Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1)
“Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game“Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched QueenFans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.

Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1) Details

TitleWicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseAug 15th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN006243683X
ISBN-139780062436832
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1) Review

  • Roshani Chokshi
    June 24, 2015
    Update: Just finished and WOW! I am so enchanted. Imagine "Practical Magic" if Guillermo del Toro had directed it. This is the blurb I gave, and I stand by it 100%: "Wicked Like A Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more."***That description...O_OI'm so excited for this one!!!
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    December 25, 2016
    This was a stunning book about the relationships between mothers and daughters, and sisters. The writing was utterly beautiful, and I've never read anything like it. The characters, especially the twins, were flawed and real. This is a great debut - keep your eye out for it next year!
    more
  • Drew (Drew’s Cup of Tea)
    November 19, 2016
    Oh my goodness. That synopsis actually made my heart pound.All the women in Iris and Malina's family are born with a gleam—a unique way of manipulating beauty through magic.I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover but I'm judging so hard right now. "A bewitching duology about the power of love, death, magic, and the many faces of beauty"? Um, give it to me now, please.To save each other, they must untangle a thousand years of lies and reveal their own hurtful secrets.*dying*
    more
  • Jilly Gagnon
    January 10, 2017
    I am in LOVE with this book. I could not get enough of the stunning prose Popovic weaves around her characters, and scenery, like a subtle perfume, coloring every moment on the page with richness and beauty. As if that's not enough, the plot is incredibly engrossing and the characters all burst off the page, fully-formed, flawed, and fascinating. At this point, I'm just salivating for book two. A must-read from 2017.
    more
  • Empress of Books
    November 16, 2016
    Pretty Cover + Pretty Description = Me Want.
  • Natasha Ngan
    November 25, 2016
    I was lucky enough to read an early copy - which in a way turned out to be somewhat unlucky, as I have longer to wait for the sequel! WLAW is a beautifully executed novel (Lana's writing is just so, so gorgeous!) with the perfect blend of mystery, romance, adventure and magic. Prepare to be utterly seduced.
    more
  • Tracy (Cornerfolds)
    November 14, 2016
    That cover!
  • The Bookavid
    June 30, 2016
    this book had me at experiencing beauty through magicum yesi need this
  • Kaitlyn Red Wing
    March 20, 2017
    LOOK AT THAT COVER!! Why do I have to wait till August for this book!? It sounds amazing
  • Andrew Shvarts
    February 12, 2017
    So normally, when I read a book I love, there's probably 5 or 6 lines I highlight as stunning. With WICKED LIKE A WILDIFRE, it was closer to 50.Seriously, the prose in this book is UNREAL. In some sort of dazzling life-imitates-art twist, Lana Popovic has written a book about women gifted with the ability to create works of art that are impossibly, sensually, transcendentally beautiful, and done so with a book so gorgeously written it makes me strongly suspect the premise is non-fiction. Whether So normally, when I read a book I love, there's probably 5 or 6 lines I highlight as stunning. With WICKED LIKE A WILDIFRE, it was closer to 50.Seriously, the prose in this book is UNREAL. In some sort of dazzling life-imitates-art twist, Lana Popovic has written a book about women gifted with the ability to create works of art that are impossibly, sensually, transcendentally beautiful, and done so with a book so gorgeously written it makes me strongly suspect the premise is non-fiction. Whether it's the stunning magical set-pieces that blend fractal iconography with gorgeous evocative detail, or the nuanced, captivating depictions of daily life in Montenegro, page after page of this book explodes with amazing writing.And that's just the prose itself. The characterization is also remarkable, at once unflinchingly honest and touchingly compelling; the supporting cast of semi-bohemian young people on the cusp of adulthood felt utterly real, and the central sisterly relationship was one of the best I've read, a tangled complicated web of jealousy, concern, and at its core, love. The plot is engrossing too, with some genuinely surprising twists and a totally badass ending setpiece.Also? I need book two. I need it, like, NOW.
    more
  • Mands
    October 24, 2016
    Another stunning Lisa Perrin book cover <3
  • Mekiah Johnson
    February 5, 2017
    Sunday, February 5thOkay, this book sounds great, BUT AUGUST!!!!!!!!! COMMMMMMME OOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNN!!!!! Also, there is this thing in the YA age group, mostly, where when one person does something, everybody else does it. I am once referencing the big trend of trilogies, and now I am talking about the new and oncoming trend of duologies. People, if the story requires duologies, but all means do it, but if you are only doing a duology or trilogy because everyone else is doing it, and it will ge Sunday, February 5thOkay, this book sounds great, BUT AUGUST!!!!!!!!! COMMMMMMME OOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNN!!!!! Also, there is this thing in the YA age group, mostly, where when one person does something, everybody else does it. I am once referencing the big trend of trilogies, and now I am talking about the new and oncoming trend of duologies. People, if the story requires duologies, but all means do it, but if you are only doing a duology or trilogy because everyone else is doing it, and it will get you cash, SHAME ON YOU!!! I just don't get it. I am still excited to read Wicked Like A Wildfire, as it sounds very good, but I thought that I should bring this up.Also, this book is a crossover of The Night Circus and The Tigers Wife. WHAAAAT!!!!????!!!!
    more
  • Sami
    February 9, 2017
    For fans of Labyrinth Lost and Daughter of Smoke and Bone, this evocative and beguiling fantasy stands apart from other YA novels. Polar opposites, harsh Iris and sweet Malina have hidden their "gleam" or magical abilities from the public for as long as they can remember, at the insistence of their unforgiving mother. When their mother is brutally attacked, Riss and Lina will embark on a journey that threatens everything they know.
    more
  • Nicki K.
    April 17, 2016
    Okay, and that cover is absolutely amazing and I need this friggin book now. PUMPED~~~~~Really really pumped to read this.
  • Ashley
    January 7, 2017
    Looking forward to reading a book set in Montenegro!!! :)
  • Vukica10
    December 23, 2016
    In Montenegro?? SIGN ME UP!!!!
  • ☆☽Erica☾☆
    December 1, 2016
    I CANT WAIT FOR THIS
  • Marcia
    February 16, 2017
    I was lucky enough to read an early copy - which in a way turned out to be somewhat unlucky, as I have longer to wait for the sequel! WLAW is a beautifully executed novel (Lana's writing is just so, so gorgeous!) with the perfect blend of mystery, romance, adventure and magic.
    more
  • Amber ~ The Reading Addict
    March 9, 2017
    This sounds so good aghhhh
  • Laurie
    August 3, 2016
    This book is a dazzling visual feast (and a graphic or CGI artist's dream project). I could give this book 5 stars solely on that. Or for the simply stunning writing that graces practically every page (from the breathtaking descriptions of Montenegro that make me want to go there RIGHT NOW to the vivid/visceral portrayal of her protagonist's passionate inner life - as well as the artful rendering of the book's unique "gleam" magic). *SPOILER ALERT* But I am also giving this book 5 stars for the This book is a dazzling visual feast (and a graphic or CGI artist's dream project). I could give this book 5 stars solely on that. Or for the simply stunning writing that graces practically every page (from the breathtaking descriptions of Montenegro that make me want to go there RIGHT NOW to the vivid/visceral portrayal of her protagonist's passionate inner life - as well as the artful rendering of the book's unique "gleam" magic). *SPOILER ALERT* But I am also giving this book 5 stars for the use of a giant, magically conjured wisteria tree as an unexpected weapon (and it works - she pulls this off in the most thrilling way possible). A romantic, gorgeously wrought gem.
    more
  • Lenna • Sugar Dusted Pages
    February 9, 2017
    I keep looking at this...and every time I swoon harder at the cover!
  • Teresa
    February 1, 2017
    * eArc provided by publisher via Edelweiss *
Write a review