The Silent Corner (Jane Hawk, #1)
A dazzling new series debuts with a remarkable heroine certain to become a new icon of suspense, propelled by the singular narrative genius of #1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. I very much need to be dead. These are the chilling words left behind by a man who had everything to live for but took his own life. In the aftermath, his widow, Jane Hawk, does what all her grief, fear, and fury demands: find the truth, no matter what. People of talent and accomplishment, people admired and happy and sound of mind, have been committing suicide in surprising numbers. When Jane seeks to learn why, she becomes the most-wanted fugitive in America. Her powerful enemies are protecting a secret so important so terrifying that they will exterminate anyone in their way. But all their power and viciousness may not be enough to stop a woman as clever as they are cold-blooded, as relentless as they are ruthless and who is driven by a righteous rage they can never comprehend. Because it is born of love.

The Silent Corner (Jane Hawk, #1) Details

TitleThe Silent Corner (Jane Hawk, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherBantam
ISBN-139780345545992
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Horror

The Silent Corner (Jane Hawk, #1) Review

  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    The Silent Corner by Dean Koontz is a 2017 Bantam publication. This is the best Koontz novel I have read in a very long time. After Jane’s decorated husband commits suicide, she detects a noticeable uptick in suicides, prompting her to do a little research into the matter. The FBI agent quickly realizes her findings have made someone very nervous, which prompts her to relocate her son to a safe place, while she goes in search of answers. The horror she uncovers is a spine tingling world of brain The Silent Corner by Dean Koontz is a 2017 Bantam publication. This is the best Koontz novel I have read in a very long time. After Jane’s decorated husband commits suicide, she detects a noticeable uptick in suicides, prompting her to do a little research into the matter. The FBI agent quickly realizes her findings have made someone very nervous, which prompts her to relocate her son to a safe place, while she goes in search of answers. The horror she uncovers is a spine tingling world of brain implants and mind control, evil geniuses, bent on control, drunk on power and wealth, armed with technological advances that will both blow your mind and keep you up at night. Jane is an awesome protagonist with just the right balance of ‘bad ass’ and smarts, and human compassion. Her maternal instincts coupled with her vigilante mission is a riveting juxtaposition amid Jane’s terrifying battle to stay one step ahead of the game and come out alive. I did enjoy the finer tech details, which made the story seem shockingly realistic, and does make for some pretty intense scenarios. The pacing is very brisk, with little down time along the way, the plot is very well constructed, with most of the I’s dotted and t’s crossed. I can see why this book would appeal to the video media- movies or television, although I dislike books written with this very thing in mind. But, because I was so relieved this book didn’t suck, like so many of Koontz recent offerings, I was willing to overlook a lot of that pandering, and slick production, which deprived the novel of a certain level of grittiness that would have served it well, in my opinion. Still, overall, I am on board for this series, and hope the upcoming installments are on par with this one. 4 stars
    more
  • Matthew
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Bantam Books/Random house for this ARC. Also thanks to Dustin Crazy little brown owl - moderator of Koontzland - the definitive Koontz Goodreads group - for hosting the giveaway where I won this book.Right away in the intro to the ARC, Koontz says this is not like his normal writing. I have not read all of his books yet, but of what I have read, this it a very true statement. This is not horror. This is not supernatural. There are no oddly named demons or maniacal serial killers. But, Thanks to Bantam Books/Random house for this ARC. Also thanks to Dustin Crazy little brown owl - moderator of Koontzland - the definitive Koontz Goodreads group - for hosting the giveaway where I won this book.Right away in the intro to the ARC, Koontz says this is not like his normal writing. I have not read all of his books yet, but of what I have read, this it a very true statement. This is not horror. This is not supernatural. There are no oddly named demons or maniacal serial killers. But, he does mention Golden Retrievers a couple of times!I am going with 4.5 stars on this one rounding up to 5 (since GR doesn’t do the half stars). I was quite impressed with this book - it kept me interested and on the edge of my seat throughout. Also, it did a good job of both telling a whole story while also introducing what will be a new ongoing series (ARC has the into for the next book already).I like this type of book anyway, so it was great to see this style from an author I like to read - and see it done well!If you like espionage, government corruption, technological terrorism, and edge of your seat action sequences where you aren't sure how our heroine is going to succeed - this is the book for you. Even if you aren't a Koontz fan, I think you will like this. Only two shades of Koontz stuck out to me. The first was the occasional (and, in my opinion, unnecessary) use of large vocabulary words to describe simple things - words that probably the most academic person wouldn't even use in conversation. He does this all the time in his books! The second is, of course, the aforementioned Golden Retrievers.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This thrilling new series from Dean Koontz gets off to a flying start. Things are going well for Jane Hawks when out of the blue her husband commits suicide. A reeling and griefstricken Jane is on leave from the FBI when she decides she is going to look into this, taking the precaution of hiding her five year old son away. She becomes aware that there are other talented people who have similarly committed suicide. As she tried to get to the bottom of this horrifying phenomena, she finds herself This thrilling new series from Dean Koontz gets off to a flying start. Things are going well for Jane Hawks when out of the blue her husband commits suicide. A reeling and griefstricken Jane is on leave from the FBI when she decides she is going to look into this, taking the precaution of hiding her five year old son away. She becomes aware that there are other talented people who have similarly committed suicide. As she tried to get to the bottom of this horrifying phenomena, she finds herself going off the grid. She is being hunted down by so many people who will do anything to eliminate her and Jane has problems in finding anyone she can trust. This is a sinister story of lies, government corruption, espionage and a shocking conspiracy.The use of surveillance to track Jane down is an unsettling experience. In a fast paced novel with short chapters, we root for Jane as she attempts to evade and escape dangerous forces in search of the truth. There is plenty of suspense in the gripping narrative although there are plenty of unanswered questions by the end, presumably they will be answered in the next in the series. Jane is a great central character, strong and courageous, determined that nothing will stop her. The twisted use of technology in the book is a frightening prospect. An intriguing and entertaining thriller. Many thanks to HarperCollins for an ARC.
    more
  • Maureen Carden
    January 1, 1970
    My five stars showed I really liked this new book by Dean Koontz. Which is a relief as I have been all over the place in recent years with my opinions of his books. The first book I ever read of his, Strangers is on my all-time top ten list. Others I had a hard time finishing.Jane Hawk is on leave from the FBI, her husband Nick has committed suicide. Nick, along with many others that Jane finds out about all seem to fit the category of "least likely to off themselves." Jane is determined to find My five stars showed I really liked this new book by Dean Koontz. Which is a relief as I have been all over the place in recent years with my opinions of his books. The first book I ever read of his, Strangers is on my all-time top ten list. Others I had a hard time finishing.Jane Hawk is on leave from the FBI, her husband Nick has committed suicide. Nick, along with many others that Jane finds out about all seem to fit the category of "least likely to off themselves." Jane is determined to find out why. She must be on the right track since she has gone off the grid as much as possible, yet there are still teams of people trying to chase her down to kill her. The title of this book is perfect and makes sense once Koontz describes Jane's attempts at evasion and escape.Great story, about the last half I'm reading it with a small ball of tension in my stomach because Koontz can really ratchet up the suspense. His depiction of Jane's efforts to stay off the grid, and how it is almost impossible to do do so was fascinating. Koontz's depiction of modern surveillance technology was scary, and as we all know now, pretty much spot-on.Jane is kick-ass and I will be glad to go along with her continuing journey.
    more
  • Celeste
    January 1, 1970
    Full review now posted!Original review can be found at Booknest.2.5/5 starsBeing disappointed by one of your favorite authors is a hard pill to swallow. Watching that author fall further and further down your list of favorites while you stand helplessly by is no picnic, either. Once upon a time, Dean Koontz was one of my very favorite authors. When I was in high school I somehow came to hold the fervent belief that one couldn’t be a fan of both King and Koontz, so I checked out a book by each fr Full review now posted!Original review can be found at Booknest.2.5/5 starsBeing disappointed by one of your favorite authors is a hard pill to swallow. Watching that author fall further and further down your list of favorites while you stand helplessly by is no picnic, either. Once upon a time, Dean Koontz was one of my very favorite authors. When I was in high school I somehow came to hold the fervent belief that one couldn’t be a fan of both King and Koontz, so I checked out a book by each from the library to help me choose a side. The King book was Cell, which was pretty terrible. I never made it past the first thirty pages. But the Koontz book was The Taking, which I’ve since read nearly half a dozen times and still consider a favorite. It was intricate and disturbing and beautifully written, and it had quotes from my favorite poet (T.S. Eliot) sprinkled throughout. I fell in love with the book, and with Koontz’s writing style. My decision had been made, and I was definitely not a King fan. Koontz was the author for me.Fast forward to this time last year. I decided to give King another chance, and I’ve somehow fallen in love with his sparse style and chunky novels. If you follow my reviews, you know that I read and loved IT and The Stand. Before I started reviewing, I read and really enjoyed 11/22/63, The Gunslinger, and Revival, the last of which had one of the most terrifying endings I’ve ever read. Since then, I’ve read one new book by Koontz that I liked (Ashley Bell), and I’ve tried and failed to reread some books by him I used to love. After reading The Silent Corner, I’ve come to think that my teenage belief that one couldn’t love both authors might have some truth to it, at least for me. Because this book left me disappointed.The sad thing is, I can tell it’s a good book. The plot is compelling, the main character interesting, the supporting characters sympathetic, the bad guys completely evil, and the overarching premise laden with dread. These are all hallmarks of the Koontz I loved. But the beautiful writing that enchanted me in my youth, the prose I could mull over for hours, now seems forced and ill-fitting to a plot without the supernatural elements present in most of Koontz’s books. The dialogue was stilted. And while the characters were interesting, they never felt quite real. I couldn’t make myself connect with any aspect of this book, despite my best efforts. I just didn’t care. The only reason I managed to finish reading it at all was because he’s been one of my favorite authors for so long. All of that being said, I think this might be a case of “it’s not you, it’s me.” As I said, all of the components necessary to make a book good are here. Even the writing, which felt so off to me, is still objectively superior to the styles of many popular authors. It just didn’t work for me. But if you’re looking for a tightly woven conspiracy thriller, with a kickass heroine and healthy doses of suspense and espionage and firefights, give this one a try. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it much more than I did. And who knows, maybe someday I'll manage to love both King and Koontz at the same time.
    more
  • Cody | codysbookshelf
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: 06.06.17It is nighttime as I write this. In fact, it is time for me to sleep, but I cannot; not until I get out my thoughts on Dean Koontz's latest thrill ride, The Silent Corner. I just finished reading, and my pulse is still pounding.Jane Hawk is a woman on the run. She's mourning her husband's suicide and running from her past; she's running toward answers. An FBI agent on leave, Jane is a resourceful, intelligent protagonist who suspects a conspiracy: the suicide rate in the Un Release Date: 06.06.17It is nighttime as I write this. In fact, it is time for me to sleep, but I cannot; not until I get out my thoughts on Dean Koontz's latest thrill ride, The Silent Corner. I just finished reading, and my pulse is still pounding.Jane Hawk is a woman on the run. She's mourning her husband's suicide and running from her past; she's running toward answers. An FBI agent on leave, Jane is a resourceful, intelligent protagonist who suspects a conspiracy: the suicide rate in the United States is increasing exponentially, and each suicide is stranger than the last. Triggered by her successful and ambitious husband's own suicide, Jane decides to take actions and solve this intriguing mystery after a lot of research and planning. The deeper into the rabbit hole she goes (and said rabbit hole goes quite deep!) she meets more and more adversaries; people in positions of power know Jane Hawk's name and are not afraid to prevent her from following her instincts. They want her silenced — killed, even. I have read a lot of Dean Koontz. He's one of my favorite authors, in fact; though I am unafraid to be honest when I feel he hasn't put forth much effort or a story simply falls flat (which is natural with any writer who has been in the game as long as he has), and The Silent Corner is no dud. Actually, I am tempted to say it is in my top three Koontz novels, ever. This is a seasoned author writing at the top of his game. With this new novel, Dean Koontz has written a story with more intense forward momentum than anything he's published since 2006's The Husband, all while retaining and expanding on the intricate emotional complexities and character growth as seen in recent novels like The City and Ashley Bell. The overarching, paranoid theme of technology gone wrong (or, at least, being used for evil schemes) is very reminiscent of Koontz's '70s and '80s releases. Yet, this book still manages to stand on its own and is very relevant in today's culture.The Silent Corner is the first in a new series from Koontz which stars Jane Hawk, the most delightfully badass character I have read about in some time. I just couldn't get enough of her. Her charisma oozes off the pages (or screen, in my case, as I read this on my Kindle). Intoxicating, suspenseful, and occasionally scary as hell, this is the work of an author who clearly enjoys what he does. I wait with baited breath for the sequel, The Whispering Room. I would like to offer a big thanks to Netgalley and Bantam for providing me with an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    This book would make a fantastic movie! Maybe already in the works? If not, well it should be! Jane was convinced she had the perfect life. A great job with the FBI, a husband rising fast through the ranks of the Marines, and a beautiful son. Then the bottom falls out. While entertaining the entire family and preparing for dinner together, Jane gets the shock of her life… her husband just killed himself. She digs to find the unfathomable reason why he would ever take his own life. During her inv This book would make a fantastic movie! Maybe already in the works? If not, well it should be! Jane was convinced she had the perfect life. A great job with the FBI, a husband rising fast through the ranks of the Marines, and a beautiful son. Then the bottom falls out. While entertaining the entire family and preparing for dinner together, Jane gets the shock of her life… her husband just killed himself. She digs to find the unfathomable reason why he would ever take his own life. During her investigation she finds a disturbing pattern of increasing suicide rates across the country. On leave from the FBI, she searches for answers to this bizarre epidemic. One fact she finds most disturbing… many of these suicides were well-adjusted, successful people who showed no previous sign of depression or any hint of their intentions...exactly like her husband.Jane has changed her looks, gone underground and made herself untraceable. She can’t possibly turn to her colleagues from the FBI for any kind of help. She is alone in this very personal quest for answers. Even though it could easily cost Jane her life.THEY are after her...whoever THEY are...Nonstop action. Jane is running for her life as she seeks the dark truth behind these suicides. Leaving bodies, cars and coyotes in her wake. (Yes, even coyotes!)Very short chapters kept me clipping along. My only negative is that it felt just a little too long.The book leaves you set for the next round in this new and exciting series!Thank you to Netgalley, Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine and Dean Koontz for an ARC to review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Jane Hawk is like a female Jason Bourne! She is on leave from the FBI and off the grid to investigate her husbands suspicious death. Nick has committed suicide, but he had everything to live for and Jane is determined to use her experience and talents to uncover the truth concerning his death. She soon discovers a pattern of other suicides that appear as suspicious as Nicks. She runs, she hides, she investigates, she uncovers evidence. She is always checking her back and sleeps with a pistol und Jane Hawk is like a female Jason Bourne! She is on leave from the FBI and off the grid to investigate her husbands suspicious death. Nick has committed suicide, but he had everything to live for and Jane is determined to use her experience and talents to uncover the truth concerning his death. She soon discovers a pattern of other suicides that appear as suspicious as Nicks. She runs, she hides, she investigates, she uncovers evidence. She is always checking her back and sleeps with a pistol under her pillow. Her enemies (and there are many) are after her and they have something huge to hide. Jane is onto something and "they" can't let her bring them down. Could the government be involved in the suicide project? This first book in the series is action packed and leaves you rooting for Jane to uncover the truth. I am looking forward to the next book in the Jane Hawk series.Thanks to netgalley, the publisher and Dean Koontz for the arc.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. FBI Agent Jane Hawks is sure someone is killing people and making it look like suicide, including her husband. Now she must find and prove the truth before they find her.I didn't like this book too much and was mostly bored with the story. Jane is a strong heroine but I didn't fall in love or sympathize with her character. There were obscure references (like one to Hester Prynne) that didn't relate to anything else, as if the remar I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. FBI Agent Jane Hawks is sure someone is killing people and making it look like suicide, including her husband. Now she must find and prove the truth before they find her.I didn't like this book too much and was mostly bored with the story. Jane is a strong heroine but I didn't fall in love or sympathize with her character. There were obscure references (like one to Hester Prynne) that didn't relate to anything else, as if the remarks were 'filler'. I was disappointed that the book didn't have the trademark Koontz 'weirdness' about it. 3 ☆
    more
  • Phrynne
    January 1, 1970
    The latest from Dean Koontz and the start of a new series featuring Jane Hawk, an FBI agent. I like Koontz best for his supernatural stories but this mystery / thriller was good too.Jane Hawk is an excellent new character for a series. She is smart, more than capable (of anything as it turns out) and very determined. In this book she is in a position where she is on the run and unable to trust anyone even her fellow FBI agents. The reader is very quickly on her side and willing her to succeed in The latest from Dean Koontz and the start of a new series featuring Jane Hawk, an FBI agent. I like Koontz best for his supernatural stories but this mystery / thriller was good too.Jane Hawk is an excellent new character for a series. She is smart, more than capable (of anything as it turns out) and very determined. In this book she is in a position where she is on the run and unable to trust anyone even her fellow FBI agents. The reader is very quickly on her side and willing her to succeed in every encounter with her enemies.There is plenty of action and a very intriguing aspect involving influencing the way people think and act. That part is a bit scary especially the way it happens to one of the characters very late in the book.Altogether I found it an excellent read. A little wordy as Koontz often is, but I can forgive him that easily when I enjoy his stories so much. This one finishes with a giant cliff hanger - right at the top of the cliff in fact. I am very much looking forward to the next one:)
    more
  • Monnie
    January 1, 1970
    "Ground Control to Major TomTake your protein pills and put your helmet on..."--David BowieWhen I open a new Dean Koontz book, it's always with great enthusiasm. Whether or not I'll love it isn't an issue - the only question is what he will come up with to keep me engrossed this time. As expected, there's no "oops" here - he's done it again with this, the first of a series featuring FBI agent Jane Hawk. If I had to describe the book in just a few words, it would be Sarah Connor meets Jason Bourn "Ground Control to Major TomTake your protein pills and put your helmet on..."--David BowieWhen I open a new Dean Koontz book, it's always with great enthusiasm. Whether or not I'll love it isn't an issue - the only question is what he will come up with to keep me engrossed this time. As expected, there's no "oops" here - he's done it again with this, the first of a series featuring FBI agent Jane Hawk. If I had to describe the book in just a few words, it would be Sarah Connor meets Jason Bourne in a fight to protect the future of the world (and yes, it would make a great movie, hint, hint).A recent and still grieving widow, Jane has taken a leave of absence from the FBI to deal with her husband's suicide - which she doesn't believe for a nanosecond really happened. Setting out to find the truth, she begins with a visit to another recent military widow whose death also was deemed a suicide because she suspects the same person or persons are responsible. Further digging turns up several similar incidents - both of military and non-military people - but no apparent connection.As she pursues her research, she soon realizes "They" are out to get her (spy drones following her is an almost-dead giveaway). After managing to escape them, she pays a quick visit to her young son, whom she wisely stashed away with friends at the start of her investigation to make sure he's safe. It matters not to the story, but for the record, I was delighted to learn that his new guardians, like me, are George Winston/Windham Hill fans. As she begins to make some headway, though, Jane realizes there's no one she can trust - not in the government, not among friends and relatives and most certainly not among the ranks of the FBI. Almost from the start, she's forced to go off the grid, using disguises, fake names, burner phones and switched license plates to escape what she's sure will be capture and suspects will be much worse. Because she manages to get online and, in some instances, contact others, she's considered to be in the "silent corner" (aha, such is the stuff from which a title is born).Needless to say, her online forays mean it's hard to miss day-to-day news - not all of which, shall we say, is positive. From that springs one of my favorite quotes in the book - one with which I wholeheartedly (or more accurately, disheartedly) concur: "If you let the news spoil your appetite, there wouldn't be a day you could eat."What Jane finds is a frightening conspiracy based on mind control. It's a concept that's a bit far afield, but given the pace of technology development these days, certainly not unthinkable. Jane's race is on, then, determine the why, how and who - and possibly destroy the latter before "They" destroy her.Pretty scary stuff, actually, with nary a dull moment in the action. The only downside? It's the first in a series, so expect an up-in-the-air ending. That, I assume, will be rectified with the Jan. 9, 2018, publication of the next installment, The Whispering Room, and of course it's on my calendar. That said, please, Mr. Koontz, could you hurry it up just a little?And th-th-th-that's all folks, she writes, lest she give away too many secrets Except, that is, to say that as a long-time fan of this author, I was beyond thrilled at the opportunity to read and review an advance copy of this terrific book. Many, many thanks to the publisher (via NetGalley)!
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    A lot of things sickened her these days, and yet she didn’t spend any time throwing up. That quote sums up our heroine, Jane, in this book. She lost her husband to suicide and (view spoiler)[had to leave her child (hide spoiler)] only a few months ago, but she is hard as a rock and is difficult to connect with emotionally because of it. In this book, we journey with Jane as she searches for answers behind her husband's death. There is a lot of action, and a lot of characters who make brief app A lot of things sickened her these days, and yet she didn’t spend any time throwing up. That quote sums up our heroine, Jane, in this book. She lost her husband to suicide and (view spoiler)[had to leave her child (hide spoiler)] only a few months ago, but she is hard as a rock and is difficult to connect with emotionally because of it. In this book, we journey with Jane as she searches for answers behind her husband's death. There is a lot of action, and a lot of characters who make brief appearances, and yet I had no strong feelings for any of the characters in this book. I'm not sure why.It was solid enough writing, and a good story, it just didn't excite me. I'll forget I even read it a week from now.
    more
  • JanB
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars, just missing 4 stars due to a slow moving plot in the first half.I’m a long-time fan of Koontz, having read and enjoyed nearly everything he’s written. This thriller is the start of a new series featuring Jane Hawk, and is a departure from his typical horror/supernatural genre. I love a strong female character and Koontz outdid himself with Jane. I liked her a lot. As with most of Koontz’s good guys, she does the right thing regardless of the personal cost. She’s smart, courageous, an 3.5 stars, just missing 4 stars due to a slow moving plot in the first half.I’m a long-time fan of Koontz, having read and enjoyed nearly everything he’s written. This thriller is the start of a new series featuring Jane Hawk, and is a departure from his typical horror/supernatural genre. I love a strong female character and Koontz outdid himself with Jane. I liked her a lot. As with most of Koontz’s good guys, she does the right thing regardless of the personal cost. She’s smart, courageous, and determined. She's badass, but with a heart. She won’t hesitate to kill, but only if unavoidable and necessary. After Jane’s husband unexpectedly dies by his own hand, she discovers a sharp increase in unexplained suicides across the country. As she investigates, she finds her life in danger from people who will stop at nothing to prevent her from discovering the truth. She takes a leave from her job at the FBI and lives life off the grid to escape detection. Staying ahead of the bad guys is challenging and provides much of the edge-of-your seat action.The book starts off with a bang and then gets bogged down by wordy descriptive writing. Well-written for sure, as this is Koontz. Still, I became bored and quickly skimmed large sections. Then at around 65% it was non-stop action and I couldn’t put the book down. The book ends without complete resolution. For that you’ll have to read the next book in the series. I’m hoping that book will have more action, less description.** thanks to Random House Ballantine and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of the book for review
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    The Hook I've read many books by Dean Koontz and have enjoyed most. I like when an author takes a risk and tries something different. Fans often want the same ol' and don't take kindly to a book going in a new direction. When I hear Koontz was throwing his hat into the series ring, I thought, “Why not?”.The Line - ”Children were the world as it was meant to be - and they were a light within the world. But for every light, there seemed to be someone bent on extinguishing it.” The Sinker - This is The Hook I've read many books by Dean Koontz and have enjoyed most. I like when an author takes a risk and tries something different. Fans often want the same ol' and don't take kindly to a book going in a new direction. When I hear Koontz was throwing his hat into the series ring, I thought, “Why not?”.The Line - ”Children were the world as it was meant to be - and they were a light within the world. But for every light, there seemed to be someone bent on extinguishing it.” The Sinker - This is the first of four in the Jane Hawk Series. The opening hooked me right away. Jane's husband, a man with everything to live for is dead according to evidence by his own hand. Jane is not buying it. Besides this coming out of the blue, his suicide note though in his handwriting is not his voice. What gives? Jane is going to find out. Get set for a staccato read. The chapters are short, clipped almost, but to the point. The writing is tight, descriptive without any extraneous words. That said, I listened to the audio edition and was bothered by the abrupt Part One, Chapter One, and in quick succession, Chapter Two and so on. Elizabeth Rodgers voice in the narrative and voice of Jane Hawk is almost melodious and easy on the ears. She has a lovely speaking voice. This holds true for most of the other characters. She changes tone and delivery so you know who is speaking, but a few of these, particularly that of her five year-old son, were grating to me. It is a superior adult narrator who can pull off a child's voice. I would have preferred she stayed more with her own voice. Most of the other male voices were fine. This was a middling read for me. Plotting and pacing were good. I liked Jane's tenacity and grit but she was a bit over-the top in the kick ass department. Still any wife and mother who fights for her family's reputation and well-being has my vote. Perhaps, Jane and I will meet again one day. Koontz has gained many new fans with this series. It is different for certain but like one of my GR friends, Matthew said, Koontz did manage a few Golden Retrievers to pepper the plot.
    more
  • Jim
    January 1, 1970
    This was an entertaining read. Not very believable but entertaining. I agree that it would probably make a good movie. I haven't read many of the author's books but what I have read were more in the horror genre. This reminded me of Robin Cook, Michael Crichton, or Ira Levin.Jane Hawk takes a leave of absence from her job as an FBI agent after her husband commits suicide. She cannot accept that he would take his own life. He was a Marine with everything going for him. Successful, happily married This was an entertaining read. Not very believable but entertaining. I agree that it would probably make a good movie. I haven't read many of the author's books but what I have read were more in the horror genre. This reminded me of Robin Cook, Michael Crichton, or Ira Levin.Jane Hawk takes a leave of absence from her job as an FBI agent after her husband commits suicide. She cannot accept that he would take his own life. He was a Marine with everything going for him. Successful, happily married with a son. Jane begins doing what she does best. She begins her own investigation. Suicide rates in America are rising. People who are talented, successful, accomplished. People who help the less fortunate. They showed no signs of depression. They did not suffer from some fatal incurable disease. As her investigation deepens the life of her 5 year old son is threatened. She files for an extension of her leave of absence, liquidates her assets, puts her son in hiding, and goes off the grid so that she can continue her investigation.This is another story of how technology in the wrong hands is destroying society. A cadre who want to use the discovery to create their own version of a utopian society. And it is up to Jane to stop them. "They" have power and will stop at nothing. But Jane is smart and resourceful. She is driven. Jane befriends some unusual and interesting characters in her one woman quest. At one point she indicates she had bought a new car at the beginning of her investigation and could not afford to keep buying cars every time something happened. Her resources were limited. She is off the grid. No ATM or credit cards. But she stays in a different hotel or motel every night. She eats every meal in a restaurant, diner, deli, etc. Buys multiple burner phones at a time. And pays cash for everything. At times I was wondering where does she keep all of this cash?All in all an entertaining story. Good vs evil. Technology taking over the world. The good old days are gone. This is the first novel in a series and I plan to read the next book, The Whispering Room, and see what happens next. Try to enjoy the story and not be too critical or take it too serious.
    more
  • Obsidian
    January 1, 1970
    Why did I listen to all of those glowing reviews about this book. I should have known. This is just more Koontz and his love of all things guns plot-lines with either a solo person or family going up against an evil group using nanotechnology to control human beings. I saw elements not only just from "77 Shadow Street" but he whole sale just reworked a plot from his "What the Knight Knows" story-line with a character who is affected by his sister being raped and murdered in front of him. And it Why did I listen to all of those glowing reviews about this book. I should have known. This is just more Koontz and his love of all things guns plot-lines with either a solo person or family going up against an evil group using nanotechnology to control human beings. I saw elements not only just from "77 Shadow Street" but he whole sale just reworked a plot from his "What the Knight Knows" story-line with a character who is affected by his sister being raped and murdered in front of him. And it pains me this is even categorized as horror. It's really not. It's just more of his suspense/thriller mess he has been writing for a while now.The main character was pretty freaking souless (Jane Hawk) and I just didn't care anymore what happened to her or her kid that she stashes all over the place while taking down the super secret organization.Maybe the book would have worked better if we actually had Koontz setting up the book enough to get us to care about her and her husband. We just hear about what a great guy he is and Jane just sits around remembering him. It was pretty boring after the first dozen chapters.Jane is also the epitome of a Mary Sue. I cannot believe Koontz spent time on how gorgeous she was either. I mean I guess if she was ugly who would give a crap? I don't even know. There is a terrible scene where she is trying to get away from the bad guys and a guy picks her up in his car (putting himself in danger) and he talks about how attractive she is. And I think at that point I got an eye pain from the eye-rolling that I was doing at that time and just said screw it. I can't even tell you much about other characters since you don't get to spend a lot of time with anyone. The book flip flops back and forth with Jane outrunning the bad guys and the FBI and a lot of looking evil in the face things happening. There is not a lot of realism in this book either. There is some things based on age that didn't make sense for Jane or her husband. She's late 20s and would put Sidney Bristow from Alias to shame. I forget what age her husband was, but apparently he was a wunderkind with his rank. Sigh. The writing wasn't great and the flow was awful. The chapters were choppy and we just kept jumping from scene to scene. You don't even have a chance to absorb what's going on since most of the writing only gets descriptive when describing guns, how to clean them, and what ammo is being used. I wish I was kidding. And I am not saying this because I am anti-gun. I was born and raised in PA. I have been around guns since I was a pre-teen. It's just this whole book is some weird military hybrid just like the last couple of books and it took me a long time to muddle through this. I also want to forbid Koontz from writing about nano-technology anymore. Get a new plot dude. I just cannot take this seriously anymore. At this point I actually think having a damn dog in every book was better than reading about nanos and how they can affect people and totally change their brain chemistry, etc. The ending was a joke. Things end on a cliffhanger (my least favorite literary device ever) so if you want to find out more about Jane's Guns and Her Adventures Against the Shadow Realm there are two more books in this series. The reviews have become less enthused, so I am fine with stopping here with book #1.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    I very much need to be dead.The Silent Corner is a new series from Dean Koontz which introduces a strong female lead character, FBI agent, Jane Hawk. Jane goes on leave after her husband's suicide - a suicide that occurred after a string of migraine headaches. While grieving her husband's death, Jane realizes that suicide rates have gone up and that very accomplished seemingly happy people are committing suicide in alarmingly high numbers. As Jane seeks to find answers, she becomes a hunted woma I very much need to be dead.The Silent Corner is a new series from Dean Koontz which introduces a strong female lead character, FBI agent, Jane Hawk. Jane goes on leave after her husband's suicide - a suicide that occurred after a string of migraine headaches. While grieving her husband's death, Jane realizes that suicide rates have gone up and that very accomplished seemingly happy people are committing suicide in alarmingly high numbers. As Jane seeks to find answers, she becomes a hunted woman. A woman, who herself is hunting for the truth. She has to do everything in secret in order to stay alive. There are those in power who would do anything to stop her from finding out the truth.I have not read a Dean Koontz book in quite some time. I am used to his "horror" books and this was definitely not a "horror" book, but more of a suspense non-stop action thriller. I will admit, I kinda missed the "horror". Plus this is the beginning of a new series so there is not true "resolution" in this book which would be fine if I LOVED the book - which I didn't. I liked the book but as far as conspiracy books are concerned, this fell flat for me. There was a lot of action, I will give it that, but even will all of the action, the story did not grab me. Yes, all of the action kept my attention and I did keep reading in order to find out who was behind the wave of suicides. This book did not drag. There was always something going on, Jane was always kicking some bad guy's butt. Koontz did write a strong female character, I will give him that. Often I will read a book which is part of a series, and even if I read a book out of order, the book feels like a stand alone novel for me. This book did not feel like a stand alone novel as there was no resolution. Perhaps I would have enjoyed the book more if there was some glimmer of who was the mastermind, who was the man visiting people in their homes, what is the agenda, how are people being infected, etc. For me, there were too many unanswered questions.Received a copy of this book from NetGalley and Bantam in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars, rounded up to three mainly for the crazy paced actionI have never been a big Dean Koontz fan. I loved The Darkest Evening of the Year but started an Odd Thomas book and never finished it. But I decided to give this new series of his a shot. It's a conspiracy story. An FBI agent, on leave from her job after her husband’s suicide, tries to find a reason for an increasing number of suicides taking place among successful, nondepressed people. You're given bits and pieces of what's happeni 2.5 stars, rounded up to three mainly for the crazy paced actionI have never been a big Dean Koontz fan. I loved The Darkest Evening of the Year but started an Odd Thomas book and never finished it. But I decided to give this new series of his a shot. It's a conspiracy story. An FBI agent, on leave from her job after her husband’s suicide, tries to find a reason for an increasing number of suicides taking place among successful, nondepressed people. You're given bits and pieces of what's happening and why some group is trying to stop her. To be honest, it all rang pretty false to me, especially the part that “they” were extending her “professional courtesy” trying to get her to back away from her investigation rather than just flat out killing her if they're that diabolical. I don't think of myself as requiring 100% realism. I like the odd science fiction book. But i guess I have trouble with villains who have unbelievable resources at their disposal. Or coincidences that pile up, one on top of the other, like finding just the right person to help at each turn.I give Koontz credit. This is a fast paced book with no downtime. And he's got a hell of an imagination. He goes into enough detail to make a person think, in the way a good science fiction book does. And there is plenty of suspense. How will Jane, as a modern day David, slay this Goliath? My not particularly liking this book is entirely my fault. The description of the book is a giveaway that it is a thriller, not a mystery. If you like the James Bond kind of unbelievable storylines, you'll probably enjoy this. My thanks and apologies to netgalley and Bantam for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed THE SILENT CORNER. Caught up in Koontz brand of storytelling, I found myself anxiously turning each page to see what horror Jane would have to face next. For the most part, I was enraptured by THE SILENT CORNER but occasionally it got a little too descriptive, upsetting the character connects and the flow. This is the first time I'm reading a Dean Koontz novel and I can tell you now it won't be my last. Koontz writes a memorizing and riveting tale that just grabs the reader in i I really enjoyed THE SILENT CORNER. Caught up in Koontz brand of storytelling, I found myself anxiously turning each page to see what horror Jane would have to face next. For the most part, I was enraptured by THE SILENT CORNER but occasionally it got a little too descriptive, upsetting the character connects and the flow. This is the first time I'm reading a Dean Koontz novel and I can tell you now it won't be my last. Koontz writes a memorizing and riveting tale that just grabs the reader in its clutches.I received this ARC copy of The Silent Corner from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine - Bantan. This is my honest and voluntary review. The Silent Corner is set for publication June 6, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Dean KoontzHardcover: 464 pagesPublisher: Bantam Publication Date: June 20, 2017ISBN-10: 0345545990ISBN-13: 978-0345545992Genre: Psychological ThrillersItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Silent-Corner-...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-...For Reviews : http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, this one crazy, out there concept that humans could be programmed to hear a couple of words and then turn into robots and do what is asked of them. And, people were buying into it! For a $300,000 membership fee you could visit a place where all the women are there to do anything and everything you ask. This guy even had coyotes programmed to be watchdogs on his very private property in Napa.A freaky concept that had Jane Hawk looking for answers as to how her husband could be dancing and si Wow, this one crazy, out there concept that humans could be programmed to hear a couple of words and then turn into robots and do what is asked of them. And, people were buying into it! For a $300,000 membership fee you could visit a place where all the women are there to do anything and everything you ask. This guy even had coyotes programmed to be watchdogs on his very private property in Napa.A freaky concept that had Jane Hawk looking for answers as to how her husband could be dancing and singing one minute and then slitting his throat in the bathtub the next. And he isn't the only one. The notes they leave before they commit the deed are VERY strange!I read this book in one sitting as I just could not put it down. Jane Hawk's life, as well as her five year old son's, is threatened. She has bad guys chases her everywhere she goes. The things that she does in order to stay one step ahead kept me mesmerized and turning those pages. I didn't even stop when the sunlight started coming through my windows! I had to finish the book and see what happened. I didn't realize until the end that this was going to be a series and I can't wait to read the next book!!Thanks to Random House/Ballantine and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
    more
  • Helga
    January 1, 1970
    3.5Jane Hawk, an FBI agent, begins her own investigation, after she discovers an escalation in unexpected suicides, including her husband’s. The first book in a new series, The Silent Corner has a gripping plot and the right amount of suspense to make one want to read more. This said, some parts were a little slow and too unnecessarily descriptive and detailed. My favorite book by this author is still False Memory.
    more
  • Grace
    January 1, 1970
    Very disappointed, one of my favorite writers is Dean Koontz. This book just did not catch my interest at all.
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    Koontz is one of my favourite authors, but I've not read any of his books for years. Over the years, I have seen the 'series' of books become more and more popular with authors. Having read The Silent Corner, I now have to wait months for the next instalment of the this trilogy, which I find so very annoying.Here we read about FBI agent Jane Hawk. Jane is trying to find out the truth, as to why her husband Nick and many others suddenly commit suicide. She sells her house, leaves her young son wi Koontz is one of my favourite authors, but I've not read any of his books for years. Over the years, I have seen the 'series' of books become more and more popular with authors. Having read The Silent Corner, I now have to wait months for the next instalment of the this trilogy, which I find so very annoying.Here we read about FBI agent Jane Hawk. Jane is trying to find out the truth, as to why her husband Nick and many others suddenly commit suicide. She sells her house, leaves her young son with friends, and goes under the radar to find the people responsible.On her route to discovering the truth, Jane ensnares people to help with her information gathering. However, because these are unsavoury characters, Jane terminates their lives mainly to keep both her son and herself safe.Trusting people is not easy, but she crosses paths with an ex army hero and enlists his help. In the meantime, her FBI boss (who is more like a father to Jane) is having doubts that Jane has actually gone rogue and starts to believe that she and her son are actually in danger. A twist in the story there.The ending of the book is a cliff hanger. There are the opening chapters of book 2 to read at the end of the book, but these are merely fishing bait to draw you in to purchasing book 2. Hopefully I won't have to wait too long for books 2 and 3 to be published!
    more
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    January 1, 1970
    Via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com"Was your husband… was Gordon at all depressed?” “Not ever. Some people throw hope away. Gordie was chained to it all his life, an optimist’s optimist.”When Jane Hawk’s husband commits suicide it isn’t just her grief nor denial driving her to find out what really happened. Suddenly people are committing suicide, those who have never suffered from depression and have everything to live for. What is terrifying about his latest novel is the reality, Via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com"Was your husband… was Gordon at all depressed?” “Not ever. Some people throw hope away. Gordie was chained to it all his life, an optimist’s optimist.”When Jane Hawk’s husband commits suicide it isn’t just her grief nor denial driving her to find out what really happened. Suddenly people are committing suicide, those who have never suffered from depression and have everything to live for. What is terrifying about his latest novel is the reality, how someone can easily be turned into an enemy, a bad person to turn in, because they know secrets of powerful people. What is more frightening then the control a group of people can have over any of us? This is dark, but the monsters are inside human beings.It’s impossible to review this story fully without giving away what happens. It is soul corruption, it is viciousness and after reading it a little ‘what if ‘sets in… what if this really happened? It is the first book in a series and I can only wonder where Koontz is going to go with it. When Jane sifts through the lies, investigates the strange happenings more danger falls upon her and when she speaks to a widow, similar to herself, she couldn’t have known how evil would follow her. It’s interesting when human beings are more sinister than anything the mind can conjure. Who are the ever present they? Do you know? They who watch and control and say so much, the faceless they that so many listen to. The dead have left behind strange messages, notes that don’t always make sense but of course can easily be excused as ramblings of mental instability. What would you do if you were being pursued but didn’t know who was after you? What if you had to give up the only thing left that you loved more than life itself, because the ones after you were intent on taking it away? Where do you hide when ‘they’ have every resource available? Luckily she has skills herself from her former career.Technology can be a beautiful thing, but too it can terrorize. We rely on it more and more, and when you’re ill, advances in treatment is the only life preserver- and who wouldn’t grab it? If technology cures us, what do we do with those that use it to harm? How do we know we can trust the hands that control it? These are questions the novel fired off in my brain. As the story gets deeper in, it becomes far more sinister, eerie. This novel brings mind control to a whole different level. It is a strange trip and I look forward to the sequel. Darn it, I didn’t want to get sucked into a series, but alas- it happened.Strange, creepy new novel from Koontz…Publication Date: June 6, 2017Random House Publishing Group- BallantineBantam
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    January 1, 1970
    I read Lightning by Dean Koontz many, many years ago and since then I have loved Dean Koontz's books. I haven't read that many Koontz books in recent years, but I have slowly started to read through the books I have missed. I was really thrilled to get the chase to read The Silent Corner, the first book in a new thriller series.The book starts off strong with the book's heroine Jane Hawk trying to find a reason for why her husband and several other people have committed suicide, despite never sh I read Lightning by Dean Koontz many, many years ago and since then I have loved Dean Koontz's books. I haven't read that many Koontz books in recent years, but I have slowly started to read through the books I have missed. I was really thrilled to get the chase to read The Silent Corner, the first book in a new thriller series.The book starts off strong with the book's heroine Jane Hawk trying to find a reason for why her husband and several other people have committed suicide, despite never showing any sign of being depressed. What she learns will make her run for her life as she also tries to find a way to stop people who will stop at nothing to silence her.I found the book to be both intriguing and thrilling to read. I love that the books start off strong, no slow starts to ease into the story. Instead, BAM and away. Since this is the first book in a series will the book of course not answer all the questions, but it's a satisfying ending and I felt that I really wanted the next book after I finished The Silent Corner.This is a perfect book for thriller fans!Thanks to Bokfabriken for the review copy!
    more
  • Fred
    January 1, 1970
    Koontz Group Read July 2017 Vampires, Weres and Fae What happen to Inga A new Paramount TV series is coming with Jane Hawk - the FBI agent on leave. "The Silent Corner" starts the series, "The Whispering Room" is the second book, I don't see the 3rd book published yet?This book reminds me a little of Tess Gerritsen's "Rizzoli & Iles" books. Jane Hawk can be compared to Det. Jane Rizzoli, tough detective with gentle personality to help the innocent.Jane Hawk investigates increasing suicide Koontz Group Read July 2017 Vampires, Weres and Fae What happen to Inga A new Paramount TV series is coming with Jane Hawk - the FBI agent on leave. "The Silent Corner" starts the series, "The Whispering Room" is the second book, I don't see the 3rd book published yet?This book reminds me a little of Tess Gerritsen's "Rizzoli & Iles" books. Jane Hawk can be compared to Det. Jane Rizzoli, tough detective with gentle personality to help the innocent.Jane Hawk investigates increasing suicides with intelligent people with great "accomplishments"! She's on FBI leave of absence due to her husband's suicide, Lt.Col. Nick Hawk. She goes to meet Gwyn Lambert(wife) whose husband, Gen.Gordon Lambert committed suicide but why does she commit suicide with Jane visiting?She reviews 10+ suicide notes of intelligent people with her past college Professor Steinitz, programmed instructions by someone or schizophrenia/mental illness in themselves?What is Silent Corner? Upload & download brain memory for better strength and/or control over others? Forced suicides?
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    Dean Koontz returns following Ashley Bell, landing on my Top Books of 2015 with his latest, THE SILENT CORNER.Coming in Paperback 10/31/17. Look for a special preview bonus included of The Whispering Room Jane Hawk #2. Koontz, a master at building suspense, and an incredible story-teller, this time around with action and a well-developed heroine to match. And as always, his signature lyrical prose. The author introduces readers to the impressive, Jane Hawk: the first in the new series THE SIL Dean Koontz returns following Ashley Bell, landing on my Top Books of 2015 with his latest, THE SILENT CORNER.Coming in Paperback 10/31/17. Look for a special preview bonus included of The Whispering Room Jane Hawk #2. Koontz, a master at building suspense, and an incredible story-teller, this time around with action and a well-developed heroine to match. And as always, his signature lyrical prose. The author introduces readers to the impressive, Jane Hawk: the first in the new series THE SILENT CORNER —A tough, intelligent, courageous kick-ass heroine with all the skills of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, David Baldacci's Will Robie and then some, as she encounters ruthless, dangerous, and evil predators on her journey for justice. A fast action, suspense, high octane gripping page-turner! “Those who are truly off the grid and cannot be tracked by any technology, yet are able to move about freely and use the Internet, are said to be in the silent corner.”A grieving widow, Jane Hawk. An unstoppable clever FBI agent. A marine husband (Nick). They were married six years. Four months earlier she lost him. Another widow, Gwyn (husband Gordon). Jane is passionate about clearing Nick’s name, about proving that he had not committed suicide. She had unknowingly set out on a path from which there would be no retreat. Driven by the love for her lost husband and by fear for the five-year-old son, Travis —she has gone into hiding. Murder-Suicides. A conspiracy. 8400 suicides. Doctors, lawyers, teachers, police, journalists . . . Unusual suicides. No history of depression, emotional problems or financial crisis. They do not fit the profile. Vertigo. Intense dreams. A bitter taste. Staying off the grid, going rogue, Jane is smart. She hides her five-year-old son with friends and moves across California. Staying in motels, in disguise and using different names. She is determined to get to the bottom of this conspiracy.Before Nick’s death, there was a piece about scientists who were developing brain implants using light-sensitive proteins and fiber-optics. Their thoughts translated into luminous pulses by light-sensitive proteins and processed by software and rendered into speech by a computer.Then she had marveled by all the miracles, technology, and changes. Was it mind control?How were people make to do it? Now she was trapped in a world of violence and horror. She recalled an earlier time with Nick. His words. “You rock me.”Jane takes a leave of absence and hits the road. Interviewing those left behind. Spouses of murder’ suicide cases. Those she sought to expose would not allow her to walk away and live. They had brought something new and terrible into the world. She did not understand. What would two more be people be to them? A mother and son? Age 27, drives a Ford Escape, she is now the "Most Wanted Fugitive in the US." She knew little. At the same time, she knew too much. She suspected more, and there would be no one to who she could risk turning for help until she knew it all. Jane finds herself risking her life, as she makes shocking discoveries and comes up against dangerous conspiracies. (and we have more to come). Koontz definitely kicks up the action ten-fold in THE SILENT CORNER!. It is no wonder Paramount Television and Anonymous Content have optioned the FBI drama. The highly-skilled Jane Hawk rocks! She will be adored and respected by women and men readers, alike. Rumors have it Koontz plans to write at least five more books featuring Jane Hawk, and the next in the series, The Whispering Room coming Nov 21, 2017. Jane Hawk—fiction’s most relentless, resourceful, stunning new heroine—continues her battle against a murderous conspiracy in the riveting sequel to The Silent Corner. Can't wait. A reminder why we keep coming back for more Koontz. Better than ever! Fans will be anxiously awaiting the next installment in this enthralling suspense action thriller. This may be my favorite since The City (which is totally different). Top Books of 2014. Meet Jane Hawk A special thank you to Random House and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. I also purchased the audiobook narrated by Elisabeth Rodgers, for an entertaining listening experience. JDCMustReadBooks
    more
  • Patrice Hoffman
    January 1, 1970
    Where has this Dean Koontz been the last 10-15 years (maybe more)? And Jane Hawk? I needed her in my life as well. The Silent Corner brings together all the things I grew up loving about Koontz writing and actually delivering on a plot that I didn't want to give-up on halfway through the novel. No iPad's or Kindles needed to repaired after reading 25 pages or so of how awesome dogs are. And yes, dogs are awesome but really... I mean really...I digress...Jane Hawk is obviously running from someon Where has this Dean Koontz been the last 10-15 years (maybe more)? And Jane Hawk? I needed her in my life as well. The Silent Corner brings together all the things I grew up loving about Koontz writing and actually delivering on a plot that I didn't want to give-up on halfway through the novel. No iPad's or Kindles needed to repaired after reading 25 pages or so of how awesome dogs are. And yes, dogs are awesome but really... I mean really...I digress...Jane Hawk is obviously running from someone. When we first meet her she's making sure to avoid the usual traps that anyone on the run would. Using credit cards, navigation apps, and presenting official CIA ID's... you know the usual. We know Jane's running from someone, or something, but finding out what (or whom) is so worth the ride.After Nick, Jane's husband, commits suicide she resolves to investigate the increase in the suicide rate. The cases that spark her interests are the ones that involve people who are most unlikely to want to die. Nick was a decorated Navy vet that had no obvious signs of depression. For the sake of her son and herself, Jane is going to get to the bottom of what is happening.Enter some really, really, really bad people. Word has gotten around to some really scary dudes that she wants an answer to the spike in suicides and they make it known, in no uncertain terms, that she is to stop looking for whatever she's looking for.No one tells Jane no. She's fearless it seems. Plus, her training at Quantico gives her a firm upper-hand to any layman embarking on this journey.What Koontz has done well is provide an interesting premise and married it with the things I loved about his books. Much of The Silent Corner has a science fiction(y) vibe to it. How in the hell do you convince someone to kill themselves? That shit's scary that it could be done and someone would want to have it done to someone else. He keeps the suspense high using short chapters and keeping the story moving by not going on and on and on about how awesome the two German Shepard guard dogs.Koontz doesn't lose classic features such as a protagonist that just happens to have money. Jane is frugal because she's not rich, but she does "stumble" across a few ways of getting more dough. The attention to detail is another Koontz trait that makes its way into this corner, but is not overly done so it works here. The other aspect of his writing that works here is his penchant for the battle between good and evil. Jane is good and the deaths she is representing for were lives of people who were practically saints. The antagonist is an evil dick for obvious reasons.Anyway, let me get back to a silent corner and get to the next Jane Hawk installation The Whispering Room. Koontz is back baby! Or at least, for now, he's back! Copy provided by Random House Publishing Group via Netgalley
    more
  • G.H. Eckel
    January 1, 1970
    Koontz is a good writer and I had high expectations. I suppose that's, in part, why this novel fell short for me. It's about a wife/mom whose husband has committed suicide. She discovers a common thread that runs through many other suicides that she seeks to understand and eventually expose. Obviously, the suicides are not coincidental and about 150 pages in we get the voice of a bad guy who threatens to kidnap her son and sell him into the ISIS sex trade if she doesn't halt her nosiness. But, o Koontz is a good writer and I had high expectations. I suppose that's, in part, why this novel fell short for me. It's about a wife/mom whose husband has committed suicide. She discovers a common thread that runs through many other suicides that she seeks to understand and eventually expose. Obviously, the suicides are not coincidental and about 150 pages in we get the voice of a bad guy who threatens to kidnap her son and sell him into the ISIS sex trade if she doesn't halt her nosiness. But, of course, Jane doesn't back down even when her son is at risk. Saying much more will spoil some of the plot, although, frankly, the novel doesn't sum things up at the end. While I respect an author teasing us so we read the next installment in the series, there was an unfinished quality to this novel that felt unsatisfying. I had some issues with the protagonist, Jane. I didn't find myself rooting for her, or feeling much of anything for or against her. I saw her as a troubled ex-wife and mom trying to find the truth behind her husband's suicide and take heroic action to stop further, needless suicides. She's also someone who takes unnecessary and horrific risks with her son. Other readers will find her dynamic and exciting. Perhaps it was just the slow pace of compelling events that led me to get bored with many of Jane's scenes.I was also less than thrilled by the pace of the plot. Although things happen, things of consequence don't really happen until hundreds of pages into the novel. I suspect the second installment will improve upon the first because it seemed to take Koontz hundreds of pages to get to know his protagonist, a task he won't have to deal with in the sequel.Also, I started with the audio book of this but found the reader so monotone that I couldn't listen past the third disc.Here's hoping the next installment trumps the first!
    more
  • Irene
    January 1, 1970
    Jane Hawk is on the run, not just from those who want to harm her but towards the truth, and she will do whatever it takes to find it. Someone wants to stop her from finding out what really happened to her husband. Jane doesn't believe he would have killed himself. She also believes a recent increase in the number of suicides by people who had no reason to kill themselves is somehow connected. This was a heart pounding suspenseful thriller.I received an advance copy for review
    more
Write a review