A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1)
The Last Kids on Earth meets Goosebumps in this hilarious new series about a secret society of babysitters who protect kids from the monsters that really do live under their beds!When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going to babysitting, she thinks the scariest part of her night will be the death of her social life. But then Baby Jacob gets kidnapped by the Boogeyman’s minions and Kelly learns there’s a whole lot more to childcare than free snacks and Netflix. Like chasing shadow monsters, drop-kicking Toadies, and mastering monster-fighting moves like the Naptime Headlock and Playground Punch.Now, with the help of an ancient handbook and a secret society of butt-kicking babysitters, Kelly sets out to destroy the Boogeyman before he brings Jacob’s nightmares to life. But when the monsters’ trail leads to her school’s big Halloween bash, Kelly will have to prove she can save the world—without totally embarrassing herself in front of her friends.Packed with black-and-white illustrations and insider secrets from the world of monster hunting, A Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting is full of tricks, treats, and terrifying twists!

A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1) Details

TitleA Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0062437852
ISBN-139780062437853
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy

A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1) Review

  • Ms. Yingling
    April 1, 2017
    ARC provided by Young Adult Books CentralKelly desperately wants to attend Camp Miskatonic-- she's overhead Deanna, head of the Princess Pack at her school talk about it, and it sounds awesome. The problem? It costs $4,000 to go for the summer, and Kelly's family is struggling financially. She has managed to raise $3,000 by doing various chores for neighbors, but still has a way to go. When her friend Tammy suggests babysitting, Kelly is reluctant to look into that activitiy. When her mother vol ARC provided by Young Adult Books CentralKelly desperately wants to attend Camp Miskatonic-- she's overhead Deanna, head of the Princess Pack at her school talk about it, and it sounds awesome. The problem? It costs $4,000 to go for the summer, and Kelly's family is struggling financially. She has managed to raise $3,000 by doing various chores for neighbors, but still has a way to go. When her friend Tammy suggests babysitting, Kelly is reluctant to look into that activitiy. When her mother volunteers her to babysit Ms. Zellman's son Jacob on the night of a big Halloween party, Kelly isn't happy. However, the money is good, and her mother is worried that Ms. Zellman, who is her boss, will fire her if Kelly doesn't babysit. Once settled in for the night with Jacob, Kelly isn't a great babysitter. She texts her friends, lets Jacob eat candy as a bribe to get her phone back from him, and just wants him to go to sleep so she can watch her Korean soap opera on Netflix. She's been warned that Jacob has nightmares, but she doesn't realize the monsters are real. When one attacks Jacob and drags him off, Kelly calls his regular babysitter, Liz, who comes to the rescue with her other charge strapped in a front pack! With the help of Mama Vee, Kelly's former babysitter,the Grand Guignol, aka The Bogeyman, and all of his evil hench monsters are put in their places!Liz is a great character, and I love that she bills herself as a "professional babysitter". Kelly doesn't understand this at first, but she certainly does later! Her Babysitter's Guide is filled with lots of descriptions of different monsters so that she can identify them, as well as the best way to battle them. She also carries a back pack full of objects that are made to look normal but are really monster fighting equipment. The babysitter's have to battle an amazing array of monsters, from Toadies and Shadow Monsters to the apparition Cat Lady. The Bogeyman is quite scary and evil, and Liz has a long history with him that motivates her to do away with him once and for all. Because the organization is organized and effective, it changes the way that Kelly feels about being a babysitter.Readers who like Lorey's Nightmare Academy, Coville's The Monsters of Morley Manor, Lubar's Monsterriffic Tales or Stine's Goosebumps books will enjoy following Kelly's adventures in babysitting, and may pick up a few points in case they are babysitters themselves!I didn't care much for this one because of the negative way the babysitters are portrayed-- frizzy hair, dental appliances, social outcasts, etc. Deanna and her "princess pack" were over the top, too. I also kind of wanted to slap Kelly for wanting to go to the camp. Use the $4,000 to pay for college, girl, instead of wanting to be like the bratty Deanna. It just seemed more like what people thought middle school was like, and not how middle school actually is.
    more
  • Dayla
    June 19, 2017
    I received a copy via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.This was fun! I love the message of being true to yourself and not just following the crowd. There were some creepy bits that were pretty great.I'll definitely be recommending this one to my younger customers!
    more
  • Gina
    June 27, 2017
    I received a free print copy of this book from Goodreads. Thanks! This is a fast-paced fantasy/mystery book for mid-grade readers as well as adults. It was an interesting and enjoyable read. The main character, Kelly, is a timid, meek, and "invisible" (her words) girl who wants more than anything to be part of the popular group. She believes a summer at a certain camp will get her there by helping her find her truth. Only she needs money, lots of money, to pay for it. She's earned all but the la I received a free print copy of this book from Goodreads. Thanks! This is a fast-paced fantasy/mystery book for mid-grade readers as well as adults. It was an interesting and enjoyable read. The main character, Kelly, is a timid, meek, and "invisible" (her words) girl who wants more than anything to be part of the popular group. She believes a summer at a certain camp will get her there by helping her find her truth. Only she needs money, lots of money, to pay for it. She's earned all but the last $1000, so she reluctantly agrees to start babysitting to earn it quickly. Her first job is for her mom's boss and it's the same night as the Halloween party she planned to attend. While not happy, she agrees to do it, knowing it must go well to help her mom. But, of course it doesn't. By the end of the book, Kelly has developed into a strong, determined, and commanding presence. She's no longer "invisible", has $80 for her camp fund, and the interest of her crush. Nice finish. The monsters hunting premise was new to me and I liked how that part of the story progressed. I'm not sure this needs to be a series, though, as this book is great as a stand alone story. There are 7 bogeymen mentioned and this story focuses on only one of them, but a book dedicated to the chase of each might make future ones a bit redundant. I liked it enough to read more anyway to see if I'm right and if I'm wrong, this series should be a real treat. I would like to "read" more of the entries of the babysitter's guidebook, which was a nice way present them. My copy didn't have any of the illustrations, although there are lots planned for the final edition and I'm sure they will add much to the telling. One quibble was that the babysitter's organization was a bit quick to take Kelly into their world, especially since 3 others were officially in training and she was not. It comes across as a secretive organization, but they are very open with Kelly. There is something special about her, though, when it comes to defending against the monsters. Plus, she did have a personal connection. Like any fantasy, some parts were more believable than others.
    more
  • Jen
    June 3, 2017
    ** The copy I read was an advance reader copy I received from Edelweiss+ **This was a fun and funny adventure story for middle-grade readers. It reminded me a bit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer but for a younger crowd. It had some of the same snark and humor combined with monsters and gooey creatures and exciting adventures but less death and scares. I quite enjoyed the characters, misfits who save the world (or at least save the children who may be important to the world -- Abe Lincoln is mentione ** The copy I read was an advance reader copy I received from Edelweiss+ **This was a fun and funny adventure story for middle-grade readers. It reminded me a bit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer but for a younger crowd. It had some of the same snark and humor combined with monsters and gooey creatures and exciting adventures but less death and scares. I quite enjoyed the characters, misfits who save the world (or at least save the children who may be important to the world -- Abe Lincoln is mentioned!) while still managing to attend school and hold down after-school jobs. The world-building was well-done but I would like to see some more background about the world where these monsters/creatures reside when not tormenting children. Hopefully there will be some of this in future books. I did find the romance side-story a bit unnecessary but I feel that way about most story romances and at least this one didn't take over too much of the book! The friendship between the babysitters did develop a bit too fast but I understand that there was only so much time story-wise to give the reader all the details. All in all, I enjoyed this book and plan to read future entries in this series. I would recommend this book to book clubs for children/young teens and to all children who enjoy fun, fast-paced monster stories with not too much gore!
    more
  • Ben dupan
    May 5, 2017
    A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting was an exciting,thrilling and mysterious book. From the beginning to the end it kept me on my toes! With the adventures of kelly and liz on their journey to find jacob and battle toadies, clowns and ghostly shadow monster.while kelly is helping liz and the secret society of babysitters she is wanting to go to the best halloween party ever and to see her crush. But she knows if she does the boogie man will take over the world.
    more
  • Sue Poduska
    June 18, 2017
    Vivid descriptions and imaginative scenarios are highlighted in this exciting tale. With strong characters and strong themes of fighting your fears, this story is great for middle grades, but maybe not for the very young or very nervous. It certainly is a lot of fun.
    more
  • Tracey
    June 9, 2017
    Should be a hit with the target audience.
  • Pop Bop
    January 30, 2017
    A Slightly Worn Premise, Freshened Up Quite NicelySo, our heroine, aided by a motley crew of companions, battles secret monsters in order to rescue a kidnapped child. Have you heard that one before? I have. But, we've been recycling plots since the first reed brush hit the first papyrus, so the real question is - what has author done with this? To my mind the answer is - quite a bit.Our heroine is middle schooler Kelly. She needs to make money for camp and so she advertises herself as available A Slightly Worn Premise, Freshened Up Quite NicelySo, our heroine, aided by a motley crew of companions, battles secret monsters in order to rescue a kidnapped child. Have you heard that one before? I have. But, we've been recycling plots since the first reed brush hit the first papyrus, so the real question is - what has author done with this? To my mind the answer is - quite a bit.Our heroine is middle schooler Kelly. She needs to make money for camp and so she advertises herself as available to babysit, despite having no experience in that regard. How hard could it be? Off the bat she ends up headed to the lower end of the school social order, (babysitter? how tacky), and she gets impressed into babysitting for the child, Jacob, of her Mom's imperious boss. The usual sitter, Liz, isn't available. The kid's a terror, but more to the point, the kid is terrorized by nightmares. When those nightmares turn out to be real, and kidnap Jacob, Kelly calls for help from Liz, and we're off to the races. It turns out kids' night terrors are real and that there's a secret society of babysitters whose job it is to protect kids from night monsters.From there we get multiple levels. On one level we get the whole babysitter society history. Up front, we have a quest to rescue Kelly's kidnapped charge from monsters. Then we get the Liz backstory. And we get a crew of supposed school "losers" who are actually heroic babysitters. Plus, we get some school crush/clique drama. Wow. Busy, busy, busy.The best part is that the author keeps a pretty firm hand on all of this. Kelly is not a whiner or lameo. She rolls with the punches and always rises to the occasion. None of the plotlines are heavy handed, (including even the school daze stuff). We don't go through reams of tedious exposition on the history of the babysitter society. Everything is well paced and the tale, (which is actually pretty long for a middle grade adventure), zips along nicely. As a bonus, there are some pretty sharp, or edgy, or at least intentionally ironic, observations that punch up the narrative and let the author wink a bit at the alert reader.So, the upshot is that this was a well crafted, nicely plotted, fast paced, sometimes amusing and sometimes gripping, action fantasy that I thought elevated the premise and rewarded the reader. A nice find. (Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book without a review requirement, or any influence regarding review content should I choose to post a review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.)
    more
  • Andréa
    January 6, 2017
    Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  • Joe Ballarini
    April 21, 2017
  • Sandra
    April 26, 2017
    It's odd how 80s/90s this book feels, very informed by Goosebumps and Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a strong side of Goonies and a dash of Gaiman's Last Temptation. Nothing wrong with that, it's just disjointed and not as much fun as the things it seems to be borrowing heavily from.
    more
  • Kathryn
    April 1, 2017
    This book was cute. It's not mind blowing or anything, but I think that kids would like it. It's a fast read; I read it in two days. It's a topic that is familiar to all kids everywhere. It's a popular genre in the way of Rick Riordan, but this may actually be good for kids slightly younger than Rick Riordan readers. I'd definitely give this book to a 6th grader; maybe even a high 5th grader.My only dislike in it was that I would prefer it were structured more like the 1st Percy Jackson book. Th This book was cute. It's not mind blowing or anything, but I think that kids would like it. It's a fast read; I read it in two days. It's a topic that is familiar to all kids everywhere. It's a popular genre in the way of Rick Riordan, but this may actually be good for kids slightly younger than Rick Riordan readers. I'd definitely give this book to a 6th grader; maybe even a high 5th grader.My only dislike in it was that I would prefer it were structured more like the 1st Percy Jackson book. They you have (1) ridiculous problem, (2) story exposition, (3) training, and (4) way more ridiculous problem. This book kind of skips straight to 4, so the exposition of the story has to happen while the training and the adventure pursuing happen. It makes the story a little bit jumbled. Honestly, I don't think that any kids would notice.
    more
  • Joe Ballarini
    April 26, 2017
Write a review