The Ends of the World

The Ends of the World Details

TitleThe Ends of the World
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherEcco
ISBN0062364820
ISBN-139780062364821
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreScience, Nonfiction, History, Environment, Nature

The Ends of the World Review

  • Steve
    June 6, 2017
    Great science writing that reads like a mystery novelI loved this book. It has everything I like about great science writing, including clear explanations of the science, personal anecdotes and a sense of humor. Even more, the way the story is structured, it reads like a mystery novel and among the suspects are volcanoes and asteroids. This made the book hard to put down. I also found that Peter Brannen seems to have paid a lot of attention to word choice and sentence structure and some of the w Great science writing that reads like a mystery novelI loved this book. It has everything I like about great science writing, including clear explanations of the science, personal anecdotes and a sense of humor. Even more, the way the story is structured, it reads like a mystery novel and among the suspects are volcanoes and asteroids. This made the book hard to put down. I also found that Peter Brannen seems to have paid a lot of attention to word choice and sentence structure and some of the writing had a poetic quality to it. I would even reread certain passages because they were so well written. I strongly recommend this book for anyone interested in science.Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book via Edelweiss+ for review purposes.
    more
  • Becky
    May 11, 2017
    Thanks to 25 years of visits to Yellowstone, I have developed a fascination with geology. This is one of the best books I've read on the subject. It includes the most detailed descriptions of the eras of Earth I have read in a book, other than a textbook. Because Brannen includes his reactions to the things he learns as he visits important sites and interviews scientists, he's able to explain difficult concepts in a way that anyone can understand. I don't see why textbooks have to be so boring w Thanks to 25 years of visits to Yellowstone, I have developed a fascination with geology. This is one of the best books I've read on the subject. It includes the most detailed descriptions of the eras of Earth I have read in a book, other than a textbook. Because Brannen includes his reactions to the things he learns as he visits important sites and interviews scientists, he's able to explain difficult concepts in a way that anyone can understand. I don't see why textbooks have to be so boring when a writer like Brannen can impart the same information in an interesting way.
    more
  • Shannan
    June 17, 2017
    I read this book so fast. I have a warm spot for this type of book and the extinctions while not new to me were really brought to life. The author has a gift the keep it both scientific and engaging.
  • Kathryn Marshall
    June 16, 2017
    It is easy to get overwhelmed with the other-worldly, intangible reality of deep time. And yet, in his first book Mr. Brannen successfully walks his reader through billions of years of Earth's history, whether we're scuba diving up an ancient coral reef or enjoying a lovely evening before a crater strikes. As a science writer at his finest, he analyzes five historical extinctions through the lenses of multiple (sometimes conflicting) theories and ideas. Stories of the adventures he had while col It is easy to get overwhelmed with the other-worldly, intangible reality of deep time. And yet, in his first book Mr. Brannen successfully walks his reader through billions of years of Earth's history, whether we're scuba diving up an ancient coral reef or enjoying a lovely evening before a crater strikes. As a science writer at his finest, he analyzes five historical extinctions through the lenses of multiple (sometimes conflicting) theories and ideas. Stories of the adventures he had while collecting material for the book, mixed in with pointed humor, makes the book an easy, entertaining, and interesting read. While reading the book, I felt like I was at cocktail party talking to someone with a name tag reading "Hello, my name is Planet Earth". And when finished, I walked away amazed by the amount of new knowledge I gained about this world. Definitely a book that leaves the reader with an increased appreciation for the tumultuous history claimed by this planet we call home, and those who study it.
    more
  • Charles Reimler
    June 15, 2017
    Solid Science & Written Into A Very Enjoyable Read Broadening A Person Perception Of Past & Future Era's Of TIME!
  • Bahramo
    May 31, 2017
    3.5 stars. Solid factual book... but the humor fell flat for me. it became increasingly annoying and distracted me from the very engaging science and history.
  • Andrew
    March 2, 2017
    *3.5 stars*Gleefully apocalyptic. The worse the mass extinction, the more detail you get about the Dantesque hellishness that occasionally visits the earth.Of course, there is a point to this. Mainly that the earth was quite well warmed by carbon at each mass extinction. Although, we have nothing on the end-Permian yet.Fun fact: when the dinosaur-killing asteroid hit, it was so big that one end of it was still higher than a 767's cruising height, when the other end first touched the ground. Exce *3.5 stars*Gleefully apocalyptic. The worse the mass extinction, the more detail you get about the Dantesque hellishness that occasionally visits the earth.Of course, there is a point to this. Mainly that the earth was quite well warmed by carbon at each mass extinction. Although, we have nothing on the end-Permian yet.Fun fact: when the dinosaur-killing asteroid hit, it was so big that one end of it was still higher than a 767's cruising height, when the other end first touched the ground. Except, it didn't really touch because it was travelling so fast it has shovelled the atmosphere and all air and a great deal of earth out of the way before finally breaking through the earth's mantle.
    more
  • Kerry
    February 7, 2017
    Brannen is able to take complex events, break them down into understandable parts, and then describe how they interact; reconstructing the original event so that you understand it in all its complexity. He does this again and again, moving from the origin of the earth into the future constructing a view of earth's history that is breathtaking.
    more
Write a review