Best Friends Forever
How well do you really know your best friend?Kat Grant and Alice Campbell have a friendship forged in shared confidences and long lunches lubricated by expensive wine. Though they’re very different women—the artsy socialite and the struggling suburbanite—they’re each other’s rocks. But even rocks crumble under pressure. Like when Kat’s financier husband, Howard, plunges to his death from the second-floor balcony of their South Florida mansion.Howard was a jerk, a drunk, a bully and, police say, a murder victim. The questions begin piling up. Like why Kat has suddenly gone dark: no calls, no texts and no chance her wealthy family will let Alice see her. Why investigators are looking so hard in Alice’s direction. Who stands to get hurt next. And who is the cool liar—the masterful manipulator behind it all.

Best Friends Forever Details

TitleBest Friends Forever
Author
ReleaseJan 23rd, 2018
PublisherMIRA
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Suspense

Best Friends Forever Review

  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    BEST FRIENDS FOREVER is due to be released January 23, 2018. For all my influential reader friends, you will not regret choosing this one on NetGalley! It is a tight, well written story of two women, Alice and Kat, who meet accidentally at an airport. They become friends and over the next three years we observe how their personal and marital relationships go through ups and downs. This is a bit of an all female twist on THE KIND WORTH KILLING. I adore that book! It is a member of my TWISTER HALL BEST FRIENDS FOREVER is due to be released January 23, 2018. For all my influential reader friends, you will not regret choosing this one on NetGalley! It is a tight, well written story of two women, Alice and Kat, who meet accidentally at an airport. They become friends and over the next three years we observe how their personal and marital relationships go through ups and downs. This is a bit of an all female twist on THE KIND WORTH KILLING. I adore that book! It is a member of my TWISTER HALL OF FAME http://www.booksbejeweled.comMy curiosity was immediately piqued on the first page when Alice relates how she was arrested for murder this morning while making breakfast for her family. WHAAAT? It is a quick fire opening and the pace does not let up for the entire novel. I could not put it down! It is a short four hour read and it would be perfect to read during a commute or traveling. There is a very simple plot, nothing complicated to figure out. Two women become friends and three years later, one is arrested for the murder of the other's husband. Margot Hunt is an extremely talented writer. I will definitely read her next book. She writes in a clear, easy style and after the stinkers I've read lately, this is nothing to sneeze at! Her characters and their situations have a ring of truth and realism that is often lacking in psychological suspense. The main characters and their families are not all likable, but relatable for sure. I especially like how Hunt assumes her readers are smart and not in the third grade. KUDOS for writers like that! Because SMART PEOPLE READ. Right?Okay, you may have noticed I'm not gaga over this one, despite the four stars. I think it is because the ending left me feeling underwhelmed. There is a twist, but you will figure it out before then. This book is lacking a wow factor and I doubt I will be able to remember it much longer than today. (Sad face) I don't want that to hold you back from reading it though, because I thoroughly enjoyed it while I was reading.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    What an impressive debut by Margot Hunt! 4++++ stars! Best Friends Forever is a fast paced and heart pumping thriller that grabs you from the first page. Let me ask you... how well do YOU know your friends?! Kat Grant and Alice Campbell met one another for the first time at the airport. Kat and Alice are completely opposite from one another.. yet have built a strong connection. Kat Grant is a wealthy social butterfly who owns an art gallery married to Howard. Alice is married with two children.. What an impressive debut by Margot Hunt! 4++++ stars! Best Friends Forever is a fast paced and heart pumping thriller that grabs you from the first page. Let me ask you... how well do YOU know your friends?! Kat Grant and Alice Campbell met one another for the first time at the airport. Kat and Alice are completely opposite from one another.. yet have built a strong connection. Kat Grant is a wealthy social butterfly who owns an art gallery married to Howard. Alice is married with two children.. and struggling living a middle class life. Kat and Alice find that their friendship is what is holding them both together. Kat and Alice share every secret with one another... even the deadliest skeletons we all may have in our closets.....One night... Kat's husband Howard is found dead in their beautiful mansion in Florida. What happened to Howard? The police start questioning what exactly unfolded that night that Howard died..... which he all of a sudden is declared a murder victim.Alice starts freaking out and is trying to get a hold of Kat. BUT, of course no one can get a hold of Alice... except her family. Slowly.... dark and creepy details start to come forward about both Kat and Alice. Who is lying? Who is really responsible for Howard's death?This book was an extremely impressive debut. The author fooled me... I definitely did not see that ending coming. WOW! Highly recommended. I thoroughly enjoyed this and am looking forward to seeing more from Margot Hunt.Thank you to Netgalley, Harlequin, and Margot Hunt for an advanced arc in an exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date is 1/23/18.
    more
  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
    January 1, 1970
    EXCERPT: Suddenly it all became clear. Kat wasn’t just wealthy. She came from capital M money. The sort of money that doesn't just last a lifetime, but through multiple generations thereafter. It would be nothing to a multimillionaire to set up his daughter in a Palm Beach art gallery. Just a carrot to tempt his headstrong daughter to return home to South Florida. I had never thought of myself as a covetous person and firmly believed jealousy was wasted energy. There would always be someone with EXCERPT: Suddenly it all became clear. Kat wasn’t just wealthy. She came from capital M money. The sort of money that doesn't just last a lifetime, but through multiple generations thereafter. It would be nothing to a multimillionaire to set up his daughter in a Palm Beach art gallery. Just a carrot to tempt his headstrong daughter to return home to South Florida. I had never thought of myself as a covetous person and firmly believed jealousy was wasted energy. There would always be someone with more than you, any way you chose to measure it - intelligence, beauty, wealth, happiness. Even so, it was hard not to look around the beautiful home of the woman who was quickly becoming one of my closest confidantes, remember the pile of unpaid bills on my desk at home and not whine silently, 'It's not fair.' Of course, life wasn't fair. But sometimes the sheer magnitude of the unfairness could stick in your throat like a bitter pill.THE BLURB: How well do you really know your best friend?Kat Grant and Alice Campbell have a friendship forged in shared confidences and long lunches lubricated by expensive wine. Though they’re very different women—the artsy socialite and the struggling suburbanite—they’re each other’s rocks. But even rocks crumble under pressure. Like when Kat’s financier husband, Howard, plunges to his death from the second-floor balcony of their South Florida mansion.Howard was a jerk, a drunk, a bully and, police say, a murder victim. The questions begin piling up. Like why Kat has suddenly gone dark: no calls, no texts and no chance her wealthy family will let Alice see her. Why investigators are looking so hard in Alice’s direction. Who stands to get hurt next. And who is the cool liar—the masterful manipulator behind it all.MY THOUGHTS: There are a lot of books currently out there claiming to be psychological thrillers, but don't even come close. Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt is the real deal. It is a superb read. Don't be fooled, as I was, by the chick-lit like start to the book. This book has depth and character. The story is told from Alice’s point of view, over two converging time lines - the current time from when Alice is first interviewed about Howard's murder, and from three years earlier when Kat and Alice first meet. Best Friends Forever is based on two premises- 'Everyone lies about something.' The trick being to pick out the truth from the lies; and 'Everything looks better from a distance.' Especially other people's lives. Unless you are living it, you only know what they want you to know. I read this overnight because I simply could not bear to stop reading. 4.5 very bright stars Thank you to Harlequin Australia via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the 'about' page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system. This review and others are also published on my blog sandysbookaday.wordpress.com https://sandysbookaday.wordpress.com/...
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    Best friends forever and ever. I hate to say I figured out the ending to this one early on, but it was still a well-written thriller that will keep you turning the pages to see how the story unfolds. Alice and Nat are best friends from different sides of the track who have forged an unlikely friendship after meeting at the airport. Their personalities are well-developed and their relationship is fascinating in its dynamics. The chapters alternate between past and present which gives the reader a Best friends forever and ever. I hate to say I figured out the ending to this one early on, but it was still a well-written thriller that will keep you turning the pages to see how the story unfolds. Alice and Nat are best friends from different sides of the track who have forged an unlikely friendship after meeting at the airport. Their personalities are well-developed and their relationship is fascinating in its dynamics. The chapters alternate between past and present which gives the reader an interesting sense of how their relationship has developed throughout the years. I found myself not connecting with either of the ladies, but then again, this is also what kept me reading - trying to understand the persona of characters for which I can’t relate to is something that fascinates me with reading. Several aspects of police procedural part of the story seemed a bit far-fetched and unlikely to me. I had to suspend disbelief a few times in this area to really get into the nitty gritty of the story. An interesting thriller, but for me personally, it wasn’t anything that I haven’t seen before. Thank you to Netgalley, the author and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt is another thriller that I can easily say grabbed me from the opening pages and just wouldn’t let go. Dropping into Alice’s life we know she is a busy wife and mother who never expected to find the police on her doorstep but that is just what happened to her one morning as she was making breakfast before getting her children off to school.Alice’s friend’s husband had died recently from what she thought was a tragic accident so why are the police wanting to que Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt is another thriller that I can easily say grabbed me from the opening pages and just wouldn’t let go. Dropping into Alice’s life we know she is a busy wife and mother who never expected to find the police on her doorstep but that is just what happened to her one morning as she was making breakfast before getting her children off to school.Alice’s friend’s husband had died recently from what she thought was a tragic accident so why are the police wanting to question her?? But as Alice goes through the interview she learns that the police think that Kat’s husband may have been pushed instead of falling to his death and the police may even be looking her way. A frantic Alice wants nothing more than her best friend but Kat hasn’t been in contact so she begins to wonder just how well did she really know her friend anyway?Starting this book I found myself loving every minute as I found out more about Alice and her relationship with Kat. The relationship is one that you can think of the old saying of being like an onion with it’s many layers for the readers to slowly peel back as the pages turn. You just know with every chapter that goes by that there is going to be twists and turns coming and can’t wait until they do.I really really wanted to give the book a full five stars because it did keep me on the edge of my seat while I flew through reading it in only a few hours time. But when getting deeper into this story it really began to remind me of a television show from a few years back. The story is extremely similar and I definitely enjoyed that plot too so it’s no wonder I was hooked on this one. With the differences between the two though I still felt this a great read and worth at least the four stars and would definitely recommend checking it out.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Nazanin
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsAlice is a married woman with two children, has an ordinary life and like other couples, she and her husband have their ups and downs. Kat comes from money. Alice and Kat met each other in an airport and after that they became best friends. Kat’s life isn’t what others think, her husband wasn’t a likable person. Even Alice and her husband had a hard time to warm up to him, they and Kat just tolerated him. Alice and Kat are best friends so Alice knows everything about Kat’s life mostly abo 4 StarsAlice is a married woman with two children, has an ordinary life and like other couples, she and her husband have their ups and downs. Kat comes from money. Alice and Kat met each other in an airport and after that they became best friends. Kat’s life isn’t what others think, her husband wasn’t a likable person. Even Alice and her husband had a hard time to warm up to him, they and Kat just tolerated him. Alice and Kat are best friends so Alice knows everything about Kat’s life mostly about her husband; that he’s an alcoholic, abusive and a cheater. But these are things that nobody knows, just Alice. One night Kat’s husband found dead in their own home! The question is who is responsible? Why the police all of a sudden announced it as an unusual death when it was just a drunk mistake!? Why Alice can’t get in touch with her best fiend!? Is Kat ignoring her and why?Such a great story, I really liked it! This story tricked me! I was so sure I know what’s happening but it surprised me and showed me how I was wrong! The writing was perfect. I didn’t get bored even for a second. Considering I was sure about my guess, the writing made me turned pages quickly! That ending was really unpredictable and interesting!Told in Alice's POV, 1st person, alternating between the present and the past. It’s a standalone novel. Overall, I really enjoyed it and hope you like it as well!Thanks to Margot Hunt, Netgalley and HQ Digital for the advanced digital copy in exchange an honest review.
    more
  • Monica
    January 1, 1970
    Another fantastic psychological thriller to round out my 2017! It was extremely well written and I was quickly invested in all the characters. Although Kat and Alice’s friendship seemed unusual, they had a genuine connection. The novel was fast paced, moving from the present to various prior points in the women’s relationship. If anything seemed forced, it would be the short period, only three years, they were best friends. Apparently that’s plenty of time to share secrets which combine their tw Another fantastic psychological thriller to round out my 2017! It was extremely well written and I was quickly invested in all the characters. Although Kat and Alice’s friendship seemed unusual, they had a genuine connection. The novel was fast paced, moving from the present to various prior points in the women’s relationship. If anything seemed forced, it would be the short period, only three years, they were best friends. Apparently that’s plenty of time to share secrets which combine their twisted lives in many ways. So who is the true victim?? As a nice extra, there are several smaller plots which are explained and round out the overall story. The conclusion took me completely by surprise!Thanks to Goodreads and Harper Collins for an ARC of this novel. Enjoy!! 😊
    more
  • BIBLIOMANIAC MJ
    January 1, 1970
    You will have a serious case of FOMO if you don't get your hands on this one! Best Friends Forever starts off with a bang and will have you in its grips until the very end. While Alice is up early making breakfast for her family, she is surprised to discover two police officers at her front door, wanting to question her over her best friend Kat's alcoholic, abusive, womanising, disgrace of a husband's suicide, now being considered a murder.Kat and Alice couldn't be more different as far as their You will have a serious case of FOMO if you don't get your hands on this one! Best Friends Forever starts off with a bang and will have you in its grips until the very end. While Alice is up early making breakfast for her family, she is surprised to discover two police officers at her front door, wanting to question her over her best friend Kat's alcoholic, abusive, womanising, disgrace of a husband's suicide, now being considered a murder.Kat and Alice couldn't be more different as far as their backgrounds go...Kat born into a life of extreme wealth, running her own art gallery, while Alice is a former logician and stay at home mom, struggling to make ends meet. With a chance meeting at an airport, they strike up an unlikely friendship, hitting it off from the get go. Told from Alice's point of view, the book starts off at the present time with alternating chapters over the course of the past three years as we see their friendship grow into one in which they share more with each other than their own spouses. But do they TRULY know each other??? Alice begins to ask this question when Kat cuts off all communication with Alice, ghosting her after being questioned by the police. Why would Kat do that when she should be in need of her best friend the most at this difficult time? Why has Alice been shunned by Kat's influential family, insisting Alice stay away from Kat? And why are the police looking directly at Alice as part of their investigation for the murder? Alice's life soon becomes a nightmare as a result of the snowballing turmoil set in motion by Howard's death. She will have to use her wit and her skills as a logician if she ever wants to get out of the rabbit hell hole she finds herself in, as with her name sake. I just couldn't put this book down, eager to discover how this one would come to an end. I wasn't disappointed!With a sharp, clever conclusion, this talented author certainly outwitted me with an ending that, for the life of me, I didn't see coming. I just love when that happens!!! Looking back, the bread crumbs of clues were all there, strategically placed, coming together brilliantly, with all the loose ends tied into a beautiful bow, just the way I like it.This one ticked all the boxes: intelligent, fast paced, colourful characters, thoroughly engaging with a spellbinding storyline...a guarantee for an entertaining ride!Needless to say I was surprised and impressed to discover this was the debut novel in this genre for the author, it certainly had me well satiated and I look forward to reading more by the skilled Margot Hunt. Many thanks to Netgalley, HQ Digital and the author for an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    Margot Hunt's Best Friends Forever is a deeply engaging, light mystery surrounding the unorthodox friendship between Alice Campbell and Kat Grant. Alice is a logician and former teacher turned children's logic book writer, with a husband and two kids living in a modest household in Jupiter, Florida. On her way back from a family trip in New York, Alice meets Kat Grant, an extremely flamboyant, welcoming, and insanely rich construction empire heiress. The two women immediately hit it off and fo Margot Hunt's Best Friends Forever is a deeply engaging, light mystery surrounding the unorthodox friendship between Alice Campbell and Kat Grant. Alice is a logician and former teacher turned children's logic book writer, with a husband and two kids living in a modest household in Jupiter, Florida. On her way back from a family trip in New York, Alice meets Kat Grant, an extremely flamboyant, welcoming, and insanely rich construction empire heiress. The two women immediately hit it off and forge a friendship. Flash-forward to the present day, Alice is greeted by two detectives wanting to speak with her in regards to the mysterious death of Kat's husband Howard. Howard was an abusive, alcoholic, womanizing disgrace of a husband to Kat, so was his death a consequence of foul play? Alice sits down with police and discusses her friendship with Kat, her marriage to Howard, and the background information that the police may find pertinent to the investigation. Afterwards, Alice is shunned and immediately ghosted by Kat and her family. Why has her best friend so able to immediately cut her from her life? Are the Grants hiding something? Alice quickly questions her friendship with Kat and everything she's come to understand about the Grant family crashes into turmoil. How far will people go to manipulate the lives of others to get what they want? Best Friends Forever is a fun read that is not only interesting, but also very easy to follow. It's definitely not the most original story by any means, and I immediately knew how the story was going to unfold, but I kept churning through to the end. I just needed to know how it unfolded and if my suspicions are correct. Best Friends Forever intelligently portrays the depth of how low some people will go to prey on the weaknesses of others, while also showing the the facets of the human psyche. If you are ready for a light story for a rainy/lazy day, this book may be a good contender to pick up.
    more
  • Linda Strong
    January 1, 1970
    This is a page-turning suspense novel about the deep relationships women can form.Kat and Alice are recent friends. They've only known each other for 3 years, yet they are closer than any sistesr could be. They say opposites attract and that is very true in this case. Kat is wealthy, very wealthy. She has one daughter in college and she's married to a man she doesn't love. Alice is not rich .. actually she and her husband are having financial difficulties which is putting a heavy strain on their This is a page-turning suspense novel about the deep relationships women can form.Kat and Alice are recent friends. They've only known each other for 3 years, yet they are closer than any sistesr could be. They say opposites attract and that is very true in this case. Kat is wealthy, very wealthy. She has one daughter in college and she's married to a man she doesn't love. Alice is not rich .. actually she and her husband are having financial difficulties which is putting a heavy strain on their marriage. They have 2 kids in private school.The fun times that the women have enjoyed come to an end when Kat's husband is found dead. Since he had been drinking heavily before falling off the balcony, it is assumed to be an accident. But then the police come knocking on Alice's door.The story is told by Alice and as her friendship begins with Kat, she has questions, and sometimes Kat makes her feel a little uncomfortable .. but usually a bottle or two of wine shared make those feelings go away. They share their stories ... but one of them is a master manipulator, and most likely a sociopath.This well-written psychological thriller kept me enthralled through the entire book. Can you spot a manipulator? Is there more to the story than is being told? There are some surprising twists and an ending that left me totally shocked.Many thanks to the author / HQ Digital / Netgalley / Edelweiss / MIRA for this most riveting book. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    January 1, 1970
    How far would you go for your best friend?We all have our secrets, don't we?Kat and Alice are about as opposite as you can get. At a chance encounter in an airport, they find they live close by and so their friendship begins. Three years they have become close and integrated into each other's lives. Then Kat's husband, an all around asshole, falls from their balcony to his death. Alice gets questioned by the police, arrested for his murder, and Kat has gone radio silent. I opened this book up on How far would you go for your best friend?We all have our secrets, don't we?Kat and Alice are about as opposite as you can get. At a chance encounter in an airport, they find they live close by and so their friendship begins. Three years they have become close and integrated into each other's lives. Then Kat's husband, an all around asshole, falls from their balcony to his death. Alice gets questioned by the police, arrested for his murder, and Kat has gone radio silent. I opened this book up on my travels back home from the Thanksgiving holiday and could NOT put it down. This reads extremely fast and yet it is extremely subtle at the same time. I love that the POV is strictly through Alice's eyes so we get a full on feel of everything she is going through. Her marriage, which isn't perfect, her children, who aren't as well, her struggle in every day life that we can all empathize with, and now a newly formed friendship that was the missing piece she needed. We start at the present when the police come to question Alice and then the author takes us to the past, where her friendship with Kat began. The author does an outstanding job of showing the mind of a sociopath as we travel back and forth from past to present. Manipulation, lies, setting the stage, selfishness, so on and so forth. Each chapter is a build up of what is to come. While the ending is a chilling portrayal of all the events leading up to it, it doesn't quite smack you in the face like some thrillers will do and may be slightly predictable for those who read a lot of psychological thrillers. However, the subtlety in how she builds the tension is something I truly loved about the book and it's impressive how she gets you there. A psychological thriller debut done proper. I look forward to more from this author. Thank you to Mira Books for this copy!
    more
  • Emma♔☯ (Bookishfix)
    January 1, 1970
    *I received this arc from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review*Due to be published: 23 Jan 2018.What a fast paced, captivating mystery thriller! I cannot believe this is a debut novel, it was so well written and well thought out. I read it in one sitting, staying up till an ungodly hour because I needed to know what the hell was going on- I literally couldn't put it down, I don't even think I stopped for a break, I was so drawn to the plot and the way it was written. I cannot wait to see *I received this arc from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review*Due to be published: 23 Jan 2018.What a fast paced, captivating mystery thriller! I cannot believe this is a debut novel, it was so well written and well thought out. I read it in one sitting, staying up till an ungodly hour because I needed to know what the hell was going on- I literally couldn't put it down, I don't even think I stopped for a break, I was so drawn to the plot and the way it was written. I cannot wait to see what else Margot Hunt comes up with because if its anything like this, she may just find herself on my list of top 10 favorite Mystery authors. Alice Campbell and Kat Grant couldn't be any different- a struggling suburbanite and an artsy socialite - but it is in their struggles and the need to confide in someone that their friendship blossoms. The women become each other's rock, but when Kat's husband Howard is found having plunged from the balcony of their second story mansion, things change and quickly. Kat won't talk to Alice, and her wealthy family is trying to bribe her to stay away. Howard was a drunk, a bully and not liked by many, even Alice and her husband struggled to warm up to the hostile man, but like everyone else, they assume Howard was just drunk and simply fell off the balcony. That is until the police come knocking on Alice's door investigating the murder of Howard, asking her to come down to the station.As the police investigation unfolds, questions about Alice and Kat's friendship, their past, and their marital lives emerge. But who is lying? Who is responsible for Howard's death?Now I know you might be thinking you can already see where this is going but I'm telling you now, you are wrong. There are so many twists and turns, that even I didn't know what the hell was going down until the very last chapter when all is revealed. I was gobsmacked! I have read so many mystery thrillers that I absolutely love it when I find one that can still surprise me and pull me in as much as this novel did. The writing itself was flawless, honestly, there wasn't a single thing I would change about how it was written, the words used, the sentence structure or anything. It was written in a way that by the end of the chapter, there was always something that made you read on, whether it was a secret from the past or something happening in the present that was like omgomgomg! I STILL CANNOT BELIEVE THIS IS A DEBUTE NOVEL! I think what made this book work so well is that it is set before Howard death (about 3 years before and counting down) and then the present after Howard's death, in the midst of the investigation.If you haven't guessed already by my raving, this will be going into my favorite pile and will be recommending it to everyone I know, I might even buy the book and throw it at them! Well, not really but you know what I mean.I would recommend this to anyone liking a good mystery thriller, that is fast paced and captivating. Come on guys, support a debut novel and author! I will guarantee you will not be disappointed.Recommended for: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction.
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free electronic copy of Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt from NetGalley for my honest review. This book is an edge of your seat thriller that will keep you guessing to the last page. I was absolutely blown away by the depth of this book and it's characters. A story of two women, Kat and Alice and their friendship. But do not mistake this friendship for just a simple friendship. There is so much more to this friendship, twists, lies, money, greed and death. Even when I thought I h I received a free electronic copy of Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt from NetGalley for my honest review. This book is an edge of your seat thriller that will keep you guessing to the last page. I was absolutely blown away by the depth of this book and it's characters. A story of two women, Kat and Alice and their friendship. But do not mistake this friendship for just a simple friendship. There is so much more to this friendship, twists, lies, money, greed and death. Even when I thought I had this book all figured out the last chapter threw me for a mind blowing turn that blew my mind completely. You have to read this book. Extraordinary!
    more
  • Gary
    January 1, 1970
    Margot Hunt is the pseudonym for chick lit and women's fiction author Whitney Gaskell who has now decided to add thrillers to her repertoire. BEST FRIENDS FOREVER is her first psychological thriller and judging by this first attempt is well worth pursuing.Alice thought she knew everything about her best friend Kat, from the secrets of her wealthy family to the fact that behind closed doors Kat’s husband Howard is a drunk and a bully.But now Howard has been found dead, having plunged to his death Margot Hunt is the pseudonym for chick lit and women's fiction author Whitney Gaskell who has now decided to add thrillers to her repertoire. BEST FRIENDS FOREVER is her first psychological thriller and judging by this first attempt is well worth pursuing.Alice thought she knew everything about her best friend Kat, from the secrets of her wealthy family to the fact that behind closed doors Kat’s husband Howard is a drunk and a bully.But now Howard has been found dead, having plunged to his death from the balcony of their highly desirable mansion, and the police are convinced he’s been murdered.So why in her time of need has Kat stopped answering Alice’s phone calls and texts. Why won’t Kat’s family allow Alice to visit her anymore? And why are the detectives looking directly at Alice in relation to Howard’s death?This is a novel about two women who meet accidentally at an airport and become best friends. They are complete opposites but there is an immediate attraction that draws these two women together in friendship and everything runs smoothly until Howard's death.Well written thriller that shows massive promise for future novels in this genre.I would like to thank Net Galley and HQ Digital for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Danielle (The Blonde Likes Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Alice and Kat are the best of friends, even despite their differences - Alice is a struggling stay at home mom, and Kat is an extremely wealthy socialite. Alice thinks nothing can shake their friendship, until one night when Kat's husband Howard falls to his death from the second floor balcony of the home he shares with Kat. Howard was an alcoholic, and all around jerk. Alice has never been a fan of his, especially when Kat confides in her regarding their marital problems, so she's not devastate Alice and Kat are the best of friends, even despite their differences - Alice is a struggling stay at home mom, and Kat is an extremely wealthy socialite. Alice thinks nothing can shake their friendship, until one night when Kat's husband Howard falls to his death from the second floor balcony of the home he shares with Kat. Howard was an alcoholic, and all around jerk. Alice has never been a fan of his, especially when Kat confides in her regarding their marital problems, so she's not devastated to hear that he drunkenly fell off of a balcony. What initially looks like an open and shut case quickly turns south when a witness claims they saw Howard pushed off of the balcony. Investigators soon start looking at Alice, and Kat has done dark - no calls, no texts, and Kat's family tells Alice to stay away. What really happened to Howard, and who was behind it all? After reading the premise for Best Friends Forever, I knew I had to read it! This domestic thriller had it all - friendship, secrets, lies, and betrayal, and I ate it up! The book begins in the present day, shortly after Alice finds out about the death of Howard, and then alternates chapters between the past and present, so the reader witnesses the development of Alice and Kat's friendship from day one, which I loved. I also really enjoyed that we saw the struggles of Alice's marriage, especially as her friendship with Kat developed. Being friends with someone so rich and glamorous is intoxicating, and Alice's husband doesn't like how she's changed over the course of her friendship with Kat. This domestic thriller does a great job at capturing the ups and downs of marriage as well as the intricacies of friendship and secrets.I had my suspicions early on about how the book would end, and I was correct, but there was one twist that I didn't see coming which left me with my mouth hanging open at the end of the book, and I love it when that happens! Despite the plot not being the most original for those who read tons and tons of thrillers, the book was engrossing and entertaining, and I read it in a matter of a few hours, and didn't want to put it down! There was actually a point where I was walking around my apartment with my nose in the book and ended up stepping on my cat's tail because I was so focused! (My cat is okay, don't worry!) If you're looking for a domestic thriller that will grip you from page one, this will be a great choice for you! Fans of books that feature ongoing investigations where a character is trying to prove their innocence, such as Dangerous Girls, will love this one! I rated this one 5 stars, and highly recommend it! I'd like to thank Netgalley, Margot Hunt, and MIRA for an advanced copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. Best Friends Forever will be out on January 23, 2018, so be sure to order your copy now! 
    more
  • ☆Dani☆ ☆Touch My Spine Book Reviews☆
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, this book was fantastic! I was sucked in from the very first few pages! I loved diving into Alice and Kat’s relationship and trying to figure out what was real and was all a manipulation. I can tell you there is way more than what meets the eyes with this suspenseful read and it will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat! The characters blended perfectly with the plot, making one helluva psychological thriller!
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    I’m right back into my psychological thrillers right now having had a bit of a meh time about them where I felt I was reading the same story over and over again, so I made it a mission to seek out the ones that can surprise me. If you surprise me you get Brownie points. They are not worth anything but you know, it is fun for me.Best Friends Forever did manage to surprise me. As well as that it was a brilliant page turner, with a couple of cleverly drawn main protagonists, a supporting cast of po I’m right back into my psychological thrillers right now having had a bit of a meh time about them where I felt I was reading the same story over and over again, so I made it a mission to seek out the ones that can surprise me. If you surprise me you get Brownie points. They are not worth anything but you know, it is fun for me.Best Friends Forever did manage to surprise me. As well as that it was a brilliant page turner, with a couple of cleverly drawn main protagonists, a supporting cast of possibly nefarious bystanders and the story of one true friendship. Told from the point of view of Alice, who appreciates the light that friend Kat brings into her mundane family life, giving her a break, she begins to realise that perhaps Kat is not QUITE as friendly as she seems..It is very gripping as we see the present Alice being interviewed by the police and the past Alice meeting Kat, becoming friends, all the ways their lives entwine – but underneath it all it is just a little off, not quite as bright and bubbly as it appears. Margot Hunt layers it well, genuinely keeping you guessing, especially in relation to the psychology of everyone in this – from Kat to Alice, from both the husbands to the extended family – in the end the outcome is highly effective and yes, unexpected although maybe not on the level you would think.I like the clever ones. I like the ones that keep you reading bleary eyed into the night to see if what happens and if you’ve guessed correctly. I like the ones with characters that stand out and are not carbon copies of the last book you read in this genre. Best Friends forever scores highly on all of those therefore I will happily highly recommend it.
    more
  • Rachel Wallace
    January 1, 1970
    4 Very Suspenseful StarsThis thriller started with a bang and didn't stop until the very last page. It kept me guessing until the end. SUMMARYThe story opens with the police knocking on Todd and Alice Campbell's door to ask Alice for some background information regarding the death of Howard Grant, her best friend Kat's husband. Howard had been found on the deck of his pool where he had apparently fallen to his death from a second storey balcony. Police were trying to determine whether the fall h 4 Very Suspenseful StarsThis thriller started with a bang and didn't stop until the very last page. It kept me guessing until the end. SUMMARYThe story opens with the police knocking on Todd and Alice Campbell's door to ask Alice for some background information regarding the death of Howard Grant, her best friend Kat's husband. Howard had been found on the deck of his pool where he had apparently fallen to his death from a second storey balcony. Police were trying to determine whether the fall had been accidental or if foul play was involved. As the investigation progresses, police begin to question Alice quite aggressively, trying to decide if she knows anything that could help with the case. Was the fall an accident? Suicide? Murder? Was Kat involved? What does Alice know about it? Does she even really know Kat? The book flips back and forth between the present tense murder investigation and the history of Alice and Kat's friendship, starting from three years ago when they met at the airport and struck up this unlikely friendship. WHAT I LOVEDThis book checks a lot of my "what I love in a thriller boxes;" Fast PacedSuspensefulKept me guessingThings that are not as they seemCharacters who are hard to label and continue to surprise meTwists and turnsA jaw dropping ending I have been waiting very impatiently for this book to be available, I pre ordered it and was so excited to read it, hoping it would live up to the hype and it DID!!!! It was so darn hard to put down! I had to download the audio book so I could listen to it in my car as I ran my errands and shuffled my kids around. The ending blew my mind!!!!! Wow! WHAT I DIDN'T LOVESome of the descriptions went on too long and some of the side stories were unnecessary to the main plot. That was really about it. Everything else was very very good. OVERALLSo worth the wait. I highly recommend for anyone who likes domestic thrillers which are plot driven and move quickly.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    Kat and Alice become best friends after an accidental meeting at the airport. Even though they come from different backgrounds they find enough in common to form a strong bond. Kat and Alice share all their darkest and deadliest secrets but does one of the secrets result in the death of Kat’s husband Howard ? Was Howard’s death accidental or was it a pre-planned murder and will Kat and Alice’s friendship survive this storm.Best Friends Forever is a fast paced engaging novel with well drawn intel Kat and Alice become best friends after an accidental meeting at the airport. Even though they come from different backgrounds they find enough in common to form a strong bond. Kat and Alice share all their darkest and deadliest secrets but does one of the secrets result in the death of Kat’s husband Howard ? Was Howard’s death accidental or was it a pre-planned murder and will Kat and Alice’s friendship survive this storm.Best Friends Forever is a fast paced engaging novel with well drawn intelligent characters.An ending that I did not see coming made it a real enjoyable read and will definitely look forward to reading more by Margot Hunt.I would like to thank Harlequin & NetGalley for providing an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest and fair review.This and more reviews at https://chloesbooksblog.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    Kat and Alice are 2 very different women...and yet they are best friends. When Kats husband dies the police start asking questions, not believing that it was an accident....how well do you know your best friend. I could not put this book down, needing to know what was going to happen next. A fantastic page turner.Thank you to Harlequin US and Canada via Netgalley for a copy of this book to read and review in return for my honest opinions
    more
  • Gare Billings
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of those novels that has a plot that really doesn't do it justice. This novel starts off with a bang and doesn't hold up until the chilling and destructive final pages.The premise to this one is not only unique, but really tells a tale of friendship and a ton of aspects of betrayal in a multi-layered plot that is not only spellbinding, but utterly addicting as well. This is Gossip Girl meets Gone Girl for every generation possible. The plot is haunting and full of twists and turns fe This is one of those novels that has a plot that really doesn't do it justice. This novel starts off with a bang and doesn't hold up until the chilling and destructive final pages.The premise to this one is not only unique, but really tells a tale of friendship and a ton of aspects of betrayal in a multi-layered plot that is not only spellbinding, but utterly addicting as well. This is Gossip Girl meets Gone Girl for every generation possible. The plot is haunting and full of twists and turns featuring characters that are not only three-dimensional, but all problematic and about to burst with personalities that threaten to jump off the pages at any given time. The feature of jumping back and forth between the present and past is not only effective with this novel, but crucial as it gives the reader insight into multiple acts of betrayal and suspense twisted around each other and sprinkled with enough tension and the promise of darker things to come. I was enthralled and addicted throughout this entire novel. The writing is fantastic and Hunt wastes no time on the plot, drawing the reader into this twisted world where no one is safe, no one is to be trusted, and no one knows what will happen next. Truly a fantastic debut novel that features and ending that is not only shocking, but relentless and chilling. I will definitely have my eye out for more Margot Hunt in the future.Thank you to HarperCollins for providing me with this advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. This novel is released on January 23, 2018. Pre-order your copy now!
    more
  • Eve K
    January 1, 1970
    How to get a 4* rating on your shitty psychological thriller. -Create a protagonist who has no personality. Make sure she's a selfish hypocrite (so edgy), a bitch to her husband (to appeal to the unhappy housewives) and has wealth-envy (to appeal to all the socialists).-Make sure your manuscript is 75% useless information.-Make the cops and anyone else in a position of authority or esteem behave in a comically OTT manner as if they're acting in a pantomime or a bad melodrama, so it's obvious to How to get a 4* rating on your shitty psychological thriller. -Create a protagonist who has no personality. Make sure she's a selfish hypocrite (so edgy), a bitch to her husband (to appeal to the unhappy housewives) and has wealth-envy (to appeal to all the socialists).-Make sure your manuscript is 75% useless information.-Make the cops and anyone else in a position of authority or esteem behave in a comically OTT manner as if they're acting in a pantomime or a bad melodrama, so it's obvious to the dumb reader that these are the bad guys.-Include statements that don't really make sense but sound smart so the reader thinks you're clever. Such as I bit the words out or there was a slight flicker behind his eyes or his lip was curled, causing him to speak in an unflattering sneer.-Describe water as cold, clear liquid so the reader knows what it is.-Add lots of meaningless commentary on everyday life to show how woke the protagonist is and how much better she is than everyone else who actually cares about that stuff. Portray her as a cool, not-even-trying, can't-be-bothered-anymore wife, to appeal to the self-righteous hippies.-Document, beat by beat, every single action taken in pouring a glass of wine and drinking it, and repeat variations of said documentation dozens (or more) times throughout the book, in case the reader forgot what drinking a glass of wine actually entails. Use this same formula for other basic actions too. You never know just how stupid your reader might be.-Explain commonly used terms to the reader, as if they were born yesterday, such as "He hit me so hard, I saw stars. You know, like in cartoons when little stars and birds rotate around a character's head?"-Include deeply philosophical statements such as Everything looks better from a distance, to clumsily foreshadow the fact that people's lives aren't what they seem and Kat is really a nutter.-Make ironic statements about people who use social media, who the protagonist has nothing but scorn for, because 'I didn't want to know everyone's emotions the moment they felt them,' and then proceed to tell the reader every inane thought that enters the protagonist's head because her commentary is better than everyone else's.-Include several people being scared the hell out of and dropping the drink they were conveniently holding, to smash on the ground and spill the contents everywhere. Although this doesn't go anywhere and can be scrapped from the book because it adds nothing to the story, character-building or anything else, it does add a kind of literary jump-scare and everyone knows how clever those are.-Add a paragraph or four of boring, pointless introspect; commentary on the mundane task your protagonist is doing, or intricate description (or all three) of the room your protagonist is in, before the set-up of each scene or chapter. Arriving at a scene late and leaving early is silly when you can bulk up your word count with this kind of crap and claim your character's just being insightful.-Repeatedly interrupt the story to tell the reader exactly how each character takes their drinks; hot and cold.-Add the same strange quirk to most of your characters when they're annoyed, - lips twisting, because it's easier than thinking of different quirks for each person. Also, make sure every time a character nods, the nod is almost imperceptible, for no reason. And when someone laughs, always mention that it's without humour. Also for no reason.-Whenever possible, point out the very obvious. And always make sure your prose comes across as extremely condescending. Write whole paragraphs, with backstory to them, explaining modern terms that a few readers might not have heard before. It's always better to stop the flow of the story in its tracks to make sure those few readers are keeping up, rather than just let anyone who sees fit, Google that term, in their own time.-Make sure when your protagonist is simply recounting a conversation or incident to someone else, she includes all sorts of irrelevant detail, as if she's reading a real-time description of it, rather than realistically only recalling the most important elements.-Make sure your protagonist (who you're trying to convince the reader is innocent of murder) implicates herself in the crime by only becoming incredulous to being arrested, AFTER she finds out what little evidence they have against her, and not to the act of being arrested itself.-Say a scene starts with a knock at the door. Don't just start the scene with the protagonist answering the door, you amateur. Give the reader a taste of your protagonist's fantastically fascinating physical gripes that don't have any impact on the story first. Also, make sure to include a list of all your protagonist's wandering thoughts wherever you fancy. E.g My doorbell rang, and I started. I'd lost track of the fact that I was sitting at my desk, staring into space. I closed my laptop, stood and arched my back to alleviate the tightness caused by hunching over my computer for so long. I headed to the front door, expecting to find a Girl Scout hawking Thin Mints or a neighbor asking me to sign a petition against the pollution of our local waterways. But as it turned out, it was neither. - Nailed it.-Instead of adding any semblance of a plot to your book, just talk extensively about the day to day life of the protagonist and all of her bitter, scathing opinions on people who seem to have better lives than her. -Make a cliffhanger out of the introduction of the protagonist's mother, that promises conflict and escalation of the plot, and then don't follow up on that promise at all.-Make sure at least five of your characters add nothing to the story. They could be a white-bearded potter, a sexy bartender named Hudson, a tattooed man flicking his tongue at the protagonist to remind the reader she's sexy, a lighthouse tour leader named Cassie, some random prison-bitch named Kayla and her girlfriend, Kat's steely-faced mother or any number of relatives never seen or heard from again after introduction. Readers like to waste their time mentally cataloguing character names and relationships, only for them to never be brought up again.-Start every scene with unnecessary, overwrought clumps of description. Describe every single room the protagonist enters down to the shade of the various wall paints used and the country the exquisite marble was possibly sourced from, because if there's anything that propels the plot forward, it's that.-Let every woman in the book be the most attractive person the protagonist has ever seen, to show that she's not jealous and to appeal to the feminists-Constantly describe things the same way, such as the detective's straight, gleaming white teeth, every time he smiles, when, in lesser books, they'd only be described once or not at all.-Describe the clothing, intricate facial features and exact body type of every person the protagonist meets. Don't worry about limiting such detail to just the main characters. Tell the readers everything possible about all the extended cast too, even unnamed people. Thriller readers LOVE that.-Emphasise the protagonist's emotional devastation at the death of her daughter, whenever you get the chance, and include episodes of empathy towards other characters, then add a twist at the end that completely contradicts her personality and implies the protagonist is the real sociopath. Who needs logic?-Make the protagonist a logician to highlight her lack of empathy (even though she shows empathy) and her skill at solving problems, and then when there's a tiny glacial-paced movement in the plot, dumb her down so the incredibly stupid reader can figure out what's going on alongside her, and then, make sure to spell it out several times afterwards, in case they missed it. E.g For a moment I felt like I couldn't breathe. They knew Kat had loaned us that money. A loan we hadn't paid back. But, wait... how did they know? And why was it even relevant? - And - Kat wanted Howard dead. And Kat gave me twenty thousand dollars. I was beginning to understand why they had arrested me.-Remember to keep the plot simple so laymen can follow. So simple, in fact, that it barely needs to exist. Surreptitiously explain why your plot is so thin via dialogue from one of your secondary characters. E.g Grace took off her glasses and pressed her fingers to her temples. "Is that information overload?"Grace smiled. "No, but the reality of my job-and that of any other defense attorney and author-is that we like simple narratives. They're easier to sell to juries and dumb shit readers."-At your whim, include flippant, random anecdotes about child abuse. E.g Ebbie once told me, in far too much detail, about the first time she'd had sex with a man after divorcing my father. I was ten at the time.-Write by the notion that 'said is dead.' Who needs to tighten the prose and cause as little distraction to the reader as possible by putting 'said' after most dialogue when you can emphasise an already obvious question by putting 'she asked' after it, along with 'she insisted' after the words 'just tell me,' etc etc?-Intersperse dialogue with detailed actions to ramp up the word count. E.g "I know you're probably wondering why you stayed home from school today," I began, once I'd chewed and swallowed a bite of veggie pizza.-Spoil one of the only plotpoints in the book (Kat using and then ghosting Alice), by showing the exact same thing happening to someone else beforehand.-Describe the secret behind the success of children's logic books in the publishing industry and go into detail about how you know this because if there's anything a reader loves in a thriller, it's one pointless, boring tangent after another.-Add in the detailed plots of the children's stories your protagonist is writing even though they have no relevance to the plot and only serve to reiterate an already over-stated fact about your main character's personality.-Constantly elaborate on the anxiety of a child of the protagonist and the effect it has on her, even though that anxiety goes nowhere and the children are barely even secondary characters. Cut them out of the book and the book would be the same, except with less filler. But filler ups word count so keep that shit in. Also appeals to mothers.-Include poems and inspirational quotes to appeal to the Instagrammers. It also ups word count without having to add plot.-Add in long, petty arguments between the protagonist and her mother that don't lead anywhere or impact the plot. Gotta get those words in.-Make sure the first plot development after the inciting incident, doesn't happen until after the 70% mark. Structure schmucture. Pacing schmacing.-Make it blatantly obvious that the protagonist is guilty, right from the start, by her never outright denying involvement in the murder, and then try to use her guilt as a plot twist at the end, to make up for the completely underwhelming and boring climax.-Very importantly, ensure that your protagonist, after being let off the hook for a murder she obviously committed, risks incriminating herself by telling the entire detailed story of the murder to the one person who wants her locked up and could easily be using a recording device, just to fulfil the cliched, hilariously overdetailed and illogical "tell you everything" monologue at the end and patronise the reader even more.-Lastly, but most importantly of all:Label it a psychological thriller - the literary equivalent of modern art, so if anyone doesn't like your book, you can say they just didn't understand it.Then, sit back and watch the 5* reviews roll in. KA-CHING!Apologies to the publisher but my patience wanes every time I waste days of my life reading fiction of this poor quality. Thank you for sending me a free ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    https://oneblogtwobroads.blog/2018/01...I have been on a roll with the psychological murder mysteries lately. They seem to be checking off everything on my reading list. This one was no exception.Alice meets Kat at an airport while she is tired and struggling with her two kids. They strike up an instant friendship and Alice is swept into the big moneyed world of Kat. Kat is very unhappy with her husband. And then one day, he seems to have fallen off the balcony. Kat was out of town and suddenly https://oneblogtwobroads.blog/2018/01...I have been on a roll with the psychological murder mysteries lately. They seem to be checking off everything on my reading list. This one was no exception.Alice meets Kat at an airport while she is tired and struggling with her two kids. They strike up an instant friendship and Alice is swept into the big moneyed world of Kat. Kat is very unhappy with her husband. And then one day, he seems to have fallen off the balcony. Kat was out of town and suddenly Alice is a suspect. Does Alice really know the real Kat?As we read about Alice’s interrogation, she flashes back to all the time with Kat leading up to the murder. It was interesting to see the manipulation because it is all there in black and white. It moves at a very fast pace which was really an asset to the story. I felt like it all happened so fast anyway that it worked perfectly. Alice is a very interesting character, you think you have her figured out. She was a true friend to Kat. But this book definitely answered a question of “how well do you know your best friend”. And then there was the little one two punch at the end. I have to say I have enjoyed all the books lately that have that little afterthought that sticks in your head for days. This is one of them.I received a copy of this book from Netgalley and Harlequin Mira and this review is simply my own humble opinion.
    more
  • The Blonde Bookworm
    January 1, 1970
    What an amazing debut from Margot Hunt! Best Friends Forever immediately opens with a bang and I was completely captivated within minutes. The novel is extremely well written and constantly leaves the reader guessing who should be trusted. I absolutely loved the twists and thrills in this novel and totally did not guess the ending, even though there were times I thought I would be able to. I loved the characters in this novel. Hunt did a fantastic job creating Alice and Kat, and I could picture What an amazing debut from Margot Hunt! Best Friends Forever immediately opens with a bang and I was completely captivated within minutes. The novel is extremely well written and constantly leaves the reader guessing who should be trusted. I absolutely loved the twists and thrills in this novel and totally did not guess the ending, even though there were times I thought I would be able to. I loved the characters in this novel. Hunt did a fantastic job creating Alice and Kat, and I could picture them perfectly in my mind. Alice appeared to be meek and mild while Kat was the rich and glamorous friend who always got what she wanted. I thoroughly enjoyed diving into their relationship and it was truly interesting to see how they reacted to one another. I also loved the back and forth between present day and the past. The transitions were always very smooth and left me on the edge of my seat. Best Friends Forever is an incredibly impressive debut novel from Hunt and I look forward to reading more from her in the future. This novel was full of thrills and surprises, and I would highly recommend it to readers who enjoy psychological thrillers. I was pleasantly surprised with how much a enjoyed this novel and I am very thankful to NetGalley and Mira for sending it in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    January 1, 1970
    I have to give credit where credit is due. The author played me. When I realized what she had done, I was completely gob smacked. She did it fairly. There things all through the story that just bugged me, but I never put it together.Brava.I was entertained by this book, even as I found myself disliking most of the characters. I found myself really bugged by how neatly people allowed themselves to be manipulated. My lack of character love perhaps made the story a little less enjoyable, but it was I have to give credit where credit is due. The author played me. When I realized what she had done, I was completely gob smacked. She did it fairly. There things all through the story that just bugged me, but I never put it together.Brava.I was entertained by this book, even as I found myself disliking most of the characters. I found myself really bugged by how neatly people allowed themselves to be manipulated. My lack of character love perhaps made the story a little less enjoyable, but it was still highly suspenseful and engaging. I needed to know what was happening…even though I thought I already did. (I was wrong, wrong, wrong!)An entertaining story and, nope...didn’t see that coming!*ARC Provided via Net Galley
    more
  • Heidi
    January 1, 1970
    Twisted female friendships usually make the perfect basis for a thriller, so I was instantly drawn to the premise of Best Friends Forever. Kat and Alice are polar opposites: Kat, the impulsive and slightly spoiled socialite from a rich family background, living in a big mansion with her successful financier husband; and Alice, the introverted brainiac who approaches life’s problems much like she would solve one of her logic puzzles. As they say, opposites attract, and somehow the two women’s dif Twisted female friendships usually make the perfect basis for a thriller, so I was instantly drawn to the premise of Best Friends Forever. Kat and Alice are polar opposites: Kat, the impulsive and slightly spoiled socialite from a rich family background, living in a big mansion with her successful financier husband; and Alice, the introverted brainiac who approaches life’s problems much like she would solve one of her logic puzzles. As they say, opposites attract, and somehow the two women’s different personality traits complement each other, making the friendship work – until one day it doesn’t, and Alice is left out in the cold, without a word of explanation from her former best friend.In her novel, Hunt introduced the concept of “ghosting” to me, the practice of ending a personal relationship without explanation by suddenly withdrawing from all communication and freezing them out, despite the other person’s attempts to reach out or communicate. Strange that I have never heard that term before (I mentioned in a previous post that I do live under a rock sometimes), but it is the perfect word for this terrible way to end a friendship. I felt for Alice as she is initially pondering why her friend won’t answer her calls, which soon turns into panic as she finds that not only has Kat frozen her out, but has also implicated her as a potential suspect in a murder case. Since the reader only has Alice’s narration to go by, I too was puzzled as to why Kat would leave her friend in this situation, coming up with all kinds of scenarios that would explain her behaviour. Some of these proved to be correct. However, as is the gift of a clever thriller writer, the author managed to throw in an extra twist at the end I absolutely did not see coming!There was one point in the book where I thought the author had created the perfect opportunity to create some extra tension and intrigue to what had been a slow-burning story of friendship so far, which would justify its label as “psychological thriller”. Unfortunately this did not fully materialise, which was perhaps my biggest quibble with the book and left me feeling slightly let down at the time, as it did not mess with my mind as much as I had hoped. However, if you are a fan of chick-lit inspired slow-burning mysteries with that extra twist that leaves you slightly open mouthed with a WTF!?!?! expression stamped on your face, then this one might be just the book for you. I admit I had to flick back and re-read an earlier chapter to see what I had missed!Whilst I have to admit that Best Friends Forever was a bit slow for me at times, and didn’t mess with my mind enough to stand out from other very similar books I have read in the past, it provided a quick, entertaining read with a surprise twist at the end faintly reminiscent of (view spoiler)[The Kind Worth Killing (hide spoiler)]. It was the perfect beach read for a lazy summer afternoon, and I look forward to reading more from this author to see what she will come up with next.3.5 starsThank you to Netgalley and Harlequin Australia for the free electronic copy of this novel and for giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review. *blog* *facebook* *instagram*
    more
  • Jenea Whittington
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes friendship can spark between two people people who just meet. Sometimes between two people who are so very different. This is exactly what happens with Kat and Alice when they meet at the airport while waiting for their planes. It didn’t take them long to become close either, they bonded rather quickly. They bonded over their troubles, their husbands, money, even the death of one their babies. They shared everything with each other, the good and the bad. Sounds like a great friendship Sometimes friendship can spark between two people people who just meet. Sometimes between two people who are so very different. This is exactly what happens with Kat and Alice when they meet at the airport while waiting for their planes. It didn’t take them long to become close either, they bonded rather quickly. They bonded over their troubles, their husbands, money, even the death of one their babies. They shared everything with each other, the good and the bad. Sounds like a great friendship to me. But was it really…Kat and Alice came from very different worlds. Kat came from money, and a lot of it. She was quite the socialite, with parties and museums and art gallery shows. While Alice had given up her career as a professor to stay at home with her children. Time were hard but she was happy and things were okay for her. And to see them together, no one would ever suspect they were any different. Kat was eve there for Alice and her husband when financial times were hard and never though twice about it. Alice was writing a logician book for kids and it would pay off soon. And their friendship continued one, not a mention of it. They spent time at resorts by the pool, relaxing. Alice and Kat were the best of friends. But, when Kat’s husband is found dead though, everything changes. Detectives start snooping around and Alice finds herself being questioned about her friendship with Kat and her husband, among other questions about Kat.Alice has been cut off from Kat. She won’t return her call, her texts. Her family has told her stay away from Kat and Alice is distraught. It doesn’t take her long to start to question things about their friendship, I mean, Alice is a smart woman. Why does Kat, the “best friend” not want you there for her while she’s grieving. Why won’t she talk you to her at all. Alice begins to rethink if she really knew Kat at all. While all of this going on, some pretty crazy things happen that make her second guess everything she has been led to believe about Kat and her life for the past 3 years. And it just kept coming. And that just kept me turning the pages. I wanted to know what was going on with this woman. Did she kill her husband? She has money, did she pay someone to do it? It all kept me on my toes trying to figure it all out.Now, this is one ending that I did not see coming at all. And I do mean, Not At All. I think I sat with my mouth open for page after page with shock! Very clever writing! Best Friends Forever was completely captivating from start to finish and had everything that I love in a psychological thriller.
    more
  • Aoife
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free digital copy of this book from the publishers/author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.When Alice befriends the glamorous, wealthy Kat, she feels like she’s finally found that best friend that she never seemed to have when she was younger. Three years later, Alice finds herself being questioned over the death of Kat’s husband and suddenly starts to question how much she really knows about her best friend.This is a domestic suspense thriller (I think?) so it doesn’t I received a free digital copy of this book from the publishers/author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.When Alice befriends the glamorous, wealthy Kat, she feels like she’s finally found that best friend that she never seemed to have when she was younger. Three years later, Alice finds herself being questioned over the death of Kat’s husband and suddenly starts to question how much she really knows about her best friend.This is a domestic suspense thriller (I think?) so it doesn’t seem like a lot happens, or at least there’s not a load of pulse-racing action in it. However, I think the story flowed really nicely and, for me, read at a really quick pace. I loved the set-up to the story. Straightaway in the first chapter we are seeing the reality of Alice’s home life as a stay-at-home mother. She’s getting the kids ready for school, making breakfast and trying to keep everything together. I feel like it’s a scene literally everyone can relate to - whether you’re a slightly stressed-out mother yourself, or if you were once the kid running around in your underwear because you couldn’t find your uniform. I definitely warmed up to Alice really quickly, while Kat was definitely kept firmly at a distance. It probably didn’t help that I kept picturing Kat as Revenge’s Victoria Grayson, where Alice was more of a Debra Messing-type character.The ending was really wow oh wow for me, and I was left in a little bit of shock but I was so impressed.
    more
  • Kayla Gallup
    January 1, 1970
    Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt is about two different women that by chance become friends one day when their airplane was delayed. Alice is a stay at home mother who has two children and a marriage that feels strained at times due to her and her husband, Todd living paycheck to paycheck. Kat, on the other hand, is a wealthy woman who owns an art gallery. Kat and Alice tend to go on a lot of lunch dates and confide in one another as well as tell each other secrets. Kat’s husband, Howard was Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt is about two different women that by chance become friends one day when their airplane was delayed. Alice is a stay at home mother who has two children and a marriage that feels strained at times due to her and her husband, Todd living paycheck to paycheck. Kat, on the other hand, is a wealthy woman who owns an art gallery. Kat and Alice tend to go on a lot of lunch dates and confide in one another as well as tell each other secrets. Kat’s husband, Howard was found dead at their home one night while Kat was not home. Police are thinking it was not an accidental death from Howard being drunk or a suicide attempt, but he was actually murdered. Kat will not return any of Alice’s phone calls, text messages, and basically ignores Alice all around.The story is told in past and present. I really enjoyed reading how Kat and Alice first met, then how their relationship grew and progressed. Then, I enjoyed reading the present-day sections to see how Alice was coping with Kat not wanting to be around, the police investigation, and how life went on without her best friend as well as finding out a new narrative about Kat.This book was fast paced and I never found a dull moment in the book. Margot Hunt’s writing made me want to know more about Kat and Alice’s friendship as well as their marriages. Also, I wanted to know if Howard was murdered or not, and if he was, then I wanted to know who actually murdered him.Best Friends Forever releases on January 23, and I cannot wait to see more work from Margot Hunt in the future.
    more
  • Dayle (the literary llama)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5-4 stars, I'm still deciding. I thought it was incredibly well written and I loved the ending; Hunt didn't take the easy way out. But there was a section in the middle which felt a bit stagnant. We were given so much backstory that the story in the present seemed to stall. It started to lose it's drive. But overall I enjoyed the book. More detailed thoughts hopefully coming soon...I was provided a free advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review