The Child
As an old house is demolished in a gentrifying section of London, a workman discovers a tiny skeleton, buried for years. For journalist Kate Waters, it’s a story that deserves attention. She cobbles together a piece for her newspaper, but at a loss for answers, she can only pose a question: Who is the Building Site Baby?As Kate investigates, she unearths connections to a crime that rocked the city decades earlier: A newborn baby was stolen from the maternity ward in a local hospital and was never found. Her heartbroken parents were left devastated by the loss.But there is more to the story, and Kate is drawn—house by house—into the pasts of the people who once lived in this neighborhood that has given up its greatest mystery. And she soon finds herself the keeper of unexpected secrets that erupt in the lives of three women—and torn between what she can and cannot tell…

The Child Details

TitleThe Child
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
PublisherTransworld Digital
ISBN1473526930
ISBN-139781473526938
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery Thriller, Crime, Adult, Psychological Thriller, Novels, Contemporary

The Child Review

  • Liz
    May 30, 2017
    I really enjoyed the Widow by Fiona Barton, so I was looking forward to her next mystery. And I have no complaints. If not quite as good, it was still a very enjoyable mystery that I can heartily recommend. This is a fast paced mystery told from the perspective of four different women. Short punchy chapters keep this book moving right along. At first I was worried about keeping the women straight, but no problems there. Kate is a reporter who zeros in on the story of a baby’s skeleton found at t I really enjoyed the Widow by Fiona Barton, so I was looking forward to her next mystery. And I have no complaints. If not quite as good, it was still a very enjoyable mystery that I can heartily recommend. This is a fast paced mystery told from the perspective of four different women. Short punchy chapters keep this book moving right along. At first I was worried about keeping the women straight, but no problems there. Kate is a reporter who zeros in on the story of a baby’s skeleton found at the site of old housing units being demolished. I have to say I wasn't a fan of Jude, who struck me as a total narcissist. Emma, her daughter, has her issues, too. And I just felt sorry for Angela, whose baby daughter went missing from the maternity ward a day after her birth. At the beginning, I had to question Kate being allowed to follow an unproven story line and devote so much time to it in a time of layoffs, but that’s a minor quibble. What makes the novel work well is how the different stories all come together. The relationship between Emma and Jude was the real clincher to keeping my interest. I figured out what was happening well before Kate did. But that didn’t dampen my enthusiasm for the end of the book. My thanks to netgalley and Berkley Publishing for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    January 23, 2017
    4.5/5 stars!!!! Find my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/4...I enjoyed this one even more than Fiona's debut, THE WIDOW. It has a fantastic cast of characters, and a killer plot twist that I never saw coming!! It's definitely a bit of a slower read at the beginning, but your patience will absolutely be rewarded. Loved this one!!
    more
  • Navidad Thelamour
    May 20, 2017
    I absolutely adored Fiona Barton’s debut novel, The Widow, so I was all-too eager to get my little hands on this one when I heard about The Child. Of course, that’s the problem with not reading blindly, isn't it--with already being familiar with an author’s previous works: you go in with expectations, undoubtedly heightening your expectations on the author, and it doesn’t always pan out. When that happens, those reads seem to fall harder than if you’d never met their predecessors in the first pl I absolutely adored Fiona Barton’s debut novel, The Widow, so I was all-too eager to get my little hands on this one when I heard about The Child. Of course, that’s the problem with not reading blindly, isn't it--with already being familiar with an author’s previous works: you go in with expectations, undoubtedly heightening your expectations on the author, and it doesn’t always pan out. When that happens, those reads seem to fall harder than if you’d never met their predecessors in the first place. But that didn't happen here! This follow-up was awesome! Unfortunately, that’s what happened here.Not too far into Fiona Barton’s sophomore novel, The Child, I realized that this one wasn’t nearly as clever as her debut, The Widow, and wasn’t nearly as captivating either. Read as a “rush job,” without the finesse and nuance of her previous novel. In a lot of ways, it reminded me of the follow-up to a blockbuster movie--you know, the ones where you can tell the studio was just rushing to churn the next one out to capitalize on the fanfare of the last one.Have you ever read a novel and just knew you could pick out the characters on the street if you saw them? Their mannerisms are so real, their dialogue so witty, so poignant, so enthralling, that you recall a whole slew of their quotes from memory. These characters come alive on the page and delight you, make you want to be them—or at least kidnap them and keep them as your new bestie. Well, you won’t find that here, people. These characters didn’t saunter around, exuding their very essence across the page like in the previous novel.Though, to be fair, it’s not all cons in this one. One of the better aspects of this novel is that Barton uses the format of short chapters to swiftly draw her reader in and keep them turning pages. It’s a style that I now recognize her for. That technique makes the read seem shorter, faster, and is a true hallmark of the modern-day thriller, which was once again used brilliantly here. Well, to an extent. Of all things, The Child was chalked full of filler. I could almost palpably feel myself ripping at the cotton-like filler to get down to the meat, the core of the novel. Some of the chapters were completely useless to the plot as a whole and slowed the read down to a near-screeching halt, contradictory to the goals of the short chapters, placing The Child very squarely into the “cozy thriller” category and loosening the tauntness that readers look for in a good mystery thriller. All I needed for complete this novel was a cuppa Earl Grey and a biscuit. For some, this’ll work brilliantly, but I can see the flatly written characters turning off character piece buffs, while the added family drama will turn off mystery thrill seekers, stripping away its well-roundedness and landing this one in a category for a very specific kind of reader. It’s not that the characters here were unlikeable, more like they were just silly. Crying at the slightest stimulus. Sighing and huffing and wedge-driving over men who, for the majority of the read, weren’t much more than cliché sketches of cheaters and adulterers themselves. There were moments where I actually imagined them fawning and fanning themselves at the thought of these men, swooning in their own misery, and that made the read feel long, like I was trudging through used Kleenex the entire time.Let’s go ahead and address this here, shall we?There’s so much chatter in the book world about (female) characters who are unlikeable for being shallow or crass—The Girl on the Train immediately comes to mind—but these characters in The Child were equally unlikeable for a completely different reason: because they were so spineless, weak and lacking of any motivation that I could get behind for the vast majority of the novel. (view spoiler)[You can’t toss in driving motivation in the last quarter of the novel and expect me to suddenly care; no, I’ve already been too turned off by the past 300 pages to care at this point: Writer 101. (hide spoiler)] There were a lot of tears in this book, even moments of rushing out of a grocery store, abandoning their grocery cart, because the noise was too unbearable. These characters all needed a swift kick in the ass if you ask me.Hmm, and the ending. I won’t give anything away, but I will definitely say that I’m not sure how I feel about it. It could’ve been a phenomenal ending, but it was executed poorly and via unlikeable characters, so, in the end, it just felt like a hastily done soap opera ending. There were loads of other sections that could have been scrapped in favor of perfecting the ending, believe me—and the fact that the ending was held up by sappy, weak-willed characters just ruined it, like spilling liquid on a watercolor painting. (view spoiler)[I get the feeling that it was meant to be a tear-jerker ending but came off as vaguely melodramatic the way that it was handled, which, (hide spoiler)] all in all, landed The Child with a average score of 3 stars ***
    more
  • Ammar
    May 29, 2017
    An enjoyable mystery from various perspectives. Emma, Angela, Kate, and Jude. And the body of a child found during an demolition. Who is this child and how is he related to the various narrators. The plot is fast and truly a page turner. It wasn't a whodonit as much as a whydonit. I think this book will follow the commercial success of The Widow.
    more
  • Carol
    May 13, 2017
    ...4+ Stars....Really enjoyed my first Fiona Barton novel.....and Oh Boy!.....It's a series!...THE CHILD is told from four different perspectives with short chapters that flow smoothly making for a very quick and engrossing read.....and don't worry about keeping track of the players as you will soon find it unnecessary....Kate Waters is a journalist who knows her stuff...and has a conscience. On the lookout for a newsworthy story for The Daily Post, a disturbing find of a tiny skeleton grabs Kat ...4+ Stars....Really enjoyed my first Fiona Barton novel.....and Oh Boy!.....It's a series!...THE CHILD is told from four different perspectives with short chapters that flow smoothly making for a very quick and engrossing read.....and don't worry about keeping track of the players as you will soon find it unnecessary....Kate Waters is a journalist who knows her stuff...and has a conscience. On the lookout for a newsworthy story for The Daily Post, a disturbing find of a tiny skeleton grabs Kate's attention and leads her on an investigative journey exposing multiple buried secrets.....with one biggie I did not see coming....THE CHILD is one fine mystery with some nasty and sleazy character types and much more to the storyline than meets the eye. Look forward to reading THE WIDOW!Many thanks to NetGalley, and Berkley Publishing Group for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chloe
    April 15, 2017
    The Child by Fiona Barton is a wonderful mystery read with some great twists and turns.A baby’s skeleton was found in a construction site and was named as the “Building Site Baby”. Reporter Kate Waters decides to investigate the story. The book is narrated with different POV’s , Angela whose baby was kidnapped at the maternity ward ,Emma who is hiding a secret for a very long time and Jude , Emma’s self-involved mother. During Kate’s investigation, more mysteries are unearthed and secrets’ revea The Child by Fiona Barton is a wonderful mystery read with some great twists and turns.A baby’s skeleton was found in a construction site and was named as the “Building Site Baby”. Reporter Kate Waters decides to investigate the story. The book is narrated with different POV’s , Angela whose baby was kidnapped at the maternity ward ,Emma who is hiding a secret for a very long time and Jude , Emma’s self-involved mother. During Kate’s investigation, more mysteries are unearthed and secrets’ revealed. Will Angela finally figure out what happened to her baby a long time ago and will Emma’s secret destroy her marriage?I liked this book much better than Fiona Barton’s first book The Widow. The characters were complex and well developed. Some twists and turns with a surprise ending. I would definitely recommend this book with a 4 star rating.Many thanks to the publisher & NetGalley for this advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest and fair review.This and more reviews at https://chloesbooksblog.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Linda Strong
    May 17, 2017
    Emma, Angela, Jude and Kate. An infant's skeleton is found as an old house is demolished. It seems like it has been buried for many years, maybe decades. All these women take notice when it becomes newspaper article.Kate is a journalist. She decides to do a full-length article with follow up ... who does this infant belong to? How long has she been there? Why and how did it come to be buried?Angela's newborn daughter was stolen from her hospital room 28 years ago and never found. She's never rec Emma, Angela, Jude and Kate. An infant's skeleton is found as an old house is demolished. It seems like it has been buried for many years, maybe decades. All these women take notice when it becomes newspaper article.Kate is a journalist. She decides to do a full-length article with follow up ... who does this infant belong to? How long has she been there? Why and how did it come to be buried?Angela's newborn daughter was stolen from her hospital room 28 years ago and never found. She's never recovered the trauma and it has affected her entire life. Is this her baby?Emma has secrets that have never seen the light of day. Why is this child affecting her so much? Jude is her mother. Jude threw Emma out of their house when she was just 16 years old. Jude's boyfriend was her priority .... not her daughter. Emma has tried to share her secret, but Jude would not listen.Kate becomes involved with all of them not only because of a story, but because she genuinely cares. And as she becomes enmeshed in their lives, she finds herself burdened by stories that maybe she shouldn't share with the world.Having read THE WIDOW by this author, I was eager to see if this one would be as good. It definitely is! It was a slow start though ... each chapter written by a different woman. The book bounces back and forth in their memories from the things happening today to what happened many years ago.All of the characters are cleverly written. It's so easy to get wrapped up in their lives. The secondary characters -- husbands, police, other newspeople -- are all as credible and add a lot of interest to the story premise.There are twists and turns along the way, but I did not expect the most surprising twist at the end of the book. Very engaging and riveting book. This is an author to watch.Many thanks to the author / Berkley Publishing Group / Netgalley for the digital copy of THE CHILD. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    April 2, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.This was a good story and I found it to be very readable. I was really drawn into the idea behind the mystery. I wasn't blown away by the story but I did enjoy my time reading this one. I found that the pages of this book went by pretty quickly. I am glad that I decided to pick up this book.This story is told from three main points of view. Kate is a reporter who is intrigued by the discovery of the remains of a newborn baby and deci This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.This was a good story and I found it to be very readable. I was really drawn into the idea behind the mystery. I wasn't blown away by the story but I did enjoy my time reading this one. I found that the pages of this book went by pretty quickly. I am glad that I decided to pick up this book.This story is told from three main points of view. Kate is a reporter who is intrigued by the discovery of the remains of a newborn baby and decides to try to find out what really happened. Angela is the mother of a newborn baby that was taken from the hospital shortly after her birth. Emma lived in the area that the baby's remains were found when she was growing up and is very troubled by the news of the discovery.I did like the characters in this book. Kate was smart and resourceful. She really did everything in her power to find out what really happened. Angela has been through a nightmare. I could only imagine how difficult the years have been since her baby disappeared. Emma was a bit of a mystery at the beginning of the story. She has had issues in her past and seemed somewhat fragile. There were a lot of other interesting characters that are met in this story and I think each of them were well done.The mystery seemed rather obvious to me pretty early in the book. I kept waiting for something to happen that would make me realize that I was wrong but it never happened. I have had other readers tell me that they didn't figure anything out until the end of the book so maybe I will be in the minority with thinking the solution was too easy to figure out. I really don't like it when I can predict the solution to a mystery long before any of the detectives seem to have even the slightest clue. I think it just takes something away from a mystery when you are able to figure things out too early. I did like the author's writing style. I think that the multiple points of view worked really well in this story since each character had an important piece of the puzzle. Besides the main mystery revolving around the baby's remains there were some other issues that came up in this book and I thought everything worked very well together. I would recommend this one to fans of mystery thrillers. This is the first book by Fiona Barton that I have read and I look forward to reading more very soon.I received an advance reader edition of this book from Berkley Publishing Group via First to Read.Initial ThoughtsThe solution to this mystery seemed pretty obvious to me very early on in the book. Of course, it took all of the characters in the book forever to figure it all out. I thought it was okay overall but I do wish there would have been a few surprises along the way.
    more
  • LadyJ71
    April 6, 2017
    For all my reviews, visit my blog at http://ladyjreadingnook.blogspot.com My Review I totally LOVED The Child by Fiona Barton. This mysterious and suspenseful story unfolds over a period of about a year (2012-2013), with flashbacks added from the 1970’s and 80’s. Each chapter alternates between four characters: Emma, Kate, Angela, and Jude.Emma is the main character and her chapters are told in first person point of view. Emma is a troubled young married woman who has a dark secret that haunts For all my reviews, visit my blog at http://ladyjreadingnook.blogspot.com My Review I totally LOVED The Child by Fiona Barton. This mysterious and suspenseful story unfolds over a period of about a year (2012-2013), with flashbacks added from the 1970’s and 80’s. Each chapter alternates between four characters: Emma, Kate, Angela, and Jude.Emma is the main character and her chapters are told in first person point of view. Emma is a troubled young married woman who has a dark secret that haunts her and has practically taken over her entire life. She rarely leaves her home and forces herself to even work from home. Emma is married to an older gentleman named Paul. Paul feels bad for her and tries to help but he is totally unaware of the burdensome secret Emma is carrying. I didn’t like Emma at first but as the story progressed I had a different view of her. The next character in the story is Kate, a reporter working for a newspaper called The Post. Kate is an old-school investigative reporter who finds herself in the middle of a mystery…trying to identify a newborn baby skeleton that was found on a local building construction site. Kate’s chapters are told in 3rd person. I really liked Kate, she is pretty tough and wasn’t just after the story as a reporter. You could tell she actually cared about the people she was writing about.Another character is Angela Irving, the mother of a newborn baby named Alice that disappeared from the maternity ward soon after her birth in the 1970’s. Angela has spent many years trying to keep herself together for her surviving family…husband Nick and now two grown children. Angela has obviously never forgotten Alice and agonizes over what had become of her baby. You can’t help but feel for Angela. Her chapters are told in 3rd person.The author kept me interested throughout. The multiple points of view worked well, was easy to follow since the chapters were fairly short. The ending…wow didn’t see that coming. I love books that throw you for a loop and this one surely did. I would highly recommend this book and I would definitely read more by this author.***** 5 STARS *****Thank you Fiona Barton, Berkley Books and First-to-Read for providing me with a digital copy of this book to read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jean Martin
    April 12, 2017
    Rating: 5/5 starsWhere to start with this one? Well, I should mention that I loved Fiona's first book called "The Widow" and this new book is even better. "The Child" is one of those books that switches perspectives with each chapter. I usually don't enjoy books that do that but it worked well with this one. The journalist in this book is Kate Waters. She was also a character in Fiona's first book "The Widow." Kate catches on to a story of a baby's body that was found at a construction site by a Rating: 5/5 starsWhere to start with this one? Well, I should mention that I loved Fiona's first book called "The Widow" and this new book is even better. "The Child" is one of those books that switches perspectives with each chapter. I usually don't enjoy books that do that but it worked well with this one. The journalist in this book is Kate Waters. She was also a character in Fiona's first book "The Widow." Kate catches on to a story of a baby's body that was found at a construction site by a worker. As she pieces information together after talking to people who used to live on the street where the construction is taking place, a shocking discovery is made. The end of this book caught me by surprise. I loved it! Fiona wrote this book wonderfully. Highly recommend for a summer read! It releases on June 27, 2017.Thank you to the First to Read website, the publisher, and Fiona herself for the early copy of this book.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    March 19, 2017
    I devoured this book in a single day. When the bones of a baby are found during an excavation, journalist Kate thinks there is a story there, even if finding who the mother was will be exceedingly difficult. Angela, whose baby was stolen from her years ago, is certain that the baby is hers, and Emma, who battles a mood disorder and has been treated for mental illness, reads everything about the remains obsessively.Told from multiple points of view, the mystery of who this baby is will keep you t I devoured this book in a single day. When the bones of a baby are found during an excavation, journalist Kate thinks there is a story there, even if finding who the mother was will be exceedingly difficult. Angela, whose baby was stolen from her years ago, is certain that the baby is hers, and Emma, who battles a mood disorder and has been treated for mental illness, reads everything about the remains obsessively.Told from multiple points of view, the mystery of who this baby is will keep you turning pages. Kate is the force that keeps digging and unraveling secrets. She’s a tough, likeable protagonist. Jude, Emma’s self-absorbed mother, is well drawn as an odious woman who should never have become a mother. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book.For more of my reviews, please visit: http://theresaalan.net/blog/
    more
  • Marjorie
    March 16, 2017
    Kate Waters is a news reporter hot on the trail of a story that she hopes will be a big one. A baby’s skeleton has been found in a construction site. Kate can’t get the baby out of her mind. What tragedy was behind the burial of this infant child? Could this baby be the one who was stolen from a maternity ward decades ago? As she digs deeper, secrets come to the surface that will change the lives of three women forever.The reporter Kate also appears in Ms. Barton’s first book, “The Widow”. The c Kate Waters is a news reporter hot on the trail of a story that she hopes will be a big one. A baby’s skeleton has been found in a construction site. Kate can’t get the baby out of her mind. What tragedy was behind the burial of this infant child? Could this baby be the one who was stolen from a maternity ward decades ago? As she digs deeper, secrets come to the surface that will change the lives of three women forever.The reporter Kate also appears in Ms. Barton’s first book, “The Widow”. The chapters in her new book alternate between three women. First of all is, of course, Kate Waters, the reporter. She’s relentless in the pursuit of truth. Angela is the mother of little Alice who she alleges was stolen from a maternity ward shortly after her birth. Although Angela has two other children, she has never gotten over the loss of her child and longs for closure. And Emma, a woman who seems obsessed with this baby. The beginning of the book starts off slowly as the author builds her story. It was slow enough that I was considering giving the book 3 stars but the second half of the book pushed my rating up to 4 stars because that’s when I truly became involved in the story. The twist didn’t come as too much of a surprise but it didn’t matter as the main thrust of this book isn’t the “who done it” or even the why but the effect on the characters. I loved how much Kate cared for the people she connected with. I think we have such a callous opinion of reporters, only out for the story no matter what it costs others, so it was refreshing to read of one with a heart. This isn’t so much of a thriller as an in depth character study of three women. We know from the beginning that the baby has died so there’s no suspense there. But the author does a very good job of giving us a look into the hearts and minds of women whose lives were so monumentally affected by one act.Recommended.This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    May 26, 2017
    The Child, by Fiona Barton, is a book that is topping many people’s TBR lists for summer. After Barton’s hit, The Widow, which hit shelves last summer, people were demanding a follow up. I, however, wasn’t a huge fan of The Widow (you can check out my review for that one here) but I figured I would give The Child a chance. Unfortunately, Barton’s sophomore novel didn’t really do much for me either. In this novel, Kate Waters, the journalist from The Widow is back and on the pursuit of a new stor The Child, by Fiona Barton, is a book that is topping many people’s TBR lists for summer. After Barton’s hit, The Widow, which hit shelves last summer, people were demanding a follow up. I, however, wasn’t a huge fan of The Widow (you can check out my review for that one here) but I figured I would give The Child a chance. Unfortunately, Barton’s sophomore novel didn’t really do much for me either. In this novel, Kate Waters, the journalist from The Widow is back and on the pursuit of a new story when a baby’s skeleton is discovered buried in construction site. Several woman, including Kate who is after the hard hitting story are affected by this finding. Angela, still reeling from the disappearance of her baby girl years earlier, would love answers and closure to what happened to her child. Emma, a woman holding several secrets from her past, is drawn to the case with morbid curiosity. Emma’s mother, Jude, is trying to repair her broken relationship with her daughter, but is finding that difficult. As each of the women’s lives is disrupted a twisted maze of secrets are revealed. So, it sounded okay but this novel moved at a snail’s pace. I am talking slower than slow. Glacier speed. Molasses dripping. You get my drift? The plot seemed so redundant and the characters were flat. I didn’t really feel like any of them had much development. I didn’t find anything particularly suspenseful or thrilling. It felt more like a family drama or contemporary women’s fiction. Now don’t get me wrong, the last twenty pages or so of this novel were absolutely brilliant. I loved how Barton tied everything together and the final plot twist actually had me whispering, “well played!”Was this book worth the read? I don’t really feel like it. I would skip it. 2/5 stars.
    more
  • Faith
    April 6, 2017
    A short newspaper article describing the discovery of the skeletal remains of an infant draws together four women and this book is written in alternating chapters from their points of view. Most of the women have husbands but they don't really count in this book. Angela's baby Alice was taken from a maternity ward 4 decades ago and she has mourned her loss ever since. Emma is emotionally disturbed and harboring secrets. Jude is Emma's estranged mother. Kate is a newspaper reporter who is intrigu A short newspaper article describing the discovery of the skeletal remains of an infant draws together four women and this book is written in alternating chapters from their points of view. Most of the women have husbands but they don't really count in this book. Angela's baby Alice was taken from a maternity ward 4 decades ago and she has mourned her loss ever since. Emma is emotionally disturbed and harboring secrets. Jude is Emma's estranged mother. Kate is a newspaper reporter who is intrigued by the initial article and is determined to find the story behind the buried infant. I don't usually like women's fiction but this book didn't bore me, which is a huge accomplishment for this genre. Once a few facts were revealed it was pretty easy to guess where this book was headed. Nonetheless it held my interest and I found the story compelling. An indication of how much I was enjoying this book is the fact that I kept wanting to go back to it in spite of the fact that I was reading it on an app that was, to put it mildly, a giant pain in the ass.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.
    more
  • Veronica
    April 24, 2017
    I was very impressed with Fiona Barton's first book, "The Widow" so I was very excited to be able to read an advanced copy of "The Child".Workman are demolishing an old house in London when they come across the skeleton of a baby buried long ago. A journalist named Kate Waters quickly sees the potential of this heartbreaking find and begins a search for the identity of "the building site baby". Kate doesn't know it yet but she is about to uncover the secrets of the current and former residents o I was very impressed with Fiona Barton's first book, "The Widow" so I was very excited to be able to read an advanced copy of "The Child".Workman are demolishing an old house in London when they come across the skeleton of a baby buried long ago. A journalist named Kate Waters quickly sees the potential of this heartbreaking find and begins a search for the identity of "the building site baby". Kate doesn't know it yet but she is about to uncover the secrets of the current and former residents of this neighborhood. Some secrets are too terrible to bear.The strength of the book is definitely in the characters. Their feelings and actions are so real that you cannot but help to either have compassion for them or really despise them. There are also so many twists and turns in the story and I loved how the story just flowed. In some ways, I enjoyed this novel even more than "The Widow" but both are amazing. This is one book that will stay with me for a long time. If you loved "The Widow" then you will definitely want to read this one.I received a copy of this book from the publishers via Netgalley for free in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jen
    April 10, 2017
    What began with a slow start ended with a bang! I was 20% through the book before I really began to care about the characters and find it interesting enough to feel compelled to turn the page. But then it kept gaining momentum and intensity, like a snowball rolling down a mountain and becoming a boulder. Halfway through the book I couldn't put it down, and finished the second half in one day. The story threw a nice curve ball and surprised me at the end. Quite an intricate plot. Ultimately I enj What began with a slow start ended with a bang! I was 20% through the book before I really began to care about the characters and find it interesting enough to feel compelled to turn the page. But then it kept gaining momentum and intensity, like a snowball rolling down a mountain and becoming a boulder. Halfway through the book I couldn't put it down, and finished the second half in one day. The story threw a nice curve ball and surprised me at the end. Quite an intricate plot. Ultimately I enjoyed it enough to prompt me to purchase her other book. 4 stars! I'd like to thank NetGalley, Berkley Books, and Fiona Barton for this advanced readers copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dorie
    May 14, 2017
    I had previously enjoyed “The Widow” by Fiona Barton and was looking forward to “The Child”. At first the story reminded me a bit of a novel I read a few years ago called “Daughter of Ashes” by Marcia Talley which was also about the skeleton of a baby found in an old building. The premise of the novel isn’t a new one but Ms. Barton made it a very good mystery by the quality of her character development. As we know from the blurb, a skeleton is found while demolishing a collection of row houses i I had previously enjoyed “The Widow” by Fiona Barton and was looking forward to “The Child”. At first the story reminded me a bit of a novel I read a few years ago called “Daughter of Ashes” by Marcia Talley which was also about the skeleton of a baby found in an old building. The premise of the novel isn’t a new one but Ms. Barton made it a very good mystery by the quality of her character development. As we know from the blurb, a skeleton is found while demolishing a collection of row houses in an old subdivision to make way for new development. The mystery therefore is who the baby is and why she was buried in a home garden. What is the story about the mother and is there anyone left in the old neighborhood who knows what may have happened?The book is told from three points of view, three very different women. Emma is a women who we know is hiding a secret from the start. She had a very rocky start in life, living with her mother Jude, who was very self involved and didn’t spend very much time fostering a loving relationship with Emma. As Emma got older Jude became obsessed with a boyfriend named Will whom she had live with her and Emma for a number of years. We know that Emma didn’t like this man but why? We also know that Jude made Emma leave home at the young age of 16, presumably because she couldn’t abide her personality, changes in behavior, etc. There was a strong wedge between Emma and Jude and they have just recently begin to speak to each other. Emma had lived in the area where the skeletal remains were found.Angela is a mother of two children who we learn experienced an extremely traumatic event with the abduction of another child that she gave birth to and was taken from the hospital room while she slipped out for a shower. Even though the abduction occurred almost two decades ago she has, of course, never gotten over it. She has a supportive husband and two grown children but the sorrow of her missing child is still overwhelming to her. She becomes convinced that the skeleton found is that of her missing Alice. But she has no connection to the area where the baby was found???? Will the forensics team be able to link her to the remains?Kate is a go getter reporter who sees a story behind the small report when the skeletal remains are found. She knows that there has to be a strong story behind this and only has to convince her editor to let her run with her ideas. She and a young intern do everything that they can to uncover the truth. She speaks to a woman who still lives in the area and gets some clues from her. She turns to a now retired detective to help her uncover some records so that she can continue her investigation. I really enjoyed this character. She was very believable and her talents were readily evident, along with her caring personality.So in rounding up my feelings I did enjoy this story based on the strong characters. I figured out the mystery of the identity of the remains quite early but there was a great twist at the end regarding two of the characters. It had a great ending which is what bumped my star rating from a 3 to a 4.I will continue to read and recommend any novel by Ms. Barton and would recommend this to anyone who loves mysteries and strong characters. I enjoy novels told from multiple points of view and the style worked perfectly in this book. Some really great writing here. I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher and NetGalley, thank you.
    more
  • Oreoandlucy
    April 18, 2017
    A more complete review is available on my blog:http://reviewsofbooksonmynightstand.b...I was not a huge fan of the character Kate. She seemed to be a bit of a cliche of a reporter; the ambulance chaser that tries to get the picture of the mother who falls apart after hearing about the death of her child. Most of the other characters were not very complex, either and cliches are common in this book. Joe is a burgeoning journalist and a millennial who can't stop looking at Facebook on his phone an A more complete review is available on my blog:http://reviewsofbooksonmynightstand.b...I was not a huge fan of the character Kate. She seemed to be a bit of a cliche of a reporter; the ambulance chaser that tries to get the picture of the mother who falls apart after hearing about the death of her child. Most of the other characters were not very complex, either and cliches are common in this book. Joe is a burgeoning journalist and a millennial who can't stop looking at Facebook on his phone and uses Wikipedia as a primary research tool. The old men are grouchy and the old women are nosy neighbors. Barton's writing was very easy to read and encouraged me to read on to find out what happened in the story. The authenticity of the relationship between Jude, Emma and Will was shocking but I appreciated the honesty. There was more mystery and more of a background story to this novel than just a mystery about what happened to the baby that was found at the construction site. It is also about family betrayal and what happens when a child is forced to grow up too quickly. I can't say that I was completely shocked by the twists in the story (or the ending) but they were important topics to read about and it was a fascinating story. The first part of the story was a little bit slow but towards the end, I realized why it was necessary to build the suspense so slowly. It was completely worth the wait! I really enjoyed this book and I think that any lover of mystery will, as well, especially if they enjoy mysteries that center around family drama.I received an advanced copy of this book from the First to Read program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kristi Elizabeth
    March 28, 2017
    Read all my reviews on my blog at: https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comYes, this book was captivating and mesmerizing and altogether worthy of the hours I spent with my nose in it. I have to admit I was patting myself on the back for figuring out this puzzle of a book.The story is narrated by Kate (the reporter), Emma (a lady who lived near where the body was discovered), and Jude (Emma’s mother). A baby’s skeleton is found on a construction site after a building is torn down and as Kate scr Read all my reviews on my blog at: https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comYes, this book was captivating and mesmerizing and altogether worthy of the hours I spent with my nose in it. I have to admit I was patting myself on the back for figuring out this puzzle of a book.The story is narrated by Kate (the reporter), Emma (a lady who lived near where the body was discovered), and Jude (Emma’s mother). A baby’s skeleton is found on a construction site after a building is torn down and as Kate scrambles to figure out whose baby it could have been, she stumbles into a web of people who are unknowingly connected. She meets some fantastic and interesting characters and a few who are cruel and disgusting. Through some great detective work by the reporter, we soon learn how the pieces fit together with a big stumper in the middle of the book followed by an a-ha moment.Well done Fiona Barton. This is a must-read for mystery lovers.
    more
  • KC
    February 16, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley, Berkley Books, and Fiona Barton for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. This is Barton's second gripping novel which begins with the discovery of infant skeletal remains. Spanning over decades and crossing between the present and the past, this tale steadily unfolds between Angela, an aging mother who believes the remains are those of her missing daughter, Kate, the reporter uncovering the story, and Emma, a woman who appears to be obsesse I would like to thank NetGalley, Berkley Books, and Fiona Barton for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. This is Barton's second gripping novel which begins with the discovery of infant skeletal remains. Spanning over decades and crossing between the present and the past, this tale steadily unfolds between Angela, an aging mother who believes the remains are those of her missing daughter, Kate, the reporter uncovering the story, and Emma, a woman who appears to be obsessed with the case. These woman's lives entwine throughout the pages, filled with plot twists and turns and ending with a stellar conclusion. After a slow start, this book quickly becomes very difficult to put down.
    more
  • Yellagirlgc
    March 28, 2017
    I would like to thank First to Read for my copy to review. The Child was a great title for a good book. Emma, Jude, Angela & Kate all play important roles after the discovery of a child's bones at an excavation site. Angela prays its her baby girl that was taken shortly after birth. Emma believes her secrets been unearthed and her mother Jude has secrets of her own. Kate is the reporter that put some of the pieces together. She got the story in the paper and talked about. Emma seemed slightl I would like to thank First to Read for my copy to review. The Child was a great title for a good book. Emma, Jude, Angela & Kate all play important roles after the discovery of a child's bones at an excavation site. Angela prays its her baby girl that was taken shortly after birth. Emma believes her secrets been unearthed and her mother Jude has secrets of her own. Kate is the reporter that put some of the pieces together. She got the story in the paper and talked about. Emma seemed slightly off the whole book but while she seemed off she was believable. I couldn't imagine what Angela went through losing a child. Literally. Kate was very enjoyable. She made me laugh and begin to put the pieces together myself. I would love to have Kate as a friend. She doesn't stop. There was a nice twist included. Nothing earth shattering but it was a twist.
    more
  • Rachael Cochlin
    May 26, 2017
    Absolutely fantastic. 5 star read. If you liked Fiona's previous novel, The Widow you will love this. The Child brings the return of heroine reporter Kate Waters, investigating the discovery of a newborn skeleton found on a building site. We are told the story of the baby through various narratives, but mainly focusing on Kate and two other characters, Angela and Emma. Who does the baby belong to, and how did it end up being buried decades ago?A gripping thriller, expertly written. Unpredictable Absolutely fantastic. 5 star read. If you liked Fiona's previous novel, The Widow you will love this. The Child brings the return of heroine reporter Kate Waters, investigating the discovery of a newborn skeleton found on a building site. We are told the story of the baby through various narratives, but mainly focusing on Kate and two other characters, Angela and Emma. Who does the baby belong to, and how did it end up being buried decades ago?A gripping thriller, expertly written. Unpredictable and un-put-down-able!
    more
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    May 29, 2017
    Review to follow!
  • Samantha (Nicky's Mom)
    January 28, 2017
    I would first like to thank NetGalley for giving me early access to this book! Summary In a once sketchy area of London, a construction crew unearths a tiny human skeleton while demolishing a row of old homes. The child couldn’t have been older than a newborn infant when it died. The initial article in the paper is small, and it seems pretty clear that the police aren’t make it a priority. But as Kate Waters, a local reporter and superstar from the widow case a few years back, starts to get invo I would first like to thank NetGalley for giving me early access to this book! Summary In a once sketchy area of London, a construction crew unearths a tiny human skeleton while demolishing a row of old homes. The child couldn’t have been older than a newborn infant when it died. The initial article in the paper is small, and it seems pretty clear that the police aren’t make it a priority. But as Kate Waters, a local reporter and superstar from the widow case a few years back, starts to get involved, more alarming questions begin to arise.Who was this baby?Who lived in this home when the baby was buried?Why was it all kept a secret?Could this baby be Alice Irving? The baby who was taken from her hospital crib decades ago?As Kate tracks down old inhabitants of the area and starts to uncover the truth, frightening images of rape and drug addicts begin to surface. New evidence pours in and new questions are being asked. Old inhabitants and neighbors who didn’t seem important before are now key witnesses to her investigation. And while Kate uncovers the truth, she must keep in contact with the now elderly mother of Alice Irving, Angela, who is still in pieces from her baby’s abduction decades earlier.Told from the perspectives of Kate, Angela, and Emma, a young woman who appears to be obsessed with the case in the beginning, The Child tells a heartbreaking and scary story of the things we hide and the frightening lengths we go to for love. Review I was ready to give this one 3 stars. It took me way too long to get into it in the beginning because everything felt so disconnected. There were these 3 perspectives that you had no clue how to relate to one another, and there wasn’t a whole lot revealed until about halfway through the book.As with many books I read, I think I was just being impatient. Obviously these 3 women’s stories were disconnected in the beginning! We knew nothing about them until their backgrounds were very slowly revealed. I did figure out what was going on a bit before the characters did, but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. It was still thrilling and scary to watch it all unfold in front of Kate, the reporter’s eyes. If you haven’t read Fiona Barton’s other book, The Widow, then you should know that Kate Waters is a repeat character from that book. There were no other connections between the 2 books though. Things I LOVED Kate’s style of reporting. While she’s still a reporter who’s ultimately after the great story, she seems to genuinely care about the people she’s writing about. She was very careful with Angela when discussing baby Alice, and she frequently drove Emma home or checked in on her at random times. The ending. It would be wrong to say that everything worked out because it didn’t, but there were some very satisfying parts to the ending. It wasn’t really a happy ending, but it seemed like a step in the right direction, if that makes sense. Things I Didn’t Love The slow pace. I totally understand that things need to be revealed slowly in these types of books. But I feel like there should have been more in the beginning. Instead of feeling intrigued and excited to uncover the truth, I found myself frustrated and irritated that I was almost halfway through and STILL had no clue what was really going on or who these people were.Reporters in general. While Kate had style and poise in her work, she still took a small level of pleasure in getting the “news” before other reporters would have. I guess I’ll never understand how one person can find joy in another’s suffering. A Minor Comparison Finally, since Fiona Barton only has 1 other book, I’m going to compare the 2 very briefly.If you haven’t already read The Widow, I highly recommend that you do! It was a great book, and I will admit that I thought it was better than this one. But I think that there’s a very important reason why. In The Widow, we were dealing with an abducted child. I won’t say whether or not the child was found alive, but the possibility was there throughout the entire book. The urgency of the situation made everything move so much faster, and it felt like a race to the end. The Child was a lot different because even though the ending was important to get to so that we could uncover the truth, we were still dealing with a skeleton. There wasn’t any alarm in the situation. The crimes were decades old, and the people involved were elderly or middle-aged. It just made for a less urgent, slower moving story.All in all though, this was a great book, and I would definitely recommend it!
    more
  • Amy Morgan
    January 25, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed Fiona Barton's first book The Widow and I must say I loved The Child even more! Barton caught my attention last year with her debut of The Widow so when I saw she had a new book coming out I was very excited and she did not disappoint! An enthralling read that you just don't want to put down I finished it in less than 2 days. Very fast paced, great storyline, and I'm just a sucker for a really g I received a free copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed Fiona Barton's first book The Widow and I must say I loved The Child even more! Barton caught my attention last year with her debut of The Widow so when I saw she had a new book coming out I was very excited and she did not disappoint! An enthralling read that you just don't want to put down I finished it in less than 2 days. Very fast paced, great storyline, and I'm just a sucker for a really good plot twist which Barton gives you! I will definitely be recommending this one as soon as it comes out to all my thriller fans that come to my store!
    more
  • Judy Collins
    April 4, 2017
    Another winner by Barton! Review to follow closer to pub date!
  • switterbug (Betsey)
    May 19, 2017
    Oops--I accidentally reviewed this under "The Widow." Thanks to a fellow reader for pointing it out to me. I am drawn to British crime dramas, as they are often atmospheric, dark, and haunting. And, based on the cover of this book--shadowy, eerie, with a hint of menace, I assumed it would turn out to be just as spooky as I imagined. But, no, not at all. Rather, it read more like American genre fiction, with a bubbly journalist—too perky, I thought, for her advanced age and experience, and a few Oops--I accidentally reviewed this under "The Widow." Thanks to a fellow reader for pointing it out to me. I am drawn to British crime dramas, as they are often atmospheric, dark, and haunting. And, based on the cover of this book--shadowy, eerie, with a hint of menace, I assumed it would turn out to be just as spooky as I imagined. But, no, not at all. Rather, it read more like American genre fiction, with a bubbly journalist—too perky, I thought, for her advanced age and experience, and a few high-strung melodramatic women difficult to distinguish from each other, except for the chapter headings with their names. There was a decent plot in here, and it kept me going despite the stock, derivative, and bland characters. The dialogue did nothing to dissuade me, either, of its contrived narrative.Kate, the journalist, was apparently the major character of Barton’s last book, The Widow. There was too much given away about it, though, and left little reason for me to read it in the future, even if I had been initially drawn to do so. I had no idea that the two books were connected by a major character until I read how Kate had starred in the previous mystery. Her temperament was too cooing for my taste, and somehow, everyone she met became so disarmed and confessional towards her, even after bottling up secrets for decades. Yet, there was nothing in Kate’s manner that, in my estimation, would organically bring that about, except for the author’s affected efforts.So why three stars instead of two? I did like the bones of the story, pun intended—the mystery of the buried infant bones. The set-up showed promise, and an initial discovery added more mystery and twist, so that I wanted to see how it would all be revealed. However, by the time the case was solved, I had figured most of it out already. But I think Barton was trying to write a social commentary on class justice as much as she wanted to piece together an apt crime thriller, but I think the forced nature of it brought too many compromises in the storytelling. The villains were villainous, the victims were sensitive, and Kate was indulgent. I kept turning the pages, anyway.2.75
    more
  • Vilma's Book Blog
    May 27, 2017
    4.5 stars. review to come!
  • Amber
    April 26, 2017
    THE MAILMAN JUST DELIVERED IT ASKKMKFMDKMKBMKDSFM~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I WON THE GOODREADS GIVEAWAY FOR THIS!!What a thing to wake up to! I pumped my fist in joy :)
  • Patty
    March 31, 2017
    The remains of a baby are found when workmen are tearing down old homes / apartment dwellings. Many years, decades prior, Angela gave birth in a local hospital and the next day went to take a shower for just a moment while her newborn laid in her hospital room. When she returned from the shower her infant daughter was gone, never to been seen again.Kate Waters is a local reporter, you might have met her in the author's prior book, "The Widow." She finds out about the body of the infant being rec The remains of a baby are found when workmen are tearing down old homes / apartment dwellings. Many years, decades prior, Angela gave birth in a local hospital and the next day went to take a shower for just a moment while her newborn laid in her hospital room. When she returned from the shower her infant daughter was gone, never to been seen again.Kate Waters is a local reporter, you might have met her in the author's prior book, "The Widow." She finds out about the body of the infant being recovered from the work site and starts wondering if there could be a connection between this infant and the infant that disappeared so many years ago. Emma grew up same area as where the buildings are being demolished, she is an emotionally troubled adult women but she gets by with her depression medicine and her husband who is a great deal older than she is. The story is told in alternating point of views of these three women. It is a complex and intriguing story that spans many years. I never saw the ending coming and that is refreshing. The story begins a bit slow for me, of course you have to build the characters to get to the larger story, and once you get about 30% into the book the story is in full motion and it is a book you won't put down.I would like to thank NetGalley for giving me an opportunity to read this book prior to publication for an honest review.
    more
Write a review