Infamous Iron Man, Volume 1
There's a new Iron Man in town, and his name is...Victor Von Doom! The greatest villain of the Marvel Universe is no stranger to armor, but now he's trying something new on for size. And where Tony Stark failed, Doom will succeed. But what is Doom's master plan? As the secrets that propel Victor's new quest as a hero start to reveal themselves, a who's who of heroes and villains start looking for a piece of revenge for Doom's past sins - beginning with bashful, blue-eyed Ben Grimm, the ever-lovin' Thing! Next up at bat is someone from Tony's past who has a big problem with Doom taking on the Iron mantle - but where has Pepper Potts, a.k.a. Rescue, been until now? The saga of Iron Man takes its strangest turn yet!Collecting: Infamous Iron Man 1-6

Infamous Iron Man, Volume 1 Details

TitleInfamous Iron Man, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302906240
ISBN-139781302906245
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Comic Book, Graphic Novels Comics, Superheroes, Marvel

Infamous Iron Man, Volume 1 Review

  • Artemy Nizovtsev
    March 31, 2017
    Doctor Doom in an Iron Man suit sounds like a fun idea, but in his typical fashion, Bendis forgot to come up with a story. This book is an absolute shitshow. There is no plot, no logic, no structure, it's all just chaos and randomness. Characters don't have any agenda or motivation, they just show up, do something (or talk a lot), then vanish to make room for other random characters. Doom does this, then he does that, then he's ambushed, then he goes to Latveria, blah blah blah... This may be th Doctor Doom in an Iron Man suit sounds like a fun idea, but in his typical fashion, Bendis forgot to come up with a story. This book is an absolute shitshow. There is no plot, no logic, no structure, it's all just chaos and randomness. Characters don't have any agenda or motivation, they just show up, do something (or talk a lot), then vanish to make room for other random characters. Doom does this, then he does that, then he's ambushed, then he goes to Latveria, blah blah blah... This may be the worst Bendis comic I've ever read, and I've read most of his Guardians of the Galaxy run, so that should be saying something. In short, don't waste your time and money on Infamous Iron Man. It's not worth it.
    more
  • Gianfranco Mancini
    April 12, 2017
    Read as individual issues.Vote: 0 starsJust worst Bendis'story ever (and Maleev is not at his best too).Give me back dear old Victor, please. The Super Hero Squad one is a far better and interesting Dr. Doom than the "Infamous Iron Man".I liked just one thing in this messy trainwreck: the Hellraiser reference/easter egg.Can you see the Lemarchand's box? That made me smile and maybe raise the final vote to 1 star.Maybe.
    more
  • Arya Stark
    March 29, 2017
    A lot of potential and promise not begin with but was kind of boring by the end.I won't continue with this series which is unfortunate but it didn't keep me entertained.
  • Tom Ewing
    May 2, 2017
    The heel-face turn has an excellent pedigree at Marvel - from Magneto to Emma Frost to Loki, their most interesting heroes are often once (and generally future) villains. In a way it's the ultimate expression of the Marvel "flawed hero" brand.So there's no reason it shouldn't work with Doom, and as the man himself admits in Infamous Iron Man, his post-Secret Wars status, where he became God and discovered he wasn't up to the job, seems a good place to try it. Bendis is a good pick to tackle the The heel-face turn has an excellent pedigree at Marvel - from Magneto to Emma Frost to Loki, their most interesting heroes are often once (and generally future) villains. In a way it's the ultimate expression of the Marvel "flawed hero" brand.So there's no reason it shouldn't work with Doom, and as the man himself admits in Infamous Iron Man, his post-Secret Wars status, where he became God and discovered he wasn't up to the job, seems a good place to try it. Bendis is a good pick to tackle the subject, too - his best work has always been slow explorations of single characters, which makes it frustrating that he's spent the last decade-plus at Marvel mostly writing team books.Sure enough, his Doom is a strong character - a man not so much trying to use his powers for good as trying to use his flaws for good. He's too much of an egoist to actually change or examine himself, and his contempt for anyone not-Doom is fully intact. In other words, he's a portrait of a familiar type - the apparently contrite abuser, willing to apologise for what he's done but not to change who he is. The inherent volatility in that is the tension that drives the book.Two things stop Infamous Iron Man from working as well as it could, though, despite typically moody and attractive art from Alex Maleev. The first is that the storytelling is rather too languid - with no central through-plot for the volume, all we get is Doom's relationships with the rest of the cast advancing incrementally. The second, which in fairness annoys more than it actually undermines, is that the link to Iron Man is extremely tenuous - Doom has never really been an Iron Man character, the supporting cast here are almost all Doom or FF-specific, and yoking this interesting Doom story to their ongoing Iron Man plots doesn't really do it justice. In an environment where hero-replacement titles are meeting with increased suspicion, I can't help but feel just launching a Doom comic would have been bolder and better and carried less baggage. Even so, this is one of Marvel's best post Civil War II books.
    more
  • Arun Divakar
    May 8, 2017
    Umm...so what was this supposed to be all about ? Victor Von Doom dons the Iron Man suit and then nothing happens.Random characters come and go and that's about it.
  • Cora
    March 11, 2017
    Read as single issues and DNF after 4 issues.Basically, having Victor Von Doom as Iron Man is a good idea (villain to hero) but it was poorly executed one in that there wasn't a good plot. The plot is basically Maria Hill gets kidnapped, Doom saves her and then Ben fights him a lot because he thinks he is still the bad guy. It got boring very quickly.
    more
  • Andrew
    May 27, 2017
    hmmm, i think i liked this for a little while...but like a lot of other reviews noted, nothing really happens. i liked the art and bendis seemed to constrain his bendis-ish-ness for the most part (i.e. not EVERY character spoke with the same smug, sarcastic tone)...but it could have been much more...and maybe it will. i'll stick with it for now.
    more
  • James Elkins
    May 24, 2017
    I really enjoy Bendis' writing. This Infamous Iron Man and Invincible Iron Man: Ironheart, Volume 1: Riri Williams are far more compelling reading than some other comics in the Marvel pantheon. I hope he doesn't peter out and loose interest before finding a satisfying conclusion like he has in so many of his recent projects.
    more
  • Akkisuitok
    May 18, 2017
    The art is really pretty. The story, meanwhile, is very bad.
  • Bill Williams
    March 9, 2017
    In Infamous Iron Man, Bendis and Maleev present the story of a man with with a terrible reputation trying to be a good person. The man is Doctor Doom, scourge of the Marvel Universe, and after failing as a god, he has decided to try the path of the righteous man. He visits Tony Stark's lab and finds it abandoned. Rather than the advice he hoped for, Von Doom takes an identity and becomes Iron Man. The best parts of the comic remind me of Better Call Saul where a bad man struggles to do the right In Infamous Iron Man, Bendis and Maleev present the story of a man with with a terrible reputation trying to be a good person. The man is Doctor Doom, scourge of the Marvel Universe, and after failing as a god, he has decided to try the path of the righteous man. He visits Tony Stark's lab and finds it abandoned. Rather than the advice he hoped for, Von Doom takes an identity and becomes Iron Man. The best parts of the comic remind me of Better Call Saul where a bad man struggles to do the right thing.
    more
  • Michal Vámoš
    April 1, 2017
    2,5*Příjemná kresba a nějaký cool momenty, ale jinak tady Bendis plácá páté přes deváté až ani nevím, o čem to čtu.
  • S
    April 26, 2017
    Good art and colouring, shame about the writer.
Write a review