Pursuit (After Dark, #2)
After falling in love while foiling a terrorist attack, Gunnery Sergeant Tyler Monroe and CIA analyst Brooke Hart have begun to settle into their lives together, but that hasn’t slowed C IA infiltrator and terrorist Nathaniel Lark’s progress. Lark is on the run and options are running thin as the situation grows more desperate. When a plot to eliminate the upper levels of the executive branch is discovered, loyalties must be proven and lines must be crossed. Who will be left standing on each side is anyone’s guess.The sequel to Infiltration.

Pursuit (After Dark, #2) Details

TitlePursuit (After Dark, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherBold Strokes Books
ISBN1626399034
ISBN-139781626399037
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime

Readers also enjoyed


Pursuit (After Dark, #2) Review

  • Diane Wallace
    May 13, 2017
    Wow! Jackie D's 2nd book,is an addictive,slow-burning mystery that fuses classic noir with the intrigue of speculative fiction..crackling with chemistry,this storyline is filled with lots of intense action,sensual and suspenseful romance,where passion and possession becomes two sides of the same coin...,CIA,Feds,homegrown terrorist,law enforcement agents etc..the author has obviously researched the materials of this story thoroughly,and that knowledge combine with an amazing storytelling ability Wow! Jackie D's 2nd book,is an addictive,slow-burning mystery that fuses classic noir with the intrigue of speculative fiction..crackling with chemistry,this storyline is filled with lots of intense action,sensual and suspenseful romance,where passion and possession becomes two sides of the same coin...,CIA,Feds,homegrown terrorist,law enforcement agents etc..the author has obviously researched the materials of this story thoroughly,and that knowledge combine with an amazing storytelling ability and writing,will make this book a hit in the bookstore...highly recommend to everyone it's a fantastic follow-up..plus the plot-twist continues and the story is not over so this series is continuing Yipee!!!
    more
  • Lex Kent
    May 29, 2017
    This was an action packed ride, from start to finish! I have read and liked all of Jackie's books, but this is the best so far. There has been noticeable growth in her writing, and she seems to have now found her groove. While, you could read this without reading book 1, I would suggest reading book 1 first, to get all of the characters background.One of my small complaints about book 1, I thought the big action scene, was not as exciting as I hoped. This book met all my expectations. The action This was an action packed ride, from start to finish! I have read and liked all of Jackie's books, but this is the best so far. There has been noticeable growth in her writing, and she seems to have now found her groove. While, you could read this without reading book 1, I would suggest reading book 1 first, to get all of the characters background.One of my small complaints about book 1, I thought the big action scene, was not as exciting as I hoped. This book met all my expectations. The action was great and the book had a fast, steady, pace that kept all the pages turning. There is never a dull moment, and I really enjoyed it.Tyler and Brooke are the main characters again in this book. But instead of just two main characters, there really are four in this book. We are also in the head-space of Jennifer and Caden. Both ladies were in book 1, but they were just supporting characters. It was nice to get to know them more, and I found them both to be likeable. A lot of times authors of a series, when they add new main characters, the main characters from the last book, get left behind. I was so glad this was not the case here. I really liked Tyler and Brooke, and wanted to see more of their relationship. How it was growing and how they were acting as a couple. I really appreciate Jackie growing their relationship, while still writing about new main characters.This is easy to recommend for action-romance fans. Jackie did a nice job of balancing the romance, with all the action. Not only am I looking forward to book 3, but also any new books Jackie writes. She has made it to my automatic read list for authors.An ARC was given to me by BSB, for a honest review.
    more
  • Endlesscribbles
    May 25, 2017
    After having read Pursuit the second book in the After Dark series. Jackie D is very quickly becoming one of my favourite authors. You can count on Jackie D to give you well thought out books. With the feel of a good old classic noir film filled suspends, mystery, intrigue of twists and turns that keep you wanting to find out more. I highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good thriller!
    more
  • Tiff
    June 4, 2017
    Pursuit by Jackie DSuper short summary: This book is a dynamic fast-moving adventure that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time.Pursuit is the second installment of the After Dark series by Jackie D. If you haven’t read the first one, Infiltration, you don’t have to read it, but I would strongly suggest it. Why? First off, both books are really good. Secondly, you’ll miss some of the character and plot backstories. Tyler Monroe and Brooke Hart are now officially an item, when we mee Pursuit by Jackie DSuper short summary: This book is a dynamic fast-moving adventure that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time.Pursuit is the second installment of the After Dark series by Jackie D. If you haven’t read the first one, Infiltration, you don’t have to read it, but I would strongly suggest it. Why? First off, both books are really good. Secondly, you’ll miss some of the character and plot backstories. Tyler Monroe and Brooke Hart are now officially an item, when we meet back up with them they have been together about a year now and recently moved into a new apartment together. In addition to this couple, we also have two new mains as well. Right, so four leading ladies in total for this one. I promise you it totally works. Caden Styles and Jennifer Glass have a love hate relationship. Their two besties (Tyler & Brooke) are dating and they work together so basically always in each other’s space. This tends to create a heavy amount of tension because these two love to gibe at each other. They land little hits and ramp up the tension. Like a magnet all they need is flip and boom you have one hot couple. Of course other that two hot romances you have an action packed adventure of good gals hunting down bat-shit crazy right-wing terrorists. I loved that there is a good balance between the two, enough romance for you to swoon and enough action to keep you fully engaged. Great read, you don’t want to miss this one.
    more
  • Jane Shambler
    May 28, 2017
    So, I openly admit. I did not realise this was the second book of an on going series until about a third of the way through. Like me, you could read this as a stand-alone book or you could do the sensible thing and read the first book first. Not reading the first book in no way diminishes the high quality of this book.This was my first book by this author and it definately will not be my last. Firstly, I have put book one at the top of my too read list and I am seriously hoping there will be a b So, I openly admit. I did not realise this was the second book of an on going series until about a third of the way through. Like me, you could read this as a stand-alone book or you could do the sensible thing and read the first book first. Not reading the first book in no way diminishes the high quality of this book.This was my first book by this author and it definately will not be my last. Firstly, I have put book one at the top of my too read list and I am seriously hoping there will be a book three. Well, the author did leave a nice opening for a third. I really liked her fluid writing style and the characters came across as realistic.There is not much I did not enjoy about this book. The plot was well thought out and it progressed nicely. There are four main characters who are friends and part of a team working for the United Staes Government tracking down a madman and uncovering his plot. The main characters have amazing chemistry. I could not put it down.Would I recommend this book? Without a doubt YES. Enjoy!*ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley*
    more
  • Aj Smith
    May 18, 2017
    First of all, if you haven't readInfiltration, the preceding book in this series, go and do that now! Not only will Pursuit make a lot more sense once you've read the first instalment, it's a kickass book in its own right. Our leading ladies and their assorted hangers on are still after the same big bad from last time around and things are getting very tense. No more training missions and dummy take-downs, from here on in it's all very much live. While this is very much a traditional thriller, t First of all, if you haven't readInfiltration, the preceding book in this series, go and do that now! Not only will Pursuit make a lot more sense once you've read the first instalment, it's a kickass book in its own right. Our leading ladies and their assorted hangers on are still after the same big bad from last time around and things are getting very tense. No more training missions and dummy take-downs, from here on in it's all very much live. While this is very much a traditional thriller, the author has written is very well and you cannot help but root for the characters. The only criticism I would level at this book is that some of the supposedly 'tense' scenes are a bit too drawn out and I found myself wanting to skim a bit to get to the resolution when HLA could begin!Definitely worth a read though.
    more
  • Penelope
    June 20, 2017
    An honest review thanks to NetGalley. This was a great sequel to infiltration if you haven't read infiltration you need to do it before starting this one. This can be read on its own, but you will get a much needed backstory on Lark and see the relationship grow between Tyler and Brooke. I love Jackie D. and feel as if she wrote another amazing book. I liked how the plot unfolded and the surprises that jumped our way while reading. This is a must read book, enjoy.
    more
  • Andrea
    June 10, 2017
    *I received this ACR from Netgalley and the Publisher in exchange for an honest review*This book was well written but it just didn't really spark my interest while reading it. It was not how Jackie D wrote or portrait the characters, all of that was done well, but the topic of the story did just not spare an interest in me.
    more
  • Anne
    June 9, 2017
    I haven't read the first book in this series but I will check it out now, because even knowing that the leads end up together, I want to enjoy more of Jackie D's writing. This book is tense, well written and plausible. The only thing I wasn't too sure about was the way one of the character's responded when she had a dilemma but overall the scene setting was crisply handled. The main characters are likeable and although not perfect they are easy to root for. This is a nice addition to the lesfic I haven't read the first book in this series but I will check it out now, because even knowing that the leads end up together, I want to enjoy more of Jackie D's writing. This book is tense, well written and plausible. The only thing I wasn't too sure about was the way one of the character's responded when she had a dilemma but overall the scene setting was crisply handled. The main characters are likeable and although not perfect they are easy to root for. This is a nice addition to the lesfic crime canon and I will watch out for more by Jackie D.I was given copy of this book by Netgalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Katherine Jensen
    June 1, 2017
    I really enjoyed this one. It was great catching up with Brooke, Tyler, Jen, and Caden. It was a fast-paced read and I didn't want to put it down. While I also liked the first book, I thought this one was better. Highly recommend for those that like a little romance with their thrillers.ARC received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Alicia
    May 11, 2017
    I liked this one better than the first and can't wait to see what happens next. Please keep Tyler, Brooke, Caden and Jennifer and I hope Patrick get more time in the next book.
Write a review