Liberty
Andrea Portes is back with a fast-paced, super-fun spy novel, told in her signature snarky, voice-driven style.What is a hero? Paige Nolan knows.Edward Raynes, the young man who exposed America’s unconstitutional spying techniques, is a hero, even if half the dum-dums in the country think he’s a traitor. Or her parents, journalists who were captured by terrorists while telling stories of the endangered and oppressed. They were heroes, too. Were. . . or are—no one has ever told Paige if they’re still alive, or dead.Not heroes? Anyone in the government who abandoned her parents, letting them rot somewhere halfway across the world. And certainly not Paige herself, who despite her fluency in five languages and mastery of several obscure martial arts (thanks, Mom!) could do nothing to save them.Couldn’t, that is, until she’s approached by Madden Carter, an undercover operative who gives her a mission—fly to Russia, find Raynes, and discover what other government secrets he’s stockpiled. In exchange, he’ll reopen the case on her missing parents. She’s given a code name and a cover as a foreign exchange student.Who is a hero? Not Paige Nolan, but maybe, just maybe, Liberty is.

Liberty Details

TitleLiberty
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062421999
ISBN-139780062421999
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery, Spy Thriller, Espionage, Fiction

Liberty Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    February 27, 2017
    I missed reading books such as this one. Silly but fun. Simple but original. Super fast but super engaging also.In fact, I think these are the types of books that are of the hardest to write. The writing must seem effortless, like we’re having a coffee with the main character. The story must be impossible to put down, that’s how entertaining it is.And finally, the characters must be both real and fictive. They must enable us to imagine them existing in real life, while doing and saying things th I missed reading books such as this one. Silly but fun. Simple but original. Super fast but super engaging also.In fact, I think these are the types of books that are of the hardest to write. The writing must seem effortless, like we’re having a coffee with the main character. The story must be impossible to put down, that’s how entertaining it is.And finally, the characters must be both real and fictive. They must enable us to imagine them existing in real life, while doing and saying things that were meant for our entertainment only. I’ve said this earlier, but everything in this book seems so effortlessly done. I don’t mean that the author didn’t put enough time in it; that’s preposterous. I mean that it’s so easy to connect to; it’s so easy to read and simply tune the world out while doing so. Spy novels are my thing. Always have been; always will be. (The same goes for spy movies.) Spies live in a world different from ours. They know more than we do. They can do more than we can. They risk their lives. They are badass. They have gadgets (sometimes). They are so very exciting. Paige is the perfect spy, because she has what she calls a ‘‘dissociative disorder,’’ meaning that she doesn’t really care about what happens to her body. She can get shot, no big deal to her. Slapped across the face? Just another afternoon.She’s witty, snarky and, overall, quite loveable. I do wish we were given more context here and there, because this is a voice-driven story, therefore the settings rarely matter. No much detail about what is going on. Enough for us to understand what’s happening, but what we know is what Paige cares to share. And she’s more of a doer than a talker. I’ll just put it this way: this is the perfect book to read when you want to read something, but you don’t really feel like reading something. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Sarah
    May 6, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “She’s alive.And my father’s alive.And I will find them.” This was a story about a teenage spy, whose famous journalist parents had gone missing. Paige was quite a witty and funny character, and it was hard not to find the things she did amusing, especially when she was going on about how much she hated guns, and pretty much removing them from anyone who had them, even when they were a lot bigger than he (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “She’s alive.And my father’s alive.And I will find them.” This was a story about a teenage spy, whose famous journalist parents had gone missing. Paige was quite a witty and funny character, and it was hard not to find the things she did amusing, especially when she was going on about how much she hated guns, and pretty much removing them from anyone who had them, even when they were a lot bigger than her.The storyline in this was initially about Paige’s missing parents, but then became about Paige being recruited as a spy and sent to Russia. There were some amusing moments, and Paige was quite funny, but I just lost interest as the book went along, and really struggled to stay focused, especially when the mystery over Paige’s parent’s disappearance was put on the back burner.The ending to this was okay, but it seemed like the ending was set up for a sequel in which Paige would actually go after her missing parents.6.25 out of 10
    more
  • Madison
    April 10, 2017
    Liberty - The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me is absolutely hilarious. It is a super fun, caper of a spy novel, with an instantly likeable protagonist.Paige Nolan's parents, high profile journalists, are missing. They may be dead, Paige was never told. So when Paige is recruited from her (mostly) mundane college life by a spy (handsome, is younger than expected, and wears a suit very nicely), she is at first incredulous, then reluctant, but finally agrees knowing it might be the only chance of findin Liberty - The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me is absolutely hilarious. It is a super fun, caper of a spy novel, with an instantly likeable protagonist.Paige Nolan's parents, high profile journalists, are missing. They may be dead, Paige was never told. So when Paige is recruited from her (mostly) mundane college life by a spy (handsome, is younger than expected, and wears a suit very nicely), she is at first incredulous, then reluctant, but finally agrees knowing it might be the only chance of finding her parents.The synopsis for this sounded fantastic, but it wasn't until I started reading that I got an idea of just how awesome this book was going to be. I was captured from the first page and I didn't not want to be released. The book is written in second person. Extremely hard to pull off and yet this book does it flawlessly. Paige is talking directly to the reader, warning them about the story to come, filling in a few details about how the whole thing came to be, and then providing commentary the whole way through the story. It is very well written, the reader is at once both in Paige's head and right amongst the action. I love her voice!! I love how Paige is so dispassionate, sarcastic, passionate, and ridiculous all at the same time. Hilarious. It is so much fun to read and is wonderfully unique. Have I mentioned that this book is insanely funny. Like, I just snorted my drink all over my iPad funny. And it's also a bit insane. This story has to be read to be believe. It's like James Bond crossed with Alex Rider series crossed with... I don't know, maybe The Three Stooges. I could not stop reading this book. Could. Not. Stop. This story is the perfect mix of young adult and new adult to give the characters some credibility. It reads like a young adult story and yet Paige is in college and acts accordingly, so I'll be recommending this for mature readers. Paige can seriously kick butt. She knows four types of martial arts and can speak five languages. But she is terrible at driving (really, really bad) and gets very distracted when telling her story. Sometimes her tangents are hilarious and other times just weird. So much so that you could skip a few paragraphs and still not be back on topic. At one point she calls herself never-met-a-tangent-she-didn't-follow. So. True.This book is undeniably American. There are a lot of political and ethical undertones/jabs/jokes/bias. I feel like I could dissect it and analyse it, and read nefarious meaning into so much of it. But instead I chose to read this for pure enjoyment. It would be perfect for a teen book club discussion, though, looking at the perspective and motivation and the time in which it has been written and published. I love a book that sparks discussion but is the very opposite of boring or mundane. I'm really hoping there will be a second book, because I would love to continue on this wild, funny ride with Paige. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • viktoria
    April 19, 2017
    tl;dr: I feel like I should've liked this more than I actually did? It's funny and I really liked the MC and all her snarkiness, yet I just like I read a good but too long and too self-narrative heavy fan fic, which is both complimentary and not.
  • Alison
    March 23, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5/5Super fun, fast, and interesting read.
  • Sharon
    May 25, 2017
    Review: 3 out of 5 starsI absolutely adore these types of books, light-hearted, witty and a thoroughly entertaining read with a wonderful, likeable heroine.Our MC, Paige Nolan is the daughter to high profile journalists who are missing presumed dead. When Paige is recruited by a spy to find someone she idolises she is hesitant but will do anything possible to find her parents.Paige is the sort of character I really enjoy, opinionated, witty, sarcastic and kick butt fabulous; she certainly kept Review: 3 ½ out of 5 starsI absolutely adore these types of books, light-hearted, witty and a thoroughly entertaining read with a wonderful, likeable heroine.Our MC, Paige Nolan is the daughter to high profile journalists who are missing presumed dead. When Paige is recruited by a spy to find someone she idolises she is hesitant but will do anything possible to find her parents.Paige is the sort of character I really enjoy, opinionated, witty, sarcastic and kick butt fabulous; she certainly kept things entertaining.Madden Carter is an undercover operative from an operational intelligence agency known as RAITH who makes a deal with Paige, she gets to fly to Moscow with a cover as a foreign exchange student; find a person of interest, Sean Raynes and in exchange he’ll reopen her parents case. I thought Madden was great! I didn’t know whether or not he could be trusted or not but I did like his character and I loved the banter that he shared with Paige.The premise was wonderful, I enjoyed the spy and secret mission aspect but I admit I initially thought that this book would be a little silly and at times it definitely was, you do have to suspend belief on occasion but I was hooked right from the beginning and despite it being told in second person POV which is not my favourite it was written well.I didn’t completely love the ending and I did feel at times the case of Paige’s missing parents was forgotten but overall it was written well and kept me thoroughly entertained. I hope this is made in to a series, I’d definitely like to read more.Thank you to HarperTeen via Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review Liberty - The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me.
    more
  • Hannah
    May 7, 2017
    So glad a friend gave me their uncorrected proof so I got the chance to read this! I'm still not sure how I feel about the ending, but overall it was a super enjoyable read. Being fairly to the left politically, I loved the various political references and was genuinely impressed by a lot of them.I also completely adored the Edward Snowden based character, because I'm deeply predictable and have a huge crush on Snowden, haha. Definitely recommend checking this out when it comes out in June!
    more
  • Katie V
    June 2, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • Pauline
    May 19, 2017
    Full review on release
  • Teresa
    March 11, 2017
    Paige Nolan is my new literary best friend...she is snarky, smart and kicks ass, what more could I ask for?! When she is recruited by a super secret government agency to track down America's most infamous traitor (or hero depending on who you ask) Paige says no effing way...she has mad respect for Sean Raynes...but when they offer to re-open the case of her missing reporter parents Paige agrees. This book was funny, I was rolling in some parts thanks to Paige's voice...this girl is funny! and th Paige Nolan is my new literary best friend...she is snarky, smart and kicks ass, what more could I ask for?! When she is recruited by a super secret government agency to track down America's most infamous traitor (or hero depending on who you ask) Paige says no effing way...she has mad respect for Sean Raynes...but when they offer to re-open the case of her missing reporter parents Paige agrees. This book was funny, I was rolling in some parts thanks to Paige's voice...this girl is funny! and the spy element held me captive until the end....I just hope that there is another book with this girl in the works!Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC!
    more
  • Lucy (That Book Gal)
    March 31, 2017
    Got ARCs with an earlier release date. Setting it aside for now
  • Ms. Yingling
    March 26, 2017
    E ARC available at Edelweiss Above the TreelineInteresting premise, but too YA. Salty language by page 20.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 7, 2016
    Spies!!!! I'm ready to give this a try =)
Write a review