Justice League vs. Suicide Squad
The day that Amanda Waller has long dreaded has finally come to pass: the Justice League has discovered the existence of Task Force X! America’s paragons of truth & justice won’t take well to a government-sponsored team of black ops super-villains (with bombs implanted in their heads), but before the Justice League can shut down the Suicide Squad, a bigger problem looms: another deadly strike team is lurking in the shadows, one that could expose dark secrets throughout the DC Universe, with ties to the hidden truths of DC Universe: Rebirth. Longtime enemies such as Batman & Deadshot, the Flash & Boomerang, & Wonder Woman & Harley Quinn will have to put aside their differences when an evil threat once thought lost to the DC Universe makes their return.Collecting: Justice League vs. Suicide Squad 1-6, Justice League 12-13, Suicide Squad 8-10

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad Details

TitleJustice League vs. Suicide Squad
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401272266
ISBN-139781401272265
Number of pages312 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Dc Comics

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad Review

  • Logan
    March 5, 2017
    A very good event! So I guess this is DCs first big event since rebirth, (except for a few small Batman events), and its very good! So the story has The Justice League finding out about The Suicide Squad, so they do the hero thing, and decide to go stop them, meanwhile Maxwell Lord frees a bunch of villains from Amanda Waller's original Suicide Squad glory team, and they now wanna kill Amanda Waller! The Story is not the greatest I've read, but it does make for a pretty strong event! Its also hi A very good event! So I guess this is DCs first big event since rebirth, (except for a few small Batman events), and its very good! So the story has The Justice League finding out about The Suicide Squad, so they do the hero thing, and decide to go stop them, meanwhile Maxwell Lord frees a bunch of villains from Amanda Waller's original Suicide Squad glory team, and they now wanna kill Amanda Waller! The Story is not the greatest I've read, but it does make for a pretty strong event! Its also highly entertaining to watch The Justice League and Suicide Squad duke it out in battle, and quite liked how the pitted each JL member against an SS member, and to read the banter back and forth! Luckily though this trade does include the tie in issues, which is smart since some readers often complain that they have to go buy other trades to read tie ins, with events like this, so I'm glad DC fixed that issue! The tie ins are pretty good, some are essential like the two that give back stories for both Maxwell Lord and the other villains, while others are nice to read, but not really that essential! Also the Main man Lobo is in this, which was awesome! Overall, a pretty good event!
    more
  • Liam
    January 30, 2017
    Now THIS is how you do a crossover event; it was so well done, actually had a good story and all the characters were in character!!! I must admit I feel as though it all escalated a little quickly and seemed to be easily resolved in the end but it is still an extremely strong event for DC!
    more
  • Candy Atkins
    January 3, 2017
    I love the artwork in this one. There are some group shots that are amazing. I don’t believe this is a starter series. You need to know these characters, at least a little or it’s not going to make sense. There is a ton of intro and set up. It mainly focuses on the Suicide Squad, which should mean that the Justice League will be the focus of the next one. Batman tells the JL about SS and I think the moral implications are going to resonate through the series with Superman and Wonder Woman obviou I love the artwork in this one. There are some group shots that are amazing. I don’t believe this is a starter series. You need to know these characters, at least a little or it’s not going to make sense. There is a ton of intro and set up. It mainly focuses on the Suicide Squad, which should mean that the Justice League will be the focus of the next one. Batman tells the JL about SS and I think the moral implications are going to resonate through the series with Superman and Wonder Woman obviously having serious issues with it. Although, it’s Flash who speaks out. Killer Frost is very active. I'm thinking she's going to be added to the SS movie in order to beef up their power. Lobo is also there, which makes me believe they're testing him for his own movie. The DC has the best villains and Maxwell Lord and Amanda Waller are great. Overall I like where it's going. But if Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn fight I will be seriously pissed. (deep breath) But that hasn't happened yet so I withhold judgment.
    more
  • Arya Stark
    February 1, 2017
    Was OK didn't think much of the main villain or his crew apart from Lobo who normally is very good.Thought some parts of the story made JL look far weaker then they are but what really stood out for me was Killer Frost and the direction they have taken the character in she could potentially be huge in the next few years.The new Justice League that is starting up does seem to be one to look out for.But overall with this main villain is sort of dumb and boring, action scenes are OK, story is predi Was OK didn't think much of the main villain or his crew apart from Lobo who normally is very good.Thought some parts of the story made JL look far weaker then they are but what really stood out for me was Killer Frost and the direction they have taken the character in she could potentially be huge in the next few years.The new Justice League that is starting up does seem to be one to look out for.But overall with this main villain is sort of dumb and boring, action scenes are OK, story is predictable and JL is given a short straw.
    more
  • Alan
    March 20, 2017
    Since I haven't really kept up with the Suicide Squad since the John Ostrander days and JLA since before Flashpoint, Rebirth, etc., I figured why not read a mini that was done to cash in on the Suicide Squad movie (which I didn't dislike as much as I thought I would). There are some things that Williamson did with the characters that I did like. I think he pretty much gets Amanda Waller and he does OK with the JLA big guns. Of the squad characters I think he gets the characters notes right on De Since I haven't really kept up with the Suicide Squad since the John Ostrander days and JLA since before Flashpoint, Rebirth, etc., I figured why not read a mini that was done to cash in on the Suicide Squad movie (which I didn't dislike as much as I thought I would). There are some things that Williamson did with the characters that I did like. I think he pretty much gets Amanda Waller and he does OK with the JLA big guns. Of the squad characters I think he gets the characters notes right on Deadshot and Boomerang, which I like as Deadshot was one of my favorite Squad characters during the Ostrander run.Look, stories like this aren't supposed to be nothing more Hollywood blockbuster/punch em ups (or is it outs). Williamson does a nice Rebirth reintroduction of Eclipso, one that I think will work down the road if DC intends to brings that villain back on a regular basis (which is my belief after reading this).Side note: I'll eventually catch up on the extra JLA and Squad issues included in the trade. I read this as digital floppies.
    more
  • Brendan Nicholls
    March 4, 2017
    The overall plot is okay but execution is anything but perfect. I'm not a huge fan of the team based stuff and it tends to be very corny, Cyborg is essentially one dimensional and not a Martian Manhunter by any means. The collection had strong moments surrounding by another outlandish plot device, I really don't like these huge twists that hinge on a plan going according to plan. This could've been better and it's another crossover event that doesn't click well.
    more
  • Diego López Ocón
    January 25, 2017
    Interesting from beggining to end. Is 'debatable that this comic was made because of the popularity or hate coming from the the Suicide Squad movie and the up-coming movie of the Justice League. But still, this was a good story, even the tie-ins are well placed. The battles were epic, the chemistry between each pair of heroe and villain was perfect and interesting to see. I still don't decide to like or not the one between Wonder Woman and Harley. I'm glad Killer Frost got back to be impor Interesting from beggining to end. Is 'debatable that this comic was made because of the popularity or hate coming from the the Suicide Squad movie and the up-coming movie of the Justice League. But still, this was a good story, even the tie-ins are well placed. The battles were epic, the chemistry between each pair of heroe and villain was perfect and interesting to see. I still don't decide to like or not the one between Wonder Woman and Harley. I'm glad Killer Frost got back to be important inside DC, she has been forgotten for years, and how the story went around her development wasn't something I didn't expected.Max Lord is back, with a more interesting story this time, but still being the crying baby he has always been. He reunites a lot of who-the-hell-are-these-guys? and Lobo, then goes on with his plan until things get out his hand (as always). What makes this event entertaining is that every issue is different one from another. Each panel brings a new concept to what we have been getting the last few years. Important reading for Rebirth.
    more
  • Max Van Dyke
    January 25, 2017
    Overall this book definitely lived up to the hype. Despite the pretty generic plot outline, the writing is very good and Williamson really did a great job with the chemistry between the characters and the personalities of each character comes out really strong in this.I also was pleased to see Killer Frost play such a critical role in this event. With her being such a presence in the Flash TV show of late it was nice to see her get some love. Admittedly, the story gets a little bland around issu Overall this book definitely lived up to the hype. Despite the pretty generic plot outline, the writing is very good and Williamson really did a great job with the chemistry between the characters and the personalities of each character comes out really strong in this.I also was pleased to see Killer Frost play such a critical role in this event. With her being such a presence in the Flash TV show of late it was nice to see her get some love. Admittedly, the story gets a little bland around issues #3 and #4 and for that I was going to give it 3 stars, but the first and last issues were so strong, as was the second, that I bumped it up to 4. The tie-in issues are also good and fit nicely into the story. Overall this was a really good story and serves nicely as the first major event of the DC rebirth universe, despite the basic plot line.
    more
  • Mike Jorgensen
    February 2, 2017
    I followed this one in the comics and really enjoyed it! I kind of thought it was a stupid gimmick at first, but it was a fun story and great artwork. The twist is that it was actually a partnership between JL and SS against the original suicide squad. Amanda Waller shows, once again, that she is infinitely cunning as she outsmarts and manipulates even Batman.
    more
  • সাদমান হুসাইন
    February 1, 2017
    As usual with all comic events, the bigger the hype, the smaller the payoff.Good for time pass. Won't open your eyes or instill an awe factors like some of the recent DC events.DC is losing the steam it got since their Rebirth. Hope they cover up the slack soon.
    more
  • bookstorecat
    January 29, 2017
    Read the issues, including tie-ins, as they came out. It's a fun read, but a little anticlimactic. Like a lot of "events," it just feels like everything gets wrapped up a bit too quickly at the end.
  • Drea Richardson
    January 30, 2017
    *tutting noise* Could've been an e-mail.
  • Iris Nevers
    March 9, 2017
    I didn't read the Suicide Squad tie ins, but they weren't needed. The main event completely covered everything you needed to know. This is definitely how events should be done and Marvel might want to take a page from DC's book.
  • Dan
    February 21, 2017
    This book suffers from the same problem I see in all the Marvel movies: the story plays second fiddle to scenes where well-known heroes or villains punch each other, and then some other contrived story element makes those same heroes or villains punch some other hero or villain than the one they were just punching. This is the sort of thing that made me hate comic books as a young adult. I prefer my content to be more "cerebral", and DC comics are just not trying to offer this much lately.And, G This book suffers from the same problem I see in all the Marvel movies: the story plays second fiddle to scenes where well-known heroes or villains punch each other, and then some other contrived story element makes those same heroes or villains punch some other hero or villain than the one they were just punching. This is the sort of thing that made me hate comic books as a young adult. I prefer my content to be more "cerebral", and DC comics are just not trying to offer this much lately.And, God I hope the premise of this story doesn't end up on-screen...
    more
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    February 10, 2017
    This is the way an event is supposed to be done!! All the issues came out on time and all the tie-in issues were not essential but more or less "icing on the cake". This book did not disappoint and was awesome! It had a really nice throwback feel akin to old comics events of the late 80s and early 90s. This was an extremely enjoyable read and delivers on its premise and does not take itself too seriously.
    more
  • Craig Evans
    February 13, 2017
    The first Rebirth crossover! What did I think? I liked it! More than I thought I would. It was plausible, action packed and entertaining! Well done DC!
  • Daniel Falconer
    February 11, 2017
    Honestly an amazing storyline from start to finish. I could totally see this storyline being adapted for the big screen and the DCEU, perhaps bridging the gap between the upcoming Justice League movie and the next slate of DCEU movies, such as JL2, SS2 and Gotham City Sirens.
    more
  • Vangelis Kritikos
    February 9, 2017
    Third star is due to the great Epilogue focus on Amanda Waller.
  • Martin Králik
    January 26, 2017
    Presne takto ma vyzerat event. Sest casti hlavnej miniserie, pat tie-inov. Hlacna seria cista akcia a priprava dalsich udalosti (hlavnej novej Justice League of America, ale jemne teasovala aj JSA a LSH). Tie-iny dali dostatocny priestor vykresleniu postav, A to cele za dva mesiace. K dokolanosti chybala iba lepsia grafika na niektorych miestach.
    more
  • Rana
    December 27, 2016
    I have to say that the covers are really cool. With too many roads intersecting in this series it got to be good.
Write a review