Josie and the Pussycats Vol. 1
READ THE LATEST, SUREFIRE TOP-OF-THE-CHARTS NEW RIVERDALE SERIES! JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS VOL. 1 is the first collection of an all-new take onthe world's biggest comic book band. Marguerite Bennett (DC Comics' Bombshells, Marvel's A-Force) and co-writer Cameron DeOrdio team with Audrey Mok (Heroine Chic) to retell the origin and story behind the music for Josie, Valerie, and Melody. Friends, countrymen, lend me your long tails and ears for hats--the Pussycats are back! In this series kick-off, Josie's getting the band together to help achieve her dreams of musical stardom. But for the group to last, it needs a strong foundation of friendship and trust. Can the girls get going, or will Alexandra Cabot's plotting put a stop to the whole thing? Don't miss comics' supreme songstresses' return to the limelight in this exciting first volume!

Josie and the Pussycats Vol. 1 Details

TitleJosie and the Pussycats Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherArchie Comic Publications
ISBN1682559890
ISBN-139781682559895
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Graphic Novels Comics, Young Adult

Josie and the Pussycats Vol. 1 Review

  • Jesse Nicholas
    June 27, 2017
    The story was alright. I found myself skimming over quite a bit of it. There was a lot of dialogue at times. Also, I don't think there needed to be THAT many pop culture references. I get their were trying to be current and such, but it was getting to be a bit too much.Don't think I will continuing on with the next volume unfortunately.
    more
  • Amanda
    April 3, 2017
    talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show-stopping, spectacular, never-the-same, totally unique
  • Woowott
    June 18, 2017
    2.5 stars. I was excited when I saw this at B&N on the shelf. Of course, I love me some Archie Comics, and I grew up reading all the different characters. And I'm cool with the new take on the Pussycats. I really enjoyed Val and Mel, and I'm glad Alexandra has a bit more depth. But I don't feel like Josie's and Alan M.'s development was very well drawn. It's told rather than effectively shown, how Josie behaves. I wasn't quite buying it at first. The choice to make Alan M. nearly 30 was perp 2.5 stars. I was excited when I saw this at B&N on the shelf. Of course, I love me some Archie Comics, and I grew up reading all the different characters. And I'm cool with the new take on the Pussycats. I really enjoyed Val and Mel, and I'm glad Alexandra has a bit more depth. But I don't feel like Josie's and Alan M.'s development was very well drawn. It's told rather than effectively shown, how Josie behaves. I wasn't quite buying it at first. The choice to make Alan M. nearly 30 was perplexing to me too. But whatevs, I can handle the choices. But I wasn't so fine with the absurdist plots with badly written action. It dragged the story down. And whilst it WAS very clever, I feel as though it was more interested in being clever than actually communicating a coherent story, even an absurdist coherent story. Yay for the feminism, but nay for the overweening cleverness.
    more
  • NicAlba
    June 25, 2017
    Of the new Archie graphic novels, Josie & the Pussycats is the most mature while still retaining the wonderful ridiculousness of comic book logic and storylines. I love the fact that the girls are still so very true to themselves as they mature, grow, and figure out what they want from life as young women in their 20s in this present age. They are relatable, lovable, not at all perfect, but most certainly bad-ass at united girl power and friendship. I can't wait for the next volume! This is Of the new Archie graphic novels, Josie & the Pussycats is the most mature while still retaining the wonderful ridiculousness of comic book logic and storylines. I love the fact that the girls are still so very true to themselves as they mature, grow, and figure out what they want from life as young women in their 20s in this present age. They are relatable, lovable, not at all perfect, but most certainly bad-ass at united girl power and friendship. I can't wait for the next volume! This is my favorite of the revamped Archie characters. They are not to be inderestimated, nor should this book be underestimated either. I love it a lot! :)
    more
  • Sarah
    June 19, 2017
    Once again, the new Archie reboots are KILLING IT! Fun, meta and occasionally bizarre, the humor laced throughout is perfect for those whose sensibility flows in the direction of Felicia Day, Joss Whedon and similar ilk of the geek-verse. Bringing back the sexy, random crime-fighting for which the Pussycats are best known, this incarnation is a bit more mature without losing the innocence and good-natured WTF-ness.
    more
  • Russell Grant
    June 21, 2017
    Collects the first 5 issues. It's not bad, the thing that left me flat is the usual problem with comics about bands. The "songs" seem dumb when written out, and the weird thing with this one is that Josie is pretty unlikable compared to other two.It seems to set up things for something better at the end, and it is positive writing for the older teen set. I don't think I need to go on the ride though.
    more
  • Sara
    June 29, 2017
    Cute. There's definitely a juvenile-ness to some of this (even with implied sex, yes, still!) that I get, because Archie Comics, but also that felt a little weird with the Pussycats being grown-ass women. But Val remains, as always, the best part of anything ever, and this Mel was weird but not in a bad way necessarily, and anyway this was cute.
    more
  • Alianor
    May 30, 2017
    I really wanted to love this comic but I was let down. The storyline is chatoic and in parts utterly without context which is usually fine in a comic but this is serialized so the episodic treatment doesn't work well.
  • Hilary
    June 30, 2017
    I really like the style. The fourth wall breaks are just under too much - interesting to see if they can keep that up without getting annoying. But it's working so far, and I'm loving the humor. #effinghomonyms
  • Hannah
    June 25, 2017
    I wanted to like this more but all the pop culture references, the breaking of the 4th wall and the "relationship" Alan, the manager, has with Josie is too annoying. Even with a Supernatural reference I still didn't like it \_(ツ)_/ I wanted to like this more but all the pop culture references, the breaking of the 4th wall and the "relationship" Alan, the manager, has with Josie is too annoying. Even with a Supernatural reference I still didn't like it ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    more
  • Jim Leesch
    June 20, 2017
    Tongue in cheek and sillier even than the other offerings in new Riverdale.
  • Emma
    June 18, 2017
    This was really entertaining. Lots of quippy dialogue, puns galore, forth wall breaks, and some great art. Really loving the whole Archie reboot series.
  • Leah
    May 28, 2017
    It was really clever and meta, and a really fresh and humorous take on Josie, Melody and Valerie. Can't wait for more.
  • Kimberly
    June 2, 2017
    2.5 stars
  • Mia
    February 20, 2017
    great beginning, but I really wish it had been longer. this was more issue 1 than volume 1.
Write a review