our lives. 5 big stars!!
    more
  • Stacey is Sassy
    June 3, 2017
    I’ll read Women’s Fiction if Jill Shalvis is the author.When one of your very favourite authors announces she’s going to write something a little different, do you:A) Bounce up and down and do a fist bump in the air because she is releasing something new?B) Cry and scream - Why…why…why…would you do this to me? I don’t like change. Why change a good thing? Please tell me the hero doesn’t die/the heroine doesn’t die? It’s not an apocalyptic/time travel/alien invasion story, is it?-OR-C) Well, OK. I’ll read Women’s Fiction if Jill Shalvis is the author.When one of your very favourite authors announces she’s going to write something a little different, do you:A) Bounce up and down and do a fist bump in the air because she is releasing something new?B) Cry and scream - Why…why…why…would you do this to me? I don’t like change. Why change a good thing? Please tell me the hero doesn’t die/the heroine doesn’t die? It’s not an apocalyptic/time travel/alien invasion story, is it?-OR-C) Well, OK. I’ll give it a go.Well, to be honest, I kind of did all three when I found out that Jill Shalvis was writing her first Women’s Fiction. Now, here is where I admit that I’m a bit of a dag. I should have done the smart thing and looked up the definition of women’s fiction. For some silly reason, I thought it was going to be all…women rule the world, work is my focus and if I’m happy in my career – I’m happy in my life. Now, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH ANY OF THESE THINGS!! I hope I’ve made that loud and clear enough. I, myself, read romance for a reason. I love LOVE. My greatest accomplishment in my life is loving my husband and having two wonderful sons. Yeah, I work, I’ve had careers and opportunities, but for me, they are nothing compared to my family. So, when I read contemporary, I want something I can relate to. To me, romance stories are that little space in time when love becomes the focus and life/duties take a backseat.Anyways…after finishing Lost and Found Sisters I looked up the definition of Women’s Fiction. This article says it in a way I completely understood and could relate to. If like me, you’re a little unclear of the differences between Romance and Women’s Fiction, I suggest you check out this article.http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-b...So, I started reading Lost and Found Sisters looking for the differences. At first, I thought a major difference was that it was a lot more serious. As I went further through the book, I got an AHHA moment when we got to the sexy times. So, women’s fiction means we cut back on the rubbing and grinding and just show the connection in the intimate scenes. Then at 6:30 am I had an epiphany. *Oh, women’s fiction is about life and relationships.* It wasn’t just about him and her getting it on (or what leads up to that), it was about a woman leading her life and managing her relationships with everyone. I GET IT!! I REALLY, REALLY GET IT!!I honestly thought this would be a get in and get it done read and admit to a little hesitancy in starting. I had a *Sure, Jill Shalvis, give it your best shot trying to convert me from romance to women’s fiction…* mentality. Well, I’m converted. I can now proudly say that I read romance -AND- women’s fiction…maybe I should stipulate that at this particular time, I read Jill Shalvis’s women’s fiction.So, I loved Lost and Found Sisters. I loved the emotions and feelings generated seeing Quinn (the heroine) grow and form new relationships. It wasn’t an easy journey watching her hesitate to take a risk or step out of her comfort zone. I could relate to her hesitations as I have felt those same hesitations myself. Who wants to make mistakes or be rejected?There were a couple of things that really made this book shine. Mick, the hero, is AWESOME!! Tilly, Quinn’s little sister, has these little quotes from her journal at the start of each chapter. I got to a stage where I was reading them out to my husband. They were so relatable and funny. I would suggest buying this book for those alone…well, maybe not those alone, but they really enhanced the excellentness of the story. I loved Wildstone and want to visit the little town. Actually, I want to live in Wildstone…if it was real and maybe in Australia.Lost and Found Sisters is about trusting your instincts, being true to yourself and opening up to new experiences. There is a lot of love, laughs and connections that we see start and then grow. Relationships are not just the romantic kind and this story helped me to appreciate that all relationships help to mould our lives and find happiness.Sorry, this was a very rambling review. I loved Lost and Found Sisters and I can’t wait for more in the Wildstone series. Jill Shalvis, in my eyes you can do no wrong and this story is proof…that is, unless you decided to write a story where you kill off all the characters and make it an apocalyptic/time travel/alien invasion story. I’m an Aussie chick who loves to read and review romance, drink coffee, be a Style Setter and stalk David Gandy. To see more of my reviews, fashion, food and pervathons -
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    June 17, 2017
    4.5 - "We're in it together... Always." Stars!ITs LIVE!Amazon US - http://a.co/9WyFOAYAmazon UK - http://amzn.eu/5clyXl9A new series by Jill Shalvis always gives me that excited tingle, and the first book in the Wildstone series; Lost and Found Sisters delivered in every way I would expect from this author, and exceptionally well.Quinn and Mick’s story is quite simply Shalvis, writing at her best, as you would expect you are given lots of little side plots to keep the interest building, with the 4.5 - "We're in it together... Always." Stars!ITs LIVE!Amazon US - http://a.co/9WyFOAYAmazon UK - http://amzn.eu/5clyXl9A new series by Jill Shalvis always gives me that excited tingle, and the first book in the Wildstone series; Lost and Found Sisters delivered in every way I would expect from this author, and exceptionally well.Quinn and Mick’s story is quite simply Shalvis, writing at her best, as you would expect you are given lots of little side plots to keep the interest building, with the addition of the usual plethora of secondary characters some you love, and some you just love to hate, to flesh out the story-line, add in a few cute pets, and all the while everything is developing the author still manages to keep the focus on the main characters as the book unfolds. "I think maybe you just switched me back on."The main characters in question are Quinn Wellers, a woman approaching thirty who on the outside appears to have everything going for her, when the death of a woman she doesn’t even know literally puts her whole perceived life into a tailspin. New town, new sister and new man follow on in quick succession, and you are basically along for the ride as Quinn tries to negotiate a relationship with her teenage sister Tilly, as well as try and deal with her feelings for Mick. He is back in town to help his mother deal with the aftermath of his father’s death, but quickly find himself returning time and time again looking to spend more time with Quinn."I guess a little kink never hurt anyone..."This is a pretty long book, I read it in a day, alright I will admit I stayed up until the early hours of the morning to finish it, but it was just pure reading pleasure. I loved going on the emotional journey with both Quinn and Tilly, the POV’s provided by them and Mick, gives you a real opportunity to get in each of their heads at pivotal points of the story, as always Jill manages to inject humor alongside the tears, and bring a light to what could be construed as quite a heavy story-line, and I cannot wait to see what stories further visits to Wildstone will yield in the coming months/years."Seems we’re a good fit afterall..."ARC generously provided by the publisher via Edelweiss, in exchange for the above honest review**This review will also appear on Straight Shootin' Book Reviews -https://straightshootinbookreviews.com
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    June 5, 2017
    Jill Shalvis has changed things up slightly with LOST AND FOUND SISTERS. This is her first Women’s Fiction novel. As a fan of Shalvis, I was curious to see how she would tackle this new genre. I think she did a good job, however, I don’t know if I would say this is her best book.The heroine of this novel is very important. Chef Quinn Weller’s life is completely turned upside down when she unexpectedly learns that she was adopted and her birth mother has left some things for her. At twenty-nine Jill Shalvis has changed things up slightly with LOST AND FOUND SISTERS. This is her first Women’s Fiction novel. As a fan of Shalvis, I was curious to see how she would tackle this new genre. I think she did a good job, however, I don’t know if I would say this is her best book.The heroine of this novel is very important. Chef Quinn Weller’s life is completely turned upside down when she unexpectedly learns that she was adopted and her birth mother has left some things for her. At twenty-nine years old, Quinn really had no idea that she was adopted so this has come as a huge shock to her.Her life is a little less than perfect. Her relationship is at a standstill and she is feeling very restless with her life. So when the opportunity arises for her to travel to Wildstone, California, she doesn’t really take long to decide to leave L.A.At first I wondered how different this book would be to her Romances. I feel like Quinn’s character kind of falls into the mold of all of Shalvis’ other heroines. She tends to like to write heroines who are really down on their luck so Quinn was no exception to that.But I noticed that the real difference lies in the fact that we stay with Quinn throughout the whole book, which means that our connection to her must be strong from the very beginning to make a good book. While I liked Quinn, I’m not sure that I made that solid connection with her. I felt bad for her, but I also felt that the beginning was a little rushed.There is also quite a bit of repetition. For example, the same dialogue is used throughout the book. I don’t know if the author and editor missed that, but I found several lines that were repeated in the book.I’m on the fence about continuing the series. I think it’s a pleasant start, but the genre does try my patience a little bit. Read my alternate review at Fresh Fiction
    more
  • Ana
    June 2, 2017
    *Fangirl alert*Jill Shalvis (author of Simply Irresistible, Head Over Heels) has a new series. Come to me my precious.
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    June 18, 2017
    Initial ThoughtsSo much to love about this story. Amazing characters dealing with some difficult situations. And Mitch...I am swooning over here. ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss. Full review to be posted soon.
  • Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳
    June 1, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Kim
    February 8, 2017
    4.5 starsThis is the first in a new series by Jill Shalvis focused on the small town of Wildstone, California. I am going to try hard not to spoil any of the surprises in the story.Quinn Weller is an LA girl...she has loving parents, a challenging job, and a good male friend/old flame willing to be more again. But her life is in a rut. She suffered a loss and she basically did not fully recover from her grief. But a visit from someone from Wildstone shocks her when he asks her to come to the tow 4.5 starsThis is the first in a new series by Jill Shalvis focused on the small town of Wildstone, California. I am going to try hard not to spoil any of the surprises in the story.Quinn Weller is an LA girl...she has loving parents, a challenging job, and a good male friend/old flame willing to be more again. But her life is in a rut. She suffered a loss and she basically did not fully recover from her grief. But a visit from someone from Wildstone shocks her when he asks her to come to the town to learn of an inheritance. It makes her think differently about everything, and nothing could prepare her for the changes she would face. Mick Hennessey is a successful business owner in San Francisco. But he grew up in Wildstone and still returns to help his mom. He seems to become Quinn's unofficial Savior. And their sexual tension and chemistry is hard to ignore.But their lives are complicated. They've both got issues. They both live out of town and are busy with their jobs there. They really are not looking for a relationship. She has been afraid to feel or become attached. And he is worried about getting in too deep with someone that has no clue what they want. Wildstone is just supposed to be temporary and they are both afraid of getting tied down further there. She is not sure what her plans are, but she is torn between her life in LA and the new people in this town. And he is being pulled in different directions as well. This shake up of Quinn's life begins to push her out of her comfort zone and to try new things. She is beginning to feel again. And she is trying to decide what to follow...her heart or her head. Mick is a swoonworthy hero. He is sweet, sexy, funny, patient, and kind. Quinn is strong willed, confused, fearful, and guarded, but she also has a big heart that is aching to give and receive real love. She really has a lot to deal with and none of it is easy. She is totally out of her element and just doing her best to make it all work. And Mick has his own complications in his personal life and business dealings. I loved the inhabitants and charm of this town. I became attached to Tilly, Dylan, Lena, Boomer, Greta, Trinee, and Cliff. I enjoyed the small town gossip mill and support system. Even the animals had personality. Of course there were some antagonists and some town drama. But Jill Shalvis really created a setting with memorable and quirky characters that added to the story. And there were some surprises and twists that kept it interesting. This was a delightful, sweet, heartfelt, and emotional story about hope, family, love, and finding a home. I am looking forward to the next book Rainy Day Friends. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Heidi
    February 9, 2017
    The chapter quotes! I LOVE them, and every one got me to either laugh or think of a moment in my life. These characters dragged me right through the book. Quinn and her sisters, (sigh) I needed to keep reading, punctuated with moments of enjoying her emotional craziness. I'm not going to say much more on that yet, but yes. Go read the book! I loved it. I will definitely look forward to the next book in the series.
    more
  • Kimberly ☕
    May 24, 2017
    Shalvis is quite the storyteller and I was delighted to find myself quickly drawn into Quinn's story. Quinn's life is about to be altered and it's a good thing too. Since her sister's death, she has just been going through the motions of living. When a lawyer contacts Quinn about a mysterious inheritance it comes with earth-shattering news. She feels betrayed, unsure and overwhelmed. Blindsided she gets in her car and heads to Wildstone. When she has a panic attack in the beach parking lot a gol Shalvis is quite the storyteller and I was delighted to find myself quickly drawn into Quinn's story. Quinn's life is about to be altered and it's a good thing too. Since her sister's death, she has just been going through the motions of living. When a lawyer contacts Quinn about a mysterious inheritance it comes with earth-shattering news. She feels betrayed, unsure and overwhelmed. Blindsided she gets in her car and heads to Wildstone. When she has a panic attack in the beach parking lot a golden retriever named Cooper and his sexy owner, Mick Hennessey assist her. Mick has returned to the town his father made him hate to help his mother after the old man died. He intends to make repairs, clean out the junk and return to his life in San Francisco. Fate has other plans for him.The romance delivered wonderful chemistry and brought change to both characters. Shalvis peeled back their layers and quickly had me swooning over Mick. His compassion, patience, and love for his dog make him a worthy book boyfriend. Quinn struggled with change and decision making, but she has a good heart and sees the good in people. I felt for her as she found her footing and loved the added touch concerning Beth.The small town of Wildstone and its characters proved to be very interesting from Mick's snarky ex-girlfriend to the women who works in the diner. I loved the complication with the inheritance and enjoyed seeing the developing relationship. Shalvis provided plenty of laughter in this heartfelt tale, from bugs in the tub to a snarky stray cat.Since this is the start of a series, several threads are woven in alongside Quinn's story from politics to a troubled couple. Of course, Shalvis already has me counting down the days until the June 2018 release of RAINY DAY FRIENDS.Copy provided by the publisher. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer
    more
  • Cocktails and Books
    June 8, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Cocktails and BooksIn this new series by Jill Shalvis we're introduced to Wildstone, Ca. A small coastal town that has seen better times but who's residents are nosey, comical and willing to help a lost soul discover who she is and where she belongs.Quinn's life is flipped upside down when she's sought out by a Harry Potter looking lawyer and told that she had an inheritance from a woman she barely knows, discovering not only that she's adopted but also has a This review was originally posted on Cocktails and BooksIn this new series by Jill Shalvis we're introduced to Wildstone, Ca. A small coastal town that has seen better times but who's residents are nosey, comical and willing to help a lost soul discover who she is and where she belongs.Quinn's life is flipped upside down when she's sought out by a Harry Potter looking lawyer and told that she had an inheritance from a woman she barely knows, discovering not only that she's adopted but also has a teenage sister. Desperate to understand, she travels to Wildstone where she finds herself surrounded by the quirky townspeople and one very hot resident at the local B & B.Quinn was lovable. Almost from the moment we meet her on the page, I liked her. I loved her quirks, her sarcasm and quick remarks, along with her ability to like those that should be unlikable. Despite not knowing what she wanted to do after discovering her adoption and a sister, she managed to put Tilly first (even if she didn't want to). She was determined to do what she needed to for Tilly and do it herself to prove to both of them they could do this. It was hard not to love her, even when she tried to keep herself closed off from being hurt.The romance between Quinn and Mick was fun. They laughed, they supported each other, and grew to rely on one another. But what I missed in this romance was the sexiness that I've grown to love in a Jill Shalvis book. These two were playful with each other, but we never really saw that side of them in the bedroom, which I missed.As with any book by this author, the secondary characters sometimes steal the show. Lena is a character that I hope gets her own book soon. She came off so unlikeable at first, but I found myself liking her the more we saw her (just like Quinn). I'm hoping she and Boomer someway, somehow find a HEA soon.LOST AND FOUND SISTERS is a perfect beach read. You'll laugh, you'll smile and it will tug on those heartstrings, all the while wishing Wildstone was close to real.
    more
  • Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookviews
    May 30, 2017
    This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Shalvis hit it way out of the ballpark with Lost and Found Sisters! What a strong story, with characters who made my heart both swoon and ache.Lost and Found Sisters is a bit different from Shalvis' usual novels, but still has the same feel to it. A deep story, where Quinn, the main character makes several discoveries about herself, which in turn brings her to move out of LA to a small village to try to find her way, while also get This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Shalvis hit it way out of the ballpark with Lost and Found Sisters! What a strong story, with characters who made my heart both swoon and ache.Lost and Found Sisters is a bit different from Shalvis' usual novels, but still has the same feel to it. A deep story, where Quinn, the main character makes several discoveries about herself, which in turn brings her to move out of LA to a small village to try to find her way, while also getting to know some people that will become very important to her.The main theme in Lost and Found Sisters is family, and what exactly family is. Does it have to mean those people we are related to by blood? Can family be the people we choose? People who choose us? Quinn has to ask herself all those questions, and more, while also figuring out what she wants to do with the rest of her life. The sexy Mick doesn't make the choices Quinn needs to make any easier, but they do make them somewhat hotter.Each chapter of Lost and Found Sisters starts with a line or two from Tilly's diary, and they are hilarious! There should be a collection of those to pick up on a bad day just to make us smile, all the while agreeing with the deeper meaning of what is stated. Written in third person point of view, past tense, and with dialogues to fill the readers in on the characters thoughts and feelings, this story hit me in all the best places."You only live once, right?" "Not true," Quinn said. "You live every day. You only die once."For her, the good, ol' US of A had always consisted of Los Angeles, New York and San Fransisco, with nothing in between except a nap at thirty-five thousand feet. She realized that probably made her a city snob, but the truth was, she just didn't know anything different.
    more
  • Saly
    June 20, 2017
    What a sweet and amazing book! Awesome characters, love, family --- loved it!
  • Dixie-Lee Campbell
    April 25, 2017
    This was my first visit to Wildstone and definitely won't be my last. I was captured with the reality of life .... serious, everyday life tugging at my heart .... with tears and laughter. Lost and Found Sisters ....had me focused on this storyline from the beginning to the end .... and could not stop my mind from revisiting with the Quinn, Tilly, Coop and of course Mick ! Beth now continues to pay me visits .... how clever ! 5 stars +. I definitely had a soft spot in my heart for Carolyn !!!A co This was my first visit to Wildstone and definitely won't be my last. I was captured with the reality of life .... serious, everyday life tugging at my heart .... with tears and laughter. Lost and Found Sisters ....had me focused on this storyline from the beginning to the end .... and could not stop my mind from revisiting with the Quinn, Tilly, Coop and of course Mick ! Beth now continues to pay me visits .... how clever ! 5 stars +. I definitely had a soft spot in my heart for Carolyn !!!A couple guys ... created sour grape feelings ... one in Quinn's life and one in Mick's ! Grrrr. Lost and Found Sisters... Perfectly and appropriately named ! This special book tops all books I have read by Jill Shalvis.Lost and Found Sisters had a different touch to it !. for me !. ... A Perfect Touch !
    more
  • Kimberly
    June 11, 2017
    My review cross-posted from Wit and Sin: http://witandsin.blogspot.com/2017/06... Lost and Found Sisters is a journey of love, heartbreak, learning to live again, and finding home. Jill Shalvis’s women’s fiction debut has all the humor and heart I’ve come to expect from her work, and it’s all wrapped up in an engaging, emotional story of life after loss.Quinn’s world was turned upside down after the loss of her sister two years ago, and she has never quite recovered. Though she seems to have th My review cross-posted from Wit and Sin: http://witandsin.blogspot.com/2017/06... Lost and Found Sisters is a journey of love, heartbreak, learning to live again, and finding home. Jill Shalvis’s women’s fiction debut has all the humor and heart I’ve come to expect from her work, and it’s all wrapped up in an engaging, emotional story of life after loss.Quinn’s world was turned upside down after the loss of her sister two years ago, and she has never quite recovered. Though she seems to have the perfect life, Quinn is really just going through the motions. Then she receives some news in the form of an inheritance that will change everything she thought she knew about herself and sends her to the small town of Wildstone. Quinn is an endearing heroine; she’s funny, caring, and wonderfully flawed. I liked that she was in over her head and knew it, but she never backed down from any curveballs thrown her way. She also has a huge heart, and though she’s still grieving at the beginning of this story and is overwhelmed by everything coming at her, she doesn’t close herself off from the people she meets who need her.It’s difficult to talk about the plot of Lost and Found Sisters without spoiling the story, which I’m loathe to do. Suffice it to say that Wildstone – a struggling town with character and heart – offers Quinn a chance at a new, vastly different life. Love – both romantic and familial – is central to Quinn’s journey of learning to live again, and it’s beautiful to watch multiple relationships develop. Mick, Quinn’s love interest, is incredibly appealing, as one would expect from a Jill Shalvis hero. He’s strong, patient, kind, and funny, but not perfect. He has his own journey to take over the course of the story, as he too is at a crossroads. It was easy to become invested in Quinn and Mick’s romance because they’re both incredibly likeable people with solid chemistry.As I previously mentioned, Lost and Found Sisters is Ms. Shalvis’s first women’s fiction novel. I should disclose that this isn’t one of my go-to genres, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. But since Jill Shalvis is one of my favorite authors, there was no way I was going to skip this book. I’m so glad I didn’t. While it took me a while to get into the story (there’s just enough of a difference in pacing and focus compared to romance that I needed to adjust), I ended up adoring not just Quinn, but every single character in this story. The book is mostly centered around Quinn, but there are multiple characters and plotlines (which again, I can’t talk about without spoiling the story) that bring the world of Wildstone to life. Ms. Shalvis is a master at crafting small towns with quirky characters, and it was easy for me to fall in love with Wildstone and come to care about the fate of the struggling town. All in all, Lost and Found Sisters is a winsome tale with characters who will make you laugh one minute and tug on your heartstrings the next. I can’t wait to see what’s next for the Wildstone series.FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
    more
  • Emma
    June 13, 2017
    Lost and Found Sisters is a unique story, completely enthralling, poignant and memorable. Delivering a tale that will resonate with anyone that has lost a family member but also showing that our loved ones live on within our hearts forever. Life has a funny way of making us mere mortals work for our happiness, but to be able to recognise it and appreciate it we have to undergo periods of sadness as well.Quinn has spent the past two years lost to grief following her younger sisters death. She has Lost and Found Sisters is a unique story, completely enthralling, poignant and memorable. Delivering a tale that will resonate with anyone that has lost a family member but also showing that our loved ones live on within our hearts forever. Life has a funny way of making us mere mortals work for our happiness, but to be able to recognise it and appreciate it we have to undergo periods of sadness as well.Quinn has spent the past two years lost to grief following her younger sisters death. She has become numb to all her emotions, going through the motions of living on a daily basis but never truly connecting with anything in her life. As a result she is in a job she barely tolerates and has ended her long-term relationship with Brock, who also happens to be a family friend. Brock and Quinn have maintained their friendship with the understanding of a possible reconciliation in the future. However, fate has something different in store for Quinn when a revelation throws her whole world into a tailspin.Discovering the fact that she was adopted, her birth mother has passed away, she has inherited a cafe and a surly fifteen year old sister in the process; is bound to put anyone's life in a tailspin. I adored Quinn, her capacity for compassion and her selfless nature completely endeared her to me. Putting her own turmoil aside, Quinn picks up sticks to visit her new sister and the wild west town she lives in. The town of Wildestone has suffered economically in recent history, there has been a down turn in the tourists they rely on exasperated but crocked officials carrying out their own nefarious plans without thought to the rest of the townsfolk. The townsfolk themselves are a quirky bunch but optimistic and loyal, working together as a community to take care of their own. I loved the way they embraced Quinn into their fold and provided her with a support system when the rest of her life appeared so complicated.Throw in the delectable Mick into the mix of Wildestone just to add to the emotional re-awakening Quinn is being forced to undertake. Mick is a local of Wildestone that made his escape so years ago, vowing never to settle back in Wildestone thanks to his overbearing father. Back in town to help his mother following his fathers death, Mick is constantly crossing paths with Quinn. The attraction between them is instant and sizzling, although both try to convince themselves that it is purely physical and very temporary.There is so much going on within Lost and Found Sisters from a sarcastic, bitchy but vulnerable ex-girlfriend, crazy chickens, stray one-eyed cats, best friend bartenders, meddling mothers and ghost sisters. I can guarantee you will find it hard to put down Lost and Found Sisters when you start reading. I really couldn't put myself into the crazy that was Quinn's life, I really admired how she was able to cope with everything that came her way while overcoming the loss of her sister and inheriting a teenager. The romance was like the icing on the cake of what is an exceptional story.
    more
  • CL
    June 17, 2017
    ARC received from: EdelweissRating: ★★★Trope: Small town romanceChemistry: Low BoilOne-Sentence Summary: A chef comes to a small town to look after her sisterReview: When I heard Jill Shalvis was branching into a new genre of "Women's Fiction" my first thought was "What is that? Isn't that just what people who don't want to admit to reading romance call romance?" and then my second thought was "WHY OH WHY would you change something that ain't broke?! I read Shalvis for her contemporary romance ARC received from: EdelweissRating: ★★★½Trope: Small town romanceChemistry: Low BoilOne-Sentence Summary: A chef comes to a small town to look after her sisterReview: When I heard Jill Shalvis was branching into a new genre of "Women's Fiction" my first thought was "What is that? Isn't that just what people who don't want to admit to reading romance call romance?" and then my second thought was "WHY OH WHY would you change something that ain't broke?! I read Shalvis for her contemporary romance novels."To be honest I spent at least the first third - maybe more - of the book in much the same vein. I didn't like the fact that Quinn kept talking to a ghost, Tilly was a brat, I had no idea why the solicitor kept popping in and out of the story, Lena was annoying, Brock was even more annoying and Quinn's relationship with Mick moved at warp-speed missing out all the UST goodness.In fact the two things I liked was Quinn Versus the chickens and the chapter quotes.Then all of a sudden the characters grew on me. I really liked Tilly's relationship with Dylan (probably more than Mick/Quinn), a stray cat made an appearance and Quinn and Lena developed an interesting, bizarre friendship.So yes I am glad that I stuck through it as I ended up enjoying it quite a bit ...... Just not as much as I would have if it were a contemporary romance novel.
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    May 17, 2017
  • Alicia
    February 11, 2017
    Something about this one hit just the right note. I liked the characters and the town and the setup.
  • Cathy Geha
    June 8, 2017
    Lost and Found Sisters by Jill ShalvisWildstone #1Jill Shalvis is an author that has never let me down. I love her writing style, the characters she creates and the stories she tells. She never lets me down. In this book Quinn, a sous-chef in Los Angeles, seems to have it all and everything going for her. She has a great job, loving parents and a man that would love to marry her. BUT, she really has been going through the motions without moving forward with her life since her sister died two yea Lost and Found Sisters by Jill ShalvisWildstone #1Jill Shalvis is an author that has never let me down. I love her writing style, the characters she creates and the stories she tells. She never lets me down. In this book Quinn, a sous-chef in Los Angeles, seems to have it all and everything going for her. She has a great job, loving parents and a man that would love to marry her. BUT, she really has been going through the motions without moving forward with her life since her sister died two years before the story begins. Little does she know that a stranger she encounters while waiting to order coffee one morning will tell her something that will impact her life in a way that will see her confronting her parents, taking a trip to Wildstone and then dealing with an unexpected inheritance. She will grow, take on responsibilities, find love, make friends and find her way forward in a direction she would never have considered had she not talked to that stranger in the coffee shop. I won’t give away the story line. As the author said in her newsletter, “I have a new book coming out. It’s a bigger book than I’ve written before but don’t worry, it’s still got the Shalvis heat and humor and romance (actually two romances!), PLUS a sister thing.” And, once again the author has created a novel that I could not put down. It left me happy but also eager to find out what will happen next in Wildstone. I loved the epigraphs from Tilly’s journal – they were a delight and hit home in so many ways. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, highly recommend it and would like to thank the author for the ARC shared with me for review purposes. This is my honest review. 5 Stars
    more
  • Giselle Bradley
    June 11, 2017
    1.5 DNF'd
  • Suze
    June 18, 2017
    Quinn desperately misses her sister Beth, who died in a car crash. She works as a sous-chef in a successful LA restaurant and is going through the motions rather than enjoying her life. When she receives a call from a lawyer from Wildstone about an inheritance Quinn is surprised, because she doesn't know anyone there. However, the inheritance is really hers and it comes with a lot of complications and responsibilities.When Quinn arrives in Wildstone she meets Mick. He's originally from Wildstone Quinn desperately misses her sister Beth, who died in a car crash. She works as a sous-chef in a successful LA restaurant and is going through the motions rather than enjoying her life. When she receives a call from a lawyer from Wildstone about an inheritance Quinn is surprised, because she doesn't know anyone there. However, the inheritance is really hers and it comes with a lot of complications and responsibilities.When Quinn arrives in Wildstone she meets Mick. He's originally from Wildstone and travels back as often as he can to visit. Mick is Quinn's first new friend in the small town. Will there be more? It isn't Quinn's intention to like Wildstone, but she does, and that makes deciding what she wants to do with her life even more complicated. Will Quinn's inheritance finally enable Quinn to get over the worst part of her grief and is there a chance she'll find a better future than she'd ever imagined?Lost and Found Sisters is a fantastic story. Quinn is a sweetheart. She's always taking care of others, she has a big heart and easily loves people. She's afraid to commit, but being in Wildstone is making her stronger. I loved that the town and the people she meets enable her to finally heal and I couldn't wait to find out where that would lead. Quinn is a beautiful person inside and out and I absolutely loved her character. She and Mitch have a close connection. There are plenty of sparks combined with deep feelings and they're perfect for one another. However, there are a lot of obstacles in their way and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to see where their relationship would lead.Jill Shalvis has a wonderful warm writing style. I especially love the way her main characters connect with others. The welcoming atmosphere that's making her books so great always makes me smile. I'm a big fan of stories about sisters and Lost and Found Sisters is an amazing one. It has family secrets, many unexpected twists and turns and plenty of emotional layers. I enjoyed reading this charming book from beginning to end. It's another terrific Jill Shalvis story and I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Monique Daoust
    June 16, 2017
    Since the death of her sister two years ago, Quinn Weller has been sleepwalking through life; she is ensconced in her routine, she is not living anymore. One day, while waiting in line for her usual coffee, a lawyer comes up to her and announces that she has inherited properties, among other things. She will have to leave LA for the small ranch town of Wildstone, California, to see to it. If that was a shock for Quinn, it was nothing compared to all the secrets that were kept from her all her li Since the death of her sister two years ago, Quinn Weller has been sleepwalking through life; she is ensconced in her routine, she is not living anymore. One day, while waiting in line for her usual coffee, a lawyer comes up to her and announces that she has inherited properties, among other things. She will have to leave LA for the small ranch town of Wildstone, California, to see to it. If that was a shock for Quinn, it was nothing compared to all the secrets that were kept from her all her life. Mick Hennessey is also in Wildstone for a little while, and he is the one who finds Quinn as she is driving into town in full panic attack. LOST AND FOUND SISTERS is Jill Shalvis’ first foray into women’s fiction, and I must admit that I haven’t read many books in that genre. And this is a book that is hard to review without giving away any spoilers, of which there are many. Fans of Ms. Shalvis need not worry too much as the author’s effortless writing, biting wit, a slightly accident-prone heroine, and bugs are components of the story, as well as a yummy hero and a sweet old dog and a quirky stray cat. On the other hand, while it did not matter to me in the least, the hotness side has been toned down to PG, as there are no particularly explicit sex scenes, which greatly surprised me. While the focus is, of course on Quinn’s and Mick’s romance, there is more emphasis on secondary characters, more depth to the story, and more conflicts, that are quite a departure from what is usually found in Ms. Shalvis’ book, there is also a certain sadness that defines Quinn, that the author conveys exceptionally well. I was a bit taken aback, as I’m used to the light, fun, and bubbly tone of Ms. Shalvis’ books, and while this is a very good, solid story, I missed the carefree and playful atmosphere that I find in Jill Shalvis’ stories. The romance was very convincing, as it was definitely based on more than physical attraction, and Mick was a lovely hero. LOST AND FOUND SISTERS is the first book in the new Wildstone series, and while usually it’s obvious whose book is to be expected next, I must admit that I am really not sure what to expect next; Lena with or without Boomer perhaps?I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Whitney Mcgregor (A Literary Perusal)
    June 16, 2017
    Jill Shalvis is back with her magic in a brand new series! I adored Lost and Found sisters, the story of one woman's journey to find herself after her world is rocked with secret after secret. Quinn is a great heroine and one of my favorite Jill leading ladies in quite a while. In fact, all of the main ladies in this story are pretty awesome. Even lost, Quinn shows strength and a willingness to always be a great person. She's a caretaker through and through which is possibly why I loved her so m Jill Shalvis is back with her magic in a brand new series! I adored Lost and Found sisters, the story of one woman's journey to find herself after her world is rocked with secret after secret. Quinn is a great heroine and one of my favorite Jill leading ladies in quite a while. In fact, all of the main ladies in this story are pretty awesome. Even lost, Quinn shows strength and a willingness to always be a great person. She's a caretaker through and through which is possibly why I loved her so much. Mick is a sexy guy who wasn't looking for a relationship until he met Quinn. After a bit of flirting and some tension, these two set upon a rocky road where they're both struggling to decide what they want from their futures. The novel is actually told with three POVS; Quinn, Mick and a surprise who I won't reveal. I loved the way the author wove together the three main characters with a few others who are sure to featured more heavily in the series going forward. Mick's ex girlfriend is a hoot, as are several other side characters. The richness Jill can bring to a town and it's inhabitants is consuming for me as a reader. I always want to move to the fictional towns she writes about. Is this book a stand alone? Meh. Sort of. Quinn and Mick have resolution but there are open ended storylines for other characters and for town drama. So I suppose you could read this and stop the series (though I don't know why!) but I bet it won't make sense to skip this book and try to read the others as they release. I definitely recommend picking this one up if you're a fan of Jill's previous work. I've seen this billed as women's fiction but it felt quite a bit like a traditional romance to me.
    more
  • Mari
    June 13, 2017
    I've always loved Jill Shalvis and her quirky and fun contemporary romance this time her venture into Women's Fiction is just as good. Normally I would be skeptical with genre changes but since she is a go to I gave it a good old try. I knew from the blurb this one would tug some heartstrings. I've read my share of Women's Fiction and have a enjoyed a lot of them. Losing someone is never easy especially someone as close to you. It's not easy and you feel lost. Our heroine managed with her emotio I've always loved Jill Shalvis and her quirky and fun contemporary romance this time her venture into Women's Fiction is just as good. Normally I would be skeptical with genre changes but since she is a go to I gave it a good old try. I knew from the blurb this one would tug some heartstrings. I've read my share of Women's Fiction and have a enjoyed a lot of them. Losing someone is never easy especially someone as close to you. It's not easy and you feel lost. Our heroine managed with her emotional distance and fake till you make it attitude. I liked Quinn, relatable in her fears and feelings. I totally get that uncertainty stepping out of your routine. I cheered her on as she took hesitant steps. She may stumble and falter along the way and that was the a learning curve. We all have a right to our emotions whatever they may be. It could get frustrating at times but it was realistic that way.What is lost can be found in the strangest funny ways. Her younger sister Tilly was a joy her inner dialogue and anecdotes at the chapters start made this more fun and balanced out the other parts. As always Ms Shalvis has another winner of a hero in Mick. He had his own stuff to deal with boils down to the same thing. Still a good solid sexy guy.Family is always a tricky thing you go through ups and downs and you still love each other. Relationships are another thing that helps one grow and shape us throughout. From friendship, love, new experiences and to finding ourselves. It took a while for things to get there. I felt it dragged out too long for some parts that I felt unnecessary. But still a lovely story about sisterhood. The whimsical element to this book made it more likable to me. Wildstone sounds like an idyllic location that I would want to go to. I definitely want to explore that town more and the other books in store for this series. No doubt a great start to a new series.*** ARC kindly provided by Edelweiss for an honest review ***
    more
  • Aly
    June 15, 2017
    Quinn, almost thirty, just learned that not only she was adopted, but she inherited a café (in an other town) and a sullen teenager... In Wildstone, she'll meet new friends, will make new enemy (sometimes both at the same time) and she'll have to make new choices about her life. Fortunately, she can count on Mick, her new friend and sexy handyman who's easy to talk to, understanding and supportive. Mick is back in his hometown to help his mother deal with paperwork and renovate her house. Always Quinn, almost thirty, just learned that not only she was adopted, but she inherited a café (in an other town) and a sullen teenager... In Wildstone, she'll meet new friends, will make new enemy (sometimes both at the same time) and she'll have to make new choices about her life. Fortunately, she can count on Mick, her new friend and sexy handyman who's easy to talk to, understanding and supportive. Mick is back in his hometown to help his mother deal with paperwork and renovate her house. Always accompanied of his old dog Coop, it amuse him to let Quinn assume he's the handyman of the B&B he plan to buy to help restart local economies, since the city manager seem to do the total opposite. Small town series with humor, feelings, not too heavy on the dramas, kind and sexy heros ,quirky and endearing heroines who find themselves and romance is what Jill Shalvis does best. The cast of characters was just as great and authentic. The author inject enough background story to them to make them feel real but without making me think there's too many. Even the "bitch" was surprisingly likeable with her smart-ass attitude. Her relationship with Quinn was my favorite part of the book. I have to admit that the first hundred pages or so didn't immediately sold me to the proposition, but after that, when she become more involved with the people and I started to feel the soul of the town, I became invested in the story and really appreciated my reading.Can't wait to read the next book and learn if there will be a story of second chance with Lena and Boomer.
    more
  • marieno
    June 17, 2017
    As I was reading it, I thought, even if I recognize her humour, this book is so different from other books by Jill Shalvis but it's as good as her other great one. Something about the book reminded me of my favorites Susan Elizabeth Phillips's novels. But in no way I'd say it's a copy, what's the same is the warmth and comfort I felt inside when reading it.I only have good things to say about this book:- The different kind of love portrayed in the book with the different relationships were so ta As I was reading it, I thought, even if I recognize her humour, this book is so different from other books by Jill Shalvis but it's as good as her other great one. Something about the book reminded me of my favorites Susan Elizabeth Phillips's novels. But in no way I'd say it's a copy, what's the same is the warmth and comfort I felt inside when reading it.I only have good things to say about this book:- The different kind of love portrayed in the book with the different relationships were so tangible and made we want to love and be loved like that too.- The Mixed-Up Files of Tilly Adams's Journal. How funny, touching and clever. My favorite: Mom used to tell me not to worry when people didn't get me-people throw rocks at things that shine.- The setting, Wildstone and the townsfolk were endearing (Especially the old man at the end)- The hero, Mick. He was perfect, no really, in my book he never made a mistake.- Even if it took time for Quinn to claimed every NEW good things in her life, she was so strong and generous. (No other heroine would befriend her lover's ex, especially after she was a b**** to her)- Beth's ghost- Cooper and even Tink, the beloved pets of the main characters- The cover- Jill Shalvis, writing style, sense of humor
    more
  • Renee Entress from Renee Entress's Blog
    June 20, 2017
    4.5 starI was pulled right into this story. The story has pain, grief, secrets, suspense, and heartbreak. This is Quinn and Mick’s story. Quinn has been struggling since she lost her sister and best friend in a car accident. From the outside her life seems perfect but when she is tracked down by a lawyer she soon learns things she never knew. She drops everything in her life to go see what this life changing news will bring her. But is it everything she thought she wanted? Or will she wish she w 4.5 starI was pulled right into this story. The story has pain, grief, secrets, suspense, and heartbreak. This is Quinn and Mick’s story. Quinn has been struggling since she lost her sister and best friend in a car accident. From the outside her life seems perfect but when she is tracked down by a lawyer she soon learns things she never knew. She drops everything in her life to go see what this life changing news will bring her. But is it everything she thought she wanted? Or will she wish she was back in her old life? Mick always wanted to escape the small town he lived in. But he came back to help his mother. Quinn and Mick become friends right from the start but under that friendship is a deep attraction. Seems that Mick is always there for her in this town no matter if she thinks she needs help or not. But Mick wants out and Quinn wants to stay. Will they ever work if they want such different things? I loved these characters and the side characters. I felt I could connect with the characters and the story was a great read. I highly recommend this book and can’t wait for the next story from this author.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 31, 2017
    Heartwarming, sweet, and romantic. Like the description says, this book veers further into women's fiction than the straight romance Jill Shalvis is known for, but if you are a fan of her writing, you will recognize her style here. Calling this book women's fiction is fair- while there is a romance that is one of the primary story lines, there is another, nonromantic relationship (deliberately vague to avoid spoilers :) ) that is the true main aspect of the story, and Quinn's struggle to underst Heartwarming, sweet, and romantic. Like the description says, this book veers further into women's fiction than the straight romance Jill Shalvis is known for, but if you are a fan of her writing, you will recognize her style here. Calling this book women's fiction is fair- while there is a romance that is one of the primary story lines, there is another, nonromantic relationship (deliberately vague to avoid spoilers :) ) that is the true main aspect of the story, and Quinn's struggle to understand who she is and where she fits as her life has been turned inside out. Advance e-galley provided by Edelweiss and the publisher for an honest review.
    more
Write a review