No Good Deed
He's not asking for much. All Gregor Maravilla wants to do is feed all of the starving children on the planet. So when he's selected to join Camp Save the World, a special summer program for teenage activists from all over the country to champion their cause, Gregor's sure he's on the path to becoming Someone Great.But then a prize is announced. It will be awarded at the end of summer to the activist who shows the most promise in their campaign. Gregor's sure he has the prize in the bag, especially compared to some of the other campers' campaigns. Like Eat Dirt, a preposterous campaign started by Ashley Woodstone, a famous young actor who most likely doesn't even deserve to be at the camp. Everywhere Gregor goes, Ashley seems to show up ready to ruin things. Plus, the prize has an unforeseen side effect, turning a quiet summer into cutthroat warfare where campers stop focusing on their own campaigns and start sabotaging everyone else's.

No Good Deed Details

TitleNo Good Deed
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherScholastic
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Fiction

No Good Deed Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    January 24, 2017
    I so like the premise of this book. Even more now that I’m done with this humorous novel by the author of KILL THE BOY BAND, which I so enjoyed last year. You’d think a camp where kids with a humanitarian purpose go to develop their humanitarian spirit and share meaningful conversation with other humanitarian kids would be less hectic than a sports camp, let’s say.Wrong. And it’s all because of Mr. Drill, who decides to award the best camper/humanitarian with an internship, something every singl I so like the premise of this book. Even more now that I’m done with this humorous novel by the author of KILL THE BOY BAND, which I so enjoyed last year. You’d think a camp where kids with a humanitarian purpose go to develop their humanitarian spirit and share meaningful conversation with other humanitarian kids would be less hectic than a sports camp, let’s say.Wrong. And it’s all because of Mr. Drill, who decides to award the best camper/humanitarian with an internship, something every single camper wants. Let the battle begin!Even though you quickly feel that this is not a realistic novel when you begin to read it, at least it’s not the characters that give you this impression. Even in KILL THE BOY BAND, which is rather far-fetched also, the characters can be related to.The writing is what gives you that feeling. Admittedly, the plot appeared far-fetched to me, because I’ve been to day camp when I was much younger, and it was truly nothing like this book. But truth be told, I’d love to see this play out on the big screen – it would make such a fun comedy movie. The best thing about this book, although I loved the main character Gregor quite a bit, is how motivational it can be at times. Of course, its main goal is to entertain you, but throughout the story there’s talk of different ways of helping the planet and its inhabitants, that at one point or another, you’re bound to reflect on your own humanitarian side. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    February 20, 2017
    “You going to paint me like one of your French girls?”“How do you know about my French girls?” I have never laughed like this at a book before. There's something about the way Goldy Moldavsky writes parody novels. It never feels like she's making fun of boy band fangirls or people who fight for social justice, even when she writes parodies. In fact, her two parodies so far have sent a positive message about their respective groups. Part of her positive message comes from the fact that she write “You going to paint me like one of your French girls?”“How do you know about my French girls?” I have never laughed like this at a book before. There's something about the way Goldy Moldavsky writes parody novels. It never feels like she's making fun of boy band fangirls or people who fight for social justice, even when she writes parodies. In fact, her two parodies so far have sent a positive message about their respective groups. Part of her positive message comes from the fact that she writes from the point of view of an actual character inside that sect of people. Her parodies feel like loving fun rather than fitting into the “lmao, those sjws” type of humor. That's what sets them apart. In No Good Deed, Moldavsky managed to poke fun at the more toxic elements of mainstream social justice culture... while also endorsing the social justice movement. Which is quite an achievement, honestly. She pokes fun at the way racism pops up in the movement. And her parody of the men's rights movement is perfect. But this is a poignant story too, with good characters and a great message. Ashley is a sweet character, and while she's a bit out there, she also comes off as very human. And Moldavsky really points out the importance of the social justice movement, which I was exceptionally pleased about. Basically my only issue was the book's weird pacing. This book transitions well from funny to poignant. However, there are thirty-page sections where nothing funny happens and then thirty-page sections where it's a laugh a minute. The pacing is just a bit messy.However, this book is absolutely redeemed by how fucking hilarious it is. The humor might not work for everyone, but it sure works for me. “I'm Poe.”“Like Kung Fu Panda?”“Like Edgar Allan.” Thanks to my local bookstore for allowing me to borrow the arc!
    more
  • Taylor Knight
    June 3, 2017
    An ARC of this book was sent to me unsolicited by the publisherI've seen a good amount of positive reviews for this book so maybe I'm the odd one out on this but I wasn't into No Good Deed at all. I thought the plot sounded really original and it had a lot of potential but the characters prevented this book from becoming likable for me. I was not a fan of the main character at all and because of that, I was never able to get into the book. The main character, Gregor, was so incredibly annoying t An ARC of this book was sent to me unsolicited by the publisherI've seen a good amount of positive reviews for this book so maybe I'm the odd one out on this but I wasn't into No Good Deed at all. I thought the plot sounded really original and it had a lot of potential but the characters prevented this book from becoming likable for me. I was not a fan of the main character at all and because of that, I was never able to get into the book. The main character, Gregor, was so incredibly annoying to me. I also died a few times from second hand embarrassment from Gregor's awkwardness and sometimes his inner monologue was very strange as well. I really liked the idea of a teen activists camp but a majority of the kids had a social justice warriors persona and that was not for me. I did really like how Gregor's Mexican roots are mentioned early on and had a place in the story. Even if I didn't really enjoy this book, I really appreciated the diversity.
    more
  • Carolyn
    December 18, 2016
    i wrote a rlly wild review for this but then i decided i'd rather make a video review. so that review is coming soon to my channel!!REVIEW LINK: coming soona rlly short review for now5 stars to Goldy Moldavsky's newest AMAZING book. we all know this was my most anticipated book of the year... from page one, i knew i was gonna love this. reading goldy's books feels like watching a really really hilarious youtube skit. she's got the BEST imagination and her stories are always wild and unforgettabl i wrote a rlly wild review for this but then i decided i'd rather make a video review. so that review is coming soon to my channel!!REVIEW LINK: coming soona rlly short review for now5 stars to Goldy Moldavsky's newest AMAZING book. we all know this was my most anticipated book of the year... from page one, i knew i was gonna love this. reading goldy's books feels like watching a really really hilarious youtube skit. she's got the BEST imagination and her stories are always wild and unforgettable. but at the same time, the teens she writes about are relatable and authentic. even if i tried, i could not think about ONE thing I disliked about either of her books. they are completely unpredictable and original. seriously y'all need to go to the bookstore RIGHT NOW and get this amazing book.some updates i posted pre- release:january 24 2017: update- THERE IS A NEW COVER & TITLE!!! ok honestly i adored the original and don't like the new one as but its okay!!! the content on the inside is sure to be AWESOME and thats what counts. wheeeeeeeeeeee I'm so psyched omg december 2016:: OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMGOMG OMGGGGGG ANOTHER GOLDY MOLDAVSKY BOOK????? WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME! I'm such kill the boy band trash I nEEEEEEED this in my life
    more
  • Julie
    May 28, 2017
    As per Goldy's style this book was hilarious and an absolute mind fuck. I didn't enjoy it as much as I did Kill the Boy Band. When I first read the blurb, I wasn't that interested, but I picked it up any way cause I will probably read anything Goldy puts out. She has such an addicting writing style. I feel like I'm watching a movie in my head. It was super entertaining and the humor was similar to Kill the Boy Band as was the whole "what the fuck is happening? what am I reading?" vibe I get from As per Goldy's style this book was hilarious and an absolute mind fuck. I didn't enjoy it as much as I did Kill the Boy Band. When I first read the blurb, I wasn't that interested, but I picked it up any way cause I will probably read anything Goldy puts out. She has such an addicting writing style. I feel like I'm watching a movie in my head. It was super entertaining and the humor was similar to Kill the Boy Band as was the whole "what the fuck is happening? what am I reading?" vibe I get from her books lol. It was still pretty different though and I think that has everything to do with the romance, which I actually liked. I thought it was done pretty well. This book is pretty hard to describe. It's all about causes and being problematic and I honestly don't know what. You'll just have to read it to find out I guess. It's definitely not a book for everyone and you can't take anything you read in this book seriously. Goldy's books are just fun reads and I really hope they do get picked up as movies sometime in the future because they would be fantastic.
    more
  • YA Wednesdays
    May 25, 2017
    Full review tomorrow for First Reads Friday!
  • Brenda Ayala
    May 24, 2017
    I was largely indifferent to the majority of the novel. I thought our protagonist was annoying and had his head up his own ass and he whined constantly. I am sure it was meant to be funny but it was lost on me.The camp itself was perfectly ludicrous and I loved it. Easily the best side story was I Like Paint's, a boy who speaks a language no one understands. When we found out what actually happened with him, I burst out laughing on my flight. I couldn't help it; it was completely unexpected and I was largely indifferent to the majority of the novel. I thought our protagonist was annoying and had his head up his own ass and he whined constantly. I am sure it was meant to be funny but it was lost on me.The camp itself was perfectly ludicrous and I loved it. Easily the best side story was I Like Paint's, a boy who speaks a language no one understands. When we found out what actually happened with him, I burst out laughing on my flight. I couldn't help it; it was completely unexpected and I gleefully followed along with his side struggle while our protagonist was a dunce.Surprisingly, I really enjoyed the blossoming friendship between Ashley and Gregor. Ashley was drawn to the one person who treated her like any annoying person instead of a celebrity, and slowly (after continuously being irritated by her in awfully great situations) Gregor learns that she's not quite as Looney Tunes as he thought. I particularly liked Pika the bodyguard as well.It's a sweet story at its core. I believe the Chinese businessman who asked me in rough English if he could have it when I was done will be very happy with his choice.
    more
  • Andrea Abbott
    May 19, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Mollie Saf
    February 20, 2017
    The plot line was cute and fun and promising enough, but I found it hard to get past the inauthentic characters. The "social justice warriors" persona felt forced, and I couldn't tell whether the author intended for constant grimacing from the awkwardness or not. Either way, I didn't find this book enjoyable or believable, but fans of Kill The Boy Band might still like it, so give it a shot!
    more
  • Catherine Bruno
    May 13, 2017
    The only reason this book didn't get less than 3 stars is because it made me laugh quite a bit. I received this book as an ARC from a book festival and mostly got it because it was free. When I read what the book was about I was thinking wow this sounds like a really dumb plot. And to be honest it kind of is, but it did have its moments where it was good. But I couldn't connect to any of the characters and often found many of them annoying. Overall its humor saved it, but everything else was meh The only reason this book didn't get less than 3 stars is because it made me laugh quite a bit. I received this book as an ARC from a book festival and mostly got it because it was free. When I read what the book was about I was thinking wow this sounds like a really dumb plot. And to be honest it kind of is, but it did have its moments where it was good. But I couldn't connect to any of the characters and often found many of them annoying. Overall its humor saved it, but everything else was meh.
    more
  • Samantha Lizzio
    March 16, 2017
    I felt a real connection to the main character, Gregor. I loved the fact that he was uncertain about everything and always questioning his purpose. That's a real problem for teenagers, at least it was for me! Some of the scenes were a little too out there and fantastical for me, but I understood that this wasn't meant to be a super serious book. It was humorous and snarky.
    more
  • Keitha
    May 26, 2017
    This was quite lighthearted given the premise. An entertaining read but I was expecting a darker story with more biting humour.
  • Ari
    January 18, 2017
    3,5*I enjoyed it but the ending was a bit anticlimactic.Meet Gregor Maravilla, Superman no 1 fans and a young humanitarian. He came to Camp Save The World, a camp for activist teens, to make a better world and maybe a chance to meet Robert Drill, the founder of the camp and his idol since 8yo, beside Superman. When the peaceful and supposedly inspiring (teens activist, remember? ^^) camp turns into competition with internship in Robert Drill HQ as the prize, all hell breaks lose. Gregor Maravill 3,5*I enjoyed it but the ending was a bit anticlimactic.Meet Gregor Maravilla, Superman no 1 fans and a young humanitarian. He came to Camp Save The World, a camp for activist teens, to make a better world and maybe a chance to meet Robert Drill, the founder of the camp and his idol since 8yo, beside Superman. When the peaceful and supposedly inspiring (teens activist, remember? ^^) camp turns into competition with internship in Robert Drill HQ as the prize, all hell breaks lose. Gregor Maravilla was a hilariously tragic character, I kinda want to hug & laughing at him at the same time, but he relatable (compares to other characters in this story...^^). Also there's Ashley Woodstone, the same Ashley Woodstone from Kill the Boy Band, anyone remember her? She's Rupert L's girlfriend. This made No Good Deed is somewhat Kill The Boyband spin off.So, if there's a character in this book also deserves a spin off, it's WIN CASSIDY!Dont you agree, dear Goldy Moldavsky? ^^
    more
  • Ann-Eliza M.
    May 25, 2017
    Perfect book to kick off your summer reading list. 3.5⭐
  • Piper (An Ocean of Words)
    May 3, 2017
    Yasss, Goldy Moldvasky! slay me with this excellent title!Until May 30th! #keepingmealivetillnowirise
Write a review