My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho
Is it possible to marry the wrong man? Rebecca Rice was looking forward to a quiet life and a full stomach by becoming mail-order bride to her shopkeeper intended, Mr. Fordham—until the justice of the peace calls him Thaddeus, not Theodore, proceeded by the title Deputy. Rebecca would never marry a lawman like her father, so an annulment seems in order—and fast, since Rebecca’s true intended is impatient to claim her as his own. But when the legalities take longer than expected, Rebecca wonders if Tad Fordham wasn’t the right husband for her all along. . . .

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho Details

TitleMy Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2017
PublisherBarbour Books
ISBN1683220110
ISBN-139781683220114
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Christian, Historical

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho Review

  • Deanne Patterson
    May 2, 2017
    After corresponding with a man named Theodore, she agrees to be his mail order bride. She is looking for security and not having to worry where her next meal is coming from. On the stagecoach to meet her intended it is robbed and some of her possessions are taken. A Mr. Fordham meets her as she arrives in town and marries her within an hour of her arrival. Only after her marriage does she realize she married the wrong man. She married Thaddeus Fordham,who is the cousin of Mr Theodore Fordham. Bo After corresponding with a man named Theodore, she agrees to be his mail order bride. She is looking for security and not having to worry where her next meal is coming from. On the stagecoach to meet her intended it is robbed and some of her possessions are taken. A Mr. Fordham meets her as she arrives in town and marries her within an hour of her arrival. Only after her marriage does she realize she married the wrong man. She married Thaddeus Fordham,who is the cousin of Mr Theodore Fordham. Both men with very similar names were waiting for mail order brides with very similar names so this is how the mistake was made. After the marriage took place an annulment could not take place because the circuit preacher wouldn't be back in town for some time. Does she stay married to Tad or does the annulment take place and she marries Ted? I suggest you read this gem to find out for yourself.I have really enjoyed every book in the My Heart Belongs series that I've read and this was no exception. What a humorous writing style Susanne Dietze has, I just love it. I can't wait to read more by her!Pub Date 01 May 2017 Thank yo to NetGalley and Barbour Publishing, Inc. for providing me with a review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    May 26, 2017
    Y’all, I’m still grinning like a fool and all a’swoon over this latest novel from Susanne Dietze! I adore her humor and the way she crafts characters and romantic tension.And boy there’s a lot of delicious tension in My Heart Belongs In Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight! For starters, mail-order bride Rebecca Rice just married Thaddeus “Tad” Fordham. The problem? She’s actually supposed to marry Tad’s estranged cousin, Theodore Fordham. And Tad was looking for his intended bride, Rebekah Rhys, Y’all, I’m still grinning like a fool and all a’swoon over this latest novel from Susanne Dietze! I adore her humor and the way she crafts characters and romantic tension.And boy there’s a lot of delicious tension in My Heart Belongs In Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight! For starters, mail-order bride Rebecca Rice just married Thaddeus “Tad” Fordham. The problem? She’s actually supposed to marry Tad’s estranged cousin, Theodore Fordham. And Tad was looking for his intended bride, Rebekah Rhys, when he picked up Rebecca from the stagecoach. Oops!Delightful humor ensues, as well as some heartfelt moments and stolen glances filled with longing. Because, you see, that “you may now kiss your bride” kiss was a doozy! And Tad and Rebecca aren’t quite recovered from it yet. Between the sparks that kick up in the air whenever those two are together, the way Theodore needs a good purse whomping, and the suspense revolving around the notorious Gang of Four who keep causing trouble …. this is a completely entertaining read on every level.Bottom Line: Kisses, humor, great characters, a sweet and suspenseful plot (in turn), a hunky deputy, and a strong heroine. My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho has it all – and does it all well. With new novella or novel that I read by Susanne Dietze, she continues to be at the top of my list for historical romance. Read this latest one and you’ll see why!(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)see my review at Reading Is My SuperPower
    more
  • Julie Carpenter
    March 21, 2017
    I am really enjoying this new "My Heart Belongs" series. This is the third book in the series and so far it looks like there are 6 that will be released this year. One every other month starting back in January. If you enjoy historical fiction and Christian fiction I recommend checking these out. Some have more talk about God than others but out of the three that I have read (all different authors) I thought they were well done.I will say that this one is my favorite of the first three. I loved I am really enjoying this new "My Heart Belongs" series. This is the third book in the series and so far it looks like there are 6 that will be released this year. One every other month starting back in January. If you enjoy historical fiction and Christian fiction I recommend checking these out. Some have more talk about God than others but out of the three that I have read (all different authors) I thought they were well done.I will say that this one is my favorite of the first three. I loved Rebecca, I loved Thad, Theodore I grew to love, and I really enjoyed the secondary characters throughout. Rebecca finds herself on the way to Ruby City, Idaho as a mail order bride. Her previous circumstances have left her struggling to survive and she feels that she is being led by God as she has communicated and agreed to marry Theodore Fordham.Mishap occurs before she arrives and she finds the stagecoach she is riding in being held up by the nefarious Gang of Four. She is robbed of her money and several belongings but arrives with no harm in Ruby City. As she steps off the stagecoach into this mining town Mr. Fordham runs to greet her and assure her he is glad she has come. There is an instant connection between the two and they head in to be married by the Justice of the Peace.Little side story for you here...My grandfather served in the military during WWII. He and my grandma had been dating for a while and knew they would marry eventually but waited while he was at training camp. He came home on leave planning to go visit a cousin in Reno, NV with my grandma and a couple other cousins. As they were leaving my great grandma called out to them, "Now don't you two go getting yourselves married." As they arrived in Reno, my grandfather's cousins dared them to get married. So they went and woke up the Justice of the Peace, were married and the Justice said, "That'll be $5 please." I've always loved that story(there's a little more to it than that) and had it running through my head while reading most of this novel, probably because the Justice of the Peace kept showing up throughout.Emotions are running high and in all the rush and excitement to be married, one small detail is overlooked. It's pretty humorous how the author works it into the story so I'll let you read that, but Rebecca finds herself to be Mrs. Thaddeus Fordham and not Mrs. Theodore Fordham. Oh it's all a lovely and silly mixup but can't be changed until the circuit judge comes through....in a month.What ensues is a lovely, witty, sometimes frustrating story of growth and change in these character's lives. Rebecca wants safety and security, never needing to scrounge for a meal or living concerns again and she knows Theodore, the local mercantile owner, can provide that. Thaddeus, cousin to Theodore, is a deputy and that is big trouble for Rebecca. She lived with a father who was Sheriff and knows all too well the dangers involved. No Thank You!!!! And yet danger abounds in this little mining city and Rebecca finds herself close to the heart of the matter.Two men, one heart, danger, love, forgiveness, understanding, healing, old flames, hunger, fellow citizens, constant peril, all combine to make quite a fun and intriguing read. I thought I had several aspects figured out only to be wrong about it. Of course I'm sure you will be able to figure out the love story when you start reading it, but I will admit there were a couple times that I wasn't sure who she would choose...Thaddeus, the man she's married to, or Theodore the man she promised her heart and life to.Content: Clean. It's been a week since I've finished the book and writing this review but from what I remember it was clean. As stated earlier, this is a Christian fiction and the characters reference God throughout as well as praying for guidance.I received a copy from the Publisher, Barbour Publishing, via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions in the review are my own.Happy Reading!!!
    more
  • Hannah
    March 14, 2017
    4.5 starsClean, fun Western...full review coming in April.
  • Amanda Geaney (Christian Shelf-Esteem)
    May 2, 2017
    Make room in your beach bag for Susanne Dietze’s latest release, My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho. Although I usually shy away from love triangles, the accidental nature of Rebecca, Tad, and Theodore’s marriage mix-up combined well with the overall playful and lighthearted tenor of the story. Due to Dietze’s tight plotting and quick pacing, this is a book which can easily be enjoyed in a sitting or two.Rebecca Rice ventured to the Idaho Territory for Theodore and for herself, “so God could m Make room in your beach bag for Susanne Dietze’s latest release, My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho. Although I usually shy away from love triangles, the accidental nature of Rebecca, Tad, and Theodore’s marriage mix-up combined well with the overall playful and lighthearted tenor of the story. Due to Dietze’s tight plotting and quick pacing, this is a book which can easily be enjoyed in a sitting or two.Rebecca Rice ventured to the Idaho Territory for Theodore and for herself, “so God could make her whole.” Yet before the sun sets on her first day in Ruby City she had been robbed, wed to the wrong man, and held hostage. Although she didn’t envision her new life like this, she immediately began building relationships with the townsfolk while she awaited her annulment. During this time, readers get a glimpse of a woman who lavishes kindness on everyone regardless of their station. I especially enjoyed her friendships with Cornelia and Ulysses.Despite her aversion to lawmen, Rebecca and Tad are thrust together via multiple attempts to apprehend the Gang of Four. This is a good thing for readers, because these two have chemistry from the outset! Between the miners, outlaws, and dashing deputy, this story has a vibe that #Hearties (and fans of the Western) will adore!I received a copy of this book for free, a favorable review was not required of me. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Regina
    February 15, 2017
    Susanne Dietze's book My Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca's Plight is a delightful read that will satisfy your reading pleasure! It is like whipped cream on a sunde! Sweet and dreamy! This book had me chuckling because of the crazy mix-up in names, the action with the Gang, I loved the town of Ruby City and all of the characters, and the ruggedness of Idaho. I loved everything about this book!! My Heart Belongs in Ruby City kept me riveted to the pages. It was a very good story! Rebecca came Susanne Dietze's book My Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca's Plight is a delightful read that will satisfy your reading pleasure! It is like whipped cream on a sunde! Sweet and dreamy! This book had me chuckling because of the crazy mix-up in names, the action with the Gang, I loved the town of Ruby City and all of the characters, and the ruggedness of Idaho. I loved everything about this book!! My Heart Belongs in Ruby City kept me riveted to the pages. It was a very good story! Rebecca came to Ruby City as a mail order bride to Theodore Fordham. As she comes in on the stage, it is ambushed. When she finally arrives in town, the action and fun really happens! Rebecca and her 'husband'/'fiance' have a lot to overcome in a month. Who will be her true husband in the end?Disclosure statement I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
    more
  • Karen
    February 25, 2017
    Loved this story, a real western romance, full of colorful characters, action, adventure and tangled relationships! The plot was interesting and moved quickly, with never a dull moment. Set right after the Civil War, Idaho Territory in 1866 was a rough place to move to, but Rebecca is desperate and thinks she has found a solution to her difficult situation, so risks it all and takes a stagecoach to Ruby City all the way from Missouri. Only things get rough when the stage gets robbed just outsid Loved this story, a real western romance, full of colorful characters, action, adventure and tangled relationships! The plot was interesting and moved quickly, with never a dull moment. Set right after the Civil War, Idaho Territory in 1866 was a rough place to move to, but Rebecca is desperate and thinks she has found a solution to her difficult situation, so risks it all and takes a stagecoach to Ruby City all the way from Missouri. Only things get rough when the stage gets robbed just outside of town. If that wasn't hard enough, she somehow ends up marrying the wrong man once she steps off the stage! Things have a way of working out, as she realizes that God may have another reason for her being there, and that His plan may be a whole lot better than she thinks. "He setteth the solitary in families: he bringeth out those which are bound with chains." Psalm 68:6 KJV It was inspiring to see Rebecca rise to the need of the people around her, overcoming her fears and insecurities, growing in faith, hope, trust, and eventually love. She has a big heart, showing grace and compassion to the "least of these", though sometimes she seems a bit misguided. The romantic entanglement is a complicated one, but boy does it sizzle finally--totally worth the wait! Recommend to readers who enjoy historical Christian romances! Fans of Mary Connealy, Margaret Brownley, Karen Witemeyer, and Erica Vetsch will probably love this one. 4.5 stars(An e-copy was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    April 17, 2017
    Loved the concept of this book right from the beginning, a mix-up of names and a quick mail order bride marriage. Um only to discover the wrong cousin married the wrong Rebecca, to funny, talk about not knowing one another before getting married.We are in a Ruby City, Idaho, an old West mining town, and I had a feeling by the end of the book it would no longer exist, but have no fear, the next town was only a mile away, although it took hours to get there, at least it seemed to when there was an Loved the concept of this book right from the beginning, a mix-up of names and a quick mail order bride marriage. Um only to discover the wrong cousin married the wrong Rebecca, to funny, talk about not knowing one another before getting married.We are in a Ruby City, Idaho, an old West mining town, and I had a feeling by the end of the book it would no longer exist, but have no fear, the next town was only a mile away, although it took hours to get there, at least it seemed to when there was an annulment on the horizon.We all are quick to judge, and these people are no exception, but underneath are loving hearts, and Rebecca finds some that are about to become life long friends. Who couldn’t blame Corny not liking this pretty woman coming in to marry the man she seems to have her heart set on, so she acted like a scorned woman.We have quite an assortment of characters in this small town, and your heart will go out to some of them, wish we could continue here, there are a lot more stories. An enjoyable read from beginning to end and fun read, and one that will fly quickly as you page turn.I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Barbour Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 6, 2017
    "There is no protocol for this . . . . . situation I find myself in." "This situation" involves marrying the wrong man when she thought she was marrying the right man . . . . or something like that. Rebecca Rice has traveled days to reach the silver mining town of Ruby City, Idaho where her intended is the proprietor of the local mercantile; having corresponded for quite some time with her mail order groom and deciding that Theodore Fordham can provide her with a sensible, predictable future. In "There is no protocol for this . . . . . situation I find myself in." "This situation" involves marrying the wrong man when she thought she was marrying the right man . . . . or something like that. Rebecca Rice has traveled days to reach the silver mining town of Ruby City, Idaho where her intended is the proprietor of the local mercantile; having corresponded for quite some time with her mail order groom and deciding that Theodore Fordham can provide her with a sensible, predictable future. In a cruel twist of mistaken identities, Rebecca marries Theo's cousin Thaddeus; the town deputy who could never be accused of spending even two ordinary days in a row, especially when the notorious "Gang of Four" has been spotted on the outskirts of town . Waiting impatiently for an annulment, Thad and Rebecca; the town's most famous "married-but-not-married" couple, do their best to avoid confrontation, leaving room for this predictably unpredictable conundrum to come full circle. Susanne Dietze has added a delightful story to the "My Heart Belongs" series. The author provided me with an advance copy of this book. The opinions stated are entirely my own.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    April 12, 2017
    I discovered Susanne Dietze's writing with her first novel, The Reluctant Guardian, and decided here was an author I wanted to follow. She writes with skill and infuses depth into her characters and their plights. I was pulled in at the beginning of this book. It is a wonderful story and one I'm sure readers will enjoy fully. *I was given a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher via Net Galley. My opinions are my own.
    more
  • Rebekah Tooley
    April 25, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book! It was a nice change of what I had been reading and I would definitely recommend!
  • Kerry Johnson
    May 28, 2017
    A fun, sweet read from a new favorite historical author. My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho starts out with an accidental marriage and ends with a sigh-filled HEA skillfully written with heart and humor. Using snappy dialogue, realistic main and (hilarious) secondary characters, and a plot that's tight and action-packed, author Suzanne Dietze sweeps readers up in a romantic romp of a read that will appeal to historical romance fans. What a great way to kick off my summer reading!
    more
  • Trisha Robertson (Joy of Reading)
    May 12, 2017
    Rebecca's Plight has action right from the beginning. From a hair-raising stagecoach hold-up to a case of mistaken identity, you won't be disappointed by this entertaining, light-hearted adventure!I really enjoyed reading Rebecca's story. This is the second book in the "My Heart Belongs" collection and a delightful addition. Susanne Dietz has taken on the topic of a Mail-order bride, and breathed new life into this story premise. I have read (and enjoyed) several stories of mail-order brides, bu Rebecca's Plight has action right from the beginning. From a hair-raising stagecoach hold-up to a case of mistaken identity, you won't be disappointed by this entertaining, light-hearted adventure!I really enjoyed reading Rebecca's story. This is the second book in the "My Heart Belongs" collection and a delightful addition. Susanne Dietz has taken on the topic of a Mail-order bride, and breathed new life into this story premise. I have read (and enjoyed) several stories of mail-order brides, but Rebecca's Plight stands alone with a unique twist in the story where the bride marries the wrong groom.This story has a something for anyone. Fans of Western stories will be thrilled by the action, and those looking for a light-hearted, clean christian romance will be equally delighted. I found myself cheering for Rebecca and fully engaged in her story. I’m happy to recommend this engaging, page-turning story.To read my full review, visit me at: www.joyofreadingweb.wordpress.com*I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. My opinions I have expressed are my own.
    more
  • Amy
    February 16, 2017
    My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca's Plight is a great addition to the My Heart Belongs series. I thought it was fun and sweet with some suspense. Looking forward to more by this author in the figure. 5 stars
  • Just Commonly
    May 31, 2017
    In My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho, we open the scene with a sound of rifle shot as our heroine, Rebecca is traveling on a stage coach to Ruby City to meet her future husband. She'd met him through an ad in the newspaper, and have only corresponded through letters. Within the first chapter, we are witnesses to a beautiful, yet short wedding ceremony. What are the thoughts in Rebecca's mind as she ends the night? "Lovely wedding day. . . one wee thing. I married the wrong man." (25)That woul In My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho, we open the scene with a sound of rifle shot as our heroine, Rebecca is traveling on a stage coach to Ruby City to meet her future husband. She'd met him through an ad in the newspaper, and have only corresponded through letters. Within the first chapter, we are witnesses to a beautiful, yet short wedding ceremony. What are the thoughts in Rebecca's mind as she ends the night? "Lovely wedding day. . . one wee thing. I married the wrong man." (25)That would indeed be a problem, but all things happen for a reason. What an exciting start! The author, Susanne Dietze surely gave us a run for our money with a story as intriguing to start, characters to love, hate and an ending that may just let you closed the book with complete satisfaction. The humor was subtle, but downright comical when you read it. "Pie isn't so easy. . .Crust and I don't get along. Lots more work than a cobbler." (50)The message of grace was humbling to say the least.". . . I don't think the Lord is upset that I tended a man who didn't deserve it. That's what grace is. Who would I be if I don't extend some myself?" (118)To top it off, the meaning of love for this historical romance is timeless.". . . there's feeling protected behind a bolted door, and then there's the peace that doesn't depend on locks or the law. It comes from love and trust.." (161)And to end, trust me when I say this is one historical romance read that you'll definitely enjoy!This review first appeared on Just Commonly blog.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Tina
    May 28, 2017
    My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, IdahoBy Susanne DietzeLovers of historical romance will be delighted with this engaging, heartwarming story from Susanne Dietze. Funny and uplifting, it will keep readers turning the pages to see what happens. In the story, Rebecca Rice journeys by stage coach to Ruby City, where she will meet her intended for the first time. They have only written letters, as she is a mail order bride. When she arrives, the man she thinks she is to marry, Theodore, is running to m My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, IdahoBy Susanne DietzeLovers of historical romance will be delighted with this engaging, heartwarming story from Susanne Dietze. Funny and uplifting, it will keep readers turning the pages to see what happens. In the story, Rebecca Rice journeys by stage coach to Ruby City, where she will meet her intended for the first time. They have only written letters, as she is a mail order bride. When she arrives, the man she thinks she is to marry, Theodore, is running to meet her. They head off for an immediate marriage at the courthouse. Unfortunately, after the vows are said, she realizes she has married Thadeus, the town deputy, rather than his cousin. Tad, as he prefers to be known, was also waiting on a Rebekah from the stage and Theodore is his cousin. They immediately intend to set things right through an annulment so she can marry Theodore. They must wait an entire month though. During that month, as she tries to get to know Theodore, she realizes that maybe she did marry the right cousin. But, she would never be married to a lawman. She seeks stability and comfort. Tad can’t give her that, but his cousin can. Throughout robberies, gunshot wounds, and posse hunts, she struggles with her feelings and her determination to do what is right. Will she marry Theodore? Will she move on? What is the best choice? Readers will enjoy finding love along with Rebecca in this delightful story. I received a free copy of this book for my honest opinion from NetGalley.
    more
  • Gillian At Home
    May 11, 2017
    Being someone who doesn't really read much romance or historical fiction, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I'm glad I let others' reviews sway me into giving this a try! The Christian perspective here was a bonus - far from being cloying or overbearing, it is woven into the character of the protagonist, Rebecca. Through her example of service to others, selflessness, and assuming the best intentions, she allows God to work in the hearts of the people she meets in the wonderful mi Being someone who doesn't really read much romance or historical fiction, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I'm glad I let others' reviews sway me into giving this a try! The Christian perspective here was a bonus - far from being cloying or overbearing, it is woven into the character of the protagonist, Rebecca. Through her example of service to others, selflessness, and assuming the best intentions, she allows God to work in the hearts of the people she meets in the wonderful mining town of Ruby, City. Throw in a Gang of Four subplot, and you have a wonderful background for a love story built on a case of mistaken identities. I have memories of watching Little House on the Prairie as a girl, and this really captured the same small town cast of characters for me. The prose isn't flowery or extravagant, so you really get caught up in the dialogue and the plot - kudos to the author for letting her characters shine through this way. I felt immersed in Ruby City as I read. You will really feel a part of this town and like you know the people!
    more
  • Becky
    March 21, 2017
    When I began to read this novel, I was almost prepared to dismiss it as a formulaic romance. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this novel takes a few detours along the formula line. While it does have a bit of a slow start, the pace of the plot picks up quite quickly. In a comedy of mistaken identities and a rush to the altar before everything is understood, Tad and Rebecca find themselves married, when Rebecca was supposed to marry Tad's cousin, Theodore. The animosity between Tad and Theo When I began to read this novel, I was almost prepared to dismiss it as a formulaic romance. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this novel takes a few detours along the formula line. While it does have a bit of a slow start, the pace of the plot picks up quite quickly. In a comedy of mistaken identities and a rush to the altar before everything is understood, Tad and Rebecca find themselves married, when Rebecca was supposed to marry Tad's cousin, Theodore. The animosity between Tad and Theodore adds to the comedy of errors.Suzanne Dietze has contributed to several of Barbour Publishing's novella collections and I always find her writing entertaining and worth the time to read. This novel is no different. My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho, has all kinds of adventure, angst, and growth. Some of the characters have to overcome a prejudice and find the kindness within themselves. For that reason alone, the book is worth reading. Five stars, two thumbs up, and a marriage to the right man.My thanks goes to Barbour Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • Trixi
    May 18, 2017
    A marriage mishap makes for a myriad of mixed-feelings in this masterfully written hilarious and heart-felt historical! In a small town where folks are like family and no-one’s a stranger, this story will take you for a ride! It had me laughing at all the funny lines that the author let slip through, falling in love with each character and rooting for true love to shine. I enjoyed this so much, and even though I could guess at how some things would happen, the author had a few surprises up her s A marriage mishap makes for a myriad of mixed-feelings in this masterfully written hilarious and heart-felt historical! In a small town where folks are like family and no-one’s a stranger, this story will take you for a ride! It had me laughing at all the funny lines that the author let slip through, falling in love with each character and rooting for true love to shine. I enjoyed this so much, and even though I could guess at how some things would happen, the author had a few surprises up her sleeve! It had me happy-sighing in the end, that’s truly the sign of a well-written story that plunks itself in your heart. For anyone who enjoys a light-hearted read full of wit & humor, characters that will tug at you & bits of history sprinkled throughout. Highly recommended!* I was given a complimentary copy from the author. No review was required & the opinions expressed her are strictly my own*
    more
  • Britney
    June 1, 2017
    This mail-order mix-up charmed me right from the start! Filled with action and adventure, Rebecca’s Plight engaged and entertained with every turn of the page. I thoroughly enjoyed the suspense and romance of the story and am eager to read more from Susanne Dietze. My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho is a delightful tale and a recommended read!I received a complimentary copy of this book. No review was required, and all thoughts expressed are my own.
    more
  • Ang12
    May 26, 2017
    3.5 stars.
  • Andrea
    March 7, 2017
    Oh, my! On her way to Ruby City, Idaho to become the mail-order bride of Theodore Fordham. Rebecca Rice's stagecoach is held up by a gang of robbers. At least she wasn't killed in the process. How much more can go wrong? Lots! What follows is a well-written comedy of mistaken identities, a town full of interesting characters and drama as the "Gang of Four" causes more trouble. Not to mention the drama of the main characters. One of my favorite scenes was in near the beginning of the book. ~As sh Oh, my! On her way to Ruby City, Idaho to become the mail-order bride of Theodore Fordham. Rebecca Rice's stagecoach is held up by a gang of robbers. At least she wasn't killed in the process. How much more can go wrong? Lots! What follows is a well-written comedy of mistaken identities, a town full of interesting characters and drama as the "Gang of Four" causes more trouble. Not to mention the drama of the main characters. One of my favorite scenes was in near the beginning of the book. ~As she arrived into town she saw him. She didn't need a picture, "she knew it was him by the way her heart battered her chest like a wild bird was caught inside her ribcage." It is only after a short walk with her groom and a rushed wedding that Rebecca learns she has married the wrong man!~ Engaged to one cousin, married to the other, Rebecca and the men must wait for at least a month before the judge comes to town to get an annulment. After getting to know both cousins, who will Rebecca give her heart to?I loved everything about this book! There is drama, comedy, romance and reconciliation. I loved the character, Ulysses every town needs an old coot and he fits the bill perfectly. This was not the first book I've read from author Susanne Dietze and it will not be my last. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes clean, westerns with a bit of romance.*I thank the publisher for the opportunity to read this book through NetGalley. The opinion expressed is entirely my own.
    more
  • Kelly Tyree
    February 3, 2017
    My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho is such an endearing book. I really enjoyed reading it. I found it to be well written and engaging. Rebecca Rice heads to Ruby City to marry a man she has been corresponding with named Theodore. When she arrives in Ruby City, she is met at the stagecoach by a man that she believes is Theodore. They get married and then she realizes she married Theodore's cousin, Tad. Tad had been corresponding with a lady with a very similar name and thought he was marrying h My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho is such an endearing book. I really enjoyed reading it. I found it to be well written and engaging. Rebecca Rice heads to Ruby City to marry a man she has been corresponding with named Theodore. When she arrives in Ruby City, she is met at the stagecoach by a man that she believes is Theodore. They get married and then she realizes she married Theodore's cousin, Tad. Tad had been corresponding with a lady with a very similar name and thought he was marrying her. To further complicate things, Tad is a deputy and Rebecca refuses to marry a deputy because her father was a lawman and he was killed. Tad and Rebecca decide to annul their marriage so that she can marry Theodore. While they wait for the Judge to come to town for the annulment, Rebecca begins to learn about the community and about Theodore. The problem is Theodore is not what she imagined and Tad is so attentive and kind. Both Tad and Rebecca believe strongly in abiding by commitments and Rebecca did commit herself to Theodore so no matter how she might feel about Tad, she is determined to marry Theodore. Tad is busy trying to catch a gang of stagecoach robbers. These robbers robbed Rebecca's stagecoach while she was on her way to Ruby City. They have also taken many items from members of the community. He is also trying to determine what he wants for his future. He has plans of setting down roots in Ruby City but the city is moving and Tad has to decide whether he will move with the city or follow his dream. He also can't imagine that dream without Rebecca in it. Things change when God intervenes. All of the "My Heart Belongs" books are great reads. They are packed with romance, action and suspense.
    more
  • Tish
    February 10, 2017
    What a cute story. It was about Rebecca a mail order bride. On her wasy to get married the coach was held up.. They stolen some of her articles. When the Gang went off the coach made it to Ruby City. Her husband to be was not there and then when she say him and married him she married the wrong man. She married his cousin instead. She thought it was funny when they said his name Tad but thought they meant Ted. A cute story about a accidentally marriage. A Gang that holds up stage coaches and the What a cute story. It was about Rebecca a mail order bride. On her wasy to get married the coach was held up.. They stolen some of her articles. When the Gang went off the coach made it to Ruby City. Her husband to be was not there and then when she say him and married him she married the wrong man. She married his cousin instead. She thought it was funny when they said his name Tad but thought they meant Ted. A cute story about a accidentally marriage. A Gang that holds up stage coaches and the people she meets in the town. Was this a accidentally marriage? Read for a honest review and I truly loved it.
    more
  • JoAnn
    April 28, 2017
    I loved Rebecca's Plight it is a well written western mail order bride romance. Rebecca discovers she has married the wrong groom can love come from this mistake. If you enjoy good clean romance I highly recommend this book. The fact that it was a western was a plus also. I received an advance copy via Netgalley. This is an unbiased review.
    more
  • Dorothea
    May 29, 2017
    My favorite type of books to read are "Mail-order bride books , so I knew I HAD to give this one a go !I'm glad I did ! Things this books has in it are tons of laughs , married to the wrong man , yep she did ! , bad guys on a mission , sweet romance geared to make you want to become a mail order bride yourself , OK maybe not ! But still a wonderfully sweet , clean romance .If you like books by Robin Lee Hatcher or Colleen Coble you will enjoy this book!Thanks to Barbour Publishing, Inc. and Netg My favorite type of books to read are "Mail-order bride books , so I knew I HAD to give this one a go !I'm glad I did ! Things this books has in it are tons of laughs , married to the wrong man , yep she did ! , bad guys on a mission , sweet romance geared to make you want to become a mail order bride yourself , OK maybe not ! But still a wonderfully sweet , clean romance .If you like books by Robin Lee Hatcher or Colleen Coble you will enjoy this book!Thanks to Barbour Publishing, Inc. and Netgalley for this complimentary ebook in exchange for my honest review.
    more
Write a review