Jessica Jones, Vol. 1
After a decade, Jessica Jones is back in her own solo series! A lot has changed in the Marvel Universe and there are many secrets hiding in the shadows - secrets only a special woman like Jessica Jones can hope to uncover. Alias Investigations is open for business, and of all the many mysteries to discover, her new case may be the most dangerous one! This blistering new series is filled with haunting revelations from Jessica's past, and answers to some of the biggest questions about the new Marvel NOW! universe! From Jessica Jones' original creators comes an all-new chapter in the world-famous private eye's ongoing adventures!COLLECTING: JESSICA JONES 1-6

Jessica Jones, Vol. 1 Details

TitleJessica Jones, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 23rd, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302906356
ISBN-139781302906351
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Marvel, Graphic Novels Comics

Readers also enjoyed


Jessica Jones, Vol. 1 Review

  • Artemy Nizovtsev
    March 8, 2017
    Sadly, Bendis couldn't live up to the greatness of Alias with this new Jessica Jones series. The original comic was a masterpiece, one of the best works by Bendis along with Daredevil and Scarlet. Unfortunately, this one feels like a stupid cash grab. Where Alias was a deeply personal and disturbing story of Jessica's past, JJ: Uncaged is an unnecessary and heavy-handed commentary on the state of the Marvel Universe right now. And yes, the original series was in-continuity, too, but it didn't de Sadly, Bendis couldn't live up to the greatness of Alias with this new Jessica Jones series. The original comic was a masterpiece, one of the best works by Bendis along with Daredevil and Scarlet. Unfortunately, this one feels like a stupid cash grab. Where Alias was a deeply personal and disturbing story of Jessica's past, JJ: Uncaged is an unnecessary and heavy-handed commentary on the state of the Marvel Universe right now. And yes, the original series was in-continuity, too, but it didn't depend on it. Here, we have everything from Captain Marvel and her Civil War 2 role, to Hydra & SHIELD, to The Spot, to Luke Cage & Iron Fist hanging out, and the next arc even promises something about the secrets of Maria Hill (yawn). But nothing about Jessica. Even the intriguing start of the series was a dud and had nothing to do with her personal life.The series may look like the real deal, thanks to Michael Gaydos and Matt Hollingsworth's artwork and David Mack's gorgeous covers. But it doesn't feel like a Jessica Jones comic, because Bendis is not the great writer he used to be, and he doesn't have anything new to add to Jessica's complex story. So if, like me, you're a huge fan of the character, prepare to be disappointed.
    more
  • Omar J
    March 17, 2017
    4.5****Wow. This is so much more complex than I thought it would be. I finally find a story that delves into the human side of these heroes. It shows the effects of their actions, their family issues and the truth. The covers are really stunning and if the story keeps heading the way I think it is, Bendis is doing one hell of a job.
    more
  • C.E. Case
    March 14, 2017
    It's not great, and it's confusing to someone who hasn't read Civil War II (which I haven't). But it's nice. It's snarky and depressed Jessica and it's total Bechdel-passing. I'm glad it's here. I'll keep reading.
  • Arya Stark
    December 17, 2016
    Was pretty ok love the art work, the original series is better although the cameos this time round are better.
  • Shawn Birss
    March 8, 2017
    The original creative team of Bendis and Gaydos return their origianal baby, Alias, resurrecting it in the wake of the popular Netflix series under the protagonist's name, Jessica Jones. I'd dare say that both Gaydos and Bendis have improved in their art and writing respectively since the days of Alias. In that old series, Jessica Jones was a former superhero who'd hung up her tights to work as a private investigator as she battled her own demons of post-trauma and addiction. It was a fabulous f The original creative team of Bendis and Gaydos return their origianal baby, Alias, resurrecting it in the wake of the popular Netflix series under the protagonist's name, Jessica Jones. I'd dare say that both Gaydos and Bendis have improved in their art and writing respectively since the days of Alias. In that old series, Jessica Jones was a former superhero who'd hung up her tights to work as a private investigator as she battled her own demons of post-trauma and addiction. It was a fabulous four volumes that created an excellent arc for the character. The tone was captured pretty well in the the first season Netflix series that bears her name. In this one, many years later, after Jones has "recovered" as she basically did during the Alias run, she is nevertheless back to private investigation, once again down-and-out, and apparently split from her husband, Luke Cage. Mysteries abound, and answers are rationed and at a premium in this new story. The reader is kept in the dark over much of what is happening in the main plot until near the end. The team pulls it off very well. I enjoyed the ride. Still, it was a little hard to accept Jones back in this role after everything she's experienced. The full plot in this volume gives us reasons for her return, but I didn't quite buy it. This really isn't the same Jessica as she was in Alias, and for Alias to work, she kind of needed to be. I'm glad to see the team back. I did enjoy this book. However, for the title to work as it is now, as Jessica is now, I think it would be wise for them to lay Alias aside, and find a new and different voice and tone for this title. This very well may have been the segue to this new tone. If so, it just might work, and this might be a great new chapter for this character in issues to come. We shall see.
    more
  • Iris Nevers
    March 22, 2017
    This series left off multiple times on cliff hangers and it was extremely easy to misread what was happening in the comic. Also, SOMEONE FINALLY MENTIONS SECRET WARS. I'm so relieved it's been brought up and will be discussed.
  • Alex Sarll
    March 17, 2017
    Bendis may be erratic as Hell these days, but there are two characters where you can still trust him to deliver: his own creations Miles Morales and Jessica Jones. With Gaydos back on art too, this is a story about the street-level wreckage a superhero universe tries to ignore, the people mistaken for super-terrorists or who have their marriages upended by shifts in the timeline (and yes, the latter plot is lifted from Astro City, but it is the best Astro City story and the way it's integrated h Bendis may be erratic as Hell these days, but there are two characters where you can still trust him to deliver: his own creations Miles Morales and Jessica Jones. With Gaydos back on art too, this is a story about the street-level wreckage a superhero universe tries to ignore, the people mistaken for super-terrorists or who have their marriages upended by shifts in the timeline (and yes, the latter plot is lifted from Astro City, but it is the best Astro City story and the way it's integrated here makes for very different results). One could object to the way Jessica's progress with sorting out her own life has been snatched away, but on balance I mostly buy the justification, though saying too much about that here would enter spoiler territory.
    more
  • Michal Vámoš
    March 11, 2017
    3,5*Bendis se tady tak nějak ještě drží, ukazuje, že ještě není ÚPLNĚ na odpis. Je tady dost věcí, které dělaly Alias zajímavým a rozdělává se tu dost vedlejších linií, ale tak nějak mě sejřilo, že se tam pořád řešily věci ze CWII.
    more
  • Cagne
    March 9, 2017
    Mmmh, took more issues than it should to get a sense of what was going on. I didn't see that Civil War II connection showing up, intriguing so far.
  • Dan
    March 24, 2017
    So boring. NOTHING like the Netflix show, which was exciting and interesting...
Write a review