Joplin, Wishing
While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather’s house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin. After having the platter repaired, Joplin wishes that she could both find a friend at school, and befriend the girl pictured in the platter. The next day, Joplin befriends a boy named Barrett, and also notices a girl outside her apartment. A girl who looks remarkably like the girl in the platter…The girl introduces herself as Sofie, and she has a terrible secret. Cursed to grant wishes for the owner of the platter for all of time, she has been trapped for centuries. Joplin and Barrett vow to help her, but freeing Sofie is more complicated than they could have imagined, and the three friends end up against a sinister foe who could put them all in terrible danger.

Joplin, Wishing Details

TitleJoplin, Wishing
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherHarperCollins
ISBN006242372X
ISBN-139780062423726
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

Joplin, Wishing Review

  • Ms. Yingling
    March 24, 2017
    ARC provided by Young Adult Books CentralJoplin never knew her grandfather, the much celebrated author Martin Camrath, but when he passes away, there is a media frenzy around her New York apartment, which she and her mother share with her mother's best friend Jen. The death is hard for Joplin, but only because she must deal with her mother's sadness. She was allowed to take one keepsake, and grabbed a Christmas tin with a broken platter in it. She and Jen go to have it restored. The first person ARC provided by Young Adult Books CentralJoplin never knew her grandfather, the much celebrated author Martin Camrath, but when he passes away, there is a media frenzy around her New York apartment, which she and her mother share with her mother's best friend Jen. The death is hard for Joplin, but only because she must deal with her mother's sadness. She was allowed to take one keepsake, and grabbed a Christmas tin with a broken platter in it. She and Jen go to have it restored. The first person to whom they talk creeps them both out, but the platter is put back together by someone else, and Joplin hangs it in her bedroom. After the rumors that her grandfather had problems start to bother her at school, Joplin wishes that she had a friend... and the girl on the platter comes to life! Since the girl can't live in the garden, Joplin convinces her upstairs neighbor Chloe to pass Sofie off as her visiting cousin while she figures out what to do. Joplin also meets Barrett Browning, a boy who shares many of her interests, and the two work to figure out the connection between her grandfather, Sofie, and the mysterious man who is following them around.My favorite part of this book was the fact that Joplin DID tell people about Sofie... and they reluctantly believed her! Granted, the best part of magical books is often keeping the secret from the adults who are around, but I appreciated the fact that Joplin's mother was sympathetic to her plight and was willing to help her out even though the circumstances were very odd indeed!Joplin starts off as a rather underdeveloped character, so it is interesting to see her grow and start to stand up for herself. Her relationship with Barrett is charming, and Chloe is an intriguing secondary character. Sofie's past is filled with all sorts of people, including the creepy Lucius Doyle. I especially appreciated the fact that Stanley brings a 21st century sensibility to Joplin's dealings with this man-- she tries to make sure that Joplin doesn't go meeting the suspect character on her own!While I wish we had more information about Sofie's world, the New York setting is very vivid, and the author's notes about her own childhood in a similar place imbue this with a charming nostalgic feeling that will resonate with readers.Stanley has done more high fantasy novels in the past, but this is a book filled with magical realism and mystery that will resonate with fans of Ruth Chew, Liz Kessler, Laurel Snyder, Kimberly Griffiths Little and Kathryn Littlewood.
    more
  • Jan Cole
    June 15, 2017
    I was checking in a book order of children's books and as I flipped through this to make sure all the pages were intact and not upside down, I started reading the first page. 3 hours later I finished the book. I really liked it. Who says adults can't stray over to children's books from time to time?The story starts when Joplin's very famous author grandfather dies. He's been a recluse the past 30 years so Joplin has never met him. Her mother has kept their identity quiet because she didn't want I was checking in a book order of children's books and as I flipped through this to make sure all the pages were intact and not upside down, I started reading the first page. 3 hours later I finished the book. I really liked it. Who says adults can't stray over to children's books from time to time?The story starts when Joplin's very famous author grandfather dies. He's been a recluse the past 30 years so Joplin has never met him. Her mother has kept their identity quiet because she didn't want the publicity as being his daughter.Joplin is a 11 year old who lives with her divorced mother and her mom's friend Jen who is like an aunt to her. Joplin is a little different from the other kids in her classroom at school and when she enters middle school her best and only friend deserts her to hang with the popular crowd. Joplin is so lonesome. As Joplin and her mother go to the funeral and close the spooky old house, Joplin's mom allows her to take one item. Joplin chooses a hand painted Dutch platter with a picture of a little girl looking over her shoulder. Even though the platter is broken into several pieces, Joplin feels a strong connection to the little girl. Aunt Jen takes her to a restorer of antiques in New York City who tells Joplin that the platter has no value, but then offers her $100.00 for it. When she refuses, he offers her $200.00 and when she refuses again, he offers $500.00. Feeling very uncomfortable, Joplin and Aunt Jen leave. Jen knows another restorer who completes the restoration and Joplin hangs it over her bed. Things get more lonesome as Joplin's mom retreats into her room, mourning the death of her father. Aunt Jen gets engaged to her longtime boyfriend. Joplin feels totally and utterly alone. One night she looks at the platter and wishes that the little girl could be her friend and that she would find a friend at school. This is a children's book--so magic happens. Both fantasy magic and real magic as Joplin comes into her own and learns many lessons about friendships. There is suspense, a big mystery and a happy ending. I highly recommend this book for ages 8 and up.
    more
  • Ruth Ann
    June 25, 2017
    Part magical, part mystery, mostly realistic fiction, this book is a treasure. Upon returning to school after her grandfather's funeral, Joplin knows she is facing two tormenting dilemmas - her ongoing friendless state and the certain harassment from her classmates about her famous, eccentric, all-over-the-news grandfather. Kids get suspended, a teacher handles things poorly and Joplin takes a few days off, too.Joplin brought home a broken antique platter from her grandfather's house as a mement Part magical, part mystery, mostly realistic fiction, this book is a treasure. Upon returning to school after her grandfather's funeral, Joplin knows she is facing two tormenting dilemmas - her ongoing friendless state and the certain harassment from her classmates about her famous, eccentric, all-over-the-news grandfather. Kids get suspended, a teacher handles things poorly and Joplin takes a few days off, too.Joplin brought home a broken antique platter from her grandfather's house as a memento and has it restored with her aunt's help. While feeling sad and lonely she longingly looks at the girl in the platter and wishes for the girl to be her friend and to have a friend at school. The next morning she notices a girl in her garden who looks like...the now missing girl from the platter! And Joplin makes a friend at school. Life gets complicated with this friend who has no home of her own and needs food, shelter and truly wants to get back to the mid 1600s. Life gets dangerous when a man from the 1600s wants Joplin's magic platter.Author Stanley brings us a main character who grows and develops, strong secondary characters, a great sense of place, and mystery and magic.Starred review from Booklist is right on target.
    more
  • Madalyn Brand
    May 18, 2017
    This was a really good book! A theme in this book is trust your friends and family. Joplin was very lonely before she wished for Sophie. She also wished for a friend at school and found Barrett. When they learned Sofie's story they realized that they had to find a way to get her back to where she came from. Joplin couldn't do it herself so she needed help from Barrett and her family. Together they were able to get Sophie home.
    more
  • Talia
    June 14, 2017
    Our main character, Joplin, is having a hard time right now. She's twelve, her parents have split up, her best friend has decided to become popular and ignore her, and now her mom is depressed and closed off because Joplin's reclusive grandfather has died. When Joplin discovers the one item she was allowed to take from her grandfather's home has a mysterious magical quality, the already fragile state of her life can either shatter completely, or heal in ways she couldn't ever imagine.This book w Our main character, Joplin, is having a hard time right now. She's twelve, her parents have split up, her best friend has decided to become popular and ignore her, and now her mom is depressed and closed off because Joplin's reclusive grandfather has died. When Joplin discovers the one item she was allowed to take from her grandfather's home has a mysterious magical quality, the already fragile state of her life can either shatter completely, or heal in ways she couldn't ever imagine.This book was really enjoyable! I was immediately drawn into the fantasy surrounding the contemporary setting. Interestingly enough, this was originally conceived as a period novel set in the 1940s . . . but I think the story had a lot more heart for being focused purely on character relationships, and not adding in the distraction of a period piece. I will admit this story got a little crazy at the end, some of the 'answers' to the book's bigger questions seemed crazier than they needed to be, but I still liked it. It's a great story, and I think kid's will be just as engrossed as I was.
    more
  • Leonard Kim
    July 2, 2017
    So refreshing to read something that is so assured and does just what it needs to. I am not sure whether it will get awards buzz, because it is so straightforward and not obviously ambitious or in the zeitgeist, but it'd be hard to name a more expert book this year.
    more
  • Mary Librarian
    June 27, 2017
    Joplin is reeling from friendships troubles and the death of her grandfather when she meets a mysterious girl her age. A great mix of realism and fantasy.
  • Great Books
    June 15, 2017
    Joplin knows that school would be better with a friend, and she has tried to make them, but makes a wish for one in desperation. Her wish is answered when Joplin meets Sophie the very next day; however, there is an uncanny resemblance to a girl on her grandfather’s platter?! Sophie’s story seems impossible, but Joplin is determined to help Sophie get home despite certain danger. Reviewer 2
    more
  • Mindy
    March 26, 2017
    Cute story.
  • Mark Buxton
    April 9, 2017
    My name is Joplin, and who knew a broken platter from my grandfather's possessions could dramatically change my life. After having the small pieces professionally reunited, I loved the scene of the lovely girl sitting in the picture. I don't have many friends anymore, actually none at all, and I wished this girl could become one. Then Sofie came into my life right out of the blue, actually right out of the dish. She told me of her life hundreds of years ago, how she came to be part of the painti My name is Joplin, and who knew a broken platter from my grandfather's possessions could dramatically change my life. After having the small pieces professionally reunited, I loved the scene of the lovely girl sitting in the picture. I don't have many friends anymore, actually none at all, and I wished this girl could become one. Then Sofie came into my life right out of the blue, actually right out of the dish. She told me of her life hundreds of years ago, how she came to be part of the painting, and how she was forced to grant wishes to the rightful owner of the platter. However, we weren't ready for the dangers to come. A wicked man has been spying on us, and Sofie just got a good look at him. Impossible as it seems, he is the same man who magically imprisoned her in the dish hundreds of years ago. We don't know what he wants, but I must find a way to help Sofie get back to her family.This book is based on magic without a bunch of spells being cast at every turn. After reading some dark books on magic, it was nice to read one with a more positive spin. Joplin's only motivation throughout the entire plot was to help Sofie return to the family she lost centuries ago. With magic, it was possible. The antagonist was evil, but not vicious and ruthless, so he presented an effective conflict. Surprises? I was amazed at how quickly Joplin, her schoolmate, and her mom and aunt accepted Sofie's story. The evidence was there, but there had to be a logical explanation, right? Also, the climax lost some oomph when the antagonist displayed some humanity. If you're looking for a nice, fun story about magic, give this book a shot.
    more
  • Yapha
    March 29, 2017
    I would give this 6 stars if I could! What a phenomenal book!Joplin is having a hard time at school. Her best friend has deserted her for the "Fashionistas," and she is being horribly teased about her grandfather who was a best-selling author but also a recluse. When he died, her mother let her choose one item of his to keep. Joplin chose a broken Delftware plate, with a beautiful Dutch scene. In loneliness and desperation one night, Joplin wishes that the girl painted on the plate could be her I would give this 6 stars if I could! What a phenomenal book!Joplin is having a hard time at school. Her best friend has deserted her for the "Fashionistas," and she is being horribly teased about her grandfather who was a best-selling author but also a recluse. When he died, her mother let her choose one item of his to keep. Joplin chose a broken Delftware plate, with a beautiful Dutch scene. In loneliness and desperation one night, Joplin wishes that the girl painted on the plate could be her friend. The next morning she finds Sophie in the garden. Together with her other new friend Barrett, she tries to unravel the pieces of Sophie's story and find a way to return her to her time (17th century Holland). But the man who imprisoned Sophie in the plate is also in New York, and he's been trying to get his hands on it for centuries. This carefully crafted story of greed, loss, longing, friendship, and the power of wishes will captivate readers. (But unlike Sophie, they won't want to break the spell!) Highly recommended for grades 4 & up.eARC provided by publisher via Edelweiss
    more
  • Kevin
    June 30, 2017
    A beautiful book about friendship, family, loss, and reunion that heals the heart. I fell in love with the characters I know anyone who reads this book will also. I can't wait to read this book to my students in the fall.
Write a review