Death on Nantucket (A Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery #5)
Spencer Murphy is a national treasure. A famous correspondent during the Vietnam War who escaped captivity in Southeast Asia, he made a fortune off of his books and television appearances. But Spence is growing forgetful with age; he’s started to wander and even fails to come home one night. When a body is discovered at Step Above, the sprawling Murphy house near Steps Beach, Nantucket police detective Meredith Folger is called in to investigate.The timing couldn’t be worse: It’s the Fourth of July, Merry’s planning her wedding to cranberry farmer Peter Mason, and her new police chief is gunning for her job. Merry is inclined to call the death at Step Above a tragic accident . . . until another member of the Murphy clan comes to a brutal end. As Merry grapples with a family of unreliable storytellers—some incapable of recalling the past, and others determined that it never be known—she suspects that the truth may be forever out of reach, trapped in the failing brain of a man whose whole life may be a lie.

Death on Nantucket (A Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery #5) Details

TitleDeath on Nantucket (A Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery #5)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSoho Crime
ISBN1616957379
ISBN-139781616957377
Rating
GenreMystery

Death on Nantucket (A Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery #5) Review

  • Darcia Helle
    April 28, 2017
    The title immediately drew me to this book. I'm from Massachusetts, and spent time on Nantucket Island when I was a child. I no longer live in the state, so the nostalgia of "home" was a nice perk with this story. The author does a great job of placing us on that island. I was never part of the wealthy culture that has taken over, but I felt it come alive on the pages.The first half of the story reads like a family drama wrapped around a mysterious death. Merry's character and her investigation The title immediately drew me to this book. I'm from Massachusetts, and spent time on Nantucket Island when I was a child. I no longer live in the state, so the nostalgia of "home" was a nice perk with this story. The author does a great job of placing us on that island. I was never part of the wealthy culture that has taken over, but I felt it come alive on the pages.The first half of the story reads like a family drama wrapped around a mysterious death. Merry's character and her investigation are secondary to the family members' theatrics. The mystery intensifies and Merry's investigation picks up speed throughout the second half of the book. Here we get to play detective along with Merry as she uncovers the secrets and lies. I didn't feel I got to know Merry's character beyond the basics of her personality. There is little character development with her, and not much beyond what we need to know with the others. The character I liked best was Andre. Despite his part being relatively small, I had a better sense of who he was at his core. The others all felt superficial to me.I haven't read any of the previous books in this series. I assume Merry's character is fleshed out better in the first book or two. If you're looking for a connection with her, you might want to start at the beginning with this series. *I received an advance copy from the publisher, via Amazon Vine, in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Patty
    April 26, 2017
    Death On NantucketByFrancine MatthewsWhat it's all about...OMG...did I ever love this book! It's set on Nantucket which could not be more perfect. And...it's set on Nantucket over the 4th of July...fireworks, parades, picnics...so it could not be more festive. Add to all of that that it was a murder mystery, too! Wonderful! Merry is the detective who has to find out who murdered a famous elderly but declining resident of a lovely old island house. The victim's family gathers there making this de Death On NantucketByFrancine MatthewsWhat it's all about...OMG...did I ever love this book! It's set on Nantucket which could not be more perfect. And...it's set on Nantucket over the 4th of July...fireworks, parades, picnics...so it could not be more festive. Add to all of that that it was a murder mystery, too! Wonderful! Merry is the detective who has to find out who murdered a famous elderly but declining resident of a lovely old island house. The victim's family gathers there making this death even more complex. Why I wanted to read it...I love books that take place on Nantucket...they just simply take my breath away. I loved Merry and her fiancé, I loved the Nantucket families...well...most of them. I loved the beaches and the foods! I need to get to Nantucket! What made me truly enjoy this book...I realized that Merry is the main character in at least 4 other cozy Nantucket mysteries. I think these can be read out of order and still be delightful! Why you should read it, too...Readers who love unique mysteries will thoroughly enjoy the characters as well as the situations in this book.
    more
  • Cathy Cole
    May 17, 2017
    Francine Mathews has been one busy writer. When approached by her publisher to write another of her Merry Folger mysteries-- a series she wrote in the mid- to late 1990s-- she agreed on one condition: that she rewrite the first four books to bring them up to date. Having read and enjoyed the books in their first incarnation, I have to admit that I am interested in the updated versions.Death on Nantucket continues the things I liked so much about the other books in the series. Mathews (who writes Francine Mathews has been one busy writer. When approached by her publisher to write another of her Merry Folger mysteries-- a series she wrote in the mid- to late 1990s-- she agreed on one condition: that she rewrite the first four books to bring them up to date. Having read and enjoyed the books in their first incarnation, I have to admit that I am interested in the updated versions.Death on Nantucket continues the things I liked so much about the other books in the series. Mathews (who writes the Jane Austen mysteries under the name Stephanie Barron) brings the landscape of Nantucket to life in all its sights, sounds, and smells. She also brings in many fascinating facts about the island, some of them historical and some of them about everyday things like trash and landfills. Merry Folger is a strong, intelligent main character whom I quickly grew to like.Woven into the investigation are scenes from Merry's personal life. That ex-Chicago cop who's now police chief on Nantucket is so obnoxious that I just had to roll my eyes and fume, and Mathews includes some mouth-watering scenes that will have dedicated foodies blissed out. Even though the members of the Murphy family didn't seem to be able to tell the truth, I had little trouble in deducing what was going on. But it certainly was great to visit Nantucket, and I'd go see Merry Folger again anytime!
    more
  • Linda
    June 16, 2017
    3 1/2 stars. Quick easy read. This may just be the Nantucket version of Philip Craig's murder mysteries set on Martha's Vineyard
  • Carol
    June 20, 2017
    3-1/2 stars. I read the earlier Merry Folger mysteries when they first came out and was sorry that there had been no more so I was looking forward to this. Love the Nantucket setting, remembered enough about the characters to know the back stories (though that's not a necessity), and there were enough twists to keep it interesting. At times, though, it was a tad too lecture-y on whatever subject the author thought the readers should learn about, from tides to wind farms, etc. Still, an entertain 3-1/2 stars. I read the earlier Merry Folger mysteries when they first came out and was sorry that there had been no more so I was looking forward to this. Love the Nantucket setting, remembered enough about the characters to know the back stories (though that's not a necessity), and there were enough twists to keep it interesting. At times, though, it was a tad too lecture-y on whatever subject the author thought the readers should learn about, from tides to wind farms, etc. Still, an entertaining read and I hope there will be more to the series.
    more
  • Chris
    July 1, 2017
    This is the first book in this series which I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Quick easy read with lots of twists and turns. Keeps you guessing until the end! I received this book thru a Goodreads giveaway.
  • Dora Truong
    June 9, 2017
    A bit tough for me to get involved but once I did, game on. I like the author's mysteries about Jane Austen better. That being said, she writes well and the story was interesting.
  • Mae
    May 22, 2017
    Tossed, dumped, educated ChickLit meets Mystery...not for me.
  • Frank Diprimo
    May 9, 2017
    Great , interesting mystery read. Good character development, interesting characters and story. Kept my interest throughout, good twists. First Merry Folger book I read - liked it a lot
  • Richard Becker
    June 9, 2017
    I was glad to see a new Merry Folger Nantucket mystery has been written. I enjoyed the setting as usual and catching up with Merry's life. The mystery was well done and I enjoyed the characters .
  • Ann
    March 6, 2017
    This is the fifth book in the Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery series. You can read this book as a stand alone but you'll want to know Merry and Peter a little better. It's the 4th of July and Merry is patrolling the island worried that the new police chief want's her out of the department. She would much rather be planning her wedding but when a dead body is found on the roof of a prominent family home she has to investigate. When a 2nd body is found everyone in the family becomes a suspect. A go This is the fifth book in the Merry Folger Nantucket Mystery series. You can read this book as a stand alone but you'll want to know Merry and Peter a little better. It's the 4th of July and Merry is patrolling the island worried that the new police chief want's her out of the department. She would much rather be planning her wedding but when a dead body is found on the roof of a prominent family home she has to investigate. When a 2nd body is found everyone in the family becomes a suspect. A good mystery with lots of suspects and subtle clues to keep you involved in the investigation. A good beach read.
    more
  • Kathy Piselli
    February 21, 2017
    Fun summer read, light and satisfying. Lots of local color. Easy to read dialogue and with an interesting plot that's not overly twisty. This was an advance uncopyedited edition picked up at the 2017 American Library Association Midwinter meeting in Atlanta.
    more
  • Jo Dervan
    October 8, 2016
    Nora Murphy, the adopted daughter of Pulitzer winning author Spencer Murphy, came to Nantucket to visit her Dad. After a few days she disappeared. A month later during 4th of July weekend, she was discovered dead of cyanide poisoning up on the Murphy house's roof walk.Spencer had been suffering from dementia and had seemed to deteriorate after his wife's death a year before. Spencer's two sons, David and Eliot, disagreed about how to care for their father's declining health. David was a successf Nora Murphy, the adopted daughter of Pulitzer winning author Spencer Murphy, came to Nantucket to visit her Dad. After a few days she disappeared. A month later during 4th of July weekend, she was discovered dead of cyanide poisoning up on the Murphy house's roof walk.Spencer had been suffering from dementia and had seemed to deteriorate after his wife's death a year before. Spencer's two sons, David and Eliot, disagreed about how to care for their father's declining health. David was a successful attorney in Boston. Eliot was a realtor in NYC. David was divorced and had a daughter named Laney while Eliot was planning to marry his lover Andre. All of them were in Nantucket for the 4th of July. Nantucket Detective, Merry Folger, was in charge of the case and soon discovered that the cyanide was from apricot pit seeds mixed with coffee beans and ground up to make the lethal brew. She also discovered that Nora was really Spencer's daughter and the story Spencer had written about his escape from a prison in Laos was false.David's ex-wife Kate, then came to Nantucket for Nora's funeral against the wishes of her ex husband. However Kate and Nora had been close and Kate felt it was necessary. While the family was arguing about Spencer's health and the possible sale of the valuable Nantucket family home, Spencer turns up dead, an apparent suicide. Merry discovered that Spencer had been murdered and realized that it was done by someone in the Murphy house. Merry uses her detective skills and knowledge of everyday life on Nantucket to solve the case.This is the second in the Nantucket Island Mystery series.
    more
  • Lynn
    October 9, 2016
    Murders on Nantucket Island at 4th of July, but all members of the same family. Certainly an above-average read.I read this EARC courtesy of Soho Press and Edelweiss. Pub date 06/16/17
  • Andréa
    October 19, 2016
    Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  • Maryellie
    July 1, 2017
    What a good book to read and forget about everything else. I enjoyed Death on Nantucket and hope Merry has many more cases to solve. Thank you for the give-away.
  • Amy
    April 27, 2017
    ARC/Mystery: This book does not come out for another month, so no spoilers here. I will tell you how I felt. I just read a stinker or a thriller so this book cleaned out my brain. This book is part of a series so a lot of the background of the characters has been set a while ago. I liked the character of Merry. I really didn't get a grasp of her life because she was getting married and was happy. The case she is investigating is mysterious and I did not guess the killer. I really liked the setti ARC/Mystery: This book does not come out for another month, so no spoilers here. I will tell you how I felt. I just read a stinker or a thriller so this book cleaned out my brain. This book is part of a series so a lot of the background of the characters has been set a while ago. I liked the character of Merry. I really didn't get a grasp of her life because she was getting married and was happy. The case she is investigating is mysterious and I did not guess the killer. I really liked the setting not so much that it takes place on Nantucket, but because it's on an island. A busy island, but an island that you have to fly off of or take a ferry. This leaves suspects and potential victims pretty much stuck. I liked that I learned about Nantucket such as that there are no funeral homes. I do recommend this book. I did receive this book from Amazon for a honest review.
    more
Write a review