The Alice Network
In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister.1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth ...no matter where it leads.

The Alice Network Details

TitleThe Alice Network
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN0062654195
ISBN-139780062654199
Number of pages528 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Fiction, War, World War II, Adult, World War I, Adult Fiction, Cultural, France, Spy Thriller, Espionage, Literature, 20th Century

The Alice Network Review

  • Erin
    November 16, 2016
    Find this and other reviews at: http://flashlightcommentary.blogspot....Do you know what happens when one of your favorite authors leaves her usual stomping grounds and tackles your favorite period of world history? First, you geek out like the nerd you are. Then worry sets in and you start to psyche yourself out over whether or not the novel will live up to your inflated expectations. After that, you vacillate back and forth between the two. This continues until you actually get opportunity to Find this and other reviews at: http://flashlightcommentary.blogspot....Do you know what happens when one of your favorite authors leaves her usual stomping grounds and tackles your favorite period of world history? First, you geek out like the nerd you are. Then worry sets in and you start to psyche yourself out over whether or not the novel will live up to your inflated expectations. After that, you vacillate back and forth between the two. This continues until you actually get opportunity to read the book and are put out of your misery. I know because that’s exactly what happened when I discovered Kate Quinn was writing about World War II.It was horrible. The highs and lows of my anticipation put Tim Curry to shame, but I was offered an unexpected reprieve in the form of a simple blue ARC. My copy lacked the author’s notes and the attractive jacket, but the story was there and that was all I needed. I inhaled the book in single sitting and then, just because I could, I read it again. I didn’t take notes on the first pass which is unusual for me. I intended to, but my infamous notebook was actually blank when I finished the final page and looking back, I’m glad I didn’t write my review then and there as my thoughts on my first read were remarkably different than those on my second. Quinn’s signature humor was abundant, but the rhythms of The Alice Network are very different than those of her earlier works. I was confused by that on my first pass, but I grew a deep appreciation for it on my second. I loved the characters, Eve, Lili, and Finn had me rolling on floor more often than I care to admit, but the thematic ideas Quinn played with over the course of the novel felt larger and more comprehensive than anything I’d seen from her before. I was tickled by the appearance of a Legonda LG6, but the car itself was a superficial detail that could have been dropped into any story. The fabric of the narrative, however, speaks to a much deeper understanding of the period than the car and/or cover description suggests. Half the narrative takes place during World War I while the other unfolds just after World War II. Anyone who has studied the politics will tell you the two conflicts are intrinsically related, but as a fan of war era fiction, I can attest that few authors attempt to illustrate the relationship in a single narrative. Though she avoids deep diving into the political side of things, Quinn treats the two wars as continuing chapters in the lives and experiences of her cast and while I’m not sure every reader will appreciate the subtle nuance, I was personally very impressed with the thematic parallel. I freely admit that some portions of the narrative are slower than others. In terms of tension, Quinn’s work can’t be compared to spy novels like Code Name Verity, but the personal journeys and conflicts faced by each character offer a different sort of intrigue. There are moments, carefully scattered throughout the story, that leave one on edge of their seat, but it is the characters and how they are shaped by their experiences that captivates the imagination. Would I recommend the book? Whole-heartedly and without hesitation. I expected this novel to be well-written and I expected an exhaustive level of research to be evidenced in the final product. Quinn delivered on both, but she also managed level of creativity, depth and authentic human emotion that caught me entirely off guard.
    more
  • Purple Country Girl (Sandy)
    April 16, 2017
    I won a copy of The Alice Network in a Goodreads Giveaway.I loved The Alice Network. It is by far the best book I’ve read this year, maybe even in the last few years. I was fully invested in the wonderful characters and the fantastic story from the beginning. I love books set in WWI and WWII and The Alice Network takes places during the former and shortly after the latter. A bonus is that much of the book takes place in the French countryside.In 1947, Charlie St. Clair is a nineteen year old Ame I won a copy of The Alice Network in a Goodreads Giveaway.I loved The Alice Network. It is by far the best book I’ve read this year, maybe even in the last few years. I was fully invested in the wonderful characters and the fantastic story from the beginning. I love books set in WWI and WWII and The Alice Network takes places during the former and shortly after the latter. A bonus is that much of the book takes place in the French countryside.In 1947, Charlie St. Clair is a nineteen year old American college student with a very big problem: she is unmarried and pregnant. Her parents decide that the “problem” needs to be taken care of permanently which results in Charlie and her mother traveling to a clinic in Switzerland. After they have docked in Southampton, England, awaiting the second leg of their journey, Charlie sneaks away from her mother and takes a train to London because she has a secret mission: to find her French cousin, Rose, who disappeared during WWII while living in Nazi-occupied France. Charlie adores Rose and, growing up, they were as close as sisters. Having lost her brother and with her parents close to disowning her, Charlie is desperate to find Rose. She has managed to uncover a lead but it’s just an address and a name: 10 Hampson Street, Pimlico, London. Evelyn Gardiner. But who is this Evelyn Gardiner and what help can she possibly offer Charlie?Evelyn (Eve) Gardiner, it turns out, is a Luger-toting, middle-aged woman with grotesquely disfigured hands, a horrible attitude and a terrible stutter - and a drinking problem. Initially dismissive of Charlie’s desperate search for Rose, Eve’s interest is piqued at the mention of the last place Rose was known to have worked as well as a man’s name: a restaurant called Le Lethe and a Monsieur Rene. Eve decides Charlie can stay the night but she wants her gone first thing in the morning. The next morning, however, Eve’s has changed her mind and she agrees to help Charlie - for a price. Joining them on their journey to France to find Rose is Finn, a young Scotsman who works for and looks out for Eve. They pile into his Lagonda and their entertaining road trip begins but will Charlie and Eve find what they are looking for?The chapters alternate between Charlie’s story in 1947 and Eve’s story in 1915. In Eve’s back story, we learn that while working as a “file girl” in a law office, she is approached by Captain Cecil Aylmer Cameron to become a spy for the Crown. He’s been in and out of the law office for a few weeks and has noticed that Eve is as cool as a cucumber under pressure and that she’s good at seeming innocent but she can tell lies with the best of them, and she is also fluent in French and German. Qualities they are looking for in a good spy. Eve readily agrees to join this group of spies called the Alice Network where she will be trained by Lili, the network’s charismatic leader. Eve is about to embark on a journey that is exciting but also very dangerous - and it will change her life forever.Both stories are vivid and beautifully-written. Charlie and Eve are fantastic characters, very realistic and unique. Finn is also wonderfully drawn and quite appealing. The French setting is magnificently depicted and the research is impeccable and everything fits together perfectly. The period detail is top-notch: you can see, smell and feel all the things Quinn describes in both time periods. There is humor but there is also heartbreak and horror. Quinn does an amazing job bringing her characters and their stories to life and, learning that the Alice Network was an actual network of spies, makes me appreciate and love The Alice Network even more. I highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction set in WWI and WWII and historical fiction in general.
    more
  • Monica
    April 16, 2017
    This novel is the reason why I love history! Charlie is a pregnant unwed mother after World War II. She is struggling with the loss of her brother, her dear cousin is missing and she does not know what to do about her "little problem." Instead of taking care of her little problem like her parents want her to, Charlie goes to England to meet up with Eve. Charlie believes Eve might know what happened to Rose, her missing cousin. The story then alternates back in time to when Eve was a spy in Franc This novel is the reason why I love history! Charlie is a pregnant unwed mother after World War II. She is struggling with the loss of her brother, her dear cousin is missing and she does not know what to do about her "little problem." Instead of taking care of her little problem like her parents want her to, Charlie goes to England to meet up with Eve. Charlie believes Eve might know what happened to Rose, her missing cousin. The story then alternates back in time to when Eve was a spy in France during World War I and back to Charlie's time. It is very well done and keeps the reader on edge wanting to know what will happen next. This was an incredible novel that was based in real history. I love when an author can truly bring history to life and make me care so deeply about the characters. The author also has an author's note at the end so you know what was true in the story. I am always appreciative when an author does this. I am so fortunate to have won this novel in a Goodreads giveaway. It is a must read story!!!
    more
  • Stephanie Thornton
    January 12, 2017
    I'm a fan of all of Kate Quinn's books, but I'm downright gobsmacked by the genius that is The Alice Network. Set in both 1947 and 1915, Charlie St. Clair and Eve Gardiner's lives are a giant interconnected jigsaw puzzle, the pieces brilliantly linked together over the course of two world wars. My jaw dropped several times as new parallels were teased out between these women's lives. I ended up truly loving both women, but it was Eve, the stuttering secretary-turned-spy who really stole the show I'm a fan of all of Kate Quinn's books, but I'm downright gobsmacked by the genius that is The Alice Network. Set in both 1947 and 1915, Charlie St. Clair and Eve Gardiner's lives are a giant interconnected jigsaw puzzle, the pieces brilliantly linked together over the course of two world wars. My jaw dropped several times as new parallels were teased out between these women's lives. I ended up truly loving both women, but it was Eve, the stuttering secretary-turned-spy who really stole the show. She crackles with energy and demands that you keep turning the page, whether she be coding secret messages during the Great War or guzzling whiskey while cursing like a sailor in the aftermath of World War II. With her characteristic wit, Quinn's characters made me laugh out loud, and they also broke my heart. Eve's life--and that of her World War I compatriots--sheds light on the terrors and tragedies that befell female spies during the Great War. I loved learning about The Alice Network through Eve's eyes, and am in awe of their sacrifices, which Quinn has painstakingly brought to life in this novel. There is no doubt that The Alice Network will be one of my favorite reads of the entire year. Bravo!
    more
  • Renee Rosen
    April 10, 2017
    Review coming!
  • Stephanie Dray
    March 8, 2017
    “Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!
  • Stephanie (Bookfever. ❤)
    May 22, 2017
    I've only read the author's books set in ancient Rome so I was a tiny bit sceptical about her newest book that alternates between World War I and 1947. I haven't actually read a lot of books that are set in these times. But then I started the book and ended up being hooked from page one and now it's my favorite book of 2017. Kate Quinn just never disappoints.In 1915 Eve Gardiner enters the Crown's service during World War I as a spy and is send to France. And in 1947, Charlie St. Clair who's pre I've only read the author's books set in ancient Rome so I was a tiny bit sceptical about her newest book that alternates between World War I and 1947. I haven't actually read a lot of books that are set in these times. But then I started the book and ended up being hooked from page one and now it's my favorite book of 2017. Kate Quinn just never disappoints.In 1915 Eve Gardiner enters the Crown's service during World War I as a spy and is send to France. And in 1947, Charlie St. Clair who's pregnant and unmarried is determinded to find out what happened to her cousin who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France. When circumstances throws them together, along with Finn Kilgore and his Lagonda LG6, they're going on one hell of a roadtrip to discover the truth that Eve and Charlie desperately are looking for.I absolutely loved reading about Eve, Charlie and Finn. These three made quite the trio. I also loved the chapters set in 1915 because I was very much intrigued by Eve as she started spying with the help of "Queen of Spies" Lili, who was also a really outstanding character, which I can only applaud the author for. As a Belgian this book resonated pretty deeply with me, obviously. I even shed a few tears at some parts. But I thought the book was quite witty at times as well. The humor versus the parts that were pretty terrible to read about at times were very well balanced, in my opinion. And also, so many emotions went through me with the story. It was really amazing!Overall, The Alice Network by Kate Quinn was simply phenomenal. It just touched me to the core. I cried and laughed and devoured the story page by page. I would highly recommend to more than any other book I've read this year so far. I absolutely loved it!
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    March 27, 2017
    The Alice Network is a compelling story of two women, strangers, who embark on a journey on a search for truth and retribution following WWII. Charlotte St. Clair is traveling with her mother to Europe, pregnant and unmarried, to take care of her "little problem." But Charlie, as she's called, is also searching for her cousin Rose, who disappeared in 1944 in France. Charlie comes into contact with Eve Gardiner, a woman bearing scars from her past, spending most of her days alone and drunk. Along The Alice Network is a compelling story of two women, strangers, who embark on a journey on a search for truth and retribution following WWII. Charlotte St. Clair is traveling with her mother to Europe, pregnant and unmarried, to take care of her "little problem." But Charlie, as she's called, is also searching for her cousin Rose, who disappeared in 1944 in France. Charlie comes into contact with Eve Gardiner, a woman bearing scars from her past, spending most of her days alone and drunk. Along with Finn, Eve's man of all trades, the women travel to France to search for Rose, and also for the people of Eve's past who have left her wounded. A riveting tale of spies, revenge, and heartbreak, but filled with lighthearted, tender moments as the trio become friends, and as Eve tells them the stories of her time spent with The Alice Network during the First World War. This book is historical fiction at its finest; an intriguing story that teaches the reader about a time in history that might be new to them, along with a warmth and understanding, multi-dimensional characters that we truly care about and a story that reaches into our soul.
    more
  • Andrea
    December 15, 2016
    I loved this book! I had never read a Kate Quinn before. I'm a huge fan of WW 1 and WW 2 books and this book is exceedingly well-researched and well-written. I especially loved the strong female characters and how they intertwine. I will definitely be recommending this book to my Book Salon and on my book review site, Great Thoughts.I received an Advance Review Copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Barb
    May 14, 2017
    It's 1947 and Charlie is on her way to a clinic in Switzerland, it seems she has a little problem she needs taken care of. But instead of traveling with her mother as planned she decides to see if she can find her cousin, Rose, who hasn't been heard from since before the end of the war. Charlie's research has led her to Eve Gardiner, a woman who might have information about the last known whereabouts of Rose. Eve is a haggard and frightening, maybe even crazy, old woman now. But back in 1915 she It's 1947 and Charlie is on her way to a clinic in Switzerland, it seems she has a little problem she needs taken care of. But instead of traveling with her mother as planned she decides to see if she can find her cousin, Rose, who hasn't been heard from since before the end of the war. Charlie's research has led her to Eve Gardiner, a woman who might have information about the last known whereabouts of Rose. Eve is a haggard and frightening, maybe even crazy, old woman now. But back in 1915 she was a young innocent looking girl, who also happened to be a spy for the Alice Network.There are two stories unraveling at the same time and each is narrated differently. In 1947 Charlie tells us her story in the first person, but when we travel back to 1915, the story is narrated in the third person. Each story is equally compelling and the connections bringing events and people together are well done. I enjoyed the way the author tells Eve's story so the past threads through and connects to the present. The characters are sympathetic and the way they reveal themselves to each other feels genuine. My only quibble with this novel was a few instances where the dialogue was a little off or cliched.I didn't know this story was inspired by actual events until I read the author's note at the end of the book. I think fans of historical fiction will enjoy this. I loved learning about the real Alice Network and the inspiration for Kate Quinn's novel. I will look for her work again.
    more
  • Tara Chevrestt
    January 12, 2017
    Amazing. Just when I thought I'd read every type of WWII story out there..and I think I can no longer be surprised, I am. This novel is riveting, thrilling, suspenseful, heartwarming, and funny! I fell in love with the characters, felt what they were feeling, cheered and cried with them. There's a 1947 heroine who is struggling with death. She has lost her brother and her family, rather than banding together, seems to drift further apart and Charlie gets herself into a bit of trouble... At first Amazing. Just when I thought I'd read every type of WWII story out there..and I think I can no longer be surprised, I am. This novel is riveting, thrilling, suspenseful, heartwarming, and funny! I fell in love with the characters, felt what they were feeling, cheered and cried with them. There's a 1947 heroine who is struggling with death. She has lost her brother and her family, rather than banding together, seems to drift further apart and Charlie gets herself into a bit of trouble... At first she comes across as a tad spineless but as the novel unfolds, going back and forth between Charlie in 47 and Eve in 1915...we see two women grow backbones and experience life. There are different levels of bravery in this novel, each one just as important as the last.Bravery isn't just spying in enemy territory. It's also facing demons from your past, loving after you've been hurt, standing up to those who wish to control you, laughing in the face of evil, finding joy in a time of war. We learn from Lili as well as Eve and Charlie.Terrific novel. I enjoyed traveling the French countryside with these women as well as experiencing their harrowing adventures. I think this book is a wonderful way to honor the women spies of both wars.
    more
  • Jessie (Ageless Pages Reviews)
    May 27, 2017
    3.75 - 4 out of 5 Dual timelines (mid-WWI & post-WWII) tell the story of Allied female spies. Decent, can be slow/predictable because (view spoiler)[Rose's outcome is pretty much known from the start. Which makes all of Charlie's endless journey pretty predictable. The reveal is still wrenching but it's hundreds of pages too late. Charlie and Finn are good characters but their plotline is much less interesting than Eva's in WWI (hide spoiler)].
    more
  • Katelyn
    December 28, 2016
    Goes back and forth in time between the intense story of a woman spy during WWI and a young woman post WWII dealing with an unwanted pregnancy and looking for her missing cousin with the help of the now curmudgeonly ex-spy. I was immediately grabbed by this story, which also includes some romance. At times it was so intense that I had to take a break and read something lighter. I think this would make a great book club selection for clubs that don't mind a longer read (over 500 pages). Highly re Goes back and forth in time between the intense story of a woman spy during WWI and a young woman post WWII dealing with an unwanted pregnancy and looking for her missing cousin with the help of the now curmudgeonly ex-spy. I was immediately grabbed by this story, which also includes some romance. At times it was so intense that I had to take a break and read something lighter. I think this would make a great book club selection for clubs that don't mind a longer read (over 500 pages). Highly recommended to fans of fiction set during WWI.
    more
  • Selina Kyle
    January 27, 2017
    The Alice Network is written around the historical spy ring run by 'Alice DuBois', the Queen of Spies, during World War I. Our two main characters are Evelyn, a former member of the Alice Network and now an embittered hermit, and Charlie St Clair, a disgraced and pregnant American college student.The past is told through Eve's eyes: recruitment and training, then spying on a French profiteer who sided with the Germans. Her life is spent in constant danger and in making compromises with herself t The Alice Network is written around the historical spy ring run by 'Alice DuBois', the Queen of Spies, during World War I. Our two main characters are Evelyn, a former member of the Alice Network and now an embittered hermit, and Charlie St Clair, a disgraced and pregnant American college student.The past is told through Eve's eyes: recruitment and training, then spying on a French profiteer who sided with the Germans. Her life is spent in constant danger and in making compromises with herself that her government requires but simultaneously punishes women for making. But we also watch her blossom from an ideological girl into a razor-sharp spy who learns to use her own weaknesses (her gender, her size, her speech impediment) to throw people off balance.The present is told by Charlie, beginning with her mother taking her to Switzerland for an abortion. But Charlie has other plans. She has been waiting to hear from her beloved cousin since the war ended, and she has only one lead as to where Rose might be: a woman named Evelyn Gardiner.The two tales are equally engrossing, and even moreso when they finally converge. The characters are distinct and lovingly crafted. I rarely read anything with characters as vivid as Kate Quinn's. And her descriptions of France during World War I and after World War II are lush without bogging down the narrative. My father lived in Grasse for a time, and he always describes it to me with the awe that Quinn has. They both manage to make me yearn to be in a city I've never been anywhere near.As beautiful as the writing is, it also has unflinching depictions of wartime violence and how alone spies were then (and undoubtedly still are now), especially if they're compromised. There's a frank, well-crafted build up from Eve's fierce patriotism to her cynicism and self-loathing, and a sense that those who survive that life without losing themselves are unbelievably rare.I highly recommend it. And if it's turned into a movie I'll be first in line.
    more
  • ck
    May 6, 2017
    Advance copy courtesy William Morrow/HarperCollins via Amazon Vine program Solving for XNo matter whether it is the history of a country or the story of a life, each is built as a series of layers. What came before almost always influences what comes after. Author Kate Quinn embraces this power of accretion to heart-thumping effect in this work of historical fiction with its underpinnings of details gathered from actual people, places and events.Charlie St. Clair's life in 1947 has been molded b Advance copy courtesy William Morrow/HarperCollins via Amazon Vine program Solving for XNo matter whether it is the history of a country or the story of a life, each is built as a series of layers. What came before almost always influences what comes after. Author Kate Quinn embraces this power of accretion to heart-thumping effect in this work of historical fiction with its underpinnings of details gathered from actual people, places and events.Charlie St. Clair's life in 1947 has been molded by the impacts on her family of World War II, with battles ended but sadness and questions still lingering. Her journey in search of answers, atonement, and even self-awareness brings her to the doorstep of Eve Gardiner. Gardiner's soul has also been shaped by the crucible of battle -- events in both world wars have chiseled her character and perspective. Quinn has a particular knack with drawing together aspects of time and place, and juxtaposing them with sharp, credible detail. The result is strong yet imperfect characters, who seem to spring from the pages of the story. All too quickly, I went from observing and processing the storyline to feeling it as a thrum in my blood, accelerating my heartbeat and propelling me through the book. Pacing and the juxtaposition of two storylines -- one in 1915, the other in 1947 -- are clear and fluid throughout the more than 500 pages of this book. Detail and nuance and character development all are adept. Some of the parts of the book most likely to wrench your heart are taken from life, and underpin the story with added credibility as you read ... and moreso once you finish the story and make your way through the author's note and the supporting materials provided as an afterword.
    more
  • Meghan
    May 26, 2017
    Fans of historical fiction should read this book. The amount of research put in is obvious and impressive. I loved learning even more about World War I which isn't covered as much as WWII and I was consistently blown away by the lengths that Allied spies went to to uncover and share information. I really loved this book and its characters. This book breaks your heart but also inspires you to be more courageous. I'm sure it will stick with me for awhile.
    more
  • Carla
    April 28, 2017
    I received this book as a Goodreads giveaway.Kate Quinn was a new author to me. No longer!This book is the best book I've read quite a while. I love historical fiction and this one did not disappoint. Learning about "The Alice Network" during WW l was new information to me. What brave, interesting women!The research was thorough and made for an incredible story. I very much enjoyed how Charlie's story (written in first person) and Eve's story (written in third person) were intertwined and every I received this book as a Goodreads giveaway.Kate Quinn was a new author to me. No longer!This book is the best book I've read quite a while. I love historical fiction and this one did not disappoint. Learning about "The Alice Network" during WW l was new information to me. What brave, interesting women!The research was thorough and made for an incredible story. I very much enjoyed how Charlie's story (written in first person) and Eve's story (written in third person) were intertwined and every other chapter.I will definitely recommend this book as a must read!
    more
  • Alisha Rohde
    May 11, 2017
    I received an advance reader's copy in a Facebook giveaway; that said, I was very interested in reading this novel because of the time periods involved.The Alice Network is an enjoyable, intense book. I particularly enjoyed the way the two storylines--Eve in 1915 and Charlie in 1947--were woven together. The way the two main characters developed, independently and together, really demonstrated the way in which World War 1, World War 2, and their aftermath were really one larger, more complex exp I received an advance reader's copy in a Facebook giveaway; that said, I was very interested in reading this novel because of the time periods involved.The Alice Network is an enjoyable, intense book. I particularly enjoyed the way the two storylines--Eve in 1915 and Charlie in 1947--were woven together. The way the two main characters developed, independently and together, really demonstrated the way in which World War 1, World War 2, and their aftermath were really one larger, more complex experience for the people who lived through them. This is a vivid tale, full of personal stakes, with a satisfying end. I recommend it!
    more
  • Shari Suarez
    March 13, 2017
    Kate Quinn has written an incredible book about the Alice Network, a network of female spies during WWI. Charlie St. Clair, a young pregnant unmarried woman, is on her way to Switzerland with her mother to take care of her "little problem." Instead, she escapes her mother and heads for London with the intention of finding her cousin who has been missing since WWII. She ends up on the doorstep of Eve Gardiner, a crusty older woman with a drinking problem, crushed hands and a habit of pointing a g Kate Quinn has written an incredible book about the Alice Network, a network of female spies during WWI. Charlie St. Clair, a young pregnant unmarried woman, is on her way to Switzerland with her mother to take care of her "little problem." Instead, she escapes her mother and heads for London with the intention of finding her cousin who has been missing since WWII. She ends up on the doorstep of Eve Gardiner, a crusty older woman with a drinking problem, crushed hands and a habit of pointing a gun at people. Charlie is sure that Eve can help her find her cousin.Eve was a successful female spy during WWI. She is haunted by what happened to her and her friends during the War and is bent on revenge. Eve and Charlie and Eve's driver, Finn set out to find Charlie's cousin and to get revenge on the man who caused Eve's problems. The story is haunting and beautiful. The women of the Alice Network should be remembered for all that they did for their country.
    more
  • Debbi DuBose
    April 5, 2017
    I won this ARC of the novel: THE ALICE NETWORK by KATE QUINN, through a Goodreads Giveaway sponsored by William Morrow Publishing. I was absolutely thrilled to win this novel that I really wanted to read!! THE ALICE NETWORK is a fascinating work of historical fiction and readers will not be disappointed with this book! In 1915, the young English woman, Eve Gardiner, becomes part of the Alice Network of spies. Lili, runs this vast network of secret agents and spies right in the heart of German oc I won this ARC of the novel: THE ALICE NETWORK by KATE QUINN, through a Goodreads Giveaway sponsored by William Morrow Publishing. I was absolutely thrilled to win this novel that I really wanted to read!! THE ALICE NETWORK is a fascinating work of historical fiction and readers will not be disappointed with this book! In 1915, the young English woman, Eve Gardiner, becomes part of the Alice Network of spies. Lili, runs this vast network of secret agents and spies right in the heart of German occupied France. She trains Eve, in the all the ways it takes , to seem like an inconspicuous little 'know nothing'. Lili is revered by all who know her, FOR: having a mother 's compassionate heart towards all the resistance fighters; being talented, intelligent, and quick-witted enough to keep out of harm's way; and the strength and stamina of someone much larger than her tiny 5' skinny self. Now it's 1947, Evelyn's days are spent getting drunk, while living in her derelict London home. Mr Finn Kilgore is her cook and chauffeur, who drives her around town in a Lagonda. UNTIL.....Miss Charlie St Clair shows up along with her so called "little problem". She's looking for her cousin, Rose Fourtnier, who hasn't been heard from since before WW II ended. However, in her last letter to Charlie, she sent Evelyn's London address. WHY? Eve doesn't know her.....but, there must be a connection between them. What could it possibly be? So the 3 of them are off to France to look for Rose. What they don't know, is that Eve has her own agenda , too!! A very interesting and entertaining read that you don't want to miss! It will be in bookstores everywhere in June 2017. Definitely one of my favorite books of the year so far!
    more
  • Melissa
    March 16, 2017
    Loved it! I was totally engrossed and loved the back and forth between Eve in 1914 and Charlotte in the 1950's. I liked that we were in WWI and the aftermath of WWII instead of revisiting the well-trodden ground of WWII (though it's after-effects are represented quite well). I didn't find out until completion that the Alice Network headed by "Alice Dubois" aka the Queen of Spies actually existed and was a well-known successful spy network in the first World War - makes the read that much more in Loved it! I was totally engrossed and loved the back and forth between Eve in 1914 and Charlotte in the 1950's. I liked that we were in WWI and the aftermath of WWII instead of revisiting the well-trodden ground of WWII (though it's after-effects are represented quite well). I didn't find out until completion that the Alice Network headed by "Alice Dubois" aka the Queen of Spies actually existed and was a well-known successful spy network in the first World War - makes the read that much more interesting. While I didn't buy some of the love connections (which, sadly, is a trend I'm noticing about myself with most reads....) this is still an excellent story.It had a "Code Name Verity" vibe for me and while not quite as dark as "The Nightingale" the themes are quite similar in ways. A great novel surrounding courageous women; women wanting to do more than wrap bandages and nurse the wounded men during the wars, unwed pregnant women making their own choices, women overcoming the prejudices of decades past.
    more
  • Sara
    March 11, 2017
    Very well done. Many dual timeline books wind up with one strong storyline and one weak storyline. In this book both storylines are equally strong. Eve's story of espionage in France during WWI is gripping, gritty and tragic. Charlie, Finn and Eve in post WWII France provide some lightness (and romance) to the story while still driving it forward. And the connection between the two stories is solid.If half stars were an option I would give this 4 and a half stars. I think Rose's story is a littl Very well done. Many dual timeline books wind up with one strong storyline and one weak storyline. In this book both storylines are equally strong. Eve's story of espionage in France during WWI is gripping, gritty and tragic. Charlie, Finn and Eve in post WWII France provide some lightness (and romance) to the story while still driving it forward. And the connection between the two stories is solid.If half stars were an option I would give this 4 and a half stars. I think Rose's story is a little weak, and the tie-in to a specific historical tragedy is a little awkward. Otherwise this is a fantastic piece of historical fiction.
    more
  • Sharon Siepel
    April 27, 2017
    I would suggest that you make sure your calendar is clear before purchasing The Alice Network. The true story of a World War I female spy ring serves as the skeleton of this fast paced book filled with intrigue, brokenness, and courage. Two different timelines, one set in 1947, the other starting in 1915, weave together to tell at gut-wrenching, heartbreaking story of brave women determined to make a difference. This book is not about perfect women making the right decisions every time, but abou I would suggest that you make sure your calendar is clear before purchasing The Alice Network. The true story of a World War I female spy ring serves as the skeleton of this fast paced book filled with intrigue, brokenness, and courage. Two different timelines, one set in 1947, the other starting in 1915, weave together to tell at gut-wrenching, heartbreaking story of brave women determined to make a difference. This book is not about perfect women making the right decisions every time, but about women trying to do the best that they can in a very broken world. Book includes questions for book clubs, plus letters and trial records that inspired this fictional story.I finished this book in a matter a days. Simply could not put it down. Highly recommend for book clubs.
    more
  • Kim McGee
    April 9, 2017
    It is 1947 and Charlie finds herself at odds with her family after her less than stellar performance at school, her little problem that will really be a problem in a few months and a family tragedy so she runs off to France in search of her cousin that hasn't been seen since the end of WWI. Her cousin Rose was part of a famous spy ring called "The Alice Network" and Charlie, along with an ex-con Irish driver and one of the Alice Network agents is off to follow her tracks and find her. What she s It is 1947 and Charlie finds herself at odds with her family after her less than stellar performance at school, her little problem that will really be a problem in a few months and a family tragedy so she runs off to France in search of her cousin that hasn't been seen since the end of WWI. Her cousin Rose was part of a famous spy ring called "The Alice Network" and Charlie, along with an ex-con Irish driver and one of the Alice Network agents is off to follow her tracks and find her. What she searches for is forgiveness and what she finds is redemption and a new lease on life. I loved the way that Eve's brash character with all its flaws played against Charlie's naivety and later lust for adventure as well as Finn's charm and protectiveness. Historical fiction of the war told in a way that we haven't seen before. Great summer escape read.My thanks to the publisher for the advance copy.
    more
  • Ellen
    April 8, 2017
    Outstanding fictional account of the Alice network, women spies in World War I, tough and determined to defeat the Germans. The story centers on Eve Gardiner, aka Marguerite, a young woman trained to spy on the Germans, and Charlie St. Clair, a young woman post WWII, pregnant, lost and finding her direction. The two meet, and along with Finn, an ex convict Scot loyal and devoted to Eve, the story alternates chapters as Charlie is determined to find her cousin, Rose presumed dead after the war, w Outstanding fictional account of the Alice network, women spies in World War I, tough and determined to defeat the Germans. The story centers on Eve Gardiner, aka Marguerite, a young woman trained to spy on the Germans, and Charlie St. Clair, a young woman post WWII, pregnant, lost and finding her direction. The two meet, and along with Finn, an ex convict Scot loyal and devoted to Eve, the story alternates chapters as Charlie is determined to find her cousin, Rose presumed dead after the war, while Eve's story of the Alice network unfolds. A fantastic book with strong female characters.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 21, 2017
    Any fans of The Lilac Girls, the Great War Trilogy by Jennifer Robson or the TV show X Company are going to love this book. I read it in such a short time as I honestly couldn't put it down. Loved it!!
  • Kelly (Belle of the Literati)
    May 24, 2017
    I am rarely rendered speechless but this book left me almost speechless. It was incredible. Inspiring doesn't begin to describe what I felt while reading. A female spy in WWI + an unwed pregnant young woman right after WWII looking for her cousin = one of the most engrossing stories I have ever read. While a fictional story it may be, it is based on the very real Alice Network, a network of female spies in WWI. The pieces of fact woven into this fiction and knowing real life women did this, risk I am rarely rendered speechless but this book left me almost speechless. It was incredible. Inspiring doesn't begin to describe what I felt while reading. A female spy in WWI + an unwed pregnant young woman right after WWII looking for her cousin = one of the most engrossing stories I have ever read. While a fictional story it may be, it is based on the very real Alice Network, a network of female spies in WWI. The pieces of fact woven into this fiction and knowing real life women did this, risked their lives behind enemy lines, all while most likely having a soft smile on their face is so deeply inspiring I can't put into words what it did to me. In a world of Kardashians and celebrity-obsessed media, it is easy to lose sight of the values and people we should be learning about and idolizing. Women like the women in this book are who we should be teaching our young children about. This is the kind of book I long to find while reading because it reminds of why I love reading in the first place. If you love historical fiction, inspiring stories, and the most badass of women you MUST put this book on your to-read list!
    more
  • Milena
    May 20, 2017
    I don't have adequate words to describe how much I loved The Alice Network. Every time I read a book by Kate Quinn I am in awe of her talent, her exquisite writing, and the fascinating characters she creates. She has an amazing ability to weave real events and people with fictional characters to create the most unforgettable stories. I was so engrossed in the book, I couldn't put it down. I was racing through the pages to discover if Eve and Charlie found the truth they were searching for and ha I don't have adequate words to describe how much I loved The Alice Network. Every time I read a book by Kate Quinn I am in awe of her talent, her exquisite writing, and the fascinating characters she creates. She has an amazing ability to weave real events and people with fictional characters to create the most unforgettable stories. I was so engrossed in the book, I couldn't put it down. I was racing through the pages to discover if Eve and Charlie found the truth they were searching for and had the closure they needed. On the other hand I didn't want this book to end because I didn't want to say goodbye to Charlie, Eve and, of course, Finn. I can't get enough of this trio and want more books with them!The Alice Network is without a doubt one of the best books I've read this year and it is going straight on my "favorites" shelf. I cannot recommend this book enough. Run, don't walk to a bookstore to get this gem!*ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss
    more
  • Lee
    March 28, 2017
    This is a great story about love, loss, betrayal, and redemption. I truly enjoyed the story line and its characters. The story based on the epic journey of two courageous women in an unforgettable tale about one of the most successful female spy ring's- The Alice Network. A truly enjoyable read. Bravo #KateQuinn!
    more
  • Phoebe
    April 2, 2017
    The Alice Network is a story of great heroism by women who sacrificed everything to become spies. It's full of courageous characters, unlikely friendships, family conflicts and a budding love between two travel companions. Kate Quinn does such a remarkable job at placing you in the scene and making you feel all the emotions of each character. Definitely recommend this book!
    more
Write a review