Once and for All
As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine. Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants. Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

Once and for All Details

TitleOnce and for All
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherViking Books for Young Readers
ISBN0425290336
ISBN-139780425290330
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Once and for All Review

  • Beatriz
    March 11, 2017
    https://beahreads.blogspot.com Em 2010, após ler "Along For The Ride" da Sarah Dessen, basicamente apaguei todos os livros da autora da minha vida. Além de não ser muito fã de livros do gênero contemporâneo, a escrita de Dessen foi maçante demais para o meu gosto. Porém, quase uma década depois, a sinopse de seu novo romance chamou-me a atenção e eu fiz um desejo (literalmente) no NetGalley pedindo um ARC (Advance Readers Copy) à editora e para minha surpresa, meu pedido foi concedido. "Once An https://beahreads.blogspot.com Em 2010, após ler "Along For The Ride" da Sarah Dessen, basicamente apaguei todos os livros da autora da minha vida. Além de não ser muito fã de livros do gênero contemporâneo, a escrita de Dessen foi maçante demais para o meu gosto. Porém, quase uma década depois, a sinopse de seu novo romance chamou-me a atenção e eu fiz um desejo (literalmente) no NetGalley pedindo um ARC (Advance Readers Copy) à editora e para minha surpresa, meu pedido foi concedido. "Once And For All" conta a estória de Louna. A típica garota adolescente introvertida que trabalha com sua mãe Natalie Barrett organizando festas de casamentos para todas as noivas do estado. E apesar de viverem rodeadas de casais apaixonados, nem mãe nem filha acreditam em amor ou em finais felizes. A descrença de ambas começou quando o pai de Louna decidiu abandonar a família para viver sob a proteção e dinheiro oferecidos por seus ricos parentes, porém a vida de solteiro do rapaz não durou muito e ele morreu em um acidente de carro logo após o divorcio. Fato que levou Natalie a trabalhar duro para criar Louna sozinha. E em um de seus inúmeros empregos ela conhece William, o companheiro gay, que também nunca teve sorte no amor. Juntos os três tornam-se inseparáveis, e Natalie e William abrem então sua própria empresa de organização de casamento. Durante anos essa família disfuncional segue a mesma rotina e ceticismo, até que em um verão as coisas mudam para todos eles. No decorrer de mais um casamento, Louna é obrigada a encontrar o ausente filho da noiva que estava atrasando a cerimônia toda com seu sumiço. E desde o primeiro instante que a garota avista Ambrose flertando com uma menina do lado de fora da igreja, a antipatia surge e Louna passa a detestar instantaneamente o rapaz. Todavia, o que deveria ter sido apenas um breve encontro transforma-se em pesadelo quando a irmã de Ambrose resolve realizar seu casamento com a empresa de Natalie. Como um verdadeiro peso morto para a família, a mãe de Ambrose resolve oferecer uma quantia extra de dinheiro para a mãe de Louna empregar o moço em sua firma durante o verão, de modo que ele faça alguma coisa útil da vida e pare de aborrecer a todos com seu jeito mimado de ser. Para o desespero de Louna, sua mãe então aceita a proposta Assim como a Natalie e William, Louna estava fora do mundo dos relacionamentos amorosos desde que seu primeiro e último namoro acabou de forma brusca e traumatizante. Porém Ambrose e sua melhor amiga Jilly estavam dispostos a mudar o pensamento da garota. Nota-se que o enredo desse livro não poderia ser mais clichê, só de ler a sinopse já é possível saber tudo o que irá acontecer no desenvolver da narrativa, porém Sarah Dessen consegue surpreender positivamente o leitor e transformar um simples livro contemporâneo em um estória engraçada, emocionante e memorável. Logo de início o que mais me chamou atenção foi a estrutura do romance, senti que a autora brincou na construção de seus parágrafos e capítulos, dando-lhes uma agilidade que poderia ser comparada com o ritmo frenético dos casamentos realizados. O que transformou a obra em algo extremamente rápido e fácil de ler, Dessen não ficou de enrolação e foi direto para os assuntos que importavam. Outra coisa admirável foi a caracterização dos personagens no decorrer da narrativa. Todos apresentavam um estória de vida bem fundada e exemplificada, então era possível entender suas motivações; medos e pensamentos. Nada nesse romance ficou injustificado ou sem sentido, pois a personalidade dos personagens ficou bem desenvolvida e diferenciada. O que ampliou ainda mais a obra, de modo a abranger todo o universo dos adultos também. William e Natalie não foram figuras meramente ilustrativas, como ocorre em todo jovem adulto, eles eram seres com sentimentos iguais aos adolescentes. Inclusive o relacionamento entre Natalie e Louna assemelha-se muito com o de Rory e Lorelai Gilmore, aumentando ainda mais a minha vontade de morar dentro desse livro (assim como quero habitar eternamente em Stars Hollow). Com relação à Louna e seu romance fracassado, fiquei surpresa quando percebi que a autora resolveu intercalar a obra com flashbacks do relacionamento de Louna e Ethan (seu primeiro namorado), criando assim duas estórias de amor para o leitor. Porém, não se deixem assustar com esse fato. Ambos os romances foram extremamente bem feitos e são essenciais para a compreensão da narrativa e dos personagens. Dessen foi realmente ousada em optar por apresentar Ethan para o leitor dessa maneira tão intensa, porém ela fez um ótimo trabalho desenvolvendo e diferenciando ambos os garotos e o relacionamento de Louna com cada um deles. Era possível notar uma completa mudança da narrativa nas cenas de Ethan, onde a autora utilizava toda a romantização nostálgica típica das lembranças de Louna. Enquanto as interações com Ambrose eram marcadas por um realismo maior e pertinente ao momento presente que a garota e ele estavam vivenciando. No final, tanto Ethan quanto Ambrose não poderiam ser mais distintos, porém confesso que Ambrose me conquistou desde sua primeira fala. O que me leva ao fato que me fez até chorar no final desse livro: o romance entre Louna e Ambrose. Nunca em um livro jovem adulto contemporâneo, uma autora explorou tanto o relacionamento entre os protagonistas. Geralmente em livros desse gênero o interesse romântico (leia-se o mocinho da estória) aparece de forma platônica e idealizada, enquanto a autora utiliza apenas a imagem do rapaz para discutir questões de cunho didático, levando a protagonista feminina a questionar tópicos sobre: dar o primeiro beijo, fazer sexo pela primeira vez e vários outros temas pertinentes a esse universo adolescente. Todavia, Dessen não teve medo de criar um romance verídico entre Louna e Ambrose, produzindo um protagonista masculino maravilhoso e humano. Eles conversavam sem medo e juntos passaram a se conhecer antes de iniciarem um romance, o diálogo cheio de sarcasmos e ironia entre eles foi a chave para ganhar meu coração. Minha única ressalva nesse livro perfeito, foi que o final ficou extremamente apressado. Senti falta de alguns desfechos, como por exemplo, gostaria de ter lido sobre como ficou o relacionamento de Ambrose com sua mãe e irmã, já que eles não se davam bem no início da obra e também explorar melhor os novos personagens que foram inseridos no final da narrativa. Algumas escolhas de Louna também me desapontaram um pouco, ainda que tenha sido compreensível o fato da garota ter feito tal coisa, não consegui evitar ficar um pouco chateada com o que ocorreu antes do "final feliz". Portanto, esse livro entra para a lista de favoritos com 4.5 de 5 estrelas. E eu definitivamente checarei outros títulos da Sarah Dessen depois de ler essa obra. Um livro perfeito para todas nós que gostamos de romance e estamos um pouco desacreditadas com a vida em geral. Louna e Ambrose dão uma verdadeira aula de amadurecimento e crescimento, inspirando os leitores a acreditarem e esperarem que um dia todos os nossos desejos se tornarão realidade."So many things we ask for, hope for, prayers put out into a world so wide: there was no way they could all be answered. But you had to keep asking. If you didn't, nothing even had a chance of coming true"*cópia digital do livro cedida pelo NetGalley em troca de uma resenha honesta, o trecho citado acima pode ser modificado na publicação final do livro*
    more
  • Sierra Abrams
    August 20, 2016
    SHRIEKING IM SO HAPPY AND EXCITED AAAAHHH
  • Madison (The Chronic Re-Reader)
    August 21, 2016
    Edited 02/06/2017After Saint Anything and this blog post, I was worried that Sarah Dessen would never publish another book. Seeing as how she is one of my favorite authors, this was pretty heartbreaking to read. However, it seems I was worried for nothing! Here are her tweets about the difficulties of writing ONCE AND FOR ALL: SO many lovely responses to the news of my new book. Number 13 was SO scary for me, for a lot of reasons. After Saint Anything, I wasn't......sure I had another YA book in Edited 02/06/2017After Saint Anything and this blog post, I was worried that Sarah Dessen would never publish another book. Seeing as how she is one of my favorite authors, this was pretty heartbreaking to read. However, it seems I was worried for nothing! Here are her tweets about the difficulties of writing ONCE AND FOR ALL: SO many lovely responses to the news of my new book. Number 13 was SO scary for me, for a lot of reasons. After Saint Anything, I wasn't......sure I had another YA book in me. It just took all I had. Then I had 2-3 false starts, which didn't help at ALL. Was kind of freaking out.Put a YA book aside in late September, took a break. Then started on an adult book (as in non-YA, not "adult":contemporary fiction?) which.....was just SO fun and made me happy. But by December, I'd decided I wanted to try YA. One last time. Thank goodness an idea did come. Started ONCE AND FOR ALL in late January. It was a rough ride writing wise, with all the doubt. I cried a LOT. (Did with TTAF and L&K, too.) In early April, I wasn't sure I'd ever finish the book. But by mid-May, somehow, it was done. Though I thought it was terrible. I took a break for a week, then re-read and decided it wasn't HORRIBLE. Another break. Another read. Okay, some parts were actually okay. (When I am tired and sad the world is a very dismal place. And my writing is always terrible, at least as far as I am concerned.) Anyway. Finally worked up the nerve to send it to my agent. Told her it was, Anne Lamott style, a Sh*tty First Draft. And to be kind. She called a day and a half later. Said:"For a sh*tty first draft, it's pretty f*cking good."I cried in parking lot of my kid's Tae Kwon Do. I always, ALWAYS think I can't do this, even as I am doing it. Even when it is DONE. Am continually surprised when it works out, somehow. Anyway, sorry to clog your timeline. I'm a little emotional, clearly! Thanks for listening.----Initial post 08/21/2016All of the details available so far about Dessen's thirteenth book will be down below, but first, my initial reaction...*COMMENCE FREAKOUT*Romance. Marriage. Wedding planning?I'm not sure about everyone else, but I have a soft spot in my heart for movies involving weddings (Sweet Home Alabama, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Made of Honor, The Proposal, The Wedding Date, 27 Dresses... *big gasp* Did I miss any?). I haven't read many books that involve weddings/wedding planning, though, so I'm really excited to read this one.I'm imagining beautiful dresses, dramatic wedding shenanigans, sweet heart-to-hearts, and of course at the center of it all - a wonderfully witty heroine just trying to escape alive. 2017 IS TOO FAR AWAY!----------And now for what we know so far about ONCE AND FOR ALL...From Sarah Dessen's website:You guys.I have had to keep this news secret for SO long. I am thrilled to finally share that my 13th novel (lucky, right?), ONCE AND FOR ALL, with be out in summer 2017. I can’t wait for you guys to read it!Read the official announcement in PW here.I know I’ve been MIA from this blog and, well, everything for awhile. I was working HARD writing this book from January to May and then immediately started editing with the wonderful Regina Hayes at Viking Children’s Books. I can’t wait to tell you more about it in the coming weeks as well as share a cover! So stay tuned. And now, back to enjoying summer while it lasts…..Here is the PW announcement:Dessen Goes “Once” Around at Viking KidsIn a world right deal, Regina Hayes and Ken Wright at Viking Children’s Books bought Sarah Dessen’s Once and for All. The novel, which is the author’s 13th, follows a just-graduated high schooler with a cynical view of romance and marriage. Burned by her first true love, she’s not ready to give her heart to anyone, when she meets a handsome young man. Set in what Viking called “the chaotic world of wedding planning,” Once and for All is slated for a summer 2017 release. Dessen was represented by Leigh Feldman at Leigh Feldman Literary.If you want to read a great article from Slate about the editing process of Dessen's books (of which Hayes has been editing since 2001, including one of my favorites - Along for the Ride!), you can check that out here. I absolutely LOVE this quote from Hayes in the article where she speaks to Dessen's writing style: "The girls in your books are always on a journey. The books are not problem novels, nor are they boy-meets-girl tales. They’re full, rich, stories about a person in transition, caught in a nexus of change. There is always a large, well-developed cast of characters, both major and minor."I think Hayes perfectly captured what exactly it is I adore about Sarah Dessen's books so much. She creates such relatable main characters, and her secondary characters are always equally as interesting.-------------------------------Added 02/07/2017:And now we have both a cover AND an excerpt! LOOK AT THAT COVER! And read the excerpt here.here.
    more
  • Claire Lundin
    August 20, 2016
    August 20, 2016: I'm actually tearing up. I started reading Sarah's books in middle school, right when things started to get, well, hard. The thought that this book will come out right after I graduate from High School, knowing that her books will truly take me all the way to the end of this journey, is making my heart swell. Let's do this, Dessen.October 6, 2016: THE COVER!!! THE EXCERPT!!! It's all so Sarah Dessen!!!!!!
    more
  • Arlene
    February 22, 2017
    Love ... love ... love ... this is why Dessen is one of my favorite authors!! She tells a great story and has me falling for her characters. More thoughts to come when I have time to gather them. For now, let's just say this will be one of my fave YAs this year. Yup! I'm pretty sure.
    more
  • Lekeisha The Booknerd
    August 25, 2016
    I'm so excited!!!! *screams *
  • Janssen
    March 12, 2017
    This was just CLASSIC Sarah Dessen. I smiled the whole time I was reading.
  • Rose
    February 17, 2017
    I'm way too happy about getting an ARC for this. *happy dances*
  • Funmbi
    October 6, 2016
    Yet another book I'm excited for :)Book wise......2017 is looking fantastic so far!
  • Nancy
    December 27, 2016
    Very cute. Loved Ambrose. Love Dessen's writing style. It always amazes me when I read the details of an organized character in her book. I'm floored by how much she must research in order to provide a believable character and backstory.
  • Marie
    January 15, 2017
    Another Sarah Dessen that reads like...all the other Sarah Dessen books. I don't mean this in a negative way; I think of her the same way I do Nicholas Sparks. They tell the same stories with different characters. Teenage love story: main character (usually female) has some angst in her life, she gets over it, and falls for the boy. Nothing crazy. It does make me wonder what Dessen could do if she went out of her comfort zone, but over a dozen novels in, that doesn't seem likely. At least not an Another Sarah Dessen that reads like...all the other Sarah Dessen books. I don't mean this in a negative way; I think of her the same way I do Nicholas Sparks. They tell the same stories with different characters. Teenage love story: main character (usually female) has some angst in her life, she gets over it, and falls for the boy. Nothing crazy. It does make me wonder what Dessen could do if she went out of her comfort zone, but over a dozen novels in, that doesn't seem likely. At least not anytime soon. The strongest aspect of Once and For All was Louna's tragic backstory. Which was ten times more interesting than the actually story I was reading. It was heartbreaking and I haven't seen it done before in YA and I wanted it explored SO badly.Teens don't need happy endings all the time. I rarely felt like I got any happy endings in high school and this contemporary stuff that is supposed to be realistic starts to feel like fairytales. I wish Dessen would raise the stakes because she's almost there. But not quite.
    more
  • Francesca
    December 4, 2016
    I love Sarah Dessen's books for their ribbon wrapped, strawberry frosting endings. They're real life fairytales, with just enough realness to make both my imagination and my heart happy. Once and for All is a little different. Sarah Dessen still does what she always does best. But the fairytale is a little more realistic here, and the particular events chosen for the book's plot line make it feel even more, devastatingly, true to life.Also, one of the most gorgeous covers I've ever seen.
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    December 29, 2016
    Once and for All quickly wormed its way up into my top three novels by Sarah Dessen. Louna is a fabulous main character, with a slight Gilmore Girls vibe (mother who deals with wedding crazyness; father is not in the picture). The romance is a super fun annoyingbugonmyshoulder-to-love (because I don't think there is ever hate). Gah, I love it so much.
    more
  • Rahma
    August 20, 2016
    That was an unexpected, but pleasant, surprise! SO EXCITED to read this, and the fact that the main character is no longer in high school makes it even more exciting!I am sure the wait will be worth it!
  • paz
    September 4, 2016
    This sounds like This Lullaby
  • Jenna
    March 27, 2017
    I honestly didn't think I would read this book? But then I got the urge to read something cute and summery and I couldn't resist this arc! The last time I read Sarah Dessen I was in high school, but I still really enjoyed this!! I loved the wedding aspect of this book (even though I never really appreciated weddings) and I think it was a really interesting how intense this book got. I read this book less to be critical and more to just have fun. And it was definitely fun!
    more
  • Daniella
    November 19, 2016
    OH MY GOSH HOW DID I NOT FIND OUT ABOUT THIS UNTIL NOW!?!?!?!?!?!?!I love Sarah Dessen's books to death, but I was so scared we weren't going to get another one for a very long time (if ever at all) after I saw the blog post she made after releasing Saint Anything (my personal favourite of her books).BUT WE ARE AND I COUNLD NOT BE MORE THRILLED! The synopsis sounds incredible, and I am so excited to fall into a new story with more of Sarah Dessen's signature fun, quirky and relatable characters, OH MY GOSH HOW DID I NOT FIND OUT ABOUT THIS UNTIL NOW!?!?!?!?!?!?!I love Sarah Dessen's books to death, but I was so scared we weren't going to get another one for a very long time (if ever at all) after I saw the blog post she made after releasing Saint Anything (my personal favourite of her books).BUT WE ARE AND I COUNLD NOT BE MORE THRILLED! The synopsis sounds incredible, and I am so excited to fall into a new story with more of Sarah Dessen's signature fun, quirky and relatable characters, a thick and perfectly spun plot, and gorgeous writing style.I hope an excerpt becomes available soon, I need something to tide me over!
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 11, 2017
    While I have only recently discovered and fallen in love with Sarah Dessen’s books, I am super excited for her next work. I have never read anything related to wedding planning before, so I am interested in seeing how this will play out. The main character’s reluctance to find her happily ever after also intrigues me, and I feel like this will make the book even more dramatic. I am positive that I will love this story, and I don’t know if I will be able to wait until the summer to finally have i While I have only recently discovered and fallen in love with Sarah Dessen’s books, I am super excited for her next work. I have never read anything related to wedding planning before, so I am interested in seeing how this will play out. The main character’s reluctance to find her happily ever after also intrigues me, and I feel like this will make the book even more dramatic. I am positive that I will love this story, and I don’t know if I will be able to wait until the summer to finally have it in my hands!
    more
  • J.
    November 10, 2016
    Note: I didn't think my review really gave anything away, but I still felt a bit uncomfortable having the only somewhat detailed review for a book that won't be released until July 2017, so I took it down and will add it back closer to the publication date.
    more
  • Madison
    March 27, 2017
    A summer of weddings, a girl with a damaged heart, an annoying guy, and a bet - what could go wrong? Once and For All is a delightful new novel with Sarah Dessen's trademark mix of romance, summer, and starting over.Louna works for her mother's wedding planning business. Every week she witnesses the pinnacle of true love. Or at least that's what it should be. But Louna herself knows how badly love can end, leaving her cynical and sure that romance doesn't come around all that often. Then she mee A summer of weddings, a girl with a damaged heart, an annoying guy, and a bet - what could go wrong? Once and For All is a delightful new novel with Sarah Dessen's trademark mix of romance, summer, and starting over.Louna works for her mother's wedding planning business. Every week she witnesses the pinnacle of true love. Or at least that's what it should be. But Louna herself knows how badly love can end, leaving her cynical and sure that romance doesn't come around all that often. Then she meets Ambrose, a serial dater who enjoys the first few perfect moments of a relationship but never commits to more than a day or two. Ambrose drives Louna nuts with his eternally cheerful and haphazard ways. So she is shocked when her mother employs him to help with the summer weddings. But Louna finds herself enjoying spending time with Ambrose (sometimes, when he isn't making her crazy) and, even stranger, finds herself making a bet with him - she will agree to start dating again and he will try to commit to a relationship that lasts for seven weeks. This book was described as sugar and effervescent champagne. But I didn't get that feeling at all. Yes, there are weddings, flirting, and summer days, but it was far more somber than I was expecting. And yet it perfectly fit the Sarah Dessen mould - sweet romance and a light story, tempered with sad tragedy or hard circumstances with which the character must wrestle. I found Louna's story to be far sadder than I expected. When it says that her last relationship, her first taste of a true and epic love, ended badly, they mean badly. The reader slowly pieces together what happened and how it changed Louna. Meanwhile, we get to know Ambrose. At first, Louna can't stand him. But as they work together they build a sweet friendship. As always with a Sarah Dessen novel, there is a fantastic cast of secondary characters. I particularly liked Louna's mother and her mother's business partner, William. Both are vibrant characters. I also liked Louna's best friend, Jilly and the endless parade of siblings she was always carting around. While I didn't like Once and For All as much as some of Dessen's previous titles, it is a sweet book and touches on some very important and timely themes. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Claire
    March 8, 2017
    I LOVED this book soo much! Sarah Dessen is one of my all time favorite authors, and this was one of my all time favorites of hers. As soon as I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I always love the little pieces of suspense in her books, the parts that make you unable to put the book down. I especially loved this book because I would try to guess what would happen next in the plot, and then something totally different would happen, which made the book so much more enjoyable. Overall, I I LOVED this book soo much! Sarah Dessen is one of my all time favorite authors, and this was one of my all time favorites of hers. As soon as I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I always love the little pieces of suspense in her books, the parts that make you unable to put the book down. I especially loved this book because I would try to guess what would happen next in the plot, and then something totally different would happen, which made the book so much more enjoyable. Overall, I really loved the characters, setting and plot, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes romance/ realistic fiction.
    more
  • Abby Johnson
    March 9, 2017
    Just what you expect from Sarah Dessen: a fun, fluffy book with a thread of seriousness running through it. It was just what I needed to be reading right now. Classic Dessen.
  • J. Taylor
    August 29, 2016
    I don't like the term marriage used on a girl who is just out of high school, it's just, Dessen is one of those young adult authors that doesn't do and they happily ended up together for the rest of their lives, and this feels like it may be one of them. But if a book is more romance heavy then her usual, I'm always complaining that there is no making out scenes and they rarely do couple things and it's just all kind of dull so maybe? I don't know. I've read every novel of hers so, I can't see m I don't like the term marriage used on a girl who is just out of high school, it's just, Dessen is one of those young adult authors that doesn't do and they happily ended up together for the rest of their lives, and this feels like it may be one of them. But if a book is more romance heavy then her usual, I'm always complaining that there is no making out scenes and they rarely do couple things and it's just all kind of dull so maybe? I don't know. I've read every novel of hers so, I can't see myself stopping now. I hope this is more similar to This Lullaby since it will be about a cynical character. I'll just have to wait and see. Cover and Plot Reveal-No way. It's horrible. I loved the cover for Saint Anything, it was so dark and mystical and nothing like her other novels. Plus I really don't like flowers, especially pink ones. This one, yuck. It looks like one of those boring, I want to stay away from trashy adult romance. And the names, Louna and Ambrose? Urgh. Louna, what kind of a name is that? I am so put off wanting to read this novel right now. I didn't think I judged books by their covers but in some cases, apparently I do.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 26, 2017
    I do love Sarah Dessen and was super excited to get my hands on this prepub. I'm going to give it 5 stars and admit that I greedily read it very quickly and loved it, but with the caveat that....it's pretty standard Sarah Dessen. If you are a fan of her you are going to get exactly what you expect and know from her: a smart female protagonist who has a funny relationship with a boy who she resists her growing attraction to, an issue of some kind of emotional baggage (which in this case was deepl I do love Sarah Dessen and was super excited to get my hands on this prepub. I'm going to give it 5 stars and admit that I greedily read it very quickly and loved it, but with the caveat that....it's pretty standard Sarah Dessen. If you are a fan of her you are going to get exactly what you expect and know from her: a smart female protagonist who has a funny relationship with a boy who she resists her growing attraction to, an issue of some kind of emotional baggage (which in this case was deeply sad and a very timely possibility, which I appreciated and found very thoughtful and provided a beautiful and meaningful end to the story), and a quirky fun workplace-in this case wedding planning. And lots of fun well developed other characters-the best friend,the godfather, the mother, the dog. I really enjoyed this, especially the details of the weddings she works at. I also enjoyed (and found it refreshing compared to many other books) that the main character boy, Ambrose, wasn't a jerk, didn't have hidden deficits, was just obviously great (even though much was made of him being annoying, his annoyingness was hilarious.)
    more
  • Bailey
    February 26, 2017
    I am so thankful to have received a digital ARC through NetGalleyI was so SO excited to read this book, as I am a huge fan of Sarah Dessen, and have been reading her books since I was in junior high. I didn’t think anything was ever going to top Just Listen for me, but Once and for All just blew that theory out of the water.Once and for All tells the story of Louna, who helps her mom run her successful wedding planning business, who gets stuck putting up with Ambrose, the brother to one of her m I am so thankful to have received a digital ARC through NetGalleyI was so SO excited to read this book, as I am a huge fan of Sarah Dessen, and have been reading her books since I was in junior high. I didn’t think anything was ever going to top Just Listen for me, but Once and for All just blew that theory out of the water.Once and for All tells the story of Louna, who helps her mom run her successful wedding planning business, who gets stuck putting up with Ambrose, the brother to one of her mom’s high profile brides. Ambrose is one of my favourite Sarah Dessen characters ever. Yes he is annoying, but he knows he is annoying, and he just works so well with the story. He is such an endearing and charming character that you can’t help but like him. He is the perfect counterpart for serious, guarded, and cynical Louna. Their chemistry literally sizzles off of the page, as cheesy as that sounds.This book was just so well written, and I will gladly sing the praises of Sarah Dessen again, as this was just such a well written story. Told in both the present and flashbacks, Dessen did an amazing job of drawing readers in and keeping them hooked. I literally could not stop reading this book.
    more
  • Faith
    February 16, 2017
    MY WISH GOT GRANTED ON NETGALLEY! YAY! (If you can't tell, I'm really excited to read this)
  • Leah (Jane Speare)
    March 16, 2017
    So much fun! But that ending almost killed me. Almost.Sarah Dessen does it again! When I'm in a book funk and need something that will make me happy and lose touch with the real world for a few days, I almost always pick up one of her books. Her characters are flawed, quirky, and all too relatable. Once and for All will welcome back old fans with Lakeview cameos, and embrace new fans with her addicting writing.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    March 13, 2017
    3.5 stars. It's amazing how, within the first page, the language and atmosphere makes you automatically recognize you're in a Sarah Dessen novel. I really liked this one, but not as much as her last few. I just didn't feel the chemistry between Louna and Ambrose.
    more
  • Trisha
    March 15, 2017
    It's has the bitter (sharp spike of grief) & the sweet (blossoming of a new romance).Very small cameo from another couple (view spoiler)[ Auden & Eli from Along for the Ride (hide spoiler)] and an interesting family dynamic.Classic SD (in all the right ways)
    more
  • Joy Matteson
    March 8, 2017
    Classically awesome Sarah Dessen. All the feels. 17 year old Louna's grown up in the wedding business, with her workaholic mom in a bind over an obnoxious brother of the bride who keeps stressing out her current client. The obnoxious brother is no other than the devilishly handsome Ambrose, who annoys Louna from the start with his girl-crazy ways, especially after her mom offers him a job in their wedding business. Louna has no interest in Ambrose's serial dating ways, until he challenges her to Classically awesome Sarah Dessen. All the feels. 17 year old Louna's grown up in the wedding business, with her workaholic mom in a bind over an obnoxious brother of the bride who keeps stressing out her current client. The obnoxious brother is no other than the devilishly handsome Ambrose, who annoys Louna from the start with his girl-crazy ways, especially after her mom offers him a job in their wedding business. Louna has no interest in Ambrose's serial dating ways, until he challenges her to try serial dating while he attempts monogamy.Dessen hits all the right notes, with hilarious dialogue, meaningful backstories, and characters you just know. Sarah Dessen fans won't be disappointed.
    more
Write a review