Obsidian and Stars (Ivory and Bone, #2)
In the sequel to Ivory and Bone—the prehistoric fantasy novel that New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman described as a “richly crafted world of life-and-death stakes”—the story shifts to Mya’s viewpoint as vengeful adversaries force her to flee the life she once knew.After surviving the chaotic battle that erupted after Lo and the Bosha clan attacked, now Mya is looking ahead to her future with Kol. All the things that once felt so uncertain are finally falling into place. But the same night as Kol and Mya’s betrothal announcement, Mya’s brother Chev reveals his plan to marry his youngest sister Lees to his friend Morsk. The only way to avoid this terrible turn of events, Morsk informs Mya when he corners her later, is for Mya to take Lees’ place and marry him herself. Refusing to marry anyone other than her beloved, and in an effort to protect her sister, Mya runs away to a secret island with Lees. And though it seems like the safest place to hide until things back home blow over, Mya soon realizes she’s been followed. Lurking deep in the recesses of this dangerous place are rivals from Mya’s past whose thirst for revenge exceeds all reason.With the lives of her loved ones on the line, Mya must make a move before the enemies of her past become the undoing of her future.

Obsidian and Stars (Ivory and Bone, #2) Details

TitleObsidian and Stars (Ivory and Bone, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062399284
ISBN-139780062399281
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Obsidian and Stars (Ivory and Bone, #2) Review

  • Luke Taylor
    April 1, 2016
    So what is Obsidian and Stars?Effortlessly resonanting with timeless themes and harrowing action cinematics sure to freeze the blood and jelly the spine against the backdrop of an imagantively ancient, magnificently beautiful and immutably deadly stage, Obsidian and Stars from Julie Eshbaugh is a sequel so incredible it’s like getting your favorite band’s follow up album and going...wow. Wow! WOW! Then you end up wondering if you like the first or second book better, because they’re so good...so So what is Obsidian and Stars?Effortlessly resonanting with timeless themes and harrowing action cinematics sure to freeze the blood and jelly the spine against the backdrop of an imagantively ancient, magnificently beautiful and immutably deadly stage, Obsidian and Stars from Julie Eshbaugh is a sequel so incredible it’s like getting your favorite band’s follow up album and going...wow. Wow! WOW! Then you end up wondering if you like the first or second book better, because they’re so good...so different...but still...so harmonious. Two halves of one whole. The sun and the moon. The right and left hand...Wait, am I talking about the books?Or am I talking about Kol and Mya?From the first word, the narrative belongs to Mya. Strong, dynamic, self-contained, horribly conflicted Mya. Lightining in a bottle Mya. Beautiful, passionate, perfectly flawed Mya, ready to begin a brand new life with the one she loves, only to find, all too soon, it is that very life-changing desicion she has made which will ignite the fuse of destiny and push her down a dark and dangerous path, fraught with enough life and death drama to steal the sleep of every reader who dares tread alongside Mya and her many tests and trials under the thumb of The Divine and the frozen cauldron of prehistoric betrothal and familial betrayal.Bridezillas, eat your heart out. This is drama.Mya shocked me in all the best ways, because in Ivory and Bone, she is a puzzle of near mystical locks and keys. I didn’t know who she was as much as I knew how much Kol loved her. The nebulous beauty of her soul was like a swathe of stars in the sky, but...obscured by clouds. Covered. Hidden. But listening to her talk, and walking her walk, and feeling the immense burden placed upon her and sifting through her emotions and her senses, seeing with her eyes, I was struck with how much I could relate to her, and how much I knew her down to the depths of her darkest night.How much she was a lot like me.And maybe even a lot like you.Whoever you may be, it’s very easy to like Obsidian and Stars. Especially if you’ve spent the time with Ivory and Bone, as Julie Eshbaugh’s skillfully sense-driven prose is as sure-handed, perfectly balanced and as razor sharp as a hunting spear, with act two of Mya and Kol and the Clans thrilling and satisfying and romantic to the very end.My deepest gratitude and heart-felt thanks to Julie Eshbaugh and HarperTeen for this fantastic signed paperback ARC which makes me feel like...well, like a member of the family, pulling up a mat under the rippling bigtop of the communal mammoth-hide tent to share the marvelous magic of an amazing story.Recommended for everyone.
    more
  • Danielle
    September 9, 2016
    I HAVE A MIGHTY NEED FOR THIS BOOK.KOL.MYA.EVERYONE.MORE MAMMOTHS?
  • Rebecca McNutt
    January 18, 2017
    Ever since Luke Taylor introduced me to Ivory and Bone #1, I've been waiting for the second to be published. And I saw it for sale here in Halifax, so I was really excited! Mya's adventures take a turn for the dramatic and gripping when she discovers that she might have to marry someone she doesn't love in order to spare her sister the burden. The story has changed slightly but it's still the same style Eshbaugh used prior that made me love her first novel. If you love fantasy, this is certainly Ever since Luke Taylor introduced me to Ivory and Bone #1, I've been waiting for the second to be published. And I saw it for sale here in Halifax, so I was really excited! Mya's adventures take a turn for the dramatic and gripping when she discovers that she might have to marry someone she doesn't love in order to spare her sister the burden. The story has changed slightly but it's still the same style Eshbaugh used prior that made me love her first novel. If you love fantasy, this is certainly one I'd recommend.
    more
  • Christina (Ensconced in Lit)
    January 8, 2017
    I am so fortunate to have received an ARC of this amazing book ahead of the presses! Eshbaugh completely floored me with the first installment of this series, and I knew I had a lot to look forward to with the second book. I award this book 4.5 stars.Because the first book ended so perfectly and without a cliffhanger, I was wondering (and I'll admit a little worried) about how Eshbaugh would continue the story in the sequel. I shouldn't have worried--she got me to love a prehistoric fantasy afte I am so fortunate to have received an ARC of this amazing book ahead of the presses! Eshbaugh completely floored me with the first installment of this series, and I knew I had a lot to look forward to with the second book. I award this book 4.5 stars.Because the first book ended so perfectly and without a cliffhanger, I was wondering (and I'll admit a little worried) about how Eshbaugh would continue the story in the sequel. I shouldn't have worried--she got me to love a prehistoric fantasy after all, which I thought was impossible! We are re-introduced to the wonderful characters from the first. Kol, the beloved narrator from the first book, takes a bit of a backseat as we are now in a first person narrative of Mya, the girl he has fallen for literally and figuratively. Mya and Kol seem to be so close to their happily ever after, and yet, dissent still brews both internally and externally. The two clans struggle with combining forces as well as keeping their distinct cultures and history. Chev, Mya's older brother and leader of their clan, has passed a decree that causes Mya to make a drastic decision to preserve her younger sister's happiness. And while it made sense to me as a reader at the time, what follows at least makes me wonder if it was the right decision after all.What I loved: Eshbaugh's writing is gorgeous, lush, and on point. As with the first book, I was drawn in with the lyrical prose. I'm a plot girl and typically just skip through description, but instead, I found myself just wanting to wrap myself in the warmth of her words. She absolutely amazes me. I loved getting to see Mya's perspective in this book, as she remains quite a mystery from the first. She is a powerful woman, and it's nice to see her coming into her own as a leader in her own right. I loved the introduction of a new character, Noni, but I won't say more to not spoil the reader. The book is fast paced and I tore through it in two days (would have been one, but I forced myself to go to sleep so I wouldn't be dying at work the next day). I really liked seeing Kol and Mya's relationship develop more, and getting to see the politics of the clans. I also loved the themes of clan versus family and different ways to lead for the same goals. I also marveled how this didn't feel like filler, but an entire encapsulated story on its own and beautifully done. Definitely no sophomore slump here!Just a very small point, and this probably would have been rectified if I reread the first installment prior to reading the ARC, but especially with the introduction of so many new characters, it sometimes was hard keeping track of who everyone was. I almost wonder (and I will check my ARC again to see if I missed this) if it would help if there was a page that delineated who everyone was and which clan they belonged to in the front so we could flip to the front in case we forget. Also, I would have loved to see more of Noni but maybe we will in the future! I did miss being in Kol's head, but that's probably because he's my book boyfriend.Overall, I loved revisiting this world and the wonderful writing of Eshbaugh--this is a fantastic book. I hear there is going to be a third installment, and there's a couple of ways this could go, but I'm hoping that the structure will be set up a certain way. I have a feeling I'll love it no matter what, from Julie's previous track record. While I'm dying waiting for the third one, this second installment should be on the top of everyone's to read list!
    more
  • Jodi Sheridan
    November 19, 2016
    Gimme this now.
  • Catherine
    September 24, 2016
    This title has me really excited for this book.
  • Sonny Mitchell
    October 23, 2016
    Soooo they changed the POV. I liked Kol's point of view, though, but it's okay, it's fine, we'll see
  • Julie Eshbaugh
    April 8, 2016
Write a review