The Unworthy Thor
Collecting The Unworthy Thor #1-5.Unfit to lift his hammer, with another now wielding the power of Thor, the Odinson's desperate quest to regain his worthiness takes him out into the cosmos - where he's learned of the existence of a mysterious other Mjolnir! This weapon of ultimate power, a relic from a dead universe, is the key to the Odinson's redemption - but some of the greatest villains of the Marvel Universe are anxious to get their hands on it as well. And when the Realm of Old Asgard vanishes, the Odinson's hopes might go with it - unless good tidings from Beta Ray Bill offer fresh hope! Can the Odinson reclaim his honor, or will the power of thunder be wielded for evil? Let the battle for the hammer commence!

The Unworthy Thor Details

TitleThe Unworthy Thor
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302906674
ISBN-139781302906672
Number of pages112 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics, Fantasy, Comics, Comic Book, Superheroes, Marvel

The Unworthy Thor Review

  • Sam Quixote
    July 1, 2017
    Ye gods this one’s been a long time coming! THREE BLUMMIN YEARS AGO in the Original Sin event, Nick Fury whispered something to Thor who immediately became “unworthy” and therefore unable to lift Mjolnir the hammer. A lady (I won’t spoil her identity in case you’re not caught up) picked up Mjolnir and became the new God of Thunder. Jason Aaron finally reveals what Fury whispered in The Unworthy Thor - and thankfully it was worth the wait! Well, the reveal is satisfying, and the question of wheth Ye gods this one’s been a long time coming! THREE BLUMMIN YEARS AGO in the Original Sin event, Nick Fury whispered something to Thor who immediately became “unworthy” and therefore unable to lift Mjolnir the hammer. A lady (I won’t spoil her identity in case you’re not caught up) picked up Mjolnir and became the new God of Thunder. Jason Aaron finally reveals what Fury whispered in The Unworthy Thor - and thankfully it was worth the wait! Well, the reveal is satisfying, and the question of whether or not Thor will be worthy again at the end of this book is kinda exciting. When he walks up to the hammer at last and grips the handle - will his hammer take him back, will he be the God of Thunder once more? The thing is that cool stuff, the reason many readers will be picking this up, could be done in a single issue and this book is five issues long, so a lot of this is uninteresting filler. The Collector and Thanos also want Mjolnir and so Thor, joined by Beta Ray Bill for no reason, have to fight them and blah blah blah - it’s not tense or gripping in the least. We know they’ll never be able to lift it; I mean if Thor’s unworthy then those creeps definitely are too, so it’s a moot point - they’re just there to give Thor something to do. And we didn’t really need to catch up with what Unworthy Thor’s been up to anyway which is just drinking and fighting. The padding is unentertaining rubbish. Olivier Coipel’s art is looking a little worse for wear these days - it’s a lot scratchier in this book than its been in the past. There are some minor developments in the overall Thor storyline which are probably included to make those readers following Aaron’s Thor run read this even though it’s not very good - I didn’t care about who the mysterious new Watcher is or who Thanos is getting jiggy with these days. The fifth and final issue of this miniseries is unfortunately the only part that’s worth reading - The Unworthy Thor is an aptly named book.
    more
  • Artemy Nizovtsev
    March 22, 2017
    The Unworthy Thor is the next chapter in Jason Aaron's ongoing epic Asgardian saga, and it's unsurprisingly great!Since Odinson became unworthy, he hasn't been around much, so this mini-series was desperately needed. The series follows him and Beta Ray Bill to the Old Asgard, where the Ultimate Thor's hammer is supposed be. But it turns out the Old Asgard has... vanished?So the premise sounds intriguing, and it mostly delivers. It is an epic and fun adventure, albeit not very deep. I was very ha The Unworthy Thor is the next chapter in Jason Aaron's ongoing epic Asgardian saga, and it's unsurprisingly great!Since Odinson became unworthy, he hasn't been around much, so this mini-series was desperately needed. The series follows him and Beta Ray Bill to the Old Asgard, where the Ultimate Thor's hammer is supposed be. But it turns out the Old Asgard has... vanished?So the premise sounds intriguing, and it mostly delivers. It is an epic and fun adventure, albeit not very deep. I was very happy to see Thori the helhound again, as well as Beta Ray Bill and several other characters. But the main and most important thing about this volume is that we finally find out what the OG Nick Fury whispered to Thor to make him unworthy. And it... kinda makes sense? I'm sure many people will find the answer underwhelming, but I think it really does make sense, at least from Odinson's perspective.Oliver Coipel is a veteran Thor artist, and he does an excellent job drawing this miniseries. The artwork looks properly epic and gorgeous, even better with Matt Wilson's vibrant colors. This is a very pretty comic!Jason Aaron's Thor run has been excellent since the very beginning, and The Unworthy Thor is a worthy addition to this ongoing saga. To everybody who follows the series, this is mandatory reading! And it's hela good. Verily.
    more
  • Terence
    March 22, 2017
    Odinson learns that another mjornir existsand he seeks to claim it for his own.With the Unworthy Thor, I expected too much and got much less than I even dared to fear. Words can't truly express how disappointed I was with this. I unfortunately can't explain either without spoiling it for others. Suffice to say this is only for long term Thor comics fans.
    more
  • Logan
    April 15, 2017
    Amazing! I'm just gonna come off the bat and just say this comic is the best I've read all year! So I have not read any of the Female Thor comics, really want to, just haven't gotten around to it yet, but since then we haven't seen Male Thor in a while, and were all wandering where is he? Well this comic shows us. Thor is not calling himself Thor anymore, now he just calls himself Odinson, cause he feels unworthy of even having the name Thor; basically he's just down on his luck, till he hears o Amazing! I'm just gonna come off the bat and just say this comic is the best I've read all year! So I have not read any of the Female Thor comics, really want to, just haven't gotten around to it yet, but since then we haven't seen Male Thor in a while, and were all wandering where is he? Well this comic shows us. Thor is not calling himself Thor anymore, now he just calls himself Odinson, cause he feels unworthy of even having the name Thor; basically he's just down on his luck, till he hears of another Mjolnir which once belonged to the Ultimate Thor and has been left untouched since Secret Wars. So Thor goes off to find it, but of course a badass weapon just lying around is gonna attract the attention of villains who want it as well! The main reason I like this story so much is just of how well Aaron writes it, its a very personal story for Thor, and its executed perfectly! Its also quite dark, its not like the upcoming Thor: Ragnarok (even though the premise and character designs is very similar?), no "He's a friend from work!!!" jokes. Artwork is also amazing, its dark and gritty and fits Aarons Writing! Only thing I'm not too hot on is the ending, I guess its best ending for the character, but it also felt a little anti-climatic... But otherwise, this was an amazing mini which I fully recommend to any Thor Fan, or anyone really!
    more
  • Anthony
    March 25, 2017
    I'm behind on the current ongoing Thor book, but I wanted to read this because it follows the Odinson and is kind of a sequel to Original Sin and Secret Wars/Jason Aaron's Secret Wars tie-in Thors.And man, I love Jason Aaron's run on Thor, and this is a worthy addition to it. We follow Odinson on his quest for the Ultimate Thor's hammer but he's not the only one who seeks it, Thanos also wants the hammer. It did feel a little like Thanos was included in this just because Marvel are pushing them I'm behind on the current ongoing Thor book, but I wanted to read this because it follows the Odinson and is kind of a sequel to Original Sin and Secret Wars/Jason Aaron's Secret Wars tie-in Thors.And man, I love Jason Aaron's run on Thor, and this is a worthy addition to it. We follow Odinson on his quest for the Ultimate Thor's hammer but he's not the only one who seeks it, Thanos also wants the hammer. It did feel a little like Thanos was included in this just because Marvel are pushing them as much as they can at the moment, but him wanting a powerful Marvel universe weapon does make sense and since I love Infinity, I liked seeing Black Swan and Proxima Midnight again. Beta Ray Bill also joins the Odinson and having him in a book is always a good thing.This is a really good Thor book, but the only thing that lets it down is Coipel isn't on art for the full book. The guy seems to struggle to even get five issues a year out now which is a shame because he draws an awesome Thor. They do use it as an excuse to get other well known Thor artists to do some pages, I just hate that we keep getting Olivier Coipel announced on cool sounding books and then for reasons which I don't know, he can't fully finish the book.
    more
  • Dan
    May 28, 2017
    The main Thor series has a female Thor running the show after Odinson became unworthy to wield his hammer Mjolnir during 'Original Sin'. In this limited series, the Odinson goes on a mission to find the Mjolnir from the Ultimate universe and save it and Asgard from the clutches of the Collector. In terms of continuity this is a confusing one. For Odinson it follows "Original Sin", for the Ultimate Mjolnir it follows "Secret Wars", for Thanos is follows "Civil War II", there's plenty of reference The main Thor series has a female Thor running the show after Odinson became unworthy to wield his hammer Mjolnir during 'Original Sin'. In this limited series, the Odinson goes on a mission to find the Mjolnir from the Ultimate universe and save it and Asgard from the clutches of the Collector. In terms of continuity this is a confusing one. For Odinson it follows "Original Sin", for the Ultimate Mjolnir it follows "Secret Wars", for Thanos is follows "Civil War II", there's plenty of references back to the "Thor: God of Thunder" run and even some to the "Journey Into Mystery" days. Fortunately I've been following Thor since God of Thunder #1 but I did fear this might get lost for newer readers. The story was superb. On the one hand it's a fairly simple mission to rescue Asgard. Odinson, old mate Beta Ray Bill and new mate Thori the Helhound are collected by the Collector, along with Asgard itself. All the while Odinson is dealing with the fact his is no longer worthy what this actually means. We've seen little of him in this state and it's a different, less heroic take on the character. He's almost an anti-hero here. Also, we finally learn what the Watcher said to Thor that made him unworthy which is great and a little surprising. Oliver Coipel is on art duties here and he completely smashes it. Unworthy Thor himself looks great and there's epic battle scenes and fabulous landscapes. We get a glimpse of young Thor and the formerly worthy Thor, which has always worked well, and other artists take charge for these short sections. Whilst I do like the current Mighty Thor run I miss the Odison and the God of Thunder run days. This was the perfect continuation of that epic run. A bit too wrapped up in continuity for some readers I think but for me my only complaint is this isn't an ongoing series!
    more
  • Blindzider
    June 23, 2017
    While on one hand this seemed to be building up to something, on the other hand, some of it felt like filler. This is the road to worthiness for Thor, or rather Odinson. In this story, an old friend comes to visit, he gains a new friend, and there's a hint of a new Thor. The other big news is that the whisper that made Thor unworthy is revealed, although it may require you to do some rereading of Aaron's run to grasp the full meaning.Coipel does the art on the first two issues, and it looks diff While on one hand this seemed to be building up to something, on the other hand, some of it felt like filler. This is the road to worthiness for Thor, or rather Odinson. In this story, an old friend comes to visit, he gains a new friend, and there's a hint of a new Thor. The other big news is that the whisper that made Thor unworthy is revealed, although it may require you to do some rereading of Aaron's run to grasp the full meaning.Coipel does the art on the first two issues, and it looks different from his previous runs. Not sure if it is better or for worse. The rest of the art is average.Again, Aaron's run seems to be building to something big. I'm not sure what it is yet, but it needs to be wrapped up IMO.
    more
  • Ondra Král
    April 1, 2017
    3,5*
  • Clint
    May 31, 2017
    Full disclosure: I read this in single issues. However, considering the tack that Marvel is on with its graphic novels (shoehorning back issues into the trade to pad its length and increase its price), that probably works to this trade's advantage.Foremost: Coipel's art is so wonderfully outstanding! It glosses over how loose the story is well and keeps the reader engaged in an otherwise s0-so story. My problem with the story isn't the ending (where the words Nick Fury whispered to The Odinson t Full disclosure: I read this in single issues. However, considering the tack that Marvel is on with its graphic novels (shoehorning back issues into the trade to pad its length and increase its price), that probably works to this trade's advantage.Foremost: Coipel's art is so wonderfully outstanding! It glosses over how loose the story is well and keeps the reader engaged in an otherwise s0-so story. My problem with the story isn't the ending (where the words Nick Fury whispered to The Odinson to make him "Unworthy" are revealed), although that was underwhelming as well; it was the narrative 'hooks' that ended each issue. On the last page of each single issue I got so excited: "Oh, this is going to be good!" I said to myself. But upon starting each new issue, it never met expectations -- and in some places seemed almost to forget what was set up. I have a feeling this is even more deflating when reading the whole story all together, but maybe I'm wrong and it won't be as much of a build-up when all you have to do is turn the page instead of wait one month.Worth the read.
    more
  • Shannon Appelcline
    June 18, 2017
    A really unfortunate bit of wheel-spinning. Which is too bad, because this has a great premise and it has some great characters, including not just Thor, but a certain dog and a certain goat. There's a lot of good writing, just no good PLOTTING. The whole comic is so pointless that it feels like $15.99 for nothing. And then there's *THE SECRET*. The thing that has kept Thor unworthy for years. It's just a bit of existential Asgardian angst. Yeah, it would have been hard to live up to all the bui A really unfortunate bit of wheel-spinning. Which is too bad, because this has a great premise and it has some great characters, including not just Thor, but a certain dog and a certain goat. There's a lot of good writing, just no good PLOTTING. The whole comic is so pointless that it feels like $15.99 for nothing. And then there's *THE SECRET*. The thing that has kept Thor unworthy for years. It's just a bit of existential Asgardian angst. Yeah, it would have been hard to live up to all the build-up, but this is insulting.
    more
  • Matthew Quann
    April 14, 2017
    Flipping Through Floppies*[3.5 Stars]Jason Aaron's Thor run is one of the few superhero comics I follow in floppies, so I had to get this miniseries about Odinson's quest for Ultimate Chekov's Mjolinr. The story was more captivating than I had expected, and I finally got an answer to what Nick Fury said to Thor, like, what? Two or three years ago? In any case, it is as satisfying an answer as I could have imagined, and continues to build on Aaron's theme of "worthiness" that has been present dur Flipping Through Floppies*[3.5 Stars]Jason Aaron's Thor run is one of the few superhero comics I follow in floppies, so I had to get this miniseries about Odinson's quest for Ultimate Chekov's Mjolinr. The story was more captivating than I had expected, and I finally got an answer to what Nick Fury said to Thor, like, what? Two or three years ago? In any case, it is as satisfying an answer as I could have imagined, and continues to build on Aaron's theme of "worthiness" that has been present during this entire run.It was also great to see Olivier Coipel back on a Thor comic, if only for a miniseries. There's lots of Thor looking cool in this one, and a surprising tour of some of Marvel's baddies that likely sets up the rest of the year in The Mighty Thor. It's a bit of a shame when the fill-in artists drop in, but that complaint is constant against today's comics at the Big Two and Hickman's Infinity was the last event that used multiple artists to proper effect. The points lost here were for two reasons. One, the aforementioned fill-in artists. Two, I don't see why this couldn't have been the B-story in The Mighty Thor over a few months. Certainly, it is more lucrative to pump out as many Thor comics as humans will buy, but I expect a miniseries to be self-contained. The Unworthy Thor is patently not self-contained. It follows from the rest of Aaron's run and lays groundwork for what's to follow.All in all, fun miniseries, but I'm more excited to see how this all plays out in the main series.*Flipping Through Floppies is a semi-regular review series of single-issue comics (known in some circles as floppies) that I follow. I tend to read at least two trades worth (10-12 issues) of a comic before offering a review. Basically, this is me sampling fresh new comics as they come out to help guide you to entertaining series.
    more
  • Liz
    June 7, 2017
    I think it’s worth noting that Unworthy Thor is the culmination (I think? Maybe it isn’t over) of several different Thor series that Jason Aaron has written over the years. I would recommend reading Thor: God of Thunder volumes one and two at the very least, as the antagonist from them is mentioned, a few times. Reading Mighty Thor: Goddess of Thunder and on is also a good idea, but it isn’t really required. Same for Original Sin. They all give additional context to what is happening to Thor an I think it’s worth noting that Unworthy Thor is the culmination (I think? Maybe it isn’t over) of several different Thor series that Jason Aaron has written over the years. I would recommend reading Thor: God of Thunder volumes one and two at the very least, as the antagonist from them is mentioned, a few times. Reading Mighty Thor: Goddess of Thunder and on is also a good idea, but it isn’t really required. Same for Original Sin. They all give additional context to what is happening to Thor and help to explain the struggles he has gone through to become unworthy. I’ve been waiting for this volume for months, and I mean that literally. So I may have gotten my hopes up just a tiny bit too high for it. That being said, I really enjoyed reading it, and seeing how all the different series wove together to make this one.(view spoiler)[ There’s another Mjolnir in play now, unfortunately Thor isn’t the only one who seeks to obtain it. The Collector and Thano’s minions also desire to get their hands on it, and they intend to do so by any means necessary. Having not read excessively on the Collector, I was a bit shocked by the brutality of his actions. I never deluded myself into thinking he was a good man, but this was more than that. I’m sure he’s not done with his plans though; I can’t see a man like him giving up. So the real question everyone is asking is why did Thor become unworthy? I had my theories, and was essentially told all the pieces of the puzzle minus one before this point. I knew Nick Fury had whispered something to Thor in the heat of battle, and that something caused Thor to drop the hammer and thus rendered him unable to pick it up again. I didn’t know what was said, though I had my theories. One of those theories actually turned out to be correct – I’m not sure how I feel about that. Is it good writing that I was able to predict it, or bad writing? I’m leaning towards it being well written, but am open to comments disagreeing with me (I’d love to hear what other people thought of it). Next question: so wait, there’s a second Mjolnir? Not a different hammer, but actually Mjolnir? That is correct. This hammer tore through into this universe after its owner, another Thor, died in battle. This Mjolnir is a true one, and it obliterates any unworthy of holding it, rather than simply refusing to let itself be picked up. I think this one may have come from the universe where Doom is/was in control and created hundreds upon hundreds of Thors? I’m not certain about that though. I may have to go read through more of that to be sure. Ultimately though, Thor chose not to pick up this hammer, as it wasn’t his hammer and it didn’t feel right. I’m curious to see who the new owner will be, in that case. A couple other things worth mentioning; Beta Ray Bill gets an appearance, which was fantastic. I love his character so it was great to see more of him. Speaking of appearances, Hela also makes an appearance, while appealing to Thanos for help. I’m certain that alliance won’t be good for anyone.(hide spoiler)]For more reviews, check out Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    May 15, 2017
    [Read as single issues]Not content with writing a best-selling, critically acclaimed Marvel series, Jason Aaron launches a secondary mini-series focused on the other Thor. You know, the dude Thor. The one with the hamm-oh wait.Instead, we get the Odinson finally buckling down, cutting out all the moping and the drinking (well, maybe not that last one) as he heads out to reclaim a hammer, if not his own. When Beta Ray Bill arrives and tells the Odinson that another hammer exists thanks to the mag [Read as single issues]Not content with writing a best-selling, critically acclaimed Marvel series, Jason Aaron launches a secondary mini-series focused on the other Thor. You know, the dude Thor. The one with the hamm-oh wait.Instead, we get the Odinson finally buckling down, cutting out all the moping and the drinking (well, maybe not that last one) as he heads out to reclaim a hammer, if not his own. When Beta Ray Bill arrives and tells the Odinson that another hammer exists thanks to the magic/retcon powers of Secret Wars, it becomes a universe-wide scramble for dominance as The Collector, Thanos, the Black Order, Bill, and even a few surprise characters dash to claim the power for their own.Along the way we get some long-awaited reveals of varying impact - the mystery of what Nick Fury whispered to Thor to make him Unworthy in the first place had gone on so long now that whatever the reason was never going to make everyone happy, but the answer is an interesting philosophical quandary that the Odinson can't punch his way out of. And this mini leads into the next storyline in Mighty Thor as another brand new Thor pops up too.Olivier Coipel draws the majority of this series with his usual panache, but of course 5 issues in a row is too much for him so he calls in some aid from Kim Jacinto, Frazer Irving, and Pascal Alixe as the series goes on. There are never any massive changes, and Irving's unique style is reserved for flashback sequences, but it's a shame Coipel didn't manage to draw it all.
    more
  • L. (You're No Science-Terrorist!)
    June 25, 2017
    Next to Wolverine, this version of Thor must be one of the hairiest men in the Marvel Universe. Someone spent a lot of time and attention to getting Thor's armpit hair just right. Although there was that odd flashback where Thor had a perfectly smooth chest. Do they wax on Asgard? But I digress....After wallowing in hammerless self-pity for awhile, Thor - no, that's Odinson, sorry - has his hope renewed when he's told there's another hammer from another multiverse. To retrieve this hammer Odinso Next to Wolverine, this version of Thor must be one of the hairiest men in the Marvel Universe. Someone spent a lot of time and attention to getting Thor's armpit hair just right. Although there was that odd flashback where Thor had a perfectly smooth chest. Do they wax on Asgard? But I digress....After wallowing in hammerless self-pity for awhile, Thor - no, that's Odinson, sorry - has his hope renewed when he's told there's another hammer from another multiverse. To retrieve this hammer Odinson teams up with Beta Ray Bill, a hel hound, and a bad-ass goat. We all need a bad-ass goat in our lives. Toothgnasher deserves his own comic book! (Does he have one? I'm new to the genre so I don't know. If he does, let me know about it. If he doesn't, somebody needs to get on it.)But they're not the only ones wanting to get this hammer. Old Marvel standbys are on the job to make things hard for our fallen god.
    more
  • J.A.
    June 6, 2017
    Olivier Coipel's Thor is so glorious I'm willing to overlook the movie tie-in vibe of this story (not a knock on Thor: Ragnarok, which I am excited to see in a few months). If Coipel came to Salt Lake Comic Con in September, I'd buy a pass just to have him sign this. I will put up with a lot just to admire Coipel's rendition of Thor, be he Mighty or Unworthy!
    more
  • Matt Anderson
    July 2, 2017
    Collects Unworthy Thor issues #1-5This miniseries felt like a follow up to "Secret Wars," "Original Sin," "Thor: God of Thunder," and more. A lot of prior knowledge is necessary to fully appreciate this book. The major draw for this series is that it finally reveals what Nick Fury whispered to Thor (during "Original Sin") which made Thor feel unworthy.
    more
  • Rod Brown
    June 20, 2017
    A very disappointing entry in Jason Aaron's Thor saga, from the villain to the reveal of what was whispered in Original Sin to the participation of Beta Ray Bill, the stupidest and ugliest hero clone ever created. This is a story fragment at best.
  • Brian
    June 1, 2017
    Great Art, Okay StoryThe art was awesome, as to be expected by Coipel. The story was okay, as to be expected by Aaron. The reveal at the end was a little weak, or maybe just predictable.
  • Jeff
    June 12, 2017
    Forgive the pun, but this was a more than worthy THOR story. Probably the best I've read. I love Jane Foster as Thor, but I've been curious as to what Odinson has been doing all this time and Aaron tells a tremendously entertaining tale here.
  • Ryan Darnell
    June 17, 2017
    The Unworthy Thor Vol. 1 is full of connectivity based on the recent Secret Wars and what follows after Jane Foster becomes Thor. I can't decide whether Thor is being petulant or humble, although the intention is humility. That was really all that kept this story arc from being 5-stars for me.
    more
  • Iris Nevers
    March 23, 2017
    We finally got to hear what was said to Thor in ORIGINAL SIN. And it harkens back to THOR: GOD OF THUNDER 's first story arc. All in all, this was a good mini series but it felt a little too much like promotion for the current MIGHTY THOR ongoing series. But it was a fun little adventure with Original-Thor and that was appreciated.
    more
  • Erik
    June 27, 2017
    Great story
  • Eric
    June 14, 2017
    This book is worthy.I have never been a huge Thor fan, but this book changed that. It's awesome. Stop reading this and get you a copy.
  • Thelaurakremer
    May 3, 2017
    That's what it looks like when Thanos makes out with chicks. THORI!DINO-THOR!
  • John
    May 28, 2017
    Eh? It's alright.
  • Daniel Jantulík
    April 8, 2017
    Docela super příběh. 4*
Write a review