Bad Housekeeping
When 28-year-old Agnes Blythe, the contented bifocals-wearing half of an academic power couple, is jilted by her professor boyfriend for the town Pilates instructor, her future is suddenly less than certain. So when her glamorous, eccentric Great Aunt Effie arrives in town and offers a job helping to salvage the condemned Stagecoach Inn, what does Agnes have to lose? But work at the inn has barely begun when the unlikely duo find the body of manipulative Kathleen Todd, with whom Agnes and Effie both have recently had words. Words strong enough to land them at the top of the suspect list.The pair have clearly been framed, but no one else seems interested in finding the real murderer and Agnes and Effie's sleuthing expertise is not exactly slick. Nevertheless, they're soon investigating a suspect list with laundry dirtier than a middle school soccer team's and navigating threats, car chases, shotgun blasts, and awkward strolls down memory lane.In Bad Housekeeping, the first novel in the Agnes & Effie cozy mystery series by Maia Chance, danger mounts, deadlines loom, ancient knob-and-tube wiring is explored, and the ladies learn a thing or two about the awful, wonderful mistake that is going back home.

Bad Housekeeping Details

TitleBad Housekeeping
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherCrooked Lane Books
ISBN1683311671
ISBN-139781683311676
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Bad Housekeeping Review

  • Rane
    April 5, 2017
    Agnes Blythe is at a all time low in her life. After supporting her professor boyfriend for years in his career he sudden dumps her for the local Pilates instructor, kicks her out of the house and is going to judge her academic paper when she returns to school. To top it off, Agnes' Great Aunt Effie has shown up into town suddenly and wants to remodel the old family inn. Then to make matters even worse Agnes also runs into the town evil busy buddy Kathleen Todd who she has an heated exchange w Agnes Blythe is at a all time low in her life. After supporting her professor boyfriend for years in his career he sudden dumps her for the local Pilates instructor, kicks her out of the house and is going to judge her academic paper when she returns to school. To top it off, Agnes' Great Aunt Effie has shown up into town suddenly and wants to remodel the old family inn. Then to make matters even worse Agnes also runs into the town evil busy buddy Kathleen Todd who she has an heated exchange with, only for Kathleen to wind up dead her her Aunt's fixer-upper inn! Now Agnes and her Aunt are murder suspects and team up to track down the clues in who really wanted Kathleen Todd out of he picture. I enjoy a fixer upper cozy mystery, with the fixer upper leading to more then what they fixer bargain for. In this case sadly, the inn was rarely showcased in the grand scheme with just a few scenes to it. The mystery was well done with Agnes and Effie tracking down a who started a rumor that lead to bigger clues and the trail of enemies Todd had. I think the weakest part of the book was the characters themselves. I never found myself liking Agnes are Effie and while I did chuckle at some of the antics, I can say I never felt they endeared themselves to me. Agnes was always going on about her weight, her ex, her new beau(?), her aunt. The "woe is me" got a bit old with her and wanted her to be stronger. This of course is the first book in the series so I wouldn't be surprised to see hopefully bigger changes in her character as the series goes on. In the end this was a nice little cozy with an big range of characters and a small town feel to pass the time with.
    more
  • Tami
    April 14, 2017
    Copy received from Netgalley for an honest review.Bad Housekeeping is the first book in Maia Chance's new series of "Agnes and Effie" mysteries.This book is about a 28 year old girl named Agnes. Her fiance, Roger, just dumped her for a blonde Pilates instructor, forcing Agnes to move back in with her father. Her father is the mayor of a small town called Naneda - the kind of town where everybody knows everybody, and rumors are always flying.At the same time that Agnes is moving back home, her gr Copy received from Netgalley for an honest review.Bad Housekeeping is the first book in Maia Chance's new series of "Agnes and Effie" mysteries.This book is about a 28 year old girl named Agnes. Her fiance, Roger, just dumped her for a blonde Pilates instructor, forcing Agnes to move back in with her father. Her father is the mayor of a small town called Naneda - the kind of town where everybody knows everybody, and rumors are always flying.At the same time that Agnes is moving back home, her great aunt Effie is moving back, determined to remodel the family's run-down inn and turn it into a fancy bed and breakfast. The inn is in horrible condition though, so Agnes decides to help her fix it up. Then the dead body of Kathleen Todd (who both Effie and Agnes had arguments with) is found at the inn, and suddenly Agnes and Effie are murder suspects.For the rest of the book, Agnes and Effie go around town obnoxiously questioning everybody, snooping into people's lives, and causing a whole lot of trouble, in order to figure out who the real murderer is.I'm a big fan of cozy mysteries, and even unbelievable and cheesy ones. But this book just didn't really do it for me. I enjoyed the plot and everything, but I think the writing was too over-the-top (or something).For one, I thought the story was going to be more focused on the inn and the renovations, but it didn't focus on that at all, really. Also, the characters and their personalities were just plain bad (sorry!). I didn't like any of them. Agnes and Effie were both annoying to me and all of the supporting characters basically had the same personality. Everyone was either obnoxious, rude, or just plain icky. Or all of the above.Oh, and Agnes's weight. I don't think there was one page in the book where Agnes wasn't thinking about her weight or someone wasn't insulting her about it or talking about it in some way.I just couldn't connect with this book. It was a good idea but pretty poor execution.
    more
  • Juli
    April 21, 2017
    There is an old saying: You can never go home again. Perhaps, a more true statement might be that you SHOULDN'T go home again. 28-year old Agnes Blythe has returned to her hometown, only to have her life implode. She can't escape the ghosts of her high school self, her professor boyfriend breaks up with her because he's been sleeping with the local pilates instructor, she loses her job, and then on top of it all, she becomes a murder suspect. One body.....then two bodies....then three. Seems any There is an old saying: You can never go home again. Perhaps, a more true statement might be that you SHOULDN'T go home again. 28-year old Agnes Blythe has returned to her hometown, only to have her life implode. She can't escape the ghosts of her high school self, her professor boyfriend breaks up with her because he's been sleeping with the local pilates instructor, she loses her job, and then on top of it all, she becomes a murder suspect. One body.....then two bodies....then three. Seems anywhere but Naneda, NY might be better for Agnes. She teams up with her great-aunt Effie to sleuth and to restore the dilapidated, old family inn. Hopefully it will only be the old inn that's condemned, as the bodies start stacking up. Bad Housekeeping is heavy on the humor and small-town charm and light on the mystery, as with most cozy mysteries. I love the characters in this first book in the Agnes and Effie Mystery series. Agnes believes carbs will cure all ills, and Effie turns to cigarettes and liquor. Agnes is reeling from sudden life changes, but is supported by her eccentric and outspoken great-aunt. As a team, they really kick some butt. Add in Cousin Chester and local hunk Otis to round out the group and it really turns out to be a fun group of characters working to save the Inn and ferret out a killer. The group reminds me of a grown-up Scooby Doo team, minus the dog. I found myself totally rooting for them all the way! I half expected the killer at the end to be Old Man Smithers in a disguise. :) I will definitely be reading more of this series. It was a fun, light-hearted read that made me laugh out loud several times. I like the characters and the concept. This was an enjoyable read from beginning to end. The mystery was well-paced, the humor was great, and there were plenty of suspects. Maia Chance is the author of several other cozy mysteries. For more information on the author and her books check out her website: http://www.maiachance.com/**I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book from Crooked Lane Books via NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.**
    more
  • Brenda
    February 10, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping is the debut of the An Agnes and Effie Mystery series featuring Agnes Blythe, recently dumped by her boyfriend, jobless and now having to move back into her family home in Naneda, New York. With the whole town talking about how she was dumped for the Pilates instructor by boyfriend, Dr. Roger Hollins, Agnes just wants to hide out, but when your dad is Gary Blythe, Town Mayor it's just not that easy.Agnes' Great Aunt Euphemia "Effie" has drifted into town having inherited Uncle H Bad Housekeeping is the debut of the An Agnes and Effie Mystery series featuring Agnes Blythe, recently dumped by her boyfriend, jobless and now having to move back into her family home in Naneda, New York. With the whole town talking about how she was dumped for the Pilates instructor by boyfriend, Dr. Roger Hollins, Agnes just wants to hide out, but when your dad is Gary Blythe, Town Mayor it's just not that easy.Agnes' Great Aunt Euphemia "Effie" has drifted into town having inherited Uncle Herman's dilapidated and condemned old home, the Stagecoach Inn. Effie is determined to restore the old home and turn it back into an Inn, problem is that it's scheduled to be demolished within the week. Agnes can't stand Effie, all because the older woman made the mistake of calling her "husky" when she was a child. In a desperate attempt to prolong her temp job at the library, Agnes encounters Kathleen Todd, Chairman of the Historical Society and not in a good way. Plowing through the libraries swinging door, Agnes knocks a box of relics to the floor and while she thinks it's just a bunch of Pyrex dishes, Kathleen is not amused. Later on Aunt Effie encounters Kathleen at the supermarket and the two exchange words, Kathleen is determined that the Stagecoach be demolished. Unfortunately for both ladies, the next morning Kathleen turns up dead on the back porch of the Inn.With them both under suspicion for murder, the unlikely duo of Agnes and Effie team up to find the real killer and save the Stagecoach. Agnes is having to go around town riding a bicycle and wearing the too small clothes leftover in her childhood bedroom as Roger sent everything she owned to Goodwill. Effie it seems has stolen the Caddy she's driving, is claiming there are ghosts in the Inn where she's illegally camping out, and is a chain smoking fiend. Add in Cousin Chester who claims to be a handyman extraordinaire and Agnes' high school crush Otis Hatch and the adventures begin.A fun mystery with plenty of suspects and a misfit cast of characters that will have you laughing out loud from page one to the end. A perfect cozy to cuddle up with on a snowy winter day, I can't wait for the next adventures of Agnes and Effie.I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley via Crooked Lane Books. While not required to write a review I am more than happy to offer my honest opinion.
    more
  • Jeri
    May 19, 2017
    Oh my! This was so enjoyable! Agnes has to move back in with her dad because her boyfriend dumps her. Agnes' great aunt Effie is in town to rehab an old inn in town and offers Agnes a job helping. Agnes only wants to escape but can't when they both stumble over a dead body and both become suspects. Doesn't help when the body count rises and it seems there is an endless list of suspects. I found Agnes a bit slow on the uptake but she finally figured it out and things turned out well in the end. E Oh my! This was so enjoyable! Agnes has to move back in with her dad because her boyfriend dumps her. Agnes' great aunt Effie is in town to rehab an old inn in town and offers Agnes a job helping. Agnes only wants to escape but can't when they both stumble over a dead body and both become suspects. Doesn't help when the body count rises and it seems there is an endless list of suspects. I found Agnes a bit slow on the uptake but she finally figured it out and things turned out well in the end. Effie is just a blast for a chain smoking old lady! I can't wait to see what's next with these two.I received an eARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Patricia
    February 25, 2017
    I quite enjoyed reading BAD HOUSEKEEPING. This is a quick, fun mystery concerning 28 year old Agnes and her quirky aunt Effie as they stumble over several dead bodies. I kept finding myself laughing out loud. This novel is great for light reading.
  • Nicole
    March 7, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping by author Maia Chance was a true pleasure to read. A sweet, light-hearted cozy mystery set in the small town of Naneda, New York. Mayor's daughter Agnes Blythe returns home (and is promptly dumped by her longtime boyfriend) and is given the opportunity by Great Aunt Effie to help restore the old Stagecoach Inn, which Effie has inherited. Agnes and Effie are a hoot, and their adventures (riding through town in Effie's big Cadillac, stumbling across multiple dead bodies, breaking Bad Housekeeping by author Maia Chance was a true pleasure to read. A sweet, light-hearted cozy mystery set in the small town of Naneda, New York. Mayor's daughter Agnes Blythe returns home (and is promptly dumped by her longtime boyfriend) and is given the opportunity by Great Aunt Effie to help restore the old Stagecoach Inn, which Effie has inherited. Agnes and Effie are a hoot, and their adventures (riding through town in Effie's big Cadillac, stumbling across multiple dead bodies, breaking and entering...) made me laugh out loud more than once. I did peg the killer early on, but kept waffling back and forth because there were so many red herrings thrown into the mix. A very enjoyable story, one I highly recommend, and I really hope that there are more books in this series. A+
    more
  • Janis Hill
    May 3, 2017
    I would like to thank Crooked Lane Books for providing me with a free electronic ARC of this book, via Netgalley, in exchange for an open and honest review.Okay, open and honest bit… I was introduced to Ms Chance’s writing via an anthology of Christmas themed short stories. Due to liking that book I was approached and asked to read her 1920’s cosy crime/ mystery series and loved it. To the point I started fan following Ms Chance on social media. And a fan I did become. So when I saw another stor I would like to thank Crooked Lane Books for providing me with a free electronic ARC of this book, via Netgalley, in exchange for an open and honest review.Okay, open and honest bit… I was introduced to Ms Chance’s writing via an anthology of Christmas themed short stories. Due to liking that book I was approached and asked to read her 1920’s cosy crime/ mystery series and loved it. To the point I started fan following Ms Chance on social media. And a fan I did become. So when I saw another story by her on Netgalley, I wanted to see what else she could do… and I was once more not disappointed by Ms Chance’s skill to write in another era, style and tone. No cookie cut outs from this author! Yet another new world, new characters and new ways things got done. Simply her great level of humour – similar to my own – and her talented ability to weave a good story linked this book to previous works I have read.Fine, enough fan-girling from me, on to the review of the actual book… In two words – loved it. It reminded me of Sharyn McCrumb’s Elizabeth MacPherson series, without it being in any way a rip off. There were no actual similarities… it was more a feel. And as I have been a fan of Ms McCrumb’s for decades… this is a big compliment. It also had that small town America cosy crime/ mystery feel I enjoy and ticked all the right boxes for an entertaining read – our self-doubting, sarcastic protagonist, erratically eccentric side kick, a town of its own colourful characters, the dud ex, the cute new guy, some red herrings and entertaining padding out of the tale and a crime to solve. And it did have me thinking whodunit until near the end and then finished it off with a good bit of drama and a neat wrap up. All in all – the perfect cosy crime/ mystery and something fans of this genre will delight in adding to their summer/ winter reading lists.Would I recommend this book to others? Um, I think I just did. ;-) But yes, cosy crime/ mystery fans – you will love ‘Bad Housekeeping’. Better yet, it’s the first book in a rather promising new series so you’re getting in at the beginning and will no doubt enjoy the tales as they are brought to us.Would I buy this book for myself?Yes I would, as an eBook – my virtual shelves are far bigger than my real ones. When a story reminds you of one of your other favourite authors, without being in any way a rip off of their work… you know you’re onto a good thing and so yes, a book – and series – for me.In summary: Great first book to a potentially highly entertaining new cosy crime/ mystery series. Highly recommend.
    more
  • Mary Brown
    May 29, 2017
    Synopsis:When 28-year-old Agnes Blythe, the contented bifocals-wearing half of an academic power couple, is jilted by her professor boyfriend for the town Pilates instructor, her future is suddenly less than certain. So when her glamorous, eccentric Great Aunt Effie arrives in town and offers a job helping to salvage the condemned Stagecoach Inn, what does Agnes have to lose? But work at the inn has barely begun when the unlikely duo find the body of manipulative Kathleen Todd, with whom Agnes a Synopsis:When 28-year-old Agnes Blythe, the contented bifocals-wearing half of an academic power couple, is jilted by her professor boyfriend for the town Pilates instructor, her future is suddenly less than certain. So when her glamorous, eccentric Great Aunt Effie arrives in town and offers a job helping to salvage the condemned Stagecoach Inn, what does Agnes have to lose? But work at the inn has barely begun when the unlikely duo find the body of manipulative Kathleen Todd, with whom Agnes and Effie both have recently had words. Words strong enough to land them at the top of the suspect list.The pair have clearly been framed, but no one else seems interested in finding the real murderer and Agnes and Effie's sleuthing expertise is not exactly slick. Nevertheless, they're soon investigating a suspect list with laundry dirtier than a middle school soccer team's and navigating threats, car chases, shotgun blasts, and awkward strolls down memory lane.In Bad Housekeeping, the first novel in the Agnes & Effie cozy mystery series by Maia Chance, danger mounts, deadlines loom, ancient knob-and-tube wiring is explored, and the ladies learn a thing or two about the awful, wonderful mistake that is going back home. (Goodreads)Review:The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there, watching all of the action taking place. I enjoyed the small town feel and all the gossiping that goes along with that. The mystery was carried on well throughout the book and there were enough suspects to consider and clues to sift through, that it was not an easy mystery to solve. I felt that the characters could have been developed a little bit more. I did not really feel like I connected that well with them, and I do not know why. I got really tired of reading about Agnes being overweight, it was mentioned numerous times. That is only my opinion and other readers may not agree with me. I did find some of the situations and dialogue quite funny and there a few times that I laughed out loud. There were many things that I did enjoy about the book and I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a cozy mystery. I will read the next book when it is released.I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley and Crooked Lane books for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
  • Barbara Hackel
    June 1, 2017
    Agnes Blyth was 28 years old and finally going to be able to have her turn at going to grad school. After putting her fiance, Roger, through school while working multiple jobs, he has gotten a job teaching at the university in her old home town. When Roger abruptly dumps Agnes for a younger, blonder, more fun girlfriend, Agnes is forced to stay at her father's home and agrees to work for her great aunt Effie as an assistant in renovating the old Stagecoach Inn. Effie is a woman of questionable m Agnes Blyth was 28 years old and finally going to be able to have her turn at going to grad school. After putting her fiance, Roger, through school while working multiple jobs, he has gotten a job teaching at the university in her old home town. When Roger abruptly dumps Agnes for a younger, blonder, more fun girlfriend, Agnes is forced to stay at her father's home and agrees to work for her great aunt Effie as an assistant in renovating the old Stagecoach Inn. Effie is a woman of questionable morals, as she is currently driving a Cadillac owned by a former flame and stolen from him while he was out of the country. Even though the Inn is slated for demolition, she hires her great-great nephew Chester to rewire the Inn. Following Effie's adventures and convoluted logic made for a very enjoyable book. However when you add the murder of a widely known woman who was the head of the Historical Society and was found at the Stagecoach Inn, the tension cranks up a notch. Unfortunately Agnes was heard threatening her the night before her murder. Between the threats and the body location, Agnes and Effie become persons of Interest and are told not to leave town. Determined to prove her self worth after Roger's dumping, not to mention proving her innocence, Agnes begins to try solving the murder. Effie, enabler extreme, drives her around and even hires Agnes in order to give her a chance to recover from Roger and solve the mystery.I had to laugh at Agnes and Effie as they tried on theories and suspects as if they were at a shoe sale. At one time almost everyone even remotely acquainted with the deceased was a valid suspect. Along the way they didn't make many new friends, but they did find more bodies! An unexpected twist near the end made for a surprise for the reader and people in the book as well.I liked the subtle hint of romance when Agnes' good high school friend Otis joined in the sleuthing. It was a nice reminder that not everything was bad about going home again!
    more
  • Megan Worley
    March 1, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping is story of 28-year-old Agnes Blythe who has just been dumped by her fiancé of 8 years and now has nowhere to live, no current job and basically nothing to her name since she somehow managed to leave it all in his apartment. So, now that she is completely down on her luck she agrees to help her eccentric aunt Effie renovate a crumbling old Inn. Before they have even gotten a chance to start though the body of a woman they both have had recent arguments with turns up dead in the Bad Housekeeping is story of 28-year-old Agnes Blythe who has just been dumped by her fiancé of 8 years and now has nowhere to live, no current job and basically nothing to her name since she somehow managed to leave it all in his apartment. So, now that she is completely down on her luck she agrees to help her eccentric aunt Effie renovate a crumbling old Inn. Before they have even gotten a chance to start though the body of a woman they both have had recent arguments with turns up dead in the inn. Both now suspects they set about trying to clear their names. And thus begins a very long novel about these two slightly obnoxious characters driving around in a stolen car, and questioning everyone under the sun. It’s a good mystery, complete with lots of family drama and secrets but for me it was lacking a few things. For one thing Agnes was more than obnoxious about her weight. I felt like it was mentioned every few pages. Her low self-esteem also started to get on my nerves after a few chapters. One of the reasons I was excited to read this book is that the main characters were renovating an old inn. I love stories where people are doing renovations and they often discover old secrets hidden in the building! There was little to no renovation in this book and I found that to be depressing. Hopefully the author will include a little more about that, and maybe a hidden secret or two, in her next book.
    more
  • Kathy Martin
    May 26, 2017
    Agnes Blythe is newly dumped by her boyfriend and back home living with her father. Her Great-aunt Effie comes to town and drafts her to be her assistant in the renovation of the condemned inn that Effie has inherited. They didn't expect the first thing they'd find was the body of Kathleen Todd who is the president of the local historical society. Both Effie and Agnes had had recent run-ins with the abrasive Kathleen and the police are convinced that they are persons of interest in the case.Agne Agnes Blythe is newly dumped by her boyfriend and back home living with her father. Her Great-aunt Effie comes to town and drafts her to be her assistant in the renovation of the condemned inn that Effie has inherited. They didn't expect the first thing they'd find was the body of Kathleen Todd who is the president of the local historical society. Both Effie and Agnes had had recent run-ins with the abrasive Kathleen and the police are convinced that they are persons of interest in the case.Agnes and Effie need to clear their names and renovate the wiring at the inn in order to stop it from being demolished. As they investigate, they run into loads of suspicious characters including the victim's two daughters, her best friend, a local author, a nightclub owner, and a man doing renovations on a local mansion. Agnes and Effie find themselves dodging the police and threats from some of the suspects as they investigate.This story had quite a bit of humor because Effie is a real character and Agnes has a wonderful, self-deprecating way of telling the story. It also has a romance as Agnes reconnects with the boy she loved in high school who is now a local business owner.This was a fun mystery with interesting characters and a fast moving plot.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 29, 2017
    Rarely does it take me more than a few days to finish a book, especially a cozy, this one took me two weeks. . The premise was good, I loved the idea of it but it just fell a little short. I was excited to read about the renovation of the inn but there was hardly any story line devoted to, I believe it was only mentioned a couple of times.Agnes , the main protagonist, is very down on herself. She complains about her weight constantly. It became hard to ignore after awhile, and somewhat annoying. Rarely does it take me more than a few days to finish a book, especially a cozy, this one took me two weeks. . The premise was good, I loved the idea of it but it just fell a little short. I was excited to read about the renovation of the inn but there was hardly any story line devoted to, I believe it was only mentioned a couple of times.Agnes , the main protagonist, is very down on herself. She complains about her weight constantly. It became hard to ignore after awhile, and somewhat annoying. The good side , I enjoyed the mystery itself, it was well paced and easy to follow. Thank you Crooked Lane Books and Netgalley for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Joy
    May 25, 2017
    I wrestled with choosing between a 3.5 and a 4 as my rating for this one for so long that I even considered breaking with my own system to give it a 3.75. Realizing that could be a very dangerous precedent, I decided to stay the course and settle on the fact that the lol moments and the very likable characters trump the few places that I felt the plot line slipped a little bit. I will watch for future books in the series.
    more
  • Anjali
    May 6, 2017
    This was the less outlandish version of the Stephanie Plum novels. The characters were quirky, especially Effie. It was funny, quick and easy to read. I definitely liked it and would read more in this series. Received a free copy from NetGalley.
  • Tracy Collier
    May 25, 2017
    I think part of this book's title is correct - bad! In fact, bad is being polite in how I would describe this book. I seriously wanted to give up reading the book after the first few chapters as it was so awful, but I felt that I had to read on to see if it got better... it didn't!
    more
  • Lorraine Kraft
    February 28, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping is the first book in Maia Chance's new Agnes and Effie Mysteries.After her  fiancé, Roger, breaks the news that he is leaving her for his Pilates instructor, Agnes Blythe moves back in with her father, the mayor of Naneda, New York.  Naneda is a small college town with old town charm.  Agnes puts graduate school on hold after she finds out due to reorganizing at the college, Roger would be her graduate advisor.Agnes then goes to work for her Great Aunt Effie in restoring an old Bad Housekeeping is the first book in Maia Chance's new Agnes and Effie Mysteries.After her  fiancé, Roger, breaks the news that he is leaving her for his Pilates instructor, Agnes Blythe moves back in with her father, the mayor of Naneda, New York.  Naneda is a small college town with old town charm.  Agnes puts graduate school on hold after she finds out due to reorganizing at the college, Roger would be her graduate advisor.Agnes then goes to work for her Great Aunt Effie in restoring an old Victorian house her Aunt Effie inherited to turn it into a bed and breakfast.  The house needs massive renovations to avoid being demolished by the city as being unsafe for habitation.After Aunt Effie has words with the president of town historical society, Kathleen Todd,  concerning her house and Agnes having words with Kathleen in front of witnesses at the local library, Kathleen Todd is found murdered in the back of Aunt Effie's house. In a town where everyone knows everyone else,  both Agnes and Effie quickly become suspects in the murder and subjects of the towns gossip.  Effie and Agnes embark on an investigation of their own in order to clear their name, but will they find the killer or become a victims? This is a light, entertaining read cozy readers will enjoy.**Note: I was given a copy of the book by the publishers through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ronda
    February 26, 2017
    I have to admit that, frankly, at first, I just didn't much like Agnes or Effie. That made it a little difficult to enjoy the story, but I kept reading. Glad I did. Turns out it seems I just needed to get to know these two a little better--and get past their baggage a bit too. A little over halfway in, I realized that I wanted this unusual duo to save the inn--and maybe save each other from falling victim to some outside expectations. Will be curious to see what happens next.Review based on NetG I have to admit that, frankly, at first, I just didn't much like Agnes or Effie. That made it a little difficult to enjoy the story, but I kept reading. Glad I did. Turns out it seems I just needed to get to know these two a little better--and get past their baggage a bit too. A little over halfway in, I realized that I wanted this unusual duo to save the inn--and maybe save each other from falling victim to some outside expectations. Will be curious to see what happens next.Review based on NetGalley ARC.
    more
  • Rima Aiello
    February 20, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping is the debut novel in the Agnes and Effie Mystery series. We start with poor Agnes, dumped by her boyfriend, her part time job has concluded, little money. Her entire world is turned upside down. Agnes has had to move back in with her father and is trying to determine some direction while wallowing in her misery. Enter her Aunt Effie, back in town and trying to restore a condemned inn and tries to rope Agnes into helping. When attempting to extend her temporary part time job, Ag Bad Housekeeping is the debut novel in the Agnes and Effie Mystery series. We start with poor Agnes, dumped by her boyfriend, her part time job has concluded, little money. Her entire world is turned upside down. Agnes has had to move back in with her father and is trying to determine some direction while wallowing in her misery. Enter her Aunt Effie, back in town and trying to restore a condemned inn and tries to rope Agnes into helping. When attempting to extend her temporary part time job, Agnes runs into the queen of the town, Kathleen Todd and when provoked, Agnes explodes, threatening the woman and losing any change of extending her employment. Agnes is forced to accept her Aunt Effie's offer of assisting with restoring the inn. When Kathleen turns up dead at the inn, Agnes and Effie are thrown right into the investigation as suspects one and two. This was a strong start to what promises to be an exciting and intriguing series. The main characters are lovable messes, the plot strong, and writing superb. I cannot wait to see where the rest of the series takes us and what kind of chaos the characters can stir up.I received an advance reader copy from Netgalley and the review and options are my own.
    more
  • Megan
    January 30, 2017
    Review to come!
  • Sheilah
    April 14, 2017
    Bad Housekeeping, An Agnes and Effie Mystery, the first book in what is hopefully a long-running series by Maia Chance, was fun and intriguing! With a host of "interesting" family members, including eccentric Aunt Effie, jilted Agnes must restart her life by putting graduate school on hold, moving in with her father, and renovating the old family Inn. After altercations with both Agnes and Effie, Kathleen Todd, the head of the local historical society, turns up strangled and dead on the Inn's ba Bad Housekeeping, An Agnes and Effie Mystery, the first book in what is hopefully a long-running series by Maia Chance, was fun and intriguing! With a host of "interesting" family members, including eccentric Aunt Effie, jilted Agnes must restart her life by putting graduate school on hold, moving in with her father, and renovating the old family Inn. After altercations with both Agnes and Effie, Kathleen Todd, the head of the local historical society, turns up strangled and dead on the Inn's back porch. The townsfolk think Agnes and Effie are the murderers, especially since Agnes threatened to strangle Kathleen to death the previous evening. Get ready for a chaotic ride as Agnes and Effie try to clear their names in their own unpredictable style. Bad Housekeeping will keep you entertained as these two quirky women attempt to solve the mystery of Kathleen Todd's death and mend their fractured along the way. (Note: Aunt Effie should not have called Agnes "husky" when she was a child. That tends to stick with a person.) Thanks to NetGalley for an advance copy in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Judy
    April 18, 2017
    I’m here to tell you that Agnes and Aunt Effie are quite the pair! I think having an aunt like Effie would be a good thing. She would certainly keep you from being bored. What an adventure it would be to restore a condemned Inn, and what fun. It was interesting to see just how many people could dislike someone enough that she ends up dead. A lot of good suspects were thrown into the mix, but of course you don’t find out the guilty party until almost the end. (As it should be).I was lucky enough I’m here to tell you that Agnes and Aunt Effie are quite the pair! I think having an aunt like Effie would be a good thing. She would certainly keep you from being bored. What an adventure it would be to restore a condemned Inn, and what fun. It was interesting to see just how many people could dislike someone enough that she ends up dead. A lot of good suspects were thrown into the mix, but of course you don’t find out the guilty party until almost the end. (As it should be).I was lucky enough to win this ARC in a Goods Read contest. That did not alter my opinion of the book in anyway. Can’t wait to read the next one.
    more
  • Chris
    March 30, 2017
    Sometimes this is exactly the kind of silly and satisfying mystery I need to read! Well-written and fast paced, filled with eccentric characters and ridiculous situations, all told from the point of view of our smart, yet totally average heroine, who is as challenge in her food and fashion choices as she is in solving the murder. Thanks to Goodreads for this book!
    more
  • Kira
    April 13, 2017
    A NetGalley e-book in exchange for an honest review.A cute, and blundering, whodunit. The main character reminds me of a wannabe Stephanie Plum, down to the crazy family members, driving around a huge classic car, hot guy in jeans, and the sane and actual capable characters that help her save the day.I would recommend this to those that like cozy mysteries. It is set in a quaint little town with people that you can see as your neighbors and friends. There are not overly gory details or explicit A NetGalley e-book in exchange for an honest review.A cute, and blundering, whodunit. The main character reminds me of a wannabe Stephanie Plum, down to the crazy family members, driving around a huge classic car, hot guy in jeans, and the sane and actual capable characters that help her save the day.I would recommend this to those that like cozy mysteries. It is set in a quaint little town with people that you can see as your neighbors and friends. There are not overly gory details or explicit situations (keep in mind someone is murdered and there are consenting adult characters). Agnes Blythe is having the week from hell. Her “boy genius” boyfriend has left her for the towns Pilates instructor and her temp job has ended and school this semester is not an option since the ex has aligned himself to be her graduate adviser. To top it off she literally trips over a dead body. The dead body of a strangled woman she was just seen arguing and threatening to strangle to death the night before.Making the situation worse is that Agnes is not alone as the prime suspect, her Great Aunt Effie is also being pegged as a prime suspect and it is in Effie’s Stagecoach Inn that the body is found.To cloud the situation even further, the woman that is killed does not have a short suspect list. The two women take off to investigate these suspects in a blundering fashion and also learn the meaning behind returning home.
    more
  • Ashley Hite
    April 6, 2017
    Agnes and her eccentric Aunt Effie unexpectedly find themselves returning to their small hometown to rebuild their lives and Effie's newly inherited dilapidated inn. Little do they know they will become the prime suspect in a murder investigation when they discover a body inside the inn. They must clear their names and find the real killer before they end up behind bars.
    more
Write a review