The Beach at Painter's Cove
From the New York Times bestselling author of Whisper Beach comes another heartwarming story of four generations of women who reunite in their crumbling family mansion by the sea for a dramatic summer filled with love, family, secrets and sisterhood.The Whitaker family’s Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, has always been a haven for artists, a hotbed of creativity, extravagances, and the occasional scandal. Art patrons for generations, the Whitakers supported strangers but drained the life out of each other. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves once again at The Muses.Leo, the Whitaker matriarch, lives in the rambling mansion crammed with artwork and junk. She plans to stay there until she joins her husband Wes on the knoll overlooking the cove and meadow where they first met. Her sister-in-law Fae, the town eccentric, is desperate to keep a secret she has been hiding for years.Jillian, is a jet setting actress, down on her luck, and has run out of men to support her. She thinks selling The Muses will make life easier for her mother, Leo, and Fae by moving them into assisted living. The sale will also bring her the funds to get herself back on top.Issy, Jillian’s daughter, has a successful life as a museum exhibit designer that takes her around the world. But the Muses and her grandmother are the only family she’s known and when her sister leaves her own children with Leo, Issy knows she has to step in to help.Steph, is only twelve-years-old and desperately needs someone to fire her imagination and bring her out of her shell. What she begins to discover at the Muses could change the course of her future. As Issy martials the family together to restore the mansion and catalogue the massive art collection, a surprising thing happens. Despite storms and moonlight dancing, diva attacks and cat fights, trips to the beach and flights of fancy, these four generations of erratic, dramatic women may just find a way to save the Muses and reunite their family. 

The Beach at Painter's Cove Details

TitleThe Beach at Painter's Cove
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN006243909X
ISBN-139780062439093
Number of pages432 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary

The Beach at Painter's Cove Review

  • Kathryn
    June 15, 2017
    Review to follow
  • LORI CASWELL
    June 27, 2017
    Dollycas’s ThoughtsMuses by the Sea is a special place, a mansion and grounds open to artists for years. But the family has all gone their separate ways leaving Leo (Grammy) and her sister-in-law Fae all on their own. Until a phone call from the police brings 4 generations of women home.This was the summer beach read I have been waiting for. Family drama with mystery and romance too.Issy had not been back home in years, she even missed her grandfather’s funeral, which was not her fault. But when Dollycas’s ThoughtsMuses by the Sea is a special place, a mansion and grounds open to artists for years. But the family has all gone their separate ways leaving Leo (Grammy) and her sister-in-law Fae all on their own. Until a phone call from the police brings 4 generations of women home.This was the summer beach read I have been waiting for. Family drama with mystery and romance too.Issy had not been back home in years, she even missed her grandfather’s funeral, which was not her fault. But when she gets a call that her Grammy has fallen and there are 3 children without anyone to watch them, she quickly hurries back to the Muses by the Sea. When she gets there she finds things are even worse than she imagined. But she connects with an old friend and her brother who rush right in to try to bring a little order to the chaos.Shelley Noble has created such a wonderful cast of characters and through the course of the book the vast difference in personalities emerge and collide. A very dysfunctional family, everyone is coming from a different place in their lives. Most only concerned about themselves. As the story continues they grow and evolve in a delightful way.Grammy was a character I was so drawn to. The love of her life, Wes, has passed away as has one of her sons. She is at the age where she can remember the past vividly but current time is not always so easy. She finds comfort sitting on a bench near her loved ones graves, talking things over with them. Alzheimer’s may just be starting but she is a strong woman and she will fight to stay in her home until it is time to join her husband. I have known several woman like Grammy in my lifetime.The location at Muses by the Sea is a character in itself. In addition to the mansion that just needs a little work and deep cleaning sounds like such a wonderful place. So many rooms and even a hidden elevator. If you would like to stay somewhere a little more rustic like Fae, there are several cabins on the property. Many haven’t been used in years but again a little TLC would go a long way. Surrounding the buildings are woods, meadows and coves.The author also gives us a couple of mysteries to solve. Secrets, lies, a couple of missing persons, and theft are all found in this family saga.I don’t want to give anything away but what I need in a summer beach read is a happy ending and this story did not disappoint. Love blooms, sacrifices are made, and those that need to pay do. You are going to want to pick this book up for your next summer getaway.
    more
  • Patty
    December 21, 2016
    The Beach At Painters CoveByShelley NobleWhat it's all about...The Whittakers and various descendants have lived in this massive mansion by the sea that has always...or rather in its golden years...always...been filled with artists, actors, famous people and sometimes even tragedy. The problem now is that someone has stolen the millions of dollars that were put into a trust. This family owes everyone. Leo...the matriarch...lives in another world and her sister in law and granddaughter Issy are t The Beach At Painters CoveByShelley NobleWhat it's all about...The Whittakers and various descendants have lived in this massive mansion by the sea that has always...or rather in its golden years...always...been filled with artists, actors, famous people and sometimes even tragedy. The problem now is that someone has stolen the millions of dollars that were put into a trust. This family owes everyone. Leo...the matriarch...lives in another world and her sister in law and granddaughter Issy are trying to save her and her stuff. Everything is a mess.Why I wanted to read it...I was in the mood for a big family saga with tons of dysfunction and this book was perfect! What made me truly enjoy this book...The abandoned children, the fantasy, the Elf King, potential romances...all of these enhanced my enjoyment of this book. Why you should read it, too...Readers who love big family books with tons of unique situations will really enjoy this book...
    more
  • Jessica
    June 12, 2017
    Shelley Noble's new book, THE BEACH AT PAINTER'S COVE is about four generations of the Whitaker women coming together again for a summer of dysfunction, secrets, drama, and love. This was my introduction to Shelley Noble and I really enjoyed it! The Whitaker family’s Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, was one a haven for artists. It was never short on creativity, extravagance, or the occasional scandal. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves Shelley Noble's new book, THE BEACH AT PAINTER'S COVE is about four generations of the Whitaker women coming together again for a summer of dysfunction, secrets, drama, and love. This was my introduction to Shelley Noble and I really enjoyed it! The Whitaker family’s Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, was one a haven for artists. It was never short on creativity, extravagance, or the occasional scandal. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves once again at The Muses. The eldest, Leo and Aunt Fae, are currently living in The Muses - even as it falls apart. Fae has no children, but Leo had three children - Max (who passed away), George (estranged), and only daughter Jillian. Jillian has two daughters, Issy and Vivian. She dumped them with her mother when they were children, so she could pursue her dreams of becoming an actress. So, Leo and Fae raised the girls at The Muses.Issy is now a successful art curator, living in New York City, when she gets an emergency call informing her that Vivian has dumped her kids at The Muses and taken off. Leo is in the hospital, and the police are considering taking the kids into protective care. Not having much of a relationship with her sister or her nieces and nephew, Issy makes her way to Connecticut to help out. There were a lot of characters and personalities to keep track of in this story. Noble did a great job weaving together the story lines of each of the generations. We learned what made them tick, why they were estranged, secrets are brought to light, and then ultimately, we see how the love between them can truly bring the most dysfunctional family together. I don't want to give away too much more of the plot, but it's a great beach/summer read!If you want a well-written, generational story with a touch of drama and dysfunction, then I'd highly recommend this book!I give this 4/5 stars!A big thanks to William Morrow for the copy in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Chanel Cleeton
    June 2, 2017
    A beautiful and moving story of love and family set on a magical stretch of beach in Connecticut. The perfect summer read!
  • Mary
    May 19, 2017
    The Beach at Painter’s Cove is the story of the Whitakers – a wealthy and eccentric New England family who are on the brink of losing the fabled Muses by the Sea mansion. Through the decades Muses hosted the most notable stars of the art world – a place where artists could practice their craft or just get away and be themselves.Granddaughter Issy will go down fighting in order to keep her grandmother’s home in the family. That’s not the only issue she’ll face. There are also frustrating family d The Beach at Painter’s Cove is the story of the Whitakers – a wealthy and eccentric New England family who are on the brink of losing the fabled Muses by the Sea mansion. Through the decades Muses hosted the most notable stars of the art world – a place where artists could practice their craft or just get away and be themselves.Granddaughter Issy will go down fighting in order to keep her grandmother’s home in the family. That’s not the only issue she’ll face. There are also frustrating family dynamics, intrigue, and general misunderstandings that work into the plot of this multi-generational story. Despite all that, she reconnects with old friends, her grandmother and great-aunt, and a delightful niece who seems to share a lot in common with Issy.The novel is filled with interesting characters, a lovely setting, and the lesson that change is not always a bad thing. I enjoy a good family drama and that’s exactly what I got with Shelley Noble’s The Beach at Painter’s Cove. A book club guide is included. *I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Renee Rosen
    May 18, 2017
    Review coming soon! In the meantime, please add to your shelves--it's wonderful!
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    June 30, 2017
    Family drama and family love. It's a book about 4 generations. Leo and Faye, sisters, who are missing the good old days when artists flocked to their house. They are getting old, the house is getting old. I really liked Faye, she was quite the character, lost in her dreams and not caring what others thought about her. While Leo was lost in her own mind at times, and not in a good way.Jillian left her kids with her parents and concentrated on her Hollywood career. It did make it hard to like her Family drama and family love. It's a book about 4 generations. Leo and Faye, sisters, who are missing the good old days when artists flocked to their house. They are getting old, the house is getting old. I really liked Faye, she was quite the character, lost in her dreams and not caring what others thought about her. While Leo was lost in her own mind at times, and not in a good way.Jillian left her kids with her parents and concentrated on her Hollywood career. It did make it hard to like her at all, she had just left her kids and was now chasing rich benefactors. Izzy who is the main character is Jillian's daughter. She loved her job but leaves everything to help her grandmother and her sister's kids. I liked her and she does get a bit of romance at the end too. You know I like that.Then there is Steph, Izzy's niece. She has a pov too and brings a bit of whimsy and childlike wonder to the story.The house is crumbling. Everyone has spent way too little time together before this but they come together. They work together, laugh together, argue, but the day is saved at the end. There is forgiveness, people move on and yes some find love and new things to enjoy.I enjoyed the story and it did seem like a lovely place to visit.NarrationShe did a good job and I found myself lost in the story in a good way. I never thought about how she did voices or anything like that. The story just flowed and I listened.
    more
  • Pamela Barrett
    June 12, 2017
    This novel has so much that I love: a private beach cove, an old rambling mansion full of art that once was the hub for a community of funky artists and flamboyant characters, add in good friends, a dysfunctional family, and a mystery wrapped around an epic love story. The hub of the story is the 2 eldest surviving members of the Whitaker family, they own Muses by the Sea, a former renowned artists colony which in present day is falling into disrepair. Leo is the grandmother and her sister-in-la This novel has so much that I love: a private beach cove, an old rambling mansion full of art that once was the hub for a community of funky artists and flamboyant characters, add in good friends, a dysfunctional family, and a mystery wrapped around an epic love story. The hub of the story is the 2 eldest surviving members of the Whitaker family, they own Muses by the Sea, a former renowned artists colony which in present day is falling into disrepair. Leo is the grandmother and her sister-in-law Fae are struggling to keep up with all the maintenance when Leo’s granddaughter Vivienne drops off her 3 children without telling anyone where she’s going and if she’ll be back. Leo’s daughter Jillian is a world famous actress, who is always traveling and not reliable, so when an accident happens the only one left to help is Leo’s other granddaughter Issy. Issy, Isabelle Whitaker is a curator, who with her team installs exhibits for Museums and Galleries around the world. She is installing one exhibit, getting another ready to move when, right before the reception, she gets a call from Vivienne’s children begging her to come help them. The future of the children, her grandmother, and Muses by the Sea depends on the choices she’ll have to make. I’m giving Shelley Noble’s novel 5 stars and putting it on my favorite list, of course I might be a tiny bit bias because I’m married to an artist, but this book has so much going for it that it will appeal to a wide audience. It was the perfect way to start my summer reading.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    June 25, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Ann
    May 12, 2017
    This book has something for everyone, young and old. Four generations of women must work together to save not only the family home, Muses by the sea, but the family itself. Leo lives at Muses in Connecticut and when her granddaughter Vivienne dumps her three great grandchildren and disappears it's too much for her. Issy gets a phone call from the police that the children are alone when Leo ends up in the hospital. She drops everything in New York and gets to Connecticut to discover Vivienne's hu This book has something for everyone, young and old. Four generations of women must work together to save not only the family home, Muses by the sea, but the family itself. Leo lives at Muses in Connecticut and when her granddaughter Vivienne dumps her three great grandchildren and disappears it's too much for her. Issy gets a phone call from the police that the children are alone when Leo ends up in the hospital. She drops everything in New York and gets to Connecticut to discover Vivienne's husband has stolen millions of dollars from the Muses bank and Leo and her sister Fae are broke. When Issy's mother shows up needing money the whole family learns of the terrible circumstances. I know it sounds complicated but the story is so well written and easy to follow that you are soon immersed in the family's struggle. Mystery, crime, love and intrigue are all mixed in for a truly wonderful book.
    more
  • Alyssa
    May 25, 2017
    It’s very difficult for me to review this book. Some parts I absolutely loved, but other parts, specifically the beginning, I completely hated. I couldn’t stand the beginning of this book. I didn’t really like any of the characters. Issy drove me insane; Leo was stuck in the past and was rather dull. She didn’t ever really do anything; her storyline was just her thinking about her late husband. I kind of felt like I was watching someone stare at a wall all day, and Aunt Fae was just weird. I kno It’s very difficult for me to review this book. Some parts I absolutely loved, but other parts, specifically the beginning, I completely hated. I couldn’t stand the beginning of this book. I didn’t really like any of the characters. Issy drove me insane; Leo was stuck in the past and was rather dull. She didn’t ever really do anything; her storyline was just her thinking about her late husband. I kind of felt like I was watching someone stare at a wall all day, and Aunt Fae was just weird. I know Fae was suppose to be weird but her whole Elf King and Faeries and being able to “feel the energies” was just a little too sci-fi for me. Steph was alright but even she was kind of boring. Issy gets a call at work saying that her grandmother is in the hospital and that her sister’s children were going to go into foster care if she didn’t come and get them. Apparently her sister Vivienne had dropped her children off with her grandmother and left without saying where she was going or when she was coming back. These children were in a hospital, already having basically been abandoned by their mother, scared out of their mind because their great-grandmother who was taking care of them is sick and in the hospital. The oldest, Steph, is 12, Amanda is 8, and Griffin is 5. Issy took them home but then she kept calling the kids brats, and nicknamed them “Whiner, Moaner, and Slump”. I mean really if they would just go away Issy could go back to work and life would be so much better. This drove me insane! One of the worst parts for me was when she was thinking that there was no way she was going to take in those kids, she hadn’t ever really wanted to be a mother, and definitely not to those “spoiled brats.” I completely put this book down after that and read another book instead. However, I agreed to do a review so after covering my patience, I picked it back up and forced myself to finish it. Once Issy started to grow up and not be so self-absorbed, something she hated about her mother and sister, the story started to get better. There were parts of the story that were suspenseful and once we got to that part, the characters got more interesting. Issy finally stopped calling the kids spoiled brats and started to actually act like a good human being. If the first half of this book was fixed, I think this book could have been excellent. Overall, I would say this story is good once you get past the beginning. *I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 24, 2017
    Meet Leo, Jillian, Issy, and Stephanie: four generations of Whitaker women ranging in age from preteen to elderly. The Muses By the Sea is their family mansion on the beaches of Connecticut, a haven for artists who would come stay and create. The family has long since disbanded and drama has ensued with much estrangement, secrets, and hard feelings. When matriarch Leo, ends up in the hospital, and sister Vivienne seemingly abandons her kids at the mansion, the family must come together to work t Meet Leo, Jillian, Issy, and Stephanie: four generations of Whitaker women ranging in age from preteen to elderly. The Muses By the Sea is their family mansion on the beaches of Connecticut, a haven for artists who would come stay and create. The family has long since disbanded and drama has ensued with much estrangement, secrets, and hard feelings. When matriarch Leo, ends up in the hospital, and sister Vivienne seemingly abandons her kids at the mansion, the family must come together to work through crisis.What an interesting tale full of interesting women! The setting was unique and idyllic and I loved imagining this beautiful mansion on the water where artists used to move in and out and create. Doesn’t that sound like fun? Doesn’t it even sound dreamy? I’ll take a mansion on the water any day of the week!But not so fast. This family is messed up in a bad way. People don’t talk, money (lots and lots of it) goes missing, there is resentment and anger and total lack of communication all around. You start to wonder what family means to these people, if anything at all.Then these bad things happen: grandma in the hospital, Issy’s sister disappearing and abandoning her kids, all the money gone from the bank… and this is when the family has to come together and reunite. Issy drops everything in her life to be there for her family and try to sort these messes out. Secrets are revealed, and there are even elements of mystery: where did her sister go? What happened to the money? What is crazy old great-aunt Fae hiding?I will say that the beginning of the book was a little overwhelming with an abundance of characters and just strange situations. I didn’t quite vibe with it at the start, but I certainly found myself getting more and more involved as I turned the pages. I became invested in the lives of this family and wanted answers. I grew continually more interested as the story wove on, with all of its intricacies.With its beachy setting and family fueled drama, this would make a good choice for your summer reading!
    more
  • Sara Strand
    June 20, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book. Immediately from the beginning of the book it reminded me of a Dorothea Benton Frank book and I basically start my summer reading with her latest, and this to me had a similar cast of characters. We have a flawed family, we have a gorgeous beach setting, and we have a summer to fix so much dysfunction- can we do it?The best part about this is that it isn't just one or two generations, we have four generations trying to come together, we have these children who are e I absolutely loved this book. Immediately from the beginning of the book it reminded me of a Dorothea Benton Frank book and I basically start my summer reading with her latest, and this to me had a similar cast of characters. We have a flawed family, we have a gorgeous beach setting, and we have a summer to fix so much dysfunction- can we do it?The best part about this is that it isn't just one or two generations, we have four generations trying to come together, we have these children who are essentially abandoned by their parents but Leo is ill so their aunt has to care for them. We have Fae (who I kind of love because she's the crazy and I have a soft spot for the family crazy) but she's the recluse who has some secrets that end up being revealed by the end of summer. Jillian is kind of a mess who thought she was going to be a star actress so she abandoned her children (Vivian and Issy) but she's turned out to be broke and out of options so she's come home and needs to sell everything to keep up with her lifestyle. Vivian (who was the one who has abandoned her own kids to chase a man) is gone, so Issy now has to take care of her sisters kids but realizes that while she's back "home" her mother, who she hasn't seen in years has also shown up basically to sell the place and place Leo and Fae into assisted living and clear them out of their stuff. Do you see how a storm of personalities are brewing? How basically all hell is going to break loose in this house? Yes, well it does and it makes for an amazing read. Add in some romance for a few characters, there is some humor thrown throughout, family drama, and it keeps you on your toes. It's just over 400 pages so it's a little longer than what I'd like for my casual reads (you know I'm picky) but I was thoroughly enjoying this book the entire time and I highly recommend it if you need a light and fun read for the beach or the patio while you're keeping an eagle on the kiddos.
    more
  • Just Commonly
    June 15, 2017
    There is strength when a story brings you to understand and see the growth in the characters. Shelley Noble's latest release, The Beach at Painter's Cove does just that. This book and I had a rocky start. Not that it wasn't well written, but it was the characters. I did not like them at all (not including the well grounded siblings, Ben and Chloe). None of the Whitaker family members made sense - more like the ones that just captures your attention (in a good way) kind. Nope. Yet, I kept reading There is strength when a story brings you to understand and see the growth in the characters. Shelley Noble's latest release, The Beach at Painter's Cove does just that. This book and I had a rocky start. Not that it wasn't well written, but it was the characters. I did not like them at all (not including the well grounded siblings, Ben and Chloe). None of the Whitaker family members made sense - more like the ones that just captures your attention (in a good way) kind. Nope. Yet, I kept reading. And when you see these character grow, that's when it makes this story so much more than expected. Granted, it was 417 pages, which is somewhat on the hefty side, but when you turn the last page, you'll think it's worth it. The Beach at Painter's Cove is about family, dysfunctional as a whole, as well as individually, but when you see how years and years of dysfunctionality find its way to unwind the tension, the secrets, and the questions, it's exactly why this little saga illuminates the boundary of this book. Yep, if you like to read about character development, family issues or a story that takes a life on its own, you'll want to read, The Beach at Painter's Cove, even during the parts that drag a bit.This review first appeared on Just Commonly blog.Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Sherry Lynn
    June 21, 2017
    This was a new author and a new type of book for me. Not really a romance or mystery. But there is a little of each.This wasn't a light hearted feel good fast read. Rather it is a sit down dig your teeth into and enjoy for a few hours. I was interested in the story line when the book was offered to me to review by TLC tours. I took one look at the cover and read the description and I wanted to dig in!From chapter 1 I was captivated and wanted to know what would happen to the children basically a This was a new author and a new type of book for me. Not really a romance or mystery. But there is a little of each.This wasn't a light hearted feel good fast read. Rather it is a sit down dig your teeth into and enjoy for a few hours. I was interested in the story line when the book was offered to me to review by TLC tours. I took one look at the cover and read the description and I wanted to dig in!From chapter 1 I was captivated and wanted to know what would happen to the children basically abandoned by their parents. The were left with an elderly grandmother. Who ended up in the hospital just days later. To the rescue is their aunt. Who 'thinks' she doesn't have time to deal to step in and help. This was truly a book filled with an interesting cast of charactersthat make up a truly fun and interesting storyline. Anyone who loves a little drama would enjoy this new title by Shelley Noble. The Beach at Painter's Cove is a great summer read. I received a complimentary copy from TLC Tours.
    more
  • Jamie Beck
    March 9, 2017
    4.5This is a perfect book for fans of multigenerational sagas. Beautifully written, Shelley Noble effortlessly balances drama and intrigue in a story that ultimately reveals the love and sacrifice extant in even the most dysfunctional families.And if there is one thing every reader will agree upon, it is that the Whitakers are completely dysfunctional. The eldest, Grammy Leo and Aunt Fae, live along the Connecticut coast in an aging mansion and property (the Muses) that once hosted the famous ar 4.5This is a perfect book for fans of multigenerational sagas. Beautifully written, Shelley Noble effortlessly balances drama and intrigue in a story that ultimately reveals the love and sacrifice extant in even the most dysfunctional families.And if there is one thing every reader will agree upon, it is that the Whitakers are completely dysfunctional. The eldest, Grammy Leo and Aunt Fae, live along the Connecticut coast in an aging mansion and property (the Muses) that once hosted the famous artists and actors of the times. Fae has no children. Leo lost one son years ago (Max), but still has George (who is estranged because of decisions his father, Wes, made) and Jillian, an actress who chose the spotlight over her family for the better part of her adult years.Jillian has two daughters, Issy and Vivian. She dumped them with her mother when they were children, and Leo and Fae raised the girls at the Muses. Vivian hated it and resented everyone, especially Issy, whom she blamed for their mother’s abandonment.Issy has lived in the shadow of her sister, and with a question about her own parentage, for most of her life. She’s presently a successful art curator, living and working in New York City, when she gets an emergency call and learns that her sister has dumped her kids at The Muses and taken off, Leo is in the hospital, and the police are considering taking the kids into protective care. Issy, who is not close to her sister or her nieces and nephew, drops everything to go to Connecticut.When she arrives, she quickly learns that nothing is as it should be. All the money is gone—but no one knows where to, Leo’s lucidity comes and goes, Fae is hiding something, and the kids are frightened. No one can locate Vivian or her husband. And Issy dreads involving George and her mother, Jillian. But involve them she must, because she cannot solve these problems on her own.The supporting cast, made up of Chloe and Ben, siblings and childhood friends of Issy’s, and Paolo, her assistant, are wonderful and add warmth and humor to the tale. I especially loved Paolo, and would be thrilled to read more about him in a future book. I do not want to go into more detail about the plot because such spoilers will ruin the reading experience. I will say that, throughout the story, secrets are revealed as they try to find the money and find a solution to save the Muses. In the end, all of the Whitaker women experience personal awakenings of different sorts. Ultimately, Issy’s able to forgive herself and others, find peace and love within her family, find new purpose in her career, and even find love.***received an ARC in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Michelle
    June 29, 2017
    Issy gets called to her childhood home Muses by the Sea, after her sister drops off her children with their grandmother Leo and great aunt Fae. Leo has a small accident and a police officer calls Issy asking if she can come care for the kids since her grandmother is in the hospital and Fae is unaccounted for.When Issy gets to Muses there is a ton of family drama to deal with. The kids feel like they've been abandoned and Issy wonders if this could be possible. After all, their own mother Jillian Issy gets called to her childhood home Muses by the Sea, after her sister drops off her children with their grandmother Leo and great aunt Fae. Leo has a small accident and a police officer calls Issy asking if she can come care for the kids since her grandmother is in the hospital and Fae is unaccounted for.When Issy gets to Muses there is a ton of family drama to deal with. The kids feel like they've been abandoned and Issy wonders if this could be possible. After all, their own mother Jillian gave them up to Leo and Fae.In addition, Issy soon learns that Leo may be in worse shape physically, mentally and financially than she's realized.Suddenly everything falls on Issy's plate.I had a lot of trouble getting into this story. The Muses sounded like a really cool place and Issy, Leo, Fae and Chloe were all very likable. I just couldn't get super invested in the story.
    more
  • Sami Shinsky
    June 18, 2017
    Love, the beach, and moonlight dancingAt first, this book was not what I expected. I am not a fan of art, nor am I a fan of elves/fairies/mystical creatures; however, the more I read, the more intrigued I became. Shelley Noble did an excellent job with character development- there were several characters with many different personalities (fun, responsible, handsome, helpful, selfish, narcissistic, criminal, spoiled, missing, and forgetful) whom each had their own story essential to the conclusio Love, the beach, and moonlight dancingAt first, this book was not what I expected. I am not a fan of art, nor am I a fan of elves/fairies/mystical creatures; however, the more I read, the more intrigued I became. Shelley Noble did an excellent job with character development- there were several characters with many different personalities (fun, responsible, handsome, helpful, selfish, narcissistic, criminal, spoiled, missing, and forgetful) whom each had their own story essential to the conclusion of this novel. The ending, of course, was happy... but that's exactly what one wants from a summer read. The Beach at Painter's Cove is certainly a novel worth diving into. Enjoy!
    more
  • Betty
    May 27, 2017
    A wonderful read about a family through the eyes of 4 generations of a few of their women. It begins with a phone call to Issy, the granddaughter of the current owner of the mansion. She is needed to take over the care of her two nieces and a nephew since her grandmother has been hospitalized and no one can locate the children's parents. This is a colorful tale of a dysfunctional family coming together to unravel a few mysteries and to save the home of their matriarch. It is written well and e A wonderful read about a family through the eyes of 4 generations of a few of their women. It begins with a phone call to Issy, the granddaughter of the current owner of the mansion. She is needed to take over the care of her two nieces and a nephew since her grandmother has been hospitalized and no one can locate the children's parents. This is a colorful tale of a dysfunctional family coming together to unravel a few mysteries and to save the home of their matriarch. It is written well and easy to read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
    more
  • Ellen
    May 23, 2017
    The Whitakers have lived at the Muses by the Sea for generations, but it is now in disrepair. As Leo and her sister Fae age their quirkiness raises concerns. Issy is called to stay with the nieces and nephew her sister dropped off with their great grandmother, Leo, and Leo ends up in the hospital. A dysfunctional family, can Issy face the challenges that the family faces while maintaining her career and future happiness? I liked the quirkiness of Fae, and Issy's determination, but found some cha The Whitakers have lived at the Muses by the Sea for generations, but it is now in disrepair. As Leo and her sister Fae age their quirkiness raises concerns. Issy is called to stay with the nieces and nephew her sister dropped off with their great grandmother, Leo, and Leo ends up in the hospital. A dysfunctional family, can Issy face the challenges that the family faces while maintaining her career and future happiness? I liked the quirkiness of Fae, and Issy's determination, but found some characters to be more caricatures.
    more
  • Rhonda
    May 24, 2017
    This was the perfect summer read. I loved the family drama, mystery, history, and romance. I felt like I was there and could easily identify with the characters. This was a first time for reading something of Shelley Noble, but it won't be the last. I love the way she writes and tells the story. Great read.
    more
  • Cindy
    June 26, 2017
    Loved this story
  • Hope
    June 19, 2017
    Dysfunctional family, money all go eat--who and how to save the family and the family home?
  • Janet Friesner
    June 18, 2017
    Exceptionally good. Wonderful story of a young woman who returned to her childhood home to help her family. Was a truly wonderful story. A must read.
Write a review