There, There
For fans of Penguin Problems and A Birthday for Bear, the story of a whiny rabbit pushing a patient bear to the end of his tether and learning a lesson in looking on the bright side.Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under your pillow? Well Rabbit does, and he's not shy about sharing it. He whines, he complains, he moans, he grumps... until Bear has had enough and decides it's time for Rabbit to learn to appreciate what he has. Using nothing but the lowly common earthworm as an example, he teaches Rabbit a lesson about taking things for granted. Something the worm knows all about... Written in charming verse and featuring a delightfully domestic bear and a very surly rabbit, There, There is a fantastic tongue-in-cheek riff on the idea that "it could be worse..."

There, There Details

TitleThere, There
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherTundra Books (NY)
ISBN1770497528
ISBN-139781770497528
Number of pages24 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Animals, Rabbits

There, There Review

  • Sandra
    May 30, 2017
    The illustrations are amazing, but I didn't enjoy the story. The first part was funny, with Hare complaining about the rain, the food, and everything, but I hate when Bear uses a worm to show Hare what a good life he has, and how it could be worse, like the way a worm lives is worse. Why looking the worm down this way? It is a worm after all, and lives like worms live. I found that sad, and not a positive message.I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev The illustrations are amazing, but I didn't enjoy the story. The first part was funny, with Hare complaining about the rain, the food, and everything, but I hate when Bear uses a worm to show Hare what a good life he has, and how it could be worse, like the way a worm lives is worse. Why looking the worm down this way? It is a worm after all, and lives like worms live. I found that sad, and not a positive message.I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kendall
    June 14, 2017
    A great little story about appreciating what you have. Bear is the patient, consoling friend to Hare, an unhappy rabbit who complains about everything--but even Bear has his limits on patience and understanding and decides to teach Hare a lesson in gratefulness by making him aware of the positive things around him. The illustrations are adorable and funny and I really loved how the message was presented without being too serious...even Worm found something positive at the end. Pun intended. (Rec A great little story about appreciating what you have. Bear is the patient, consoling friend to Hare, an unhappy rabbit who complains about everything--but even Bear has his limits on patience and understanding and decides to teach Hare a lesson in gratefulness by making him aware of the positive things around him. The illustrations are adorable and funny and I really loved how the message was presented without being too serious...even Worm found something positive at the end. Pun intended. (Received as an ARC from Netgalley)
    more
  • Dani
    December 27, 2016
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Review coming closer to publishing date!BOTTOM LINE: Loved the worm, haha...
  • JenLovesBooks
    May 20, 2017
    There was a cuteness about this book that had me wanting to read it right away. My daughter sat down and we both wholeheartedly wanted to love it, but it wasn’t a win for either of us. It was a story with good meaning and the characters were of course very cute. And when it starts on a rainy day, that is always a plus.As I read on, I could tell it was going to be about much more than having a fun day, that of a hare who complains about everything. We both enjoyed the first few pages and the illu There was a cuteness about this book that had me wanting to read it right away. My daughter sat down and we both wholeheartedly wanted to love it, but it wasn’t a win for either of us. It was a story with good meaning and the characters were of course very cute. And when it starts on a rainy day, that is always a plus.As I read on, I could tell it was going to be about much more than having a fun day, that of a hare who complains about everything. We both enjoyed the first few pages and the illustrations that were added to the text, but as it went on it felt a little much. My daughter loves books of all kinds and is usually really good about participating and wanting to reach the end. This was one of those that she found wanting to walk away half way through.There is a good story here, about enjoying all the great things that are around us, and not always being a downer about everything. We got right behind that and my daughter got it right away, but it moved on longer than I felt she was willing to hear after arriving to the same conclusion much quicker than the ending. The repetitiveness in this book didn’t really work for her or me, but not because it isn’t good, we just aren’t very fond of the continuous rhyming parts.I did love the meaning behind this story, as well as the illustrations. I know that it would be a great lesson book for many and the added part with the worm gave it an extra nice touch to all of it. I kind of wished the worm was in more in the book, but I understand it was about hare and his lack of happy feels. I will add, bear is such a great friend to have heard out hare all that time and had all that patience with him, good thing hare understood his wrongs at the end.
    more
  • Rachel
    March 26, 2017
    A book about a pessimistic Hare and an optimistic Bear. Hare is a grump, he doesn't like the rain and he's upset it has lasted for days. Bear is Hare's friend, who tries to console him. However, Bear becomes fed up with Hare's negativity and drags him into the rain outside, to show him his life isn't as terrible as he thinks. This was a cute picture book. Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for an ARC.
    more
  • Beyond the Pages
    January 2, 2017
    There, There was a beautifully illustrated story about two friends with a glass half empty and glass half full type of relationship. The hare hemmed and hawed, complaining about everything, while the bear tried to offer quiet support and encouragement to a friend in need. I really liked how this book seemed to offer a deeper lesson on attitude and perspective. This book would make a wonderful read aloud for family time. I believe it would facilitate a rich discussion. Source: NetGalley
    more
  • Sharon Tyler
    May 11, 2017
    There, There by Tim Beiser is a picture book currently scheduled for release on June 6 2017. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under your pillow? Well Rabbit does, and he's not shy about sharing it. He whines, he complains, he moans, he grumps... until Bear has had enough and decides it's time for Rabbit to learn to appreciate what he has. Using nothing but the lowly common earthworm as an example, he teaches Rabbit a lesson about There, There by Tim Beiser is a picture book currently scheduled for release on June 6 2017. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under your pillow? Well Rabbit does, and he's not shy about sharing it. He whines, he complains, he moans, he grumps... until Bear has had enough and decides it's time for Rabbit to learn to appreciate what he has. Using nothing but the lowly common earthworm as an example, he teaches Rabbit a lesson about taking things for granted. Something the worm knows all about.There, There is a picturebook intending to ease the complaining and whining that many partake in. I think the message is presented well and the art is nice, but it just never blew me away. I think many people resort to complaining about anything and everything that is not to their liking. I will admit to being guilty on occasion myself. The majority of the book is Rabbit complaining about everything and Bear brushing off the complaints until he shows Rabbit how much worse of Worm has it than him. I found the notion of what felt like putting down Worm or his lifestyle a little unsettling. I think the lesson would have been better served by pointing out the good things about Rabbit and his life rather than looking down on Worm's. When I first read it it irked me, but I find that the more I think about it the more unhappy I am with it.
    more
  • Ashleigh
    March 3, 2017
    This is a fair book, but for sure not a favorite to add to the home-shelf.The premise is a good one. Hare is whiny and upset because his friend Bear and he are stuck inside. Hare starts looking for things to be upset about (though the moldy carrots that he finds under the sink would probably upset me as well), and at first Bear consoles him saying, “there, there.” After going through this same scenario again and again Bear gets fed up, and goes about showing Hare a life much worse than their own This is a fair book, but for sure not a favorite to add to the home-shelf.The premise is a good one. Hare is whiny and upset because his friend Bear and he are stuck inside. Hare starts looking for things to be upset about (though the moldy carrots that he finds under the sink would probably upset me as well), and at first Bear consoles him saying, “there, there.” After going through this same scenario again and again Bear gets fed up, and goes about showing Hare a life much worse than their own, and then Hare comes to his senses.When written out like that, I think I’d really like to read this book, but the execution wasn’t quite right. Before getting into the nitty-gritty, I’ll say my biggest issue was the writing style, and that is one of the top things I look at no matter the book.Rating a children’s book is a bit different than rating an adult book. I have a few basic things that I look at on top of how enjoyable it was to read, though I find that most books with all of these key elements have a tendency to be more enjoyable than those without.Readability: Now, not every book has to be a one or two sentence per page type book, with mostly sight words. My 5-year-old daughter really enjoys books that are lengthier, and we usually have a chapter book we read from every night along with her picture books. In other words it doesn’t have to be something SHE has to be able to read easily, but it does have to be something that I can read easily.The issue with readability in this book was the rhyming scheme. I know some people liked it, but it was really hard for me to get into, and where I usually like doing voices for these types of books even that was a challenge. This book did not have a good flow. I actually feel this story would have been stronger without the rhyming, and I probably would have rated it higher. It’s OK to write a children’s book without rhymes. This book has a good enough message that it was unneeded anyway, especially since in my opinion it was done poorly.Storyline: You’d be amazed how many children’s books are out there with a storyline that isn’t appropriate for kids, or storylines that aren’t good in general. Books that make you wonder why they were written in the first place.This book for sure has a good message, though I felt it was really heavy-handed, and it got old fast. Hare became obnoxious, and I even caught my daughter’s interest start to wane. This isn’t a super long book, but it started to feel like it was.Storyline feeds into being relatable as well. As in, if the child can grasp the moral of the story and whatnot. I don’t think that was an issue here; as long as you could keep your child interested long enough to get to the moral.Artwork: I wasn’t super impressed with the artwork either. I don’t know that there was anything really wrong with it; I just didn’t care for it. The hare looks like a pretty rough and scraggly character, and I probably would have tried for a different aesthetic myself.In the end the idea was there, and it has a good message, one that a lot of adults could take into mind as well. I suppose if I knew someone with a child that was as big of a brat as the hare in this story I miiiiight suggest this book, but probably not. It’s just an ok, meh, kind of book. Nothing real special about it.**I was given a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Wayne McCoy
    June 8, 2017
    'There, There' by Tim Beiser with illustrations by Bill Slavin is a picture book about a fretting bunny and his patient friend Bear.Hare is at Bear's house to play, and they had planned to play outside, but it is raining. Hare is bored and complaining. Bear is sympathetic. Hare continues to complain, while Bear bakes and offers more sympathy. This continues until Bear's patience is stretched thin, then an object lesson is in order to show Hare that things could be worse. Will Hare learn to be gr 'There, There' by Tim Beiser with illustrations by Bill Slavin is a picture book about a fretting bunny and his patient friend Bear.Hare is at Bear's house to play, and they had planned to play outside, but it is raining. Hare is bored and complaining. Bear is sympathetic. Hare continues to complain, while Bear bakes and offers more sympathy. This continues until Bear's patience is stretched thin, then an object lesson is in order to show Hare that things could be worse. Will Hare learn to be grateful?I liked the illustrations in this book. The coloring is earth toned, and there are interesting textures painted onto the pages. Hare is funny in an overdramatic way. Bear is patient, but his patience is not endless. I like the lesson of being happy with what you've got. Young children would enjoy this silly read aloud book.I received a review copy of this ebook from Tundra Books, Penguin Random House Canada, and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this ebook.
    more
  • Stephanie
    May 30, 2017
    ~Disclaimer~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~This book is about a hare who has to stay inside because it is raining outside. He spends so much time complaining about being inside that he isn't even trying to do fun things with Bear. Finally Bear becomes fed up and shows Hare that he doesn't have it worse o ~Disclaimer~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~This book is about a hare who has to stay inside because it is raining outside. He spends so much time complaining about being inside that he isn't even trying to do fun things with Bear. Finally Bear becomes fed up and shows Hare that he doesn't have it worse off than most other people/animals. This is a good book to read with a child that is always complaining about things. Instead of throwing yourself a pity party you should try and make the best of a situation. This book will teach a child to be more grateful for what you have. Other people are going through worse things than you are at the moment. I enjoyed the rhyming and the illustrations.3/5 ⭐
    more
  • Heather
    February 27, 2017
    In this story all rabbit does is complain and even very patient bear has had enough. We especially liked the worm in this story and he got us all laughing!This book had wonderful rhymes that were not predictable and the illustrations were great. My youngest students were very engaged with the story and were able to tell me that the story made them think about focusing on what they have and being grateful. This would make a read aloud for the whole family.* I was provided a free copy of this book In this story all rabbit does is complain and even very patient bear has had enough. We especially liked the worm in this story and he got us all laughing!This book had wonderful rhymes that were not predictable and the illustrations were great. My youngest students were very engaged with the story and were able to tell me that the story made them think about focusing on what they have and being grateful. This would make a read aloud for the whole family.* I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Magy
    February 12, 2017
    Rabbit is a whiner! And even understanding, supportive friends like Bear eventually get fed up with all that complaining. Using an earthworm as an example, Bear helps Rabbit see how good Rabbit's life is in comparison to the little earthworm's life.Written in verse the pace, pictures, and humor of There, There will make it an instant favorite for kids and adults alike.*A copy of this book was provided free of charge for an honest review.
    more
  • Sarah Peterman
    November 26, 2016
    This is a fun book to read. A nice rhyming story about a bear and a hare who have to spend the day inside. The hare is grumpy and making life miserable, while the bear is attempting to have a good day. I loved it and would read it again to my children.The illustrations are adorable too, loved the bear and the earthworm.
    more
  • Lindsey Roath
    December 20, 2016
    What a wonderful story! Everyone needs the reminder to be grateful for what they have and this is an excellent look at walking in someone else's shoes and being careful what you say. The pictures are beautiful and can speak to any audience. I think it's particularly lovely for parents to remember when our kiddos have "those" days.
    more
  • Jessi
    May 29, 2017
    It's rainy outside and Rabbit has a case of the grumps. Bear is trying to cheer him up but isn't having much luck. At least, until he drags Rabbit outside and shows him the life of a worm.The verse this is written in is a little hard to follow. And I didn't love this story. But the illustrations are fun and it's a cute book.
    more
  • Ann
    June 15, 2017
    Story of a grumpy rabbit ( hare) and his friend bear who listens patiently and finally shows rabbit that his life is no so bad. A lesson on being grateful for what you have. Told in rhyme with cute illustrations. Not so sure I loved the worm part but still it was good.
    more
  • Emily
    February 9, 2017
    I loved this book! The illustrations are charming and the story was adorable. My favorite part was the last page. I did not expect it but it made the whole book more memorable and enjoyable. Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Wallis Chan
    January 19, 2017
    The illustration was very lively. The introduction of 'the worm' at the end added a nice twist to the story.
  • EP
    March 9, 2017
    Eh... this one was just ok. I enjoyed the non-traditional rhyming and the illustrations, but not so much the storyline. Rabbit was really TOO whiny. It was a little too much. I also didn't love the message of "look at the worm, his life completely sucks, so be grateful." I think the message of being grateful for what you have is an important one, but I also think it could have been delivered a little less... heavy-handedly? I felt really bad for the worm and indignant on his behalf. I found the Eh... this one was just ok. I enjoyed the non-traditional rhyming and the illustrations, but not so much the storyline. Rabbit was really TOO whiny. It was a little too much. I also didn't love the message of "look at the worm, his life completely sucks, so be grateful." I think the message of being grateful for what you have is an important one, but I also think it could have been delivered a little less... heavy-handedly? I felt really bad for the worm and indignant on his behalf. I found the ending kind of funny and subversive, but it also made me a little sad and didn't make up for the rest of the story, in my opinion. I received an ARC from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Kate Puleo Unger
    May 22, 2017
    The moral of this story was good. Rabbit is always complaining, and Bear usually says, "There, There." One day he cannot take it anymore though, and he shows Rabbit a worm and tries to explain that Rabbit has things pretty good compared to the worm. It's a little more telling vs. showing than I usually prefer in a kids book, but it gets the point across.This book is written in rhyme, which is not my preferred writing style. It's kind of clunky at times and would be a little challenging as a read The moral of this story was good. Rabbit is always complaining, and Bear usually says, "There, There." One day he cannot take it anymore though, and he shows Rabbit a worm and tries to explain that Rabbit has things pretty good compared to the worm. It's a little more telling vs. showing than I usually prefer in a kids book, but it gets the point across.This book is written in rhyme, which is not my preferred writing style. It's kind of clunky at times and would be a little challenging as a read aloud.I loved the illustrations, especially the chess game in the opening spread. The pages were full with so much for kids to look at.I enjoyed this book as a single read, but it isn't one I would want to own.http://www.momsradius.com/2017/06/kid...
    more
  • Pop Bop
    November 27, 2016
    So, A Patient Bear and a Grumpy Hare Go Out in the RainYou know, nothing beats a really good bear and rabbit story. Add a couple of little jokes and then a surprise big joke and you have a real winner. In this book you have a whinging rabbit who finally drives his patient bear friend bonkers. Bear decides it's time to teach rabbit to appreciate what he has.Lots of appealing and funny things are going on here. The story is told in verse; the rhyme is not sing-song, but fairly sophisticated. This So, A Patient Bear and a Grumpy Hare Go Out in the RainYou know, nothing beats a really good bear and rabbit story. Add a couple of little jokes and then a surprise big joke and you have a real winner. In this book you have a whinging rabbit who finally drives his patient bear friend bonkers. Bear decides it's time to teach rabbit to appreciate what he has.Lots of appealing and funny things are going on here. The story is told in verse; the rhyme is not sing-song, but fairly sophisticated. This doesn't make the book challenging or difficult - it makes it more interesting. Rabbit is very creative in finding things to complain about, and bear's creeping exasperation is presented sympathetically. This is all very carefully crafted and presented, which is refreshing given that greener-grass stories can be pretty slapdash sometimes. SPOILER, SO DON'T TELL THE KIDS. Eventually, bear drags rabbit out into the rain and shows rabbit a lowly little muddy worm. Comparing rabbit's life of ease to the worm's life, bear drives home the point that rabbit should be more thankful for what he has. So far, so good, and a nice message. But, as I read this I thought the worm was being treated a bit unfairly. Well, son of a gun, the book ends with the worm getting the last word and musing to himself that he has it pretty good also. I didn't see that joke coming, and thought it added a nice bit of finish to the tale.A word must be said about the illustrator, Bill Slavin, because the drawings here are just remarkably clever and accomplished, and because illustrators as a general rule don't get nearly enough love. Bill Slavin is approaching Canadian-national-treasure status, and if you're looking for more good picture books you might do well to search his body of work. I'm a big fan of the "Stanley" (the dog) books he draws for Linda Bailey, but there are lots of different books to choose from, many with a clear Canada angle. In any event, this particular book works in no small measure because Slavin sells the ideas, and the personalities and attitudes of the characters, so well.So, a thoughtful friendship tale involving very appealing animal characters, a lesson, and some upbeat jokes. I'm a happy little reader. (Please note that I received a free advance will-self-destruct-in-x-days Adobe Digital copy of this book without a review requirement, or any influence regarding review content should I choose to post a review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.)
    more
  • Laken
    December 22, 2016
    The story takes place in a snug and well provisioned den where a very unhappy rabbit is bemoaning everything about this miserable rainy day to his large and patient companion. Bear is at first sympathetic to the litany of complaints, offering the sage words comfort, “There, there” at each interval, but eventually his patience comes to an end and even he cannot take the negativity any more. Dragging rabbit outside into the rain and mud, bear uses a pitiful worm crawling in the muck as an example The story takes place in a snug and well provisioned den where a very unhappy rabbit is bemoaning everything about this miserable rainy day to his large and patient companion. Bear is at first sympathetic to the litany of complaints, offering the sage words comfort, “There, there” at each interval, but eventually his patience comes to an end and even he cannot take the negativity any more. Dragging rabbit outside into the rain and mud, bear uses a pitiful worm crawling in the muck as an example of how awful life could really be. Rabbit realizes that his circumstances are not quite as grim as they seem and the two friends return to the den as the sky begins to clear. The poor downtrodden worm even gets the last word in for a pleasing finale with an unexpected joke.Silly, cartoonish acrylic illustrations on gessoed board have traces of floral and root textures on the walls and background that lend the mostly full page illustrations a rich, earthy quality. The rhyming verse is complex but still approachable for a younger audience. This would be good book for a preschool story time and a welcome reminder to remain positive no matter the circumstances.The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley
    more
  • Victoria Peipert
    February 18, 2017
    This was a well written book with a nice rhyming scheme. It didn't feel like the most unique artwork or a very remarkable story but it was enjoyable. It didn't stand out.
  • Marilyn
    December 26, 2016
    "When a sudden, heavy rainSpoiled the lovely summer weatherTwo old friends had to remainIn the den they shared together."Rain is boring," sighed the hareSaid the bear, "Poor thing!There, there!" Thus begins the the charming tale, written in rhyme, about a very valuable life lesson that Rabbit learns from his best friend, Bear.Everything Hare looks at he grumps about. He despises the rain, he abhors the endless down pouring, he detests not being able to play and have picnics outdoor, and even wor "When a sudden, heavy rainSpoiled the lovely summer weatherTwo old friends had to remainIn the den they shared together."Rain is boring," sighed the hareSaid the bear, "Poor thing!There, there!" Thus begins the the charming tale, written in rhyme, about a very valuable life lesson that Rabbit learns from his best friend, Bear.Everything Hare looks at he grumps about. He despises the rain, he abhors the endless down pouring, he detests not being able to play and have picnics outdoor, and even worse, he loathes that the carrots are moldy and the cupboards are infested.......... and on.........and on........ and on....... ad nauseum. What a negative Nancy he is!!!Bear responds to Hare's rants and tantrums by rolling his eyes and saying, "There, there." Finally Bear cannot take it anymore and has absolutely enough of the negativity swirling around. He drags his complaining, pouting friend outside into the mud and rain and teaches him a important life lesson simply by using a lowly earthworm as an example.Bear talks to his friend about being grateful for what he has and not to take things for granted. He points out that there are others far off worse than he is so please shed the Debbie Downer demeanour and get happy. "Yes, I see," the hare then sighed.I have blessings by the plateful.Take me home and we'll get dried.And I'll try to be more grateful."
    more
  • Elle Markov
    February 9, 2017
    Poor little Rabbit is bummed out with the rain and all the drips and nuances that it is bringing. But as he whines and moan and begrudges the weather, his roommate Bear just goes about making the best of the day.Bear, the pinnacle of patience tells Rabbit “there, there” as he attempts to console his plights. But having enough of this gloom, Bear sets out to show Rabbit that even a gloomy day is no excuse to be glum-bunny.Sweet and fun this rainy day story will delight the little ones.Rating 5 ou Poor little Rabbit is bummed out with the rain and all the drips and nuances that it is bringing. But as he whines and moan and begrudges the weather, his roommate Bear just goes about making the best of the day.Bear, the pinnacle of patience tells Rabbit “there, there” as he attempts to console his plights. But having enough of this gloom, Bear sets out to show Rabbit that even a gloomy day is no excuse to be glum-bunny.Sweet and fun this rainy day story will delight the little ones.Rating 5 out of 5 [email protected] ARC
    more
  • Library_geek
    January 4, 2017
    "There There", such a well used phrase with children, a term of comfort and love. With such a title I very much expected the book to be different....it is nice to be surprised, sometimes. Overall the message of the story was lovely, a friend comforting another another but wanting him to realise life isn't that bad. However, I wasn't satisfied with the ending and I felt it was a little wordy. The bear character was very endearing and he was illustrated well. The drips of water on his face on one "There There", such a well used phrase with children, a term of comfort and love. With such a title I very much expected the book to be different....it is nice to be surprised, sometimes. Overall the message of the story was lovely, a friend comforting another another but wanting him to realise life isn't that bad. However, I wasn't satisfied with the ending and I felt it was a little wordy. The bear character was very endearing and he was illustrated well. The drips of water on his face on one page was a gorgeous and was my favourite page in the book. Bear had a 'softer' look to him than hare, which I guess is because he was the comforter, Bill Slavin is a talented illustrator and overall I liked seeing texture in the drawings. From a library professional experience this would definitely recommend this as a one on one reading book, the length of it is a bit long for a group story time experience unless it was for children in Prep and above.Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book
    more
  • Carla Johnson-Hicks
    November 26, 2016
    Rabbit and Bear are great friends who share a den. When it rains and rains, Rabbit gets grumpy. He complains, kicks things and generally becomes miserable. Bear tries to comfort Rabbit by listening and commenting, There, there, but Rabbit does not stop. Bear finally has enough. He drags Rabbit outside in the rain and using a lowly earthworm, teaches Rabbit and important lesson. He has a pretty good life and he needs to recognize the good things and not dwell on the not so good.This story is writ Rabbit and Bear are great friends who share a den. When it rains and rains, Rabbit gets grumpy. He complains, kicks things and generally becomes miserable. Bear tries to comfort Rabbit by listening and commenting, There, there, but Rabbit does not stop. Bear finally has enough. He drags Rabbit outside in the rain and using a lowly earthworm, teaches Rabbit and important lesson. He has a pretty good life and he needs to recognize the good things and not dwell on the not so good.This story is written in verse and flows very well. I absolutely loved the illustrations. The way they show texture and colour makes you feel like you are right there in the den with Bear and Rabbit. A great way to teach the concept of taking things for granted using this cute domestic bear and the unhappy Rabbit. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 5, 2017
    Penguin Random House Canada and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of There, There. This is my honest opinion of the book.There, There is the story of Rabbit, whose whining and complaining gets to the point that his friend Bear feels the need to intervene. Using the earthworm and an example, Bear sets out to teach Rabbit about appreciating that which is around you.Although I did love the story written by Tim Beiser, and the lessons that children can glean from its pages, the strength Penguin Random House Canada and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of There, There. This is my honest opinion of the book.There, There is the story of Rabbit, whose whining and complaining gets to the point that his friend Bear feels the need to intervene. Using the earthworm and an example, Bear sets out to teach Rabbit about appreciating that which is around you.Although I did love the story written by Tim Beiser, and the lessons that children can glean from its pages, the strength of the book lies in its illustrations by Bill Slavin. The pages seem to have texture and depth, setting off the story. Capturing the expressions of the surly Rabbit perfectly, young children will be able to puzzle out the story regardless of their reading abilities. I highly recommend There, There, as it would be a perfect addition to both home and public libraries.
    more
  • Cariadne
    December 18, 2016
    This short story told in rhyme rates a 1.5. Thanks to NetGalley, I was able to appreciate Bill Slavin's unique textural backgrounds, something I don't recall seeing used in a children's book before. Unfortunately, the story by Tim Beiser didn't inspire as much admiration from me. In fact, I felt so frustrated with where this book was going (nowhere) that I put it down for a few days before trying to finish what a 24 page book! And neither the title or final words offered me any comfort when I fi This short story told in rhyme rates a 1.5. Thanks to NetGalley, I was able to appreciate Bill Slavin's unique textural backgrounds, something I don't recall seeing used in a children's book before. Unfortunately, the story by Tim Beiser didn't inspire as much admiration from me. In fact, I felt so frustrated with where this book was going (nowhere) that I put it down for a few days before trying to finish what a 24 page book! And neither the title or final words offered me any comfort when I finally finished it. My time could've been better spent curled up with A Birthday for Bear, a far more superior book the marketing people used in comparison to promote this wannabe.
    more
  • Adrienne
    December 28, 2016
    When a rainy day forces him to stay inside, Hare is quite upset. His friend Bear tries to comfort him, but as Hare's whining continues, Bear decides to teach him a lesson instead.The full color illustrations are engaging and the rhyming text is good (not the same old predictable sort of rhymes). This book wasn't quite my thing--but I can totally picture kids, particularly little boys, getting a big kick out of it, especially the ending.3.5 stars.I read a copy via NetGalley. All opinions are my o When a rainy day forces him to stay inside, Hare is quite upset. His friend Bear tries to comfort him, but as Hare's whining continues, Bear decides to teach him a lesson instead.The full color illustrations are engaging and the rhyming text is good (not the same old predictable sort of rhymes). This book wasn't quite my thing--but I can totally picture kids, particularly little boys, getting a big kick out of it, especially the ending.3.5 stars.I read a copy via NetGalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
Write a review