First We Were IV
It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion.

First We Were IV Details

TitleFirst We Were IV
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN1481478427
ISBN-139781481478427
Number of pages448 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery, Thriller

First We Were IV Review

  • Lala BooksandLala
    June 26, 2017
    definitely my favourite book from this author.
  • Mandy
    September 30, 2016
    9/30/16:I'm already obsessed with that title - even though it took me an embarrassingly long time to figure it out.5/18/17:*I was sent a physical ARC by the publisher Simon & Schuster and Sirowy's publicist for an honest review - thank you so much for sending me over a copy since you were my first and I might have cried a bit XD*4.5 crownsThe moment that I saw that book was coming out - I knew I had to have it. Um, the title was amazing. The description was amazing. When the cover came out, 9/30/16:I'm already obsessed with that title - even though it took me an embarrassingly long time to figure it out.5/18/17:*I was sent a physical ARC by the publisher Simon & Schuster and Sirowy's publicist for an honest review - thank you so much for sending me over a copy since you were my first and I might have cried a bit XD*4.5 crownsThe moment that I saw that book was coming out - I knew I had to have it. Um, the title was amazing. The description was amazing. When the cover came out, it was amazing. Sirowy is amazing. EVERYTHING IS AMAZING. So I knew I had to have the book. And I literally gained one of my best reviews ever with an enlightening:"I'm already obsessed with that title - even though it took me an embarrassingly long time to figure it out."Yes, that became my second or third most liked review on Goodreads. Thanks being confused by roman numerals, because you helped a girl out? I'm totally sure that's what got me a copy. XDOkay, this book lived up to all of my expectations. IT WAS SO TWISTY GOOD. Sirowy is a master of the twist and such darkness. It's creepy, it's weird, it's haunting, it's beautiful. Sirowy manages to do this all in one novel and I literally just sit there going, Omigosh, can I have 20 more books of this?Sirowy has stunningly beautiful writing. I was floored by her work in The Telling, and she did it yet again with this novel. There are quotes that are just so beautifully done. Her writing isn't the way that Roshani Chokshi is - with poetry and beauty. But it's something that strikes you right to the core with these dark, haunting quotes. It's the way that I love Megan Miranda's work - quotes that will stick with you not for their beauty but because they're their own poetry of darkness. I can only wish I could ever write like that.The whole premise was so intriguing as well. I will admit that it was a bit slow to start, only because I didn't expect that kind of beginning. However, it worked, and it provided such an interesting way to begin, building up to insanity coming. I've never read a book quite like this, and I don't think I ever will. I really don't want to say too much about the plot, since I'm not even quite sure I could do it justice and don't wait to spoil anything for anyone because dear gosh, there were some twists and turns. The group aspect was the best. The dynamics were amazing. I fell for each one of the members of the group, and Sirowy fleshed them out. I could easily pick the people out of a lineup, and each one of the group brought something new and broken to the story. Henry was my favorite, but I did adore everyone in the group in their own different ways. There is some romance - and an adorable ship - but the truth is I really didn't care, because the story was so enthralling. But the ship was adorable. I was all for it.AND THAT ENDING, THOUGH. :O :O :O I was shocked and awed. So many OMG's. The only reason that I took a .5 off is not even the book's fault. A lot of the things that the society was doing - so of them are so :O worthy - I just didn't agree with. It was things that I would never do, and I'm like, oh, children, you should really not be doing THAT. NO-NO. I...I felt like the King Triton in a sea of Ariels. I'm not sure if any of you have seen the thing on Tumblr where it's like, you know you are too old to be watching Disney when you start agreeing with King Triton instead of Ariel about land being too dangerous (um, never too old for Disney, though XD). And that's how I felt. XD But...the things made sense for the story and the characters. My personality type was just like NO, GIRL, NO, NO. Again, not the book's fault. Only why it's a negative .5 off.Oh, this book was everything I wanted it to be. Sirowy has made me a lifelong fan now, and I love how she makes these characters and story dark, twisty, and morally complicated. I'm so happy that I have a copy of this on pre-order, and I cannot wait for more of Sirowy's book. If you're looking for beautiful writing, something dark and weird and wonderful, or just a good story, this book is for you. 5 crowns and an Anna rating!
    more
  • YA and Wine
    March 29, 2017
    This is the first book of Sirowy's that I've read, and it will definitely not be the last! This book starts with a hint of a mystery, and then leads straight into another mystery. Watching Sirowy weave the two together into one seamless plot-line was fascinating. There's also some elements of horror sprinkled throughout the story that just gave me the chills in the best way.AND there's a secret society in this book, a secret society run by teenagers that effectively calls out the adult citizens This is the first book of Sirowy's that I've read, and it will definitely not be the last! This book starts with a hint of a mystery, and then leads straight into another mystery. Watching Sirowy weave the two together into one seamless plot-line was fascinating. There's also some elements of horror sprinkled throughout the story that just gave me the chills in the best way.AND there's a secret society in this book, a secret society run by teenagers that effectively calls out the adult citizens of their small town on their corruption.The characters were very well-written. Each member of the Order has their own, individual personality and quirks, and the way they all interact with one another is authentic and wildly entertaining. This is one of those books that you're sad to see come to an end, because you don't want to say goodbye to the characters yet.I've said this in previous reviews, but setting a mystery/thriller in a small town is genius. The idea that people who you think you know everything about are capable of such treacherous acts is truly terrifying and definitely ups the suspense.The ending of this book is just WOW. I cannot recommend this one highly enough.
    more
  • Cookie
    June 27, 2017
    rip. look, i tried so, so hard. but it was just sooo boring. it doesn't have a lot of dialogue, so it's mostly the main character's inner thoughts or memories that take up page time and it's soooo dull.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 19, 2016
    For some reason, I am getting How to Get Away with Murder vibes and that has me excited.
  • Jessica Taylor
    February 24, 2017
    Fast-paced, thrilling, and darkly entertaining. Come for the plot twists but revel in the delicious, gorgeous writing. This is my absolute favorite of Alexandra Sirowy’s novels!
  • Lindsay
    June 3, 2017
    Izzie would do anything for her best friends Vivian, Harry, and Graham. They are the social pariahs at their high school, targeted by the popular crowd, and one night they decide to do something epic in their town. Years earlier, they stumbled upon a dead girl that haunted them for years, especially since the case was ignored by police. They vow to get revenge for the lack of inspection by the police and mayor who warned the kids to keep their lips sealed about the discovery. They create the Ord Izzie would do anything for her best friends Vivian, Harry, and Graham. They are the social pariahs at their high school, targeted by the popular crowd, and one night they decide to do something epic in their town. Years earlier, they stumbled upon a dead girl that haunted them for years, especially since the case was ignored by police. They vow to get revenge for the lack of inspection by the police and mayor who warned the kids to keep their lips sealed about the discovery. They create the Order of IV and run around at night, painting the town red, and leaving signs to remind the town of the unsolved murder. Their nightly vigilantes become the talk of the town and soon the popular kids are begging to become recruits to their secret Order. Tension grows amongst the four friends as they take in the recruits and plan the ultimate revenge on the town. A plan that costs them everything.I started off hooked, wanting to know who murdered Goldilocks, and what the Order would do to enact revenge on the people who washed away evidence and refused to investigate the case. But as the story progressed, none of the characters really developed—Izzie had a dull, detached voice that repelled me—romances sprouted up from nowhere, and suddenly Izzie was consumed with revenge to punish those who did Goldilocks wrong. The ending was supposed to be powerful, reminding us not to get caught up with our egos and strive to be authoritative, but in all honesty I was just glad to have finished the long read.I received an ARC of First We Were IV from Edelweiss.
    more
  • HNGC Library
    June 16, 2017
    Izzie and her three best friends have always been on the outside of the high school social scene. Sometimes they have been bullied, other times they have been ignored. Usually they rise above the name-calling but with college looming they decide they need to make their peers (and town) wake up and take notice. So the four form a secret society intent on wrecking havoc. At first the goal is to make those in authority and have covered up crimes pay for their transgressions. But then the thirst for Izzie and her three best friends have always been on the outside of the high school social scene. Sometimes they have been bullied, other times they have been ignored. Usually they rise above the name-calling but with college looming they decide they need to make their peers (and town) wake up and take notice. So the four form a secret society intent on wrecking havoc. At first the goal is to make those in authority and have covered up crimes pay for their transgressions. But then the thirst for revenge becomes more twisted and diabolical. Lizzie and her friends decide to include the bullies into the society with the thought of teaching them a lesson. There are a few troubling aspects of this novel. The parents are virtually non-existent, the book is a bit too long, and it's hard to buy that everyone in authority would be so clueless to the identities of those causing all the mischief/vandalism. - (Only in novels are police really that out of touch.)
    more
  • Shauna Yusko
    June 12, 2017
    Felt a little long, but still one of those books that you can't put down. Because you know something is going to happen but you don't know exactly what. A little like How to Get Away with Murder.
  • Xandra (Literary Legionnaire)
    April 16, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    June 2, 2017
    Review to come July 17th
  • Angelina
    March 23, 2017
    rating to come :)
  • Alexandra Sirowy
    October 30, 2016
Write a review