The Leaf Reader
Like a contemporary take on Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle, Marnie Wells comes face-to-face with the occult, discovering she can tell the future by reading tea leaves. Marnie Wells knows that she creeps people out. It s not really her fault; her brother is always in trouble, and her grandmother, who s been their guardian since Mom took off is... eccentric. So no one even bats an eye when Marnie finds an old tea-leaf-reading book and starts telling fortunes. The ceremony and symbols are weirdly soothing, but she knows and hopes everyone else does too that none of it s real. Then basketball star Matt Cotrell asks for a reading. He s been getting emails from someone claiming to be his best friend, Andrea Quinley, who disappeared and is presumed dead. Rumor has it Matt and Andrea were romantically involved, though they d always denied it. A faint cloud of suspicion still hangs over Matt. But Marnie sees a kindred spirit: someone who, like her, is damaged by association. Suddenly the readings seem real. And they re telling Marnie things about Matt that make him seem increasingly dangerous. But she can t shake her initial attraction to him. In fact, it s getting stronger. And that could turn out to be deadly."

The Leaf Reader Details

TitleThe Leaf Reader
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherSoho Teen
ISBN1616957824
ISBN-139781616957827
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Fiction, Romance

The Leaf Reader Review

  • Meg Cabot
    April 13, 2017
    Left me guessing until the last, utterly delicious page. I loved the heroine’s cynical sense of humor. So glad that Emily Arsenault is writing YA now!
  • joyce g
    March 3, 2017
    A good solid YA read. Lots of twists and turns with a bit of mystic reading of tea leaves. Enjoyed it.ARC.
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    February 21, 2017
    About: The Leaf Reader is a fiction novel written by Emily Arsenault. It will be published on 6/13/17 by Soho Teen, 240 pages. The genres are young adult and paranormal. The author normally writes mystery thrillers for adults, but this book is her first young adult novel. Please see below for more info about the author.My Experience: I started reading The Leaf Reader on 2/15/17 and finished it on 2/21/17. This book is a great read. It’s different from other books I have read and it’s a nice chan About: The Leaf Reader is a fiction novel written by Emily Arsenault. It will be published on 6/13/17 by Soho Teen, 240 pages. The genres are young adult and paranormal. The author normally writes mystery thrillers for adults, but this book is her first young adult novel. Please see below for more info about the author.My Experience: I started reading The Leaf Reader on 2/15/17 and finished it on 2/21/17. This book is a great read. It’s different from other books I have read and it’s a nice change. In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Marnie Wells, a high school student who failed at trying to fit in so she might as well embrace her uniqueness. She lives with her grandma called G. Clara and an older brother, Noah. Her grandma teaches home ecs at the Colesbury High School where Marnie goes, but she doesn’t cook or clean at home. Her brother has a story of his own. Their mom has her own trouble and was not part of this book much. They live in an old house and Marnie walks everywhere even though her brother and grandma has a car.One day Marnie found an old book on the shelf and it’s about fortune telling using tea leaves. She finds that she has a knack for it and her friend and classmates began coming to her. At first they were all skeptical until they noticed signs that make them believe. The book also started out with a missing girl, named Andrea, classmates of Marnie and her friend Cecilia and Matt. Matt and his group of friends, twins Phoenix and Payson, and Andrea are the popular kids in school. Matt and Andrea are best friends, but the day she went missing, she called him and he couldn’t answer because it was during class. He felt responsible for her disappearance because he couldn’t answer the phone to help her. But then Marnie’s tea leaf fortune telling started to give him clues. They went chasing it, solving the mystery that police couldn’t.This book being a bit shorter than I’m used to, but it’s packed with so much. It keeps me on the edge of my seats and keeps my attention on the book. I like the author’s way of writing. The start of the book grabs my attention and sucks me in. The tea leaf fortune telling concept is interesting. I like following Marnie’s train of thoughts and I like that she’s smart. When she feels she was being followed, she knows what to do in tough situations. The romance came out of nowhere. I couldn’t tell when the guy had any attraction. This book focused more on the problem solving and the mystery so it was definitely an interesting read. My heart was pumping and my mind was racing for clues. It leads me to the end and I couldn’t guess who it is. I highly recommend the read to everyone!Pro: suspenseful, page turner, twist and turns, attention grabber, problem solving, mystery, heart-pumping, mind racingCon: romance came out of nowhereI rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Soho Teens for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com
    more
  • Stacee
    May 28, 2017
    I loved this premise and was quite eager to get into it. I liked Marnie. She's smart and an honest, good person. There are a few other characters who seemed a little one dimensional, but it worked for the story. Marnie's brother and grandma are both intriguing characters in their own way. Plot wise, it was weird in a good way. I would have liked more tension and creepiness, but I was captivated through the entire story. The idea of the tea leaf reading was interesting and a unique thing to have I loved this premise and was quite eager to get into it. I liked Marnie. She's smart and an honest, good person. There are a few other characters who seemed a little one dimensional, but it worked for the story. Marnie's brother and grandma are both intriguing characters in their own way. Plot wise, it was weird in a good way. I would have liked more tension and creepiness, but I was captivated through the entire story. The idea of the tea leaf reading was interesting and a unique thing to have things center around. It was made even better by the fact that Marnie was still sort of learning about it at times. Overall, it was a quick, intriguing read with a satisfying ending. **Huge thanks to SoHo Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Randomiris
    February 1, 2017
    I was already a fan of Arsenault and her last two books. Love & recommend her foray into YA.
  • Bailey
    November 21, 2016
    A solid, intriguing, and suspenseful read that left me unable to put it down even when it's 3am and I'm curled right up to my sleeping husband because I'm so freaked out. I loved it!
  • Jennybeast
    November 10, 2016
    Solid and interesting teen mystery, with a slight paranormal angle. Good, fast-paced read.Advanced reader's copy provided by Edelweiss
  • TheYALibrarian
    April 12, 2017
    Yay NetGAlley approved me for a arc I'm so excited!!!Please don't be disappointing.
  • Lydia
    December 4, 2016
    This book was so good in so many ways. 4.5 stars
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 1, 2017
    E ARC Available at Edelweiss Above the Treeline. I liked this, but it was more YA. While I personally will pick up anything with a tea cup on the cover, I don't think my students would. Will pass for now.
  • ril
    February 20, 2017
    This is what YA is lacking now... A solid story, great characters, and a mystery that isn't entirely clear from the fifteenth page!Marnie reads tea leaves for fun. When a girl at her school goes missing, she finds she isn't as inaccurate as she wants to be.
    more
  • Alanna
    January 9, 2017
    Set to release on June 13th, 2017, The Leaf Reader is Emily Arsenault's most recent novel. Like a contemporary take on Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle, Emily Asenault's Marnie Wells comes face-to-face with the occult, discovering she can tell the future by reading tea leaves (Disclaimer: I received an e-review copy of The Leaf Reader from Soho Teen via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review).The Leaf Reader had a strong start, but fell short as a result of a convoluted plot and very little pay-off Set to release on June 13th, 2017, The Leaf Reader is Emily Arsenault's most recent novel. Like a contemporary take on Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle, Emily Asenault's Marnie Wells comes face-to-face with the occult, discovering she can tell the future by reading tea leaves (Disclaimer: I received an e-review copy of The Leaf Reader from Soho Teen via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review).The Leaf Reader had a strong start, but fell short as a result of a convoluted plot and very little pay-off. Arsenault presented an interesting mystery, intriguing characters and an aspect of mysticism, but just didn't seem to be able to follow through and wrap-up when in came to concluding the novel.What I Liked:Marnie, the main protagonist of The Leaf Reader, had a very unique personality, and did quite a good job portraying an angsty teen from a questionable household. She's trying hard to be different, rather than fitting in the mold, and not just when it comes to her quirky habit of leaf reading. She's also a very strong female character, who doesn't just succumb to her emotions and become subservient to the delegated love interest the minute he's introduced, which is a refreshing change. Furthermore, the convoluted nature of the mystery was engaging. For the majority of the book, Arsenault does a magnificent job spinning a thrilling mystery that incorporates multiple elements of the plot, the least of which is Marnie's leaf reading and Matt Cotrell's ominous personality. Just when the reader thinks they have a grasp on what is going on, it turns out they don't, as Arsenault adds another dimension to the mystery that is Andrea Quinley's disappearance.What I Didn't Like:As previously mentioned, Arsenault started strong, but simply had no follow through. After establishing an engaging mystery, some strong characters and the concept of leaf reading, Arsenault simply dropped the ball. Leaf Reading quickly became a sideshow for most of the middle portion of the book, which resulted in the reader losing a feel for the whole aspect of Leaf Reading and Marnie's abilities.In addition, the mystery had a less than satisfying conclusion which definitely fell hopelessly short after the build up towards the answers for Andrea Quinley's disappearance. Furthermore, with the exception of Marnie, the characters were just all over the place, allowing for little to no character development. Moreover, Arsenault fell into a far too familiar "rich kid" trap, where the rich kids in her book fit nearly perfectly into the spoiled, yet hard done by (think "woe is me") rich kids who drink and complain about how spoiled they are nearly all the time. Really, its all a bit overdone and definitely not endearing when it comes to characters. However, the aspect I disliked the most was perhaps the last minute entry of mysticism beyond Leaf Reading. Prior to Marnie finally talking to her brother and grandmother about her Leaf Reading predictions, there wasn't so much as a hint of additional mysticism going on, and its addition to the story was unnecessary, and simply rang false.Final Verdict:The Leaf Reader had a lot of promise, but Arsenault simply fell short on delivering when it came to nearly every aspect of this book. Marnie's character and the quest to solve the mystery of Andrea Quinley's disappearance were engaging, but the wrap-up, Matt Cotrell and his spoiled friends, and the last minute entry of additional mysticism spoiled any previous success Arsenault had (2/5).Check out more reviews on my book blog One Page At A Time Books
    more
  • Shannon A
    November 11, 2016
    Marnie knows she doesn't fit in; she and her brother have been raised by there eccentric grandmother ever since their mother disappeared; and she has taken up reading tea leaves after reading a book found buried on a bookshelf. Soon everyone wants a reading, but when Marnie starts reading signs outside teacups, she finds herself in the middle of solving her town's biggest missing person case. A smart, thoughtful tale of suspense... with tea!
    more
  • sleepywriter
    May 7, 2017
    I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.Spoilers and a bit of swearing ahoy.Actual Rating: 2.5 starsI think this book will appeal to YA readers because, just like those readers, this book has no clue what it wants to be when it grows up.I'm not shitting you. The book goes every freaking place without ever actually deciding what kind of book it wants to be. This book is a jack of all trade, master of none. And that's very annoying. Because this book had so much potent I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.Spoilers and a bit of swearing ahoy.Actual Rating: 2.5 starsI think this book will appeal to YA readers because, just like those readers, this book has no clue what it wants to be when it grows up.I'm not shitting you. The book goes every freaking place without ever actually deciding what kind of book it wants to be. This book is a jack of all trade, master of none. And that's very annoying. Because this book had so much potential. Marnie lives in the Stars Hollow-esque town of Colds-something or other. While the summary describes her as the town freak, the actual book... Not so much. The characters she interacts with all seem to genuinely like her (at the very least, they aren't outwardly mean to her) and some respect her. They recognize that yes, her talent with tea reading is weird, but hey, it's a cool weird.Marnie somehow gets involved with the mystery of a girl who went missing last winter. Weird emails are being sent to Matt, who asks Marnie for a tea leaf reading to get to the bottom of the mystery (like, zoinks, Scoob!). Then Marnie somehow becomes involved in the mystery because Plot. Don't ask me 'cause I'm still not 100% sure what went down.After that, it's just a tangled mess that was woven. A romance tries to develop, but never goes anywhere and never actually makes any freaking sense. Character development tries to happen, but again, really doesn't go anywhere. Flat characters, ahoy, fellow readers. The author tries to write a few plot twists, but they end up being more like plot curves. However, the reader doesn't spot them coming because, hey, that would require the book to make logical sense. Which. Trust me. It doesn't. There are plot holes in this book big enough to drive a semi though. This is just 240 pages of stuff that goes nowhere. But, hey, at least it was a quick read.
    more
  • Ashley
    May 13, 2017
    Very enjoyable read, following the path of Marnie, who reads tea leaves for fun, but when her readings become more accurate, she gets pulled into a suspenseful, mysterious missing person case. I hope to read other things by Arsenault. Thank you to Netgalley for the advanced copy.
    more
  • Aoife
    April 14, 2017
    The Leaf Reader took me pleasantly by surprise. I requested it from NetGalley some time ago and then promptly forgot all about it. When I stumbled across it on a day off I did not expect to finish it that same day. It's a relatively short read but it's pacy and intriguing and I enjoyed it a lot. Plenty of magic realism and just enough suspense. Well worth picking up.
    more
  • Bookclubct
    March 8, 2017
    We LOVED this book and are excited to host the author at our bookstore June 24, 2017 11:00-12:30! Event details & rsvp: https://www.facebook.com/events/12358...
Write a review