The Silent Corner
A dazzling new series debuts with a remarkable heroine certain to become a new icon of suspense, propelled by the singular narrative genius of #1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. I very much need to be dead. These are the chilling words left behind by a man who had everything to live for but took his own life. In the aftermath, his widow, Jane Hawk, does what all her grief, fear, and fury demands: find the truth, no matter what. People of talent and accomplishment, people admired and happy and sound of mind, have been committing suicide in surprising numbers. When Jane seeks to learn why, she becomes the most-wanted fugitive in America. Her powerful enemies are protecting a secret so important so terrifying that they will exterminate anyone in their way. But all their power and viciousness may not be enough to stop a woman as clever as they are cold-blooded, as relentless as they are ruthless and who is driven by a righteous rage they can never comprehend. Because it is born of love.

The Silent Corner Details

TitleThe Silent Corner
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherBantam
ISBN0345545990
ISBN-139780345545992
Number of pages464 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Suspense, Horror, Adult, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary, Novels, Adult Fiction

The Silent Corner Review

  • Cody
    March 8, 2017
    Release Date: 06.06.17It is nighttime as I write this. In fact, it is time for me to sleep, but I cannot; not until I get out my thoughts on Dean Koontz's latest thrill ride, The Silent Corner. I just finished reading, and my pulse is still pounding.Jane Hawk is a woman on the run. She's mourning her husband's suicide and running from her past; she's running toward answers. An FBI agent on leave, Jane is a resourceful, intelligent protagonist who suspects a conspiracy: the suicide rate in the Un Release Date: 06.06.17It is nighttime as I write this. In fact, it is time for me to sleep, but I cannot; not until I get out my thoughts on Dean Koontz's latest thrill ride, The Silent Corner. I just finished reading, and my pulse is still pounding.Jane Hawk is a woman on the run. She's mourning her husband's suicide and running from her past; she's running toward answers. An FBI agent on leave, Jane is a resourceful, intelligent protagonist who suspects a conspiracy: the suicide rate in the United States is increasing exponentially, and each suicide is stranger than the last. Triggered by her successful and ambitious husband's own suicide, Jane decides to take actions and solve this intriguing mystery after a lot of research and planning. The deeper into the rabbit hole she goes (and said rabbit hole goes quite deep!) she meets more and more adversaries; people in positions of power know Jane Hawk's name and are not afraid to prevent her from following her instincts. They want her silenced — killed, even. I have read a lot of Dean Koontz. He's one of my favorite authors, in fact; though I am unafraid to be honest when I feel he hasn't put forth much effort or a story simply falls flat (which is natural with any writer who has been in the game as long as he has), and The Silent Corner is no dud. Actually, I am tempted to say it is in my top three Koontz novels, ever. This is a seasoned author writing at the top of his game. With this new novel, Dean Koontz has written a story with more intense forward momentum than anything he's published since 2006's The Husband, all while retaining and expanding on the intricate emotional complexities and character growth as seen in recent novels like The City and Ashley Bell. The overarching, paranoid theme of technology gone wrong (or, at least, being used for evil schemes) is very reminiscent of Koontz's '70s and '80s releases. Yet, this book still manages to stand on its own and is very relevant in today's culture.The Silent Corner is the first in a new series from Koontz which stars Jane Hawk, the most delightfully badass character I have read about in some time. I just couldn't get enough of her. Her charisma oozes off the pages (or screen, in my case, as I read this on my Kindle). Intoxicating, suspenseful, and occasionally scary as hell, this is the work of an author who clearly enjoys what he does. I wait with baited breath for the sequel, The Whispering Room. I would like to offer a big thanks to Netgalley and Bantam for providing me with an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Maureen Carden
    April 15, 2017
    The best thing about getting this ARC from NetGalley is that it went right into a few chapters from book two! Yay! Obviously I really liked this new book by Dean Koontz. Which is a relief as I have been all over the place over the years with my opinions of his books.Jane Hawk is on leave from the FBI, her husband Nick has committed suicide. Nick, along with many others all seem to fit the category of "least likely to off themselves." Jane is determined to find out why. She must be on the right t The best thing about getting this ARC from NetGalley is that it went right into a few chapters from book two! Yay! Obviously I really liked this new book by Dean Koontz. Which is a relief as I have been all over the place over the years with my opinions of his books.Jane Hawk is on leave from the FBI, her husband Nick has committed suicide. Nick, along with many others all seem to fit the category of "least likely to off themselves." Jane is determined to find out why. She must be on the right track since she has gone off the grid as much as possible, yet there are teams of people trying to chase her down to kill her. The title of this book is perfect and makes sense once Koontz describes Jane's attempts at evasion and escape.Great story, about the last half I'm reading it with a small ball of tension in my stomach because Koontz can really ratchet up the suspense. His depiction of Jane's efforts to stay off the grid, and how it is almost impossible to do do so was fascinating. Koontz's depiction of modern surveillance technology was scary, and as we all know now, pretty much spot-on.Jane is kick-ass and I will be glad to go along with her continuing journey.
    more
  • Karen
    May 27, 2017
    I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. FBI Agent Jane Hawks is sure someone is killing people and making it look like suicide, including her husband. Now she must find and prove the truth before they find her.I didn't like this book too much and was mostly bored with the story. Jane is a strong heroine but I didn't fall in love or sympathize with her character. There were obscure references (like one to Hester Prynne) that didn't relate to anything else, as if the remar I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. FBI Agent Jane Hawks is sure someone is killing people and making it look like suicide, including her husband. Now she must find and prove the truth before they find her.I didn't like this book too much and was mostly bored with the story. Jane is a strong heroine but I didn't fall in love or sympathize with her character. There were obscure references (like one to Hester Prynne) that didn't relate to anything else, as if the remarks were 'filler'. I was disappointed that the book didn't have the trademark Koontz 'weirdness' about it. 3 ☆
    more
  • Beth
    February 16, 2017
    I really enjoyed THE SILENT CORNER. Caught up in Koontz brand of storytelling, I found myself anxiously turning each page to see what horror Jane would have to face next. For the most part, I was enraptured by THE SILENT CORNER but occasionally it got a little too descriptive, upsetting the character connects and the flow. This is the first time I'm reading a Dean Koontz novel and I can tell you now it won't be my last. Koontz writes a memorizing and riveting tale that just grabs the reader in i I really enjoyed THE SILENT CORNER. Caught up in Koontz brand of storytelling, I found myself anxiously turning each page to see what horror Jane would have to face next. For the most part, I was enraptured by THE SILENT CORNER but occasionally it got a little too descriptive, upsetting the character connects and the flow. This is the first time I'm reading a Dean Koontz novel and I can tell you now it won't be my last. Koontz writes a memorizing and riveting tale that just grabs the reader in its clutches.I received this ARC copy of The Silent Corner from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine - Bantan. This is my honest and voluntary review. The Silent Corner is set for publication June 6, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Dean KoontzHardcover: 464 pagesPublisher: Bantam Publication Date: June 20, 2017ISBN-10: 0345545990ISBN-13: 978-0345545992Genre: Psychological ThrillersItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Silent-Corner-...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-...For Reviews : http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Monnie
    April 24, 2017
    "Ground Control to Major TomTake your protein pills and put your helmet on..."--David BowieWhen I open a new Dean Koontz book, it's always with great enthusiasm. Whether or not I'll love it isn't an issue - the only question is what he will come up with to keep me engrossed this time. As expected, there's no "oops" here - he's done it again with this, the first of a series featuring FBI agent Jane Hawk. If I had to describe the book in just a few words, it would be Sarah Connor meets Jason Bourn "Ground Control to Major TomTake your protein pills and put your helmet on..."--David BowieWhen I open a new Dean Koontz book, it's always with great enthusiasm. Whether or not I'll love it isn't an issue - the only question is what he will come up with to keep me engrossed this time. As expected, there's no "oops" here - he's done it again with this, the first of a series featuring FBI agent Jane Hawk. If I had to describe the book in just a few words, it would be Sarah Connor meets Jason Bourne in a fight to protect the future of the world (and yes, it would make a great movie, hint, hint).A recent and still grieving widow, Jane has taken a leave of absence from the FBI to deal with her husband's suicide - which she doesn't believe for a nanosecond really happened. Setting out to find the truth, she begins with a visit to another recent military widow whose death also was deemed a suicide because she suspects the same person or persons are responsible. Further digging turns up several similar incidents - both of military and non-military people - but no apparent connection.As she pursues her research, she soon realizes "They" are out to get her (spy drones following her is an almost-dead giveaway). After managing to escape them, she pays a quick visit to her young son, whom she wisely stashed away with friends at the start of her investigation to make sure he's safe. It matters not to the story, but for the record, I was delighted to learn that his new guardians, like me, are George Winston/Windham Hill fans. As she begins to make some headway, though, Jane realizes there's no one she can trust - not in the government, not among friends and relatives and most certainly not among the ranks of the FBI. Almost from the start, she's forced to go off the grid, using disguises, fake names, burner phones and switched license plates to escape what she's sure will be capture and suspects will be much worse. Because she manages to get online and, in some instances, contact others, she's considered to be in the "silent corner" (aha, such is the stuff from which a title is born).Needless to say, her online forays mean it's hard to miss day-to-day news - not all of which, shall we say, is positive. From that springs one of my favorite quotes in the book - one with which I wholeheartedly (or more accurately, disheartedly) concur: "If you let the news spoil your appetite, there wouldn't be a day you could eat."What Jane finds is a frightening conspiracy based on mind control. It's a concept that's a bit far afield, but given the pace of technology development these days, certainly not unthinkable. Jane's race is on, then, determine the why, how and who - and possibly destroy the latter before "They" destroy her.Pretty scary stuff, actually, with nary a dull moment in the action. The only downside? It's the first in a series, so expect an up-in-the-air ending. That, I assume, will be rectified with the Jan. 9, 2018, publication of the next installment, The Whispering Room, and of course it's on my calendar. That said, please, Mr. Koontz, could you hurry it up just a little?And th-th-th-that's all folks, she writes, lest she give away too many secrets Except, that is, to say that as a long-time fan of this author, I was beyond thrilled at the opportunity to read and review an advance copy of this terrific book. Many, many thanks to the publisher (via NetGalley)!
    more
  • Debbie Krenzer
    May 23, 2017
    Wow, this one crazy, out there concept that humans could be programmed to hear a couple of words and then turn into robots and do what is asked of them. And, people were buying into it! For a $300,000 membership fee you could visit a place where all the women are there to do anything and everything you ask. This guy even had coyotes programmed to be watchdogs on his very private property in Napa.A freaky concept that had Jane Hawk looking for answers as to how her husband could be dancing and si Wow, this one crazy, out there concept that humans could be programmed to hear a couple of words and then turn into robots and do what is asked of them. And, people were buying into it! For a $300,000 membership fee you could visit a place where all the women are there to do anything and everything you ask. This guy even had coyotes programmed to be watchdogs on his very private property in Napa.A freaky concept that had Jane Hawk looking for answers as to how her husband could be dancing and singing one minute and then slitting his throat in the bathtub the next. And he isn't the only one. The notes they leave before they commit the deed are VERY strange!I read this book in one sitting as I just could not put it down. Jane Hawk's life, as well as her five year old son's, is threatened. She has bad guys chases her everywhere she goes. The things that she does in order to stay one step ahead kept me mesmerized and turning those pages. I didn't even stop when the sunlight started coming through my windows! I had to finish the book and see what happened. I didn't realize until the end that this was going to be a series and I can't wait to read the next book!!Thanks to Random House/Ballantine and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
    more
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    March 4, 2017
    Via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com"Was your husband… was Gordon at all depressed?” “Not ever. Some people throw hope away. Gordie was chained to it all his life, an optimist’s optimist.”When Jane Hawk’s husband commits suicide it isn’t just her grief nor denial driving her to find out what really happened. Suddenly people are committing suicide, those who have never suffered from depression and have everything to live for. What is terrifying about his latest novel is the reality, Via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com"Was your husband… was Gordon at all depressed?” “Not ever. Some people throw hope away. Gordie was chained to it all his life, an optimist’s optimist.”When Jane Hawk’s husband commits suicide it isn’t just her grief nor denial driving her to find out what really happened. Suddenly people are committing suicide, those who have never suffered from depression and have everything to live for. What is terrifying about his latest novel is the reality, how someone can easily be turned into an enemy, a bad person to turn in, because they know secrets of powerful people. What is more frightening then the control a group of people can have over any of us? This is dark, but the monsters are inside human beings.It’s impossible to review this story fully without giving away what happens. It is soul corruption, it is viciousness and after reading it a little ‘what if ‘sets in… what if this really happened? It is the first book in a series and I can only wonder where Koontz is going to go with it. When Jane sifts through the lies, investigates the strange happenings more danger falls upon her and when she speaks to a widow, similar to herself, she couldn’t have known how evil would follow her. It’s interesting when human beings are more sinister than anything the mind can conjure. Who are the ever present they? Do you know? They who watch and control and say so much, the faceless they that so many listen to. The dead have left behind strange messages, notes that don’t always make sense but of course can easily be excused as ramblings of mental instability. What would you do if you were being pursued but didn’t know who was after you? What if you had to give up the only thing left that you loved more than life itself, because the ones after you were intent on taking it away? Where do you hide when ‘they’ have every resource available? Luckily she has skills herself from her former career.Technology can be a beautiful thing, but too it can terrorize. We rely on it more and more, and when you’re ill, advances in treatment is the only life preserver- and who wouldn’t grab it? If technology cures us, what do we do with those that use it to harm? How do we know we can trust the hands that control it? These are questions the novel fired off in my brain. As the story gets deeper in, it becomes far more sinister, eerie. This novel brings mind control to a whole different level. It is a strange trip and I look forward to the sequel. Darn it, I didn’t want to get sucked into a series, but alas- it happened.Strange, creepy new novel from Koontz…Publication Date: June 6, 2017Random House Publishing Group- BallantineBantam
    more
  • Holly B
    May 23, 2017
    Jane Hawk is like a female Jason Bourne! She is on leave from the FBI and off the grid to investigate her husbands suspicious death. Nick has committed suicide, but he had everything to live for and Jane is determined to use her experience and talents to uncover the truth concerning his death. She soon discovers a pattern of other suicides that appear as suspicious as Nicks. She runs, she hides, she investigates, she uncovers evidence. She is always checking her back and sleeps with a pistol und Jane Hawk is like a female Jason Bourne! She is on leave from the FBI and off the grid to investigate her husbands suspicious death. Nick has committed suicide, but he had everything to live for and Jane is determined to use her experience and talents to uncover the truth concerning his death. She soon discovers a pattern of other suicides that appear as suspicious as Nicks. She runs, she hides, she investigates, she uncovers evidence. She is always checking her back and sleeps with a pistol under her pillow. Her enemies (and there are many) are after her and they have something huge to hide. Jane is onto something and "they" can't let her bring them down. Could the government be involved in the suicide project? This first book in the series is action packed and leaves you rooting for Jane to uncover the truth. I am looking forward to the next book in the Jane Hawk series.Thanks to netgalley, the publisher and Dean Koontz for the arc.
    more
  • Liz
    May 2, 2017
    2.5 stars, rounded up to three mainly for the crazy paced actionI have never been a big Dean Koontz fan. I loved The Darkest Evening of the Year but started an Odd Thomas book and never finished it. But I decided to give this new series of his a shot. It's a conspiracy story. An FBI agent, on leave from her job after her husband’s suicide, tries to find a reason for an increasing number of suicides taking place among successful, nondepressed people. You're given bits and pieces of what's happeni 2.5 stars, rounded up to three mainly for the crazy paced actionI have never been a big Dean Koontz fan. I loved The Darkest Evening of the Year but started an Odd Thomas book and never finished it. But I decided to give this new series of his a shot. It's a conspiracy story. An FBI agent, on leave from her job after her husband’s suicide, tries to find a reason for an increasing number of suicides taking place among successful, nondepressed people. You're given bits and pieces of what's happening and why some group is trying to stop her. To be honest, it all rang pretty false to me, especially the part that “they” were extending her “professional courtesy” trying to get her to back away from her investigation rather than just flat out killing her if they're that diabolical. I don't think of myself as requiring 100% realism. I like the odd science fiction book. But i guess I have trouble with villains who have unbelievable resources at their disposal. Or coincidences that pile up, one on top of the other, like finding just the right person to help at each turn.I give Koontz credit. This is a fast paced book with no downtime. And he's got a hell of an imagination. He goes into enough detail to make a person think, in the way a good science fiction book does. And there is plenty of suspense. How will Jane, as a modern day David, slay this Goliath? My not particularly liking this book is entirely my fault. The description of the book is a giveaway that it is a thriller, not a mystery. If you like the James Bond kind of unbelievable storylines, you'll probably enjoy this. My thanks and apologies to netgalley and Bantam for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Lisa Aiello
    March 8, 2017
    4.5 stars...I can't round up to 5 because I did have a few issues...and it has more to do with the style of writing I enjoy. He is wordy, wordy, wordy...because of that, I found myself skimming at times to get to the next plot point. I had to slow myself down and go back, because his writing, though descriptive, is just exquisite.This is classic Dean Koontz. The man can write one hell of a story, and this is one hell of a story. I worry about a mind that comes up with stuff like this!! This book 4.5 stars...I can't round up to 5 because I did have a few issues...and it has more to do with the style of writing I enjoy. He is wordy, wordy, wordy...because of that, I found myself skimming at times to get to the next plot point. I had to slow myself down and go back, because his writing, though descriptive, is just exquisite.This is classic Dean Koontz. The man can write one hell of a story, and this is one hell of a story. I worry about a mind that comes up with stuff like this!! This book is the start of a serial, but it wraps up enough that yeah, you want to know what's going on, but it's not a total cliffhanger.This book does not come out until the end of May or early June, so I will spare a detailed review until it releases. But, for Dean Koontz fans, it's a must!!!
    more
  • Debra
    April 14, 2017
    I very much need to be dead.The Silent Corner is a new series from Dean Koontz which introduces a strong female lead character, FBI agent, Jane Hawk. Jane goes on leave after her husband's suicide - a suicide that occurred after a string of migraine headaches. While grieving her husband's death, Jane realizes that suicide rates have gone up and that very accomplished seemingly happy people are committing suicide in alarmingly high numbers. As Jane seeks to find answers, she becomes a hunted woma I very much need to be dead.The Silent Corner is a new series from Dean Koontz which introduces a strong female lead character, FBI agent, Jane Hawk. Jane goes on leave after her husband's suicide - a suicide that occurred after a string of migraine headaches. While grieving her husband's death, Jane realizes that suicide rates have gone up and that very accomplished seemingly happy people are committing suicide in alarmingly high numbers. As Jane seeks to find answers, she becomes a hunted woman. A woman, who herself is hunting for the truth. She has to do everything in secret in order to stay alive. There are those in power who would do anything to stop her from finding out the truth.I have not read a Dean Koontz book in quite some time. I am used to his "horror" books and this was definitely not a "horror" book, but more of a suspense non-stop action thriller. I will admit, I kinda missed the "horror". Plus this is the beginning of a new series so there is not true "resolution" in this book which would be fine if I LOVED the book - which I didn't. I liked the book but as far as conspiracy books are concerned, this fell flat for me. There was a lot of action, I will give it that, but even will all of the action, the story did not grab me. Yes, all of the action kept my attention and I did keep reading in order to find out who was behind the wave of suicides. This book did not drag. There was always something going on, Jane was always kicking some bad guy's butt. Koontz did write a strong female character, I will give him that. Often I will read a book which is part of a series, and even if I read a book out of order, the book feels like a stand alone novel for me. This book did not feel like a stand alone novel as there was no resolution. Perhaps I would have enjoyed the book more if there was some glimmer of who was the mastermind, who was the man visiting people in their homes, what is the agenda, how are people being infected, etc. For me, there were too many unanswered questions.Received a copy of this book from NetGalley and Bantam in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Irene
    April 24, 2017
    Jane Hawk is on the run, not just from those who want to harm her but towards the truth, and she will do whatever it takes to find it. Someone wants to stop her from finding out what really happened to her husband. Jane doesn't believe he would have killed himself. She also believes a recent increase in the number of suicides by people who had no reason to kill themselves is somehow connected. This was a heart pounding suspenseful thriller.I received an advance copy for review
    more
  • C.P. Cabaniss
    May 27, 2017
    Dean Koontz is one of my favorite writers. It all started nearly six years ago when I read Life Expectancy and became addicted. Thirty books later and I'm still hooked. The Silent Corner reminded me why I love Koontz so much. His writing is beautiful, characters flawed but relatable, and plots absolutely fascinating. This is a suspense/mystery that follows Jane Hawk, a rogue FBI agent, as she hunts for the reason behind the rise in suicide rates. The concepts in this are plausible enough to make Dean Koontz is one of my favorite writers. It all started nearly six years ago when I read Life Expectancy and became addicted. Thirty books later and I'm still hooked. The Silent Corner reminded me why I love Koontz so much. His writing is beautiful, characters flawed but relatable, and plots absolutely fascinating. This is a suspense/mystery that follows Jane Hawk, a rogue FBI agent, as she hunts for the reason behind the rise in suicide rates. The concepts in this are plausible enough to make you wonder...what if? And not in a good way. And yet, through it all Koontz is able to sprinkle hope; because that is something you can not kill. This novel may not be for everyone, but I would recommend it to suspense fans who enjoy a slower paced, more internal story. Koontz is all about the characters, and Jane Hawk is a great one. Full review will be on my blog closer to release. *Thanks to the publisher for providing a review copy via Netgalley.*
    more
  • Judy Collins
    April 24, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Charlotte Miller
    May 13, 2017
    FBI agent Jane Hawk has nothing left to lose. Her husband is gone, dead by supposed suicide. Her young son is in hiding, her home sold for a fraction of what it is worth, and she is on the run, in pursuit of answers to the increasing number of unexplained suicides taking place across the country, such as the one that took her beloved husband from her. Relentless, smart and willing to do whatever is necessary to learn the truth, Jane risks it all in this edge-of-your-seat thriller. Dean Koontz ne FBI agent Jane Hawk has nothing left to lose. Her husband is gone, dead by supposed suicide. Her young son is in hiding, her home sold for a fraction of what it is worth, and she is on the run, in pursuit of answers to the increasing number of unexplained suicides taking place across the country, such as the one that took her beloved husband from her. Relentless, smart and willing to do whatever is necessary to learn the truth, Jane risks it all in this edge-of-your-seat thriller. Dean Koontz never disappoints, and The Silent Corner is one of his best. Highly recommended.(Advance Reading Copy obtained by request from NetGalley.)
    more
  • Megalion
    February 15, 2017
    A pre-review. I was a hard core fan from around the 6th grade when someone gifted me Watchers. Read it in 4 hours, never leaving my bean bag chair. Instant love affair. Lightning was my 2nd and solidified it. Decades later, when he shifted away from 1-2 word titles, his books also went to even darker places that didn't capture my attention and were outright depressing. Ironic when his forte was dark horror!With Tick Tock, back to old title pattern, I started to enjoy his books again. Then lost i A pre-review. I was a hard core fan from around the 6th grade when someone gifted me Watchers. Read it in 4 hours, never leaving my bean bag chair. Instant love affair. Lightning was my 2nd and solidified it. Decades later, when he shifted away from 1-2 word titles, his books also went to even darker places that didn't capture my attention and were outright depressing. Ironic when his forte was dark horror!With Tick Tock, back to old title pattern, I started to enjoy his books again. Then lost interest when his Odd Thomas series started to drag for me. Brother Odd I think is when I felt "Enough with this guy! You're stretching now in finding ways to continue his story". Of course an opinion not shared by many but that's fine. A quick digression, a lament for the untimely strange death of profoundly talented actor, Anton Yelchin, who played Odd Thomas very well I thought. Also thought it ironic that the accident causing his death seemed Koontzish as well. A malevolent spirit causing HIS Jeep to crush him. I can only hope that he did die instantly without pain as surmised. Back to Koontz, I find myself very optimistic for this book. I'm not against him writing series. Simply an a challenge any author faces when doing so. Some succeed. Some beat it like a dead horse. Some start phoning it in and even getting others to write for them. JAMES PATTERSON I'M LOOKING AT YOU. The premise grabbed my attention and is reminiscent of the plot foundations of some of his other books I've loved. This reminds me, I never did read his Frankenstein series which started after Odd got old for me. I couldn't take the chance then that he would also, for me, fail to keep the story interesting and organic through the subsequent books. I should take a go now while waiting for this book. If I don't like it, it has been some years now and I've already seen his writing cycle back to my interest level once already! Thanks for reading this reminiscing of my on and off love affair with Koontz.If you are interested in my positions on other popular series by popular authors:Alex Cross by James Patterson. The dual Red/Blue piece. Fell very flat. Those the specific Books I think of when ever mentioning an author starting to phone it in. The nail in the coffin, when ALL his books started having Co authors. Hard to believe he's really writing the books then. I did discover a new author though, David Ellis. Agent Pendergast by Preston and Child. What is it now, 16 books? Has never gotten old. Excellent use of supporting characters to shift the burden off Pendergast at intervals to keep things fresh. I enjoy all their other books, individual and joint. Sachs & Rhyme by Jeffrey Deaver. Strong ago the way through. Steel Kiss was especially fresh for use of an escalator. I like the spinoff series so far. Maggie O'Dell by Alex Kava. Holding well. I am really excited about the Ryder spinoff. Odd thing is, Maggie is in every one of them so his books should count as continuation of her official series. Gretchen Lowell by Chelsea Cain. She needs to hurry up with the 7th book. She's starting another series. First book promises a good one. S.I.G.M.A. Force by James Rollins. Very unique device of switching between two of the key members of Sigma to lead off each book. Great supporting characters in the rest of the crew that are easily swapped around as well. Plus Seichan. Tucker Wayne spin off is good because of his war dog. I did start to wonder how realistic their partnership was in the most recent book. A shout out to a beginning series by likely not well known author. Eden Archer by Candice Fox. Makes a very good start with the female half of a duo being a potentially psychopath serial killer early in her life. The killer part is not the uncertain part of that description. Is she turning into a Dexter type or was her humanity suppressed by childhood circumstances? You won't expect the twist at the end of Hades. I didn't. ** Just realized that she's one of Patterson's latest victims. She's the author of Never Never that his name is slapped on. Note to self, read that one! I'm probably forgetting some other good crime series but want to give shout outs in other genres. Valdemar universe by Mercedes Lackey. I'll admit that sometimes a trilogy doesn't really satisfy but her overall record is very good. I'm currently catching up with the extended story of Herald Mags now that trilogy is finished. Closer to the Heart, the middle book. I'd like to see her go back and explore some of the outer parts of that universe some more. Especially the very far back piece of the gryphons.Temarire by Naomi Novik. Finished. If you've not heard of it yet, you'll know in a big way soon because now that Peter Jackson is done with Tolkien, he's gone on to this series. Jacky Faber by L.A. Meyer. Finished. Truth, I've not finished series. I don't want to. Because then it's over. She is my new childhood hero even though my actual childhood is long past. Her story is written for younger readers but is 100% accessible to adults. See Harry Potter for reference. She reminds me of a more real world version of Pippi Longstocking. Her story takes her all over the world and uses a lot of real history. And is safe for parents concerned about sexual themes, extreme violence, or cursing. Richard Kahl by Terry Goodkind. Says it's finished but couldn't let it go. It became old for my friends and I around book 9. Was Richard ever going to get a break? I got through them anyways and actually liked the non Kahl/urban fantasy books that followed. .. where Terry tied them back to Kahl's universe anyways. Hah. I've not read Magda's one off book yet. Saw recently that Terry is going to try a spin off with Nicci. I'd prefer Cara and her kind though he'd have to go to a time before Richard perhaps? Book 6 was my favorite in the series. That was almost all Nicci. Book 7 is an atrocity. I promise you will miss NOTHING by skipping it. It's entirely an introduction to a new character in Kahl's life but is completely pointless and not enough there to be interesting. Everything you need to know about her is covered in book 8 including the few key points that matter from book 7. I even read that book a 2nd time to be sure of this recommendation to skip. Robin Hobbs, love all the trilogies that tie together. Not the one that isn't part of that universe. I'm excited for the latest trilogy but refraining till it's finished before I read it. Jane Lindskold, excellent series about the wolf girl. FireStarter is her wolf name I think. Finished. For now, she left it open to easily come back to. Finished strongly if you ask me. Her new series about Artemis has been compelling so far. Ann Aguirre is a new favorite author. Multiple great series. Mostly all finished. Sirantha Jax is an incredibly memorable lead. Her alien races are very very interesting. Recently re-read the Dred Chronicles. Rightfully contained to a trilogy but I want more! Ugh, so many great series in sci fi and fantasy. I know I'll miss a lot but trying to go quicker. ..Vatta Wars by Elizabeth Moon. Finished with a continuation series starting. Got to read an arc of book 1.Kitty Norville by Carrie Vaughn. For an urban fantasy, impressive that she went 14 books before wrapping the series. White Trash Zombie series is on going. By Diana RowlandA good dystopian trilogy with a heavy chocolate theme! (Need to double check but I think was written by Gabrielle Zevin?)Wait, I'm supposed to be covering long series not trilogies. I'm still in a very fun series that I think went to 10 books. Another recent find: Charley Davidson by Darynda Jones. On hold for book 11... WANT NOW! Dr Siri by Colin Cotterill, very unique lead and setting for a crime series, ongoing. St Mary's by Jodi Taylor. I think it's ongoing. Hilarious series based on time travel where Murphys Law rules every day. Theirs Not To Reason Why by Jean Johnson. Finished. Very good. I've longed for another character like Sirantha Jax. Ia fit the bill but was very much her own person.A.M. Dellamonica has a good ongoing urban fantasy series featuring a world living on a ocean.Meg, a horror series featuring the return of the prehistoric megladon. The ultimate shark. I think it's finished. Got old though around book 4? Didn't finish. Not likely to either. Currently in a series that takes place on a space station in an interesting universe. Union Station books by E.M. FonerDagmar by Jon Walter Williams. Apparently finished at 4. Sad. Gotta stop somewhere. Hope the list gives you some leads on new good reads.
    more
  • BWT (Belen)
    May 20, 2017
    The Silent Corner was okay, but I'm not in love with it. Told mostly in short chapter bursts, similar James Patterson's breakneck style of writing, the pace fits to build the suspense in the story.The story's heroine, Jane Hawk, is like the bullet shot from a pistol: she's on a course that she's committed to, no matter what, and only something big getting in her way could possibly change her trajectory.The way that people in power behave and the technological advances we've made in the last few The Silent Corner was okay, but I'm not in love with it. Told mostly in short chapter bursts, similar James Patterson's breakneck style of writing, the pace fits to build the suspense in the story.The story's heroine, Jane Hawk, is like the bullet shot from a pistol: she's on a course that she's committed to, no matter what, and only something big getting in her way could possibly change her trajectory.The way that people in power behave and the technological advances we've made in the last few decades make it seem like the evil in this story is entirely possible. Plausible, even. Which is, in itself, frightening. Koontz is prone to purple prose, but he does it in a way that it almost reads like poetry, and that's no different here. Also, per usual, he offers up good guys who are flawed, but heroic nonetheless, and bad guys you'll cheer to see get taken down. Though that doesn't happen much here. The Silent Corner is the setup to the series; Jane is only at the beginning of connecting the dots. Told in multiple points of view the story is the first in a trilogy and ends on a cliffhanger. We are given a special preview of the second book in the series, The Whispering Room at the end of The Silent Corner, and it promises to be just as rapid fire in terms of pace, and as complicated and confounding in plot.Go, Jane, go!Advanced Review Galley copy of The Silent Corner (Jane Hawk #1) provided by Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Bantam via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Judy
    April 1, 2017
    Wow! I simply could not put The Silent Corner down. It is 3:52 AM, and I just finished it. Jane Hawk is one tough, determined woman. The plot is fast-paced, intriguing, and terrifying in that it could be (or might be) true. I can't help but wonder in what direction the next book in this series will go. I have already sent texts and emails telling friends and family to get this book.I received an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Dustin Crazy little brown owl
    May 6, 2017
    I am currently enjoying an advanced review copy courtesy of Random House Publishing (Bantam). Jane Hawk is a badass. You go girl!
  • Lisa Cleveland
    March 11, 2017
    I'm going to make a confession here, first, I haven't read Mr. Koontz' stuff since The Door to December. That may be my all time favorite from this author. Of course, I've been a fan since the beginning, but I sometimes tire of an author. I've tried at least 6 times now to write this review. Truth is, I can't do the book justice. I suck at reviews anyway, but everything I try to say about this story sounds trite. So, I quit. I give up! All I'm going to say now is that I don't often give Dean Koo I'm going to make a confession here, first, I haven't read Mr. Koontz' stuff since The Door to December. That may be my all time favorite from this author. Of course, I've been a fan since the beginning, but I sometimes tire of an author. I've tried at least 6 times now to write this review. Truth is, I can't do the book justice. I suck at reviews anyway, but everything I try to say about this story sounds trite. So, I quit. I give up! All I'm going to say now is that I don't often give Dean Koontz 5 stars, but this story rocked! I'm actually excited for the continuation. Thank you, Netgalley for giving me this opportunity to read a fairly awesome book, that I would have missed. Would I recommend this book? Dude, you'd be a fool to pass it up.
    more
  • Michelegg
    March 16, 2017
    Well! Holy cow. This was so not what I'd expected. I've been a Dean Koontz fan for years. I love his scary, eerie, supernatural writing. This was not that! What it was, was fabulous. So different from anything else I've ever read of his. It was slow moving, very wordy, but oh the words were magic. They put me right in the story, on the run with Jane Hawk as she sets out to find out why her husband killed himself. And in the process puts her own life in danger. It was a fascinating journey and on Well! Holy cow. This was so not what I'd expected. I've been a Dean Koontz fan for years. I love his scary, eerie, supernatural writing. This was not that! What it was, was fabulous. So different from anything else I've ever read of his. It was slow moving, very wordy, but oh the words were magic. They put me right in the story, on the run with Jane Hawk as she sets out to find out why her husband killed himself. And in the process puts her own life in danger. It was a fascinating journey and one I can't wait to continue in the next installment of this series. I'm thrilled to have a new Dean Koontz series to read again. And this was one absolutely delicious first course! Bring on the rest of the feast.I highly recommend this one to Dean Koontz fans and newcomers alike. Both will love this twisty, awesome thriller.
    more
  • Darcia Helle
    May 3, 2017
    Get ready to boo me Koontz fans. I was disappointed by this book. I'll start with the good stuff. There is no question that Dean Koontz is a gifted storyteller. He has a way of capturing a scene and igniting all our senses. I not only saw the story playing out, I heard the noise and smelled the odors.Jane's character immediately hooked me. I felt compassion for her situation and I wanted her to kick ass.Then, as the story goes along and other viewpoint characters are introduced, Koontz does some Get ready to boo me Koontz fans. I was disappointed by this book. I'll start with the good stuff. There is no question that Dean Koontz is a gifted storyteller. He has a way of capturing a scene and igniting all our senses. I not only saw the story playing out, I heard the noise and smelled the odors.Jane's character immediately hooked me. I felt compassion for her situation and I wanted her to kick ass.Then, as the story goes along and other viewpoint characters are introduced, Koontz does something I occasionally see that irks me to no end: He switches tenses. Jane's part and a few others are in the traditional third person past tense. But we also have a handful of characters written in third person present tense. The tense switch constantly throws me off, with the present tense making me rethink the order of things, as if those parts are more immediate. They aren't. There is no difference in the timeline of events, and these tense switches are irritating, pointless distractions. But, okay. I grumbled and got on with it, adjusting, somewhat to those pointless tense changes. Despite the fast pacing of the story, the plot unfolds slowly. We are hundreds of pages in before pieces start to click together, although there are subtle clues along the way. This is a complex conspiracy-based plot. I can't tell you much without giving away spoilers, so I'll just say we venture into the dark realm of the power science could offer. What totally ruined this book for me is that there is no ending. None. We spend 464 pages with this story, and at the end we find we've only rattled the hornets' nest and now we're left standing in the mist of the chaos without even a hint of resolution. Honestly, I felt like the book was missing the final chapter. Yes, this is the first book in a new series. But this is not a short book, by any stretch of the imagination. All those pages, and absolutely nothing about the plot is resolved. If you want to know what happens you have no choice but to wait for and purchase the next book in this series. It feels a little like extortion. So... this is a complex plot that is going to take at least one more book to resolve. If you want to read this one, I recommend waiting until the next book is released so you're not left swinging in the breeze. *I was provided with an advance copy by the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Beth
    April 23, 2017
    Jane has lost everything - her husband to an apparent suicide, and her child to the threats forcing her to keep him hidden with others. Her comfortable life is in tatters, as she follows the ephemeral clues that seem to suggest the craziest conspiracy, and yet one that somehow managed to hit far too close to home.I have long been a Dean Koontz fan - some of my favorite books are a some of his earliest. Even as his storytelling style changed over the years, I enjoyed reading his novels. Of course Jane has lost everything - her husband to an apparent suicide, and her child to the threats forcing her to keep him hidden with others. Her comfortable life is in tatters, as she follows the ephemeral clues that seem to suggest the craziest conspiracy, and yet one that somehow managed to hit far too close to home.I have long been a Dean Koontz fan - some of my favorite books are a some of his earliest. Even as his storytelling style changed over the years, I enjoyed reading his novels. Of course, I jumped on the opportunity to read The Silent Corner, as it sounded like a return to Koontz's previous style. I am so glad I did. This novel had excellent characters (always a Koontz strength), and a great story that was straight-up suspense. There are those who did not like his forays into the supernatural in some of his latest books, and they should be quite pleased with this one - he refrains from that and just writes a tale that is urgent and frightening in its possibility. There's a big "what-if" in this book - which is also the first of a series - and the technology discussed within has the potential to be helpful...or frighteningly horrifying.Overall, Jane Hawk is one of my new favorite characters. She's a strong, female main character who has lost just about everything - but follows the path of what she feels is right, sometimes regardless of the consequences. Basically - she's badass, and I look forward to reading more about her.
    more
  • Judy
    April 25, 2017
    An exciting, suspenseful thriller! This book is a full scale chase scene with a diabolical plot. I didn't really want to get involved with another series, but I will certainly have to read the next in this series. I'm hooked! Loved the characters Jane and Dougal and the unpredictable plot.Thanks to Dean Koontz and Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine through NetGalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Matthew
    May 6, 2017
    Thanks to Bantam Books/Random house for this ARC. Also thanks to Dustin Crazy little brown owl - moderator of Koontzland - the definitive Koontz Goodreads group - for hosting the giveaway where I won this book.Right away in the intro to the ARC, Koontz says this is not like his normal writing. I have not read all of his books yet, but of what I have read, this it a very true statement. This is not horror. This is not supernatural. There are no oddly named demons or maniacal serial killers. But, Thanks to Bantam Books/Random house for this ARC. Also thanks to Dustin Crazy little brown owl - moderator of Koontzland - the definitive Koontz Goodreads group - for hosting the giveaway where I won this book.Right away in the intro to the ARC, Koontz says this is not like his normal writing. I have not read all of his books yet, but of what I have read, this it a very true statement. This is not horror. This is not supernatural. There are no oddly named demons or maniacal serial killers. But, he does mention Golden Retrievers a couple of times!I am going with 4.5 stars on this one rounding up to 5 (since GR doesn’t do the half stars). I was quite impressed with this book - it kept me interested and on the edge of my seat throughout. Also, it did a good job of both telling a whole story while also introducing what will be a new ongoing series (ARC has the into for the next book already).I like this type of book anyway, so it was great to see this style from an author I like to read - and see it done well!If you like espionage, government corruption, technological terrorism, and edge of your seat action sequences where you aren't sure how our heroine is going to succeed - this is the book for you. Even if you aren't a Koontz fan, I think you will like this. Only two shades of Koontz stuck out to me. The first was the occasional (and, in my opinion, unnecessary) use of large vocabulary words to describe simple things - words that probably the most academic person wouldn't even use in conversation. He does this all the time in his books! The second is, of course, the aforementioned Golden Retrievers.
    more
  • Jeanne O'donnell
    February 27, 2017
    This novel seemed very different from the Koontz I'd read so often. It moved slowly and pages were spent on descriptions of scenery, houses, etc. It would have totally bored me in most any author's hands but-even though I thought about giving it up- I read through because even these 'boring' parts were so beautifully written! The man truly knows how to use language to create imagery as few can. Around 65% in, the plot really picked up. I think I missed dialogue and character interaction more th This novel seemed very different from the Koontz I'd read so often. It moved slowly and pages were spent on descriptions of scenery, houses, etc. It would have totally bored me in most any author's hands but-even though I thought about giving it up- I read through because even these 'boring' parts were so beautifully written! The man truly knows how to use language to create imagery as few can. Around 65% in, the plot really picked up. I think I missed dialogue and character interaction more than I realized. At this point it became a page turner. The concept is plausible in today's world motivated by not greed but evil and power. Now, of course, I must read the second in this new series
    more
  • Kathy Cunningham
    April 1, 2017
    Dean Koontz’s THE SILENT CORNER is a maddening techno-horror novel that reads like a non-stop chase scene. The good guy is FBI agent Jane Hawk, who’s on the trail of the nefarious “They” who somehow caused her beloved husband (along with thousands of others) to take his own life against his will. The bad guys (and there are many of them) are Evil with a capital E, brilliant and seemingly untouchable, with a conspiracy for world domination that is beyond insidious. And it’s obvious from the start Dean Koontz’s THE SILENT CORNER is a maddening techno-horror novel that reads like a non-stop chase scene. The good guy is FBI agent Jane Hawk, who’s on the trail of the nefarious “They” who somehow caused her beloved husband (along with thousands of others) to take his own life against his will. The bad guys (and there are many of them) are Evil with a capital E, brilliant and seemingly untouchable, with a conspiracy for world domination that is beyond insidious. And it’s obvious from the start that the only one who could possibly stop them is Jane. She’s courageous and ruthless and determined, but she’s also loving and caring and incapable of killing without a really good reason. Of course, she has a lot of really good reasons in this book! Jane spends the entire novel running from one confrontation to another as she tries to stay off the grid while researching shadowy entities on the Dark Web. The Evil dudes are out to get her, and staying one step ahead of them is a continuing challenge. And that’s pretty much all this book is. Jane tries to unravel the clues while evading detection by the bad guys. The insidious conspiracy for world domination is interesting enough, if a bit derivative – it reminded me of a 21st century version of Ira Levin’s THE STEPFORD WIVES, blended with a healthy dose of Michael Crichton’s NEXT (and the film “The Manchurian Candidate”). What the Evil dudes have in mind is definitely terrifying, but none of it really feels real. There is minimal explanation of why these guys are doing what they’re doing, or how they’re doing it, or who’s actually behind it all, which makes it feel very much like a comic book action adventure with a lot of action but not much in the way of substance. Part of the problem is the disjointed way in which the story is told. The novel is written in a series of mini-chapters – some are less than a page long; others are as long as three-four pages. There’s no real purpose for this format, other than to make the novel easier to digest for today’s readers, who seem to have little patience for reading more than a few pages at a time. The world we live in today is dominated by Twitter and Facebook, where reading is limited to a handful of easily-swallowed words. But for those of us who actually like to read, the effect of the mini-chapters is to make the story feel more disjointed than it is, as we jump from scene to scene, following Jane’s efforts to solve the mystery. It’s a frustrating way to read a novel.The other problem is that THE SILENT CORNER is the first in a planned series of novels, which means there is no resolution. In fact, by the end of the 435 pages, we know little more than we did at the beginning. This isn’t the first series Koontz has written – his ODD THOMAS novels have been very popular; but all of them, while connected, could work as stand-alone books. This isn’t like that at all. If you want to know what will ultimately happen to Jane and the world she lives in, you’ll have to buy the next installment. And the one(s) after that. I have fond memories of some of Koontz’s early novels – WATCHERS and LIGHTNING are still favorites of mine – and I loved his memoir about living with his beloved golden retriever Trixie (A BIG LITTLE LIFE). THE SILENT CORNER, however, didn’t quite work for me. If you like plot-centered action stories that are fast-paced but ultimately leave you hanging, you might like THE SILENT CORNER. Just be prepared to buy additional books to find out what actually happens. There are a few mini-chapters of the next installment, THE WHISPERING ROOM, included at the end of this one; it wasn’t enough to rope me in, I’m afraid. I like Koontz’s writing, thus the three stars (two for the book, and another one because I’ll always be a fan!).[Please note: I was provided an Advance Reading Copy of this novel free of charge; the opinions expressed here are my own.]
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    May 30, 2017
    *** ARC provided for an honest review by the author***The Silent Corner is the start to a riveting new series by the incredible Dean Koontz. Dean gives you a thrilling new series that will have you clutching the pages for more. This seasoned writer sure knows how to keep you on your toes. Each book gets better and better. Especially with The Silent Corner, it's no difference. Jane Hawk is an FBI agent who has had everything go wrong in her life. Everything is falling apart. With the death of her *** ARC provided for an honest review by the author***The Silent Corner is the start to a riveting new series by the incredible Dean Koontz. Dean gives you a thrilling new series that will have you clutching the pages for more. This seasoned writer sure knows how to keep you on your toes. Each book gets better and better. Especially with The Silent Corner, it's no difference. Jane Hawk is an FBI agent who has had everything go wrong in her life. Everything is falling apart. With the death of her husband, she tries to piece together what happened. When her husband's death ruled a suicide, she tries to find out what really happened.Because all around her many other people are committing "suicides" and Jane is determined to find out what really is going on. Can she find out what happened to her husband?Is there a real serial killer on the loose?Only Jane can find the answers she's looking for.Dean Koontz has done it again. It's a great book for the start of the summer. Dean has a mesmerizing way with his words. Taking you on an intense rollercoaster, and I can't  wait for the next installment to this series. The Silent Corner is definitely a best seller waiting in the shadows.4.5 stars for The Silent Corner. 
    more
  • Jean
    April 17, 2017
    I have never been a hardcore Dean Koontz fan even though I enjoy reading this genre. There have been some hits and misses with his books. In the beginning I thought this was going to be another miss. I wasn't too fond of his writing style here. There are 6 parts to this book and some of the chapters are really short, like 2 pages long. I guess this makes it easier to read? Koontz can also get excessively descriptive which could make it boring. The second half of the book picked up for me and I c I have never been a hardcore Dean Koontz fan even though I enjoy reading this genre. There have been some hits and misses with his books. In the beginning I thought this was going to be another miss. I wasn't too fond of his writing style here. There are 6 parts to this book and some of the chapters are really short, like 2 pages long. I guess this makes it easier to read? Koontz can also get excessively descriptive which could make it boring. The second half of the book picked up for me and I couldn't put it down.Jane Hawk's marine husband had committed suicide. This shocked Jane since he showed no signs of unhappiness or depression. After some research, she found out that the suicide rate for happy and accomplished people have gone up. Now on FBI leave, Jane is on the run because "they" have threatened her and her son. I love the well developed Jane character. She is smart, determined and beautiful. This book is like a non-stop chase scene. At no point is there slowing down. Even though the ending is not a cliffhanger, Jane's journey has not ended. She has won the fight but not the battle. I look forward to reading more from this series.Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine, and Dean Koontz for the opportunity to read and review "The Silent Corner".
    more
  • Shay
    May 24, 2017
    I'm glad this is a series and it not a stand-alone book, because I absolutely loved this book! With today's advances in bioengineering, the concepts of this novel are all too real...and terrifying! I loved Jane and many of the other characters and can't wait for the next book in this series!
    more
Write a review